Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 8, 2011

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 8, 201

yes spectroscopy, but you need sufficient sample - which if you scoop and condense in the atmosphere is possible. i don't think that sat based spectroscopy can work if the stuff hasnt gone off

X-post...
Kapil, The 700km range for Arihant payload means it has to be close to the shore to deliver the second strike. An Onion with all its anti-sub capability can depth charge the second strike capability. The Onion was used in such a role in Cold War. I believe that is what the 11 Chinese were doing : integrating the nooks to the Onions to take out the second strike. TSP-PRC are using unkil playbook in Cold War. Did any one envisage the Nasr battlefield rockets before they were unveiled?

I dont understand the blind faith in others statements?

In case peolpe have forgotten:

Even before the 1971 war broke out the PNS Ghazi was lurking in the sea off Vizag harbor and got depth charged before it could do any damage. So the Pakis have a precedent of being hostile even in peacetime and trying to surprise India.

Added. Give the Paki a pencil and he will see how he can poke your eye out. It doesn't help to think he can onlee write ghazals with it, just like they do in West sponsored Track pee sammelans or in Wagh Kandle Kisser (WKK) mushiaras.

the global hawk rigged for special missions has likely taken over from the U2 in that role....maybe even the ultra secret Aurora successor to the blackbird...

very little is known about the true payloads of the Ghawk. even having a TV imagery from a 65000ft is a hard feat...the best LDPs out there seem to max out around 40,000ft. clearly, cost is on object for such low volume special kit.

There are no loose nukes in Pakistan. Such things are 'lost' to non-state actors. The US has done a great disservice to the world by enabling/propogating this fiction of non-state actors in TSP. All TSP military personnel are jihadis in uniform so if nukes are lost, they are lost to them only. In other words custody is transferred from uniformed to non-uniformed jihadis to allow plausible deniablity to escape retribution.

However US wants to see them as non-state actors when these guys change their uniform for a shalwar and take control of the 'lost' nukes. This plausible deniablity enabaled/propogated by US is the root cause.

AQKhan Uvacha
AQ Khan says nuclear-armed Pakistan should deter of none
LAHORE: Atomic scientist Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan has advised the rulers of Pakistan that their country is nuclear-armed therefore they should not be afraid of anyone, Geo News reported Tuesday. Even India is not capable of imposing war on Pakistan, he claimed. Addressing the convocation at Allama Iqbal Medical College in Lahore, AQ Khan said: “Nothing makes me happier than the respect I enjoy from nation.” AQ Khan said the country is undergoing a critical situation, specifying unemployment and law, order situation being the core issues of Pakistan. Everything could be set straight if the nation succeeds to find a sincere leader, he hoped.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

Ramana

We might be overthinking the Chinese presence at that base. Except for the F-16 Blk52s, Unkil did not impose a "no Chinese" condition on TSP. Chinese made helicopters were on that base, so it is natural that some Chicom technicians are present there.

Dipanker wrote:As expected: Sri Lanka reject Pakistan tour on security
But the Afghan Cricket tour is still on. Those guys are made of sterner stuff, it seems.

There are no loose nukes in Pakistan.
The article is about stopping nukes wandering loose in the US of A; presumably the same methods would be of interest to India for any non-conventional delivery of nukes, loose or otherwise, from Paki sources.

Jilani guy advicing Arnab that he shouldn't be hard on Indian Govt in the light of statements by DH.

ranjbe wrote:
GuruPrabhu wrote:
what are these "sniffers" that can achieve this feat?
These range from simple Geiger Counters available openly in the US to sophisticated devices used by US Homeland security at borders. For the technologies involved, see:
http://www.blackcatsystems.com/GM/RadiationSensor.html

Look at journals involving non-proliferation Ayatollahs where I saw articles regarding airplane and satellite detectors - I think they were solid state sensors. This was a few years ago, and I cannot remember the date/publication. Perhaps nuclear experts on BRF have better knowledge.
detection range is not remotely close to what is needed to detect a weapon from km's away, let alone 1000's of km.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

ranjbe wrote:
GuruPrabhu wrote:
These range from simple Geiger Counters available openly in the US to sophisticated devices used by US Homeland security at borders. For the technologies involved, see:

Look at journals involving non-proliferation Ayatollahs where I saw articles regarding airplane and satellite detectors - I think they were solid state sensors. This was a few years ago, and I cannot remember the date/publication. Perhaps nuclear experts on BRF have better knowledge.
I do look at journals involving NPA technologies on a monthly basis. There is no technology that can detect nuke weapons from a distance. Gamma rays range out in air and neutrons undergo multiple scatters and can not be correlated with a source.
Last edited by GuruPrabhu on 24 May 2011 21:54, edited 1 time in total.

Guru Ji, your last line, why put it on BRF? While the info may be available quite openly how to avoid nuke detection, does no good posting a way to do it here. Just in case.

condom ad pakistan :D

1. Man buys condoms [02:38]
2. Wife becomes pregnant [02:52]
3. Wife delivers kid [03:05]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gi6W3J-40zY

Trial Testimony Intensifies Allegations Pakistan Is Playing Double Game

http://www.propublica.org/article/chica ... -terrorism

China Admits Its Technicians Were Held in Pakistan Base Attack
http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/25/world ... china.html
China Admits Its Technicians Were Held in Pakistan Base Attack
By IAN JOHNSON
Published: May 24, 2011

BEIJING — A day after denying that any of its citizens had been involved, China confirmed Tuesday that Chinese technicians were taken hostage during a militant attack on a Pakistani naval base.

A Foreign Ministry spokeswoman, Jiang Yu, said “technical staff of a certain enterprise” had been on the naval base in Karachi and were taken hostage in the 16-hour siege, which began late Sunday and left at least 10 Pakistani security officers dead.

Speaking at a regularly scheduled news briefing, Ms. Jiang said she had no report that any Chinese had been injured. She did not say how many had been taken hostage.

The presence of Chinese technical staff members at the naval base, in Karachi, is another sign of China’s growing involvement in Pakistan. Last week, Pakistan’s defense minister, Ahmad Mukhtar, said that China would take over management of the port of Gwadar, a Pakistani city, and that he would welcome having China build a naval port there.

Mr. Mukhtar made the statement after visiting Beijing with the Pakistani prime minister, Yousaf Raza Gilani. Pakistani officials said Beijing had agreed to speed up delivery of jointly developed fighters.

China has been walking a careful line with Pakistan. It does not want to antagonize India, but it is eager to present itself to Pakistan as a more reliable and understanding ally than the United States, which in recent years has been stepping up criticism of Pakistan for harboring Islamist militants.

On Tuesday, for example, the government-run Xinhua news agency issued an analysis of the attack on the Karachi base. The article largely blamed the United States for the attack, saying Pakistan was paying the price for the recent American raid that killed Osama bin Laden.

Li Bibo contributed research.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

ranjbe wrote: Maybe the sensors/detectors are on the super-secret stealth HAARP plane which apparently can circle the globe at half the speed of light! Unfortunately, the details will never be known on an open forum such as BRF
You are reading science fiction. Just imagine the energy in an airplane moving at half the speed of light!
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

harbans wrote:Guru Ji, your last line, why put it on BRF? While the info may be available quite openly how to avoid nuke detection, does no good posting a way to do it here. Just in case.
ok, I edited it. It is quite common knowledge, though.

GuruPrabhu wrote:
ranjbe wrote: Maybe the sensors/detectors are on the super-secret stealth HAARP plane which apparently can circle the globe at half the speed of light! Unfortunately, the details will never be known on an open forum such as BRF
You are reading science fiction. Just imagine the energy in an airplane moving at half the speed of light!
Half the speed of light is about 150000 Kilometers/second no?
Manas

Post by Manas »

Some nuggets in Monday's WSJ article (sorry can't post the article in full due to copyright issues).
More H & D loss.
----------
Spy, Military Ties Aided bin Laden Raid
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... DS=mcraven
Weighing on the minds of several officials was the fate of a CIA contractor, Raymond Davis, being held in a Lahore jail after having shot two Pakistanis in disputed circumstances. Mr. Panetta, pressing hard for his release, worried Mr. Davis might be killed if the U.S. couldn't spring him before the bin Laden raid.
Planners ran through the what-ifs: What if bin Laden surrendered? (He likely would be held near Bagram Air Force base, a senior military official said.) What if U.S. forces were discovered by the Pakistanis in the middle of the raid? (A senior U.S. official would call Pakistan's chief military officer and try to talk his way out of it.)

The U.S. was pretty sure it could get in and out without alerting the Pakistanis. Officials say the choppers used in the raid were designed to be less visible to radar and, possibly, to make them quieter.

In addition, because the U.S. helped equip and train Pakistan's military, it had intimate knowledge of the country's capabilities—from the sensitivity of the radar systems deployed along the Afghan border to the level of alert for Pakistani forces in and around Islamabad and Abbottabad.
If Pakistan scrambled F-16s to investigate, the U.S. knew how long it would take the planes to reach the area, officials said. The U.S. supplies F-16s to Pakistan on the condition they are kept at a Pakistani military base with 24/7 U.S. security surveillance, according to diplomatic cables obtained by WikiLeaks and reviewed by The Wall Street Journal.
On April 11, Mr. Panetta had a high-stakes meeting with his Pakistani counterpart Lt. Gen. Ahmed Shuja Pasha. Ties between the U.S. and Pakistan were already chilly, partly due to the spat over Mr. Davis, the CIA contractor jailed in Lahore. But Mr. Davis had since been freed, and the high-profile event at Langley was intended to improve ties between the nations.

At the event, Gen. Pasha asked Mr. Panetta to be more forthcoming about what his agency was doing inside Pakistan. Gen. Pasha also voiced frustration that the CIA was operating in his country behind his back—not knowing, of course, of the planning for the bin Laden attack.

Mr. Pasha has said the meeting involved a shouting match; American officials say that didn't happen. Mr. Panetta promised to review Gen. Pasha's concerns, according to U.S. officials. His goal was to try to improve ties so the bin Laden takedown didn't occur when relations were at rock bottom.

shravan wrote:China Admits Its Technicians Were Held in Pakistan Base Attack
http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/25/world ... china.html
Rajiv Lather, your speculation could be right!!!!

(Non-existent) security at one of Pakistan's N-weapon AFBs:
http://cafepyala.blogspot.com/2011/05/s ... lapse.html
...As we reached that blighted turning on Mauripur Road from where you turn for Hawke's Bay and Sand Spit (you know the one which hasn't been paved for past 20 years, because truckers, you know, will ruin it anyway) Colonel Sahib kept driving towards Masroor Air Base. Much better road, he promised us. As we approached the gate, Colonel sahib rolled down his window and gave out his name and rank, and three layers of security melted away, and we started a very pleasant drive on a very nice road inside the base. It puzzled me as it was a private car with no security stickers or anything else.

"Colonel sahib, do you come here quite often?" I asked earnestly.
"Nahin yaar, haven't been here in six years."
"Is this an army car then?"
"No. Bought it myself."
"So why didn't those people ask for your ID? I mean, this is a very important operational base, how do they know that you are a colonel?"
"What?! Don't I look like a colonel?"

Colonel sahib lowered the volume on Anoop Jalota's sharabi ghazal and stared at us. He wore a white, starched shalwar qameez and Raybans. Okay, he had the fauji haircut, but I have seen lots of non-colonels who look exactly like him.

"Of course you do, Colonel sahib," I reassured him.....

[youtube]305bHHvGh4o&feature=related[/youtube]

Even the suits are have the more pure than pure syndrome

Adminullahs please move to Benis if not appropriate for this thread

ranjbe wrote:
GuruPrabhu wrote:>>>The P3C if nuclear-armed, would not only be detected by radiation sniffers on satelllites or AWACs. <<<

No simple Geiger counters, radiation sniffers, spectrometer (or any one described in the the link above, for example) can detect really low concentration. (Say less than 1 ppm or may be 1 part in a pbm)

But, if one can collect a sample (say by flying a plane with filters which collects air/dust particles ...- or clothes from an Abdul) and bring it to a good lab, one can use neutrons to induce radioactivity (yes, you put it inside a nuclear reactor).. and look for an unique isotope. One can detect even very minute trace of materials ( about 1 part in trillion).

This part is very sensitive ... that method is generally used.. (You fly a plane over the site, collect the sample and then use neutron beam to cause radioactivity).. (The method was used to find traces of Ir from the asteroid which destroyed the dinosaurs :) )
Added later:
perhaps nuclear experts on BRF have better knowledge.
GP is our nuclear expert.:) ..he was correct. .
Last edited by Amber G. on 24 May 2011 23:05, edited 1 time in total.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Hiten wrote:condom ad pakistan :D

condoms are used while doing ishq with donkeys :wink:

During Chinese nuke tests SR71s were used to collect air samples. At that time, I read, China though was aware of the aircraft could not do anything about it. Satellites sniffing for nukes is a bit of a stretch I believe.
praksam

Post by praksam »

http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/0/e5e99736 ... z1NIDYLtEI

Pakistan eyes relocation of naval base

Pakistan’s navy is considering relocating its naval air base in Karachi after a brazen attack by Taliban militants cost the lives of 12 security personnel and destroyed two prized US-supplied maritime surveillance aircraft this week.

Admiral Norman Bashir, the chief of naval staff, has recommended that the naval base be relocated to safer premises after years of encroachment by residential areas had compromised its security.

“We are trying to relocate the naval base and other vital installations away from residential areas,” he told reporters after the 17-hour attack launched against PNS Mehran on Sunday night.

The navy’s acknowledgement of the base’s vulnerability reflects the mounting security challenge in Karachi, the country’s largest city and one with a sizeable radicalised immigrant population from Pakistan’s border regions with Afghanistan. It also reflects the military’s unease about its ability to defend installations close to civilian areas.

Adm Bashir’s comments also follow Islamabad’s request to Beijing to help supply a naval port at the south-western port of Gwadar, as an alternative to Karachi.

The attack by six militants has inflicted considerable embarrassment on Pakistan’s military, which has long prided itself on its military prowess and tradition. Pakistani defence analysts have described the strike on such a high security base as a “huge embarrassment” and “a serious security breach”.

Some have warned that the Taliban attack highlights the risk faced by the military’s high value assets, including the country’s nuclear arsenal.

Jamal Hussain, a security analyst and former high ranking military officer, said the attack was designed to undermine Pakistan’s confidence in its military.

“It’s a message saying we can hit your armed forces any place, any time,” he said.

The PNS Mehran base is the navy’s premier air facility. It was home not only to the destroyed P-3C Orion maritime surveillance aircraft, but also helicopters and Harpoon anti-ship missiles.

Built in 1975, it has steadily been enveloped by residential developments in a city of nearly 20m people. It is also adjacent to one of the main traffic arteries that connects central Karachi to the international airport.

The navy has considered an alternative location for its air power before.

Fasih Bokhari, Pakistan’s former chief of naval staff, said there was a plan in the late 1970s to move the navy’s aviation base to Turbat, in Baluchistan, but there were not enough funds for it.

“Today, every strategic building in Pakistan is a potential target. This is a time for our nation to have nerves of steel,” he said.

An official inquiry has been launched into the circumstances of the Karachi attack.

Ghazanfar Ali, a former brigadier, said the protective arrangements surrounding Pakistan’s military bases needed urgent review in the face of a strengthening militant threat.

“These [defences] have to be not just double layered, but triple layered and quadruple layered,” he said.

The retd Brig's suggestion of multiple layers is like bandaid for cancer.

Brig. Ghazanfar Ali doesn't say what will they do when the inner layers has become more pious and bearded than the outer layers.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Amber,

yes, NAA can achieve ppt or even better but that is an intrusive technology (you need to get inside the Onion and get a sample). The claim was about *remote* sensing using AWACS etc. I don't see how that is possible.

But, anyway, this is the poak thread and all this stuff is OT. Cheers.

GP - Yes, you are correct. May be I should have made it clear, but I was talking about collecting the material and bringing it back to a lab and not remote sensing. (And yes, flying a plane to collect the sample was wrt to planes collecting air samples after a test)
Cheers.
Last edited by Amber G. on 24 May 2011 23:28, edited 1 time in total.
A Arun

Post by A Arun »

Hafiz Saeed's latest interview aired today.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExGwneSompI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvp5W1vrLz4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHS65pvvy1U

Snippets...
I've been hearing on Indian channels that they want to launch an Abbotabad like operation to kill me, but I would suggest them to sort it out legally in any international court.
I've always condemned suicide attacks in Muslim lands.
There is no terrorism in Islam. Terrorists hide in the mountains, we're present in every street of Pakistan.
America should justify the Abbotabad operation in an international court. :lol:
UN resolutions on Kashmir have not been implemented since 1948, but sanctions against Jamaat-ud-Dawaa came into effect instantly.
Allah will punish Ajmal Kasab if he did something wrong.
m_nair

Post by m_nair »

Raghavendra wrote:

Naaah, You forgot that isn't the favored animal its the goat !!!
ranjbe

Post by ranjbe »

Leaving aside physics, a really bad Ech and Dee disaster for the US is if a US-gifted Orion was the carrier for a nuclear bomb attack on India. Knowing the great level of trust between the US and their best non-NATO ally, I would suspect that those US technicians at Mehran are keeping a very close watch for Paki shenanigans with the P3C's or the Harpoons and the Panda technicians.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Headley, who plea bargained with the government to escape death penalty, says he reported to a serving ISI officer named Major Iqbal among others ahead of the Mumbai attack, and a Pakistani Navy frogman helped land terrorists for the attack. He is also providing elaborate details about the ISI's nexus with Lashkar-e-Taiba and other terrorist entities which are formally designated as such by the State Department.
Chicago case puts US support to Pakistan on trial
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 559114.cms

What else one needs to declare ISI as a terror unit! IT is time to ask the democratic government to courageosly dismatle the ISI and then make supreme military officer as one who is keen for Pakistan's peace and democracy rather than one who is a pawn of China and other terror groups which want to destroy Pakistan itself.

Teetar Says:
Could Karachi naval Base attack hv been planned as a diversion from #ranatrial by ISI? also helps Pak say "we are victims too"
ranjbe

Post by ranjbe »

GuruPrabhu wrote:
Perhaps you did not know that an Op-Ed in the Nuttty Nation claimed that a HAARP system caused the floods in Pakistan, and the Tsunami in Japan? People in BRF do use sarcasm sometimes, you know.
I learnt during my college and graduate studies in the 50's and 60's that the laws of Newton, thermodynamics laws and Einsteins's relativity theory are inviolable. As I grew older and wiser and started reading quantum physics, I realized all rules have exceptions, including the above laws. Also that alll good scientists are humble. Please do not make smarmy comments without the slightest bit of knowledge about my age and accomplishments.

Raghavendra wrote:

Joo mean , in porkiland they sell condoms of donkey size :eek: they seem to be of chinese quality :mrgreen: , hence porkiland is full of donkeys ....

ranjbe wrote:^^
Leaving aside physics, a really bad Ech and Dee disaster for the US is if a US-gifted Orion was the carrier for a nuclear bomb attack on India. Knowing the great level of trust between the US and their best non-NATO ally, I would suspect that those US technicians at Mehran are keeping a very close watch for Paki shenanigans with the P3C's or the Harpoons and the Panda technicians.

What do you think those F-16s delivered to TSP during the 80s were for? What disaster was it for US? They glibly said we didn't supply the necessary bomb racks for those aircraft. What they didn't say was the TSP got the racks from France and this was noted by US themselves. What about the ring magnets and hazar stuff that was needed to enable the TSP aresnal?

After the NYT article of Chinese admitting the partial hostage taking of their personnel, what happened to the speculations about them being in hotels etc?

Mind you the attack took place at 10:30pm local time on a Sunday.
So what important work was being done at such late night on traditional non-working day? Was there contract deadline that they had to leave next day? Not that we know of.

X-Post by ShyamD in Af-Pak thread....

Must read!
Pak attack, cover for ops in Afghanistan?
May 24, 2011 by Vicky Nanjappa

The attack in Pakistan has India worried. Official sources travelling with the Prime Minister said at Addis Ababa that the attack looks very coordinated and it appears that it was done to provide a cover for something bigger at Afghanistan. We are monitoring the situation and obviously concerned with the developments over there.
Although this attack does not indicate a higher level threat to us, we are still concerned and the bigger worry is the risk that the Pakistani nuclear establishments. The attack in Pakistan is a sophisticated one and heavy machinery has been used. The attack has been on very major instalments and it looks like a highly sophisticated and planned attack. It appears that it has been carried out to provide cover for some elements in Afghanistan and this phenomenon has been seen in the past as well.
We are definitely concerned about the nuclear programme of Pakistan and the recent developments have only put the threat perception at a high. For India the nuclear weapons are not fighting weapons and we will continue to have the policy of no first use. However any nuclear on us will be retaliate strongly, the source also added.
India will sit and analyse the events in Pakistan and we need to see what lessons we need to learn and draw from this attack.

Considering that this was an attack on the naval base in Pakistan, it once again brings back memories of the 26/11 attack which was a maritime attack at first. The source said that we have improved a great deal over the past couple of years in terms of coastal security. It would not correct to say that we are satisfied since it dangerous to be content. However in terms of coastal security we have done a great deal and as of today we are in a much better position when compared to what we were last year. The coast guard has done its bit to enhance security. This issue has a lot to do with the individual state governments too and some of them are yet to set up coastal police stations to ensure that coastal security is intact.
On India’s position in Afghanistan, the source said that it is not right for anyone to tell what another country ought to do. There are certain power tussles and issues in Afghanistan and they are being sorted out. Afghanistan has changed a lot since the year 2000 and currently there is a whole new generation over there. It for the Afghans to chose who they would like to work with.
On the claims of the United States of America about a pull out from Afghanistan post Osama Bin Laden, the source said that the US may not pull out completely. There will be a draw down of forces and the search team of 30000 will be drawn down for the moment. The US sure wants a change of role in Afghanistan and in the months to come the policing by US forces on the streets of Afghanistan is likely to stop. They do not want to be protecting the streets and the nature of what they will be doing in Afghanistan will change. A clear picture will emerge once Hamid Karzai visits the United States of America probably next month.
On doing business in Africa, the official said that India has a smaller presence when compared to China. The nature of the business being done by us is different when compared to China. For us Africa is an opportunity and there is enough space for us to do what we are good at over here. Although the Chinese have a larger presence here, we cannot say that they have outdone us. It is in our interest to be in Africa. We need to understand the African sensitivities and we as Indians need to be sensitive. We have done well here in the past two years and the time has now come to accelerate.
However we in the Government will not be in a position to tell the businessmen what is to be done. It is their decision and what we could do is provide advisories and also give able assistance. We cannot take a call as what we want the businessmen to be doing.
Muppalla, I think you are spot on about the time table to create more attacks in TSP as prelude to jdam in India.

I think the source above is the highest official in charge of the matters.
Note the frequent refrence to Indian response to such action by state or non state acots in TSP.

BTW, Nanjappa is redeeming Rediff by his coverage of the PM's Africa visit. His last article too is a keeper.

I think MMS and C company are really troubled about this PNS Mehran incident and the noteworthy thing is the 'dog that didnt bark" (US) yet.

When is MMS back due from Africa?