The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

Re: Anna Hazare and Lokpal Bill

BTW, Shanti Bhushan is the same lawyer whose petition in the Allahabad High Court sent Indira Gandhi packing in 1975 and unleashed the emergency.

Where Anna Hazare Gets it Wrong - Amit Verma
I'm always amused to see how a worthy cause acts like Red Bull to our chatteratti. From the meaningless, feel-good candlelight vigils after 26/11, to countless self-righteous online petitions about this and that, to support for Anna Hazare, the new middle-class icon. (Who woulda thunk?) Why, I even heard about a movement on Twitter that was trying to get everyone to fast for one day in solidarity with Hazare. One day! How far we have come: from "fast unto death" to "fast until midnight." This is progress, India.
Was chuckling as I read the last piece. But alas.......so few actual solutions.

I had a very different personal experience today which made me wonder how there are people and groups using every means available to propagate their PoV, including the latest corruption scams and the awareness created by Anna Hazare. Two ladies came to my house and said they had a message for me about corruption. My initial reaction was they belonged to some NGO spreading anti-corruption awareness. They spoke of how corruption was eating into our very existence and causing us misery. It didn't take too long for them to then tell me how only a particular religion can cure all these evils ! I couldn't believe what I was hearing. That I drove them out was a different matter. Later, I came to know that a group of them have descended in my locality and under the garb of taling about 'corruption' were doing this religious propagation.

Any campaign can be hijacked, discredited, misused not only by politicians but by various vested interests.

Guys the more i think and read about this lokpal thingie, the more i am growing disillusioned with it. Support for lokpal from Mango abdul seems to be very much like the reception that Shankar's movies get in south(vigilante justice/extremely simplistic solutions) I am scared of the abuse of Lokpal which is very easy. Cant we not explore other moves, what we need is a clean accountable democratically appointed body, if we clean up the judiciary may be we can get the system back on rails ? Why not focus next on political reforms?

^ true from my side as well. I dont know if the means would justify it. Would it be a worthwhile exception or would it create a hydra headed monster.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 999107.cms
The joint drafting committee on Lokpal Bill on Saturday had its first meeting when civil society representatives presented a new draft of the legislation to the government with both sides expressing hope that the new law will be brought in Monsoon session of Parliament.

The 90-minute meeting chaired by finance mnister Pranab Mukherjee and co-chaired by eminent lawyer Shanti Bhushan was audio-recorded and not videographed as demanded by the civil society activists.
Sibal said both sides presented their perspective on the proposed legislation. The latest draft presented by the civil society representatives had "significant" proposals, he added.

The minister said the entire meeting was audio-recorded and whenever decisions are taken they would be made public.

He said the committee would discuss the draft provided by the activists along with the draft cleared by the Standing Committee which would be circulated.

The new draft presented by the civil society is believed to have amended an earlier provision relating to the selection committee to choose Lokpal and its members.

Under the new proposal, Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition have replaced Rajya Sabha Chairman and Lok Sabha Speaker as proposed in the old draft.

Sibal said the next meeting will decide on the modality of public consultations on the legislation.

Another minister, who attended the meeting, said the new draft presented by the civil society was "better" than the last one and it includes better provisions on safeguard mechanism.

He said the government was ready to discuss anything but "time was short" to conduct public consultations.
Prashant Bhushan, one of the members in the panel from the civil society side, said all concerned organisations will be consulted as part of the public consultations through websites and regional consultations.

The actual modalities will be decided in the next meeting, he said.

He said India is a signatory of the UN Convention against Corruption which is in the process of being ratified. The convention requires an independent Lokpal for which an adequate Bill will be made through discussions.

"The fundamental principles will be decided in the next meeting. After that there would be meetings every week, may be more than one day if required, to complete the work," Bhushan said.

Anna Hazare, who led the campaign that forced the government to agree to the constitution of the joint committee and who is a member of the committee, said the meeting went off well.

"It is because of you we achieved this success," he told the media.

^^So early !! Why?

I think the true outlook towards the strength of anna hazare movement is not anna hazare anymore, but it is the anger over whatever wrong had been done in these years. The name is just an excuse now for something to throw.This event, natural or unnatural, occuring against corruption/anti Government is doing what the opposition should have done long ago.

The movement had left anna hazare the day Congress Inc. agreed to draft the bill, its now general feeling thats driving it and crushing whatever comes in between the justice be it sharmila tagore, burkha dutt,VPsingh,kapil sibbal, anybody who comes in with his fingers raised against this movement is simply crushed by the mob, a common scene that usually occurs on the streets of some misfortunate area against the police inaction for exampe, is now happening throughout the country.. ...... and thats why so much hurry in sarkar^^ before its too late and people demand re-elections just to oust the 2G family and congress Inc.

I am not overestimating but sane people just hate those who are in power
ravit

Post by ravit »

suryag wrote: Cant we not explore other moves, what we need is a clean accountable democratically appointed body,
Sincere question. How do you think that we can have a clean democratically elected anything in India? clean democratically elected is an oxymoron in current India. Just for an MLC at local village level, my uncle spent 10L. That post virtually had no powers. But, he just liked that that title. Once you put democratically elected tag on anything, you are virtually putting xxxx crore price on that seat and mirroring the same political system with corruption that we want to get rid of in the first place.

Instead of democratically elected chairs, what I favour for is right to recall type of funda in Lokpal committee and transparency both of which the bill already has.

And political reforms? No one is saying that Lokpal is the end of the road. We need political reforms. But, before that or a stepping stone for that is Lokpal.

How Hazare benefits Cong
April 17, 2011 7:03:48 AM

Hari Shankar Vyas

It was a masterstroke by the Congress. Sonia Gandhi talked to her National Advisory Committee (NAC) colleague Aruna Roy. Next, Swami Agnivesh joined the movement. Everything went according to the blueprint. The result? Anna Hazare became an icon, a force to reckon with.

Sources claim that all details — for how many days the fast unto death should last, how the hype would be created and how action would be taken — was decided well in advance. If Hazare and his colleagues didn’t turn up before the sub-committee of GoM chaired by AK Antony, it was nothing but part of the strategy. Roy and Mandar were constantly in touch with Swami Agnivesh and Arvind Kejriwal. However, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was unaware of this. Hence, when Hazare’s fast started, the Government got confused. Sources also say that Sonia Gandhi conveyed to Singh that the Government needs to concede to Hazare’s demand. Though the PM and his advisors were not in favour of a joint drafting committee, the PM gave in under compulsion.

When Singh sort the help of Sharad Pawar, questions were raised on the anti-corruption committee’s composition and whether it would be able to work unbiased. Hazare and Kejriwal wanted to know what the tainted Ministers were doing in the committee leading to Pawar’s resignation.

Singh became more helpless. On the one hand, Veerappa Moily wrote to the PM suggesting a way to set up the joint committee, on the other, Anna’s team agreed that the Minister would chair the panel. Secretly, one by one, agreements were made on several issues. The Government even published the gazette notification.

This meant Hazare and the Government were never really at loggerheads. NAC members have an old record of putting the Congress and the Government in problems. NGO leaders like Mandar and Roy used to set their agenda via Sonia Gandhi, sometimes with good results. In this case, Hazare will indeed create problems with the agenda of Jan Lokpal Bill. But, in the end people will get a good Bill.

Also, in one manner, Hazare as an anti-corruption icon suits the Congress. Till sometime back, only Baba Ramdev was writing the anti-corruption campaign script. Now, the Congress can lay claim on a “true Gandhian Hazare” as its very own.

FIGHT WITHIN

Many leaders in the Congress are wondering for how long Hazare will remain a manageable torch bearer of the aam admi. The reason? Hazare has finalised members of the drafting committee without consultations. NGO leaders opposed to Baba Ramdev never wanted Santosh Hegde and Arvind Kejriwal as members. Other social activists who don’t have anything to do with this coterie questioned the presence of father-son duo of Shanti and Prashant Bhushan in the committee.

Neutral activists like Vinit Narayan who fought the Hawala case in Supreme Court, felt that Shanti Bhushan should have been enough. In the advocate fraternity, the Bhushans are considered legal careerists who take up issues like corruption to enhance their profile. Lawyers say, when the court was to start contempt proceedings against Prashant Bhushan, his father raised the issue of corrupt chief justices to deflect the case. But he never named any chief justice.

Activists also fear that the duo might try to make the Lokpal Bill an institution which will weaken Hazare’s fight in the future.

BABA UPSET

Several groups are now taking credit for the anti-corruption movement. One of them is a group which is secular to some extent and lenient towards the Left. Its main aim is to free Dr Binayak Sen. The group will extend its domain and take the help of Digvijay Singh in order to pull Hazare towards Naxalism. The second group comprises og liberal activists. Aruna Roy and Harsh Mandar belong to this group. The third group is that of Gandhian and nationalists, the group that Hazare represents.

Then there are other activists who do not have a particular stand — sometimes they are with the Left, sometimes they support Hazare and sometimes Baba Ramdev. Shanti Bhushan, Prashant Bhushan and Kiran Bedi belong to this group. Then there are the nationalists — Arvind Kejriwal is from this group. Finally, there are supporters of Baba Ramdev. At present, he has maximum public support. He has everything — money and resources. That was the reason why Baba Ramdev’s Swabhimaan Manch was used for the Jan Lokpal aandolan. The hunger strike that started on April 5 was sponsored by Baba Ramdev’s lieutenants in Delhi.

Once the movement gained momentum, Baba Ramdev was pushed to the sidelines. Even Hazare said, Ramdev was just his supporter not his advisor. Shanti Bhushan even said that there was no scope for yoga in the drafting committee which upset Baba Ramdev. Sources said that he might cast aside Hazare and take up the campaign himself. How the Government will react to this situation is anybody’s guess.

MAMATA WINNING

Central as well as State agencies are predicting the victory of Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal. While the IB is forecasting 170 seats for TMC-Congress the Special Branch of the State Government puts the number at 175. Of course, the Congress leaders are perplexed how such confidential reports are being leaked.

According to both the agencies, the Congress might get 22-24 seats. Last time when there was a wave in favour of the Left, the Congress had got 19 seats. Now, that there is a wave in favour of Mamata, Congress would only get 24? Then what is the benefit of alliance? Though the Congress leaders are rejecting these speculations, they think that Mamata has managed to defeat the Congress in her strong hold.

In WB the Congress has always been close to the Left and the TMC has faced the brunt of it. Congress leaders think that Mamata is now taking her revenge. If the reports by the agencies is to be believed, the Left is going to get around 100 seats, the SUIC will get two and GNLF three. The rest will go to BJP and Independents. These Independents are supporter of the Congress and the TMC. Interestingly, according to the report by the IB and SB, the Left is not going to get a single seat from Kolkata. All the 11 seats are expected to go to the TMC. This proves the the party has a stronghold even in urban areas.

THE HAZARE PROBLEM

Anna Hazare is a social activist who believes in walking the path alone. Therefore, the leaders and activists in Delhi are a worried lot. They are wondering how he can be stopped from going to the media on each and every issue? Hazare speaks his mind. When Hazare praised Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, the Congress and other parties targeted him. Though he clarified his stance, the criticism continued. Asked if he would stand for elections, he said that he would lose his deposit because he doesn’t have the money to wine and dine the voters. The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Samajwadi Party (SP) made a big issue out of it. Raghuvansh Babu, an MP, said that Hazare should fight an election and not surrender even before the fight begins. When Hazare supported Prashant Bhushan, many political parties alleged that Hazare had Maoist leanings. When the media asked for his reaction on Kapil Sibal’s comments, Hazare demanded that Sibal resign. With Hazare commenting on everything, from what Kumarasamy said in Karnataka to what Salman Khursheed said in Delhi, his colleagues feel that it will give rise to more controversies which will hit the Lokpal Bill.

http://www.dailypioneer.com/332149/How- ... -Cong.html

^^ Good article. Content written is expected by many here in BR.

Lokpal Bill is by the Congress, of the Congress, and for the Congress.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://news.outlookindia.com/item.aspx?719155
In an apparent softening of stand, Anna Hazare today said Parliament was supreme and would accept its decision if it rejects the Lokpal Bill.

Hazare also showed some flexibility on the August 15 deadline he had set for passage of the Lokpal Bill by Parliament saying he was open to extending it if he found that the government was on the right path.

"We will have to accept it. We believe in democracy," Hazare said in reply to a question on what would be his stand if Parliament rejected the Lokpal Bill drafted jointly by the government and representatives of the civil society.
Hazare agreed with a questioner that his method of agitation could be called "terrorism of principles" so long the motive behind it was public good.

"It is not wrong to say that we are engaging in terrorism on principles. But it has to have an element of public welfare in it. This is necessary, otherwise it would lead to dictatorship," he said.

Hazare said he was open to have wider consultations on the Lokpal Bill and was also willing to involve the political leadership of the country.

"We have to take everyone into confidence, including the political class. If they have doubts we will discuss with chiefs of political parties," he said.

He said he was open to discuss other drafts of the Lokpal Bill which the government had said it has received from various other organisations.

Hazare admitted that corruption would not end with the passage of the Lokpal Bill, but it would definitely help curb such practices to some extent.

He favoured stricter laws for government servants, including one that made declaration of assets compulsory for every one.

For politicians, he said the law should have provisions for automatic launch of investigations if there was a large difference in the assets declared by them between two consecutive elections.

Dismissing allegations of links with the RSS, Hazare said, "I never went close to them nor have I allowed them to get close to me. I have never shared the same dias with RSS".
Hazare said he would undertake a tour of 20 states beginning this month-end at Lucknow to take the message of fight against corruption to the people.

He categorically ruled out contesting elections or floating a political party and said his aim was clear -- to continue to fight for public good.

"I will distance myself from any person who would try to make political capital out of this agitation," he said.

Hazare said he would insist on videography of the proceedings of the joint committee meetings from the next meeting onwards.

"We were told the drawbacks of telecasting the meetings of the joint drafting committee. So, we agreed on not telecasting the same. We came to know only later that only audio recording of the meeting was done. What is the harm in videography? I will insist on video recording of the entire proceedings at the next meeting," he said.

suryag wrote:Guys the more i think and read about this lokpal thingie, the more i am growing disillusioned with it. Support for lokpal from Mango abdul seems to be very much like the reception that Shankar's movies get in south(vigilante justice/extremely simplistic solutions) I am scared of the abuse of Lokpal which is very easy. Cant we not explore other moves, what we need is a clean accountable democratically appointed body, if we clean up the judiciary may be we can get the system back on rails ? Why not focus next on political reforms?
There is a long painful and dangerous journey between the realization of injustice (in this case corruption) and institutionalization of the solution (whether it is LokPal bill or R2R - It has to be institutionalized in a way that it removes corruption from the society).

The only thing that can ever hope to fight corruption is transparency. If every activity is made transparent and visible to anyone, even Suresh Kalmadi could make an acceptable Lokpal.

^^ Interesting contrasts in the two news items:

Justice Iyer apologises for attack on Rahul Gandhi
Former Supreme Court judge Justice V R Krishna Iyer, who had launched a scathing attack on Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi, on Monday sent an apology letter to him.

"Forgive me if I have been bitter in my letter to you. I am too old (97) and critical of parties like Communist Party of India Marxist and the Congress for governmental delinquencies," Iyer wrote.

Iyer's comments came in the wake of a letter written by Gandhi to the former judge, in response to his first letter, urging the Congress leader to take steps to tackle corruption.

Iyer had criticised Rahul Gandhi, saying the Gandhi scion lacked ideology and that he was not a socialist by conviction.

He further said that people flock to his rallies just to see him and not to listen to his speeches.

"He has nothing new to say to this country. He is not a socialist by conviction. He has no ideology at all. When he goes to the villages, people come to see him out of curiosity," Iyer added.
Anna may withdraw statement on Modi: Agnivesh
Social activist Swami Agnivesh has said that Anna Hazare may withdraw his statement praising Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, once information collected from the state is submitted to him.

"On Hazare's statement (about Modi) -- me and other activists feel that he did not have a clear view about Gujarat and his information was based on media reports," Agnivesh told reporters.

He further said he had come to collect information in Gujarat and to convince all the activists of the country that Hazare's statement was not because of some inclination, but was based on information the Gandhian had.

"Hazare had told reporters that if he gets full information, he would accept it as truth and based on that he could even withdraw his statement praising Modi," Agnivesh said.

"Today, I have collected information which I will share with Anna. And I am of the opinion that Anna would withdraw his statement praising Modi," he said.
This itself should clear any doubts about why the INC/G-family will never go out of power!!!

The above two headlines summarize the whole discourse in India that is today's Bharat. Dear Rakshaks, does anyone believe Bharat will survive the onslaught, even if some sort of India will survive? I am extremely demoralized with surge in the forces out to subvert, convert, expunge any indigenous thought and its expression. Do we have any choice but to wait for becoming a large Pakistan or Philippines?

There is always hope Praharji. Imagine the situation of Bharatiyas at the heights of asuric influence or islamic invasions or colonization. Despair cannot displace action. Take a oath to oneself that one will not stop being a Bharatiya and to fight for its values unto death. Just raise one's children to be true Bharatiyas. That is 1000 times better than these so-called 'fast until deaths'.

So Mr. Hazare has no mind of his own. If tomorrow he is told that A Raja and Kalmadi are embodiment of honesty and decency, He will withdraw his agitation and go back home. Why waste our time in this case. Why the same scrutiny is not being applied to Nitish's Bihar. After all That state and CM too is praised for development and I am sure Lalo ji and Paswan ji have different point of view. Someone pls ask them na.
I just don't feel comfortable with all that has happened in last 3-4 weeks. Too many fast moving events from a Govt which would not even yawn while CWG games were going down to dogs...and Why is this fraudster Agnivesh speaking on behalf of Hazare.

I find all this as circus going on with interest and conflicting interests. Amar Singh today has publicly accused Bhushan's of making money out of PIL business and was talking about Swami Ramdev as original starter of anti-corruption drive,
Not that Amar Singh is someone to be believed but everyone is trying to strip the other party naked in this free for all and focus simply goes away from 2-G family.
With Wins in WB and Kerala (& if luck permits, ending up forming a govt in Assam), Kan-gress can truly claim that voters have rejected all the allegations of Corruption and all is dandy in this world where RG will inherit the throne sooner than later.

Will accept Parliament decision to reject Lokpal Bill: Hazare

Good decision. Will provide an exit route for AH in times of despair. AH shows excellent survival skills, akin to INC wallahs, by retracting many of his statements. Soon he will retract his demand for 'video recording' of discussion sessions (already compromised to audio recording in the first session). That will be end of LokPal that is pushed by 2G scammers.

What an April fools joke on the nation!

Leftist fellows have a serious problem with Anna because they do not have left agenda and may not go against the indian state per se. Being an army man he may not support naxals, at least to the extent these traitors do.

Just now I hear he has written to Sonia about the attacks (both open and back door) on him by Congress leaders. Is he a fool to think that all this is being done without her command? Just now see news item wherein he say that he will agitate if paliament do not agree with him.

NR garu,

Army background doesn't ensure perpetual Bharatiyata. Many in armed forces see it as an occupation similar to IT wallah's dedication to make India a IT super power. There are few WKKs in army top brass.

Remember my point? AH (or any other person) cannot take on India1 while following their game. India1 and their game are not two different beings. They are one and same.

Did you watch the movie "Broker" by RP Patnayak? You should watch it to see where/how the change must happen. A strong recommendation for all Telugu folks. We should post a review of that movie for others. Let me check it out...
Broker review – Broker Telugu Movie review: Music director turned director RP Patnaik’s latest movie Broker is a film with social awareness. Broker is a sincere and honest attempt from RP Patnaik to make people think. This film has its share of plusses and minuses. Know the details in Broker Movie review…
Story:
Ganapathi (RP Patnaik) is a lobbyist who is called in general as Broker. Ganapathi have many political links and also relation with various Government authorities. He acts as a middleman for many people by taking commissions from them. Most of his deeds are illegal which in turn does damage to the society. Ganapathi himself suffers due to his acts as he loses his son in a flyover collapse accident. He never changes his ways even after his wife walks away from his life. Ganapthi realizes his mistakes and turn into a good man because of Dharmateja (Srihari), who was once a corrupt officer and is now a changed man. What Ganapathi does to rectify the consequences of his bad deeds sums up this movie?

Analysis:
Broker is loosely based upon the popular 2G scam. RP’s role reminds you of Nira Radia. Broker is an honest attempt to make a good film. RP should be lauded for coming up with a noble theme. But unfortunately his good attempt didn’t turn into a good film. RP’s lack of skills didn’t help the prospects of Broker. Screenplay played the villain for this film. The take off of the movie is painstaking. It is absolute pain to sit through the film especially in the first half an hour. However, later on the flow of the film smoothened and started to engage the audience.

The last half hour of the film is the highlight. If not for this climax, Broker would have been ended up as a nothing film. Srihari’s presence helped the director to handle this part with finesse. A better screenplay would have definitely put Broker a notch above.

Technically the film is Okay given its budget. It is the second film after Rakta Charitra which is shot completely with RED camera. The digital output of the movie is impressive though.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Hazare is a horse everyone wants to ride today, specially the congress, to win the elections.The horse sometimes gives a fierce kickback.

^ Hopefully. My prayers are with him on that.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

An absolutely brilliant post on the whole facade and how its related to Baba Ramdev and Hinduism at large. Absolutely brilliant and completely clear. Cuts right to the heart-

http://blog.sureshchiplunkar.com/2011/0 ... isory.html
अक्सर आपने देखा होगा कि लेख समाप्त होने के बाद “डिस्क्लेमर” लगाया जाता है, लेकिन मैं लेख शुरु करने से पहले “डिस्क्लेमर” लगा रहा हूँ –
डिस्क्लेमर :- 1) मैं अण्णा हजारे की “व्यक्तिगत रूप से” इज्जत करता हूँ… 2) मैं जन-लोकपाल बिल के विरोध में नहीं हूँ…

अब आप सोच रहे होंगे कि लेख शुरु करने से पहले ही “डिस्क्लेमर” क्यों? क्योंकि “मीडिया” और “मोमबत्ती ब्रिगेड” दोनों ने मिलकर अण्णा तथा अण्णा की भ्रष्टाचार विरोधी मुहिम को लेकर जिस प्रकार का “मास हिस्टीरिया” (जनसमूह का पागलपन), और “अण्णा हजारे टीम”(?) की “लार्जर दैन लाइफ़” इमेज तैयार कर दी है, उसे देखते हुए धीरे-धीरे यह “ट्रेण्ड” चल निकला है कि अण्णा हजारे की मुहिम का हल्का सा भी विरोध करने वाले को तड़ से “देशद्रोही”, “भ्रष्टाचार के प्रति असंवेदनशील” इत्यादि घोषित कर दिया जाता है…

सबसे पहले हम देखते हैं इस तमाम मुहिम का “अंतिम परिणाम” ताकि बीच में क्या-क्या हुआ, इसका विश्लेषण किया जा सके… अण्णा हजारे (Anna Hajare) की मुहिम का सबसे बड़ा और “फ़िलहाल पहला” ठोस परिणाम तो यह निकला है कि अब अण्णा, भ्रष्टाचार के विरुद्ध आवाज़ उठाने वाले एकमात्र “आइकॉन” बन गये हैं, अखबारों-मीडिया का सारा फ़ोकस बाबा रामदेव (Baba Ramdev) से हटकर अब अण्णा हजारे पर केन्द्रित हो गया है। हालांकि मीडिया का कभी कोई सकारात्मक फ़ोकस, बाबा रामदेव द्वारा उठाई जा रही माँगों की तरफ़ था ही नहीं, परन्तु जो भी और जितना भी था… अण्णा हजारे द्वारा “अचानक” शुरु किये गये अनशन की वजह से बिलकुल ही “साफ़-सूफ़” हो गया…। यानी जो बाबा रामदेव देश के 300 से अधिक शहरों में हजारों सभाएं ले-लेकर सोनिया गाँधी, कांग्रेस, स्विस बैंक आदि के खिलाफ़ माहौल-संगठन बनाने में लगे थे, उस मुहिम को एक अनशन और उसके प्रलापपूर्ण मीडिया कवरेज की बदौलत “पलीता” लगा दिया गया है। ये तो था अण्णा की मुहिम का पहला प्राप्त “सफ़ल”(?) परिणाम…

जबकि दूसरा परिणाम भी इसी से मिलता-जुलता है, कि जिस मीडिया में राजा, करुणानिधि, कनिमोझि, भ्रष्ट कारपोरेट, कलमाडी, स्विस बैंक में जमा पैसा… इत्यादि की हेडलाइन्स रहती थीं, वह गायब हो गईं। सीबीआई या सीवीसी या अन्य कोई जाँच एजेंसी इन मामलों में क्या कर रही है, इसकी खबरें भी पृष्ठभूमि में चली गईं… बाबा रामदेव जो कांग्रेस के खिलाफ़ एक “माहौल” खड़ा कर रहे थे, अचानक “मोमबत्ती ब्रिगेड” की वजह से पिछड़ गये। टीवी पर विश्व-कप जीत के बाद अण्णा की जीत की दीवालियाँ मनाई गईं, रामराज्य की स्थापना और सुख समृद्धि के सपने हवा में उछाले जाने लगे हैं…

अंग्रेजों के खिलाफ़ चल रहे स्वतंत्रता संग्राम की याद सभी को है, किस तरह लोकमान्य तिलक, सावरकर और महर्षि अरविन्द द्वारा किये जा रहे जनसंघर्ष को अचानक अफ़्रीका से आकर, गाँधी ने “हाईजैक” कर लिया था. न सिर्फ़ हाइजैक किया, बल्कि “महात्मा” और आगे चलकर “राष्ट्रपिता” भी बन बैठे… और लगभग तानाशाही अंदाज़ में उन्होंने कांग्रेस से तिलक, सरदार पटेल, सुभाषचन्द्र बोस इत्यादि को एक-एक करके किनारे किया, और अपने नेहरु-प्रेम को कभी भी न छिपाते हुए उन्हें देश पर लाद भी दिया… आप सोच रहे होंगे कि अण्णा हजारे और बाबा रामदेव के बीच यह स्वतंत्रता संग्राम कहाँ से घुस गया?

तो सभी अण्णा समर्थकों और जनलोकपाल बिल (Jan-Lokpal Bill) के कट्टर समर्थकों के गुस्से को झेलने को एवं गालियाँ खाने को तैयार मन बनाकर, मैं साफ़-साफ़ आरोप लगाता हूँ कि- इस देश में कोई भी आंदोलन, कोई भी जन-अभियान “भगवा वस्त्रधारी” अथवा “हिन्दू” चेहरे को नहीं चलाने दिया जाएगा… अंग्रेजों के खिलाफ़ आंदोलन में जिस तरह तिलक और अरविन्द को पृष्ठभूमि में धकेला गया था, लगभग उसी अंदाज़ में भगवा वस्त्रधारी बाबा रामदेव को, सफ़ेद टोपीधारी “गाँधीवादी आईकॉन” से “रीप्लेस” कर दिया गया है…। इस तुलना में एक बड़ा अन्तर यह है कि बाबा रामदेव, महर्षि अरविन्द (Maharshi Arvind) नहीं हैं, क्योंकि जहाँ एक ओर महर्षि अरविन्द ने “महात्मा”(?) को जरा भी भाव नहीं दिया था, वहीं दूसरी ओर बाबा रामदेव ने न सिर्फ़ फ़रवरी की अपनी पहली जन-रैली में अण्णा हजारे को मंच पर सादर साथ बैठाया, बल्कि जब अण्णा अनशन पर बैठे थे, तब भी मंच पर आकर समर्थन दिया। चूंकि RSS भी इतने वर्ष बीत जाने के बावजूद “राजनीति” में कच्चा खिलाड़ी ही है, उसने भी अण्णा के अभियान को चिठ्टी लिखकर समर्थन दे मारा। ऐसा लगता है कि राष्ट्रीय स्वयंसेवक संघ में अभी भी वह “घाघपन” नहीं आ पाया है जो “सत्ता की राजनीति” के लिये आवश्यक होता है, विरोधी पक्ष को नेस्तनाबूद करने के लिये जो “राजनैतिक पैंतरेबाजी” और “विशिष्ट प्रकार का कमीनापन” चाहिये होता है, उसका RSS में अभाव प्रतीत होता है, वरना बाबा रामदेव द्वारा तैयार की गई ज़मीन और बोये गये बीजों की “फ़सल”, इतनी आसानी से अण्णा को ले जाते देखकर भी, उन्हें चिठ्ठी लिखकर समर्थन देने की कोई वजह नहीं थी। अण्णा को “संघ” का समर्थन चाहिये भी नहीं था, समर्थन चिठ्ठी मिलने पर न तो उन्होंने कोई आभार व्यक्त किया और न ही उस पर ध्यान दिया…। परन्तु जिन अण्णा हजारे को बाबा रामदेव की रैली के मंच पर बमुश्किल कुछ लोग ही पहचान सकते थे, उन्हीं अण्णा हजारे को रातोंरात “हीरो” बनते देखकर भी न तो संघ और न ही रामदेव कुछ कर पाये, बस उनकी “लार्जर इमेज” की छाया में पिछलग्गू बनकर ताली बजाते रह गये…। सोनिया गाँधी की “किचन कैबिनेट” यानी राष्ट्रीय सलाहकार परिषद (NAC) के “NGO छाप रणबाँकुरों” ने मिलजुलकर अण्णा हजारे के कंधे पर बन्दूक रखकर जो निशाना साधा, उसमें बाबा रामदेव चित हो गये…

मैंने ऊपर “राजनैतिक पैंतरेबाजी” और “घाघ” शब्दों का उपयोग किया है, इसमें कांग्रेस का कोई मुकाबला नहीं कर सकता… अंग्रेजों के खिलाफ़ आंदोलन से लेकर अण्णा हजारे तक कांग्रेस ने “परफ़ेक्ट” तरीके से “फ़ूट डालो और राज करो” की नीति को आजमाया है और सफ़ल भी रही है। कांग्रेस को पता है कि इलेक्ट्रानिक मीडिया का देश के युवाओं पर तथा अंग्रेजी प्रिण्ट मीडिया का देश के “बुद्धिजीवी”(?) वर्ग पर खासा असर है, इसलिये जिस “तथाकथित जागरूक और जन-सरोकार वाले मीडिया”(?) ने रामलीला मैदान पर बाबा रामदेव की 27 फ़रवरी की विशाल रैली को चैनलों और अखबारों से लगभग सिरे से गायब कर दिया था, वही मीडिया अण्णा के अनशन की घोषणा मात्र से मानो पगला गया, बौरा गया। अनशन के शुरुआती दो दिनों में ही मीडिया ने देश में ऐसा माहौल रच दिया मानो “जन-लोकपाल बिल” ही देश की सारी समस्याओं का हल है। 27 फ़रवरी की रैली के बाद भी रामदेव बाबा ने गोआ, चेन्नई, बंगलोर में कांग्रेस, सोनिया गाँधी और भ्रष्टाचार के खिलाफ़ जमकर शंखनाद किया, परन्तु मीडिया को इस तरफ़ न ध्यान देना था और न ही उसने दिया। परन्तु “चर्च-पोषित” मीडिया तथा “सोनिया पोषित NGO इंडस्ट्री” ने बाबा रामदेव की दो महीने की मेहनत पर, अण्णा के “चार दिन के अनशन” द्वारा पानी फ़ेर दिया, तथा देश-दुनिया का सारा फ़ोकस “भगवा वस्त्र” एवं “कांग्रेस-सोनिया” से हटकर “गाँधी टोपी” और “जन-लोकपाल” पर ला पटका… इसे कहते हैं “पैंतरेबाजी”…। जिसमें क्या संघ और क्या भाजपा, सभी कांग्रेस के सामने बच्चे हैं। जब यह बात सभी को पता है कि मीडिया सिर्फ़ “पैसों का भूखा भेड़िया” है, उसे समाज के सरोकारों से कोई लेना-देना नहीं है, तो क्यों नहीं ऐसी कोई कोशिश की जाती कि इन भेड़ियों के सामने पर्याप्त मात्रा में हड्डियाँ डाली जाएं, कि वह भले ही “हिन्दुत्व” का गुणगान न करें, लेकिन कम से कम चमड़ी तो न उधेड़ें?

अब एक स्नैपशॉट देखें…

राष्ट्रीय सलाहकार परिषद की 4 अप्रैल 2011 को लोकपाल बिल के मुद्दे पर बैठक होती है, जिसमें अरविन्द केजरीवाल, बड़े भूषण, संदीप पाण्डे, हर्ष मन्दर, संतोष मैथ्यू जैसे कई लोग शामिल होते हैं। सोनिया गांधी की इस “पालतू परिषद” वाली मीटिंग में यह तय होता है कि 28 अप्रैल 2011 को फ़िर आगे के मुद्दों पर चर्चा होगी…। अगले दिन 5 अप्रैल को ही अण्णा अनशन पर बैठ जाते हैं, जिसकी घोषणा वह कुछ दिनों पहले ही कर चुके होते हैं… संयोग देखिये कि उनके साथ मंच पर वही महानुभाव होते हैं जो एक दिन पहले सोनिया के बुलावे पर NAC की मीटिंग में थे… ये कौन सा “षडयंत्रकारी गेम” है?

इस चित्र में जरा इस NAC में शामिल “माननीयों” के नाम भी देख लीजिये –

हर्ष मंदर, डॉ जॉन ड्रीज़, अरुणा रॉय जैसे नाम आपको सभी समितियों में मिलेंगे… इतने गजब के विद्वान हैं ये लोग। “लोकतन्त्र”, “जनतंत्र” और “जनता द्वारा चुने हुए प्रतिनिधियों” वाले लफ़्फ़ाज शब्दों की दुहाई देने वाले लोग, कभी ये नहीं बताते कि इस राष्ट्रीय सलाहकार परिषद को किस जनता से चुना है? इस परिषद में आसमान से टपककर शामिल हुए विद्वान, बार-बार मीटिंग करके प्रधानमंत्री और कैबिनेट को आये दिन सलाह क्यों देते रहते हैं? और किस हैसियत से देते हैं? खाद्य सुरक्षा बिल हो, घरेलू महिला हिंसा बिल हो, सिर पर मैला ढोने की प्रथा को समाप्त करने सम्बन्धी बिल हो, लोकपाल बिल हो… सभी बिलों पर सोनिया-चयनित यह परिषद संसद को “सलाह”(?) क्यों देती फ़िरती है? या कहीं ऐसा तो नहीं है कि संसद में पेश किया जाने वाला प्रत्येक बिल इस “वफ़ादार परिषद” की निगाहबीनी के बिना कैबिनेट में भी नहीं जा सकता? किस लोकतन्त्र की दुहाई दे रहे हैं आप? और क्या यह भी सिर्फ़ संयोग ही है कि इस सलाहकार परिषद में सभी के सभी धुर हिन्दू-विरोधी भरे पड़े हैं?

जो कांग्रेस पार्टी मणिपुर की ईरोम शर्मिला के दस साल से अधिक समय के अनशन पर कान में तेल डाले बैठी है, जो कांग्रेस पार्टी तेलंगाना राष्ट्र समिति (TRS) के अध्यक्ष की अलग राज्य की माँग की भूख हड़ताल को उनके अस्पताल में भर्ती होने तक लटकाकर रखती है…और आश्वासन का झुनझुना पकड़ाकर खत्म करवा देती है… वही कांग्रेस पार्टी “आमरण अनशन” का कहकर बैठे अण्णा की बातों को 97 घण्टों में ही अचानक मान गई? और न सिर्फ़ मान गई, बल्कि पूरी तरह लेट गई और उन्होंने जो कहा, वह कर दिया? इतनी भोली तो नहीं है कांग्रेस…

=========
ताजा खबर ये है कि -
1) संयुक्त समिति की पहली ही बैठक में भ्रष्ट जजों और मंत्रियों को निलम्बित नहीं करने की शर्त अण्णा ने मान ली है,
2) दूसरी खबर आज आई है कि अण्णा ने कहा है कि "संसद ही सर्वोच्च है और यदि वह जन-लोकपाल बिल ठुकरा भी दे तो वे स्वीकार कर लेंगे…"
3) एक और बयान अण्णा ने दिया है कि "मैंने कभी आरएसएस का समर्थन नहीं किया है और कभी भी उनके करीब नहीं था…"

आगे-आगे देखते जाईये… जन लोकपाल बिल "कब और कितना" पास हो पाता है… अन्त में "होईहे वही जो सोनिया रुचि राखा…"। जब तक अण्णा हजारे, बाबा रामदेव और नरेन्द्र मोदी के साथ खुलकर नहीं आते वे सफ़ल नहीं होंगे, इस बात पर शायद एक बार अण्णा तो राजी हो भी जाएं, परन्तु जो "NGO इंडस्ट्री वाली चौकड़ी" उन्हें ऐसा करने नहीं देगी…

(जरा अण्णा समर्थकों की गालियाँ खा लूं, फ़िर अगला भाग लिखूंगा…… भाग-2 में जारी रहेगा…)
Here is the English translation of above posted article-
Many a times you would've seen that there is a disclaimer at the end of an article. But I am putting it right in the beginning-
Dislaimer- 1. I respect Anna Hazaare as a 'person' 2. I dont oppse Lokpal bill
You must be thinking that why a disclaimer right in the beginning? Its because it seems, by looking at the 'mass hysteria' and 'larger than life' image of Anna Hazaare and his team created by the media and the candle brigade, there is a trend that any one who oppses Anna Hazaare is labelled as 'defected', 'anti-nationalist' and 'insensitive towards corruption'.
First we will see the 'final result' of this whole 'movement', so that we can analysis what happened in between. The biggest and first solid result of this movement of Anna Hazaare is that he has become the lone icon against corruption. The whole focus of print and news media has shifted from Baba Ramdev to him. Not that there ever was any positive focus of media towards Baba Ramdev or his demands or his movement, but whatever little there was, has now completely vapourized because of this 'sudden' hunger-strike of Anna. This means that the movement that was created by Baba Ramdev by attending thousands of meetings in more than 300 cities of India and which was creating awareness about Swiss-bank, Sonia Gandhi, Congress etc, has been completely killed. This is the first succesful result of Anna's movement.
The second result is similar to this one. This is that the the headlines that were in focus in the media not long ago, those related to the corrution of Karunanidhi, Raja, Kalmaadi, Swiss bank...are now nowhere to be found. What is being done by CBI or CVC, is no longer the topic of discussion. Baba Ramdev was creating an environment against Congress and corruption, suddenly he is left behind by the 'candle brigade'. After world cup win, the win of Anna is now being celebrated on TV. The dreams of 'RamRajya' are thrown around.
Everyone remembers the freedom movement against the British. How the movement spearheaded by Maharshi Arvind, Saavarkar, Tilak was suddenly hijacked by Gandhiji. Not only he hijacked it, but he became 'Mahatma;' and 'Rashtrapita'. He also sidenlined Tilkak, Patel, Bose etc within Congress, like a tyrant. And he never hid his nehru-love and also burdened it on the nation. Now you must be thinking whats the point of freedom movement in the talks about Baba Ramdev and Anna Hazaare?
Then after getting prepared to face the rebukes and abuses of all Anna Hazaare and Lokpal supporters, I clealy put forth this allegation that never will the 'Hindu' and 'Saffron' will be allowed to do any movement in this country. Just how Tilka and Arvind were sent to the background in the freedom struggle, almost similarly the saffron rob wearing Baba Ramdev has been sidelined by a white cap wearing Gandhian icon. A big difference here is that Baba Ramdev isnt Maharshi Arvind, cause where on one side Maharshi Arvind never cared for Gandhi, on the other hand Baba Ramdev not only gave place to Anna on stage in his first rally in November, he sat with him on the stage in his (Anna's) hunger-strike and supported him. Since even the RSS is still weak in politics after all these years, it too supported Anna's movement in its letter. It seems the RSS still isnt so 'consummate' after all these years, which is needed in the 'politics of the throne'. The 'political maneuvers' and 'speacial kind of cunning' that is required to destroy the opposition, RSS lacks. Otherwise there was no need to support the movement that was only cutting and taking away the crop that was grown by Baba Ramdev after preparing the soil and sowing the seeds. Anna didnt need the support of RSS anyway, and neither he showed gratitude nor he cared for it. But the same Anna Hazzare who could not be recognized by more than a handful on Baba Ramdev's stage, was made hero overnight and the RSS and Baba Ramdev couldnt do anything, other than being a hanger in the shade of his 'larger image' and clap. The aim that was made by the kitchen cabinet of Sonia (NAC) and its 'NGO brand generals' from the shoulders of Anna Hazaare, finished Baba Ramdev.
Above I used words such as 'consummate' and 'political manuvers' and noone can match the calibre of congree in these. From freedom struggle to the Anna Hazaare movement, the Congress has perfectly used the 'divide and rule' policy and has been succesful. Congress knows the powerful grip that the electronic media has on the nation's youth and the English media on 'intellectuals'. Hence the same 'aware and for the people' media which completely ignored the huge rally by Baba Ramdev in Ramlila maidan on 27th Feb, the same media got completely enthused even by the announcement of Hazaare's hunger-strike. The media created sucn an environment in the nation, even in the beginning of the strike, as if the Lokpal bill the panacea for the nation. After 27th Feb in Delhi, Baba Ramdev did rallies in bangalore, Goa etc but the media didnt pay any attention, as is the case always. But the 'Church-cherished' media and Sonia's 'NGO industry' neutered the hard work of 2 months of Baba Ramdev by 4 day strike of Anna. The focus of the whole world shifted from the 'saffron' and 'congress' to 'Gandhi hat' and 'Lokpal'. This is called manuverism. What RSS and what BJP, all are children in front of Congress in this. When eveyone knows that the media wolf is hungry only for money and doesnt care one bit for the society, then why isnt there a try such that there are enough bones thrown to these wolves that they at least stop tearing away the skin of Hindutva, what to think of apotheosis.
Now lets see. The NAC meets on the Lokpal on 4th April in which Arvind Kejriwal, big Bhushan, Sandeep Pandey, harsh Mandar, Santosh mathew and the ilk participates. The 'pet council' of Sonia decides that further discussions will be held on 28th April. Next day itself, on 5th April, Anna sits on strike, which he announced long back. What a coincidence that the same gentlemen are there with him on the stage which were there in the NAC meeting just a day ago! What kind of conspiracy game this is?
See the gentlemen of NAC here- Harsh Mandar, Dr. John Drews, Aruna Roy etc. You will find these names in all the councils etc. How high the calibre of their knowledge! Those who cry in the name of 'democracy' 'republic' and 'elected by the people' never tell which people elected this NAC? In this council, the intellectuals who dropped from sky, advice the PM and cabinet! What is their right to do so? Be it food security bill, domestic violence bill or lokpal, on every single bill, this Sonia chosen council advices the parliament! Is it so that every single bill that gets presented in parliament, cant pass the watchful eyes of this council? Which democracy you cry about? Or is just a coincidence too that all members of this council are fanatically anti-Hindu?
The congress which has oil in its ears for the 10 year long strike of Irom Sharmila of Manipur, the Congress that hangs the strike of TRS chief till he is in hospital and even then gives only lip-service, the same Congress suddenly accepts all demands of Anna within 97 hours? Not only Congress agreed, it completely surrendered and agreed on everything! Not so innocent Congress is!
-----------------------
Latest news is- 1. Anna agreed to demand that corrupt ministers and judges wont be suspended.
2. Second is that Anna says that Parliament is above all and he will accept it even if it rejects the Lokpal bill.
3. Another statement of Anna is- 'I never supported RSS and was never close to them'
Lets keep seeing...when and how much this Lokpall bill passes. In the end, 'what happens is what Sonia wishes only'. Till Anna Hazaare comes openly in support and with Narendra Modi and Baba Ramdev, he wont succeed. And even if he agrees on that, the 'NGO group' wont let him do that.
Last edited by kittoo on 19 Apr 2011 00:18, edited 1 time in total.

So Is Anna Hazare riding the horse that was saddled up by Baba Ramdev ? I fear that this will end very dirty..
Too many not so Innocent parties in this quicksand.

Kitto ji,

Please do translate. Got the essence from Google translate but it would be nice to read a coherent translation.

One more time, this is what happens when a 3rd India citizen (AH) tries to accommodate 1st India (secularism, anti-modism, DDM, 2G group, majority membership from 2G group, Father, Son and the Holy god etc;)

What BR is trying to do is a by, for, and of Bharat's (3rd India) fight against 2g-India. That is why he has to be undermined.

The 2nd India, IMHO, realized the danger coming from 1st India. That is the reason for Radiagate.

P.S: I support 2nd India (babudom = the system) against 1st India; even though most of 1st India is democratically :P elected. The reason is - when a babu retires at 55-58; he joins back into 3rd India (that is the reason for their association with 3rd India). It never happens with 1st India; they remain aloof forever.
Last edited by RamaY on 18 Apr 2011 23:16, edited 1 time in total.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

RamaY wrote:Kitto ji,

Please do..
On it RamaY ji.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Here is the English translation of above posted articled-
Many a times you would've seen that there is a disclaimer at the end of an article. But I am putting it right in the beginning-
Dislaimer- 1. I respect Anna Hazaare as a 'person' 2. I dont oppse Lokpal bill
You must be thinking that why a disclaimer right in the beginning? Its because it seems, by looking at the 'mass hysteria' and 'larger than life' image of Anna Hazaare and his team created by the media and the candle brigade, there is a trend that any one who oppses Anna Hazaare is labelled as 'defected', 'anti-nationalist' and 'insensitive towards corruption'.
First we will see the 'final result' of this whole 'movement', so that we can analysis what happened in between. The biggest and first solid result of this movement of Anna Hazaare is that he has become the lone icon against corruption. The whole focus of print and news media has shifted from Baba Ramdev to him. Not that there ever was any positive focus of media towards Baba Ramdev or his demands or his movement, but whatever little there was, has now completely vapourized because of this 'sudden' hunger-strike of Anna. This means that the movement that was created by Baba Ramdev by attending thousands of meetings in more than 300 cities of India and which was creating awareness about Swiss-bank, Sonia Gandhi, Congress etc, has been completely killed. This is the first succesful result of Anna's movement.
The second result is similar to this one. This is that the the headlines that were in focus in the media not long ago, those related to the corrution of Karunanidhi, Raja, Kalmaadi, Swiss bank...are now nowhere to be found. What is being done by CBI or CVC, is no longer the topic of discussion. Baba Ramdev was creating an environment against Congress and corruption, suddenly he is left behind by the 'candle brigade'. After world cup win, the win of Anna is now being celebrated on TV. The dreams of 'RamRajya' are thrown around.
Everyone remembers the freedom movement against the British. How the movement spearheaded by Maharshi Arvind, Saavarkar, Tilak was suddenly hijacked by Gandhiji. Not only he hijacked it, but he became 'Mahatma;' and 'Rashtrapita'. He also sidenlined Tilkak, Patel, Bose etc within Congress, like a tyrant. And he never hid his nehru-love and also burdened it on the nation. Now you must be thinking whats the point of freedom movement in the talks about Baba Ramdev and Anna Hazaare?
Then after getting prepared to face the rebukes and abuses of all Anna Hazaare and Lokpal supporters, I clealy put forth this allegation that never will the 'Hindu' and 'Saffron' will be allowed to do any movement in this country. Just how Tilka and Arvind were sent to the background in the freedom struggle, almost similarly the saffron rob wearing Baba Ramdev has been sidelined by a white cap wearing Gandhian icon. A big difference here is that Baba Ramdev isnt Maharshi Arvind, cause where on one side Maharshi Arvind never cared for Gandhi, on the other hand Baba Ramdev not only gave place to Anna on stage in his first rally in November, he sat with him on the stage in his (Anna's) hunger-strike and supported him. Since even the RSS is still weak in politics after all these years, it too supported Anna's movement in its letter. It seems the RSS still isnt so 'consummate' after all these years, which is needed in the 'politics of the throne'. The 'political maneuvers' and 'speacial kind of cunning' that is required to destroy the opposition, RSS lacks. Otherwise there was no need to support the movement that was only cutting and taking away the crop that was grown by Baba Ramdev after preparing the soil and sowing the seeds. Anna didnt need the support of RSS anyway, and neither he showed gratitude nor he cared for it. But the same Anna Hazzare who could not be recognized by more than a handful on Baba Ramdev's stage, was made hero overnight and the RSS and Baba Ramdev couldnt do anything, other than being a hanger in the shade of his 'larger image' and clap. The aim that was made by the kitchen cabinet of Sonia (NAC) and its 'NGO brand generals' from the shoulders of Anna Hazaare, finished Baba Ramdev.
Above I used words such as 'consummate' and 'political manuvers' and noone can match the calibre of congree in these. From freedom struggle to the Anna Hazaare movement, the Congress has perfectly used the 'divide and rule' policy and has been succesful. Congress knows the powerful grip that the electronic media has on the nation's youth and the English media on 'intellectuals'. Hence the same 'aware and for the people' media which completely ignored the huge rally by Baba Ramdev in Ramlila maidan on 27th Feb, the same media got completely enthused even by the announcement of Hazaare's hunger-strike. The media created sucn an environment in the nation, even in the beginning of the strike, as if the Lokpal bill the panacea for the nation. After 27th Feb in Delhi, Baba Ramdev did rallies in bangalore, Goa etc but the media didnt pay any attention, as is the case always. But the 'Church-cherished' media and Sonia's 'NGO industry' neutered the hard work of 2 months of Baba Ramdev by 4 day strike of Anna. The focus of the whole world shifted from the 'saffron' and 'congress' to 'Gandhi hat' and 'Lokpal'. This is called manuverism. What RSS and what BJP, all are children in front of Congress in this. When eveyone knows that the media wolf is hungry only for money and doesnt care one bit for the society, then why isnt there a try such that there are enough bones thrown to these wolves that they at least stop tearing away the skin of Hindutva, what to think of apotheosis.
Now lets see. The NAC meets on the Lokpal on 4th April in which Arvind Kejriwal, big Bhushan, Sandeep Pandey, harsh Mandar, Santosh mathew and the ilk participates. The 'pet council' of Sonia decides that further discussions will be held on 28th April. Next day itself, on 5th April, Anna sits on strike, which he announced long back. What a coincidence that the same gentlemen are there with him on the stage which were there in the NAC meeting just a day ago! What kind of conspiracy game this is?
See the gentlemen of NAC here- Harsh Mandar, Dr. John Drews, Aruna Roy etc. You will find these names in all the councils etc. How high the calibre of their knowledge! Those who cry in the name of 'democracy' 'republic' and 'elected by the people' never tell which people elected this NAC? In this council, the intellectuals who dropped from sky, advice the PM and cabinet! What is their right to do so? Be it food security bill, domestic violence bill or lokpal, on every single bill, this Sonia chosen council advices the parliament! Is it so that every single bill that gets presented in parliament, cant pass the watchful eyes of this council? Which democracy you cry about? Or is just a coincidence too that all members of this council are fanatically anti-Hindu?
The congress which has oil in its ears for the 10 year long strike of Irom Sharmila of Manipur, the Congress that hangs the strike of TRS chief till he is in hospital and even then gives only lip-service, the same Congress suddenly accepts all demands of Anna within 97 hours? Not only Congress agreed, it completely surrendered and agreed on everything! Not so innocent Congress is!
-----------------------
Latest news is- 1. Anna agreed to demand that corrupt ministers and judges wont be suspended.
2. Second is that Anna says that Parliament is above all and he will accept it even if it rejects the Lokpal bill.
3. Another statement of Anna is- 'I never supported RSS and was never close to them'
Lets keep seeing...when and how much this Lokpall bill passes. In the end, 'what happens is what Sonia wishes only'. Till Anna Hazaare comes openly in support and with Narendra Modi and Baba Ramdev, he wont succeed. And even if he agrees on that, the 'NGO group' wont let him do that.

This is the report referenced in Karan Thapar's article and in which Hazare ji was indicted for corruption.

P B Sawant report

An open letter to Anna Hazare
Respected Annaji
Namaskar

Thanks for writing to us (countrymen) cautioning against the divisive powers which are working to divide the anti-graft movement by spreading misinformation and propaganda. But Annaji, you must be aware that those who have openly critiqued the movement were not the jholawala types surrounding you in the guise of “civil activists”, but seasoned writers, intellectuals, political observers and erudite scholars passionate about Indian Democracy and its progress.

You have appealed to the people to ignore any kind of rumours Annaji, but those critical points cannot be brushed aside as rumours, as they have been made in the interest of the nation with clear evidences. Please be aware of the fact that your movement against corruption is seen with suspicion because of the jholawala brigade surrounding you. Let me take the liberty of reminding you of the old saying, “One is known by the company one keeps”. And what a company you have Annaji!

A “dubious Swami” who openly supports anti-nationals such as Maoists, Kashmiri separatists and Christian aggressors who wreak havoc in remote villages, tribal areas and coastal hamlets, indulging in conversion activities; an “RTI Activist” with a dubious track record of running NGOs without any accountability or transparency; a “dancer & social activist” who was allegedly involved in robbing innocent dancers in the guise of sending them abroad; a woman police officer who has not achieved anything, not even regular service awards, except the “distinction” of being the First Woman Police Officer of India; a “Social Activist” who thrives on instigating innocent people to riot against developmental projects and who has been indicted by Courts of Law in India including the Supreme Court for illegality and shady activities; yet another “Activist” whose NGO was thoroughly exposed in the VIGIL Book “NGOs, Activists and Foreign Funds: Anti- Nation Industry” (1). Being a socially conscious person, why didn’t you check their antecedents Annaji? Or did you think it did not matter?

With such characters supporting you, you are bound to face questions and criticisms Annaji, and you cannot reject them as rumours. As “leader” of the movement, you are responsible and you must clarify doubts arising in the minds of the fellow countrymen who are “blindly” following you.

Here are some more questions for you, in the hope that you would at least introspect if not willing to give a candid reply.

- A columnist of a reputed newspaper has said it was Arvind Kejriwal who prodded you two months ago to lead this fight for Jan Lokpal Bill (2). So why didn’t you start a separate movement then? Why did you go and join Swami Ramdev’s Bharat Swabhiman Andholan? Were you forced by Kejriwal and other “activists” to attend Baba Ramdev’s massive rally on 27 February? Did you announce your “Fast unto Death” plan there on the instruction of those activists?

- Between 27 February and 5 April you were not to be seen on the national scene Annaji. Why? A famous blogger has questioned the timing of your hunger strike (3). Can you give a convincing answer? Was the timing also decided by the “Activists”?

- In your letter to the Prime Minister, Annaji, you have mentioned that UPA-2 has shown complete contempt for even the most innocuous issues raised by the National Advisory Council (NAC) and you have also asked the government to accept the recommendations of the NAC sub-committee on Jan Lokpal Bill. In other words, you have literally batted for NAC. Why Annaji? What is the difference you perceive between UPA, Congress Party and NAC? Please don’t tell us you are not aware that all three are headed and controlled by Sonia Gandhi.

- As a crusader against corruption for so many decades, you must know the Bofors Scam and the persons involved in it; you must also be aware of the huge scams coming into the limelight one after another from the dark cabinets of UPA, presided over by Sonia. How and why did you bat for Sonia’s NAC in your letter to PM? Was the letter written by you or did you simply sign a letter drafted by “activists”?

- In your latest letter to us countrymen, you have mentioned that your hunger strike was not aimed against any government or person, but was the people’s voice against corruption. Why Annaji? Don’t you feel this government is the most brazenly corrupt government in independent India? Why didn’t you ask for speedy trial of CWG, 2G, Adarsh and other scams? When you are leading a fight against corruption, is it not your duty to highlight the various scams involving the present government, especially in your letter to the Prime Minister? Why should you go out of the way and say that your movement was not against any government or person?

- Because of your insistence and also because you have been steadfastly against him in Maharashtra, Sharad Pawar quit the GoM. But you seem happy to accept Pranab Mukherjee and P. Chidambaram, who have been castigated in your presence as corrupt, by none other than your colleague in the movement, former Income Tax Commissioner Vishwabandhu Gupta. Why this soft corner towards Congress and cold shoulder to NCP? Why you didn’t demand the inclusion of opposition leaders in the draft committee Annaji? Don’t you realize the opposition plays a significant role in parliamentary democracy and that its support is needed in parliament to pass the Lokpal Bill? Did the jholawala brigade prevent you from making such a demand?

- Coming to the composition of members of Lokpal, Annaji, why you have not considered the Chief Vigilance Commissioner and why you are specific about Nobel and Magsaysay awardees? What is so important about those awarded by foreign organizations?

- It seems you were not satisfied projecting yourself as a “Gandhian” and want to proclaim your “secular” credentials too! Hence you said “repeated” clarifications on your opinion about Narendra Modi “pained” you. You took pains to repeat the statement uttered by Kejriwal into your ears about Modi being “communal”; you took pains to send a written reply to the activist-dancer who objected to your appreciating Modi for the development milestones achieved in Gujarat; you took pains to clarify your position vis-à-vis Modi on “communal” aspect when confronted with another letter from a bunch of Gujarat-based jholawalas called Lok Andolan to Maoist sympathiser Agnivesh.

- But you never had the courtesy to reply to Mr. Modi, who not only appreciated your efforts wholeheartedly and thanked you respectfully, but also warned you of a vilification campaign by these very same people. Why Annaji? Did you think you would be dubbed ‘communal’ if you replied to Modi?

- Congress goons massacred more than 3000 Sikhs across the country in 1984. But you bat for Sonia and her NAC and don’t seem to bother about supporting or communicating with Congress. Annaji, do you mean Congress is not communal?

- You said you appreciated Modi for the development of Gujarat based on Media reports. Have you not seen media reports about 100-odd Muslims winning local body elections on BJP tickets? Have you not seen media reports on Muslims voting for Modi in large numbers in consecutive elections? Why didn’t you have the courage to tell the jholawala brigade that you stand by your opinion on Modi, that he was not communal and that Gujarati Muslims are the happiest lot when compared with Muslims of other states?

- More than a dozen states including your Maharashtra have Lokayuktas, but not Modi’s Gujarat. You must know how Maharashtra is doing in the august presence of yourself and a Lokayukta. However, with just the existing laws, Modi was able to achieve corruption-free governance reducing corruption to the barest minimum while other states couldn’t achieve even a fraction of this. As a leader of the so-called anti-corruption movement, you should have appreciated Modi for this. Yet you chose to demand constitution of a Lokayukta without even knowing that it was the Sonia-led Congress party which creates obstacles in the formation of a Lokayukta in Gujarat. Annaji will you show some courage by asking Sonia to cooperate with Modi in forming the Lokayukta in Gujarat?

- The monumental scams and corruption involving UPA ministers have been tumbling out of the closet. There is a lot of noise by nationalists who are more credible than the jholawala brigade surrounding you on Black Money stashed in tax havens across the globe. You have kept silent on this, Annaji. Why not ask the UPA government to ratify the United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC), which would free our investigating agencies and facilitate investigations on foreign soil? Since you have so much confidence in Sonia (‘If Sonia orders the Government our remaining demands will be met’), why not ask her to prevail upon the UPA to ratify UNCAC? Once the investigating agencies are freed, we may not even require a “Lokpal”, Annaji.

- When Baba Ramdev objected to the presence of a father-son duo in the draft committee, you silenced him. Annaji, wasn’t it proper to have only one Bhushan in the committee? Are there no equally good and even better legal luminaries? Are you aware that Prashant Bhushan, with Sandeep Pandey, attended a “National Political Conference” organized by the terror outfit Popular Front of India (PFI) in Kozhikode during February 13-15, 2009? (4). Will you demand an explanation from him? And in the wake of new controversies about the Bhushans, will you demand explanations from them?

- You have been confined to Maharashtra for years. Suddenly you have become nationally famous! How? Isn’t it because you joined Baba Ramdev’s Movement against corruption? Are you not aware that Baba Ramdev has been singularly responsible for creating a genuine movement against corruption in government and black money stashed in tax havens? Who advised you to usurp the movement from Swami Ramdev? It was the jholawala brigade, wasn’t it?

- Was it not because of this fact that you uttered the “infamous” statement, “The most significant thing about this movement was that it had no religion”? Annaji, what made you utter this? Are you not aware that Baba Ramdev has been instrumental in uniting the people of this great nation across castes and religions, against corruption? Didn’t you see the Muslim and Christian clergies at his rally?

- Or was the statement pointed at the saffron clad Hindu Yoga Guru, indirectly asking him to stay away from your “secular” show for the future? In that case, Annaji, can we take it that you have hijacked the anti-corruption movement from Baba Ramdev at the behest of Sonia’s minions who are surrounding you in the guise of “Civil Society” representatives?

- Last but not the least Annaji, what is your take on the Reports of Justice P.B. Sawant Commission which inquired various complaints against you and found maladministration and misappropriation in NGOs connected with you?

You have a lot more to explain Annaji.

- The Deccan Herald reported that you have yielded to the demand of the so-called activists to remove the Bharat Mata image from your movement’s pictorial backdrops on the grounds that it signifies “Hinduness” and hence is communal. (5) That is an insult to the nation and if true, Annaji, you have lost the credibility and moral authority to lead a movement like this; you must apologise to the nation and quit.

Any movement against virulent alien forces controlling the pillars of our democracy needs to have Hinduness in its outlook, image, character, thought, word and deed. That is how Rama achieved with the help of Vasishta, Chandra Gupta achieved with the help of Chanakya, and Shivaji achieved with the help of Ramdas.

If you are really concerned about corruption, please ask the jholawala brigade to get lost and leave the mantle to Baba Ramdev, and quit.

This great nation needs a Hindu Rajguru, not a secular Gandhi!

With Warm Regards,
B.R. Haran
A Concerned Citizen

References: -
(1) http://www.vijayvaani.com/FrmPublicDisp ... px?id=1721
The company that Hazare keeps
Krishen Kak

(2)http://blogs.economictimes.indiatimes.c ... -celebrity
Anna Hazare: The real celebrity
Rajesh Kalra , Thursday April 14, 2011, 06:49 PM

(3) http://www.sandeepweb.com/2011/04/13/an ... #more-1620
Anna Hazardous
Sandeep Published: April 13, 2011

(4) Tamil Daily “Dinamalar” dated 19 February 2009

(5) http://www.deccanherald.com/content/153 ... ement.html
New symbol for Hazare’s movement, New Delhi, April 14, DH News Service

(The writer is a senior journalist)

http://www.vijayvaani.com/FrmPublicDisp ... px?id=1736

So slowly Rahul Mehta's ideas are going main stream

^^Never thought I'd see the day lol.

This link is gone. Is shiela butt doing some kind of burka dutt?

Lokpal should have powers to tap phones, prosecute: non-govt reps
non-government representatives in the committee {who could that be? Must be Anna Hazare} pushed for a much stronger law than earlier envisaged, inserting a new provision in their latest draft that will empower the office of the Lokpal to intercept telephone conversations.
I want LokPal to have power to declare emergency and war, if needed.

Activists on Sonia-led NAC come out in support of Bhushans
NEW DELHI: Setting aside their differences with the Anna Hazare team over the Lokpal Bill, civil society representatives on the Sonia Gandhi led-National Advisory Council (NAC) have come out strongly to oppose they called a systematic attempt to slander the reputation of Shanti and Prashant Bhushan.

NAC members and their comrades banded under the National Campaign for People's Right to Information (NCPRI) with Aruna Roy, Harsh Mander and others endorsing the viewpoint of Hazare and his colleagues that the attack on the Bhushans' credentials was meant to distract attention from the campaign for creation of an effective anti—corruption mechanism in the form of Lokpal.
The Father, Son, and the Holy God!

‘Include Anna Hazare in textbooks’
After he took the nation by storm with his 93-hour hunger strike for the Lokpal Bill, teachers in the state want Anna Hazare’s story to be published in the school textbooks.

Teachers have asked the State Council of Educational Research Training (SCERT) to include Hazare’s struggle in the state board syllabus.

Maharashtra Rajya Shikshak Parishad, a statewide organisation of nearly 70,000 teachers, wrote a letter to the SCERT on Monday, to include Hazare’s life story and his successful struggle against corruption in the syllabus so that students can be inspired.
Bharata Ratna for AH, he must be declared India's uncle.

Shanti Bhushan an honourable man: Jethmalani
NEW DELHI: Veteran lawyer Ram Jethmalani on Tuesday came out in support of the Bhushans saying that Shanti Bhushan was "too honourable a man" for him to believe in the contents of the CD where he is purportedly talking to Amar Singh and Mulayam Singh Yadav discussing "managing" judges.
"brutus is an honorable man": A statement made several times in a speech by Mark Antony in the play Julius Caesar, by William Shakespeare. The speech is Antony's funeral oration over Caesar, whom Brutus has helped kill. “Brutus is an honorable man” is ironic, as Antony is attempting to portray Brutus as ungrateful and treacherous. He succeeds in turning the Roman people against Brutus and the other assassins.

Congress continues to target Anna Hazare on Narendra Modi remark

AH committed the cardinal sin; he praised Modi. It doesn't matter how many times he retracts that statements or how many times he apologizes to [sic] seculars. Remember that VC of that university who had to resign even after retracting his statement... AH's statement carries even more (symbolic) weight to the sekkularized-dhimmi-public so the punishment must be very very severe...

Hazare backtracks, to agitate if Bill not passed by Aug 15
Backtracking on his yesterday's statement, Anna Hazare today stuck to his August 15 deadline for passage of the Lokpal Bill failing which he will resort to agitation.

"The joint drafting committee has a mandate to produce a strong Jan Lokpal bill which will be sent to Parliament. We hope that all political parties will vote as per the wishes of the people, which is overwhelmingly in favour of a strong Bill.
Deer caught in head lights :((

God, AH concludes that the wishes of the people are "overwhelmingly" in favor of a strong bill prepared by the "Father and the Son". Anyone opposes the bill is a kafir.

Reminds me of a post I made years ago "Can secularism give me same level of protection if I come up with a ridiculous ideology". Sometime Allah works in mysterious ways.

^^heh... Ramdev was at the forefront of the corruption campaign and all of a sudden AH swoops down out of nowhere and steals the show with his Jan Lokpal bill. Seems like the whole movement is being cleverly diverted.