The Cricket World Cup Thread
Re: The Cricket Thread
Martenullah.
Don't you think your kid will be proud to be born in the year that India won the WC?
This cup is ours for the taking, we can only drop it from here. I'm glad we lost to South Africa because from now on we only need to win 4 matches in a row.
We will most probably play NZ in the Quarters which should not be all that difficult given the hiding our half strength team gave them quite recently.
Sachin is batting as well as he was in 2003 and he has a lot more support now than he had then. One of the spinners and one of the seamers will put their hand up and we will win!
Don't you think your kid will be proud to be born in the year that India won the WC?
This cup is ours for the taking, we can only drop it from here. I'm glad we lost to South Africa because from now on we only need to win 4 matches in a row.
We will most probably play NZ in the Quarters which should not be all that difficult given the hiding our half strength team gave them quite recently.
Sachin is batting as well as he was in 2003 and he has a lot more support now than he had then. One of the spinners and one of the seamers will put their hand up and we will win!
I think he did some 'ungli' to Dada and ended up as a county player.Lalmohan wrote:what happened to murali kartik?
MKartik was kind of unfortunate for he peaked at a time when we had Kumble and Harbhajan and latter was doing very well himself. Moreover with a mindset where people want to stuff the team with batsmen onlee his name won't even cross anyone's mind.
What a selfish man!Marten wrote: I hope India wins the world cup, not for my kid, but for me.

With this bowling attack, I am not sure if Kiwis would be such a easy picking. After all someday or the other, this batting lineup has to fail. I hope that would be the day when bowlers stand up and be counted.
My heart melted when I saw the glorious innings of the top 2 of TI, and the way Sachin fielded. I think I caught him at least 3 times grinning wildly after fielding. He not only enjoys the game at 37, but gives a good fight.
JEM: Probably you are right, things will pan out for a great WC final victory
. Our fielding definitely was better than the previous games, I think even Bhajji dove couple of times. Yuvaraj charged and missed the opportunity to catch...it happens. I think Munaf could have hurried the SA runners at least couple of times, make them earn each run. He was not even bowling at that time.
I will say it again, some danda in the musharaaf is not necessarily a bad medicine. Discipline is key.
JEM: Probably you are right, things will pan out for a great WC final victory

I will say it again, some danda in the musharaaf is not necessarily a bad medicine. Discipline is key.
My theory: If one team has a better fielding than the other, then the team with better fielding adds 15 odd runs to their total by virtue of their fielding. {15 runs saved are 15 runs scored}
BTW, where is Lambu? Medically unfit or professionally unfit ?
VikasRaina wrote:With this bowling attack, I am not sure if Kiwis would be such a easy picking. After all someday or the other, this batting lineup has to fail. I hope that would be the day when bowlers stand up and be counted.
Batting failed twice saar! any score of less than 350 is a failure on these pitches. I believe we have the bowling to defend 350 in a pressure game. In the knock out stages, it is our batting that normally chokes
Guys:
My desh visit is taking me to several places, and hence couldn't post. But like mmany millions, man I was heart broken India folding up so tamely after being 267/1. What a disgrace. And then not being able to defend 13 runs in the last over. India badly missed Praveen Kumar. If ever there was a match India had lost after having it on a silver platter, this one has to be it. Hopefully, the boys learn from their mistakes and shape up against WI.
I have a question for the stat gurus. I was reading in the newspapers today that this loss to SA could very well put India out of QFs, assuming they loose to WIs, and other things happen. In other words, I thought India's entry to QF was a done deal after they beat Netherlands, but apparently not so. So is India in danger of being knocked oiut of the QFs?
And the terrorists seem to be cruising against ZW,
My desh visit is taking me to several places, and hence couldn't post. But like mmany millions, man I was heart broken India folding up so tamely after being 267/1. What a disgrace. And then not being able to defend 13 runs in the last over. India badly missed Praveen Kumar. If ever there was a match India had lost after having it on a silver platter, this one has to be it. Hopefully, the boys learn from their mistakes and shape up against WI.
I have a question for the stat gurus. I was reading in the newspapers today that this loss to SA could very well put India out of QFs, assuming they loose to WIs, and other things happen. In other words, I thought India's entry to QF was a done deal after they beat Netherlands, but apparently not so. So is India in danger of being knocked oiut of the QFs?
And the terrorists seem to be cruising against ZW,
they wore him down to nothing over last 3 yrs - tests, odi, t20.now he has lost both his pace and cut. another sad story in the making.
btw none of our pace bowlers seem blessed with a strong throwing arm? kapil dev used to cover lot of ground on the boundary and rip throws to kirmani. one of the best natural athletes we ever had...apart from dravid imho. almost never injured and always ready for duty like a toyota corolla.
sandeep patil used to run some 15 mts in from 3rd man and make a peculiar underarm throw. guess he had some shoulder issue.
btw none of our pace bowlers seem blessed with a strong throwing arm? kapil dev used to cover lot of ground on the boundary and rip throws to kirmani. one of the best natural athletes we ever had...apart from dravid imho. almost never injured and always ready for duty like a toyota corolla.
sandeep patil used to run some 15 mts in from 3rd man and make a peculiar underarm throw. guess he had some shoulder issue.
Sir Aggy used to let it rip from the third man. It is a pity that Dhoni doesn't want him in the team to compliment the other run leakers like Nehra, Appam God and Chawla
Pranthan only got the one practice match against bd isnt it? Anyway against wi we wont be playing 3 quicks in madras for sure. Time for ashwin then i guess. And a hopefully better batting performance from the middle order.
If BD beats SA, if England beats WI with a large margin and if India loses to WI by large margin. Then and then only India is out.CRamS wrote:Guys:
P0wErful beebul will make sure India makes it to the QF at least. Sit back and relax onlee
If gawd should get angry, then dhoni's @@ will fry. Let gawd take leadership and bring some orthodox and sophisticated messaiah-ship going for youngistan brigade.
Lal@@ may be unhappy though, but who cares?
Let us all meditate and invoke the forces that "the avatar" rises and gives the boys a new lesson with deep vision.
Lal@@ may be unhappy though, but who cares?
Let us all meditate and invoke the forces that "the avatar" rises and gives the boys a new lesson with deep vision.
gawd is no leader
he remains a virtuouso
dada as in ganguly ? he is one of ganguly's favourite players along with sir auggy. signed him up first thing in KKR season 1.Mahendra wrote:I think he did some 'ungli' to Dada and ended up as a county player.Lalmohan wrote:what happened to murali kartik?
he may be casualty of anti-dada politics in BCCI?
blasphemy alert!!!Lalmohan wrote:gawd is no leader
Saary Rahul Gawd ji
I got MK mixed up with DM( Dinesh Mongia)
can someone please do a glossary of nick names being used pls?
i am losing the plot??!
DM deselected himself. I think you got mixed up with sanjay bangar, SCG got pi$$ed off at him in aus.Mahendra wrote:Saary Rahul Gawd ji

SwamyG, in read only mode here with Sr Youngistani bhakti movement pervading this thread, it is not sekulaar anymore.
I do hope that Sr. Sreekhand did slap the youngistani capitaan for the last match result. Next are the bhaktas too, but a slap from God will only increase the bhakti levels and not on due diligence on the game plan that god wants from the bhakts.

Yes, but is he lucky?
This article by Tharoor Deva may help restore the sekkular bhakti levels that have dropped a bit after SRT hit a purple patch

England share joy of winning with lesser teams
Zaltzman as funny as ever
As always there are many fools in the comments section who fail to see the sarcasm
Zaltzman as funny as ever

As always there are many fools in the comments section who fail to see the sarcasm
Well equal opportunity bhaktas can change sides as they wish onlee, or as gods get promoted or demoted as in the puranas. 

Aha Big Saar, that is an unbeatable combination onlee, so unfair!
Now how will one distinguish between true-bhakta and pseudo-bhakta?
Will try. Impossible to cover all of them of course.Lalmohan wrote:can someone please do a glossary of nick names being used pls?
i am losing the plot??!
SRT - God
Dravid - Demigod (well at least I call him that)
Ganguly - Dada
Sreesanth - Pranthan, Appam God, Appam Chu****
Agarkar - Sir Aggy/Augy, Kaan Moolo (from fake IPL player)
Yuvraj - Desi Sobers
Munaf Patel - Munna, Mahdi
Zaheer Khan - Zak
Please to add...
Using Appam God for SS is a self-goal only. Since the true Appam loving God was Unnikrishnan.
If you want a secular name then it should be St. Pranthan.

It is all relative and maya onlee as the wise seers have said in the past, and hence no need for verification !Mahendra wrote:Aha Big Saar, that is an unbeatable combination onlee, so unfair!

New names for new under performers:
Nehra: Nakhara
Chawla: Daal-Chaval
Nehra: Nakhara
Chawla: Daal-Chaval
thank gawd(the real one not the one amongst us)
cricket is burkhafied in peearreff.

My friend from SA was gloating that they won against us on saturday.
Informed him
1) we gifted the match to SA- It is important that SA did not win it
2) it was a league match- good for TI as it is a kick in the rear.
3) SA will choke in knockout phase to re establish themselves as official chokers.
needless to say he did not look happy.
cricket is burkhafied in peearreff.

My friend from SA was gloating that they won against us on saturday.
Informed him
1) we gifted the match to SA- It is important that SA did not win it
2) it was a league match- good for TI as it is a kick in the rear.
3) SA will choke in knockout phase to re establish themselves as official chokers.

needless to say he did not look happy.
In the world of maya( not behenji) one only needs to appear to be sekkular while actually being quite the opposite. A hindu sounding naam is quite essential to maintain the façade of being sekkular.
The real devotee
Salute to you
Here’s the fabled Indian cricket fan. He has his own following, and is now the subject of a film
The day India meet Ireland, the first person to turn down a photograph request at the Chinnaswamy stadium is not Sachin Tendulkar. It is his fan, Sudhir Kumar Gautam.
You’ve seen Sudhir. He is the most visible supporter of the Indian team and of Tendulkar. He is the guy with the shaven head, painted top to bottom in the colours of the Indian flag.
Being in position when the Indian team bus arrives is important for Sudhir, a 30-year-old from Muzzaffarpur, Bihar. It is the muhurat shot of his day, a small but important formality. So he is ready — after four hours at the painter’s—and focused. His forehead has a thick coat of saffron. The eyes, nose and mouth are white. The bridge of his nose bears a blue Ashok Chakra. The chin is green. Dried white paint coats his eyelids and a bit of his eyelashes, making him look like a mime artist.
The pale blue pants of an earlier India uniform hang off his wiry body. He does not bother with the shirt. His head is tonsured, except for an island of hair on the top front. It is in the shape of the Indian map. This too is dabbed saffron, white and green. Low at the back he has a braid. His moustache, again, is tricoloured. So is his back. The word ‘Tendulkar’ and number ‘10’ are painted on his back in white against saffron. Fastened on top of his head is a model of the World Cup. In his hands he carries a large, silken India flag and a conch shell. A policeman in a slouch hat stares at him. He is not the only one. Sushrut Jain, a filmmaker from Los Angeles, is shooting Sudhir for a documentary on the Indian passion for cricket. Jain has put up Sudhir in a hotel in Bangalore.
He does not foresee a change. He is a willing supplicant to the cricketers, chiefly Tendulkar. He calls his relationship with Tendulkar “Bhakt aur Bhagwan ka naata.” (the relationship between God and a devotee) But even when Tendulkar retires, his dedication to Indian cricket will remain, he affirms, adding for dramatic effect, “Jab tak iss shareer mein jaan hai, hum Team India ke liye jiyenge” (As long as there is life in this body of mine, I’ll live for Team India.) Marriage does not interest him. “How will I travel?” he says. “I have made cricket my life partner.”
Harbhajan Singh is his other benefactor. When Tendulkar or Harbhajan do well, Sudhir rejoices, or genuflects, even more. He has run onto the pitch to touch their feet on occasion, angering security. He says he has gifted two conch shells to Sachin and Harbhajan. Asked where he got the shells from, he says, “Chennai. You get them on Marina beach.”
A touch of vanity now: “When India play outside Asia, they don’t do so well. Meri kami mehsoos hoti hai (They miss me). I wish the BCCI would send me to matches outside the Subcontinent on their expense. I don’t want food and shelter.
It was on this point that Sharad Pawar and I had a fight.”
Salute to you
dhoni - DON (bachcha-n)nachiket wrote:Please to add...
sehwag - say-whack
gambhir - jiji
kohli - goalie (marro mat)
raina - runner (run ah)
yuvraj - bhojraj
pathan - futhan (he is boolean : either the ball is fut or his..)
chawla - c. halwa (sweet - in tamil, it may also mean "to cheat" -> giving halwa)
Last edited by SaiK on 15 Mar 2011 07:47, edited 1 time in total.
Dhoni should be Slick Johnny
pronounced as Joni like Achayans do.
He can spin any yarn irrespective of outcome with a straight cool face. Got to give that to him.

Joni is fine too. Joo neigh!
he is a stud!

correction onleenachiket wrote:Will try. Impossible to cover all of them of course.Lalmohan wrote:can someone please do a glossary of nick names being used pls?
i am losing the plot??!
SRT - God
Dravid - Demigod (well at least I call him that)
Ganguly - Dada
Sreesanth - Pranthan, Appam God, Appam Chu****
Agarkar - Sir Aggy/Augy, Kaan Moolo (from fake IPL player)
Yuvraj - Desi Sobers
Munaf Patel - Munna, Mahdi
Zaheer Khan - Zak
Please to add...
Gawd== Tendulkar
Demi Gawd== Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman