Re: The Cricket Thread

sum wrote:^^ AoA...we won onlee ( couldn't log into BR after the match as was completely drained after the roller coaster) :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thank God the Pakis didnt reach Mumbai and TI gave them the 72 in Mohali itself.

Was it only me or did Munna look super charged throughout the match? The man was virtually jumping up and down the whole match and cheering every fielding effort, doing some smart fielding himself, mouthing off against a lot of the Pakis and generally, celebrating like no tomorrow with every wicket!!!

Have NEVER seen Munna so active in any match before.... Wonder what was the trick which made him super-charged?
he is the Mahdi . . most unassuming, most humble yet when the hour comes, he gives glimpses to us mere mortals of what he is capable of.

success papers over the cracks and weak points. atleast MSD should do the reasonable thing and send in Raina ahead of himself in Finals - might get us 15 extra runs;

GG needs some talking to for throwing away good starts, he is in 3rd mode of his career:
1st mode- hit flashy 40s and 30s but not big scores
2nd mode - could do no wrong, strike rate 100%, big scores at will, perfect foil for sehwag
3rd mode - plays well but throwing starts away

about Munna and Nehra - yesterday was a revelation. there *is* some damascus steel beneath the silk sheath. Munna is the new boris becker - raises his game in wimbledon finals onree.

The short talk with Harsha after the match showed just what the Mahdi is. An unassuming man who will release the inner kraken when needed but baki sab me ithni zor lagane ki kya zaroori hai types. Enjoy the game and live life types. But the roar and gaalis were good :)

Munna deserves an apology from me. Maaf karo mere bhai.

^^ One pooch:

If every damn seat in the stadium was occupied and no place for even a ant, how did SG/RG combo get themsleves 20 odd seats?

When they were sitting among the "aam aadmi", one row in front and back was taken by the SPG, which would mean almost 10-20 seats.
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

Boss, what about Nehra's fielding? Most excellent, didn't let us miss Ashwin at all!

GoI has the power to nuke the place if it wants. So why the pooch at all about a few seats?

Well, my concern was only for the 20-30 odd paying "aam aadmi" who had to lose their seats for the SG/RG photo-op.. :(( :((

Prasad wrote:The short talk with Harsha after the match showed just what the Mahdi is. An unassuming man who will release the inner kraken when needed but baki sab me ithni zor lagane ki kya zaroori hai types. Enjoy the game and live life types. But the roar and gaalis were good :)
What exactly did Munna say ( main points)?

What I heard in the news was that out of 20,000, some 12,000 seats were sold to the Indian aam aadmi. Out of those about 5000 were sold on the counters. Rest all went to black marketers, pakis and whoknowswho. The Indian fans lined up from 6AM to 10PM to no avail. Politics has destroyed the fun of live game for many. Sad.

The video is on youtube, posted by espnstar. I can't view it here in the us but it shd be easy enough to find. I have a poor memory when it comes to quotes :oops:

edit: here it is - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y21QyIa-Srw
Last edited by Prasad on 31 Mar 2011 10:19, edited 1 time in total.

Mahendra wrote:
putnanja wrote:Watching the match on a 52" HDTV was awesome! Watching pakis get bitch-slapped, priceless!
Huh! I watched on 52.5"
Still, Pakis have it bigger.

You are not talking about TVs, are you ?

According to a friend who watched the whole match, Munaf's words were somewhat like "Bose DK ***** "

Meanwhile on NDTV's site:

Yuvraj

:roll: :roll:

question - how come all the bollywood filmi crowd were able to get VIP box tickets on demand at short notice? surely these were not advance tickets but taken only after india made the semis.

what kind of leverage do these bollywood types have against the state cricket association of another state? only preity zinta was local.

ZInta is from Himachal.

Singha wrote:question - how come all the bollywood filmi crowd were able to get VIP box tickets on demand at short notice? surely these were not advance tickets but taken only after india made the semis.

what kind of leverage do these bollywood types have against the state cricket association of another state? only preity zinta was local.
From BCCI itself, guys like Rajiv Shukla, Jaitley, Sharad Pawar.

From rediff:

The massage from this victory is that when you cross border and enter India,either illegally or with a valid visa,you will always taste defeat.
it does not matter whether you send Ajmal,saeed,with cricket team or jihadi team.

Does some one here know the logic of espn star material not being available here in the US? I can understand that the live broadcast rights have been sold but blocking stuff like post-match interviews, highlights etc is absolutely ridiculous. I wish a 1000 JDAMs up their musharaffs and hope they never get to broadcast any other tournament in the future.

lakshmikanth wrote:Birathers,

I have a quick pooch and I hope Adminullahs would not shaheedize me here :(. But I am willing to take a risk here.

I can understand that excitement of winning over Bakistan. It has always bothered me as to why we are still holding on to a colonial remnant of a game? I think we should move with our shivering dhothis into bigger things. Arent there any other things or games that would make Diwali come early in India?

Dont kill the MESS-enger :)

The Tao of Cricket - Ashis Nandy
Editorial Reviews

Product Description
Analyzing the origins of cricket, this book puts forward the theory that cricket was actually invented by the Indians and then adopted by the British. It also examines reasons for the popularity of the game and discusses controversial milestones in cricketing history.

About the Author
Ashis Nandy is at Centre for the Study of Developing Societies.

Akmal brothers controlling Pakistan team, says Haider
Haider said he was not surprised by Pakistan's defeat and raised questions over the performance of the team in Mohali last night, particularly since fixing had been a part of Pakistan cricket culture.

"I am not surprised by the defeat because they are groups operating in the team and they don't allow any player to settle down unless he succumbs to them. The same thing happened to me," Haider told the Dunya news channel from London after the match last night.

He claimed that one of the reasons for his leaving the national team was the harrassment meted out by this group particularly Kamran Akmal's younger brother, Umar Akmal.

"Umar Akmal used to say things to me after which I decided to leave the team," Haider said but promised to reveal more details about the incident later.

"No one is allowed to settle into the team unless they are supported by a group and that is what happened to me. Players are not allowed to settle into the team if they don't go along with a group. "That is the reason why Kamran is still in the team despite poor performances. No other keeper would be retined in the team if he dropped the number of catches Kamran has dropped," he added.
Hmmm....Pakis being Pakis.

cricinfo has a video highlights (17 mins) which covers the big hits and wickets, but no replays.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Ashish Nandy made that famous quote where he called crikkit a game invented by the brits, but popularized by Indians or something like that. The newer version is another excursion from the old quote. Fact is, crikkit as we know it today as well as many other games such as football, golf (scottish), tennis, hockey, etc. all have some form of british origin. There is no harm in accepting well-known facts. For more info, the book by Julian Norridge titled "Can We Have Our Balls Back, Please? How the British Invented Sport and then Almost Forgot how to Play It" would be of help. It should not be surprising given that what was then "british" was at least 1/3 of mankind, just like most english crikkit teams of today have at least 1/2 the people with non-english origins. It should surprise only the naive to look at the composition of any english team and find birth places in transvaal, harare, pakistan, bermuda etc.

Going along that tangent, for that matter even separation of power between the Church and the state, the king/nobles and the house of the people etc. are also in some sense british creations (Reformation, Magna Carta, etc.), so what exactly is the big deal here. Pulling rabbits out of the hat and claiming that gilli danda is the precursor to crikkit is as much bullshit as claiming that missile technology came from Ramayana-Mahabharata or forwarding emails with claims such as 1/3rd of ibm workers are Indians. Fact is, we should nt be ashamed of stealing british ideas as much as they have stolen others' ideas to get to where they are. Only when you are afraid and ashamed, do you invent bullshittisms to cavort around history.

As for why hang over colonial remnants, there are far simpler answers. Its money. Crikkit is an ecosystem in India and a pyramidal scheme of sorts. So are politics, elections, marriages, festivals, etc. When you invent an imaginary h&d system where colonial remnants become a big deal, they are a big deal. When you usurp outsiders' ideas to churn your own system economically, the means, the ends, all dont matter. Any incident that tries to obstruct the money circulation in India needs to be given a swift kick to the trashcan, whether it is the h&d kind or the imaginary invented history kind. Luckily and thankfully, most people in India dont walk around egg shells of the h&d kind, they just do things to satisfy their inner egos, which in turn helps in circulating cashflow without their realization. The moment every bozo in India gets to start questioning history and the various trajectories we have taken, the whole system will come to a stall due to paralysis of the pseudo-intellectual kind that mascarades as intellectual debating.

Let me put the ball in the court, my AK phyr to the BCCI and a 1008 curses on those who cuss at the BCCI.

Every fan an actor on the biggest stage
"Is it a big game", I asked a couple of Pakistani fans. One of them, holding aloft the Pakistan flag, simply said "we just want to enjoy." Minutes later an Indian gentleman walked up to the same fan, and politely shook hands and exchanged courtesies. "All the best brother," the Indian man said very formally. When the time came for the team's national anthems, every Indian stood up and sang proudly. According to Sharda Ugra, ESPNcricinfo's senior editor, who has seen every India match this World Cup, this was the first time the whole stadium was singing the national anthem so loudly. The captains, who need to behave as ambassadors for their countries, can be diplomatic but the fan is always stirred by the rivalry, which is registered in his sub-conscious. And he uses events like today to make sure he is heard. In a bizarre way it does instil belief in the players.

In the last paragraph a spoon of WKKism is added for garnishing because it is a cricinfo article. i am sure he made this up. :roll:
Yet in the end one image remained. A five-year-old toddler sat in the front row to my right. Throughout the match he had stayed quiet. A cute face, he only smiled whenever there was a wicket or a four. Each time either of the two contestants scored a point over the other, this kid would raise the flag of that country. For him, both teams were the winners.
manish.rastogi

Post by manish.rastogi »

Wonder if pakistani players ever turn around and say to dhoni ,"sir hamara bhi ipl karva do na"!!;-)
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

^They tried, and then they were told they'll have to go play with KKR, and entertain their boss.
Not sure too many hung around after that.

http://www.rediff.com/cricket/slide-sho ... 110331.htm
Humne jo kaha tha who kar dikhaya (Whatever we had said before the final, we have done it.)

Marten wrote:State associations typically do not release about 2,500 to 4,000 tickets until the last day. There are channels other than the booking offices (members from local associations, media, "corporate guests", gifts for the administration, etc.

The politicians would've had the tickets in hand months ago! Whether they decide to turn up or not is the only question. Same goes for final.
Bollywood types are always hand in glove with local associations (free shows/events etc.), and therefore will always get a ticket when asked. And I'd think they happily pay for more tickets (unless they are SRK, who won't get a free ticket and will therefore sulk and pretend he's having a ball at home when in reality it is only him and the non-BRF KJo -- which also amounts to a ball, but... not the same as the stadium thing). Phew.

Do state associations have any kind of liability to the public? I don't think so. They are "Associations" and they can frame their own set of rules,no?. And who is worried about the 5000 or so fans....the advertising revenues would dwarf this.

All this is good, does anyone knows what are we doing to make sure that all Pakistanis that entered India are or have already left India ?

folks, please to be paying attention
according to al nipon people while watching and wishing a win for a team
-always sit facing East or North
-do not leave your seat,it is during breaks you are allowed to move
- whether you sit crossed leg(Sukh asan) or on the couch never allow your feet to be above on other
- watching with your arms across your chest is absolute no no
- negative thoughts and words like TI will lose onlee sends negative energy
- never ever utter words like we should reach 150 in next over Gawd will score 150
-clean up the mess beofre you go to sleep or else your team will suffer next match
i religiously followed them and see we have SDREs slugging it out in phynals.
AoA

asgkhan wrote:Misbah will have to apply for a canadian vija with every na paak abdul blaming him for the epic loss.
Miss Bah is now waji-bull-vijastampi . I simply don't understand how Miss Bah played. He hung around there and played like a test match, in addition Miss Bah dropped a catch as well.

They could have taken the powerplay in the 40th over with Miss Bah and the earlier guy before Afridi and during Afridi, swung a few into the ropes and the 39 odd run difference in the end would have narrowed down pretty much .

In any case, Miss Bah will have to move around in a Boorqa in Pakiland for quite a while now before (it might even aid the Kanadian Vijja Stamping).

Paki gameplan was to let Sachin score a ton but then Afridi threw it off.

final is going to be tough. for suitable jinx, ALL of you need to go to office atleast tomorrow without undies.

else I see no hope.

India will lose onlee at Mumbai. :(( :(( :(( :((

So enjoy these nice bunch of picture in The Telegraph, UK while you can.

:(( :(( :(( :((

Singha wrote:final is going to be tough. for suitable jinx, ALL of you need to go to office atleast tomorrow without undies.

else I see no hope.
Should we go to office with no undies but wearing our dhotis?

Chinmayanand wrote:Paki gameplan was to let Sachin score a ton but then Afridi threw it off.
Afridi was paid off by Bhai to do so.
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Hope ashwin plays

http://www.sify.com/sports/wankhede-pit ... efghb.html
The Wankhede Stadium wicket for Saturday's World Cup final will be a slow turner, like most wickets in the subcontinent during this time of the year, says curator Sudhir Naik.
Hmmmm
Naik, an M.Sc in organic chemistry, said the authorities have already decided to use a chemical spray to reduce the impact of dew on the game.

Excessive dew late in the evening can swing the balance towards teams batting second in day-night matches. The dew will freshen up the pitch and the bowlers will find it difficult to grip the ball that gets damp on a moist outfield.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had used the chemical spray to reduce the impact of dew at Brabourne Stadium here during the 2006 Champions Trophy match between Pakistan and New Zealand.

The chemical APSA-80, commonly used in agriculture, was also sprayed on the outfield at Mohali in the past.