Military Multimedia - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Military Multimedia Content

While the program had some highly amusing comments, I am very happy that it got aired. I think that this is the first DDM program on LCA that shows it in positive light.
So, a very good moral boosting psy ops for non Jingo Indians and a comedy show for Military enthusiasts! I think that's a win win situation! :wink:
manum

Post by manum »

arya wrote:
Gaur wrote:Tejas program aired on NDTV Hindi:
http://khabar.ndtv.com/LiveVideo.aspx?id=198123
DDM at his best :-
तेजस : एक फौलादी परिंदा :rotfl:
अब आसमान में सिर चढ़कर बोलेगा देसी सिक्का... क्योंकि भारतीय वायुसेना ने अपने बेड़े में हिंदुस्तान में ही बने तेजस को शामिल कर लिया है।
If you see the first "Egyptian pharaoh" type description, its certainly coincides with SAAB's projection of Gripen...

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Is-it-a-b ... 64482.aspx
Is it a bird? Is it a plane?
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... gripen.htm
Grip – a mythical winged animal which symbolises the sun, the sky, the golden dawn light and which combines the strength and meaning of the eagle and the lion. As a protector of wealth the Gripen represents vigilance and revenge. In the Orient it is, like the dragon, often a symbol of wisdom and spiritual light.
YAWN....

but afterwards the program went well...extremely appreciable, the way it has combined the key clips, with key stories associated with the fighter...

Mission Army Ep 9: Corps Battle School
I think that this is the only video which shows IA's IWESS (Infantry Weapon Effect Simulating System) in action.

Rocky & Mayur at Siachen Battle School:
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/jai-hi ... ool/198623
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

A bit old but still great video.

F-22 at Farnborough 8) simply awesome!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7510364.stm
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

Battle of the X Planes by Nova

Warning, the vid is super long

in one of its India-focused programs Discovery Channel had done a small segment on the IJT programme

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YO-cbmX4_oc

Rocky and Mayur at Siachin Battle School pt 2:
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/jai-hi ... ues/199281
I think that Rocky & Mayur managed to really annoy the AMC Officer in this one. :mrgreen:

Wonderful Video of Lt Col Satyendra Verma's base jump.

Mission Army Final Episode (10): Parachute Regiment.

Gaur wrote:Rocky and Mayur at Siachin Battle School pt 2:
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/jai-hi ... ues/199281
I think that Rocky & Mayur managed to really annoy the AMC Officer in this one. :mrgreen:
Love the dialogue that comes around 3:45...

not directly associated with military application, but posting it here nevertheless

a GSLV video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cuqYLHaLB5M

Aakash Yodha & Salt of the Earth

http://www.youtube.com/user/manusankar007#g/u

Producers should've made them available through normal outlets that sell movie DVDs. Still see Lakshya & Border DVDs on their racks - no reason why these would not sell if made available

the documentary about Air Commodore Mehar Singh can also be viewed on YouTube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7L49bR86v6I
jai

Post by jai »

[youtube]83-SZNnXPF0&NR=1[/youtube]

SEAL dogs of US - with Titanium teeth to bite through Kevlar vests
abhishek-nayak

Lee Enfield Ishapore 308 Rifle: A brilliant youtube review

Post by abhishek-nayak »

i didn't knew india was the last manufacturer of this vintage WW2 era rifle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPzL-3LNv_k

jai wrote: SEAL dogs of US - with Titanium teeth to bite through Kevlar vests
I think the Titanium teeth bit is myth creation. They don't actually have Titanium teeth.

a bit old report about the Tri-Services Command in the Anadmans island. Report is in Kannada. Please post if it says something new or less well-known. Also has a few things about India's amphibious warfare capability

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQ6Ju0JfO5g
jai wrote: SEAL dogs of US - with Titanium teeth to bite through Kevlar vests
I think the Titanium teeth bit is myth creation. They don't actually have Titanium teeth.
they could be made of Titanium, but according to an article in Wired some time back, they are replacement for broken tooth - said something about pitying such a dog IIRC

At the end of the report it is stated that the Titanium teeth is no longer practiced.

Gaur wrote:^^
At the end of the report it is stated that the Titanium teeth is no longer practiced.
The report is misleading. Check uncle Google for Titanium teeth for dogs. A dog with a titanium tooth is a dog with a loose tooth. Useless as anything but a lap dog to be loved and petted. The end bit makes it sound like a joke though they say it seriously in the beginning.

That makes sense. Our DDM and Western Media display the opposite bands of the piskology spectrum. While Desi media enjoys nothing more than a good round of self flogging, Western media is all about Glamour and TFTAness and Titanium tooth do sound so romantically TFTA. The report is a piskology attempt to show how even American Dogs are more Glamorous and TFTA (what with their Goggles and Titanium teeth) than the Human Soldiers of other Nations. And considering the Western obsession with Glamour and Grandeur, I will not be surprised if a couple of US Army dogs were indeed augmented as such.

I don't think I would be surprised if next time its all about Titanium alloyed Jaw and bone (Wolverine style). In fact, I think it would already have happened if not for Animal cruelty implications.

That makes sense. Our DDM and Western Media display the opposite bands of the piskology spectrum. While Desi media enjoys nothing more than a good round of self flogging, Western media is all about Glamour and TFTAness and Titanium tooth do sound so romantically TFTA. The report is a piskology attempt to show how even American Dogs are more Glamorous and TFTA (what with their Goggles and Titanium teeth) than the Human Soldiers of other Nations. And considering the Western obsession with Glamour and Grandeur, I will not be surprised if a couple of US Army dogs were indeed augmented as such.

I don't think I would be surprised if next time its all about Titanium alloyed Jaw and bone (Wolverine style). In fact, I think it would already have happened if not for Animal cruelty implications.
Brilliant observations Gaur. After piskologizing for a decade on BRF - I never managed to sum up reality as well as you have done in a few words. Need to remember it for posterity
Our DDM and Western Media display the opposite bands of the piskology spectrum.
Now we only need to convince 999,999,998 more Indians about this :((

Thanks Shiv Saar. :)
I feel that our self esteem is slowly but surely increasing. But there are two opposing forces at work. On one side is the Rise of our Nation and on the other side is Hollywood and DDM. So, progress is slow, but I believe we are getting there.

PS: I don't intend to give the impression that I am against Indians watching Hollywood flicks or anything like that. No one likes a marathon run of Bourne Trilogy more than me. :mrgreen: But it would be nice if people could be less impressionable to Glamour. :)

Yes - and sorry to stay OT - but just look at what's happening in the China thread.
On another note I recall my cousin Late Wingco Suresh telling me (when I was a boy) about trained guard dogs around air bases that were trained not to bark at all but silently run up to an unsuspecting intruder and grab his testicles. After that either the man will die first or the trainer/sentry will arrive and ask the dog to back off. Police dogs are trained to go for the forearm - but these guys go straight for the family jewels for a one-step castration-killing.

You sir, are a treasure of wonderful anecdotes.

I recall my cousin Late Wingco Suresh telling me (when I was a boy) about trained guard dogs around air bases that were trained not to bark at all but silently run up to an unsuspecting intruder and grab his testicles.
Wonder who they do the live training for such dogs on? Do they get volunteers amongst the airmen? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

shiv wrote: Now we only need to convince 999,999,998 more Indians about this :((
Shiv sir,
The count is now down to 999,999,992... My family and my friends have now been immunized against the DDM bug... :wink:..

^^^Very heavily padded airmen :mrgreen:

My grandfather had consulted for some of these dog training schools when they were being set up. In his words the most difficult thing while getting in the enclosure with these dogs was controlling all physical and mental symptoms of fear even though dhoti shivering was going on in full force - otherwise you were dead meat.

In the Rocky & Mayur Siachen video pt.2, they have a fleeting glimpse of the local Op. Baba shrine around ~10:20. I must say these 2 guys have done a marvelous job of showcasing our armed forces to the general public. That is also a key part in chipping away the DDM/Hollywood titanium teeth effect that our public is usually dhimmified by.

I agree Rocky and mayur in their style have really showcased our armed forces

hats off to them - they need a BR section to thank them

So true. So, it is a shame that their Jai Hind series seems to have ended. This week's episode has not been shown. Instead, they seem to starring in a new "Haunted Places" show. Even though a few did not like their style, no one can deny that their show gave more insight into the Armed Forces than any other out there.
I really hope that, once they get the Haunted Series out of their system, they will return to Jai Hind series.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Nice collection of video of various tanks/ships/planes of India

I really hope that, once they get the Haunted Series out of their system, they will return to Jai Hind series.
Rocky had mentioned on his FB page that the Saichen ep was the last for this season...

Hope they come back soon and we get a episode on the Nerpa and the Arihant!! :twisted: :twisted:

So true. So, it is a shame that their Jai Hind series seems to have ended. This week's episode has not been shown. Instead, they seem to starring in a new "Haunted Places" show. Even though a few did not like their style, no one can deny that their show gave more insight into the Armed Forces than any other out there.
I am curious - what did some people not like about their style? :-?

Raja Bose wrote:
I am curious - what did some people not like about their style? :-?
I noticed that in this forum itself. Some posters didn't like their sense of humour. I remember things like "forced Humour" and "Military Show should be serious" etc being posted. In a way, I get what they are saying even though I don't share that view. :)

Me, I love their silly antics. Unlike others, they seem to really care about what they are doing. In the episodes, they showed a lot of enthusiasm and took great pains. Pains that they didn't need to take as snobby journalists (like remaining hungry for days in "Survival of the Fittest" ep).
So, it was a good show. It was highly accessible to general viewers while remaining most informative to even the most hardcore jingo.

Hiten wrote:a bit old report about the Tri-Services Command in the Anadmans island. Report is in Kannada. Please post if it says something new or less well-known. Also has a few things about India's amphibious warfare capability

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQ6Ju0JfO5g
hiten

the video has some good footage and the channel calls the report "ANDAMAN ARMY". it speaks of the importance of Malacca strait and how with tri-services command, india dominates it. that apart it speaks of the security of the A&N islands, it's vast natural resources, securing the identity and culture of the different unique tribes there and fighting of the pirates apart from the china angle.

it speaks of the Floating dock (seen @16.30 or thereabouts) built with japanese help. another one will come up with Russia and Germany having come forward to build it.

it speaks of ONLY 2 wells being available for drinking water (@ 21.30 onwards) to the soldiers and speaks of germans having dug them post taking the islands in their control in world war 2. it speaks of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose being the inspiration for the germans. with the help of germans he freed the islands from the british and sparked of the the first spark of freedom struggle against the british. post freeing, he appointed gen. lokanathan of the Azad Hind Force as the governer of the islands. also he names the islands SHAHEED and SWARAJ immediately after he visited the islands post freeing. they had dug 7 wells out of which 5 were destryoed during Tsunami and only 2 are left out of which 1 is used for emergency and 1 for regular use.

it speaks of how Tsunami affected the place and the new officers quarters which are not built for permanent but for temporary use with lighter local materials (@ 24 onwards).

Was trying to figure out the report looking at the visuals. Thanks for confirming them
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Is there any way to get access to the Nat Geo Mission Navy episodes? I know the Army ones are on youtube but the Navy ones seem unavailable anywhere.
aniket

Post by aniket »

And access to Nat Geo Mission Udaan episodes.

SKAT performing in Russia during MAKS.