RamaY wrote:- There is little economic value except increasing consumption (Is it any different from US Fed's zero% rates to boost economy) equivalent to the money supplied. If you see the reality on the ground; for example in Andhra Pradesh, most of this NREGA money is going to liquor shops (average small town liquor shop is auctioned for 1 cr Rs). And Jean Dreze thinks otherwise, meaning this program does create economic value too? Cute, didnt we have those LSE,JNU alumni guiding our e-con-micky since independence resulting in congress growth of rate? (Yes, i read his credentials...)
- Do you have any statistics on the social value created? Is it one of the objectives of NREGA plan to start with? How about the other point you posted, where availability of cash doesn't automatically ensure availability of service access?
Shouldn't the great Mr. clean, person of impeccable integrity, secular, e-con-micky PM of India MMS be thinking about -
- Creating permanent jobs
- Developing necessary Educational, R&D, and Industrial infra
- Developing Civic infrastructure that really creates social goods
instead of buying votes for congress using tax-payer's money?
It is a stimulus-type measure as well..And by all accounts, it had its impact in shoring up consumption during the crisis...
What Jean Dreze "thinks" is less important - it was only a reference - question is what is the empirical facts on the ground...And by the sheer composition of expenditure, the assets being created cannot be very durable..But thats not the point...the objective of the programme, I have said before, is to create a safety net for the 400 million BPL folks...Its a bootstrap strategy to pull substantial numbers of them out of poverty (the wage rate you see is just above the 2 dollars/day benchmark!)...
It isnt "either or", the development of infrastructure should continue apace...But that has happened for the last 60 years, including 20 odd years post reforms...The data shows (I have posted above) that it isnt catching up fast enough..And structurally India is evolving far too rapidly for a lot of people to even have a chance of catching up..Employment elasticities are down almost across the board, and agriculture if anything will employ less and less people...
As Amit's anecdotal instance displayed, infrastructure is struggling to catch up, it will continue to struggle to catch up...And the BPL folks get impacted a LOT more on account of this than either the middle class or the corporate sector...There isnt a good govt school? No problem, my kid anyways goes to St Xavier's or St Mary's (both Calcutta

)...she doesnt miss out..But the kid of the BPL folk in Poilan (thats a village right on the outskirts of Calcutta) cant even afford the "english medium" school near RAichak...With NREGA, at least some would be able to do that...
I would put NREGA as a social security equivalent of "viability gap funding" that we have for PPP projects...In a host of infrastructure projects (mainly urban transport related), the projects themselves are not viable on a stand-alone basis..Therefore, the govt pitches in with a certain amount of support that makes the project viable for pvt sector participation..NREGA creates the viability gap funding for millions to access pvt sector services (like health and education and even nutrition) where public sector either doesnt exist or is decrepit...
RamaY wrote:So you are one of those eCon-Robinhoods? What gives the politicians the right to transfer "cash" from one section of society to another section? Is it the modern democratic economy you subscribe to
First, a large part of the "tax cash", around 50% still comes out of indirect taxes, where the poor pay disproportionately more (as a % of income) than the middle class. Second, the question is hugely hypocritical from a class that has just gotten a 1.4 lac crore dole on account of direct tax exemptions! BTW, the job of any govt is to collect taxes and use it for larger societal purposes...
And really the amounts are not crushingly unaffordable..Talking about which, can you point out any large national project in the last 10 years that have been pushed back because of a lack of funding? Money isnt a huge constraint anymore for India, not within reasonable limits...