Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Feb. 12, 2011

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Feb. 12, 2

A_Gupta wrote: Acknowledged, CRamS, the only thing keeping the relatives of the 1000s slaughtered from bursting into tears is your posts on BRF.
Any ignonimy I may have suffered, literally pales in comparison to the relatives of the 1000s slaugheterd by TSP over the years, so I don't want to appear as patting my own back. But let me tell you this. In my verbal alteractions with US "South Asia" experts, I have consistently stood up and exposed US perfidy and TSP crimes. Many times, in a David Vs Goliath setting, making a fool of myself, getting kicked out, threatned that I will be reported to the "authorities" etc.

I can give you several examples, but since we were discussing Tom Freidman, let me tell you that during a pan IIT meeting in Washington DC a few years ago, while all the ex IIT big wigs, now CEOs/CTOs of comapnies with big bucks and clout were swooning and fawning over Tom Friedman wanting to shake his hands and get his signatured book (the earth is flat crap), I pointedly asked him why terrorism against India sponsored by TSP was missing in has narrative on "global" terror. He tried to evade, whitewash my question, and when I persisted, I was asked by organizers to shut up or I will be thrown out. Some "secularists" called my "BJP wallah". (Only Arun Shorie who was there said I was spot on, but the statesman that he is, pointed out that the fault lies with India more than anybody else).

So, please spare me your sanctimonious sarcasam.

nachiket wrote:Shiv ji, the problem here isn't that Arnab was berating America. He can do that all he likes. The problem was that he ended up defending the pakis, which as far as any Indian is concerned should be a cardinal sin.
Actually, listen to the clip carefully. What pro-Pakistan word does Arnab Goswami utter? How is saying "American Rambo CIA operatives shooting up people is unacceptable, anywhere around the world?" by any stretch of the imagination "defending the pakis"?

Raghavendra wrote:Rahat Fateh Ali Khan arrested at Delhi airport
Mumbai: Acclaimed Pakistani sufi singer Rahat Fateh Ali Khan has been arrested at Delhi airport on Sunday for possessing undeclared currency – one lakh dollars.

According to latest reports, DRI officials have taken Rahat into custody and are questioning the singer.
Poor Poor Rahat, Probably wishes he had a diplomatic passport.
According to some news channels he got caught because the officials were tipped off about the cash. Nice!

Anujan wrote:
Anindya wrote:Pakistan could decide to inflict prolonged incarceration on Shabhana and Javed, as a response to India's arresting and questioning Rahat Fateh Ali.
Most fantastic idea I have seen all day. I am going to popularize it as much as I can! 8)
Onlee one problem.

Where the Phuck are the Pakistanis going to find 100,000 dollars in cash to plant?

On the Rahat Fateh Ali Khan arrest. It won't be long before the pakee start crying Raa agints involved. The details are fishy to say the least.

It seems that Ra-FAK's agint in india gave that money in the airport just before departure to Al-dubai to the entire troupe of 15.
Now the DRI guys (Dept of Revenue Intelligence) has a team present at the airport. And they opened ALL the bags that the Pakistanis had checked in.

Won't be long before the pakistanis start crying that the money was planted.

CRamS wrote:Any ignonimy I may have suffered, literally pales in comparison to the relatives of the 1000s slaugheterd by TSP over the years, so I don't want to appear as patting my own back. But let me tell you this. In my verbal alteractions with US "South Asia" experts, I have consistently stood up and exposed US perfidy and TSP crimes. Many times, in a David Vs Goliath setting, making a fool of myself, getting kicked out, threatned that I will be reported to the "authorities" etc.
Not very effective in changing minds, then? Since someone brought up Prithviraj Chauhan, **yet another way** of looking at it is: a failed strategy is a failure, regardless of the good intentions behind it.

If you're into this "self-interest is primary", then all actions are measured purely by how they promote this interest, and not by the intentions behind them. Then you are failing miserably - India's interest is not served by a supposed defender of India being seen as a fool, getting expelled from meetings, etc.. Your actions, measured by "self-interest is primary" is scoring own goals.

If "principle is more important than success or failure", then what you're doing is admirable, even if it isn't working.
Sri

Post by Sri »

Me likes the new Forin minister of Pakistan. I want more strategic discussions... I'll try to be part of them from now on...

I Hope the new Phoren Minister of Poakland has taken good tutorial from late BB on Track P diplomacy in high stake game of truth or dare between Pakistan and the rest of the world.

Major takes on Ejaz Haider:
http://majorlyprofound.wordpress.com/20 ... r-at-home/
I too love columns of Ejaz Haider and after careful reading, I think I have reverse engineered the recibe!! The secret is simbal. The recipe has 5 major combonents: Demand Money–Act as if terrorism is normal–Show bravado–High sounding grabagic nonsense—Toilet/Adult jokes.

A_Gupta:

Excellent points. Matter of fact, the hall mark of an effective strategist will be to know when to kick ass and when to kiss ass. To that end, you are right, no point going into a crowd full of "South Asia" lovers and spoil the party by talking about TSP terror. Its not going to change any minds, and only invites ridicule. So over the years, I have mellowed, and now my strategy is to listen, and strike when the iron is hot. Its more effective, and a couple of time, I have managed to get the "South Asia expert" or the jouro to acknowledge that my point is valid. Not bad from the equal equal clap trap, but many many miles to go. But with MMS so eager to kiss up to his TSP cousins, any efforts from blokes like me will mean nothing.

Loyalists Open Fire on Qureshi

For a moment I thought a colleague of Mumtaz Qadri had chosen to express himself.

A strategy based on pique at western double standards is bound for failure, irrespective of how sucessful it may be in irritating the target audience. The same facts presented as a threat to their self-interest, enlightened or otherwise will be successful. An approach of 'we Indians are damned but we welcome you to perdition' will now finding receptive minds.

To 'humour' centered on Blacks, the Muslim stereotype has been added as legitimate among Whites. As an Indian/non-Muslim albeit Brown, you may be privy to this 'wit'. I certainly have first hand experience of a hardening of the multiculturism ethic, mostly restricted to Muslims (as of now). Mumbai 2008 was a propaganda coup for the oily, SDRE. The westerner breathed a huge sigh of relief that these billion Browns are in the same boat. You could see 'potential ally' in their eyes. Indians need to learn to be less strident and more subtle in using this cultural shift to their strategic ends.

Western and Indian interests are confluent and congruent over Pakistan, democracy, free markets, China; the English language can only add to India's acceptability to the inner sanctum of western world view ie the Anglosphere.

But Indians need to first decide whether they want to fight the war of 1857 or the wars of the 21 st century.

New evidence in the Aafia Siddiqui case:
http://www.counterpunch.org/brittain02142011.html
The new audio evidence was secretly taped in a social situation last year; children can be heard in the background. It was given, unsolicited, to one of the many lawyers involved in Dr Siddiqui’s case in the US. The source, whose identity has been protected, told lawyers at the International Justice Network that he had made the tape after a social evening when he had heard shocking things about Pakistani counter terrorism, about the fabrication of evidence, and about Dr Siddiqui’s disappearance, discussed casually by a senior official. He felt outraged and returned for a second evening with a recorder and got some of the previous discussion repeated. “If it can help anyone I had to do it,” he said to the IJN Executive Director Tina Foster who has represented Dr Siddiqui’s family since January 2010. IJN are experienced hands in war on terror cases. They represent a number of prisoners in Bagram air base prison in Afghanistan, some of them rendered from Abu Ghraib, Dubai and Thailand by the CIA, as well as several disappeared people in Pakistan.)

The witness is a Pakistani/American and he has been extensively interviewed by IJN’s lawyers who tell me they are entirely confident of the tape’s authenticity, the source’s account and thus the identity of the prime subject.

IJN’s source says he was introduced by a mutual friend whose home he was visiting, to a man he identified to lawyers at International Justice Network as Imran Shaukat, the Superintendent of Police for Sindh province.

A full report, and the four hour tape, in Urdu, Punjabi and English, is being released by the International Justice Network in the United States at 6am EDT Monday, and can be accessed here and, here with the permission of the witness. Portions of the tape concerning Dr Siddiqui were made available to this reporter and were independently translated for this article. As of midnight Sunday, EDT, this excerpt can be listened to here.
Mr Shaukat (who is voice 2 on the tape) says, “I am stationed in Karachi. I head the counter terrorism department for Sindh province.”

In the key passage in the tape for the Siddiqui case he is asked by:

Voice 1 (who is the witness) ”Did you arrest her?”

V 2. “Yes, I arrested her. She wore glasses and a veil….. When she was caught she was travelling to Islamabad….She was hobnobbing with clerics. …..

V 1 “ So what happened after the arrest. Did ISI ask for her custody?”

V 2 “Yes, we gave her to ISI”

V 1 “ISI or something else?”

V 2 “ISI, so we gave her to them.”

sanjaykumar wrote: Western and Indian interests are confluent and congruent over Pakistan, democracy, free markets, China; the English language can only add to India's acceptability to the inner sanctum of western world view ie the Anglosphere.
I had a really good laugh at this statement. :rotfl:

Explain the congruency by their actions, not their stupid words of babble.

CRamS wrote:A_Gupta:

Excellent points. Matter of fact, the hall mark of an effective strategist will be to know when to kick ass and when to kiss ass. To that end, you are right, no point going into a crowd full of "South Asia" lovers and spoil the party by talking about TSP terror. Its not going to change any minds, and only invites ridicule. So over the years, I have mellowed, and now my strategy is to listen, and strike when the iron is hot. Its more effective, and a couple of time, I have managed to get the "South Asia expert" or the jouro to acknowledge that my point is valid. Not bad from the equal equal clap trap, but many many miles to go. But with MMS so eager to kiss up to his TSP cousins, any efforts from blokes like me will mean nothing.
I for one wish I had a fraction of your courage in publicly speaking
Truth to smugness. Fact is that nothing can take the place of shouting that the
Emperor is dhotiless.

Raja Bose wrote:
abhijitm wrote: whatever it is I wish we never have to talk to this compulsive liar, moron, goon, loudmouth, scoundrel, nobrainer, bonehead, psychopath piece of $h!t again
Are you even familiar with Pakis, hain ji? What makes you think this compulsive liar, moron, goon, loudmouth, scoundrel, nobrainer, bonehead, psychopath piece of $h!t won't be replaced by another compulsive liar, moron, goon, loudmouth, scoundrel, nobrainer, bonehead, psychopath piece of $h!t? I think the eternal hope amongst our supine GoI that the Pakis will suddenly become civilized is what gives the Pakis the leeway to keep blasting innocent Indians to kingdom come, without retribution.
:) On the relative terms he was the worst in recent years
UrNewAdmin

Post by UrNewAdmin »

What the Chinese guy said http://blog.dawn.com/2011/02/11/what-th ... -guy-said/
To me, I love the rich-cultured people and places, specially the combination of Persian and Hindu cultures in this country.

I had a really good laugh at this statement.

This is exactly the 'villager with a chip on his shoulder'-impoverished but never one to pass up a round of sanctimoniousness, that really impresses the westerner.

Sri wrote:Image

Me likes the new Forin minister of Pakistan. I want more strategic discussions... I'll try to be part of them from now on...
You have a good opportunity now, what with SMK retired hurt after representing portugal in the UNGA. :)

sanjaykumar wrote:
This is exactly the 'villager with a chip on his shoulder'-impoverished but never one to pass up a round of sanctimoniousness, that really impresses the westerner.
and may I know why should Indians impress/boot lick/gubo them??

We can clearly see where the Pakistanis/Mubarak who follow your advice to the T stand.
skumar

Post by skumar »

CRamS wrote:Shiv et. al.

There is a misunderstanding in what I tried to convey. Fact of the matter is that despite the pit TSP is in, when it comes to India, equal equal is in full force, and India has been unable to make TSP pay for its crimes, most recently 26/11, thanks in large measure to the generosty of TSP's 3.5, the bulk of which comes from US.

Thus, it is in Indian interest to wean away US support to TSP. My point was that Arnab is not helping on several counts: 1) Indians taking a moralistic, preachy stance that is sure to turn US even more off, and that too someone pro-India like the US guest on the show, Lisa Curtis, 2) India has no dog in the US-TSP spat over Davis, and the last thing India needs to show in a way, shape or form, is empathy for the TSP scum. Its a rough world out there. At the ver least, lets just revel in schadenfreude at TSP travails with US over the Davis saga.

We all know on BR that relations between nations is based on real-politick and not any notions of morality or right or wrong. So us puny SDREs who have been unable to lift a little finger against TSP despite its crimes against us, are not going gain one iota of gratitude from Kiyani & Co.

If Arnab wanted to talk about the Davis, then, instead of appearing like an "argumentative Indian" worried about international rule of law, and Vienna convention crap in talking about Davis, he should have exposed the ISI links to those that were shot by Davis. The fact that there is possibly more to it than meets the eye in that TSP is crying foul after its ISI hanky panky may have gone awry. Such a coverage would have served India's interests more that "global citizenry" nonsesne that Arnab was trying to conevy.
Far from saying that we should earn gratitude from the Pakis on this, I believe we should have pummeled them after 26/11, that we did not have the courage to do it (or anything in fact) in the face of international (read US) pressure is not anyone's fault but our own.

While international relations are based on real-politik, they are also multi-faceted. We do not have to agree with the US on everything nor disagree with the Pakis on everything. This is an open and shut case of murder - would any Indian diplomat get away with it if they tried the same with the US operatives regularly tailing them?

Or we will end up like the UK - "hey, we are going on an expedition" "our convoys ready, sir, where to?" "Iraq" "may we ask why are we going there?" "we want everyone to believe that they have weapons of mass-destruction" "what do we tell our people and the rest of the world?" "we will work something out, let us get to the oil fields first."

CRamS-ji,
I really have to appreciate you for the strength of your convictions in going in and speaking the truth at those meetings.

But I would say that your latest approach of moderation is a more effective one and this is the one that gets the job done.

The problem is that by speaking the bitter truth to an ignorant audience is usually a futile exercise. Human nature tends to try and protect the victim, and by saying the bitter truth outright, the natural tendency is that the pakistanis become victims in the psyche of people, and you become the oppressor onlee.

I would say, don't paint too wide a brush by saying all pakistanis are evil or that that country is evil. Compartmentalize the problem so that it is chewable to the ignorant kafirs. Say that the Army-ISI combine are the ones who mean evil to peaceful relations between two people and nations.

Once everyone agrees to that viewpoint, and I think people will agree, a few years later one might let it slip that the army and the isi is but a reflection of that society. This stand is a nuanced stand which only an individual with higher intelligence or too low and IQ will understand, for different reasons. The rest of the bulk will not, because most of the Indian middle class is inherently secular onlee, and they can't fathom an entire nation can be so hateful.

My two naya paisa only.
UrNewAdmin

Post by UrNewAdmin »

Most pure have spoken, now death for raymond davis or gilani is not pure :mrgreen:

Pakistani Taliban demand death for US gunman http://www.zeenews.com/news687108.html
Miranshah: The Pakistani Taliban on Sunday demanded that the country's government execute a US official who shot dead two men in broad daylight, or hand him over to the Islamist militant group.

"We demand that the Pakistani government hang Raymond Davis or otherwise hand him over to us. We will decide his fate," Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) spokesman Azam Tariq said by telephone from an undisclosed location.

Tariq claimed that Davis, whose exact role in Pakistan has been unclear, was a spy.

"He was here for spying. He is an American spy. We will kill all those people and will target them who will help him (Davis) or try to set him free," Tariq said.

"He is a killer, he has killed two innocent Pakistanis. We will take revenge for them," he added.

The shooting has sparked a diplomatic crisis between Washington and Islamabad after the US demanded that Davis, who shot two Pakistani motorcyclists on January 27, be freed on the grounds of diplomatic immunity.

Annual talks between the United States, Afghanistan and Pakistan set for this month have been postponed, the State Department said on Saturday, amid the row.

Davis remains in Pakistani detention and police on Friday rejected his claim that he had shot in self-defence because he feared the two men were trying to rob him.

Following the incident the US consulate general in Lahore sent a vehicle to help him, but it ran over and killed a third Pakistani man before fleeing the scene.

Media reports claim Davis is a private security contractor or undercover agent. The US government has refused to confirm his name or precise job, other than that he belonged to the embassy's "technical and administrative" staff.

The weak and unpopular Pakistani government is under enormous pressure at home to see Davis go on trial, in a country awash with anti-American sentiment.
Narad

Post by Narad »

Raghavendra wrote:Rahat Fateh Ali Khan arrested at Delhi airport
Its been reported now that the 3 crore undeclared cash which Rahat was ferrying was Hawala Money. Sigh! Another Gulfam Hasan !!(?)

Jo Lawhore mein...

How come 3 crore?

100,000 dollars is Indian Rupees 46 Lakh onlee.
You paklurks, the US Dollar is 46 Indian rupees only compared to 86 Paki rupees.

Now he was carrying 6 times that amount?
Rahat bhai must have thought that he can make some extra money on the side by being a hawala operator, or atleast some people in his troupe must have.

Shameful to say the least. Rahat Fateh Ali Khan was very well respected for his music in India.

sanjaykumar wrote:I had a really good laugh at this statement.

Needless condescension and dare I say insulting tone on your part. Can we deny that US actions deliberately caused pak to have nukes and shouldn't the US be judged primarily on those actions rather than its sanctimonious preaching that a happy TSP makes for a happy India?

Gagan wrote:Where the Phuck are the Pakistanis going to find 100,000 dollars in cash to plant?
They can always ask paki government to hand over the $100,000 Mohammed Atta had wired back to ISI before the attacks. :idea:

The Raymond Davis Affair has the potential of triggering an all out war between American intelligence agencies and ISI.

The more hardened a position the Pakistanis take on this and the longer they keep Raymond Davis in custody, the bigger the chances that the rift becomes permanent.
Miranshah: The Pakistani Taliban on Sunday demanded that the country's government execute a US official who shot dead two men in broad daylight, or hand him over to the Islamist militant group.

"We demand that the Pakistani government hang Raymond Davis or otherwise hand him over to us. We will decide his fate," Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) spokesman Azam Tariq said by telephone from an undisclosed location.

Tariq claimed that Davis, whose exact role in Pakistan has been unclear, was a spy.

"He was here for spying. He is an American spy. We will kill all those people and will target them who will help him (Davis) or try to set him free," Tariq said.
Post Salman Taseer killing, the Pakistani Elite are well aware of the explosive nature of this affair, and they do not want to end up with more holes in their brains than they already have.

Actually there are many necks on the line here. This case is the responsibility of Secretary of State Hillary Clinton. If she does not get Raymond Davis out quickly, her standing, her career is also going to suffer. If she buckles in and give something to the Pakistanis in a deal, she may still be labelled as prone to blackmail by the Republicans.

So it is a tamasha where India has got front row seats, Arnab Goswami is inciting the two parties as any moderator should do, so let's just enjoy for a change.

ramana wrote:Rahat Fateh Ali Khan arrested at Delhi airport
Reminds one of Amir Khan's movie "Sarforosh" where Nasirduddin Shah plays a Paki music ustad who is courier for Paki terrorists. Bet he was conveying the maal to be distributed.
that is a very likely possibility. no one would suspect him.
and why should they? after all he was one of the leading proponents of Aman Ki Asha, wasn't he? :rotfl:
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

If indeed, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan is a strong proponent of Aman ki Asha, then it would be interesting to try and trace the source of the money siezed!

Aman ki Asha is one well funded initiative indeed. Let us see what comes out of the woodwork now.

From twitter:
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan is currently Rahat Phate Ali Khan.
Meanwhile, no TSP connection yet but it will happen in 3...2...1...

'A weapon of mass destruction was found in the U.S.': Shock confession of Customs officer
A port official has admitted that a 'weapon of mass effect' has been found by 'partner agencies' in the U.S., raising major questions over a possible government cover-up.

The disturbing revelation came in an interview with San Diego's assistant port director screened by a television channel in the city.

The Customs and Border Protection Department tried to dampen speculation over his remarks, but doubts remained over whether he had inadvertently revealed a dirty bomb plot to attack the U.S. mainland.
Concern over a secret WMD bust came after U.S. cables made public by the Wikileaks whistleblower website revealed terror groups were plotting a 'nuclear 911.'

In the interview screened by San Diego’s 10News, Al Hallor, assistant San Diego port director, said ‘weapons of mass effect’ had been found, although he did not specify exactly where or what they were.

Reporter Mitch Blacher asked Mr Hallor: ‘Do you ever find things that are dangerous like a chemical agent or a weaponised device?’

‘At the airport, seaport, at our port of entry we have not this past fiscal year, but our partner agencies have found those things,’ the customs official replied.
Well, take with some salt of course. The daily mail UK is as tabloidish as they get. But does give some hint as to the leverage TSP must have over its 3.5 sponsors, eh?

ravi_ku wrote:
sanjaykumar wrote: Western and Indian interests are confluent and congruent over Pakistan, democracy, free markets, China; the English language can only add to India's acceptability to the inner sanctum of western world view ie the Anglosphere.
I had a really good laugh at this statement. :rotfl:

the actions are not here yet, but the tide has definitely turned (india's role and image in the world is not where most indians think it is, there is more +ve work to be done - not bootlicking, but creating a new image based on respect because of our own actions)
listen carefully to what sanjay is saying
Sri

Post by Sri »

For one concert and on gig at a wedding, Rs 47 Lakhs is too much. According to reports this is not the first time he has been found to do this...

No matter how good and pise these guys are, Pakis are a diffrent breed altogether....

OK Breaking News:
Dawood's second daughter got married on Feb 4th to some pakistani business man's son.

Marriage like held in Karachi.
A few Business men from India also attended the reception on Feb 5th.
No news yet on any indian netas or bollywood stars having attended.

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan had 124,000 dollars with him.
He is being presented to a Delhi court today by DRI (and CBI?) today about now.

Raja Ram wrote:If indeed, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan is a strong proponent of Aman ki Asha, then it would be interesting to try and trace the source of the money siezed!

Aman ki Asha is one well funded initiative indeed. Let us see what comes out of the woodwork now.
It is not an "if indeed.." question sa'ar. Here are his videos for the "cause".
I had respect for Shankar Mahadevan as a musician as well. Unfortunately he has been at it as well.

Lalmohan wrote: the actions are not here yet, but the tide has definitely turned (india's role and image in the world is not where most indians think it is, there is more +ve work to be done - not bootlicking, but creating a new image based on respect because of our own actions)
listen carefully to what sanjay is saying
My issues with that statement will all be OT sir.

i) As you yourselves said, no actions actually actions all negative
ii) Reread his statements and see how he states that "english" with an accent will be a ticket into the anglophone world. That statement actually assumes an inherent superiority of that world and his next statement clearly shows what he thinks, that those who do not accept that are "'villager with a chip on his shoulder'-impoverished". - clearly showing DIE mentality.

Lalmohan ji,
Those kind of words do not come out unless you have a completely different world view.

no sir - what he is saying is that a west that has previously had no care for india has suddenly woken upto the fact that india can be useful... it is up to indians now to shape this future relationship to india's advantage

like it or not 'that world' IS superior - it controls the world's wealth and power it sets the pace that everyone else follows
China is seriously competing for control
like it or not, we are not there YET
the west wants us to be onside
it is upto us to define what that means or it will be done to us again

Even if we are "there", more is to be gained by being inside the tent than standing alone in a corner and being a bad boy (Which is what China and Pakistan are doing).

India seems to have understood that and is doing just fine.

Sharm-el-Sheikh like surrender in Thimphu

BRF-type article on Thimphu talks