The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

Re: The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

nikkap wrote:
All of These comes under MOTOR VEHICLE ACT. these are designed to extract money from you that’s it.A study was conducted by insurance co that at an average a person met with an accident in an average of once in 28 years then insurance co tag up with our officials to launch a scam called motor vehicle insurance act india now every year you have to caugh up your money to buy insurance whether you need it or not. calculate no of vehicle x premium received – damages claimed (remember once in 28 years )= NET PROFIT (IMAGINE THIS FIGURE EVERY YEAR).govt gets a cut in this & thru traffic police govt make sure that you buy policy every year & if u don’t bingo a challan another monetary gain for govt & traffic police makes sure that you wear seatbelt follow their rules so that damages if any occur should be minimum so that insurance co. have to pay minimum amount all this goes on in the name of YOUR SAFETY like patriotic act of America.

Now under common law remember I told you about liability. you are fully liable for your action like LAW OF KARMA if I broke your glass I am fully liable to pay for it so when you drive under common law not statue law your responsibility increases manifold i.e why I told you that doesn’t give me an authority to jump red light & speeding but under common law their authority over you is finished in nutshell they cannot extract money from your pocket this is what I called stop feeding the beast.yes can do all that lawfully then govt will realize who is incharge. Remember before every court case start why they make you swear on GITA/BIBLE because that is your remedy under common law.brother I am on your side I am not the enemy everything I say is backed by evidence & court case I need help to study law in depth coz I cannot study every ACT & found the remedy within.this govt have crossed all the limits of decency & good governance we have to show them that we are incharge not them. "When injustice becomes law, peaceful rebellion becomes duty"
Now lets see the scenario, you broke my car's windshield. Now tell me in your imaginary world, what are the steps that I get paid for that glass? Remember we don't have car insurance
somnath

Post by somnath »

Pranav wrote:In today's system, allegations of corruption by a judge are investigated by a police inspector.
Provided the Chief Justice of India gives permission...

However, the police inspector is not empowered with judicial powers...So if he gets approval from CJI, he investigates, does not adjudicate...The prosecution case is put up to the Collegium for adjudication...

In the proposed case of JanLokpal, Lokpal as policeman argues a case in front of a judge, who in turn can be adjudicated by the same Lokpal as a judicial authority..That is the anomaly...

Lokpal is not envisaged to have judicial function.

Not that folks will stop spreading canards but at least truth is truth.

Sanku Ji, here's from the JLPB. section 10 (3), so i am not sure if anyone here is spreading a canard:
(3) Any proceeding before the Lokpal shall be deemed to be a judicial proceeding with in the meaning of section 193 of the Indian Penal Code
More from the same section:
(2) For the purpose of any such investigation (including the preliminary inquiry) the Lokpal shall have all the powers of a civil court while trying a suit under the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908 , in respect of the following matters, namely:-

(a) Summoning and enforcing the attendance of any person and examining him on oath;
(b) Requiring the discovery and production of any document;
(c) Receiving evidence on affidavits;
(d) Requisitioning any public record or copy thereof from any court or office ;
(e) Issuing commissions for the examination of witnesses or documents ;
(f) ordering payment of compensatory cost in respect of a false or vexatious claim or
defence;
(g) ordering cost for causing delay;
(h) Such other matters as may be prescribed.
From section 9 of the proposed Bill again:
(2) The provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973, relating to search and seizure shall apply, so
far as may be, to searches and seizures under sub-section (1).

(3) A warrant issued under sub-section (1) shall for all purposes, be deemed to be a warrant issued by a court under section 93 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973.
From section 8:
(5) Lokpal shall be deemed to be “Disciplinary authority” or “appointing authority” for the purpose of imposing penalties under CCS Conduct Rules.
More from Section 8:
(2) Lokpal, after getting such enquiries and investigations done as it deems fit, may take one or more of
the following actions:
a. Close the case if prima facie, the complaint is not made out or
b. Initiate prosecution against public servants as well as those private entities which
are party to the act
c. Order imposition of appropriate penalties under CCS Conduct Rules
Provided that if an officer is finally convicted under Prevention of Corruption
Act, major penalty of dismissal shall be imposed on such government servant.
d. Order cancellation or modification of a license or lease or permission or contract or
agreement, which was the subject matter of investigation.
e. Blacklist the concerned firm or company or contractor or any other entity involved
in that act of corruption.
f. Issue appropriate directions to appropriate authorities for redressal of grievance in
such time and in such manner as is specified in the order.
g. Invoke its powers under this Act if its orders are not duly complied with and ensure
due compliance of its orders.
Where's the canard here, unless the above functions don't really belong to the Judiciary.

http://www.saaku.in/system/attachments/ ... alBill.pdf
nikkap

Post by nikkap »

symontk wrote:
nikkap wrote:
All of These comes under MOTOR VEHICLE ACT. these are designed to extract money from you that’s it.A study was conducted by insurance co that at an average a person met with an accident in an average of once in 28 years then insurance co tag up with our officials to launch a scam called motor vehicle insurance act india now every year you have to caugh up your money to buy insurance whether you need it or not. calculate no of vehicle x premium received – damages claimed (remember once in 28 years )= NET PROFIT (IMAGINE THIS FIGURE EVERY YEAR).govt gets a cut in this & thru traffic police govt make sure that you buy policy every year & if u don’t bingo a challan another monetary gain for govt & traffic police makes sure that you wear seatbelt follow their rules so that damages if any occur should be minimum so that insurance co. have to pay minimum amount all this goes on in the name of YOUR SAFETY like patriotic act of America.

Now under common law remember I told you about liability. you are fully liable for your action like LAW OF KARMA if I broke your glass I am fully liable to pay for it so when you drive under common law not statue law your responsibility increases manifold i.e why I told you that doesn’t give me an authority to jump red light & speeding but under common law their authority over you is finished in nutshell they cannot extract money from your pocket this is what I called stop feeding the beast.yes can do all that lawfully then govt will realize who is incharge. Remember before every court case start why they make you swear on GITA/BIBLE because that is your remedy under common law.brother I am on your side I am not the enemy everything I say is backed by evidence & court case I need help to study law in depth coz I cannot study every ACT & found the remedy within.this govt have crossed all the limits of decency & good governance we have to show them that we are incharge not them. "When injustice becomes law, peaceful rebellion becomes duty"
Now lets see the scenario, you broke my car's windshield. Now tell me in your imaginary world, what are the steps that I get paid for that glass? Remember we don't have car insurance
Hold your sarcasm. court of record is there to protect all your common law rights problem is you don’t know how to establish a court of record nothing changes municipal court remains the same but judge rules from common law rather then statue law if the defendant refuses to accept responsibility onsite & later found guilty in court of record you can’t even imagine the penalty

More on the powers of the JLPB Section 13 (3) here:
(3) In order to get its orders complied with, the Lokpal shall have, and exercise the same jurisdiction powers and authority in respect of contempt of itself as a High court has and may exercise, and, for this purpose, the provisions of the Contempt of Courts Act, 1971 (Central Act 70 of 1971) shall have the effect subject to the modification that the references therein to the High Court shall be construed as including a reference to the Lokpal.
Along with the fact that the JLPB members are also deemed Police Officers, section 12:
12. Lokpal to be a deemed police officer: (1) For the purposes of section 36 of Criminal Procedure Code, the Chairperson, members of Lokpal and the officers in investigation wing of Lokpal shall be deemed to be police officers.
(2) While investigating any offence under Prevention of Corruption Act 1988, they shall be competent to investigate any offence under any other law in the same case.
somnath

Post by somnath »

harbans wrote:Where's the canard here, unless the above functions don't really belong to the Judiciary
They do..These are judicial/quasi-judicial powers...the latest draft of JLPB is here...(was posted before as well)..
http://www.persmin.nic.in/Lokpal/DraftJanLokpalBill.pdf

Also refer to chapter XII, on powers of imposing penalties...

Now that the Cop and Judiciary functions of the JLPB are clear, there's another aspect that's not been discussed in the media. Here it goes Section 8 (4):
(4) Issue such directions, as are necessary, from time to time, to appropriate authorities so as to make such changes in their work practices, administration or other systems so as to reduce the scope and possibility for corruption, misconduct and public grievances.
A fine line from recommending systemic changes and policy initiatives that should be the responsibility of the executive. So the JLPB will have or could have powers over every constitutional branch of the Government as it issues directives on Systems to run Ministries. Not following these directions would amount to Contempt of Court.

But who makes changes within the JLPB.. Section 34:
34. Power to make regulations: Lokpal shall have power to make its own regulations for the smooth functioning of the institution and to effectively implement various provisions of this Act.
I also am puzzled by the penchant for Magsaysay and Nobel Alumni..
c. All Nobel Laureates of Indian Origin
d. Last three Magsaysay Award winners
So the some folks in the selection committee may not even be of Indian nationality..
somnath

Post by somnath »

harbans wrote:I also am puzzled by the penchant for Magsaysay and Nobel Alumni..
Its not in the latest draft (refer above)...One of the more eggregious suggestions in the original draft - thankfully deleted now...
A fine line from recommending systemic changes and policy initiatives that should be the responsibility of the executive. So the JLPB will have or could have powers over every constitutional branch of the Government as it issues directives on Systems to run Ministries. Not following these directions would amount to Contempt of Court
That is right, there are specific provisions around contempt of Lokpal...And this clause basically institutionalises a slightly awkward practice in the judiciary these days - pronounce advice/directions on executive matters...Refer to how SC recently direcetd the govt on food policy...
Last edited by somnath on 30 Jun 2011 17:56, edited 1 time in total.

It was pointed out long ago that the Lokpal draft as it stands rolls up the police -the prosecution, the judge and the jury, as well as executive to a certain extent[it can directly order penalties to concerned organizations] - all into one. It is disingenuous to acknowledge this at this stage of the discussion here.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 6#p1110396
it is the prosecution,jury and judge - all in the same body
It is clear, that the drafters of the bill are very much aware of this and they take a special extra measure to protect their professional peers - whom perhaps they consider a special hallowed cut above the rest of the Indians. They specifically insist on a preponderance or majority presence of "people from legal background" whenever it is a case of "trying" an accused judicial functionary. They would not have done this, if they were not aware of the possibility of injustice and abuse inherent in the Lokpal as laid out in this overwhelming concentration of prosecutive and penalizing powers.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Just to be sure, which is why the Lokpal draft (the govt version) is a more professional job - it avoids pitfalls like these..

http://www.persmin.nic.in/Lokpal/DraftL ... ll2011.pdf

Harbans why are using a very old draft of questionable veracity? The JLB draft as it exists now needs to be discussed.

Lokpal is not to have any judicial capacity, only prosecution and suggestions for punishment.

Of course Somnath is trying to fly it under the radar by use of terms like
They do..These are judicial/quasi-judicial powers...the latest draft of JLPB is here...(was posted before as well)..
quasi-judicial??? Quasi-judicial is not judicial. As it exists whole bunch of govt functions have quasi-judicial functions. That means nothing.

Lokpal has NO suggestion for judicial function. All the FUD comes from a questionable old reports.

somnath wrote:Just to be sure, which is why the Lokpal draft (the govt version) is a more professional job - it avoids pitfalls like these..

http://www.persmin.nic.in/Lokpal/DraftL ... ll2011.pdf
And as I pointed out, the govts version is basically to protect the corrupt not to punish it.

brihaspati wrote:It was pointed out long ago that the Lokpal draft as it stands rolls up the police -the prosecution, the judge and the jury, as well as executive to a certain extent[it can directly order penalties to concerned organizations] - all into one.
B-ji, not in the current draft it does not.

Somnath Ji, thanks. The Magsaysay and Nobels are out. But who in their right mind would have like to thrust that original? It was indeed intended to be passed. Is it not the same AH and company which did that draft? Moreover whats this in the new draft, section Section XiV, 26(1)?
(2) The Board shall finalise the Lokpal’s budget in such a manner that it is less than ¼ % of the total revenues of the Government of India.
Somnath Ji, am i reading this correctly? A fourth of the total revenues of the GOI can go to the Lokpal budget?

harbans wrote:Somnath Ji, thanks. The Magsaysay and Nobels are out. But who in their right mind would have like to thrust that original? It was indeed intended to be passed. Is it not the same AH and company which did that draft? Moreover whats this in the new draft, section Section XiV, 26(1)?
(2) The Board shall finalise the Lokpal’s budget in such a manner that it is less than ¼ % of the total revenues of the Government of India.
Somnath Ji, am i reading this correctly? A fourth of the total revenues of the GOI can go to the Lokpal budget?
1/4% should be .25% of GoI revenues.

Sanku ji,
either way - for me it is another new toy to dazzle [and intimidate] the janta. Two factions of the same elite fighting it out. Those feeling deprived from power, and not willing to take on the electoral process - are using a public grievance selectively to push for personal power. As such each side's drafts include provisions to protect their own as much possible - while making a show of "unbiasedness" as much as possible to hoodwink the commons.

In the end, it is still very much like the old Roman politics - where the plebs were constantly being hoodwinked by competing factions of the patri's. The plebs had many overt powers - of making laws etc - and hence were used by people like Marius or Caesar - against their peers in the Senate. Ultimately it was elite versus elite - with commons as cannon fodder.

To a certain extent it is the old Indian contest between the priest and the king - the brahmin and the kshatryia. The judicial-wallahs think of themselves - as many priest of yore - a special cut above the rest, unquestioned, protected, with special claims of infallibility, and want a cut of political power of the kshatryia without going through the trouble of admin and war. The gov thinks of itself as equally justified in sole enjoyment of power. Two camps of the elite - that is all.
somnath

Post by somnath »

As for the "judicial" powers of Lokpal, in the JLP draft - its quite explicit..
22. (1) After the completion of an investigation against any government servant the Lokpal may either initiate prosecution against such public servant or may initiate proceedings for imposition of penalty or both.
(2) Lokpal shall appoint such officers, who may be retired judges or retired civil servants or such others as may be provided, to act as judicial officers for the purpose of this section, at such terms and conditions as may be provided in regulations.
(3) A bench of judicial officers will conduct an inquiry against such government servant for imposition of penalty in which full opportunity to show cause would be given to such government servant. After conclusion of the inquiry the bench shall also determine the penalty, if any, to be awarded to that public servant. The decision of the 24
bench will be subject to approval by a higher authority prescribed by the Lokpal by through regulations.
(4) The recommendations so approved shall be binding on the appointing authority
Last edited by somnath on 30 Jun 2011 18:30, edited 1 time in total.

0.25% of total revenue? Good! To break even, the Lokpal must therefore return more than that at least in returning revenue otherwise lost?
somnath

Post by somnath »

harbans wrote:
That would be 0.25%..Its an upper cap - 0.25% is a huge number -~2.5-3k crores....Basically they are ringfencing funding of the Lokpal out of whims of the govt..Which is fair enough actually...I think the principle has been accepted in the Lokpal version as well...

In the larger scheme of things, something that Salman Khurshid narrated in an interview is illustrative - apparently Shanti Bhushan started one of the meetings by saying "we are changing the Constitution here"! He was gently told by Veerappa Moily that that isnt the mandate of the committee...The AH team consists of well-meaning, qualified people who are there to make a difference..Unfortunately, they have also fallen into the trap of elitism - basically all politicos are corrupt, only "people like us" (PLUs) can save the country....Its a common enough axiom, but not one that can be the basis of a law in a dmocractic polity....

The good news is that the maximalist position of AH and team with a substantive effort has made the govt draft much better than the original...Barrign the point on PM, nothing terribly exceptionable....Personally, I would want the PM to be within the ambit, but the opposition to it seems to be quite widespread - Badal, Jayalalitha, soli Sorabjee, Fali Nariman - its a wide scale..Lets see...I hope BJP makes that a precondition for support! We will see how the cookie crumbles then! :wink:

Ah Thanks Sanku Ji for the correction.

somnath wrote:
Pranav wrote:In today's system, allegations of corruption by a judge are investigated by a police inspector.
Provided the Chief Justice of India gives permission...
Please give a reference. Mind you, we are talking about corruption here.

harbans wrote:

Sanku Ji, here's from the JLPB. section 10 (3), so i am not sure if anyone here is spreading a canard:
Most of those powers - such as calling witnesses and getting testimony on oath, are also with parliamentary committees. So they are not judicial powers exclusively.

brihaspati wrote:Two camps of the elite - that is all.
Possibly sir, quite possibly. But do you say that plebs do not benefit in turn by playing one section of the elite vs other, after all plebs dont have all the choices, and this one mechanism is good.

Let the elites battle it out and take each other down a notch.

Dearest Somnath. You have to give up it funny habit of calling night as day; in this case you have highlighted all the relvant points except thi.
somnath wrote:As for the "judicial" powers of Lokpal, in the JLP draft - its quite explicit..
The decision of the 24
bench will be subject to approval by a higher authority prescribed by the Lokpal by through regulations.
(4) The recommendations so approved shall be binding on the appointing authority
The bench is ONLY making reccomendations, this has been quite clearly established in many discussions, kindly stop the Kapil "there is no scam" Sibal type of behavior.

As it is your rah-rah support for Pakis has left a foul impact on the forum.

Please try and maintain a minimum standard of correctness.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Pranav wrote:Please give a reference. Mind you, we are talking about corruption here.
http://www.indiaagainstcorruption.org/highcourt.html
Today, if there is an allegation of corruption against any Supreme Court (SC) or High Court (HC) judge, an FIR cannot be registered and investigations cannot be started into those allegations without the permission of the Chief Justice of India (CJI).
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Congress ka motto- Paritranaya Dushkritam, Vinashaya cha Sadhunam....
somnath

Post by somnath »

sanjeevpunj wrote:Congress ka motto- Paritranaya Dushkritam, Vinashaya cha Sadhunam
:) Interesting twist...though one should never forget INC dalliances with "sadhus" and "sadhvis" - JLN's tryst with the mysterious "sadhvi", Indira Gandhi with Dhirendra Brahmachari, PVNR with Chandraswami, Rajiv Gandhi with various Shnkaracharyas - interesting stuff :wink:

somnath wrote:Interesting twist...though one should never forget INC dalliances with "sadhus" and "sadhvis" - JLN's tryst with the mysterious "sadhvi", Indira Gandhi with Dhirendra Brahmachari, PVNR with Chandraswami, Rajiv Gandhi with various Shnkaracharyas - interesting stuff :wink:
What's the one for the Maino dynasty ? 'Swami' Agnivesh?
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Arjun wrote:
somnath wrote:Interesting twist...though one should never forget INC dalliances with "sadhus" and "sadhvis" - JLN's tryst with the mysterious "sadhvi", Indira Gandhi with Dhirendra Brahmachari, PVNR with Chandraswami, Rajiv Gandhi with various Shnkaracharyas - interesting stuff :wink:
What's the one for the Maino dynasty ? 'Swami' Agnivesh?
There are many congress specific saints, one is the famous sikh guru from Sirsa as well.It appears, congress patronises the Gurus because that assures a measurable vote bank.

sanjeevpunj wrote:There are many congress specific saints, one is the famous sikh guru from Sirsa as well.It appears, congress patronises the Gurus because that assures a measurable vote bank.
Like who from the Hindu side?
somnath

Post by somnath »

Arjun wrote: What's the one for the Maino dynasty ? 'Swami' Agnivesh?
??To what does Swami Agnivesh deserve this "honour"?
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Arjun wrote:
sanjeevpunj wrote:There are many congress specific saints, one is the famous sikh guru from Sirsa as well.It appears, congress patronises the Gurus because that assures a measurable vote bank.
Like who from the Hindu side?
Well I definitely know of one Hindu saint - the erstwhile kingmaker who launched Narasimha Rao.-Chandra Swami-Rasputin of Indian Politics. He later dumped Congress when BJP came to power, I wonder where he is now.Swami Agnivesh loves engaging violent groups by dangling carrots and expecting them to lay down weapons and is known to be at odds with many Hindu saints due to his scholarly disposition as an Arya Samaj leader. He once raised heckles in the Hindu saints camp by declaring that Amarnath Shivling is stalagmite, an ice rock.
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 01 Jul 2011 10:33, edited 1 time in total.

somnath wrote:
Arjun wrote: What's the one for the Maino dynasty ? 'Swami' Agnivesh?
??To what does Swami Agnivesh deserve this "honour"?
Sorry, not able to follow you. You seemed to be implying that each INC leader has had his / her dalliances with Hindu 'gurus'. And I am asking for which name completes that list specific to the Maino dynasty....

The closest person I can think of is 'Swami' Agnivesh....if you don't think that is correct then do be explicit. If there is none for the Maino faction you can say that as well. I personally think the Mainos represent a clean break from any Indic identity the INC might have had in the past.

sanjeevpunj wrote:Well I definitely know of one Hindu saint - the erstwhile kingmaker who launched Narasimha Rao.-Chandra Swami-Rasputin of Indian Politics. He later dumped Congress when BJP came to power, I wonder where he is now.Swami Agnivesh is more of a bard, he loves engaging violent groups by dangling carrots and expecting them to lay down weapons.
Sanjeevpunj ji, like I mentioned in my previous post the Mainos represent a clean break in ideology from PVNR and even to a fair extent from previous members of this dynasty.... So I was really looking for somebody you can name in the Maino regime.

Not that association with any Hindu 'guru' signifies anything positive whatsoever - but the Mainos do exhibit a strong allergy to any association with Hindu symbols that was not present to the same degree in the past within the INC.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Yes, i do see your point, there are no well known Hindu Saints in the Congress list. As for Swami Agnivesh, he is a Hindu Arya Samaj saint for sure, and a pioneer in fighting bonded labour.He has his own niche.As for Chandra Swami, he has run underground, never heard much about him lately.He was surely once upon a time the right hand of Indira Gandhi and he propped up Narasimha Rao effectively.When the BJP came to power, Chandra Swami was perhaps sidelined by other Hindu saints that support BJP.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^Swami Agnivesh has done some really good work on bonded labour, and a host of other areas as well...

Not sure he has come to be known as "mainowadi", but then stranger things have been said! :wink:
Last edited by somnath on 01 Jul 2011 10:44, edited 1 time in total.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

yes I just read about him in wikipaedia, he is quite different from the run of the mill saints and stands out. he even suggested to the UN to abolish passport laws globally to ensure free movement of workers across the globe.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^His "activism" isnt a recent, media-induced one..I remember even in the early '90s he used to be right up there with a number of causes...

Interesting interview with Barkha Dutt..

http://blogs.outlookindia.com/posts.asp ... 8&kid=5188
NDTV anchor: “Swami Agnivesh… you will see that the number of people who had to resign from public office—and many people believe this is a good thing—just because of suspicion or allegations or accusations, I mean, from Shashi Tharoor to Ashok Chavan to Sharad Pawar, there are so many different examples where legally, the allegation has not been proven, but even before the trial has begun, these politicians have stepped aside. Now some people are making the argument that those drafting the Lokpal bill must do the same. How do you respond? Do you believe the same standard must be applied as they are applied to politicians?”

Swami Agnivesh: “Well, Barkhaji, let me put it to you this way. Supposing there is an accusation of corruption on some mediaperson who is an anchor of a very famous TV channel, and if that person is initiating debate after debate on corruption and such [a] person is asked, first get yourself cleared of all these allegations and then only you will have a moral right to start or initiate a debate on corruption, should that person step down? What would be your answer?”
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

http://180.179.50.74/nation-news/676489 ... draft.html
I am quoting some statements by Swami Agnivesh here- "I congratulated the government for improving the 2010 Bill. I hope that the remaining other contentious issues will also be finetuned and refined. We should be able to get all the contentious issues resolved amicably," Agnivesh told . "The present government and some leaders of the ruling Congress are actually denying the fundamental rights of the
freedom of expression and agitation within the frame of law given to every Indian by the constitution of India," he told.
A deft logician when he talks to the press, and a peacemaker, surely.He surely stands out, as I said before.
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 01 Jul 2011 11:00, edited 1 time in total.