India Nuclear News And Discussion

Re: India Nuclear News And Discussion

somnath wrote:While our "intellectual academics" :wink: argue themselves in knots on what they are trying to say (nuke is bad, imports is bad, BARC is incompetent or whatever else), this is what China is doing...
That's right. Incidentally this is what Japan also plans to do Kan to pledge continued use of N-power / Go-ahead based on better safety
Prime Minister Naoto Kan will declare at the forthcoming Group of Eight summit meeting Japan's intention to continue utilizing nuclear power, based on the premise of enhancing the safety of nuclear power plants, The Yomiuri Shimbun learned Saturday.
To implement these plans, Kan will declare the government's intention to quickly study measures to stabilize costs and supplies of renewable energy, the officials said.

However, in light of the fact that Japan has few natural resources and is in a difficult situation regarding energy security, Kan will clearly declare the nation's determination to pursue the "continued use of nuclear power," they said.

However, what does Kan know? We should consult Sanku who has predicted that Japan will soon go zero nuclear in a few years.

I must give credit where it is due. NPA Ayatollahs through their various chelas have taken advantage of this tragedy in Fukushima to expertly drive their CRE agenda for India. We thought the battle was won after the nuke deal. It's obvious now that the battle is far from over.
Last edited by amit on 16 May 2011 08:35, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

negi wrote:This is plain and simple pure BS; unsubstantiated claims like these make the argument for NP weak , you are only playing into the hands of those who are hell bent against NP. NP was never about replacing coal.
I never said that it was. Not immediately anyway. But the impact of coal pollution on health / mortality are well known. And they are higher than any catastrophe that can happen in the nuke sector. I think the mortality impact has also been calculated on a per capita basis (controlling for the fact that coal accounts for 70% of the energy mix). I believe Amber G put up the results.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

amit wrote: NPA Ayatollahs through their various chelas have taken advantage of this tragedy in Fukushima to expertly drive their CRE agenda for India. We thought the battle was won after the nuke deal. It's obvious now that the battle is far from over.
Amit,

this is a serious point. Do you think that some of the worthies here are taking money from NPA to push this agenda? It would be a very low blow, but I can't rule it out based on the posts of some folks on this forum. Are there outright traitors amongst us?

I am especially concerned because the first tactic of such boot-lickers is to deflect attention by accusing others.

negi wrote:NP was never about replacing coal.
Boss there are two components to generation. Installed generation and incremental increase to the generation capacity.

More NP increases the percentage of nuclear power vis a vis coal in the incremental capacity increase. (Note only nuclear and coal have the high base load generation capability).

I posted some reports which suggest that between 10,000 to 12,000 people die of coal plant poisoning in India. Another report I linked said 4,500 people die every year from coal power plant generation in North East US. These deaths are due to generation of power and not accidents.

So every single MW that is produced by nuclear is one MW less produced by coal.

GuruPrabhu wrote:Amit,

this is a serious point. Do you think that some of the worthies here are taking money from NPA to push this agenda?
Boss I really don't know. But I do note how anyone for nuclear power has been accused of pandering to US commercial interests. This has been posted by one poster and several others have done the online equivalent of nodding in agreement.

And of course MVR gets the singular honor of having almost an entire paper being posted on BRF, a first on this thread. MVR's position is well-known.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

^^^ yes, if you connect the dots the implications are startingly clear.

amit wrote: I posted some reports which suggest that between 10,000 to 12,000 people die of coal plant poisoning in India. Another report I linked said 4,500 people die every year from coal power plant generation in North East US. These deaths are due to generation of power and not accidents.
Air pollution yes, it includes emissions from automobiles and literally every other industry that emits pollutants not sure as to how can one claim if the death in question is due to a pollutant from a particular source.

In any case the fossil fuels will be consumed until the last speck so the net emissions produced by burning those are not going to change hence it is futile and silly to even argue on those lines. NP has it's own merits and can/should be promoted on those lines for Coal based power generation cannot be replaced.
Last edited by negi on 16 May 2011 08:51, edited 1 time in total.
somnath

Post by somnath »

negi wrote:NP was never about replacing coal
It is, absolutely it is an objective...Not just in India..For India, go through the Planning Commission perspective on energy...Thermal (coal+gas+oil) is expected to decline about 5% in the mix, hydro about 3%..And the entire gap is to be filled by nuclear...This was in 2006, when the nuke deal wasnt through..Any plans made now will tend to have more ambitious targets for nuke...Nuke is the only viable alternative to coal on scalable bse load power..
GuruPrabhu wrote:this is a serious point. Do you think that some of the worthies here are taking money from NPA to push this agenda? It would be a very low blow, but I can't rule it out based on the posts of some folks on this forum. Are there outright traitors amongst us?
I wouldnt go down that path at all...First, it would be mighty presemptuous of a name-anonyous blog to be representative of anything other than ideas-swapping forum...I am about 100% sure that real policy-makers dont need BR to influence policy :twisted: ...

What we CAN say is that there are certain personality types who a) take themselves far too seriously, b) pretend intellectualism when they are unwilling/unable to even read/comprehend properly (that MVR paper is a prime example of that, there are many more from the same principal :wink: ) and c) lack elementary social graces...so its fun observing them, but I certainly wont worry about India's policies being subverted, even in a very smll way, by BR contributors....
arnab

Post by arnab »

^^ somnath, I think Negi is talking about the absolute quantitites of coal / fossil fuels being used in the future despite increasing the share of nukes. The amount of coal / fossil fuel use is going to rise in the future despite increasing nuke capacity - no questions about that. But we need to change the mix - for energy security, rising costs and lack of alternatives.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

^^^ yes, but rate of consumption is important.

To present a classic extreme example -- if it makes no difference to health, then compare burning all of the coal next week versus burning it over the next 50 years.

Similarly, for the greenhouse effect, what matters is the current CO2 concentration in the atmosphere, not the aggregate amount of CO2 produced over the years.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

somnath wrote:What we CAN say is that there are certain personality types who a) take themselves far too seriously, b) pretend intellectualism when they are unwilling/unable to even read/comprehend properly (that MVR paper is a prime example of that, there are many more from the same principal :wink: ) and c) lack elementary social graces...so its fun observing them, but I certainly wont worry about India's policies being subverted, even in a very smll way, by BR contributors....
It is a relief to hear that. I was under the impression that BRF is read by a lot of policy makers in GOI and elsewhere.

The presence of paid representatives of the NPA would be alarming.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

negi wrote: Air pollution yes, it includes emissions from automobiles and literally every other industry that emits pollutants not sure as to how can one claim if the death in question is due to a pollutant from a particular source.
What do you make of U/Th/K content of coal ash? If radioactivity kills, coal ash is the prime supplier of radioactivity in the environment.
In any case the fossil fuels will be consumed until the last speck so the net emissions produced by burning those are not going to change hence it is futile and silly to even argue on those lines.
Not so silly. See my post above about rate of emissions.

somnath wrote:
negi wrote:NP was never about replacing coal
It is, absolutely it is an objective...Not just in India..For India, go through the Planning Commission perspective on energy...Thermal (coal+gas+oil) is expected to decline about 5% in the mix, hydro about 3%..And the entire gap is to be filled by nuclear...This was in 2006, when the nuke deal wasnt through..Any plans made now will tend to have more ambitious targets for nuke...Nuke is the only viable alternative to coal on scalable bse load power..
Which plan are you talking about ? 11th five year plan ? Last I checked Coal was to be our mainstay until 2030 or something. I would be interested in seeing this plan which claims to reduce contribution of coal to mere 5%.
arnab

Post by arnab »

^ not reduced to 5%, reduced by 5%

GuruPrabhu wrote: Not so silly. See my post above about rate of emissions.
Boss lets keep things simple all this analysis and arguments aside aren't we burning more and more coal as the each year passes ? Case in point check the 11th year five year plan for the amount of electricity to be generated by Coal fired power plants . My point is, burning Coal is a compulsion we simply cannot avoid it and hence my point about the futility of the arguments against coal power. NP has to be promoted on it's own merits for talk about 'pollution' aside when it comes to economics(initial costs) and ease of operation (availability of skilled labour and sheer number of private players with necessary expertise) NP still falls short of Coal based power plants.

arnab wrote:^ not reduced to 5%, reduced by 5%
Holy fck then how is NP replacing Coal ? :rotfl: That is what my point is NP cannot be pitched against Coal it's a silly tactic.
somnath

Post by somnath »

negi wrote:Which plan are you talking about ? 11th five year plan ? Last I checked Coal was to be our mainstay until 2030 or something. I would be interested in seeing this plan which claims to reduce contribution of coal to mere 5%
As Arnab said, coal is not reduced "to" 5%, but "by" 5%..Actually, coal itself goes down by nearly 7%, thermal goes down by ~5...

Its not a 5 year plan, its the Integrated Energy Policy document, done in 2006, and signed up by all the worthies in our energy establishment..I have posted this a few times before..
http://planningcommission.nic.in/report ... ntengy.pdf

Go to Table 2.7 for the data..Nuke picks up all the slack in thermal and hydro..
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

negi wrote:NP has to be promoted on it's own merits for talk about 'pollution' aside when it comes to economics(initial costs) and ease of operation (availability of skilled labour and sheer number of private players with necessary expertise) NP still falls short of Coal based power plants.
Negi, Two questions:

1. What is the cost of CO2 emissions? Is it "silly" to consider such costs?

2. What will replace coal when coal runs out? Is it "silly" to plan ahead?

would appreciate serious answers minus ROFL, please.
Last edited by GuruPrabhu on 16 May 2011 09:26, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

negi wrote:
arnab wrote:^ not reduced to 5%, reduced by 5%
Holy fck then how is NP replacing Coal ? :rotfl: That is what my point is NP cannot be pitched against Coal it's a silly tactic.
Under the most optimistic scenario, NP in 2052 will account for 2044 TWh (26%) and Coal 3774 Twh (47%) with total power generation of 7957 TwH. Now if NP did not exist - coal would have to take up 73% of power generation. Think of the amount of coal needed to generate this sort of power. Incidentally non-conventional is expected to generate about 289Twh (or 4% of our requirement) by 2052.
somnath

Post by somnath »

negi wrote:Holy fck then how is NP replacing Coal ? That is what my point is NP cannot be pitched against Coal it's a silly tactic
Unfortunately you take "replacement" as a 1:1 100% substitution...I pointed this out before..Coal prices have gone up about 3x in the last 3 years...Calculate the impact of an energy mix that has 7% lesser coal fired compared to (say) 5 years back..By increasing the share of coal, you are building in greater price immunity of your energy mix to variations in coal prices...At the margin, the impact is actually higher than 7% as what is being "replaced" is options of imported coal, which is many times more expensive than domestic pithead coal...

The "actual impact" could plausibly be higher, as the 2006 plan was based on limited LWR imports (there was no nuke deal then)...therefore, it is fully conceoeable that nukes form 15-20% of the total energy mix, with the incremental 12-16% over today wholly replacing coal...And the buffer on coal price volatility (which as I posted again before is very raw material price-sensitive of power sources, unlike nukes) just goes up significantly, immunising us against price shocks...

So muuch for energy portfolio economics...And yes, for "economics" of nuke versus coal and other "alterantes", Ms of data has been posted here lready - you might want to go through them...Nukes compare very very favourably against coal, especially true for imported coal...And it is much superior to most alternates..

GuruPrabhu wrote: 1. What is the cost of CO2 emissions? Is it "silly" to consider such costs?
2. What will replace coal when coal runs out? Is it "silly" to plan ahead?
Firstly we are a developing country i.e. Co2 emissions is pretty low on our priority list as compared to generating electricity itself and at present given our capability and the obvious merits of the Coal it figures as a most prominent contributor to India's total electricity production.

Obviously I don't claim to know as to what exactly would happen when Coal runs out but the ugly fact is we are still burning it at an ever increasing rate and hence my point about NP not replacing it (obviously after it runs out we wont have an OPTION).

somnath wrote:
negi wrote:Holy fck then how is NP replacing Coal ? That is what my point is NP cannot be pitched against Coal it's a silly tactic
Unfortunately you take "replacement" as a 1:1 100% substitution...
Nothing unfortunate about my comprehension for last I checked 'replacement' was pretty well defined and understood term, and if you cared to read my post I always said that NP could only compliment Coal not replace it (obviously when latter runs out one wont have an option , would one ?) .

brihaspati wrote: Yeah - good diversionary tactics! But I did not "link" the two - if you read again the sentence you have yourself quoted. Are you used to twisting others words in interpretation so suavely? Amazing!
Always. The first and the only method.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

negi wrote: Firstly we are a developing country ...
The discussion is about the long term. Are we to stay "developing" even in 2052? Should I bring up the dreaded H R of G?
Obviously I don't claim to know as to what exactly would happen when Coal runs out ...
But, obviously, you know enough to call the alternatives as "silly". So, what gives?

GuruPrabhu wrote:
negi wrote: Firstly we are a developing country ...
The discussion is about the long term. Are we to stay "developing" even in 2052? Should I bring up the dreaded H R of G?
There is a fine line between planning for long term vs what is achievable in the near short term to meet the energy demands ; to be honest talking about what 2052 has in store for us here on this thread is kind of amusing. Our choice of the energy mix today is primarily governed by what we can achieve today with resources at our disposal and not what we would want to be in 2052.
Obviously I don't claim to know as to what exactly would happen when Coal runs out ...
But you know enough to call the alternatives as "silly". So, what gives?[/quote][/quote]
I did not say alternatives are silly, I merely said that pitching them against Coal is silly specially when the amount of Coal being burnt with every passing year is only going to increase , there is nothing which can replace Coal as long as it lasts , NP can only compliment Coal powered plants and all this despite all the sound arguments claiming as to how harmful ash/soot from Coal fired plants is to humans.
Last edited by negi on 16 May 2011 10:01, edited 1 time in total.

arnab wrote: But saar - the "oh those russians" argument (don't know who made it - but if you could provide links) still stands. Chernobyl was a nuke accident / explosion. Fuk is not.
That is the lack of understanding in some members that the better informed have been trying to correct, without much success.

Fuk-D is as much a disaster as Chernobyl, expect the trigger conditions were slightly different. With the LWR method, many triggers exist which can lead to similar outcome.
Second, is that despite the nuke catastrophe the Russians did not give up on LWR technology. They are increasing their nuke energy mix from 15 to 25 % over the next two decades (Oh those Russains) and exporting the same to India :)
That is the Russian cross to bear, as I said before, in another thread, which people did not find saucy and provocative enough to discuss, the Russians have their own reasons, and they are not Japan.

Let Russians do what they want with LWRs, I did not ask them to stop doing so, neither did I ask France, nor US (its a different matter that US does not need anyone to tell it do what common sense would suggest)

I did not even ask Japan to stop using LWRs. They are welcome to have as many Fukushima's in their country as they want. I merely objectively talked about
1) The horrid incestous Japanese nuclear sector.
2) Lack of scientific rigor in placing and operating LWRs in a earthquake prone country.

So clearly I have no idea what you are talking about here.

However when it comes to India, LWR import has myriad dimensions, including the fact that LWRs are unsuitable for large scale deployment in Indian context.
Third, there is no evidence to tell us that local PHWR is safer than the imported LWR. In fact the Indian PHWRs have a passive cooling capacity of about 13 hours (compared to 72 hours for the 3rd generation Westinghouse reactors and 8 hours for Fuk). So there is no reason to believe that had Indian PHWRs been installed in Fuk instead of LWRs, the situation would have been any different.
Again, you have missed tons of articles presented by Sanatanan, Ramana (not MVR) and others on this thread, detailing how PWHR is essentially safer.

There is no way out if a consistent attempt to look away from data points is made. How can any one any one provide evidence if people are in blatant obvious denial, and thats putting it very mildly.
I think the problem is that you conveniently skip from 'Anti nuke power' (e.g health concerns of radiation) to 'Anti imported nuke power' (e.g nuke liability clause) depending on the arguments being made :) I think such problems are termed cognitive dissonance - but Shiv ji would know better :)
I think the problem is suitable scientific open minded approach towards various issues have not been made, along with understanding of context and nunances.

Extraordinarly childish and juvenile statements are made about other posters, which stem from the fact that the people passing the fatwas about other posters have no clue as to what people are saying, but want to weigh in nevertheless.
Fourth, you seem to be making a vague point about 'consequences of operation' vs consequences of accident' vis a vis coal and nuke. I think it has been categorically proved that 'consequences of operation' of coal are worse than the 'consequences of accident' of nukes.
Nothing of the sort has been proven, again you show a marked distaste towards considering factual studies which go against a previously established "rah-rah" position by western commercial interest.

Refusal to look at data does not make reality. Later people crib about those who get things right as being fortune tellers. Well, when Kalidas was told that if he cuts the branch that he is sitting on, ignored it, and fell, did think the person was a fortune teller.

Btw GP I don't think I am adding anything of any value here , I fear I might only add to the acrimony, so shall retreat back to Nukkad.
somnath

Post by somnath »

negi wrote:Nothing unfortunate about my comprehension for last I checked 'replacement' was pretty well defined and understood term, and if you cared to read my post I always said that NP could only compliment Coal not replace it (obviously when latter runs out one wont have an option , would one ?) .
Its not as simple as "hey presto, today I have a silver bullet that replaces coal 1:1"...At some stage, not too long back in the past, France would have had a 0% share of nuke in their energy mix..Today they have 70%+...Or even Japan, which has 30%+...

Energy policies are necessarily long term, and have to be looked increasingly in that fashion given the structural changes in India and China...

In 2006, all stakeholders in India signed up for a policy that predicted a certain projection for electricity needs in 2030, and nukes were ~12% of that..They did that without the benefit of the nuke deal realities...If they had to redo the numbers today, they would perhaps come to something like 15-20%...you call that "replacement", you call that "complimentarity", its semantics...The point is simple, to the extent nukes take up space in the energy mix, less coal (and other haydrocarbons) is required - thereby immunising our energy portfolio to that extent...Thats all..

And yes, we will never get to 20% (or 50%) if the argument of "oh its so small and minor part of the mix, it cannot "replace" coal, so why bother" is allowed to prevail...

negi wrote: This is plain and simple pure BS; unsubstantiated claims like these make the argument for NP weak , you are only playing into the hands of those who are hell bent against NP. NP was never about replacing coal.
Negi-San, there are two types of support for NP. Those who are pitching of NP basically as a money making vehicle for western intrest. Here NP will come with all sort of strings, at horrid costs and enromous impact on India.

Thus to make the above snake palatable, such random comments are needed. There has to be doomsday predictions of coal running out by 2050, glaciers melting of 2030 yada yada. Otherwise no sell.

The other position of NP is the what Indian nuclear establishment really wants to take Which is a sustainable in house growth will all (currently known) factors suitably considered and taken care of.

This is exactly what I meant the current GoI's method causing backlash. Now people (mango aadmi) will not understand the difference between a US company trying to pull a Enron, and a local three cycle program requirements.

A nuke is a nuke is a nuke type of silly statements are being made a plenty.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

negi wrote:... to be honest talking about what 2052 has in store for us here on this thread is kind of amusing. Our choice of the energy mix today is primarily governed by what we can achieve today with resources at our disposal and not what we would want to be in 2052.
this is where you are wrong. The concept of doubling time has been presented here a lot. Keeping that in mind, 2052 is not that far. Planning India's 3-phase program requires long-term thinking. Its all about the neutrons, silly.
I did not say alternatives are silly, I merely said that pitching them against Coal is silly specially when the amount of Coal being burnt with every passing year is only going to increase , there is nothing which can replace Coal as long as it lasts , NP can only compliment Coal powered plants and all this despite all the sound arguments claiming as to how harmful ash/soot from Coal fired plants is to humans.
No, it is not silly, if one considers the hysteria about radiation. It is very germane to point out that coal produces more radioactivity that NPP. This makes the comparison valid, i.e., the growth in environmental radiation will be solely due to coal. This point is deliberately being suppressed by the paid agents of the NPA.

Sanku wrote: Well, when Kalidas was told that if he cuts the branch that he is sitting on, ignored it, and fell, did think the person was a fortune teller.
That takes the cake. :rotfl:
I suppose when inconvenient fact of meltdown was conclusively established, FUK-D thread had to be guillotined. There were many calls for such an action after facts emerged from darkness.

But silver lining is that Kalidas was redeemed by Goddess Kali. Will they??
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

negi wrote:Btw GP I don't think I am adding anything of any value here , I fear I might only add to the acrimony, so shall retreat back to Nukkad.
You are a wise man. I should follow your example. This chai-biskoot is getting pointless. It is probably impossible to overcome the lucrative deals folks may have struck with the NPAs. Can't fight moolah with arguments alone. Cheers.

Sanatanan wrote: Now, specific to the post as quoted above:?
Thank you Sir, there are some here looking for knowledge and they thank you.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Sanku wrote: Fuk-D is as much a disaster as Chernobyl, expect the trigger conditions were slightly different. With the LWR method, many triggers exist which can lead to similar outcome.

However when it comes to India, LWR import has myriad dimensions, including the fact that LWRs are unsuitable for large scale deployment in Indian context.

Again, you have missed tons of articles presented by Sanatanan, Ramana (not MVR) and others on this thread, detailing how PWHR is essentially safer.

There is no way out if a consistent attempt to look away from data points is made. How can any one any one provide evidence if people are in blatant obvious denial, and thats putting it very mildly.

Nothing of the sort has been proven, again you show a marked distaste towards considering factual studies which go against a previously established "rah-rah" position by western commercial interest.

Refusal to look at data does not make reality.
What are these 'many triggers' in LWRs? Considering it is now that DAE has agreed to IAEA studying the Indian PHWR design to actually see if they were indeed safe - wouldn't it be premature to claim that they are safer / or as safe as the 3rd generation LWRs?
This is what Ramanna's paper says - They are following IAEA guide lines. How can it be inherently safer?
All the Indian PHWR components are, in general, designed, fabricated,
commissioned, and tested as per the ASME Code requirements.
However, there are some areas in PHWRs where deviation
from the ASME Code requirements is unavoidable due to the basic
design of the reactor. Still, in such areas, the basic intent of the
ASME Code is maintained.
somnath

Post by somnath »

GuruPrabhu wrote:t is probably impossible to overcome the lucrative deals folks may have struck with the NPAs. Can't fight moolah with arguments alone
GP-ji, I would go easy on this line...As I said before, there is no incentive for a real policymaker, NPA or uber nationalists (the lines between the two are blurred these days :wink: ) to come to BR...there are more pertinent places to peddle influence - a clutch of offices on Raisina Hill for example!

I would anyday stick to your "two cents, or a bit more" on neutron economics and the inner workings of outr nuke establishment! :)

negi,

You are not going to get any answers to that question. It has been asked repeatedly over the last 100+ pages and there are no answers.

The bitter truth is nuclear is not scalable. Certainly not to even generating 10% of our electricity by 2050. All the growth/demand trends say that energy payback viable Uranium deposits will be exhausted by then. Essentially Uranium and coal will run out together. If anything Uranium will run out first. There is unfortunately plenty of lower and lower grade coal to be burnt. Just in TN there is 100 Billion tonnes+ of lignite. Sadly this can support about 100,000 MW of capacity for 100 years or so. Or more than all the nuclear plants to be built over the next 40 years. Not only that we have no U235 of our own, so just about every ton has to imported. Even in the modest plans we will be importing 10%+ of the entire worlds Uranium production by 2030 itself. Such is our 'plan', and I use the term loosely.

This is why the FBR is held out as the great Thorium hope. But BARC is not even close to solving the challenges behind even that cycle. Every country that has tried breeding fuel has been deeply disappointed with the real world efficiency of the process. Yet BARC is King Midas/Superman, turning this dross into pure gold! There are serious questions if it is even energy payback wise feasible considering the fact that we have to use Sodium reactors, thousands of tons of LWR fuel has to be reprocessed repeatedly, at every step there is a little more fuel wasted, and all the risk issues of running hundreds of these reactors.

Again you will not get any answers. Except to be called anti-national if it is a good day, traitor if it is a bad one. Standard babu fiefdom defending...

The whole coal shenanigan is a nuclear industry talking point. It is religiously pushed out on every channel available to create noise. This helps drowns out the truth about the Nuclear sacred cow. Nuclear is unsafe, it is dirty, there is no properly thought out safety plan, no properly thought out plan on waste, the industry can not operate without massive public funds and it has no plans/ability to change its ways. Further major accidents are inevitable.

arnab wrote: What are these 'many triggers' in LWRs?
Well a LOPA, LOCA can happen due to any number of factors. They include natural phenomena (earthquake, hurricane etc), poor operator maintenance and equipment failure at plant, issues with grid power, a usual safety drill going wrong (what happened at Chernobyl)

Essentially, after a LWRs has been hit by a LOPA/LOCA, the clock is ticking, fast, and it is not humanely possible to fix it. That is why all known LOCA/LOPA incidents of any magnitude have resulted in a meltdown (partial or full)
Considering it is now that DAE has agreed to IAEA studying the Indian PHWR design to actually see if they were indeed safe - wouldn't it be premature to claim that they are safer / or as safe as the 3rd generation LWRs?
Now you are comparing the maturity of a particular design with essential difference between design philosophies. They are two different things. No doubt newer LWRs will be better than previous versions.

But PWHRs are better choice due to use of natural uranium and other factors. They have all been listed. It is expected for any given generation a better PHWR would be safer barring design disasters.

Hence we should not mix up issues, of A design vs A class of designs.

Note, even at Fuk-D, the meltdown has happened in all the three reactors (full confirmed for 1, partial confirmed for 1 more) though they are of different design generations.
This is what Ramanna's paper says - They are following IAEA guide lines. How can it be inherently safer?
I said and I quote
Ramana (not MVR)
I am talking of posts made by the Forum moderator Ramana please, and I think I was quite clear the first time around.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Theo_Fidel wrote:The bitter truth is nuclear is not scalable. Certainly not to even generating 10% of our electricity by 2050. All the growth/demand trends say that energy payback viable Uranium deposits will be exhausted by then. Essentially Uranium and coal will run out together. If anything Uranium will run out first
This is precisely the sort of unmitigated rubbish that is used, without any backup data..

Uranium "running out"? Ample reserves of coal? Price of coal has gone up 3x in the last three years, oil 4x...Uranium? has remained flat (not as a chapati, but point to point :twisted: )...But no, "peak uranium" is onto us...
Theo_Fidel wrote:Certainly not to even generating 10% of our electricity by 2050.
Oh yes, says who? A certain TheoFidel, who tries such assertions on topics varied as economics and nuclear, ever once with data..On the other hand, a circa 2006 Planning Commission estimate (yes, PC, mandarins with a depp distrust of our nuke establishment, embedded in no mean measure by MMS himself) puts nuke as 12% of the mix by 2030...This, without any meaningful imports...Again, no data to backup the assertion..

Sometimes I feel as if the discussion is going "past" people...there is no atempt to answer the basic questions, and take on board data as it is presented...Unless of course, it is an article by MV Ramana, in which case it will be posted in full :twisted: I would have loved to see something substantive on the "other" side of the fence..Unfortunately that side is populated by people who specialise in terming airlines as mass transit choice or generally have a penchant for shooting off without any iota of understanding or backup data..

somnath wrote: This is precisely the sort of unmitigated rubbish that is used, without any backup data..

Uranium "running out"? Ample reserves of coal? Price of coal has gone up 3x in the last three years, oil 4x...Uranium? has remained flat (not as a chapati, but point to point :twisted: )...But no, "peak uranium" is onto us...
I see so prices are the only indicator or running out? If prices don't rise uranium wont run out? Un believable rules of casualty now.

That is the problem of having a minuscule understanding and a massive ego (whose piskological reasons are well understood). A total lack of basic logic coupled with foul mouth to compensate for it.

Sad.

There is an article Rebuilding seismology in the latest issue of Nature magazine.

From that article:
Two months on from the earthquake and tsunami that hit their country on 11 March, five Japanese seismologists reflect on what they have learned from it so far.