The Dawn's correspondent continued: "Misbah-ul-Haq, Pakistan's would-be champion, cast a tragic figure as his team's World Cup campaign ended in a suffocating defeat at the hands of India.
"During India's innings at the crease, the fall of nearly every wicket was accompanied by celebratory gunfire. When Tendulkar's key wicket fell, the crackle of gunfire was relentless. While one prayed for a Pakistan victory, one was wary of the major firepower that would have been unleashed if the country had made it through to the final for the showdown with Sri Lanka. We are a very depressed nation and good news is few and far between. But perhaps we should choose more civilised ways to express our joy or anger."
Even Shahid Afridi's daughter, Aqsa, was quoted. "I am hurt and sad that we lost the match. I was so excited that we will beat India," she said, before breaking down in tears on camera, on Geo News. "Misbah realised very soon that he needed to score runs."
Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Mar. 29, 2011
Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Mar. 29, 2
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/ma ... lkar-dhoni
SwamyG garu, these are no conspiracy theories. The once written conspiracy theories are mostly validated by the events that are being shaped and also the further by wiki leaks.
Regarding Indian babus thwarting the damage to India's independence, you win some and you lose some. BRF is sending a lot of kudos to the babudom for the ones that they did not lose while not really trying (may be not able to) what is that the babus may have lost.
MMS is extremely determined person on two things (1) Nuke deal and (2) pakistan. He is on his mission and has thrown a challenge. He may achive on things like Siachen. Watch the chiefs of Indian armed forces from today. They have to fight it out again.
SwamyG garu, these are no conspiracy theories. The once written conspiracy theories are mostly validated by the events that are being shaped and also the further by wiki leaks.
Regarding Indian babus thwarting the damage to India's independence, you win some and you lose some. BRF is sending a lot of kudos to the babudom for the ones that they did not lose while not really trying (may be not able to) what is that the babus may have lost.
MMS is extremely determined person on two things (1) Nuke deal and (2) pakistan. He is on his mission and has thrown a challenge. He may achive on things like Siachen. Watch the chiefs of Indian armed forces from today. They have to fight it out again.
My long lost Beerather is now a brave Balochi!!Suppiah wrote:Pok in Balochi means ass, and Pokistan means the land of pure ass-holes!![]()
I don't think MMS can actually deliver on Siachen.
The Armed forces will put their foot down, and the babus, and intellegensia will oppose any retreat without ironclad gurantees from Pakistan. The trust deficit - ie the Pakistan army's deceit (as witnessed in Kargil, 26/11, and the numerous terror strikes in India including J&K are proof of this) prevents any unilateral move that is not fully thought through.
The IA will have a major say on this. Because should things go wrong in Saltoro range, retaking it will be next to impossible. The geography is such that to reach the heights of the range, the IA has to approach it through the Siachen Glacier, while the Pakistani army has valleys leading upto the foothills themselves. The Pakistanis can literally drive small trucks and jeeps right upto the bast of the range, and the last mile they can use mules or a very short trek before they start climbing. Whereas it is a bloody day's treck upto just Kumar post from base camp on the Indian side, and then to go to some forward post from there.
Now with these difficulties imposed by geography, extreme climate, India has not only managed to hold the glacier successfully, but given the pakistanis a bloody nose while at it.
Once the pakistanis get to the glacier itself, they will link up with the chinese in Shaksgam valley on the northern end of Siachen, and India can never retake it again.
The Armed forces will put their foot down, and the babus, and intellegensia will oppose any retreat without ironclad gurantees from Pakistan. The trust deficit - ie the Pakistan army's deceit (as witnessed in Kargil, 26/11, and the numerous terror strikes in India including J&K are proof of this) prevents any unilateral move that is not fully thought through.
The IA will have a major say on this. Because should things go wrong in Saltoro range, retaking it will be next to impossible. The geography is such that to reach the heights of the range, the IA has to approach it through the Siachen Glacier, while the Pakistani army has valleys leading upto the foothills themselves. The Pakistanis can literally drive small trucks and jeeps right upto the bast of the range, and the last mile they can use mules or a very short trek before they start climbing. Whereas it is a bloody day's treck upto just Kumar post from base camp on the Indian side, and then to go to some forward post from there.
Now with these difficulties imposed by geography, extreme climate, India has not only managed to hold the glacier successfully, but given the pakistanis a bloody nose while at it.
Once the pakistanis get to the glacier itself, they will link up with the chinese in Shaksgam valley on the northern end of Siachen, and India can never retake it again.
Note how the Kaffir Basanti color dominate the scene.anupmisra wrote:Thats Gil on her left. She is flanked by tweedle "deen" and tweedle "dumb". or as Qaidi Hazam said - "A rose between two thorns".SSridhar wrote:No, it is because she is afraid of sitting next to Gilani.
The Pakistanis don't even respect the LOC, they violate it all the time, send in terrorists, they did a Kargil and the Pakistani army by philosophy follows the line that it is only a ceasefire line, and hence can be changed at will.
And we expect them to respect the AGPL in Saltoro?
We'd be the biggest fools if we expect them to do so. No international entity can stand guarantor for the Pakistani Army, not the US , not the UN, not the Chinese either. After all they hold onto parts of J&K inspite of a UN resolution asking them to vacate that area and hand over POK (Azad Kashmir, Gilgit and Balistan) to India.
They have not done so. So Saltoro Range and Siachen is not solvable.
And we expect them to respect the AGPL in Saltoro?
We'd be the biggest fools if we expect them to do so. No international entity can stand guarantor for the Pakistani Army, not the US , not the UN, not the Chinese either. After all they hold onto parts of J&K inspite of a UN resolution asking them to vacate that area and hand over POK (Azad Kashmir, Gilgit and Balistan) to India.
They have not done so. So Saltoro Range and Siachen is not solvable.
Even at the height of B.Raman mania here on BR, my views of B.Raman ranged from apathy towards his views to downright caricuature, especially after I met him first hand in DC. My gut feel is that he got afflicted with WKK disease after he realized despite many of his intelligence briefings to US officials on Paki perfidy, US has no interest in cooperating with India in confronting TSP terror directed against India. And in the absence of any aggressive Indian response, he turned a new leaf, realizing that those WKK views will get him more attention.sum wrote: Am never able to understand B.Raman....the man keeps turning extreme WKK one day and super hawk the other.
If this is what RAW guys feel after having seen Paki perifidy first hand, god( not Sachin) alone can save our Pak policy..
But it can be a hedge to deliver on other so called smaller stuff like Sir Creek. While a lot of watchers will again send kudos to IA and other babus for saving Siachen, small losses for the sake of Aman-Ki-Asha may be the agenda.Gagan wrote:I don't think MMS can actually deliver on Siachen.
Nothing should be given to a dying country.Period. Hope the folks GOI will work that way.
B Raman is not a WKK.
gali gali me shor hai, pakistan chor hai
I am now waiting for Mahesh Butt types to appear on secular and tolerant Hamid Mir's show and declare that they are ashamed of celebrations across India after India won the match.
Last edited by partha on 31 Mar 2011 21:50, edited 2 times in total.
For MMS, it may be "ancient animosity", but people of Mumbai and the aam aadmis from the rest of India will never forget 26/11.
Very true,Muppalla wrote:
But it can be a hedge to deliver on other so called smaller stuff like Sir Creek. While a lot of watchers will again send kudos to IA and other babus for saving Siachen, small losses for the sake of Aman-Ki-Asha may be the agenda.
Nothing should be given to a dying country.Period. Hope the folks GOI will work that way.
The real aim will be to try and push small things through that are usually under the radar.
While a smokescreen will be thrown about trying to solve Siachen, which everyone will oppose tooth and nail. And then as a concession in the midst of all the absurdity, someone will suggest that we have to give away sir creek because "not a blade of grass grows there, even the fish are not tasty, and that it is a salty marshland".
But all along, the aim would have always been to push through the smaller things.
What about Oil and Gas under sir Creek area ?
Amenpartha wrote:For MMS, it may be "ancient animosity", but people of Mumbai and the aam aadmis from the rest of India will never forget 26/11.
I am so happy these haramz@de pakistanis are not coming to my beloved Mumbai. The wound is hard to heal for every Mumbaikar and MMS is not helping either. What colour of blood his is? Doesn't he feel damn angry? Never thought about the innocent people died in CST station, Taj, Oberoi? What the F was their fault? Why they had to die? Why? Does he ever care to pay condolences? What kind of breed he is? As a leader of the country what moral he is carrying? As a Mumbaikar I am not asking to go and fight war against pakistan but what I am expecting from the head of my country is some sensitivity and RESPECT
Last edited by abhijitm on 31 Mar 2011 22:24, edited 1 time in total.
Ambar wrote:Why these self-goals? Our guys toiled hard and won a well-deserved victory.Why belittle our achievements by claiming that Pak threw the match away?vera_k wrote:PP reported yesterday that the bookies could not (or did not) buy the Indian team. Looks like they managed to buy the Pakistani team.

What is probably happening is that the bookies are going after teams with relatively impoverished players since the Indian team members make enough money to be incorruptible.
Abhijit, your sentiments are perhaps shared by all and we don't need to be Mumbaikars to feel that way. This thread is making a lot of assumptions about the PM. Can you point me to where has he shown disrespect for the people that were killed by terrorists so that I can understand your post better?
Your anger may be better directed against others that have called Jinnah the greatest Indian or even secular.
Last edited by Vivek K on 31 Mar 2011 22:31, edited 1 time in total.
Has the PM said that he wants to deliver the Siachen to Pakis? I may have missed something. Can you point me to the relevant article. Thanks.Gagan wrote:I don't think MMS can actually deliver on Siachen.
Yeah like they did on the MRCA that was required 7-10 yrs ago or the Navy that put its foot down about first retiring all submarines before getting new ones or like the IA that put its absolute foot down to refuse to buy the Arjun.The Armed forces will put their foot down, and the babus, and intellegensia will oppose any retreat without ironclad gurantees from Pakistan.
I am sorry but you need to define RESPECT. Probably my definition of respect and yours is different. Let me explain mine...Vivek K wrote:Abhijit, your sentiments are perhaps shared by all and we don't need to be Mumbaikars to feel that way. This thread is making a lot of assumptions about the PM. Can you point me to where has he shown disrespect for the people that were killed by terrorists so that I can understand your post better?
There is a family of husband, wife, young daughter and son. One day daughter was alone. Some hooligan across the road broke into the house, locked in and rape her for 3 days. The world and the Family helplessly watched. Days past and the father now tries to make bhaichara with the gang of hooligans. He even invites their father home for a dinner. Well I, the brother don't see that my father is respectful to his daughter's dignity.
Now what is yours?
So what would want to do with Pakistan - let us hear about it. That will definitely help me understand your viewpoint better.
- BR Mainsite Crew
Why should we want to do anything with Pakistan?Vivek K wrote:So what would want to do with Pakistan - let us hear about it. That will definitely help me understand your viewpoint better.
We will do with Sindh, Balochistan & so on.....
Cricket fans firing claim life in city
In this kind of situations, I always wonder -- is it the bullet that was fired in the air that killed the person or is it someone taking advantage of the firing, offed the guy he did not like? Generally speaking a bullet firing directly up does not have AFAIK enough terminal velocity to kill but a bullet fired at an angle might have.
http://thenews.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=13442While Peshawarites were in a state of shock due to the defeat of the national team the Afghan refugees were celebrating the Indian victory and opened aerial firing and took out rallies to celebrate the occasion
In this kind of situations, I always wonder -- is it the bullet that was fired in the air that killed the person or is it someone taking advantage of the firing, offed the guy he did not like? Generally speaking a bullet firing directly up does not have AFAIK enough terminal velocity to kill but a bullet fired at an angle might have.
Last edited by saip on 31 Mar 2011 22:54, edited 1 time in total.
- Location: Pee Arr Eff's resident Constitution Compliance Strategist (Phd, with upper hand)
+1 and there is no other way of looking at it. On certain things in life not even cosmetic chankianess is allowable no matter how "impratical" or "unprofitable" and 26/11 is one of those. My PM has profaned the memory of victims and fighters of 26/11 alike by inviting the shielders of ghastly attacks to India.abhijitm wrote: He even invites their father home for a dinner. Well I, the brother don't see that my father is respectful to his daughter's dignity.
Now what is yours?
- Location: Pee Arr Eff's resident Constitution Compliance Strategist (Phd, with upper hand)
We need to bring all "impractical" and "unprofitable" options* to the table and I am not talking open hostilities yet.Vivek K wrote:So what would want to do with Pakistan - let us hear about it. That will definitely help me understand your viewpoint better.
*Least of them being NO TALKS, period
While Peshawarites were in a state of shock due to the defeat of the national team the Afghan refugees were celebrating the Indian victory and opened aerial firing and took out rallies to celebrate the occasion
So Baluchis, Afghan Pathans and some valley Kashmiris rooting for India.
Pakistan has lost its moral charter to be the panaah-e-Momeen (not that it had much to start with).
So Baluchis, Afghan Pathans and some valley Kashmiris rooting for India.
Pakistan has lost its moral charter to be the panaah-e-Momeen (not that it had much to start with).
A_Gupta wrote:http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/ma ... -dirty-war
Anyone know which cables are being referred to?Worse again, he adds, they were supported by India. The Punjabi general offers no proof for his claim, but US and British intelligence broadly agree, according to the recent WikiLeaks cables. India sees Balochistan as payback for Pakistani meddling in Kashmir – which explains why Pakistani generals despise the nationalists so much.
Here is one such: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/us-emba ... nts/180496SSridhar wrote: I am not aware of any such cable being published.
Scroll through the pages after pages of this threads and read everyone's posts. You will find your answer. At least in thumping majority we agree 'what not to do'.Vivek K wrote:So what would want to do with Pakistan - let us hear about it. That will definitely help me understand your viewpoint better.
Priority? Nation or Party? I always wonder - How many times more will we need to suffer the 'peace parley/getting-stabbed-in-the-back' sequence before getting some sense in our heads.Vivek K wrote:Abhijit, your sentiments are perhaps shared by all and we don't need to be Mumbaikars to feel that way. This thread is making a lot of assumptions about the PM. Can you point me to where has he shown disrespect for the people that were killed by terrorists so that I can understand your post better?
But Abhijit, surely you must have some direction for your elected representative to follow? I mean what not to do (even though it is in a thumping majority here as you state) may not translate into action item for the administration.
^ What to do is 'too much to expect' hence a bare minimum is being asked for. 

Vivekji,
Maybe we should ponder over the age old question - "What have we achieved so far talking to Pakistan?"
Anyways coming to the main issue my take is; both sides know that talks are not gonna yield nothing but the drama is being staged to relieve Unkil's pressure on both the sides and that is why if one would trace back through the series of summits/talks we have had with TSP none of the joint statements disclose any verifiable data on steps taken based on the agreement reached during the previous talk. All of the joint statements basically are a big 'haajmola goli' where they talk about peace, increased cross border trade, confidence building measures and lastly a few fishermen or ram-rahim are released by the either side as a token measure.
The timing of these talks in fact betrays the real intent of the GoI (unless MMS has divyadrishti
) i.e. there was actually no reason/premise to have these talks luckily for our PM the kirkeet SF gave him an ideal opportunity to slip in another 'chai-biskoot' session for he was completely aware that given the atmosphere in desh where junta was engrossed in the match not many (except for loosers like us) would be interested in what is discussed behind closed doors not that the common man cares too much about this but there would be no one to even pay attention to what opposition would say (MMS as it is has his hands full with CWG, 2G and black money issue). Irony is while Gilani has an entire plethora of issues ranging from IWT, Balochistan, Kashmir and Siachin on his wishlist it is the Indian side which is always eager for talks . 
The timing of these talks in fact betrays the real intent of the GoI (unless MMS has divyadrishti

Last edited by negi on 01 Apr 2011 01:58, edited 1 time in total.
Wonder if Gilly Groper made a pass at MMS? 

India would have reached final despite loss
Dr. Singh's Wkk ism knows no bounds. Why on earth is a perfectly sane man so obsesssed with peace with terrorists.
India would have reached final despite loss
APRIL FOOL

Last edited by saip on 01 Apr 2011 02:29, edited 1 time in total.
What rubbish is this? Sounds like something pakis would come up with.Nihat wrote:India would have reached final despite loss

Oh I see. April fool.
April fool= Pakiness. So I am still correct onlee.

looks like April fool onleeNihat wrote:India would have reached final despite loss
^ Did u even read the last lines?
Typical Paki trait of pulling victory out defeat and thin air:
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=13401
reader comment on article on the
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=13401
reader comment on article on the
Who said we lost. Infact we won. Our pakistani flag was flying high in india. Our national anthem was sung in india. Our people went hundreds of kilometers to support our team. Our captain (Braveheart) led from the front. He honored our prime minister in every way. After Imran Khan Afridi is the second cricketer i respect the most. No need to say sorry afridi. Pakistan Zindabad.
Seriously , you wanted me to read report with this absurd heading. Its so obvious.AdityaM wrote:^ Did u even read the last lines?