Indian Police Reform

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Police Reform

Impressing upon the passing out police personnel from the Sher-i-Kashmir Police Academy (SKPA) in Udhampur, the Chief Minister asked them to benchmark public service, devotion and honesty in their service conduct. The Chief Minister said that the normal policing in Jammu and Kashmir received setback due to over 20 years of militancy which shifted the focus of police personnel from general law and order situation to the militancy related violence.

Omar said that Jammu and Kashmir is the only State where police personnel has to keep gun in his one hand and stick in the other as he has to deal with entirely two different situations of militancy and civil disturbance simultaneously. "Police cannot deal with both the situations with same strategy", Omar said and emphasized on special training for the purpose. The Chief Minister told the passing out DySPs and SIs to work as people's friends and give new directions to the policing in the State.

Speaking on the occasion, Director General Police, Kuldeep Khuda expressed gratitude to the Chief Minister for addressing the trainees and said that modernization of Jammu and Kashmir Police to develop it the best police force in the country is on anvil. The DGP said that in the present batch 84 Deputy Superintendent of Police and 510 Sub Inspector probationers have been imparted training in the SKPA Udhampur. He also gave details of the nature of training and the subjects taught to the trainees in the academy.

Daily Excelsior

SaiK wrote:Sachin.. just pointing.. I know the corrections is a multi-faceted act.. but it has to start somewhere first, and there is no other place than the cops who wields the baton..
Yes the police have the baton, but there are lots of other situations in which that baton is not going to have any effect. Off course you cannot use the baton against every one, right? :D. In my little town, the local Traffic SI told one thing. All the demarcations of areas reserved for parking, installing no-parking boards in other places etc. were done by the police. The district police superindents have the powers to impose temporary traffic rules for a period of one month or so. So every month, a temporary order is passed which is pretty much a repeat of the previous month's order.

Where as this was entirely the job of the municipal council (elected representatives of the people). They had to form a commitee, consult experts if required and com up with a plan for parking lots, no-parking areas etc. And issue local notifications, so that it gets legal validity. Then the job of the traffic police is to only "enforce" these Municipal laws. The traffic SI, can pass his observations to the Inspector and perhaps he to the SP or Dy.SP. But the municipal council, will just sit on these observations. And naturally the police cannot use the baton on the Mayor or the other councillors ;).

Our laws and procedures are so archiaic that people dont know where to push, and get the problems fixed. Police is the most common government department the people see, and they expect every problem to be fixed by the department. I feel more than the police the IAS administration (basically revenue officials and District Collector) can make a difference here, as they have much more closer working relation with the elected officials.

^^ Are J&K policemen allowed to have beards in service? Most of the cadets in the pic above look unshaven even on a PoP day..

Not directly related to police but interview of IPS topper. Nice to see such idealist guys joining up. Hope they are able to bring about some changes:

UPSC topper: 'Tamil movie inspired me to go for IPS!'
When he was 23, Dr RV Varun Kumar watched actor Surya take on the underworld single-handedly in Kaakha Kaakha.

The 2003 Tamil movie (which is incidentally being remade with John Abraham and is titled as Force) left an indelible impression on Kumar's young mind.

Around the time, he decided that he'd get into one of the uniformed services.

Four years after he first watched the film, Varun Kumar has fulfilled his dream. The 27-year-old who stood third in the Union Public Service Commission examinations has checked Indian Police Service as his most preferred option.

Kumar comes across as an idealistic young man eager to make a difference to the system.

"The time for change has come and we will bring it," he says optimistically.

Kumar has stood third amongst 920 candidates who were recommended for posting after filtering over 5,47,698 candidates who applied for the prestigious examinations.

His rank would give him the option of choosing either the elite Indian Foreign Service or the much-coveted Indian Administrative Service. And yet, Kumar chose IPS.

Speaking to us over the phone from Chennai where he lives with his brother RV Varun Kumar tells us why he took the less envious of the option, how he coped with failure -- this is his third attempt -- and how he managed to finally crack the examination:

You had the option of opting for IFS or IAS. Why did you choose IPS?

The uniform services had always fascinated me from the very beginning.

The work (I would do), the discipline (associated with it) and of course the charm of government service drew me towards this profession.

After BDS, I gave the Combined Defence Services examination. I passed the exam but failed in the Services Selection Board (SSB) interview.

Because I was quite old, I got just one shot. Had I passed it, I would have been at the Officer's Training Academy in Chennai studying to be an army officer.

I had also tried for Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) where I stood 66th. This July I was supposed to start my training.

Meanwhile, the UPSC results came out. I stood third. This meant I could have opted for IFS or IAS. But I chose IPS.

When I was 23 I watched Surya in a Tamil movie called Kaakha Kaakha. As na ve as it may sound, this was my first inspiration to join a uniform service.

During my preparation for the UPSC I also came across a book called The Indian Police: A Critical Evaluation by Arvind Verma a former IPS officer and I was inspired to join the police service.

CRPF was my second option. Sure it would have helped me to work in tandem with the state police but now I can directly be involved with law enforcement.

This has been a dream come true.

You mentioned that seniors spread myths about the examinations. Could you dispel a few for our readers?

Preliminary exams are tough and you have to remember a lot of facts.

You have to draw a lot of diagrams in the Mains. I didn't draw a single one.

Your handwriting should be neat. I have a terrible handwriting. Having said that I did spend a lot of time when it came to choosing a pen. In one particular week, I wrote thousands of pages before I selected a particular brand of pen, which I would use. I know this sounds silly but if you have an illegible handwriting like mine it helps if you choose the right kind of pen.

Talk less in interviews. Usually interviews last for about 15 minutes. Mine lasted for 45 minutes and here I am. The key is to skip the non-important ones and focus on the ones that matter. Like I consciously didn't talk a lot about why I wanted to give up dentistry and become a civil servant and spoke more when I was asked about a current affairs issue.

Toppers need super brains. I failed in four out of seven papers in BDS. But here I am!

Coaching institutes with predict the question paper. This was a hot topic of discussion last year. I can assure you there is no truth to this at all!

Finally, what issues do you think need to be addressed in the current system?

Constabulary needs to be motivated because those are the people from the police force who interact with people. A motivated constabulary can make the police force more citizen-friendly

The police image must be improved by making members of the force interact with citizens.

The police force must be modernised and more agile.

To bring the perpetrators to justice there is a need for good forensics, which also need to be improved.

In the coming months, I hope to interact with as many people as possible, intern with policemen and understand concerns of the people and police alike.

Its good a topper chose the IPS for it might lead to trend that will reverse the image.

sum wrote:Constabulary needs to be motivated because those are the people from the police force who interact with people. A motivated constabulary can make the police force more citizen-friendly
Excellent point. As some big-wig had pointed out the entire law and order actually lies at the feet of the "Bobby on the beat". If that feet cannot put up a good show, no point in any body else trying to control things.
Aditya Watts

Post by Aditya Watts »

sum wrote:^^ Are J&K policemen allowed to have beards in service? Most of the cadets in the pic above look unshaven even on a PoP day..
Perhaps it is based on the law concerning freedom of religion.

There is no "law" concerning freedom of beard in the armed forces, CPO's, and other police forces, save for Sikhs. Perhaps in JKP though.

Pune Police "interrogation" video
This video was shown in Aaj Tak today during the afternoon hours, and Pune Mirror says that this was found by their own investigative journalists. The beating seems to be recorded by a police constable, and then circulated to his friends. Read the comments as well, the thief does not get many sympathies.

I also remember a scene from a Malayalam movie. A journalist who routinely criticises the police for thrashing criminals, finds his expensive camera gone missing. He goes to the PS and demands immediate action. The SI, who knows this journalist and also the thief who specialises in stealing cameras decides to play a game. The thief is picked up and brought in. In front of the fuming journalist, the thief is fed Biriyani and all the police men treat him with very high respect. The thief just enjoys the royal treatment. The journalist now "demands" that the camera has to be retrieved, and is not at all happy the way the police is "investigating" the case.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

Sachin wrote:Pune Police "interrogation" video
This video was shown in Aaj Tak today during the afternoon hours, and Pune Mirror says that this was found by their own investigative journalists. The beating seems to be recorded by a police constable, and then circulated to his friends. Read the comments as well, the thief does not get many sympathies.

I also remember a scene from a Malayalam movie. A journalist who routinely criticises the police for thrashing criminals, finds his expensive camera gone missing. He goes to the PS and demands immediate action. The SI, who knows this journalist and also the thief who specialises in stealing cameras decides to play a game. The thief is picked up and brought in. In front of the fuming journalist, the thief is fed Biriyani and all the police men treat him with very high respect. The thief just enjoys the royal treatment. The journalist now "demands" that the camera has to be retrieved, and is not at all happy the way the police is "investigating" the case.
I will also sympathise with the police when everyone from local theives, ganglords, politicians and ex police oficers are also treated the same way for crimes that the police know they have committed. My personal experience with Bangalore police has been that the honest citizens get screwed badly in every single dealing with the police. Justifying police brutality with some anecdote from a Malayalam movie is meaningless. Even in that anecdote, does the police have to swing from beating a suspect unconscious to feeding him biryani. is there no police procedure inbetween?

ManjaM wrote:Justifying police brutality with some anecdote from a Malayalam movie is meaningless. Even in that anecdote, does the police have to swing from beating a suspect unconscious to feeding him biryani. is there no police procedure in between?
The Malayalam movie anecdote was brought in to convey one thing. That is, when the theft hit home (i.e the journalist, lost some thing valuable for him) all ethics and procedures are kept aside. The same bafoon now wanted instant justice and started whining that the police was not doing a good job. This is pretty much true about the Indian society in general. How many of us would sit and allow the police on carry on the investigations according to the rule books? The same crowd would then whine about "police apathy", "police criminal nexus" and what not.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

Sachin wrote:
ManjaM wrote:Justifying police brutality with some anecdote from a Malayalam movie is meaningless. Even in that anecdote, does the police have to swing from beating a suspect unconscious to feeding him biryani. is there no police procedure in between?
The Malayalam movie anecdote was brought in to convey one thing. That is, when the theft hit home (i.e the journalist, lost some thing valuable for him) all ethics and procedures are kept aside. The same bafoon now wanted instant justice and started whining that the police was not doing a good job. This is pretty much true about the Indian society in general. How many of us would sit and allow the police on carry on the investigations according to the rule books? The same crowd would then whine about "police apathy", "police criminal nexus" and what not.
True Saheb, It is true of lot of societies. We are ok with the pain as long as someone else can bear it. Once it come to us we go "give me the morphine". I am not knowledgeble about police procedures enough, but our police system seems remarkably amenable to pressures as much as our society is what you described.
This is pretty much true about the Indian society in general. How many of us would sit and allow the police on carry on the investigations according to the rule books? The same crowd would then whine about "police apathy", "police criminal nexus" and what not.
Do you believe that most middle class SDREs have any ability, will or desire to get something as simple as an FIR lodged in the police station without thinking hazaar times let alone interfere with "police process". What interference can a middle class SDRE like me do anyway (me taken as a typical example). I go there with some complaint, I get discouraged from filing one. Eventually when its written down, tea-kapi for sending a constable over to investigate. From then on, its goes into the abyss of files, procedures and obfuscation. Where do i get to interfere?? You can call a justifiable complaint against such treatment meted out to tax payers as "whining" but that trivializes the genuine issues that citizens face when dealing with the police. Is there no "police apathy"? Is there no "police-criminal" nexus in so many issues such as car thefts, electronic thefts, pirated material, footpath encroachment, beggars.
I can give you personal experiences with Bangalore Police, where let alone interfere, even attempting to initiate the process is met with sniggers and disdain. Mysooru police were way better though.

Minus adherence to the rules by policemen and policewomen, there can be no rule of law. Minus rule of law, we live in Jungle raj. As is what is happening today. The behaviour of police personnel, which in many cases is at odds with the law of the land, is both a cause of, and a symptom of the lawlessness in this country.

If one examines the laws on police procedure, they are actually largely well thought out. But lack of awareness of citizens is in many cases at fault. How many ordinary persons know the difference between a cognizable and non cognizable offence? How many know that police must register an FIR in a cognizable offence? How many know that police has ZERO power of suo motu investigation in a non cognizable offence, and must seek magisterial permission? Im willing to bet, fewer than 10% of the general population!
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

There seems to be a general divide between the civic society and the police today. The society at least, views the police system as something seperate from itself. With generous media reporting showing the police forces in bad light, the general perception of their corruption, and absolutely no inter-personal interaction between the police and the people, the police can come across as quite a scary force.

This is where I think the police, and representatives of the society in general, need to interact with each other on a regular basis. It removes distrust, and both sides will have a chance to remove many misunderstandings. Its like in Europe and North America, police officials are routinely invited to schools to interact with kids. Kids are invited to visit police stations and see how they work. There is absolutely no reason why police officials can't undertake the same in India. And yes, it gives a chance for the police to educate the society on general issues of law and order and also the CrPC.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

Vasu wrote: With generous media reporting showing the police forces in bad light, the general perception of their corruption, and absolutely no inter-personal interaction between the police and the people, the police can come across as quite a scary force.
The "perception of corruption" has its roots in the FACT that the police force is incredibly corrupt and out of bounds for normal middle class SDREs. Why blame media, citizens, perception etc?
ASPuar ji -
But lack of awareness of citizens is in many cases at fault
What fault exactly are you talking about saheb? Are you saying that the police not following procedures and harassing public is because the public dont know the law? There is no doubt umpteen pressures that police face from all directions, but to succumb to those pressures or resist them is their own choice. My knowledge of police procedures is minimal. If there is a book that explains what a citizens rights are in a police station, I will be happy to educate myself. But my ignorance of these matters cannot possibly be the reason for the neighbourhood police station needing Rs 50 to write down a complaint about a stolen mobile.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

ManjaM wrote:
Vasu wrote:
The "perception of corruption" has its roots in the FACT that the police force is incredibly corrupt and out of bounds for normal middle class SDREs. Why blame media, citizens, perception etc?
I am not blaming anybody. Please don't jump on my words and start reading too much into them. Of course the perception of corruption will have their roots in something, and I am not denying that they have their roots in "FACT". But the perception of corruption is still there right? I am using this logic to build towards my main point. You're missing my point completely by picking on the words.
ASPuar ji -
But my ignorance of these matters cannot possibly be the reason for the neighbourhood police station needing Rs 50 to write down a complaint about a stolen mobile.
An individual not standing up to wrong committed by the police is a totally different thesis altogether and has a million factors intertwined. I hope you don't think that you're the only one who sees that a cop does not ask for a bribe to take advantage of a common citizen's ignorance?
There is no doubt umpteen pressures that police face from all directions, but to succumb to those pressures or resist them is their own choice.
So easy to blame the police right? The ball's always in their court right? Thats the attitude I think even ASPaur is trying to get at. The police is a part of the society, not an outsider. To shut our eyes and keep saying that we can't do anything is our choice which we embrace readily.

Vasu wrote:Its like in Europe and North America, police officials are routinely invited to schools to interact with kids. Kids are invited to visit police stations and see how they work. There is absolutely no reason why police officials can't undertake the same in India.
This has been tested out in places like Kerala. And yes, that does not mean that Kerala Police is totally playing a fair game or are 100% non-corrupt. In Kerala, the police are now interacting in a very regular manner with students, and they invite students to police stations and even conduct trainings for them. The idea is to make students/youngsters understand the policing and the various legal aspects. The KP have also re-introduced the concept of beat policing, with most of the areas having dedicated beat police men. And in many cases, they have become the helping hand, in even rendering assistance in cases where police need not interfere at all.

But all this requires dedication from various stake holders. Right from the top ranks to initiate such plans and do a follow up, with the police force themselves realising that they also need to improve. And a society, which also understand the role of a police force, and are willing to join the excersise as well. But for a society which just sits idle, or come up with the standard refrain "Bring the army, and every thing would be perfect", the police force would also remain in a bad shape.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

So easy to blame the police right? The ball's always in their court right? Thats the attitude I think even ASPaur is trying to get at. The police is a part of the society, not an outsider. To shut our eyes and keep saying that we can't do anything is our choice which we embrace readily.
Same ole same ole here. The onus on implementing the law laid down by the citizenry (through their representitives) is on the police. What do you want to do inbetween? What is this "anything" that you suggest doing? Vigilante justice? what exactly do you want a regular SDRE to do? I am not being sarcastic here, I am genuinely confused as to what you are suggesting.
Citizens do their duty as citizens by paying taxes, obeying the law, staying out of trouble etc etc. Over and above this is not possible for common man to involve in. That is why there is a professional police force. This sort of rhetoric that once should not be a bystander and should do "something" than complain is an easy one to resort to, but unfortunately one that is lacking in substance. Why do we have division of labour? Why do we have a selection process and not simply hand out badges to all and sundry? The selection process by definition is supposed to select the best among applicants(and therefore best from society) right?
An individual not standing up to wrong committed by the police is a totally different thesis altogether and has a million factors intertwined. I hope you don't think that you're the only one who sees that a cop does not ask for a bribe to take advantage of a common citizen's ignorance?
I am sorry, but what I am saying is that the police is failing to fulfill their own stated visions and objectives. I am not able to understand the part in bold.

Anyhow, I reiterate that the onus of fulfilling their own stated objectives lies squarely on the police force. Citizens are sometimes involved by the police in a support role with the aim of implementing the law of the land. Failure to do so implement the law is a failure on the part of the police. If the responsibility is on the citizens to investigate and apprehend we will have millions of Bhagalpur blindings all over the land and it will be nothing but Jungle raj.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Do you think the citizenry should push with the Government of India to implement the police reforms act which the Prime Minister promised many years ago? Or is it something they shouldn't bother themselves at all about?

Manja, don't read too much into my words. It was a simple case of saying that a greater police-citizen interaction would be a positive thing in my opinion. The policies, the current state of affairs, the current distrust all remains and multiple factors go into improving them. Again, police corruption will not be solved by this interaction.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

Vasu wrote:Do you think the citizenry should push with the Government of India to implement the police reforms act which the Prime Minister promised many years ago? Or is it something they shouldn't bother themselves at all about?

Manja, don't read too much into my words. It was a simple case of saying that a greater police-citizen interaction would be a positive thing in my opinion. The policies, the current state of affairs, the current distrust all remains and multiple factors go into improving them. Again, police corruption will not be solved by this interaction.
Police reforms is due yesterday! No disagreement with you on the rest of the points either saheb. Greater citizen - police interaction, starting from school level, is in my opinion a good thing overall. Although, I am already seeing a situation where atleast in the initial days of such an implementation, everyone and sundry walks around claiming to know the DSP, SI, ASI etc and therefore claiming to be above the law. This will probably be only a teething issue and will likely go away once everyone knows the local policemen. Still, more interaction is definitely a good start.

ManjaM wrote:Although, I am already seeing a situation where atleast in the initial days of such an implementation, everyone and sundry walks around claiming to know the DSP, SI, ASI etc and therefore claiming to be above the law.
This is precisely the reason why many of the police men do not wish to have have a large circle of civilian friends as well. May be they would have their own close relatives, or child hood friends etc. who they are pally pally with. But when they get into a job, and then finds new friends it is pretty much sure that many of these friends are only friends of the 'uniform & rank' not a friend of that person who is wearing it :).
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

Is there a book I can read to understand police procedures, cognisable vs non cognisable offenses, citizens rights in a police station etc? I looked up "Indian penal code" on Amazon and there is one book by B M Gandhi , but it seems to be more oriented towards law students.

Read the Indian Penal Code, and Criminal Procedure Code, bare acts.

For more advanced reading, buy Pillai, on Criminal Law.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Sachin wrote:
ManjaM wrote:Although, I am already seeing a situation where atleast in the initial days of such an implementation, everyone and sundry walks around claiming to know the DSP, SI, ASI etc and therefore claiming to be above the law.
This is precisely the reason why many of the police men do not wish to have have a large circle of civilian friends as well. May be they would have their own close relatives, or child hood friends etc. who they are pally pally with. But when they get into a job, and then finds new friends it is pretty much sure that many of these friends are only friends of the 'uniform & rank' not a friend of that person who is wearing it :).
And I think this is partly cultural too. I think many Indians (including myself) love to throw names sometimes.

Of course, throwing names at a gathering to gain brownie points is one thing, but to throw names to get out of punishment or to harrass somebody becomes a very serious game. The second one is way too common because we know we can use it to very good effect.

Our laws need to be this strong to allow an officer to do his/her job without fear of harrassment or punishment for doing the right thing:

A police officer pulls down a speeding car on the highway. Inside, a very smart young lady is sitting and waiting for the officer.
The cop asks for her papers, and tells her, "ma'am, it says here that you are required to wear glasses?
"But officer, I have contacts!"
"I don't care who you know, you're getting a ticket."

ManjaM wrote:
Do you believe that most middle class SDREs have any ability, will or desire to get something as simple as an FIR lodged in the police station without thinking hazaar times let alone interfere with "police process". What interference can a middle class SDRE like me do anyway (me taken as a typical example). I go there with some complaint, I get discouraged from filing one. Eventually when its written down, tea-kapi for sending a constable over to investigate. From then on, its goes into the abyss of files, procedures and obfuscation. Where do i get to interfere?? You can call a justifiable complaint against such treatment meted out to tax payers as "whining" but that trivializes the genuine issues that citizens face when dealing with the police. Is there no "police apathy"? Is there no "police-criminal" nexus in so many issues such as car thefts, electronic thefts, pirated material, footpath encroachment, beggars.
I can give you personal experiences with Bangalore Police, where let alone interfere, even attempting to initiate the process is met with sniggers and disdain. Mysooru police were way better though.
It's true, the Bangalore police is in a very pathetic state. Some officers and constables even go along with land Mafia people and stop construction activities at sites. Especially in the North zones near Hebbal (but not under Hebbal police station limit). It is said that the nexus between MLA's and the police exists to land grab using criminal elements and the loot is shared among them. This is the pathetic state of Bangalore police.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

A boy and a girl were sexually molested by the police
ITANAGAR: Arunachal Pradesh State Commission for Women has asked the government to pay Rs 5 lakh each to two minor victims, a boy and a girl, of an MMS case involving Daporijo police station.

On June 12, 2009, police had picked up the boy and the girl and forced them to have sex inside the police station while they recorded it on a cellphone. The MMS was in circulation for months but it was discovered only in March this year after the boy's father complained to the police.

APSCW chairperson Komoli Mosang demanded that a high-level department inquiry committee be appointed to investigate the case. The committee should be headed by an officer not below the rank of superintendent of police , preferably an IPS officer, he said.

In the past, I have posted +ve stories of my interactions with the police. Once again, I am posting a first hand account. My marks in (). An average rating is 3/5 with 4/5 being good and 5/5 outstanding. Read on..

PART 1

I hold a PIO card and have completed 180 days of continuous stay in India (Yes, I know I should have a OIC card). So, as per the rules, I headed off to the FRRO office near Sadhu Vaswani chowk yesterday.

The Pune police website has the forms available for download. (5/5)

They are in English (not Marathi) and hence displaying sensitivity to majority of the intended/user audience (5/5)

I downloaded and completed the form (or so I thought) according to the guidelines and arrived at the police station main entrance.

I state my purpose to the 2 police persons (1 lady and 1 gent) sitting on chairs with a visitor registration book in front of them. The lady assumes since I look like a SDRE, walk like a SDRE, speak Marathi (a SDRE) language, I am an SDRE and have no business asking about FRRO registration. This is presumption and stereo-typing. I finally convince her I am an expat much to her amusement. Although, we had a good cheerful banter, since I was not on a social visit and because she is a (supposed) professional on duty, she gets (1/5). I increased her mark by 1 because she was cheerful.

A discussion follows between the gent and the lady on the actual location of the FRRO office and whether I should be allowed to go in from this gate or be asked to skirt the perimeter from outside to gate No 2 when a 3rd police man jumps in and suggests that I should be asked to make an entry in the visitors book and allowed to go inside from the gate.

I made an entry by which time the 3rd gent had disappeared and the lady then asked me to go to gate No 2 from the outside. I step out and having no idea where gate No 2 was, start walking along the perimeter hoping to get lucky. About 150 metres along I find a police man with a 9mm carbine stationed at at height on a gantry keeping vigil. On the gantry is a sign with an arrow "FRRO office". However, no sign of gate No 2. (3/5)

Assuming, this must be gate No. 2, I start walking in when I notice another sign that says laptops, camera's and bags not allowed. I am dismayed because I am carrying my papers in a back pack. I walk in to find 2 police constables seated at, once again, a table with a visitors book. Even before, I reach them, the 2 of the police man has started carrying on about my back pack.

I asked if they have lockers or a provision to keep belongings both of which are met with an aloof "No". I stood my ground. I had no solution to this requirement, What was I supposed to do? Deposit my bag on the street or go home and return the next day. Finally, the police man suggests that I could leave my bag in Nucleus mall lockers close by. (3/5). They should get 2/5 because its easy enough to mention on the website that bags are not allowed. I increased it by 1 because the police man provided me a solution when he could have ignored me.

The FRRO office inside is clean, modern, glass cubicles from waist high and air conditioning that works. It does look good. It does not look like a government office or a police station. (5/5).

At reception, the man ahead of me in the queue is of of African appearance at and presents his papers. The officer has one look, asks him about some missing challan (which even I do not understand) and actually throws the papers back at the man with the African appearance. The man is quite startled and meekly asks what he should do. The police man at the counter mumbles something about a missing challan and waves him off with a dismissive gesture. ( My suspicion is the police man at the counter does not know good English and is afraid to show it or is just arrogant. Probably both). The man with the African appearance is confused, bewildered as he collects his papers and withdraws from being humiliated. This behaviour from the police constable is unacceptable (0/5)

Its my turn next. I present my papers. I am rudely told they are incomplete and thrown at me. Firstly, I have to complete and submit "Form C" at another counter and them come to him I have not completed "Form C" for which I need my brothers signature. This is my mistake but for this I don't deserve to be shouted at and humiliated. Throughout, I have spoken politely in Marathi. Unacceptable (0/5)

"Form C" requires my brother to come in person to submit the form. This seems ludicrous.

Still unclear I go to the "Form C" counter. The police man there is polite and explains to me exactly what is required. He also suggests that an "Authority Letter" from my brother should suffice. (5/5).

The "Form C" counter is outside with n protection from the elements for visitors. We stand out in the open (0/5).

In typical government style you have to move from counter to counter. No single window. Old habits die hard (0/5).

A bit shaken, I go back to the mall, retrieve my bag and head home. Overall, its has been an unpleasant experience.

PART II was today and I will post a bit later.

PART II

Breaking it up into chunks for better readability and to beat the character count in a single post.

I got "Form C' signed by my brother last night and today, again, I made the journey to the FRO. I reached at 3:330. Wiser, I carried no back pack, just my set of papers.

I went immediately to the "Form C" counter with the authority letter from my brother. My "Form C" was accepted immediately. Feeling good I promptly headed to the reception counter indoors hoping the rude police man from yesterday was on leave suffering from diarrhea.

To mu dismay, diarrhea was on holiday and rude police man was firmly in his seat. I presented my papers. He threw them back at me saying I need to complete the "Police Verification" from. For the un-initiated, this is a form that a landlord is required to fill in and the local police thana verifies that I am indeed staying where I say. I gently protest saying, I have 2 houses in Pune, my brothers and my fathers and I am really a Pune chap and I don't have a land lord. (I have already, as required, submitted Form C which is signed by brother along with the electricity bill in his name as proof of residence).

The police man will have none of it.

I drive to the local police station at Bavdhan where they tell me to go to Hinjewadi (about 15kms 1 way). At Hinjewadi, there is more confusion. The lady cops (3 of them) are amused that I have to undergo this process of police verification.I plead helplessness.

I am directed to a certain XXX saheb upstairs. On reaching upstairs I knock on the open door and enter. There are 4 people inside - 3 in plain clothes and 1 constable in uniform reading the paper. The constable looks at me, I ask the constable for XXX saheb. The constable looks back at his newspaper and never looks up. I remain standing - ignored and unacknowledged in this police station who sole purpose is to serve (not rule) the public. Unacceptable. (0/5).

I decide to remain standing there or as long as it takes. Eventually, one of the plain clothes policeman queries me. I tell him.

He wants me to get an affidavit on a Rs. 100 stamp paper signed by my brother that I am living with him.

Now its gets really weird, He asks me to sit. I get an uneasy feeling.

He asks me to call a mobile phone number from my phone and wants me to ask for Mr. Helpate! I don't get it but do as asked. The phone is answered and I ask for Mr Helpate, to which the voice at the other ends says "yes". I mention I am calling from the Hinjewadi police station and that a gent has asked me call him. No sooner had I said this, than the plain clothes police man beckons to me that I was not supposed to say this.

Mr. Helpate, then tells me, I have called in error and that I should disconnect the call. By now, I am utterly bewildered and can make no sense of it.

As I thank the plain clothes chap and rise to leave, he reminds me that I should call Mr. Helpate after making the affidavit. I nod and make a rush for the door and drive away.

On the way back, I call this enigmatic Mr. Helpate again to ask what the matter was. He tells me he used to work in that police station and the incumbents are trying the same tricks on him he taught them when he was serving there. I pointedly ask if his name is "Helpate" to which he replies no and tell me his real name. By now, I wonder if I am still sane.Thankfully, he assures me its not my fault and disconnects.

I am utterly confused. I decide to cease thinking about it consciously and let my unconscious mind come up with some sense.

When I am almost home, I think I have the Eureka moment. I have never heard of surname called "Helpate". However, the word in marathi means "getting the run-around". Ouch! Was the plain clothes policeman sending me a message that I will get the run around unless I call the number he asked me to call? Maybe?.

That is where I am right now as I ponder my next steps. Will keep you posted.

Rahulm Ji, thats one of the best write ups showing how harassing it can be getting simple things done from the Govt set up. Excellent posts!
Can i forward this write up?

Harbans-ji, the story continues.

Today, I bought the Rs. 100 stamp paper. The process has come to a temporary stop because my brother is out of station till Friday and I need his signature on the affidavit.

So far, I have travelled in excess of 35 kilometres in different directions of Pune over various days, been shouted at, had my papers thrown at me, ignored, given the run around and my application is not in yet.

I have had to cancel my travel plans at great cost and inconvenience until at least I can get my application in (indeterminate time frame).

This is degrading and unacceptable. Period. We benchmark our economy to good global standards and our governance must be bench-marked accordingly.

Modernisation and progress does not consist of glass cubicles, (rude and arrogant) policeman wearing ties, air conditioning etc. These are superficial and good to have. Modernisation and progress first and foremost involves having the right attitude and behaviour which is a must have. This I am afraid, from first hand experience is absent and no amount of fancy glass, clothes and other accoutrements can every compensate for a bad attitude. (The police currently are here to rule not serve the public. They do understand how to serve but only their political masters and bosses)

You may forward the write up. I am aware, it has some spelling and grammatical errors which I can fix over the next 24 hours if you like. Clean it up a bit.

I will continue to update as the story progresses.

Continue Rahul ji. I'll wait till you complete it. Agree this is very shameful. Imagine how many others would be traveling 35 kms for something that could be done so simply.

Part 3 - day 3

Continuing on my quest to acquire my post 180 day extension. The process had come to a halt because my brother was outstation until the weekend.

I got my brother to sign an affidavit stating that I am living with him. Over the weekend, I worked out my plan and contingencies as best as I could.

This morning, my first task was to get the affidavit notarised. At the last moment, I decided to take an advocate with me to the Shivajinagar courts near Sancheti hospital.

This was an easy enough process. The notary wanted the advocate to countersign the affidavit for which I was happy to have thought of having the advocate with me. I paid Rs. 50 for this service.

From here, I drove back to Hinjewadi police station where there were a different set of policemen and women on the ground floor and were much better and friendlier than the previous lot. I explained the back ground and my purpose. I was told that Mr. XXX was out today and that I should come tomorrow in the morning. This time I was also given Mr. XXX's mobile number without me asking for it. (5/5 for being attentive, responsive and for treating me well. 0/5 because its beyond belief that the process is dependent on 1 person and my form was not accepted because this person was not around.

Imagine, the process wants me to make a trip the next day simply because a person was not present. Ridiculous to say the least) (0/5)

The day still had some working hours remaining so I decided to drive all the way from Hinjewadi to the FRO office at Sadhu Vaswani chowk and meet the Inspector in-charge to explain my predicament.

Wiser, I carried no back pack. I walked straight in and knocked on the clearly marked office of the Inspector In-charge (Her name is listed on the FRO website). She has an open door policy. I knocked & introduced myself. She was polite and patient as I explained the situation and the status so far. She was genuinely interested in my case and asked to see my documents. (5/5 for the excellent service and particularly for the open door policy)

The Inspector then told me that even though the Hinjewadi police station had asked me to prepare an affidavit, this was not required. This is un-accceptable. I have wasted about 4 elapsed days, plenty of fuel, engaged an advocate and paid a notary to get this affidavit (0/5). I did not have to pay the advocate because she is a friend but now I owe her a favour.

She also said that they have specifically instructed this particular police station that applicants requests should be processed by the next in-charge present at the police station if Head of the station is not present. (4/5 to the Sadhu Vaswani station for at least trying. They don't get 5/5 because they have not yet achieved the desires outcome. 0/5 and pox on the Hinjewadi police station for being &$@*).

Finally, the Inspector told me to visit the Hinjewadi police station tomorrow and give the Sadhi Vaswani FRO office a call if I run into trouble (5/5 for being pro-actively helpful).

That's the end of the day. Looking at it from an outcome perspective, the saga continues. I have yet to get my application in. Have clocked about 35-40 kms, spent more fuel, time and money. Stacked up more frustration and 1 more day has gone by. Overall (0/5)

Let's see what tomorrow brings.

Part 4 - Day4

ODO check: 212 kms

With the Affidavit, I reached the Hinjewadi police station at 10:30 AM. This time I headed straight for the 1st floor to Mr. XXX's desk. There was a queue in front of me. Mr. XXX was seated with a lady constable to assist him.

Soon, the Iraqi (as I later learned) student ahead of me reached the desk and the following conversation would be comic but its a tragedy in the given context. And as you read it, I remind you, this conversation is real.

Mr. XXX (quibbling over some error. In his usual brash, rude and uncouth manner): Don't you know the process?
Iraqi: Sorry?
Mr. XXX(even more uncouth and louder): Don't you know the process?
Iraqi: I don't know the process. Please explain it to me.
Mr. XXX:Why don't you know the process?
Iraqi: I am not from your country so how can I know the process unless you explain it to me.
Mr. XXX: Which country are you from?
Iraqi: Iraq. Repeats because Mr. XXX does not get it. He does not get it the second time too. "Saddam Hussain", you know "Saddam Hussain" says the enterprising Iraqi.
Mr. XXX: Then why don't you go and ask him the process.
Iraqi (in an incredulous tone)" What! You want me to go and ask Saddam Hussain?
Mr. XXX: Yes, you go and ask him.
Iraqi (totally bewildered): How can I? He is dead! and anyway, how would Saddam know the process in your country?
(Mr. XXX looks a bit lost. Th lady constable by his side looks equally bewildered by this whole conversation. A few moments later..)
Mr. XXX: You come back after 2 days.
Iraqi: 2 days? But I have already come 2 times.
Mr. XXX: Well, then you come 2 more times if necessary.
(The Iraqi shook his head and walked away)

This entire episode gets (1/5). I have given 1 because Mr. XXX accepted the Iraqi's form

My turn next.

Mr. XXX looked at my documents and within moments told me I had not included my brothers and my middle name in the affidavit so he won't accept the documents. I try to reason with him but that's like arguing with a pig in the mud. Mr. XXX will not budge. I am not sure if he is picking on technicalities for the sake of it or if he really has a point so I decide to meet the station in-charge.

The station in-charge was in. I knocked on the door and introduced myself only to be rudely told to wait outside. After waiting for 40 minutes during which the station in-charge met plenty others who appeared to know him, I gave up on trying to meet him and decided to phone the FRO office at Sadhu Vaswani Chowk to talk to the inspector there.

After a few unanswered calls, a gent at the FRO picked up my call and listened patiently to my story and the Inspector in-charge (lets call her Ms. MS) at the FRO's suggestion to call her from the Hinjewadi police station if I needed help. The gent gave me his mobile number and asked me to call in 15 minutes as Ms. MS was busy.

I called the mobile after 15 minutes and was put on the line with Ms. MS. I explained my situation. I reminded her that she told me an affidavit is not required for a PIO card holder. Ms. MS asked me to give the phone to Mr. XXX which I did.

The conversation appeared to have got terse towards the end with Mr. XXX stating with indignation to Ms. MS that "Well, then why should we even bother? Why don't we just blindly stamp every application".

Mr. XXX then handed me the phone and Ms. MS told me to do comply with Mr. XXX's request and rest should be fine.(I feel this was to save his face). I also get the impression that the documentation requirement for a PIO card holder does not require an affidavit but Mr. XXX is treating my application like Indian passport Police Clearance Certificate process. Ms. MS also suggested I ask Mr. XXX upfront for all the documents and other requirements.

An immediate positive outcome of the call was Mr. XXX started to speak to me politely.(I could tell he was unhappy to do so). No longer was I treated disdainfully & dismissively in a rude and arrogant tone. To pre-empt further hassle I asked Mr. XXX to give me a list of all other documents an requirements. He wanted my brothers electricity bill too. I asked him if a ordinary copy would suffice or must it be attested to which he gave me a look from the corner of his eye (why I don't know) and asked me to attest it.

I found a stamp vendor, re-wrote the affidavit, took my brothers signature and drove back to the the Shivajinagar courts, got the affidavit notarised and drove all the way back to Hinjewadi police station. It was 3:30 PM. I had not had lunch yet.

Mr. XXX was missing. His lady constable assistant was present and got a sympathetic look from her. She asked me to come at 4:00 PM.

With nothing to do, I had some lunch and walked about the precinct. By way of introduction, Hinjewadi used to be a village but is now an IT park. CISCO, Atos Origin, Infosys and Iron Mountain are some of the IT companies within shouting distance of this police station.

At sharp 4, I rendezvous with the lady assistant again. More sympathetic looks and I thought some regret as she asked me to come back after 15 minutes.

I walked in at 4:30 and found Mr. XXX at his desk along with his lady assistant. For the first time, he asked me to sit. (wow, he is capable of being polite). I gave him my papers.

He then inspected my passport and PIO card.

He asked me for a photo and a copy of my passport and photo (Remember, these 2 documents were not in the list he gave me earlier in the day but I was carrying them. As an aside, in India, now I carry a "plain paper' sheet and a couple of photos because except going to the toilet government and even private companies need you to write an application for pretty much anything else!),

The passport photostat was not attested. He looked it over and ignored it (So, he can be reasonable. This made me sick because the police can be polite and reasonable. They can turn it on and off at will)

Finally, he asked me to come tomorrow (i.e today now). I asked him the time to which he replied 11:00 AM.

As I got up to leave, I thanked him and also the lady assistant who gave me a look which was a mix of curiosity & sizing me up.

Mr. XXX talked with restrained politeness throughout.

ODO check (301 km).

I did 89 kms yesterday and was frazzled by the end by this whole drama.

So that's the lot for the 21st of June.

Its 2 hours to 11 AM and I better get ready. If I get my papers processed today, its not over yet. I have to go to the FRO and submit them at 3:00 PM where first I will have to get past the chucker. i.e. the rude constable who likes to throw papers all over including at your body.

Wow. Truly amazing and very sad. We should have a separate thread documenting public encounters with the government machinery.

The rate at this particular office was Rs. 200/- in 2007. Do the math and decide if you want to keep making trips or just have a quiet conversation with the officer. I am surprised no official has yet brought this up seeing how you can pass off for a local.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

ASPuar wrote:^^

Wow. Truly amazing and very sad. We should have a separate thread documenting public encounters with the government machinery.
Good suggestion. Please start it sahib. I am sure we all have stories to share on this front.

ASPuar wrote:Wow. Truly amazing and very sad. We should have a separate thread documenting public encounters with the government machinery.
True. And plus one to the idea of a new thread. Yes the police gets into lime light very many times, mainly because of the high level of public interaction which happens, due to the nature of the tasks. This certainly does not mean that every single agency other than the police are doing a stellar job.

Day 5 - part 5

ODO check: 301 kms

Before, I start, the going rate in this office now is Rs. 500 per day. However, I have resolved, I shall not have my rights usurped by the very people who are supposed to serve and protect me. I will NOT pay. Period. Previously, I had not paid to lodge an FIR at a different police station for a lost mobile and I am not paying now. I did get the FIR lodged.

I reached the Hinjewadi police station at 10:55 and headed straight to Mr. XXX's desk on the first floor. He was aloof but polite and told me that the station incharge was not yet in and that I should wait downstairs and inform him once the station in-charge arrives. (3/5)

Thankfully, the thana has chairs for visitors protected from the elements. (5/5). I took a vantage point from where I could watch the station in-charge's cabin and waited. And waited till 2:00 PM.

But here what happened in between 11:00 AM and 2:00 PM. No police offer was willing to offer any guidance on the station in-charge's likely arrival (0/5).

Over a period of a few hours, by over hearing snippets of conversation, I gathered that the in-charge had worked the night shift and therefore, was unlikely to come before 5:00 PM. I decided to wait it out on the off chance he came in by 3:00 PM because then I still had an outside chance of making it to the FRO office before it closed.

I got talking to a gent sitting next to my left and couple from India's most famous IT company to my right. The gent to my left told me that he was from a Korean company XXX and that he had 2 koreans in the car waiting for the station incharge to arrive. He also told me that his company had paid Mr. XXX a sum of Rs. 1000 for the exact same document I was chasing. He had also paid the same rate per head for other foreign visitors to this company. (0/5, can I give minus please?)

The couple on the right were married and the wife had chosen to keep her maiden name. Mr. XXX had refused to accept the application because the wife had not changed her name. This is patently ridiculous. Who is Mr. XXX, the moral police enforcing some obsolete gram panchayat social order? (0/5).

The gent from the Korean company also told me about other bribes he has personally chosen to pay at this station.

Anyway, after a while the couple left to come tomorrow and soon after the Korean's chose to leave with a "The officer will not come, Indian's are like this, we know, we have experienced. They keep people waiting" comment. I chose to stay on.

After the station in-charge arrived at 2:00, I informed Mr. XXX who took my papers along with 3 other applications and trooped us all into the station in-charge's cabin.

He processed each form 1 by 1 and announced the name on the form and you were expected to acknowledge after which is signed the form. I was the last and it was easy enough. 4 forms were processed in less than 5 minutes.

During this the station incharge spoke to Mr. XXX in the same curt tone that Mr. XXX used with applicants. I guess being rude and brash is the rule even when seniors speak to their own junior staff.

We walked out, I was given my form and instructed to get a copy and an envelope which I did. Mr. XXX made a note in a register, cross referenced the serial number on my form, put it in the envelope, stapled the cover and stamped the police station seal on the flap and handed it to me. Without a word and without eye contact.

I was over joyed. I had got my certificate from this police station without paying a single rupee bribe. I left the police station relieved more than happy and drove to the FRO.

Its 30 minutes past mid night and will post the FRO part of the saga after I wake up.

Sachin wrote: True. And plus one to the idea of a new thread. Yes the police gets into lime light very many times, mainly because of the high level of public interaction which happens, due to the nature of the tasks. This certainly does not mean that every single agency other than the police are doing a stellar job.
I agree, and this is why I said "government machinery", and not Police force. But the mere fact that others are doing a bad job is no excuse for the police to do a bad job. The fact that they interact with the public more should encourage them to do much more in terms of customer service training, just because of that simple fact.

I have interacted with Delhi police over the years, and to their credit, they have GREATLY improved their public face, as compared to agencies like Municipal Corp, RPO, etc.

I have also interacted with Haryana police, and had them ask me for bribes. On refusing entirely to pay such bribes, I have received (to my surprise), responses like "ok sir, you are a good citizen, sorry to have bothered you" (in hindi of course).

The point is, that the sooner the police (and ALL other civil services) understand that in a democracy like India, public servants are public SERVANTS (in the sense that they are service providers, who are compensated by the people for their work), and NOT public MASTERS, the better.

On 26 Jan, 1950, the poor, the destitute, the modest masses of this nation became the masters of the realm, rather than a slave race. And noone has the right to treat us like a subjugated people!

Meanwhile, rahulm should take comfort in the fact that it is not merely mango-men like him who are suffering because of corruption, lack of accountability, bad practices, and political interference in the Police force. Even the high and mighty are not spared!

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 956539.cms

Cop asks for bribe from judge's wife

Gyan Prakash, TNN | Jun 23, 2011, 04.48am IST

PATNA: Few state employees, if any, appear to be deterred by chief minister Nitish Kumar's avowed war on corruption. So audacious are the corrupt that they spare no one, not even a VIP with right and high connections.

Take this: Probationer sub-inspector Shweta Rani of the city's Kotwali police station allegedly asked for graft from the wife of a retired Patna high court judge for verification of her passport application.

As has been the practice in cases of such police verification, Rani recently visited the judge's residence and cross-checked the documents and details of the judge's wife in front of her. Once the exercise was over, she pretended to leave and allegedly asked the judge's wife to pay her for "snacks and sweets".

Not the one to unnecessarily flaunt her status, the judge's wife obliged the police recruit with Rs 200 out of sheer affection. But the uniformed woman would not accept it. She allegedly insisted for Rs 2,000, saying, "that's the rate for this job".

The judge's wife couldn't take it. Police sources said she called up DGP Neelmani and the top cop immediately responded, directing officials down the line to look into the matter. Patna SSP Alok Kumar suspended Rani and ordered an inquiry into the matter by an ASP.

That's not the end of the story. Soon after the SSP acted against the woman cop, an MLA sympathizer of hers swung into action to save her from further punishment.

While Rani could not be contacted immediately, state police spokesman and ADG (HQ) Rajyavardhan Sharma told TOI on Wednesday that the probationer SI has since been suspended.

Police sources referred to the quote, "Morning shows the day", and said since the SI has committed such a serious offence even while being on probation, she is liable to be dismissed from the service. It, however, remains to be seen if Rani's bosses heed her political patron's pleas or join the Kumar-led government's war on graft.