Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

VikasRaina wrote: Was he reading from Paper while answering questions. Surprisingly This was the first time he was facing questions without SG behind him to approve or disapprove his answers.
That is why Vikas there weren't any answers. An apt headline from a IBN report:

PM breaks silence on scams, offers no answers

Venkarl wrote:He sounded nervous and was searching for words few times...is it normal or is it just me agnaani?
It is unbelievable. The entire interaction and answering questions is almost like a stage managed one. The questions to be asked are all sent by the editors of the media houses well ahead. The answers are carefully prepared by SG, Pranab Da and MMS. Why there should be nervousness?

He implicated finance ministry of that time (Chidu).

Who was this interview far? MMS mostly conversed in English, sounded defensive, no roaring of a leader (nor was expected),
No spice,no defense, not even strong promise to punish the guilty..Just plain old babu speak for the sake of speaking since some spin doctor must have told him to appear on TV. I asked Raja,wassup, He said ,"all is well", I went back to sleep.

VikasRaina wrote:I asked Raja,wassup, He said ,"all is well", I went back to sleep.
At least he is being truthful about one thing. :rotfl:

Vikas, You need to deconstruct his speech:

- DMK did it
- FM was silent
- Ergo he is clean
- He isn't going to quit as he has things to do. This is message to the three idiots named by NVS : Pranab, Chidu, Doggy

I have to say with sadness that MMS has to quit as his government is not a good governemnt that works for the benefit of the people of India. By the numerous scams, scandals and the reluctance to bring the black money back, he is violating the fundamental Hobbesian cosntruct of good government and the Rousseauian "Social Contract". I am givng examples of Western thinkers that the DIE hold dear.

I can give examples from Dharma Shastras and Sanskrit texts but am not going to in order to avoid the Hindutva tag to confuse whats a clear case of violating the fundemental desdirata of a modern nation state.

MMS government has departed from the ideals of the JL Nehru and his colleagues who set about to create a Modern India after Independence.

And worse he has corrupted the brueaucracy where in ISRO officials could also loot the country.

For all the above reasons MMS has to go and let another government be foremd that hoepfully will work for the aspirations of the people and not a coterie and foreign interests. Selling spectrum to foreign interest backed by foreign officials is borderline anti-national.

http://www.sify.com/news/scams-biggest- ... fjdjd.html
Scams biggest regret, says Manmohan :(
New Delhi: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Wednesday listed stabilisation of Indian economy during the global meltdown as the biggest achievements of his government but mentioned the series of corruption scams as the greatest regret of his tenure. 'These irregularities that have happened that has certainly given me...I am not very happy about these developments,' he said when a journalist asked him about his biggest regret and achievement of his tenure.
more reforms in Budget, but Oppn delaying process: PM
The very fact that during unfavourable economic (conditions), we managed to ensure' that India's economy remained stable, the Prime Minister said was his greatest achievement.

^ ramanaji, I will pull up the post where I asked the cost of MMS's governance and came to same conclusion.

It shows MMS' intellectual corruption (my main complaint) to claim "coalition dharma" to hide all his scams (>$100b and counting) and ineptitude.

For the congressi vadis - ABV and BJP hid behind the "same coalition dharma" for their non-performance on UCC, A370, and such issues.

Posting it so you can do ==s

I am not batting for ABV please understand that. Saying MMS govt is bad doesn't make others good. Its not a zero sum game.

The issue at hand is MMS govt good governemnt by universal standards his supporters claim?

To its not.

Me neither Ramanaj. I am on the fence and observing how and on what they are constrained.

I wish someone asked MMS, PM of india, what job he is talking about. If it is protecting Indian interests, then he already is doing that job and failed at it.

Oh boy!! Just look at the Chutzpah of these fellows. :rotfl: Man this is truly a Banana republic situation when a private entity is threatening the government with legal consequences in order to gouge out strategic spectrum that is a public resource. Welcome to lala land.

Devas warns government of legal action
Devas Multimedia on Wednesday issued a statement stating that its deal with Antrix Corporation has not been cancelled or annuled by the government. Devas says it expects the government to fulfill all its obligations under the agreement and threatened that it will take strong legal steps to protect the company's rights and interests.Devas says it has not decided to terminate the agreement despite the Department of Space, ISRO and Antrix being in material breach of the pact. The company has expressed grave concern over the government's statement on pre-meditated annulment of the agreement saying that the unilateral decision is disturbing and inappropriate.

"Devas Multimedia has a legally binding Agreement with Antrix Corporation, the wholly owned commercial arm of the Government of India's Dept of Space / ISRO, dated January 28, 2005. Devas proceeded with the project after required consents and approvals were obtained within GOI, culminating with Space Commission and Union Cabinet, and the same were confirmed to us by Antrix in Feb 2006," said the statement.

No thye (Devas) have the UPA in a fix and have foreign national security apparatus backing. They are daring the MMS to cancel. Looks like they needs fourth option. They steals and says its legal.

He doesn't understand the power of the state as described in Levithian.

ramana wrote:No thye (Devas) have the UPA in a fix and have foreign national security apparatus backing. They are daring the MMS to cancel. Looks like they needs fourth option. They steals and says its legal.

He doesn't understand the power of the state as described in Levithian.
Well if he gives in to this threat then we might as well kiss goodbye to any pretence of sovereignty or independence. If ministries like Space (ISRO) are this thoroughly penetrated and well gripped by foreign security appratuses with our PM totally clueless in dealing with them, all I can say is :eek:.
Dhanya ho, so 2009 LS elections were actually 1191 redux, India falls once again. Sobering thought, time to hit that bottle of Oban.

I have a feeling that a repeat of Egypt will eventually happen in India by the so called "hindutva" forces...This lameduck Congress and the super duper squeeky clean ^ (1.76 lakh crore) PM needs a kick in the a**.

munna wrote:all I can say is :eek:.
Dhanya ho, so 2009 LS elections were actually 1191 redux, India falls once again. Sobering thought, time to hit that bottle of Oban.
The real pivotal battle is over the EVM issue.

Hindu reports:

Manmohan "dead serious" about tackling wrongdoers
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Wednesday gave an assurance that his government was “dead serious in bringing to book all wrongdoers.” But even as he repeated his commitment to punish the guilty, Dr. Singh refused to accept any personal responsibility for the policy decisions that led to the 2G spectrum and S-Band scams.

Pressed on whether he absolved himself completely, the Prime Minister blamed his coalition partners. “No one should doubt that I am conscious of my responsibilities. But I have some compulsions. One has to tolerate a great deal in coalition politics, or else go for elections every six months, which is also not the proper course to adopt.”

Later, he added: “I have never said I have never made a mistake…I am not as much of a culprit as I am being made out.”

The Prime Minister also used his hour-long interaction with editors of television channels to slam the Opposition and chide the media for creating the impression of a “scam-driven country,” something that was “weakening the self-confidence of the people” and spoiling the “image of India.”

In reporting the affairs of our nation, we mustn't focus excessively on the negative features, important though it is that the government should deal with them,” he said.

Dr. Singh was, however, very clear that he was “not afraid of appearing before any committee, including a JPC [the proposed Joint Parliamentary Committee to examine the 2G spectrum scam].” Indeed, he stressed that there was a wrong impression that he had blocked an agreement on a JPC.

He added that he had also never felt like quitting even though things were not entirely the way he would have wished them to be. [b]“I never felt like resigning because I have a job to do. The country voted our party to be the leader of the coalition, and we have a lot of unfinished business to accomplish...I will stay the course[/b].”

Dr. Singh said that while the scams that the government had got engulfed in were his biggest regret, the fact that his government had ensured, despite a very unfavourable international economic environment, that the Indian economy's growth rhythm was not grossly affected was its biggest achievement.

Wednesday's news conference was intended to clear the air on the issue of corruption and present a strong and confident Prime Minister. But his answers on the scale of the 2G scam — in the light of Telecom Minister Kapil Sibal's controversial claim that there had been “zero loss” — suggested a continuing unwillingness to concede that there had been wrongdoing on a massive scale.

Since auctions had not taken place, Dr. Singh said that calculating the loss was difficult. He then went on to compare the (underpriced) sale of 2G spectrum with the subsidies given for food and fertilizers, asking whether these subsidies should also be described as a loss of revenue. :-? :mrgreen:

The Prime Minister also vigorously rejected any suggestion that his office had continued talks with Devas Multimedia — on its controversial deal with Antrix Corporation, ISRO's commercial arm, for the lease of 90 per cent transponders in two satellites to be built by ISRO, a deal into which was bundled 70 MHz of S-Band spectrum, priced at Rs.1,000 crore — after the Space Commission decided to scrap it.

“There have been no backroom talks...there has been no effort in the PMO [Prime Minister's Office] to dilute in any way the decision taken by the Space Commission in July 2010,” he said. However, he did admit that there had been a delay in scrapping the deal, but said this had been “only procedural.” {Important.}

Dismissing a question on whether he would be the Congress' prime ministerial candidate in the next general elections as “premature,” Dr. Singh, however, stressed that he would complete his term in office.

Asked to comment on the attacks on him from within the party, he said: “I would, of course, like a cohesive party to back the government,” adding: “I think we are a democratic party and we have a lot of internal discussions. When decisions are taken, I think our party stands united in support of the government.”

Accusing the BJP of obstructing economic reforms for petty reasons, the Prime Minister pointed out that the BJP had “taken a hostile attitude [to the Goods and Services Tax] because of a decision against a particular person, who was a minister in Gujarat.” The reference was to Amit Shah, who was arrested in the Sohrabuddin case by the CBI.

Dr. Singh said he had not given up on his job while underscoring the fact that when Parliament was not able to perform its essential function of passing laws, “that is one area where our nation has to rethink how our parliamentary institutions should function.”
I was right in my three points.

The media interaction is for the three idiots.

Everything else is timepass.

In his own diffident manner he is telling all he will complete his term and nothing will stop him. Its more for his party high commanders.

And that DevaS guy is toast.

munna wrote:
ramana wrote:Well if he gives in to this threat then we might as well kiss goodbye to any pretence of sovereignty or independence. If ministries like Space (ISRO) are this thoroughly penetrated and well gripped by foreign security appratuses with our PM totally clueless in dealing with them, all I can say is :eek:.
CT,
Did the failure rate in ISRO increased after UPA came to power? Back to Mitrovik days when everything and everyone was for sale .

munna wrote:Oh boy!! Just look at the Chutzpah of these fellows. :rotfl: Man this is truly a Banana republic situation when a private entity is threatening the government with legal consequences in order to gouge out strategic spectrum that is a public resource. Welcome to lala land.

Devas warns government of legal action
Devas Multimedia on Wednesday issued a statement stating that its deal with Antrix Corporation has not been cancelled or annuled by the government. Devas says it expects the government to fulfill all its obligations under the agreement and threatened that it will take strong legal steps to protect the company's rights and interests
National interest is above all business contracts and deals.
This can be used against all the players including the foreign companies and backers and they will be disbarred from the country permanently.

So what is Anil Ambani getting quizzed about?
Whats the tiff between him and Ratan seth?
And next who else on the list?

So far we know Raja of DMK, and his immediate circle were quizzed.
The media consultant.

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110216.htm
Addressing editors of prominent television news channels in New Delhi, the Prime Minister said: "I have never said that I have never committed any mistake, but I am not such a big culprit as is being projected. I wish to assure the country as a whole our government is dead serious to bring to book all the wrongdoers regardless of their position in 2G spectrum, CWG, ISRO and Adarsh scams."
Ah, so now we are in steps 5 to 7 of the 10 step cycle described earlier. Playing per script of every politician's handbook.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1013991
Step 5: Did I make poor judgment, yes. Did I fail to excercise authority and caution. Yes.

Step 6: Conduct musical chairs, reshuffle cabinet so all the opposition is entertained with this tamasha.

Step 7: There is nothing proven. Not a shred of evidence is presented. Did I do anything against law. No.

JwalaMukhi ji

MMS is saying he is not a big culprit. What it means is he could be a small one. A new era of shamelessness is being displayed.

ramana wrote:Hindu reports:

Manmohan "dead serious" about tackling wrongdoers

I was right in my three points.

The media interaction is for the three idiots.

Everything else is timepass.

In his own diffident manner he is telling all he will complete his term and nothing will stop him. Its more for his party high commanders.

And that DevaS guy is toast.
Things that caught my attention

He is redefining coalition politics. Full 5 yr term is not guaranteed; the govt is dissolved when it goes under majority.

He is questioning Indian democratic setup. India is not a presidential system.

For the congressi vadis - ABV and BJP hid behind the "same coalition dharma" for their non-performance on UCC, A370, and such issues.
My dear saar! Let me tickle your memory a bit!!

It was ABV who threw out the AIADMK Minister (forgot his name - same guy who pressed the wrong button in the subsequent no-confidence motion and made his vote invalid, for which he was thrown out by Amma) when corruption charges surfaced against him. Jaya Amma threw all her weight around to protect this guy, but ABV was firm about forcing his resignation. Jaya finally colluded with Swamy uncle and over a chai-biscoot meeting between Amma, Swamy and Sonia, support was withdrawn by Amma and ABV govt was ousted by a majority of one vote.

Same ABV in next Govt formed after election threw out his communication minister Pramod Mahajan, when he found him in the company of Ambanis. Arun Shourie took over from him. It is Arun Shourie's integrity and honesty that BJP is relying on now, to expose this Govt in 2G scam - if they had skeletons in their cupboard, they wouldn't have dared to expose Raja so blatantly.

Yes, I know you are talking about UCC and A 370 - but then, these are not corrupt practices unlike 2G scam and others committed by coalition partners, for which MMS wants to hide behind Coalition Dharma. It may also be pertinent to mention that, there was prior agreement on these issues amongst NDA partners and BJP before the Govt was formed - so you can't even say BJP /ABV were opportunists and went back on their words to stick on to power.

UCC, 370 and even Mandir were not even a part of common minimum programme of the NDA so where does question of not implementing them even arise ?

MMS has indeed turned out to be Mr. Integrity of India and I am afraid INC would give him a PVNR treatment for they have already started rooting for the 'pup' as the next PM.
Dhiman

Post by Dhiman »

Sri wrote: DMK faces polls in sometime.... I wonder what will Karunanidhi make of it.
If DMK wins, then there will be no incentive for these netas to prosecute the corrupt. This is not just simple state election (IMHO offcourse), its a landmark election that will determine the future course of Indian governance.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

VikasRaina wrote:Who was this interview far?
Did you see the full conference? It was Id Mubarak to the people, ied mubarak to Chidu company...

Rediff writes Political-Party type article on Ambani's visit.

http://www.rediff.com/business/report/e ... 110217.htm
Narad

Post by Narad »

Cabinet Committee on Security decides to scrap Devas-ISRO deal | The deal was under the scanner for illegal kickbacks
Dhiman

Post by Dhiman »

Narad wrote:Cabinet Committee on Security decides to scrap Devas-ISRO deal | The deal was under the scanner for illegal kickbacks
Its like a thief returning all the stolen public goods back in the hope that the public will forget about prosecuting the thief. Nice execution by the corruption lobby. The corruption loby is hoping that this will be the end of discussion regarding Devas-ISRO discussion

find the freekin culprits and put them in jail. Who is following & investigating the money trail here? :evil:
Dhiman

Post by Dhiman »

From http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2011 ... jpc-on-2g/
Government Agrees to Set Up JPC on 2G: The decision, which was clinched following a meeting on Wednesday between Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Bharatiya Janata Party leaders Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, comes just in time for the budget session of Parliament, which begins on February 21. (Source: The Hindu)
confirmation?

geeth wrote:Jaya finally colluded with Swamy uncle and over a chai-biscoot meeting between Amma, Swamy and Sonia, support was withdrawn by Amma and ABV govt was ousted by a majority of one vote.
Any reference for this bit??

Why, you don't remember those days?? It was covered so widely by media those days (like 2G now). The meeting was in Delhi and Jayalalitha submitted the notice of withdrawal of support soon after. ABV was Swamy's bete noire from RSS days..

PM's charge on Gujarat biggest joke in 2011: Narendra Modi
Modi said the Prime Minister was levelling allegation against Gujarat to “divert public attention from his failures”.

Modi told television channels at his official residence on Thursday: "Yesterday's press conference by the PM was a failed attempt to wash black spots from his image. To save his self, he is trying to corner Gujarat and levelling allegations on a Gujarat minister.”
“"Gujarat and the BJP has cleared its stand on reforms like GST since the beginning. A year ago, when I met finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, I told him we cannot implement it before creating the nationwide information technology network for GST. Mukherjee also agreed to my suggestion and immediately called his personal secretary and ordered him to form a taskforce for this. However, till date, there is no progress. I challenge the PM to make the minutes of the GST empowerment committee public and let the people know what suggestions Gujarat and other states have made in last two years."

Might be OT: but brought it here in view of the PM including this in his Press conference on 2G for non action on GST.

geeth wrote:
Why, you don't remember those days?? It was covered so widely by media those days (like 2G now). The meeting was in Delhi and Jayalalitha submitted the notice of withdrawal of support soon after. ABV was Swamy's bete noire from RSS days..
Here is an article that describes Swamy's collaboration with Jayalalitha - http://www.hinduonnet.com/fline/fl1609/16090040.htm .

But a trilateral meeting with Sonia is difficult to imagine, given what Swamy says about Sonia on his website - http://janataparty.org/sonia.html .

Also, there was the issue of the acid attack by AIADMK people on a lady party colleague of Swamy ... however it seems that they had patched up by 1996 - http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?202196 .

Govt scraps ISRO-Devas deal on S-band spectrum allocation - http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 514236.cms

Raja sent to Tihar Jail under judicial custody - http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 515003.cms

Also:
Shekhar Deorukhkar, Suresh Kalmadi’s man Friday, person with all the answers?.
http://www.dnaindia.com/mumbai/report_s ... rs_1507097

Published: Sunday, Feb 13, 2011, 10:43 IST
By Ashish Jadhav | Place: Pune | Agency: DNA

It is not at all surprising that the arrest of 45-year-old Shekhar Mukund Deorukhkar by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) on Friday sent shock waves in the city because of the extraordinary proximity of Deorukhkar to Congress MP Suresh Kalmadi.

Deorukhkar, as he is known in Pune circles, first came in contact with Kalmadi when he was serving as a protocol officer in the Indian Railways in the mid-1990s when Kalmadi was minister of state for railways.

Deorukhkar then left the Railways to become Kalmadi’s personal assistant and emerged as Kalmadi’s man Friday — a person who could surmount whatever challenges were thrown at him.

Appointed as a director in the organising committee of the CWG, Deorukhkar has been charged by the CBI with criminal conspiracy, cheating and dishonestly inducing delivery of property, under IPC and the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988.

The anti-corruption bureau (ACB) of the CBI searched his residence on the 6th floor of Uma Mahesh Apartment before nabbing him in the afternoon.

Intelligent and resourceful, one of Deorukhkar’s top qualities
was that of ‘jugaad’ (Mr Fix It) which made him valuable to Kalmadi, say Pune Congress unit leaders.

The two hit off very well and Deorukhkar rose in life, shifting
his residence from Pulachi Wadi behind Deccan Gymkhana bus stop to the Uma Mahesh Apartments, say those who have seen him closely over the last 15 years.

“Deorukhkar was trusted immensely by Kalmadi and knows A to Z about the Congress MP. He would be by his side constantly. If the CBI grills him thoroughly, he will have many things to tell,’’ a Congressman said.

According to another Congressman, Deorukhkar did not interfere in Kalmadi’s political arena but took care of many other matters.

“He was Kalmadi’s shadow but his role was limited to handling vital, non-political matters," a Congressman said.

According to a party leader, Deorukhkar was an expert in identifying the weak points of Kalmadi’s rivals and preparing a plan of action.

2G spectrum scam: Former Telecom Minister A Raja sent to Tihar Jail
The licences for 2G spectrum were not auctioned as many say they should have been. Raja chose to follow a First-Come-First-Served policy which was set by his predecessors.But the CBI's case is based on his office advancing the deadline for payments and informing only some of the players. Companies like Swan and Unitech seemed to have been tipped off to this, because despite the cut-off date being brought forward, they had their payments ready.
After winning their licences, Swan and Unitech sold equity to foreign companies much before they began the rollout of their services. The giant profits they made seemed to underscore the point that spectrum had been sold far too cheaply by the government.

Swan paid Rs. 1,537 crore and sold 45% stake to Etisalat for a profit of Rs. 4, 730 crore.

Unitech paid Rs. 1,661 crore for its licence, and sold 60% stake to Telenor for Rs. 6,200 crore.

But a trilateral meeting with Sonia is difficult to imagine, given what Swamy says about Sonia on his website
Really??
Monday's tea party hosted by Janata Party member of Parliament Dr Subramanian Swamy, which brought Jayalalitha and Congress president Sonia Gandhi face to face after almost four years, has sent the political temperature soaring once again.
http://www.rediff.com/news/1999/mar/31jaya2.htm

P.S: I don't generally Google for information - Apologies for not posting the link before.
Last edited by geeth on 17 Feb 2011 17:56, edited 1 time in total.

geeth wrote:
Monday's tea party hosted by Janata Party member of Parliament Dr Subramanian Swamy, which brought Jayalalitha and Congress president Sonia Gandhi face to face after almost four years, has sent the political temperature soaring once again.

Interesting.

We should ask Swamy to comment on that era ... he later seems to have broken up with Jayalalitha again, suggesting that she succumbed to EJ pressures in the Shankaracharya arrest episode.

Dhiman wrote:
Sri wrote: DMK faces polls in sometime.... I wonder what will Karunanidhi make of it.
If DMK wins, then there will be no incentive for these netas to prosecute the corrupt. This is not just simple state election (IMHO offcourse), its a landmark election that will determine the future course of Indian governance.
Absolutely. This is going to be the most important election. If DMK wins that is the end of all BS spins (no good leader in the opp ranks, the Govt did pretty good etc.) that a lot of social engineers write post elections. The results will simply conclude that (1) India has utter failed democracy (2) There is no way to fight corruption and nepotism (3) The entire election structure is created only to subvert democracy and values.

Aditya_V wrote:PM's charge on Gujarat biggest joke in 2011: Narendra Modi
Modi said the Prime Minister was levelling allegation against Gujarat to “divert public attention from his failures”.

Modi told television channels at his official residence on Thursday: "Yesterday's press conference by the PM was a failed attempt to wash black spots from his image. To save his self, he is trying to corner Gujarat and levelling allegations on a Gujarat minister.”
“"Gujarat and the BJP has cleared its stand on reforms like GST since the beginning. A year ago, when I met finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, I told him we cannot implement it before creating the nationwide information technology network for GST. Mukherjee also agreed to my suggestion and immediately called his personal secretary and ordered him to form a taskforce for this. However, till date, there is no progress. I challenge the PM to make the minutes of the GST empowerment committee public and let the people know what suggestions Gujarat and other states have made in last two years."

Might be OT: but brought it here in view of the PM including this in his Press conference on 2G for non action on GST.
What has GST to do with 2G scams?
He also made another hillarious comparision. The 1.5 lac revenue loss Vs loss of revenue via farm and other subsidies.

There is a sanskrit saying - Prusta thaadanath dantha bangaha - Means slap on the a s s resulting in loss of teeth. This is a proverb used when someone gives disconnected excuses.

--------------
MMS is extremely talented and determined person. I really think he is doer (I am serious and not sarc). I again think that something totally unrelated and serious (very very serious) is being done in the background. While the entire media and nation is discussing the scandals and price rise etc., he may be doing something tectonic behind the scenes. Something like autonomy to valley.

Economy wise also, he did not create level-playing field for several small scale industries. Due to high input costs, the textile industires are all suffering and are not even able to compete with Bangladesh.

India is being driven by someone else's agenda and MMS is willfully and ideolgically aligned with that someone. Period. This is the historical point of this regime.

Muppalla wrote:he may be doing something tectonic behind the scenes. Something like autonomy to valley.
Muppalla-ji that is something I have been shouting hoarse about since past few months. He is surely in a mood to attempt a Mountbatten-esque "going out in a blaze of glory" solution to J&K or other Indo-Pak issues. The ISRO's penetration just goes on to show the extent to which we stand compromised under his regime which is essentially Babu-cracy that has made real political will of the people ie elected politicians redundant to Delhi. Jargons and gibberish from west is feed as progressive and modern direction to rustic politicos who assume it to be the best in business owing to "Rin Sa Safed" PM.

Today our democracy stands compromised and like never before, any old timer from times of Mrs Gandhi or even Rajiv would recall that never before an INC regime stood this toothless and unaware of direction. If he is allowed to proceed unhindered on J&K front by his own party then one very can well imagine a scam (legal and ethical) X100 times ISRO.

geeth wrote:

We should ask Swamy to comment on that era ... he later seems to have broken up with Jayalalitha again, suggesting that she succumbed to EJ pressures in the Shankaracharya arrest episode.
I asked this question one on one to Swamy in 2006 first and again in 2010.
He said the amount of information against SG is more now and there is a real threat to the nation. In 1999 it was circus in the Parliament and all combination was being tried.