LCA News and Discussions

Re: LCA News and Discussions

From PIB

From the Business Std article linked above:
Group Captain George Thomas, built like a bull, has commanded a squadron of Su-30MKIs. Group Captain Ritu Raj Tyagi, the most experienced of the group and a former Jaguar combat commander, ran the last Mumbai marathon as a diversion from flight testing. Captain Jaideep Maolankar, who cut his teeth flying Sea Harrier fighters off naval aircraft carriers, commanded warship INS Ganga as it chased pirates off the Somali coast. Group Captain Venugopal, like Varma, has commanded a MiG-21 squadron on the Pakistani border.

Even Pranjal, the baby of the team, is by conventional standards a veteran pilot, having commanded a Sukhoi-30MKI squadron. Now learning the ropes at the NTFC, he will extensively test the first two Tejas fighters that Hindustan Aeronautics Limited delivers to the IAF this year.
Thats a lot of experience right there fellas - it gives me hope to see this - despite the comments by the ACM etc. I can't imagine the IAF deputing so much experience to a project it has no faith in.
Good article by Shukla.

CM

LCA Tejas in Aero India 2011

Reviewing the video gave me a pleasant surprise. The display was good. 3 loops 2 barrel rolls in the video below

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkM0ZHMv7Gk

Sancho

Post by Sancho »

Drishyaman wrote:
palash_kol wrote:A question for the gurus -

Can we have 4 pylons in each wing area of Tejas??? Since in todays scenario total 7 hardpoints is very less I think.
What !! you want Tejas to be a Su - 30 MKI ?
Remember, Tejas is a Light Combat Aircraft. Any aircraft would loose its Agility if it is loaded more. If Tejas MK – II carries 4000 kg of bombs it will be more than enough. Heard that Tejas MK - II is being designed for 5000 kg. Mind you even Jaguar carried less than 4000 kgs.
It's not only the payload that decides how many weapons you can carry, but also the number of weapon stations!
A modern multi role fighter today carries at least 2 x SR and 2 x MR missiles in any mission (unlike older Jags for example, that has only SR missiles for self defense), LCA with such a config, would only have 3 x stations left for fuel tanks and A2G weapons. So the heaviest config would be 4 x AAMs, 2 x 1200l fuel tanks, a targeting pod and single 2000lb, which adds to around 3500Kg payload. Good enough for LCA MK1 with a maximum payload of 4000 Kg, but MK2 should get higher payload as well (my estimations were also around 5000Kg), however what's the use if you have no free stations available?
Rahul M wrote:palash, not at all, 90% of fighter's flight profile even in war scenario would not ask for more. for emergencies they can always use dual rack pylons.
I guess you mean for A2A missiles, but that's also not possible withough changes at the wings. The reason is pretty simple, because the only useful station would be the outer wingstation and that AFAIK carries only a load of 150Kg (a single missile!).

Regarding Elta, I expected that there is a strong involvement of the US in the radar and that's why we don't get it, or not even a useful co-development with ToT. Then again Thales, or EADS would be logic choices for GaN modules for the future.
Last edited by Sancho on 13 Feb 2011 10:20, edited 1 time in total.

why only outboard station ?
Sancho

Post by Sancho »

Rahul M wrote:why only outboard station ?
Because the mid and inner stations are the heavy stations for fuel tanks and A2G weapons, if you place a twin pylon for AAMs there instead, you still don't have any stations for heavy loads left.
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

shiv wrote:LCA Tejas in Aero India 2011

Reviewing the video gave me a pleasant surprise. The display was good. 3 loops 2 barrel rolls in the video below

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkM0ZHMv7Gk
Thatz an amazing video Shiv Ji :)
I especially liked the count down.
Thank you for sharing that one. Now, I don't have guilty feeling of not being able to see the AeroIndia this time. :)
Last time I was in AeroIndia was in 2005 :(

sancho, how many heavy ordinances do you think an aircraft actually carries in wartime ? :D

not more than two for most.

let's think of a very heavy loadout for LCA

pylons :

1       2        3       4       5         6        7
CCM     dual     500kg   1200L   500kg     dual      CCM      
        rack      PGM    fuel     PGM      rack                                        
       BVRAAM            tank              BVRAAM

the total is
2 X WVR missiles
4 X BVR missiles
2 X 1000 lb PGM
1 X 1200 litre external fuel tank.
and the payload is approx. 4 tonnes.

now trust me, no aircraft in IAF except the MKI is going to fight with more than 2 heavy stores strapped to its belly irrespective of what MRCA displays would have us believe. it has severe restrictions on maneuverability and makes the aircraft a sitting duck.

moreover LCA's primary mission remains interception and it will not be called to lug heavy loads when the gold plated MKI is there.

shiv wrote:LReviewing the video gave me a pleasant surprise. The display was good. 3 loops 2 barrel rolls in the video below
Nice video shivji. Thanks! Makes up for not being able to attend the airshow!

The Tejas looks nice and nimble, the ability to change direction (esp in roll in the twink of an eye), you can see it in many instances, including one where there is a slight twitch/roll to the right and it immediately snaps into a sharp turn with a steep bank to the left.

And towards the end just watch that scene from x:41 to x:44. It does one and a half rolls in around that many number of seconds and breaks hard left and finishes it's routine.Simply superb roll rate .

Also, very informative, your post on Kaveri. Yes, it just confirms a lot of what we have been saying in BR(esp in Kaveri thread).

The pressure ratio as it stands now is not competitive. If they raise the LP ratio from 3.4 to 4, then if everything else stands as of now with the rest of the engine, the overall pressure ratio (I think is 21) as of now will rise to 21*4/3.4 = 24.7 ~ 25 . Now 25 overall pressure ratio is that of the EJ200! Which means that (in the ideal case from basic Fyzzsics since P/T = const, )temperature at the turbine inlet too should see a proportional increase of 4/3.4 ~ 1.18 times . I would guess the current TeT is around 1300 C (that is around the limit of directionally solidified blades) , so you are looking at a temperature of 1300*1.18 = 1534C (odd) as the temp that the blades should handle later. Now 1534 C is firmly in single crystal territory.

Also, 16% bypass is too low as it stands . That needs to rise to around 0.35 to 0.40, which means a lower core flow through the high pressure compressor and high pressure turbine, which will make it run hotter as well. So that will be another 100 to 150 deg more. So all in all, you are looking at something like 1700 to 1800 C range which will require cutting edge materials and latest machining and manufacturing stuff.

No alternative to Snecma for that kind of thing unless the SDRE s at Midhani/DMRL pull a proverbial magic rabbit out of their hats.

But the good thing is that with the basic Kaveri aero setup and the flow paths through the engine and basic layout fully tested out and validated, you could dial in those improvements later as and when they happen.

For eg, if you want to lower weight, when blisks become available, put in a LP compressor with all blisk stage ( you could get some 25 % or so lesser weight compressor from that at minimum), and when the materials improve, increase the TET etc. Basically will let you fiddle around,once you get the basics right.

Looks like with the Kaveri we have sort of closed the "design" part of it with the TFTAs. Now the final catching up will require herculean R&D and materials investment etc if done indigenously. I think they should skip this stage and start full focus on the next gen stuff that the global biggies are working on like metal matrix composites and whatever gee whiz in material sciences they are doing and hope to have things in place say 3 to 5 years after a GE/P&W/Rolls/Snecma are able to roll out stuff in the 2015/2018 time frame.

That catch is probably easier to do , rather than try to get to the current level where they are now and then trying to jump again. When everyone is jumping into the frontier, everyone is sort of equal and that is when a rank outsider/ new guy can be a disruptor. That is the classic disruptive innovation model YumBeeYea giri.

So, I would think the way to go is this. Go with Snecma for whatever you can get for current state of art , but put the R&D focus and push into the next gen stuff , so that you too are a "Playa" and can use the "Playas Only" entrance to the games a decade out from now.
Sancho

Post by Sancho »

Rahul M wrote:sancho, how many heavy ordinances do you think an aircraft actually carries in wartime ? :D

not more than two for most.

let's think of a very heavy loadout for LCA

pylons :

1       2        3       4       5         6        7
CCM     dual     500kg   1200L   500kg     dual      CCM      
        rack      PGM    fuel     PGM      rack                                        
       BVRAAM            tank              BVRAAM

the total is
2 X WVR missiles
4 X BVR missiles
2 X 1000 lb PGM
1 X 1200 litre external fuel tank.
and the payload is approx. 4 tonnes.

now trust me, no aircraft in IAF except the MKI is going to fight with more than 2 heavy stores strapped to its belly irrespective of what MRCA displays would have us believe. it has severe restrictions on maneuverability and makes the aircraft a sitting duck.

moreover LCA's primary mission remains interception and it will not be called to lug heavy loads when the gold plated MKI is there.
That's not going to happen, because you left out the range factor here! With a payload of 4000 Kg, a single fuel tank is way too less to get to any useful ranges, even a normal CAP config would be, a centerline fuel tank, 4 x MR and 2 x SR missiles and that's half the load only.

Also aren't our Jags always carrying 2 fuel tanks? M2Ks do it at longer ranges as well, like we saw during the Garuda exercise, when French M2Ks simulated long range fights, or strikes.
When we see LCA as a multi role fighter, we have to consider it with a useful range in strike role as well don't you think?
However, the point was if MK2 has a higher payload, we also need more weapon station for sure, otherwise it's simply no use!

P.S. 2 x fuel tanks, just 2 x missiles :)

sancho, that is exactly my point ! the LCA is not needed to do the long range strikes ! IAF is on a mad buying spree and stocking up on long range heavy hitters like anything.

with 600 litre of extra fuel (rough rule of thumb that you burn half the fuel in EFT to compensate the drag) the LCA gets 125 % fuel which is significant for a bird of its size and endurance, which comes to somewhere around the M2k on internal fuel.
P.S. 2 x fuel tanks, just 2 x missiles :)
and so ? :)
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

Sancho wrote:That's not going to happen, because you left out the range factor here! With a payload of 4000 Kg, a single fuel tank is way too less to get to any useful ranges, even a normal CAP config would be, a centerline fuel tank, 4 x MR and 2 x SR missiles and that's half the load only.
Internal fuel capacity of Tejas MK – II will be more than 3000 kg (thatz the plan !!) and with a single external drop tank (centerline) of 1200 kg that would make the total as 4200 kg ( approx !! ).
Now does, IAF needs anything more than that for conducting a successful mission from Kutch to Karachi and back or from Jalandar to Lahore and back ?
Nobody is planning to fly the Tejas MK – II upto Tibet. For that kind of Mission, IAF is already seeding the North-east with Su – 30 MKI. :)

Speculation apart, did anyone get any number on what the internal fuel is going to be on MK-2 ?

Shivji great video, the videographer did a great job. I saw a similar video on tv9 and the video has lots of frames where he loses the tejas

search for "tv9 aero india part "1,2,3,4 on youtube

suryag wrote:Shivji great video, the videographer did a great job.
Heh heh heh 8) Thank you. Years of experience and a crick in the neck have taught me how to follow a plane without a monopod.
Juggi G
Location: Martyr Bhagat Singh Nagar District, Doaba, Punjab, Bharat. De Ghuma ke :)

Post by Juggi G »

wonderful video Shivji ! The energy of the LCA throughout the demo was very high. High speed passes, entry into the vertical, exit from vertical and into a 360 deg turn..and those rolls ! its instantaneous turn rates are really out there with the best.

the TV9 videos are even worse than DD...jerky and loosing the plane. and these are media pass guys who can bring in all the gear they need...pathetic.

they are only good for standing outside politicians houses and reporting on black magic and mining scams.

so far NOT ONE CHANNEL local or national had any program either live or recorded with decent footage of the flying displays.

but aeons of airtime being wasted on 'analysis' and hype about youngistan and 'world war 2011'

shiv ji, thanks a lot for that vid. I owe you a bottle of a drink of your choice next time I'm in b'lore. :)
great work.

Great video indeed.. the only thing tejas did not do was a cobra.
vina wrote:.. So all in all, you are looking at something like 1700 to 1800 C range which will require cutting edge materials and latest machining and manufacturing stuff.

No alternative to Snecma for that kind of thing unless the SDRE s at Midhani/DMRL pull a proverbial magic rabbit out of their hats.
..I think they should skip this stage and start full focus on the next gen stuff that the global biggies are working on like metal matrix composites and whatever gee whiz in material sciences they are doing and hope to have things in place say 3 to 5 years after a GE/P&W/Rolls/Snecma are able to roll out stuff in the 2015/2018 time frame.
http://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/techfoc ... oducts.htm
How much more to go?
palash_kol

Post by palash_kol »

Rahul M wrote:palash, not at all, 90% of fighter's flight profile even in war scenario would not ask for more. for emergencies they can always use dual rack pylons.
Yes...we can do that...
But has anybody seen any indian fighter plane having dual rack pylons??? I didn't see that... If anybody has any pic, Please share that. Not only me but many of us are desperate to see that. :)
palash_kol

Post by palash_kol »

Drishyaman wrote:
palash_kol wrote:A question for the gurus -

Can we have 4 pylons in each wing area of Tejas??? Since in todays scenario total 7 hardpoints is very less I think.
What !! you want Tejas to be a Su - 30 MKI ?
Remember, Tejas is a Light Combat Aircraft. Any aircraft would loose its Agility if it is loaded more. If Tejas MK – II carries 4000 kg of bombs it will be more than enough. Heard that Tejas MK - II is being designed for 5000 kg. Mind you even Jaguar carried less than 4000 kgs.
No....never...Both are different for different role...
What I wanted is that LCA should have 9 pylons instead of 7. It will help to carry reasonable amount of weapons.
4 -> left wing area
4 -> right wing area
1 -> center line pylon

As Rahul sir suggested...we can have dual rack pylons. I will be a good option during emergency situation.

palash_kol wrote:
Yes...we can do that...
But has anybody seen any indian fighter plane having dual rack pylons??? I didn't see that... If anybody has any pic, Please share that. Not only me but many of us are desperate to see that. :)
Here you go: http://img190.imageshack.us/f/viraat010571.jpg/
It's a navy Sea Harrier though. Never seen an IAF aircraft using the dual launch rail.
kmc_chacko

Post by kmc_chacko »

Reporting straight from LCA Tejas cockpit
Ritu S was the first journalist to sit at the controls of the compound delta-winged, homegrown beauty. She gives us a first-person account
Posted On Saturday, February 12, 2011 at 12:04:24 AM

After receiving the nod from Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) officials, I just wanted to run to plane and get in as fast as I could. After all, this is the country’s most ambitious project on the defence front and much awaited. This was my chance to check out its technology and avionics and to see what it was all about. Although I had seen and sat in cockpits of several fighter aircraft, getting a chance to sit in the cockpit of this yet-to-be inducted fighter jet evoked an altogether different feeling. It was a mix of joy, exhilaration and immense pride.

The Tejas LCA cockpit is not only spacious, but its systems are also easy to use. Instead of mechanical controls, this fighter has digital systems, which de-stresses the pilot and helps keep him or her focused on the fighting. The controls of the aircraft are somewhat similar to the controls of a car, inclusive of foot pedals. When this supersonic fighter jet is on the runway, the brakes are applied through these pedals. Just like a car.

The Tejas is a single-seater aircraft, but it has a twin-seater version for training purposes. The lead pilot directs and instructs the one seated in the rear. I got the chance to sit in the trainer version. I thought it exuded a feeling of safety. The LCA’s 1500 hours of incident-free flying is certainly testimony to this.

With better handling capabilities and advanced avionics, the LCA is MiG-21 ++, and is set to replace the old warhorse of the Indian Air Force — the Soviet MiG-21 fighter jets.

The twin-seater version has a night vision compatible glass cockpit with zero-zero ejection seats. This facilitates safe ejection of the pilot at zero speed and zero altitude. The pilot also has a helmet-mounted display, which helps him lock on to a target by merely looking at it.

Made of composite material
LCA test engineer-commander J Raturi provided more details. He said: “The aircraft wings are made of composite material, which helps reduce the weight of the aircraft. This makes the Tejas the smallest light weight, multi-role, single-engine tactical fighter aircraft. Of course it has been designed and developed in the country. The aircraft’s controls has the capability for digital automatic flight control or fly-by-wire technology. The aircraft is very stable and that gives it the requisite agility and manoeuvring capability.”

Ever since the start of the Aero 2011 show, the Tejas has been the cynosure. When five Tejas LCAs flew in formation for the first time at the show, it set hearts aflutter and sent spirits soaring. The more than two decades of work and the Rs 17,000 crore which has been pumped into making these metal birds battle ready, was worth it. That was the unanimous verdict. With the Tejas, India joined a small, but elite group of countries capable of making a fighter plane from scratch.

Final clearance in June
The aircraft will get its final operational clearance by June this year, which means a weapon-loaded aircraft would be ready for induction into the Indian Air Force (IAF).

“By June, most of the test points will be done. It will then be ready for its final operational clearance,” Raturi said. On its lethal prowess, Bangalore Mirror was told that it is the only aircraft which has fired a missile from an altitude as low as 15 km and achieved precision. Defence minister, A K Antony, had described the LCA as a “state-of-the-art, indigenous combat aircraft that will go a long way in enhancing national security”.

Tejas has been manufactured by Bangalore-based HAL in association with DRDO.
http://www.bangaloremirror.com/article/ ... ckpit.html

shiv wrote:LCA Tejas in Aero India 2011

Nice.

Next time please make sure you get a few bushes or branches, perhaps even a proper fence and a grainy shot or two.
Sidhu

Post by Sidhu »

what I understood from the LCA stall guys was, there were a few steps to be done after the IOC which IAF wanted. These are based on weapons testing (missile firing) with RADAR guidance. This I understood would be covered hy June this year. There were a lot more things to be covered for the FoC.

Kartik wrote:wonderful video Shivji ! The energy of the LCA throughout the demo was very high. High speed passes, entry into the vertical, exit from vertical and into a 360 deg turn..and those rolls ! its instantaneous turn rates are really out there with the best.
Thanks Kartik. I just want to point out that the roll rate displayed in this video still appears less than that shown in one of my own videos - the LCA video from the 2007 airshow. I know it is somewhere online - but not in the video labelled "2007 Aero India" . It mat be in a video I made for comparison with TFTA and Chingo aircraft. But the rest of the performance is certainly more energetic in 2011.
Last edited by shiv on 13 Feb 2011 18:18, edited 1 time in total.

Got one tidbit that the private avionics industry is likely to be used extensively for the MK2

You have toiled and sown the seeds. You reap the benefits now!!
aditya.agd

Post by aditya.agd »

I am proud of Tejas and all the test pilots, engineers, consultants, IAF who have done this marvellous job. I just want to see that tejas be inducted in large numbers against Pakistan.

nachiket wrote:Here you go: http://img190.imageshack.us/f/viraat010571.jpg/
It's a navy Sea Harrier though. Never seen an IAF aircraft using the dual launch rail.
This has been discussed somewhere before, but here you go. From our own BR: http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Image ... B.jpg.html
Baldev

Post by Baldev »

half digested theorizing removed.
Last edited by Rahul M on 13 Feb 2011 20:06, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: don't post things you don't understand.

Hmm. Saw a picture board from Aero India on the Tejas MK1 in the internet , giving the final weights and other stuff.

So, it is like this.

Clean Take off weight - 9800 kg
Empty Weight - 6560 kg
External Stores - 3500 kg
G Limits - +9/-3.5 .

So I guess all the folks can finally relax. The empty weight compares very well indeed to Gripen C/D . They weigh nearly the same and the plane is a full 9G fighter , it is designed and rated as such.

There you are folks. The wild theorists on "Tejas overweight" with reasons ranging from "they put in too much glue" to "over-design " or if Prof Prodyut Das is to be believed, "unfamiliarity " with composites /whatever (so we should build Gnats +++ (the ACM would love it) it Al-55 engines), and guys with agendas "3 legged Cheetah!" should all give it a rest. All is fine with the plane, it has come out to weigh around the same as a similar sized world class plane of similar config, and doesn't suffer any performance handicaps!.

All eesss well!
Sancho

Post by Sancho »

Rahul M wrote:sancho, that is exactly my point ! the LCA is not needed to do the long range strikes ! IAF is on a mad buying spree and stocking up on long range heavy hitters like anything.

with 600 litre of extra fuel (rough rule of thumb that you burn half the fuel in EFT to compensate the drag) the LCA gets 125 % fuel which is significant for a bird of its size and endurance, which comes to somewhere around the M2k on internal fuel.
The point that you still miss is the ratio of load and fuel, because we don't talk about deep penetraiton strikes her, but normal CAS loads of IAF fighters. In your config it was nearly the maximum payload of MK1 with just 1200l fuel, but as you can see in the pic (which should be a normal strike load how IAF plans it), we have 1600l fuel, with a total payload of hardly 2400Kg. That means, with the same strike load, it offers way more range, although 2 fuel tanks and just 400l more fuel, because the total load is less (but also only 2 missiles).
For MK2 I agree, that depending on how much internal fuel can be added, it could mean a single fuel tank could be enough for the same load (at least for the air force), but the higher the load, the more fuel you need and then at least 2 more stations would be a good addition.
Rahul M wrote: and so ? :)
:D Just to show that IAF is planing, or using 2 fuel tanks in the strike role with the same 2000lb strike load we are talking about, here is another one btw of Jags during Vayu Shakti:

http://www.photoradar.com/files/imageca ... i-2010.jpg
Sancho

Post by Sancho »

vina wrote:Hmm. Saw a picture board from Aero India on the Tejas MK1 in the internet , giving the final weights and other stuff.

So, it is like this.

Clean Take off weight - 9800 kg
Empty Weight - 6560 kg
External Stores - 3500 kg
G Limits - +9/-3.5 .
From this Aero India? Can you post it please!

the gripen C/D is about 1m longer and has canards and its motors! its a bigger footprint but Tejas has a fatter fuselage. so I guess it balances out.

I have posted a question about the JF17 performance in Zhuhai 2010 in the paki arms sales thread.

my observation was it didnt complete a single proper vertical loop and why?

Sancho wrote:From this Aero India? Can you post it please!
It is in this link of aeroindia 2011 pics
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

Singha wrote:I have posted a question about the JF17 performance in Zhuhai 2010 in the paki arms sales thread.

my observation was it didnt complete a single proper vertical loop and why?
The reason is mentioned below
kmc_chacko wrote:JF-17 is a very capable plane you cannot underestimate it. the only problem is, it is copied from Russians, tested by Chinese and assembled by Pakistanis. and if they can change its Engine, Radar, EW suites, Computer, Missiles, Landing Gear and Ejection seat then it will be a decent 4th Gen fighter.
Sorry Mods !! for trying to defend a World Class Fighter JF – 17 in LCA Thread

Sancho wrote:From this Aero India? Can you post it please!
It is in this link of aeroindia 2011 pics

Guys at around 1 minute mark Tejas almost performs a back flip (something only the Ru and other latest gen Euro canards and raptor have been able to show), rolls with a snap and performed vertical loops with ease ; so that lightly loaded compound delta wing is working like a charm.This performance should lay to rest all demands for TVC and canards on Tejas.

Shivji thanks for the excellent video. :D