Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 2011
Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 20
@ Bijushet^^^: If the surrender Singh things in MEA have come up with this plan, woe betide us. Next up, the Maldives declare war on us.
It's the old story, if you want to be like the real Rajasthani Royals, you bat and bowl and have the 'servants' field. Else you field.
As and when the IAC / Vik come on stream, strafe every Somali outpost/dhow. Or better yet use DDGs and FFGs Hit them where it hurts. Don't let them win! Insurance rates are a killer if you don't eliminate pirates.
If they think they've won, the attacks are only going to increase. MEA is a bunch of vegetarian surrender monkeys with precariously poised toupee on top but nothing under.
Oh! and BTW did I mention that Somali pirates do not as yet have nukes?
It's the old story, if you want to be like the real Rajasthani Royals, you bat and bowl and have the 'servants' field. Else you field.
As and when the IAC / Vik come on stream, strafe every Somali outpost/dhow. Or better yet use DDGs and FFGs Hit them where it hurts. Don't let them win! Insurance rates are a killer if you don't eliminate pirates.
If they think they've won, the attacks are only going to increase. MEA is a bunch of vegetarian surrender monkeys with precariously poised toupee on top but nothing under.

I saw this today...
This is a sign some Pakistanis were holding as a reaction to the dronacharyas.
It looks like they are giving a cheer! "Go America Go! Woot! Woot!"

Bijuji, the issue is just that. The past years, no..make that decade++, we have been collecting evidence and lobbing dossier after dossier to the Pakis as well as the so called "international community". What has been the result besides being told to "exercise restraint"? The "international community" doesnt care about what Pakistan does to India. They just want guarantees that insulate themselves from Paki sponsored/origin terror. And this has been stated on these very forums a gazzillion times.BijuShet wrote:Saar what do you think would have happened if we would have called their bluff? Are you suggesting that our navy begin a shooting war with TSP.rajithn wrote:...Pity that there is no Government that can actually call their bluff!
If INS Godavari would have sunk PNS Babar then we would have gotten tagged as a rouge navy. We did the right thing by collecting the evidence of the TSPN usual behavior to be shared with the rest of the world. It is best we not turn into the the ones who hate us the most. Our navy will keep its powder dry till the time comes to use it. Until then we do not need to counter bravado with more bravado. This behaviour by TSPN is similar to the daily one at the Wagah gate closing ceremony. All TSPians are TFTA martial soldiers till the first bullet is fired after which it quickly transforms into down hill skiiing all the way to UN gen assembly.
Babar or Suez need not be sunk by the Godavari. Why use a hammer when a needle, deftly placed, would suffice? Posters on this forum have already provided suggestions: MARCOS, mines that inexplicably exploded or mysterious, simultaneous boiler explosions in both ships. Need I say more?
I am sorry, Ramana. Saw this post of yours after I posted my response to Biju. Will move further posts on that subject to the appropriate thread.ramana wrote:Folks,
We have a thread for Indian Navy and International Anti-Piracy ops
Please use that thread to discuss non-TSP related aspects of this incident.
Cosmoji, I don't think the TFTA paki fauj of '71 fame were vegetarians. Wereas, neither was Iron Man Sardar Patel a vegetarian surrender monkey.Cosmo_R wrote:@ Bijushet^^^: If the surrender Singh things in MEA have come up with this plan, woe betide us. Next up, the Maldives declare war on us.

This will give a better view of areas where action is happening.
Incase above doesn't work, direct link - http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/4/ ... dfata.png/
Last edited by raajneesh on 21 Jun 2011 06:22, edited 5 times in total.
Some inner Pakistaniyat showing up. Cousinly influence? Odd piskology to believe that meat eating humans are somehow better than those who don't eat meat. Part of the biradari relationship shared by the US and Pakistan were surely a liking for good "Pakistani cuisine" like mutton laden samosas and great biryanis which you can't get in the east because they are all vegetarian surrender monkeys.Cosmo_R wrote: MEA is a bunch of vegetarian surrender monkeys
I tell ya - if BRF can score self goals like this why not MMS? Same same blood onlee...
Drones kill 9 Haqqani men in Kurram attack
PARACHINAR: Suspected US drones fired missiles into Kurram Agency on Monday, killing at least 12 militants, nine of them from the al Qaeda-linked Haqqani network, local officials said.
“Twelve militants were killed. Nine of them were Afghans and believed to be linked to the Haqqani group,” a second intelligence official said. The remaining were said to be Pakistanis. Kurram is an unusual target and could mark a further expansion of the US campaign against militants holed up in North and South Waziristan.
Even during a so called democratic interregnum, criticising the Military dominated “Deep State” in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is a perilous undertaking.
Committee to Protect Journalists pins the blame for the latest assault in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan on Journalist Waqar Kiani who works for the UK’s Guardian Newspaper squarely on the “Security Forces” of the Islamic Republic:
Pakistan reporter beaten for reporting on earlier attack
Committee to Protect Journalists pins the blame for the latest assault in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan on Journalist Waqar Kiani who works for the UK’s Guardian Newspaper squarely on the “Security Forces” of the Islamic Republic:
Read it all:“With this latest attack, it's become even more evident that security forces are targeting journalists and that the government must intervene”
Pakistan reporter beaten for reporting on earlier attack
Will six Indians on MV Suez return home ? - Anita Joshua in The Hindu
No one to take Pakistani sailors home
Here is what ToI reported on those Pakistanis rescued and now languishing in Mumbai.While human rights activist Ansar Burney was hopeful of putting the entire crew on flights to their respective countries soon after reaching Karachi, there is a fear that the Indians may meet a fate similar to that of their Pakistani counterparts, who were rescued by the Indian Navy and stranded in Mumbai since March this year.
The five Pakistani sailors rescued by the Indian Navy from Somali pirates have been awaiting consular access for the past three months and are expected to get it on June 28. Even after consular access is provided, the process of verification takes months. Since they do not have Indian visas, these five sailors have been confined to the Yellow Gate police station, Mumbai, since March.
It has been two months since the Indian Navy rescued five Pakistani crew members of an Iranian fishing trawler from the clutches of Somalian pirates but they are not sure if they would ever be able to return home. The five are caught between the diplomatic channels of the neighbouring countries, with the Mumbai police saying they had asked the Pakistani embassy to take its nationals back and the latter claiming they had not got the permission from the Indian ministry to come to Mumbai and meet the five.
"We have sent letters to the Pakistani embassy but they have not even come to us to enquire about their nationals. Over the phone they said they were verifying the various documents and would claim their nationals soon," said the police , adding that the Pakistani embassy had not even shelled out a single penny for the expenses being incurred on the sailors. "We are in touch with Pakistani embassy office bearer Altaf who has promised to reimburse all the bills for food and other amenities that we are giving to the five," said inspector M G Tope. The five have been identified as Aurangzeb Nabi Bakhsh Balloch(24), his younger brother Sajjad Ali Balloch (19), Lal Bakhsh Murid Khan (20), Farhad Aalam Khan (24) and Mohammed Umair (18).
Pakistani officials seem to be keen to help their countrymen but apparently, they are not getting the permission. "The embassy wants to take the sailors back but the Indian home affairs department is not allowing me to go out of Delhi range. We have not been given permission to meet them," a Pakistani embassy official told TOI. "We have written to the MHA but they are not responding . The embassy officials are also in touch with the hostages and preparing travel papers."
The ordeal for the five Pakistanis , employed on the fishing trawler, Al-Murtuza , started in December last year when Somalian pirates hijacked their vessel and imprisoned all 18 crew members, six Pakistanis and 12 Iranians. On March 12, the Indian Navy finally rescued the ship from the pirates whom they caught 290 nautical miles from Lakshadweep.
During that time, the navy rounded up 106 pirates in several raids and also rescued 70 hostages , belonging to Thailand, Philippines, Bangladesh, Iran, Turkey, Myanmar and Pakistan . Subsequently, the other countries claimed their nationals back, but Pakistan is yet to take home their five rescued hostages , who are now at the Yellow Gate police station.
Tope said through the ministry of home affairs they told the Pakistani embassy on May 7 that they would take the hostages to New Delhi where their nationality could be verified. "However, the officials did not turn up," he said. A Pakistani embassy official, however, claimed they were not told that the hostages would be produced before a panel for verification .
The five were again brought back to Mumbai and sent to the Yellow Gate police station . Dreaming of home, all they do is brood, sitting outside the police station, or talk about their families. Son of a farmer, Farhad Khan, said, "Sahab, I want to go home. I have four brothers . I spoke to them over phone and even they are crying for me. Do something for us so that we could go back."
Even the policemen are at a loss and trying their best to help them. The cops made arrangements for them to call home and also pay for their clothes and other amenities. A local restaurant takes care of their meals. "They are not criminals, they are hostages. We just want that the Pakistani embassy to come and take its men back," added Tope.
This Anita Joshua of Hindu.com has been writing pro-Paki views. Her first attempt to blame the IN. May be part of Aman ki Tamasha crowd.
‘Indian Navy ship hampering humanitarian operations'
Pakistan on Friday night registered a protest with India on the Indian Navy ship Godavari hampering humanitarian operations being carried out by Pakistan Navy's ship Babur for m.v. Suez
According to the Foreign Office, the incident constitutes a serious violation of international regulations pertaining to safe conduct at high seas and also the India-Pakistan Agreement of 1991 on Advance Notice of Military Exercise Manoeuvres and Troops Movements.
Even though it has been projected as said by the Pakis, it has been made to look like the IN is at fault.
Now the article Will six Indians on MV Suez return home ? - Anita Joshua in The Hindu
where she says
"there is a fear that the Indians may meet a fate similar to that of their Pakistani counterparts, who were rescued by the Indian Navy and stranded in Mumbai since March this year."
The actual truth is that the Five Pakis are not being taken back by the Pakis themselves. Why should India not take back it's citizen and why should India be like Pakistan? Don't understand what logic this person is putting. May be she thinks and views India==Pakistan.
Here is the news of Pakistani sailors rescued by India.
Tope said through the ministry of home affairs they told the Pakistani embassy on May 7 that they would take the hostages to New Delhi where their nationality could be verified. "However, the officials did not turn up," he said. A Pakistani embassy official, however, claimed they were not told that the hostages would be produced before a panel for verification .
The five were again brought back to Mumbai and sent to the Yellow Gate police station . Dreaming of home, all they do is brood, sitting outside the police station, or talk about their families. Son of a farmer, Farhad Khan, said, "Sahab, I want to go home. I have four brothers . I spoke to them over phone and even they are crying for me. Do something for us so that we could go back."
Even the policemen are at a loss and trying their best to help them. The cops made arrangements for them to call home and also pay for their clothes and other amenities. A local restaurant takes care of their meals. "They are not criminals, they are hostages. We just want that the Pakistani embassy to come and take its men back," added Tope.
‘Indian Navy ship hampering humanitarian operations'
Pakistan on Friday night registered a protest with India on the Indian Navy ship Godavari hampering humanitarian operations being carried out by Pakistan Navy's ship Babur for m.v. Suez
According to the Foreign Office, the incident constitutes a serious violation of international regulations pertaining to safe conduct at high seas and also the India-Pakistan Agreement of 1991 on Advance Notice of Military Exercise Manoeuvres and Troops Movements.
Even though it has been projected as said by the Pakis, it has been made to look like the IN is at fault.
Now the article Will six Indians on MV Suez return home ? - Anita Joshua in The Hindu
where she says
"there is a fear that the Indians may meet a fate similar to that of their Pakistani counterparts, who were rescued by the Indian Navy and stranded in Mumbai since March this year."
The actual truth is that the Five Pakis are not being taken back by the Pakis themselves. Why should India not take back it's citizen and why should India be like Pakistan? Don't understand what logic this person is putting. May be she thinks and views India==Pakistan.
Here is the news of Pakistani sailors rescued by India.
The forgotten hostages
http://www.thenews. com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=53615&Cat=4&dt=6/21/2011
While the rest of the country is eagerly awaiting the return of the recently freed sailors of the MV Suez vessel, five other Pakistanis recently released by Somali pirates are stuck at a police station in Mumbai, hoping that Pakistani authorities spring into action to ensure their repatriation.
With all of them hailing from Sindh, the five fishermen include two brothers named Aurangzeb and Sajjad Hussain from Karachi, Farhad and Lal Bux from the village Kakrand in Thatta as well as Mohammad Umair from Mirpurkhas. The fishermen have been stuck at the police station since March of this year, waiting for Pakistani officials to bring them back home.
For their families, the prolonged separation from their loved ones is unbearable. In the mud-plastered house of 24-year-old Aurangzeb and 19-year-old Sajjad, their anxious father, the white-bearded Nabi Bakhsh Baloch, appealed for immediate assistance. “Please do something to bring them home. The wait is becoming more unbearable as each day passes by.”
It was last December when Pakistani and Iranian fishermen ventured into the open sea aboard a trawler named Al Murtaza. The fishermen were then captured on the Iranian vessel by Somali pirates. Luckily for the sailors, it was on March 12 that they were rescued when the Indian Navy carried out an operation after the vessel entered the country’s waters. The fishermen aboard the vessel included 12 Iranians and six Pakistanis. Sadly, a Pakistani and an Iranian lost their lives as they were caught in the crossfire between the pirates and navy officials.
A former fisherman himself and now working as a mason, Baloch, while sitting on a floor-patterned carpet in a room without furniture, narrated the ordeal he had been facing with a great deal of sadness.
“My children could not find work here, so in August they went to Balochistan. That was the last time I saw them. And you know I have decided that when they come back, I won’t let them go in the waters again.”
Trying to fight back tears, the mother of the fishermen, Rozatoon, interrupted the conversation. “It was after several days that Iranian officials told us that the pirates had hijacked the ship. We got the news that the heavily-armed pirates treated my sons like servants and forced them to make food using the ration of the ship. They were in a lot of pain.”
But the nightmare came to an end when the pirates mistakenly entered Indian waters and the country’s navy carried out an operation in March to counter the threat.
“The boat was destroyed and the crew jumped in the water. My sons swam in the open sea for three hours before they were rescued by the Navy. The crew kept on shouting that they were Pakistanis and waved their hands before the Indian Navy took them on board.”
Back home, the family remembers that it was on March 30, when they were watching the Pakistan-India World Cup semi-final that Aurangzeb called and informed them that he and the other fishermen were in the custody of Indian authorities.
“From that moment on, the process of bringing them home started. I wrote several letters to the Pakistan Foreign office and sent their documents to the officials. The Iranian government ensured the repatriation of their nationals within a month, but my sons are still in India. We have heard that they would be taken on June 28 to the Pakistan Embassy in New Delhi. Let us hope that they come back.”
Aurangzeb is the eldest of his seven siblings. His only sister reminisces how he used to pamper her. “This is the longest that bhai jan has been away from home. My brothers are the best. They don’t let me do any work for them.”
Also present, an aunt of theirs named Abida was all praises for the Indian authorities. “The Somali pirates could have demanded ransom or even killed them, but thank God the Indians rescued them.”
Baloch added that the Pakistani fishermen were treated well. “They are not in a jail, but were being kept at police stations. They are being treated well, given good food and all their other needs are catered to.”
Meanwhile, social activists in India and Pakistan started highlighting the case and demanded that authorities take action. Indian journalist Jatin Desai met the fishermen and is pursuing the Pakistani High Commission to act fast on the repatriation process.
On this side of the border, eminent lawyer and activist Iqbal Haider while talking to The News said, “I have written a letter to the foreign office and offered Nasir Aslam Zahid and myself as mediators to bring them back. We are pushing the case and doing the best we can to raise the issue.”
http://www.thenews. com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=53615&Cat=4&dt=6/21/2011
While the rest of the country is eagerly awaiting the return of the recently freed sailors of the MV Suez vessel, five other Pakistanis recently released by Somali pirates are stuck at a police station in Mumbai, hoping that Pakistani authorities spring into action to ensure their repatriation.
With all of them hailing from Sindh, the five fishermen include two brothers named Aurangzeb and Sajjad Hussain from Karachi, Farhad and Lal Bux from the village Kakrand in Thatta as well as Mohammad Umair from Mirpurkhas. The fishermen have been stuck at the police station since March of this year, waiting for Pakistani officials to bring them back home.
For their families, the prolonged separation from their loved ones is unbearable. In the mud-plastered house of 24-year-old Aurangzeb and 19-year-old Sajjad, their anxious father, the white-bearded Nabi Bakhsh Baloch, appealed for immediate assistance. “Please do something to bring them home. The wait is becoming more unbearable as each day passes by.”
It was last December when Pakistani and Iranian fishermen ventured into the open sea aboard a trawler named Al Murtaza. The fishermen were then captured on the Iranian vessel by Somali pirates. Luckily for the sailors, it was on March 12 that they were rescued when the Indian Navy carried out an operation after the vessel entered the country’s waters. The fishermen aboard the vessel included 12 Iranians and six Pakistanis. Sadly, a Pakistani and an Iranian lost their lives as they were caught in the crossfire between the pirates and navy officials.
A former fisherman himself and now working as a mason, Baloch, while sitting on a floor-patterned carpet in a room without furniture, narrated the ordeal he had been facing with a great deal of sadness.
“My children could not find work here, so in August they went to Balochistan. That was the last time I saw them. And you know I have decided that when they come back, I won’t let them go in the waters again.”
Trying to fight back tears, the mother of the fishermen, Rozatoon, interrupted the conversation. “It was after several days that Iranian officials told us that the pirates had hijacked the ship. We got the news that the heavily-armed pirates treated my sons like servants and forced them to make food using the ration of the ship. They were in a lot of pain.”
But the nightmare came to an end when the pirates mistakenly entered Indian waters and the country’s navy carried out an operation in March to counter the threat.
“The boat was destroyed and the crew jumped in the water. My sons swam in the open sea for three hours before they were rescued by the Navy. The crew kept on shouting that they were Pakistanis and waved their hands before the Indian Navy took them on board.”
Back home, the family remembers that it was on March 30, when they were watching the Pakistan-India World Cup semi-final that Aurangzeb called and informed them that he and the other fishermen were in the custody of Indian authorities.
“From that moment on, the process of bringing them home started. I wrote several letters to the Pakistan Foreign office and sent their documents to the officials. The Iranian government ensured the repatriation of their nationals within a month, but my sons are still in India. We have heard that they would be taken on June 28 to the Pakistan Embassy in New Delhi. Let us hope that they come back.”
Aurangzeb is the eldest of his seven siblings. His only sister reminisces how he used to pamper her. “This is the longest that bhai jan has been away from home. My brothers are the best. They don’t let me do any work for them.”
Also present, an aunt of theirs named Abida was all praises for the Indian authorities. “The Somali pirates could have demanded ransom or even killed them, but thank God the Indians rescued them.”
Baloch added that the Pakistani fishermen were treated well. “They are not in a jail, but were being kept at police stations. They are being treated well, given good food and all their other needs are catered to.”
Meanwhile, social activists in India and Pakistan started highlighting the case and demanded that authorities take action. Indian journalist Jatin Desai met the fishermen and is pursuing the Pakistani High Commission to act fast on the repatriation process.
On this side of the border, eminent lawyer and activist Iqbal Haider while talking to The News said, “I have written a letter to the foreign office and offered Nasir Aslam Zahid and myself as mediators to bring them back. We are pushing the case and doing the best we can to raise the issue.”
Shiv,shiv wrote:Some inner Pakistaniyat showing up....Cosmo_R wrote: MEA is a bunch of vegetarian surrender monkeys
...I tell ya - if BRF can score self goals like this why not MMS? Same same blood onlee...
This is nothing. Some pages back he blamed Krishna Menon's/MEA siding with the Arabs/Russki's with some fiery speeches for the US giving TSP money and weapons and generally not caring how much Indian blood is shed.
All our fault only. As if this is the way world politics works. I wanted to laugh but held my tongue...
Wasn't she writing for the time in early 1990's, I remember around 1991-92 when I was barely a teen reading an article with full of Bile on the Indian Army in Kashmir and she wanted USA to hand over Kashmir to Pakistan, I think she later worked for CNN.uddu wrote:This Anita Joshua of Hindu.com has been writing pro-Paki views. Her first attempt to blame the IN. May be part of Aman ki Tamasha crowd.
Wonder how Hindu Recruits is journalists, may be an Anti India Outlook is required to be recruited.
May be he only means that we aren violent and aggressive enough...MEA is a bunch of vegetarian surrender monkeys with precariously poised toupee on top but nothing under
not literally vegetarian. May be.
Sorry saar. If I say you are an idiot, would you be understanding enough to say that I mean no harm and I am using idiot in the sense of the root word "idiota" - meaning lay person or uneducated?. Clearly the words one uses are an important indicator of meaning. If one says something there is no hiding behind the burqa that one means something else. So lets not have vicarious lame excuses for a completely unnecessary and ill thought out remark.RSoami wrote:May be he only means that we aren violent and aggressive enough...MEA is a bunch of vegetarian surrender monkeys with precariously poised toupee on top but nothing under
not literally vegetarian. May be.
Say No to Peace
Peace committee leader among three killed in Peshawar car bomb http://tribune.com.pk/story/192834/pesh ... njures-10/
Good news, naaya kanoon mantri threatening to Wajib-ul-Qatal purana kanoon mantri, the real pures are rising..... yeh andhaa kanoon hai
‘Wajibul Qatl’ remark: Awan knocks on SC door against Sanaullah http://tribune.com.pk/story/193188/waji ... sanaullah/

Peace committee leader among three killed in Peshawar car bomb http://tribune.com.pk/story/192834/pesh ... njures-10/
PESHAWAR: A car bomb explosion in Matni area of Peshawar killed three people including one policeman and peace committee leader Ijaz Bacha while injuring seven people on Monday.
Good news, naaya kanoon mantri threatening to Wajib-ul-Qatal purana kanoon mantri, the real pures are rising..... yeh andhaa kanoon hai

‘Wajibul Qatl’ remark: Awan knocks on SC door against Sanaullah http://tribune.com.pk/story/193188/waji ... sanaullah/
Former Federal Law Minister Dr Babar Awan on Monday moved an application before the chief justice of Pakistan praying for the formation of a judicial commission to probe Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah’s recent statement allegedly declaring the applicant liable to be murdered (Wajibul Qatl).
Awan expressed in the application that if anything ‘wrong’ was to happen to his life, property or family, Sanaullah should be held responsible.
He contended that certain outlaws were asked to assassinate him while he was travelling to Gujranwala from Lahore. He added that this conspiracy was disclosed to a former federal minister from Balochistan who is ready to speak in front of the court.
Awan said that the Punjab government was desperate to arrest him on a false charge or pretext in order to facilitate an attack on his life either in the jail, police station or somewhere in lower court’s premises.
But But err..This is as per HoKo. Why whine Dr Babar Awan when Hadiths are being followed to T.
Advertising scam: Rs250m flood relief funds spent on ad campaigns http://tribune.com.pk/story/192158/adve ... campaigns/

Kaun Banega Crorepati AD banakeISLAMABAD: The Privatisation Commission has spent the majority of cash allocated for flood relief activities on advertisements, Express News has learnt.
An amount of Rs270 million was allocated for flood relief activities, but the commission spent Rs250 million on advertisements and just Rs10 million on relief.

A serving brigadier posted at GHQ, Pindi arrested !
Why are pakis not taking their men back? These are not even their "non state" actors who they have to disown. Is it just to do propogaandu like that Joshua.
- Location: Committee for the Promotion of Vice and the Prevention of Virtue
4 Days after the Abbottabad raid.Khan, who had been posted at the GHQ for the past two years, was detained on May 6.
Wow!
29 trillion cubic feet to 100 trillion cubic feet in one speech
and this is just to cheer up pakistan!!
Good show indeed.
29 trillion cubic feet to 100 trillion cubic feet in one speech

and this is just to cheer up pakistan!!
Good show indeed.
Huge reserves of tight gas in Sui, NA informed
By Raja Asghar | From the Newspaper
(13 hours ago) Today
The petroleum minister told the National Assembly that the country’s natural gas reserves are 100 trillion cubic feet.—File photo
ISLAMABAD: In what could cheer up Pakistan about the future in present times of energy shortages, Petroleum and Natural Resources Minister Asim Hussain told the National Assembly on Monday that Sui area in Balochistan had huge reserves of tight gas equivalent to its presently known natural gas reserves.
Quoting estimates that he said had been kept hidden in the past, he also put the country’s natural gas reserves at 100 trillion cubic feet, compared to previously reported estimate of nearly 29 trillion cubic feet.
Raghavendra wrote:Advertising scam: Rs250m flood relief funds spent on ad campaigns http://tribune.com.pk/story/192158/adve ... campaigns/
Kaun Banega Crorepati AD banakeISLAMABAD: The Privatisation Commission has spent the majority of cash allocated for flood relief activities on advertisements, Express News has learnt.
An amount of Rs270 million was allocated for flood relief activities, but the commission spent Rs250 million on advertisements and just Rs10 million on relief.
You have missed the most important part of the post.......... or perhaps you have not. The amount collected 270 mil, spent on advertising 250 mil, spent on relief 10 mil.
The total spent 260 mil with a surplus of 10 mil. So KBS indeed.

- Location: Committee for the Promotion of Vice and the Prevention of Virtue
Times are tough, dus percenti has become teen percenti.Pratyush wrote: You have missed the most important part of the post.......... or perhaps you have not. The amount collected 270 mil, spent on advertising 250 mil, spent on relief 10 mil.
http://www.nytimes.com/reuters/2011/06/ ... ml?_r=1&hp
Pakistan Arrests Brigadier on Suspected Militant Ties
By REUTERS
Published: June 21, 2011 at 8:12 AM ET
ISLAMABAD (Reuters) - A Pakistan army brigadier assigned to military headquarters in the garrison town of Rawalpindi has been arrested for suspected ties to a banned group, a military spokesman said on Tuesday.
Spokesman Major General Athar Abbas said Brigadier Ali Khan, who was in charge of drafting army regulations, was linked to Hizb-ul-Tahrir, a banned group in Pakistan.
"We follow zero tolerance policy of such activities within the military therefore prompt action was taken on detection," Abbas said.
Hizb-ul-Tahrir, or "Party of Liberation," is a radical political group dedicated to reestablishing an Islamic Caliphate across the Muslim world. Active in Britain, it is banned in many Muslim countries for its calls to overthrow the sitting governments.
The group says it does not advocate violence, but many critics say it has ties to militant organisations and encourages young men to radicalism.
Abbas said efforts were also being made to arrest members of the group who were in contact with Khan.
Khan would be the highest-ranking serving army officer arrested in a decade.
A senior military official, who declined to be identified, told Reuters that the detention was made 20 days ago.
This is calledPratyush wrote:[quote="Raghavendra"Advertising scam: Rs250m flood relief funds spent on ad campaigns http://tribune.com.pk/story/192158/adve ... campaigns/
ISLAMABAD: The Privatisation Commission has spent the majority of cash allocated for flood relief activities on advertisements, Express News has learnt.
An amount of Rs270 million was allocated for flood relief activities, but the commission spent Rs250 million on advertisements and just Rs10 million on relief. /quote]
Kaun Banega Crorepati AD banake
You have missed the most important part of the post.......... or perhaps you have not. The amount collected 270 mil, spent on advertising 250 mil, spent on relief 10 mil.
Pakistan and the Class of '74
We are products of a liberal, secular school. There were touches of patriotism in our education, but I do not remember it to be jingoistic and nationalistic to the extent that we would hate our South Asian neighbours. During the Bangladesh war of independence some of us even performed in a stage production where we learned the new nation's national anthem.
:
:
:
But unlike some of my classmates from the Modern School's Class of 1974, I cannot dismiss Pakistan and simply consider all its citizens as enemies of India. I have friends in New York and elsewhere, Hindu Indians who are married to decent, Muslim Pakistanis. These marriages and the children of these relationships are a reminder of the common roots and permanent ties that exist between India and Pakistan.
There is a lot of good happening in Pakistan -- a parallel world to what we see on cable news channels -- and we as Indians and people of Indian origin should appreciate it.
Pakistan has an exciting art scene, as my friend Priyanka Mathew discovered during a recent visit to that country. My favourite singer of all time is Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan [ Images ], the great qawaal who I saw perform eight times in New York City. No musician has connected me to my roots, as a Punjabi and a South Asian, more than Khan whose collaborations with India go back to the time of Shekhar Kapur's [ Images ] Bandit Queen (1994).
There are exciting things happening on the music front in Pakistan, and it is not just in the form of Abida Parveen [ Images ] and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan [ Images ]. Just look at the Coke Studio Pakistan's web site. One singer Meesha Shafi (Chambe Di Booti and Chori Chori) has been cast in Mira Nair's [ Images ] next film The Reluctant Fundamentalist (based on Pakistani author Mohsin Hamid's novel).
Brave young filmmakers are reviving Pakistan's film industry, long considered dead as piracy plagued the country. In recent years we have seen important films from Pakistan including Sabiha Sumar's Khamosh Pani, Mehreen Jabbar's Ramchand Pakistani (both co-productions with India), and last year's brilliant Slackistan, directed by Hammad Khan and unfortunately banned in Pakistan.
In the world's literary circles, it is a well-regarded fact that the best English writing in South Asia is now happening in Pakistan, and not in India. Writers like Hamid (Moth Smoke, The Reluctant Fundamentalist), Daniyal Mueenuddin (Other Rooms, Other Wonders) and H M Naqvi (Home Boy) have all enriched our lives with new visions of Pakistan and reflections on the contemporary society in that country.
http://www.rediff.com/news/special/spec ... 110621.htm
We are products of a liberal, secular school. There were touches of patriotism in our education, but I do not remember it to be jingoistic and nationalistic to the extent that we would hate our South Asian neighbours. During the Bangladesh war of independence some of us even performed in a stage production where we learned the new nation's national anthem.
:
:
:
But unlike some of my classmates from the Modern School's Class of 1974, I cannot dismiss Pakistan and simply consider all its citizens as enemies of India. I have friends in New York and elsewhere, Hindu Indians who are married to decent, Muslim Pakistanis. These marriages and the children of these relationships are a reminder of the common roots and permanent ties that exist between India and Pakistan.
There is a lot of good happening in Pakistan -- a parallel world to what we see on cable news channels -- and we as Indians and people of Indian origin should appreciate it.
Pakistan has an exciting art scene, as my friend Priyanka Mathew discovered during a recent visit to that country. My favourite singer of all time is Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan [ Images ], the great qawaal who I saw perform eight times in New York City. No musician has connected me to my roots, as a Punjabi and a South Asian, more than Khan whose collaborations with India go back to the time of Shekhar Kapur's [ Images ] Bandit Queen (1994).
There are exciting things happening on the music front in Pakistan, and it is not just in the form of Abida Parveen [ Images ] and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan [ Images ]. Just look at the Coke Studio Pakistan's web site. One singer Meesha Shafi (Chambe Di Booti and Chori Chori) has been cast in Mira Nair's [ Images ] next film The Reluctant Fundamentalist (based on Pakistani author Mohsin Hamid's novel).
Brave young filmmakers are reviving Pakistan's film industry, long considered dead as piracy plagued the country. In recent years we have seen important films from Pakistan including Sabiha Sumar's Khamosh Pani, Mehreen Jabbar's Ramchand Pakistani (both co-productions with India), and last year's brilliant Slackistan, directed by Hammad Khan and unfortunately banned in Pakistan.
In the world's literary circles, it is a well-regarded fact that the best English writing in South Asia is now happening in Pakistan, and not in India. Writers like Hamid (Moth Smoke, The Reluctant Fundamentalist), Daniyal Mueenuddin (Other Rooms, Other Wonders) and H M Naqvi (Home Boy) have all enriched our lives with new visions of Pakistan and reflections on the contemporary society in that country.
http://www.rediff.com/news/special/spec ... 110621.htm
So its not a Colonels' coup but a Brigadiers' coup!
However sounds fishy. The Brig is a product of a family that rose thru the ranks. he seems to be Army in every directions, Father, children, brother,
Most likely he thought he was doing Army's mission of engaging the terrorists.
If Kiyani wants to end such cognitive dissonance in the Officer Corps, he needs to change the Kakul motto for evey officer thinks he is a jihadi in uniform. So whats worng in consorting with the non-uniformed ones?
SSridhar can you give some insight into Hizb ut Tehrir (HuT)?
However sounds fishy. The Brig is a product of a family that rose thru the ranks. he seems to be Army in every directions, Father, children, brother,
Most likely he thought he was doing Army's mission of engaging the terrorists.
If Kiyani wants to end such cognitive dissonance in the Officer Corps, he needs to change the Kakul motto for evey officer thinks he is a jihadi in uniform. So whats worng in consorting with the non-uniformed ones?
SSridhar can you give some insight into Hizb ut Tehrir (HuT)?
Ramana
You're right re black in lentils about this Brigadier. My take is that the HT is a "safe" enemy for TSPA because it is non-violent but so vocally radical that ignorant Westerners get easily scared by it. Remember the Brit-Pakis who were holding placards in rallies saying "Behead those who insult Islam" etc.? They were all HT or its offshoots.
I see this fake arrest as a continuation of the leaks about Colonels' coup or Kayani's supposed hot seat. TSPA is trying to paint a picture of "fundos after Kayani" to releive US pressure. They cannot go after the REAL jihadis in uniform belonging to LeT, Harkats etc., so they go after the easy targets just to scare off the Americans.
You're right re black in lentils about this Brigadier. My take is that the HT is a "safe" enemy for TSPA because it is non-violent but so vocally radical that ignorant Westerners get easily scared by it. Remember the Brit-Pakis who were holding placards in rallies saying "Behead those who insult Islam" etc.? They were all HT or its offshoots.
I see this fake arrest as a continuation of the leaks about Colonels' coup or Kayani's supposed hot seat. TSPA is trying to paint a picture of "fundos after Kayani" to releive US pressure. They cannot go after the REAL jihadis in uniform belonging to LeT, Harkats etc., so they go after the easy targets just to scare off the Americans.
there was an article a few days back saying how HuT had heavily infiltrated the pak_fauj, so if there is zero tolerance, they'll be arresting them in their hundreds...
or...
pulling another scam - brigguddin was probably arrested for something else
or...
pulling another scam - brigguddin was probably arrested for something else
How about this scenario: The brig in all likelihood is a u.s mole. Probably played a key role in the A'bad incident (in exchange for u.s naturalization perhaps). The pakis found out..have detained him but by calling him a terror sympathizer. The pakis will now get money from the u.s to release this guy..and the u.s will use the so-called coup threats against kiyani (remember that a narrative already exists about terror sympathizers in the military wanting kiyani out) get them the money. This allows them to play out everything in public and helps the broader u.s objective of continuing to support the u.s - gives them the narrative for building excuses on why they continue to support a devious "ally"!
Besides all the ombaba admin may want to do, I am certain there are other forces at play here..SD and old cold war relics who still help the pakis play the game with the current admin in the u.s.
This could be because these old foggies are still are playing out the grand strategic game that they have put together - to use Pakistan as the staging point for American reach into central Asia, Russia. And China.
Besides all the ombaba admin may want to do, I am certain there are other forces at play here..SD and old cold war relics who still help the pakis play the game with the current admin in the u.s.
This could be because these old foggies are still are playing out the grand strategic game that they have put together - to use Pakistan as the staging point for American reach into central Asia, Russia. And China.
This brigadier was arrested on orders of Kayani. He was one of the senior officers who vocally objected to following american diktats when Kiyani was doing rounds of the garrisons after Abbottabad.
This deserves not one but 3Sushupti wrote:Pakistan and the Class of '74
Aseem Chhabra in New York
Pakistan has an exciting art scene, as my friend Priyanka Mathew discovered during a recent visit to that country. My favourite singer of all time is Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan [ Images ], the great qawaal who I saw perform eight times in New York City.

Nusrat is dead for years now, how can a dead man be part of the current 'exciting art scene' in pakistan. Does he sing from the grave and Aseem tunes into his bhoot station to listen to his qawaalis
3 films in total, 2 of which have an Indian connection and the one 100% pure pakistani film is bannedBrave young filmmakers are reviving Pakistan's film industry, long considered dead as piracy plagued the country. In recent years we have seen important films from Pakistan including Sabiha Sumar's Khamosh Pani, Mehreen Jabbar's Ramchand Pakistani (both co-productions with India), and last year's brilliant Slackistan, directed by Hammad Khan and unfortunately banned in Pakistan.
Breaking News : Banned film contributes to 'exciting art scene' in Pakistan

If you cant watch the film in theaters what is the use of the film and Where is the thriving art scene he talks about? Watching donkey p0rn on internet? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=041hVGRs90E
When an organisation has a motto of “Iman Taqwa Jihad fi Sabilillah” or translated as “Faith, Piety and Jihad in the Path of Allah”, as the Army of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan happens to have, it is but natural that the organisations personnel will sooner rather than later indulge in a spot of Jihad for Allah as in this case.Rajiv Lather wrote:A serving brigadier posted at GHQ, Pindi arrested !
Meanwhile this story says so much about the Islamic Republic of Pakistan besides the penchant of its populace in indulging in religious inspired Islamic Terrorism. First that despite being under a stray phase of democracy, where the Army of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is involved, the Pakistani press is fearful about breaking stories and leaves it to the foreign media, the BBC in this case, to break the story. Second despite being under a stray phase of democracy it seems appears to be entirely natural for the Army of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to be able to incarcerate an individual for over a month without having anyone of the civil society being the wiser.
Last edited by arun on 21 Jun 2011 20:39, edited 1 time in total.
Trying to be more pure than the most pure cost him his job, will he also end up like Col. Imam ,shot and videod to deathRajiv Lather wrote:This brigadier was arrested on orders of Kayani. He was one of the senior officers who vocally objected to following american diktats when Kiyani was doing rounds of the garrisons after Abbottabad.
Not sure if others noticed but this TSP Brigadier Ali Khan has been missing/detained/arrested since May 6. Its just that the news is now being reported in the wider media. The question is what did he do just prior to May 6 that caused him to be arrested? Also he was posted at the GHQ for the past two years so he must have decent knowledge of what TSPA was upto. Was he a mole or was he a pawn used to take pressure of Kayani or was he someone so messed up that even TSPA needed to take action against him?
The after affects need to be monitored closely. It can take gigantic propositions, if the faithfools and not-so faithfools take sides and clash. That may be even bigger than PNS Mehran attack because the ones will be from the forces themselves. Also the Jewels of Bakistan will be at greater risk.
It is interesting to note that this brigadier is a Pushtun. There were other officers who raised their voice, but no one wants to touch the punjabi officer corps. In a way it was GHQ's way of sending a message. I doubt that it will work.