The Cricket World Cup Thread

Re: The Cricket Thread

raina-kohli and a few can save us about 50 odd runs by excellent fielding.
put munna on the slog overs along with ashwin and experiment him for couple of overs - sounds like dhonish? but .. :(( munna is having way too much fun for his caliber.

michael hussey has handed out a direct warning in press conf, saying they will crush us.

Dilbu wrote:Sehwag had tried to do that in the initial matches. He is looking to stay there longer and I am sure he would like to do the same against AUS also.
There is a psychological advantage if sehwag is still there in the 20th over.

This is the weakest Assie side we will get to play , if Sehwag stays till 20th over it's game over as far as Assies are concerned. I only hope that groundsman does his job rest all will fall in place.

^ Nah boss at least one thing is very clear Tait,Lee and Johnson are no where near McGrath and young Lee with Gillespie as second change and this time pitches would be tailor made for TI . Look at the way Assies have bowled against other teams in this WC they have leaked too many runs in the first 15 overs , in fact this WC is a fast bowler's nightmare heck the way we scored against Morkel and Steyn in first 15 overs was surreal. For me Johnson is their main bowler for he being a left hander bowls across the right handers and our middle order is pretty ordinary when it comes to playing genuine fast bowling.

^^You forgot Mohali. India's Perth and Durban rolled into one. Though its not really as bad as those two.
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

All indications are that Dhirajbhai has prepared a low,slow crumbly wicket for our match..

folks was not Motera submerged for weeks last Nov then then prepared a peech harder than a concrete dam
for TI SA match SA scored 365 TI 275, simpool win the toss bat first score big and beat them assies.

SRT will not score a big one. Too much pressure for God
Death to joo kafir. He will prove you wrong. :evil:

Can MSD drop himself out :-) ?

the biggest threat to TI is doggy aka future kaptaan of Ozpakese, he lurves our bowling. :((

MSD will win the toss TI bat first saythwak Gawd GG yuvi scores 380+

before ye all picks those peech forks i was korrect about TI SA match except the result.

Against p!sskozie team, pranthan adds value.

MSD has averaged only 24 in ODI's this year at a SR of a pitiful 66, as against his overall avg of 48+ (highest of any Indian). he needs to fire big time if we have dream of moving beyond QF's, since he is the best finisher we have.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine ... pe=batting

I am backing kohli, raina and yuvraj 40-70 odd runs each. A distributed batting where everyone scores at average of 35 runs per person, is enough to get there. 350-375 runs are required.

Well, well, well!!! Here is my predictio. I don't know if TI will win against white Paki or not but the winner of TI VS white Pakis will be the eventual WC winner :-).

What! you are not even considering Smith & Cos?

The larger instruction should be "The first six batsmen should score 250 runs in 40 overs". So send the first six to a close door meeting and let them trash it out. The minor injunction should be a partnership has to last at least 40 runs. Next, If the bowling is good, do not attempt to score more than one boundary a over - get singles and doubles. TI has to find two sheet anchors. And obviously they should not bat at the same time.

Lastly score 325 runs at the minimum.

I predicted a one sided match, with TI winning Australia.

SaiK wrote:What! you are not even considering Smith & Cos?
Not really. And I am not sure about Pakis too despite their win against their white counterparts.

Having said that, when India took on WI, I was in 2 minds. Having already made it to QFs, I thought it would be better for India to loose against WI and take on SL in the QFs, but that feeling was a doube edged words. If India had lost to WI, that would have meant that India made it to QFs wihtout winning a single match against top teams, and that would have been a major psychological blow, particulaly with the missiles that would have been showered on TI by the p-sec idiots like Sambi Bal on cric info and the likes of Harsha Bhogle. On the other hand, ironically, the win against SI could very well mean that it came at the expense of India winning the WC :-). Thats why they say, jab naseeb raha g%^&ndu, tho kya karega paandu :-).

Lets not make any bones about cricket being a game etc, but that last f%^&ing thing I want is to see the terrorists win the WC. That would be a disgusting spectacle, I make no bones about it. And just imagine the self-flagellation mode that the Amn ki Aasha chutiyas in India and other Paki pasand clowns in the India media will go into.

Wishing the best of luck to TI. More later as the D-day approaches.

Post by amdavadi »

correction: who ever wins in motera will play WI in SF.
Last edited by amdavadi on 22 Mar 2011 21:21, edited 1 time in total.
mraghu

Post by mraghu »

The Plan in my opinion would be to score 300+, Pray that Bhajji, Zak and one more bowler bowl according to a plan and an additional set of prayers that we don't ball noballs/wides and lastly ensure that all catches stick to the hand and are not spilled off.

imho whoever wins in motera will promptly suffer a mental letdown and lose the next match.

but if we lose in SF, some H&D will be saved.

^^There is no point in us worrying about echandee since the players themselves don't seem to be bothered about it. As I see it, if we can't defeat this white paki team on Indian pitches, we don't really deserve to win the cup anyway. So best to get it over with in QFs itself.

Dilbu wrote:
SRT will not score a big one. Too much pressure for God
Death to joo kafir. He will prove you wrong. :evil:
Dilbullah, you have spoiled any chances of us getting to see the 100th ton in the QF. :evil:

With Rickety integrity I-took-the-catch-clean Ponting's captaincy in doubt, the Aussie team will take some of that into the field. No f&**% team is a coherent unit and the white pakis have their issues.
If this happened to the indian team, the Aus media would have pounced on the chance - remember the articles on caste in 2008.

And 1 more thing about Ponting: he will not walk but wants his word to be taken for a catch - that IMO is a cheap cheat.

nachiket wrote:Dilbullah, you have spoiled any chances of us getting to see the 100th ton in the QF. :evil:
You can congratulate me after the match. :twisted:

All I hope for is a good effort and not a dismal failure.

TI have been making good progress.. from 9 wickets for 29 runs to 7 wickets for 50 runs last. :((

Should I say what figures would come next? well let us leave that to dilbopus.

at that rate, 70 for 5 wkts.

Hope that comes in the last 5 overs.

2 predictions

1) There is going to be a Gaylestorm in Mirpur tomorrow, don't know if it will lead to a repeat of 1971
2) India will knock WPs out of the world cup in a match full of acrimony. For us the danger man is going to be Hussey, man I loved the way he single handedly chopped of the Bakistani benis which was on the verge of ejjakulashun in the 20-20 WC. I hope he doesn't do the same to us. His lil bro Dravid Hussey is good too and the WPs may consider bringing him into the side at the expense of Cameron White.

Read in TOIlet about the Aus/Zim match being spot-fixed

Here is my brilliant plan pulled out of my musharraf, send Sachin 2nd or 3rd down. Sehwag opens with GG. If Sehwag falls first, send Yuvaraj in. If GG falls first, send Kohli in. Then send Tendulkar, Raina and MSD.*

* man what a strong batting line up we have on paper. Instead of us shivering in lungi, shouldn't it be the others, huh? Sad onlee.

Mahendra wrote:His lil bro Dravid Hussey
does he also play like Dravid? :lol:

hah! it so good for you swamy ji, that nobody complained about your blasphemous suggestion, though looks very good 'cause of raina's promotion. gawd needs to make his ton of a ton too, only comes TI winning strategies later.

promote ashwin as well before bhaji, so that ashwin can demonstrate along with MSD in the middle.

SwamyG, for one reason or another, SRT/Sehwag in middle order in ODI's has never really worked for us.

It looks like many of us wanting to shuffle the batting order, while dhoni only can. It must hurt a billion hearts, if he messes up again, and hope he doesn't make us think like that anymore.

http://sports.in.msn.com/cricket/2011Cr ... 925&page=3

A MSN sports article on what has changed in Ind & Aus since 2003 and a gameplan to beat Australia :-))

Enough of shuffling wuffling in batting line up for one tournament. Now let us get this done.

nachiket wrote:SwamyG, for one reason or another, SRT/Sehwag in middle order in ODI's has never really worked for us.
As I said, it was a plan from musharaf onlee. Here is my line of thought if India bats first.
1. Scores around 175. We in maasa, can start drinking around 8:00am in the morning & then go to work. Lucky for deshvasis in desh though, it is time to drink anyway.
2. Scores around 225. Gives us a reason to shout at the kids and SHQ.
3. Scores around 250-275. Reason to bite nails, shivering and praying to BRF's kula daivatha - Allah.
4. Scores around 300. Start thinking about SF, and ask SHQ or mom, to make some good pineapple-halwa.
5. Scores 340+. Start making plans to watch SF and start phoning friends for a massive get together.

So all my thoughts are to prevent collapses. I know SSridhar is worried that we have been wasting the batting power plays. I say golli maarro yaar. First hold onto the wickets and play 50 overs, then think about scoring 400 runs.

Dilbu: Take it easy, do you think MSD is reading BRF and will make the changes we talk about :-) :-) :-)

Do you really thing I am bursting my blood vessels and crying 'jeehaard' wearing a lungi at these posts? :D