LCA News and Discussions

Re: LCA News and Discussions

suryag wrote:
Shivji and other gurus, whenever we buy new fighters do we put them through spin tests to see if it behaves as advertised ? If we do we should by this time have a large database of how different types of aircrafts(m2k delta) behave for different types of spins
Not a guru. Just an enthusiast. But no, it is not necessary to re-test. The test pilots of the manufacturer will tell us the limits of the aircraft and sign an agreement that if we cross those limits and something happens it our fault. Of course it could occur that we cross the limits and discover new things on our own - but that would be "out of contract".

The brits did exactly that to us as this story indicates:
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Histo ... aguar.html
..since there were serious limitations to unrestricted operation of the aircraft and no tangible solution was forthcoming from BAe, we had to do something. There were several insinuations from BAe: IAF aircraft were being subjected to excessive number of cycles of slat operation. Strictures were passed on IAF maintenance practices, permitting entry of air into the system, during the process of charging hydraulic fluid. The first allegation of excessive slat operation was negated after our Air Advisor in London checked with the RAF and found that their slat operation cycle was identical to that of IAF. The second allegation was negated after it was pointed out that the Jaguar had a self-bleeding hydraulic system and there was no scope for air remaining within the system.
I think that aircraft that have been in service for years may suddenly be put into a situation where something totally new happens. The idea of comprehensive testing is to ensure that this is as unlikely as possible. But everything cannot be tested.

Gagan wrote:NDTV India has a program in Hindi on the LCA Tejas.

Well made.

The program is on the air NOW
Damn! Airtel's IP TV records NDTV 24X7 and NDTV profit but not NDTV India :x
Any clue when and if they are going to repeat it?

Cheers....
manum

Post by manum »

neerajb wrote:
Gagan wrote:NDTV India has a program in Hindi on the LCA Tejas.

Well made.

The program is on the air NOW
Damn! Airtel's IP TV records NDTV 24X7 and NDTV profit but not NDTV India :x
Any clue when and if they are going to repeat it?

Cheers....
Go to military multimedia thread, and check the last link posted by Gaur...

Thanks manum. Looked like desi version of Discovery Wings but anyway it's good to hear positive things about Tejas from DDM.

Cheers....
manum

Post by manum »

neerajb wrote:Thanks manum. Looked like desi version of Discovery Wings but anyway it's good to hear positive things about Tejas from DDM.

Cheers....
Thanks to Gaur....Exactly...it was good informative show for layman overall...

shiv wrote:From what I hear the LSP 6 is going to have a crucial role - in gradually increasing the AoA to see how the YellSeeYay behaves. It will need to be fitted with an anti-spin chute for that. It's role won't be like any of the others we have seen so far - IMO save for the first few LCA flights
Tejas Goes Night Hunting
Anonymous wrote: preps are in full swing for the spin-recovery and high AoA tests
for spin recovery, a special spin recovery parachute is needed. integration needs to be done and has to be analysed before actual test. and because a spin recovery chute is fitted in, no landing chute will be available.
for high aoa, simualations are going on. also remains to be seen is the engine restart in case it goes off at high aoa.

I think if all goes well the flyability during night should be proven in a month, of course only if no problems are encountered. Right now they are performing the night phase of the trials, should be followed by the moon phase(which i think is when the moon is waxing)

Marten wrote:Does the spin chute require additional strengthening of the airframe? As in, will it be located in place of the tail chute or a different hook etc?
No. It has to be longer and it has to be dead reliable. The moment it deploys it lifts the tail up, the nose goes down and as the aircraft falls the airflo stars going the the correct direction.

we want more and better pics !

OT : thank god he didn't spell it 'trails'. I am sick and tired of seeing DDM spell trial in that way.

night fly cockpit pic in high res please!

The two R-73's on the wings are like Kawach and Kundal of the LCA. I am not sure when the FCS will mature(sorry if this is not the appropriate word) so that the a/c can be flown without it

^^^ You think the missiles/dummies are there for want of FCS to mature?! :-?

^^^ well IR ji me being a no-ob was told that that was the reason some moons ago on this very thread

No it was discussed on this very thread what the actual reasons are. It is a long discussion. But it to cut it short, it is to reduce the flexing and twisting of the wing. It increases the fatigue life of the wing and the join.

Just think logically, how can it affect the FCS if you have symmetric loading on both sides. There is no roll effect. Also if you read about pylons, you would realize that they place the weight near the CG of the plane. So these don't cause any pitching effect. If they do cause it, the FCS has to handle it now. So the FCS has to be more mature to carry the missiles rather than a clean config.

LCA can handle asymmetric loading. Flying clean should not be an issue at all.

Thanks IR ji. Does the same twisting and flexing apply to wings of civil aircraft ?

Marten wrote: Shiv saar, where will it be located and how do you think it will be deployed? Tried reading up for more info, but Googil unkil doesn't want to tell me!
Apologies for quoting this in entirety.
RECOVERY PARACHUTE SYSTEM FOR LIGHT COMBAT AIRCRAFT
Marten - exactly as in the link. A special chute in the place of the normal brake chute.

Vishal Jolapara wrote:High & Very Fast KH2005 banks hard left > http://www.airliners.net/photo/1909940/L/
Fantastic photo if it was fast and high. The detail is amazing. Totally frozen - what an image.

Apart from the very prominent peeled paint - the LCA underfuselage has some very odd looking triangular depressions and some rectangular thingies with circular depressions. I wonder what on earth all that is. They look like slots for jacks to me.

At least some of that "peeled paint" on the wing looks like tape or ripped off tape to me - will highlight specific parts in an an enlarged pic later. The peeled paint under the fuselage shows yellow primer.
Shiv Sir - if you notice - Below number marking of "05" it appears like crack... can you please confirm it or its just my imagination :oops:

nits wrote:
Shiv Sir - if you notice - Below number marking of "05" it appears like crack... can you please confirm it or its just my imagination :oops:
:D No that's part of the 2 undercarriage doors on each side.

Livefist has updated pictures from the recent night tests.
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

A chaiwallah reporting at the panwallah shop that a phoreign custoomer was interested in buying a hand full of AL SEE AAH.This is going to be a sold under a new credit line to be offered to this friendly nation lying on the east coast next to the number onee enemy onleee. Custoomer will get a chance to test the air craft which is under production but will buy the MKII version onleee.
A first sucess in the look east pholicyy.

that would be aaaaawesommmme
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

MOD chachaa alshoo asked the HAL to ramp up production for a timely delivery of AC to both domestic and phoreign custoomers onlee.

giggity.... 8)

aha a fellow Family guy fan!!! :)
ranjithnath

Post by ranjithnath »

but the question is will the babus have the balls to sell them to enemy of our enemy?? after all we yindoos believe in ahimsa!! :D

jaladipc wrote:A chaiwallah reporting at the panwallah shop that a phoreign custoomer was interested in buying a hand full of AL SEE AAH.This is going to be a sold under a new credit line to be offered to this friendly nation lying on the east coast next to the number onee enemy onleee. Custoomer will get a chance to test the air craft which is under production but will buy the MKII version onleee.
Indian Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee says that India will continue to assist Vietnam in the modernization of its armed forces, particularly the Navy and Air Force.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

American engine powered Tejas for Vietnam ?? :rotfl: :rotfl:

I don't think there's anything to be amused about. I'm sure the Vietnamese use computers with American processors in them.

K-10 may be ready by the time someone orders.
Gurneesh

Post by Gurneesh »

Lately Vietnam US relations have improved a lot. I don't think US would have issues as Vietnam is also seen as a China opponent. Moreover Kaveri should be ready by then in some form.
arunsrinivasan

Post by arunsrinivasan »

^^^ A little surprised that people dont seem to realise how much US-Vietnam relations have improved recently. US has proposed (or signed not sure of exact status) a nuclear deal with Vietnam ...

some links from Unkal Googal
Why a US-Vietnam Nuclear Deal?
US Cosies up to Vietnam
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

Not only Nuclear deal but various defence deals including Artillery,Small Arms,ATGMs etc,VPA is already using M4.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... ldiers.jpg

jee.. thought all the new post had to do with LCA. mmm.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Tejas KH2005

chackojoseph wrote:
jaladipc wrote:A chaiwallah reporting at the panwallah shop that a phoreign custoomer was interested in buying a hand full of AL SEE AAH.This is going to be a sold under a new credit line to be offered to this friendly nation lying on the east coast next to the number onee enemy onleee. Custoomer will get a chance to test the air craft which is under production but will buy the MKII version onleee.
Indian Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee says that India will continue to assist Vietnam in the modernization of its armed forces, particularly the Navy and Air Force.

Interesting news.
Vashishtha

Post by Vashishtha »

A chaiwallah reporting at the panwallah shop that a phoreign custoomer was interested in buying a hand full of AL SEE AAH.This is going to be a sold under a new credit line to be offered to this friendly nation lying on the east coast next to the number onee enemy onleee. Custoomer will get a chance to test the air craft which is under production but will buy the MKII version onleee.
I hope this phoreign customer is not let down in order to not 'provoke' the Chinese......If i remember there was a proposal to set up an IAF base in Mongolia, but GOI turnded it down as it would be 'provocative' and we are pissfull onlee......:(
http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/unc ... 249219.htm
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

My Personal Favorite Tejas shot of the entire trip, KH2005 heads for the Blue

Vashishtha wrote:
I hope this phoreign customer is not let down in order to not 'provoke' the Chinese......If i remember there was a proposal to set up an IAF base in Mongolia, but GOI turnded it down as it would be 'provocative' and we are pissfull onlee......:(
http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/unc ... 49219.html
the "l" in html was missing. Corrected it.

Part of the reason:
“We wanted a base in Mongolia to give us greater reach in the region. But with an air-to-air refueller and better aircraft (with us), the need is not imminent,” said the official on condition of anonymity.