You're 'sharing knowledge' now?Sanku wrote:BRF can only have one agenda, to share knowledge.

Anyway, continue with your 'knowledge sharing'

You're 'sharing knowledge' now?Sanku wrote:BRF can only have one agenda, to share knowledge.
Excellent idea. I would be great if people stop coming in only to make "special tippani" on other posters. If folks don't have anything to say, dont say it here.Purush wrote:You're 'sharing knowledge' now?Sanku wrote:BRF can only have one agenda, to share knowledge.
![]()
![]()
![]()
Anyway, continue with your 'knowledge sharing'let others not get in the way.
Take plants which generate similar power. (Will also appreciate if could share your thought process/basis to arrive at that estimate.)What is the cost comparison for cleaning up after a nuke reactor has its top blown off (risk % available with Vina saar) vs. a bunch of Solar panel blowing up?
I am getting nothing. Your "knowledge sharing" has a fatal flaw. GDP increase is an year upon year thing. If you get 6% one year from Babu crackdown on Babus, what happens the following year? Where will the additional 6% now come from? And then the following year and so on? Please look up "growth rate" and you may still get it.Sanku wrote:You are beginning to get it, almost, so yes, if 6% GDP growth can be achieved by cracking down on corruption, salivating over that 6% by any means including selling Kashmir to Pakistan for it is misplaced.
My question was based on information which shows that the liability in the case of a nuclear accident would be huge. Why do I believe so? See here, here, here and here. Note that 3 out of 4 articles are from Nature, so we can assume that they are fair and balanced.Amber G. wrote:Abhishek: Just curious, what is your guess/estimate?
Dr Caldicott is the world’s foremost anti-nuclear campaigner. She has received 21 honorary degrees and scores of awards, and was nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize(2). Like other greens, I was in awe of her. In the debate she made some striking statements about the dangers of radiation. So I did what anyone faced with questionable scientific claims should do: I asked for the sources. Caldicott’s response has profoundly shaken me.
First she sent me nine documents: newspaper articles, press releases and an advertisement. None were scientific publications; none contained sources for the claims she had made. But one of the press releases referred to a report by the US National Academy of Sciences, which she urged me to read. I have now done so – all 423 pages(3). It supports none of the statements I questioned: in fact it strongly contradicts her claims about the health effects of radiation.
The coup de resistance..For the past 25 years, anti-nuclear campaigners have been racking up the figures for deaths and diseases caused by the Chernobyl disaster, and parading deformed babies like a mediaevel circus. They now claim that 985,000 people have been killed by Chernobyl, and that it will continue to slaughter people for generations to come. These claims are false.
The UN Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (Unscear) is the equivalent of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.
----------------------
Of the workers who tried to contain the emergency at Chernobyl, 134 suffered acute radiation syndrome; 28 died soon afterwards. Nineteen others died later, but generally not from diseases associated with radiation(6). The remaining 87 have suffered other complications, included four cases of solid cancer and two of leukaemia. In the rest of the population, there have been 6,848 cases of thyroid cancer among young children, arising “almost entirely” from the Soviet Union’s failure to prevent people from drinking milk contaminated with iodine 131(7). Otherwise, “there has been no persuasive evidence of any other health effect in the general population that can be attributed to radiation exposure.”(8) People living in the countries affected today “need not live in fear of serious health consequences from the Chernobyl accident.”(9)
Sounds familiar?!!Failing to provide sources, refuting data with anecdote, cherry-picking studies, scorning the scientific consensus, invoking a cover-up to explain it: all this is horribly familiar
Is that, perhaps, because older folks indulge in unhealthy practices like health check-ups?Theo_Fidel wrote:Low level radiation study at Oakridge. Older people appear at greater risk.
Somnath,somnath wrote:^^^Not sure if accidents in "solar" are a big issue..But accidents in hydel are, and I havent seen anyone asking Tehri to take out a 10000000000000 billion dollar third party insurance...
the question of insuring against black swans are a bit of a red herring...The reason some events are classified as "black swans" is because they cannot be assigned a probability to, or an estimation of, and hence taking out an insurance against it is a bit of a non sequitor..
Chaanakya,chaanakya wrote:1. I am not quite sure if plant survived in the sense it could be worked again. But that depends what you meant by "survival". There was partial meltdown, but then it is not the end of the world story as we all know. Japanese have done well despite all odds.
Yes presently it's in that range but why do you suppose that it's going to stay at that range for all times to come?Presently it is at 2.5 % so I don't know what options are foregone?
GuruPrabhu wrote:I am getting nothing. Your "knowledge sharing" has a fatal flaw. GDP increase is an year upon year thing. If you get 6% one year from Babu crackdown on Babus, what happens the following year? Where will the additional 6% now come from? And then the following year and so on? Please look up "growth rate" and you may still get it.Sanku wrote:You are beginning to get it, almost, so yes, if 6% GDP growth can be achieved by cracking down on corruption, salivating over that 6% by any means including selling Kashmir to Pakistan for it is misplaced.
Sanatanan wrote:[quote="In page 85, amit-ji"]
I think it's time you guys clearly stated what you think should be the key takeaway from Fukushima for India. Should it abandon the nuclear option? Should it take cognizance of the failures - real and imaginary - at Fukushima and design more robust nuclear reactors?
Fully agree with you on this point.Evolution and consequent detailed design, manufacture, construction and operation of NPPs should be (and as far as I am concerned, is) a continuing process, even without any reference to Fukushima. If it were not so, Dr. AK et al would not have come up, a few years ago, with the AHWR concept that uses passive heat removal even during normal full power operation. (That I think implementation of this particular idea may be found unviable and that at some point of time in future they may re-introduce pumps for circulating the coolant through the reactor core, might be irrelevant to the concept of continual evolution of NPP designs that I am discussing here). Therefore, taking the appropriate lessons from Fukushima and not only incorporating them in future designs, but also straining as much as possible to back-fit them in existing designs is the way forward. Such exercises were carried out in the wake of Chernobyl and TMI, and must have been done after the Narora fire and other similar incidents.
As far as India is concerned, for reasons I have been attempting to articulate in this thread so far, I vote for continuing the line of PHWRs that we have developed and proceed forward with the steps we are taking in relation to indigenous FBRs and Thorium fuelled FBRs / PHWRs / AHWRs.
IMO, the nuclear deal was as much to get access to uranium as it was to get access to LWRs. I posted this report a few days ago. Assuming it's true then our nuclear power plants are running at 100 per cent capacity thanks to imports.For me, import of NPPs must be shunned, because I firmly believe that (i) such imports will inhibit indigenous technology development and, (ii) LWRs are not neutron economical. I note that India has already developed LWR technology at a much more difficult level - namely, compact LWR, suitable for incorporation inside the confines of a submarine. Again, I am not a believer in the new-found need (post nuclear deal), for 40,000 MWe of nuclear capacity addition sought to be justified by Dr. AK as mere "additionality" thereby implying that we can very well afford to do without. However, DAE may have to go quite a distance yet on some other issues -- to me, the implementation of a "sterilised zone" around a reactor site is anathema and impinges on societal aspirations. I understand no other country in the world has it.
The other idea behind the Nook deal, IMHO, was getting access to foreign technology. Do note if everything goes according to plan, then we'll be importing reactors from the US, France and the Russians. Surely there's a lot learn from that?In the financial year ending March 31 — the first full year of renewed uranium imports — power generation through nuclear energy was in excess of 26.4 billion units, an increase of over 40 per cent compared to the previous year, and more than the target for this year.
Every one of the country’s nine nuclear plants that are under IAEA safeguards — and thus eligible to use imported fuel — is now running at 100 per cent capacity.
Some others, like unit 4 in Kaiga, are also operating at full capacity. On an average, reactors outside of IAEA safeguards — and running only on domestic fuel — are operating at 75-80 per cent capacity.
Not being prepared for the Tsunami is correct, if you looked at my previous post I had said essentially the same thing. But that's because, IMO, the civil engineering of the plant was faulty. Surely they could have put those generators at higher ground or built higher walls? Either way this has nothing to do with the basic reactor design, the point I made.chaanakya wrote:Well I think in its present status it is as good as gone. That's what I meant by "survived".
Yes it could have survived Tsunami had it been prepared for it. Clearly it wasn't. Few other plants seem to have done better.
Your exact words were: "Presently it is at 2.5% so I don't know what options are forgone?"I don't know where I presupposed that it would remain at 2.5%?
somnath wrote:^^^The point on "share of energy" is completely moot...What was the share of wind 10 years back? To be sure, what is the "actual" share of energy (in terms of produced power, not installed)? Its 1.6%...
http://southasia.oneworld.net/todayshea ... ind-energy
So is it worth spending so much time (and yes, thousands of crores of tax subsidies) on wind? Or is it just hot air!?
As the Monbiot article you quoted earlier shows, such small details don't interest Green warriors.somnath wrote:Some estimates of the cost of nuke power in the US, as well as PLFs...
http://mageep.wustl.edu/Program2010/Pre ... eserve.pdf
The only source that is comparable as a baseload source today is coal....Should we give up the only viable alternative to coal just like that? For fear of the known unknowns?
amit wrote: Doesn't that mean you think that 2.5% will be the range in future as well because here the only option available is future growth that would occur if all those 1000 MW plants are actually imported and run? If that's not what you meant then I have to say you were not very clear on what you really meant.
Chaanakya,chaanakya wrote:amit wrote: Doesn't that mean you think that 2.5% will be the range in future as well because here the only option available is future growth that would occur if all those 1000 MW plants are actually imported and run? If that's not what you meant then I have to say you were not very clear on what you really meant.
I don't know how can you say that Nuclear is the ONLY available option. But if that is what you think well I have nothing to add.
Doesn't that mean you think...
Bulk of the coal-fired power plants too have amortised capital costs...While costs of reactors built in India do not take into account upfront costs, the same is not true for pvt sector reactors elsewhere..Hence, all the nuke power cost estimates are on the basis of actual capital costs...Theo_Fidel wrote:Existing nuclear plants are fully amortized and hence produce very cheap power. We have very few existing plants. That 2 cents number is simply not realistic for new plants
Lots of issues with the calcs...One, not every rupee invested will be debt - never is for any project, nuke or not...30-40% would be in the form of equity...Second, debt raised will be typically long term - over the life of the plant (say 40 years), say a debt of 14k crores is raised for 30 years @ 11% - which is around the long term G-Sec yields in India...that would mean, assuming a straight line amortisation, a debt servicing outgo of ~1400-1500 crores...You can do the rest of the maths (interest burden/unit of power)...Theo_Fidel wrote:The cost for Kudankulam is a closely guarded secret but is estimated to be in the Rs 20,000 +/- crore range for 2000 MW. On top of that we have to pay the Russians for the fuel. The 6 new reactors here will cost even more at $15 Billion+. At say 10% interest + 4% principle the total outgo is ind the range of Rs 3,000 crore just from capital cost
Coal is..But gas? Not really, not unless you have g'teed supply of gas at a predetermined price...Not to mention that gas supplies are very very limited...Theo_Fidel wrote:This is not cheap power. Coal and gas are by far cheaper
We dont need to have any uranium, if it comes to that...there is enough availabel in the market and we can import (thanks to the nuke deal!) - and there are studies on peak uranium already referenced earlier that show that the "shortage" is far from being near....Theo_Fidel wrote:ndia does not really have economically mine-able resources of Uranium
Yes, unfortunately, I had to ask that because, as is evident, you still don't get it. I will try with numbers.Sanku wrote:GuruPrabhu wrote: I am getting nothing. Your "knowledge sharing" has a fatal flaw. GDP increase is an year upon year thing. If you get 6% one year from Babu crackdown on Babus, what happens the following year? Where will the additional 6% now come from? And then the following year and so on? Please look up "growth rate" and you may still get it.
Tchh, it seems that basic maths including concept of % is also missing.
When you say corruption reduces 6% of GDP, obviously it means it does so every year, year after year, so for every % growth of GDP 6% is lost to corruption.
So first year 6%, next year, GDP growth rate * 6%.
Did you really have to ask that?
amit wrote: Doesn't that mean you think that 2.5% will be the range in future as well because here the only option available is future growth that would occur if all those 1000 MW plants are actually imported and run? If that's not what you meant then I have to say you were not very clear on what you really meant.
chaanakya wrote: I don't know how can you say that Nuclear is the ONLY available option. But if that is what you think well I have nothing to add.
No I don't think that nuke is the only option if that is what you want me to imply. You need to read all posts before you comment and twist my statement. If you can't reply in civil manner, please don't. Thanks.amit wrote: Chaanakya,
You are twisting what I wrote. I've been crying myself hoarse that energy deficit India has to avail of all available options in the energy mix and that includes, among others, nuclear.
You are taking my statement made in the context of your statement about the 2.5 % mix and twisting it.
If that's the best you can do...
I understand there may be a comprehension issue. Not surprising. Let me point out that my sentence started with:
Doesn't that mean you think...
Obviously there is some other growth also no? Or is selling Kashmir only way to get growth ?GuruPrabhu wrote: The following year, you need to make Rs 106 to show growth. But, Babu or no Babu, you are still making Rs 100. Where will the "growth" come from?
Abhishek, IMO your question was a good one:abhishek_sharma wrote:My question was based on information which shows .Amber G. wrote:Abhishek: Just curious, what is your guess/estimate?
I gave my estimate, and asking you what is your estimate.What is the cost comparison for cleaning up after a nuke reactor has its top blown off (risk % available with Vina saar) vs. a bunch of Solar panel blowing up?
I expected you to change the topic and bring in Kashmir and what not.Sanku wrote:Obviously there is some other growth also no? Or is selling Kashmir only way to get growth ?GuruPrabhu wrote: The following year, you need to make Rs 106 to show growth. But, Babu or no Babu, you are still making Rs 100. Where will the "growth" come from?
Then be happy be 6% one year you got since there is no other growth possible in any case.
Bringing in babu corruption example pulled from martian atmosphere when energy losses was being discussed was not changing topic of course, but hey when people are salivating about Indian "growth" what to do.GuruPrabhu wrote: I expected you to change the topic and bring in Kashmir and what not.![]()
No problem. Hope you now understand percentages. No need to salivate, na?
I personally think its good that a Nuclear renaissance (as in big big boom in growth) shouldn't happen, we need a Green energy invention and Nuclear can keep growing at existing levels. The current trends for Nuclear energy do not require pumping up to great levels"This doesn't indicate there is a nuclear revival," said Brahma Chellaney, one of the architects of India's atomic strategy and a fellow at the Centre for Policy Research in New Delhi. "Had Fukushima happened two years later, the renaissance may have been underway. But if (the nuclear industry) was hoping for a real revival, you can safely say this won't happen now."
"In the next 10 years, nuclear power will face enormous public pressure in large democracies like the U.S. and India," said Chellaney, a nuclear energy proponent.
Alternative energy production is faster and cheaper, Schneider said. "In the U.S. in 2004, 2% of all new power produced that year came from alternative energy sources ... by 2009, 55% of all new power was from alternatives," Schneider said. "There's no way nuclear could add that much, that fast."
I remember the context all too well and also recognize your propensity to stick in the vested interest commentary. My insertion of Babu-giri was to level the playing field of vested interests.Sanku wrote: Let me remind you what the original context was.
NTPC wastes 6% of its energy produced due to simple grid issues (not transmission losses, theft or other such things) pure waste at plant because energy can not be put on the right grid.
In this context, plugging for Nuclear energy is very difficult to consider anything else as vested interest.
I see, so you admit to trollingGuruPrabhu wrote: I remember the context all too well and also recognize your propensity to stick in the vested interest commentary. My insertion of Babu-giri was to level the playing field of vested interests.
NoThe loss of energy by NTPC has nothing to do with need for nuclear energy, except in clouded minds that only see vested interest.
I hope we all know here, that NPP is not a nuclear bomb and does not have potential to explode (inherently or otherwise).. The H2 explosion (or burning graphite) (or any other kind of explosive) will throw core or PV parks with equal ease...looks the fact that one has the inherent potential to explode and the other certainly does not. In this respect, this comparison does not make sense. (I guess, one might postulate about terrorists planting bombs in PV parks, so I’ll play along anyway.)
.. This is precisely I want you to think about, in qualitative terms, when everything is taken into account..what the comparison will be? (Instead of 'virtually none' give a figure.. and give a number for 'far and wide' too, for nuclear material melt down.. then estimate, etc...)Of course, even if someone was to use high explosives to destroy a large number of PVs, virtually none of the toxic stuff would remain airborne for long, because these materials are always in a matrix of silicon and mylar plastics, making them very difficult to disburse, even with high explosives. (Moreover, it is doubtful that a single particle of HgCdTe would harm human health, but this is beside the point.) On the other hand, a reactor in meltdown is very definitely going to disburse nuclear material far and wide.