The Cricket World Cup Thread

Re: The Cricket Thread

nachi, I would always go with zak and nehra with munaf as 2nd choice. sree in our conditions is a huge liability.

Vikas bhai,

I am no expert. But I think I will have to take back those comments on our pacers or may be wait for regular WC matches. Reason for change of my mind is:

Dhoni's comments from Cricinfo post Ind-NZ warm up match
Dhoni: "Difficult wicket to rotate strike. We have hitters down the order, and were able to achieve a total that was above par on this track. In the past few games I have been in a hurry, but my game is different. I take my time, and then like to stay till the end for the slog overs. You have got to remind yourself of your strengths. Good to see most of the batsmen getting runs. Crucial for the part-time spinners to bowl well when you go with only four bowlers. We have asked our seamers to not go all out, and save themselves for the main games. May be that is what is reflecting in their performances. But hopefully, they will do well once the tournament starts."
Looks like Dhoni doesn't want any fast bowler to get injured hence that piece of advice. Zaheer is not made to play any warm up match. And those pacers who played are asked to underperform.

I sincerely hope that both Nehra and Sreesanth are not made to play together. No matter what they both leak runs, together they will only help opposition pile on a bigger score.

Just when we thought he was lame duck, he shines on a warm up! now he can peacefully take charge of the FBL control channel for the team.

I have been dragged into Sachin controversy: Azharuddin

TOIlet does its own bit to save the EccH and Dee of Mch Azhar

Azharuddin, who retired in 2000 after 15 years of international cricket, said he has had his share of glory and limelight as player and captain of Indian cricket team and he is now happy to pursue a political career.
The Mch didn't actually retire from cricket, he was banned for life. It is another matter that he got a ticket to Parliament from the Jai ho Youngistan Baba's party.

Tanaji wrote: Do we go with 2 seam and 3 spin combo or 2 seam + 2 spin as is the traditional combination?

I would play 3 spinners in Bangladesh since they will prepare a spinning track.
MSD firmly believe in playing 4 real bowlers onlee even in Test matches, most likely
it will be ZAK Munaf Bhajji and a Toss up between Chawla Ashwin and Nehra.
with every Batsmen except Yuvi among the runs it shall be a pleasnt headache about
who to keep out.

Prediction: Praanthan will do a Sunil Walson this WC.

time to read banglacricket.com forums again :twisted:

Singha wrote:time to read banglacricket.com forums again :twisted:
I'll go after the match. :twisted:

A cliche, but a lot is going to depend on how the troika of Pathan, Raina/Kohli and Yuvi bat. These 3 will make or break our chances.

AS an aside we need to defeat Bangladesh... too long have they enjoyed "we defeated India in WC" thing. A payback is in order.
I predict a tough one though.

Sena leader announces veiled threat on World Cup final involving Pakistan

Bait has been thrown, WKK and PAkis start Mentally Mas********* of Pakis in Finals and Hype it, its exactly what we need.

Winning world Cup in Front of Sena Etc. Then hopefully thier dreams should come shatterring down in the Quarter Finals.

Tanaji wrote:A cliche, but a lot is going to depend on how the troika of Pathan, Raina/Kohli and Yuvi bat. These 3 will make or break our chances.

AS an aside we need to defeat Bangladesh... too long have they enjoyed "we defeated India in WC" thing. A payback is in order.
I predict a tough one though.
nothing less than mincemeat would do for me.

Marten wrote:
Dileep wrote:Prediction: Praanthan will do a Sunil Walson this WC.
Why curse Kerala with that prediction, Dileep saar?
I hope the kid plays ahead of Munna bhai.

Esp. after I said this series would be won by Yuvi and Pranthan? :)
It is a prediction, not a curse :P

Dhoni ain't gonna play him.

hey what times does opening ceremony starts ?

Marten wrote:
This time around, Mashrafe will be a force to reckon with - esp. after IPL bigwigs ignored him. They're gonna be very fired up. Call it what you will, but money, pride, nationalistic spirit, etc. etc. will be a very strong motivator for the lil ones in the team. The older lot know they need to keep quiet to avoid a bad spanking.
Janaab, do you know something Cricinfo doesn't?

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket ... 97446.html

Where is Mortaza hain?

Oh what a bleeping tragedy.

I discovered that I am getting Willow TV in my DishTV.

But moving this weekend to FL and not taking dish there.

Why is Azharuddin even opening his mouth, huh? All his cricketing skills pale into insignificance when one considers the match-fixing controversy he was involved in. He says
. I can see my plain and simple approach to life has again opened me up to motivated attacks.
. Yup, match-fixing, ditching first biwi....yada yada :-)

in the warm up match against the kiwis, it was terrible to watch munna fumble a simple catch at deep mid.

in kikinfo:
Posted by Amin N. Tonmoy on (February 17 2011, 14:45 PM GMT)

Excellent stuff :) Loved the opening ceremony. Now its time to give india what they deserves. They never gives the honor bangladesh deserves and Now its our time to give you another Kiss of Death. Bring it on India, the best you can. Tigers are ready.

Anyone got a faik bassbort to banglabandhu kirket forum? Need to steer the debate away form kirket to something like Niazi, Razakars and Genocide. One strategically placed IEd is enough to get them to start fighting amongst themselves and before they realised what happened, Ring master Sehwag would have kicked the Tiger on the pichwada

Heh Heh Paki Mental Mast********* has started . Winning WC in Front of Bal Tackeray. How I wish they get Knowcked max by WC QUater Final.

I noticed when Pakis are hyped they fail and when understimated they Flop. SO PAKIS WILL WIN the WOrld CUP Onlee- Please JInx them so that they are out maximum by the Quaterfinal.

Shiv Sena to decide if Pakistan can play Final in Mumbai

I too had a dream last night....
India v/s BD

India batting first and a score of 150 by 14 overs (Gawd and Prodigy still batting at drinks) :mrgreen:
And I was watching the match on a feed promoted by banglabandhu cricket forum where the bandhu's were sucking p€ni$ shaped ice cream cones because they were getting guboed :mrgreen:

India will lose onleee :(( :(( :((

Of all the things in the world you saw a ***** shaped ice-cone?

Marten wrote:Anish cheta, I would be very worried.
a) You've just jinxed three entities - TI, Gawd, and Prodigy.
b) You saw a pe**s-shaped icre-cream cone.

PS: No offense.
at least better than what a wimmin friend of mine dreamt of during the 2003 WC, sachin was sitting by a pond and washing clothes like a dhobi ! :lol:

^^I for one cannot understand why they had to insist on hosting the matches at Wankhede when they had the far better and bigger DY Patil stadium available. As a result of this the WC final will now be watched live by only 33,000 people. Wankhede's days are over and it should be used only for Ranji matches henceforth. It has served us well no doubt and I will surely cherish my memories of the stadium. But it is time to move on.

Bit on tenterhooks at the moment, lets hope we win against the Beedees.

The Fire norm thing is pure pakiness, not being paid off in time. As per Star news there were supposed to be 4 entrances as per plan for fire brigade entry, but in practice there is only one. But Wankhade always had 4 gates, and it is sandwiched between railway tracks and the sea ... wonder what someone was thinking?

India will lose onlee. :(( :(( :((

Dilbu wrote:India will lose onlee. :(( :(( :((
Dilbula khan and Gentle Maulanas and Gazis, fear not, and no need for
Jinx / reverse jinx, TI is going to swat teams as one swat bugs and will win this cup,
we are going to celebrate loooong and will regale grand kids with tales.
AoA

Noooooo! Whenever niran ji says India will win, we lose onlee. :(( :((

Pakistan is going to win this world cup before goats become extinct.

Muppalla wrote:Pakistan is going to win this world cup before goats become extinct.
or shall i say poaki will win and Goats will become extinct :rotfl: :rotfl:

Koi is bechare ko link do bhai..
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

Bang wins the toss and invite TI for batting keeping the dew factor in mind
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

@marten these DY Patil guys have a medical coll also and the daan to get into is ~30 lac. kind of open bidding goes by the admission agents during the season
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

oh god adharmasena is one of the onfield umpires! that guy has some grudge against TI. do we have udrs in this world cup?

BCCI opposes UDRS. And when BCCI opposes, does ICC dare to have it in the world cup?
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

yeah BCCI opposes UDRS but that counts only in case of bilateral series.maybe in ICC events like world cup they might have a say. heard during commentary during practice matches that UDRS will be there once the real show begins
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

@Marten seen these admission guys real and close.most of them are former/final year students or dropouts. during the season they stay in hotels in vashi make a killing during daytime and then relaxation happens in dance bars of belapur/panvel.man seen them earning around 2-3 crores in 25-30 day period.