The Cricket World Cup Thread

Re: The Cricket Thread

^^^ that would be a self goal.
well, to be frank they do have a minority that is in fact quite positive towards us. the rest is the usual combo of paki style CT's and typical small country mentality.

I don't think we are concerned about our spin bowling at all. With Bhojraj, Rannah, Futhan, SeyWhack, Bhaji, and with little support from kohli and gawd, Ashwin coming in is of no use at all.

What we need is a good seam bowler who contains runs, and gets a wicket or two in each spell, and help Zakh out. Munna is a pain in the neck, and nakhra has been done with now. Pranthan is the most possible bowler but, he might be ignored by don!

Pranthan should befriend don, even if he doesn't like him. He has lot of politics to play to come up. Sometimes presentation and ishtyle gets one going on these. A nice haircut to begin with is a fantastic option for him.

What fails many a people reasoning that fast bowlers are there for ever to stay. Zak must be getting older. He needs solid support.

Not really. None of those bowlers is effective within the first ten overs if required to bowl. Ashwin has bowled and quite effectively too in that period. Bhajji isnt too keen generally to do that. The others arent consistent enough to tighten things with the new ball.
Kukreja

Post by Kukreja »

i guess this explains the one way in which TI wont make it to the quaterfinals
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket ... 06765.html
Bangladesh beat South Africa and West Indies beat India
England will be hoping this scenario does not happen. If Bangladesh beat South Africa, they will move to eight points and West Indies can also finish on eight if they beat India. With three teams level on points and number of wins, the net run rate will decide the standings. West Indies and South Africa will take the top two spots and Bangladesh the third spot. India will edge out England for the fourth position barring a huge defeat against West Indies.

A highly unlikely situation that can result in England's progress at the expense of India is if West Indies make 300 and dismiss India for 117 or if West Indies can dismiss India for 150 and chase the target down in 20.3 overs.

Rahul M wrote:^^^ that would be a self goal.
well, to be frank they do have a minority that is in fact quite positive towards us. the rest is the usual combo of paki style CT's and typical small country mentality.
First of all, you sir are Wajib ul Cuttle for not halaling this thread after 72 pages!

Secondly, I agree with your second point, The BDs have a very deep seated inferiority complex. This deep seated inferiority complex when combined with deep seated ummah feelings forms a potent mix of hate and jealousy.

It is highly likely that we can lose 8 wickets for 29 runs! we just proved it against some normal good bowling.

SaiK wrote:It is highly likely that we can lose 8 wickets for 29 runs! we just proved it against some normal good bowling.
It was one of those days. TI do not collapse like that on a regular basis and good thing it happened at this stage. That will weed out any complacency creeping into our middle order.

Kukreja wrote:i guess this explains the one way in which TI wont make it to the quaterfinals
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket ... 06765.html
Bangladesh beat South Africa and West Indies beat India
England will be hoping this scenario does not happen. If Bangladesh beat South Africa, they will move to eight points and West Indies can also finish on eight if they beat India. With three teams level on points and number of wins, the net run rate will decide the standings. West Indies and South Africa will take the top two spots and Bangladesh the third spot. India will edge out England for the fourth position barring a huge defeat against West Indies.

A highly unlikely situation that can result in England's progress at the expense of India is if West Indies make 300 and dismiss India for 117 or if West Indies can dismiss India for 150 and chase the target down in 20.3 overs.
Don't waste your time. There is no way in this world that India will be dismissed for less than 150 by this West Indian attack. Kemar Roach is pacy and so is Russel but they ain't Holding/Marshall/Croft.
I'm more worried about BD beating South Africa. If Steyn and Morkel are rested then an upset might be on the cards. If the useless BD team makes the quarters then it will be an easy pass to the semi-finals for Australia or SL-Pajistan

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/co ... Logoholder

Throwaib is gonna retire after the WC, hope he meets the same fate as Tellolist Miandad

Posted this comment on Cricinfo, hope it passes underneath the radar and ignites a war e flame
Shoaib Bhai!

I salute you from the bottom of my heart. You have always given 400 percent for your country and then put in 10% more if the situation demanded. In these bad days for Pakstan cricket, you have been a glimmer of hope. Your rebarj swinging yorkers remind me of the predator drones swinging towards satellite phone signals in North Waziristan. Your bouncers remind me of the laws of human mechanics and more importantly the rule books. Your body reminds me of Ben Johnson in 1988 Seoul Olympics. You are a true star for Pakstan. You have outlived the pace sensations Aamir and Asif. I hope in your last series you do pass on the secrets of ball chedhchad to your juniors in the side. Pakstan Paindabad

You can become a professional troll Mahdi :lol:

Dilbu, just onlee saying that it is a possibility, even though the possibility of that happening is remote (shy). It is a nice reminder to help don's unwashed brain.

Thinking twice, Pranthan against WI would send him back to bench. He only gets aroused only against SA/Oz.

krisna wrote:The white paqis have had close calls-
1) India- tie
2) Ireland- lost
3) SA- won
4) Holland- won
5) Bangladesh- lost.

Too close for comfort.
Tough days for barmy supporters.
Very unpredictable- from the depths of ocean(losing to BD and Ireland) to scaling the Everest(India and SA)
worse than paqis definitely.
Many heart attacks predicted. :rotfl:
Looks like white paqis are keeping the WC interests alive. :rotfl:
Been pretty drab WC otherwise.
wonder paul condon would dekko this white paqi team for phixing mixing bookies ....... :P
taking over form the original paqis. :roll:

where is RP Singh?

anyone else from this list?:
http://www.weeksupdate.com/2010/07/top- ... -best.html

A Mithun?

Unandkat was spoiled by don.
Vril

Post by Vril »

Got this as sms yday before eng wi match. WC is fixed

1st QF: Aus VS Eng
2nd QF: Pak Vs Ind
3rd QF: Sri Lanka Vs SA
4th QF: NZ Vs WI

1st SF: Aus Vs SA
2nd SF: WI Vs Ind

Final: Ind Vs SA

and guess who wins???

YINDIA.

im ready to believe till the time final goes the way they say it will.

Aren't you folks fed up of the seemingly close contests this time around on WC, most of them involving usual suspects of England, Pakistan & India chipping in as often as they can. If one looks closely, most of these 'close contests' are manufactured by playing rash shots where none where needed in first place and they stuff it up when the required run rate was well below 6.00 and they were just required to hang around playing sensibly at best.

Dhoni is fooling around more than necessary this WC & his playing around with his bowlers isn't going to win him laurels within the team. He needs to take lessons from the way Kumble handled bowlers when he was the captain.

Regarding his whines against Sreesanth chirping away in the dressing room. It seems Sreesanth does not subscribe to 'betting-mafia' inspired decisions and has his own point of view, doesn't necessarily subscribe to each of Dhoni's actions etc causing this captan and team mates much takleef.

India can't be out of final 8. Equation is tilting too much in our favor.

SaiK wrote:where is RP Singh?

anyone else from this list?:
http://www.weeksupdate.com/2010/07/top- ... -best.html

A Mithun?

Unandkat was spoiled by don.
Best way for fast bowlers to develop is to blood them young and leave them uncoached by any of the 'experts' as far as possible.

they have grown up with actions most suitable to them, changing action even minutely here or there can cause serious injury in medium or long term. That is why none of our incumbent fast bowlers remain likewise for more than a short while.

apparently Srikanth chairman of selectors had a hard talk with the temp coach and captain about certain selection decisions. Dhoni adamant on persisting with Pchawla though he has neither got wkts or contained runs. question is being asked why is Ashwin not being tried out.
also 'indications' that Raina will finally get a bat on sunday.

I hope this WC brings an end to Dhoni's unearned fame as a good captain. he was lucky enough to have a good bunch of players around thats all. same as Ponting.

has anyone noticed how all the review decisions meant for 'India' are cornered by 'best buddy' Yuvdrag Sing ?

take any match and Yuvdrag will take up 3 reviews, one for batting lbw review (where he will be given out anyway) and 2 lbw reviews while he is bowling. What a jerk !

VikasRaina wrote:What if it rains during India-WI match or if it is a tie ? What happens in that case.
India go thorugh.

Rain in chennai ? :rotfl:

Wish it would
Last edited by krishnan on 18 Mar 2011 12:18, edited 1 time in total.

MSD hasnt played an under pressure hard hitting innings since that ipl semifinal either.

Marten wrote:
Singha wrote:apparently Srikanth chairman of selectors had a hard talk with the temp coach and captain about certain selection decisions. Dhoni adamant on persisting with Pchawla though he has neither got wkts or contained runs. question is being asked why is Ashwin not being tried out.

I hope this WC brings an end to Dhoni's unearned fame as a good captain. he was lucky enough to have a good bunch of players around thats all. same as Ponting.
+1.

Raina and Ashwin will be hard done by... The Chennai IPL team will also be wondering why MSD is sabotaging their players' careers. :)
In fact Dhoni is preserving them for the title that matters the most to him - IPL.

Netherlands has created a record of sorts. 4 run outs in the 4 balls...:)

Ned have made 300

The last over
This Over: 0,0,0,wd,wd W,W,W,W

Dmurphy wrote:
Marten wrote:quote="Singha"]apparently Srikanth chairman of selectors had a hard talk with the temp coach and captain about certain selection decisions. Dhoni adamant on persisting with Pchawla though he has neither got wkts or contained runs. question is being asked why is Ashwin not being tried out.

I hope this WC brings an end to Dhoni's unearned fame as a good captain. he was lucky enough to have a good bunch of players around thats all. same as Ponting./quote]

+1.

Raina and Ashwin will be hard done by... The Chennai IPL team will also be wondering why MSD is sabotaging their players' careers. :)
In fact Dhoni is preserving them for the title that matters the most to him - IPL.
I doubt it, the amount of money he,his team and BCCI will make from India winning the WC is nothing compared to what can be made from IPL.

Case in point look at his endorsement growth after India's victory in the 2007 T20 WC.

People are shouting 'Sachin Sachin' for a NZ-SL match. :eek:

a stat to take note:

the only team that has not yet lost a single match is australia. They haven't lost in last 3 WC's btw and fwiw this time around Ponting has used the same 4 bowlers viz Tait, Lee, Johnson & Watson in all their encounters. The pace trio hasn't been shuffled even once.

Now compare this to local boy going places MS Tony, our man has shuffled, changed his strike bowlers on all available options. His only constants being the superlative performers Yuvrag and H'bhajan.

There are 2 teams that are never out until they are really out. Pakis and the white Pakis - you can never count them out.

SL against SL? :P
AjitK

Post by AjitK »

Marten wrote:
In other news, SL is making progress against SL> Who should win according to BRFites>
NZ,obviously. Aren't they the "home team"? Besides,Sangakara can then continue whining about having to play the game in India.

He has also said pitches in india are better than in SL

I am shivering in my dhoti and cowering in the dark on the very thought of TI losing to the pakis in the QF . Super kaptaan Dhoni looks destined to lose to pakis in WC. Our bowling sucks ...so does the kaptaani... :(( :(( :((

So if TI by mistake beat WI on sunday, would they move to 2ns spot in group B? that way TI avoid either the pakis or the gora pakis in the QF.

We still don't know how real Pakis will square up against white Pakis.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Vril wrote:Got this as sms yday before eng wi match. WC is fixed

1st QF: Aus VS Eng
2nd QF: Pak Vs Ind
3rd QF: Sri Lanka Vs SA
4th QF: NZ Vs WI
Before I get accused of being uncivil, are you nuts to believe every bullshit sms you get? Common sense dictates that SA will beat BD and the Ind-WI match wont end up with a point split. There are only six other possibilities then.
1) Ind bt WI, Aus bt Pak --> Group A will finish as Aus, SL, NZ, Pak, Group B: SA, Ind, Eng, WI --> Ind vs NZ QF at Mirpur
2) Ind bt WI, Pak bt Aus --> Group A: Pak, SL, Aus, NZ, Group B: SA, Ind, Eng, WI --> Ind vs Aus QF at Mirpur
3) WI bt Ind by a huge margin, Aus bt Pak --> Group A: Aus, SL, NZ, Pak, Group B: SA, WI, Eng, Ind --> Ind vs Aus QF at Mirpur
4) WI bt Ind by a small margin, Aus bt Pak --> Group A: Aus, SL, NZ, Pak, Group B: SA, WI, Ind, Eng --> Ind vs SL QF at Motera
5) WI bt Ind by a huge margin, Pak bt Aus --> Group A: Pak, SL, Aus, NZ, Group B: SA, WI, Eng, Ind --> Ind vs Pak QF at Mirpur
6) WI bt Ind by a small margin, Pak bt Aus --> Group A: Pak, SL, Aus, NZ, Group B: SA, WI, Ind, Eng --> Ind vs SL QF at Motera

So conclusions are: unless something dramatic happens, India will play its QF at either Motera or Mirpur (that should nt require a brain for concluding). If we play SL, it will be at Motera. If we play anyone else (Pak, NZ or Aus), it will be at Mirpur. The only way India can play Pak at Mirpur is we have to hope for a double blast: Pakis thulping Assies and India to lose by a HUGE margin to WI, which to my mind seems like an ululation brigade, not a rona fest.

The other predictions are even more asinine. If Aus vs SA is the other semis with Ind vs WI being the first one, that should take the cake. You can do the calculations on your own. But with the above assumptions, it is impossible for Aus vs SA semifinal when Ind vs WI is the first one. Of the four of the eight teams that make up one semi-final slot, Ind, WI and Aus have to in one grouping if all the three have to make it to the semi-final stage.

In other words, let me also send you a sms on the Internets and hope that you will do the needful: I assume you are Vril, I have a house in Ougadougou for a sexy deal, wire me 50 grand US$ and it is all yours, let me send you my contact info by email to you, can you please post your email here. And btw, it is all yours and ONLY yours, I have nt told anyone else yet. Please reply asap.

Marten wrote:Our best hope is to get to B2 and hope A3 is a benevolent nation. :) Dhaka has been better for us than Colombo, or gulp, Amdavad. We don't want to play Ozzies on that lovely pitch!
If we are to take Pakistan, it better be Ahmedabad. No Dhaka or Colombo. Imagine the part of BDs that hate us getting into Dhaka stadium and cheering for Pakistan, maybe TI will be suddenly motivated :-)

Who coined the words "Team India"? Is it BRF or Main Stream Media?

The cricket dhaaga will fly crazy if BDs beat SA. Which thread holds the record for fastest moving onlee?

Nukkad or TSP .

What was the thread recently that had 5-6 pages in a period of 12 hours. Was it the Babri Masjid Verdict dhaaga?