BR Forum Feedback

Re: BR Forum Feedback

Gerard wrote:
Sanku wrote:I hope and assume that we can report those making personal attacks on this thread now?
Since there is no 'debate', there should not be any reason for personal attacks, hence no reports are expected.
And what if the fine expectation is broken none the less? There is no shortage of personal attacks totally out of the blue after all?

Gerard wrote:
chaanakya wrote:I suspect Gerard deleted about 7 posts of mine from International Nook dhaaga without notice.
I have already pointed out that it is not a Fukishima thread nor will we allow it to be converted into such. It is not an anti-nuclear thread either. These threads are to follow the nuclear industry and weapons establishment.

The entire 'debate' has run its course and the repetition, ad nauseum, serves no purpose. Every other participant in that thread is reporting every other member. A moderator opens that to find more than a dozen complaints from everyone and his/her aunty.

We have had quite enough.

The last time I checked this was an Indian military interest forum populated by jingoes. There are other places on the Internet where folks with agendas can discuss things.
Well I hope that you follow your own advice and watch if others do the same. As far as complaints or reports from everyone and his/her aunty, I am sure you would not have found any report from My side as I have reported none (except one early on in Fukushima thread) despite provocation. If you find that incorrect please point out with details.
Others are reporting posts as they may be using oblique references, personal attacks and snide remarks for which at least four esteamed members are showing proclivity. And mind you many of them have received advises and warnings and rebuke many times over.

A thread is not a static thought process and would evolve in response to a given situation.

Anyway, I do not agree with your views expressed here, but will respect your position as moderator, which in any way you are not doing justice to.

This is for Gerard.

I suppose this does qualify for posting in that thread despite references to Fukushima. Talk of double standards.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 3#p1106653
Amber G. wrote:Wrt to IAEA report (actually preliminary report, full is due some time later this month) - Link given in post around Jun 01 - Just like BRF, here are some diverse opinion/reactions..

From WSJ article:
IAEA Draws Fire
Officials in three Western countries are attempting to sideline the head of the International Atomic Energy Agency from international nuclear safety discussions amid their growing concerns about the U.N. nuclear agency's handling..
In particular, they have raised questions about whether the agency ...have adequately criticized Japan's nuclear disaster plans and response to the crisis.. {IAEA criticized this but rather quietly.. while praising many other aspects} ..
Publicly, influential U.N. member states continue to express support for the IAEA. "The U.S. does view the IAEA as the appropriate venue to discuss nuclear safety," U.S. ambassador to the IAEA Glyn Davies saidin an emailed response to a question from The Wall Street Journal.....

...But the diplomats from three G-8 countries—a group composed of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the U.K., and the U.S.—have questioned the IAEA's ability [ to serve as a watchdog over nuclear issues ]
<Read the story if interested >
And: (From Ahmadinejad)
IAEA report [onJapan] is a whitewash.

WSJ has two other items, might be of interest ..
US NRC Chairman Urges Lessons Must Be Quickly Learnt
Nuclear Exit Fails to Give Merkel's Party a Boost

More of a security related question.

What happens when we click on a link from the forums? What information goes to the link that we clicked on?

I understand that the link will know that the person reached there from BRF. Can some other info, - personal info like BRF IDs go too?
I know that each time I click on a link my IP address goes to that site and the webmaster can locate it.

Lately I have been wondering about cyber security to the point of getting a little paranoid about the whole thing.

Why does BR throw up errors everyday btw 2:30 and 2:45 PM CST, USA?

indranilroy wrote:Why does BR throw up errors everyday btw 2:30 and 2:45 PM CST, USA?
The database backup takes place at that time I think.
prithvi

Re: BR Forum Feedback--Bug Report

Post by prithvi »

not sure this is the right place for a bug report...but since yestersay whenever I click on any of the forum thread... it takes me to the penultimate page of the thread instead of the last page...also the thread contribution is not immediately reflected...

prithvi, it may be that the page is coming from your cache, rather than from the server. I have had no problems.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Why no PMs between non-mods? Just asking, because I feel like a lot of the off-topic deviations in threads happens because people can't PM messages to each other, so they end up asking each other on threads directly (e.g. how can I get access to that service you are talking about, or here's what I think about your post though it is OT).

JMT onlee.

"THE FUTURE OF ARMED FORCES -delving into science fiction" -This thread should not have been locked .There is no similar thread. Though there are of course threads that deal with future military scenarios fro the strategic view point.
ParGha

Post by ParGha »

Rahul M, I think it will be an interesting thread to discuss the long-term future of military technology (>50 years into future). It will necessarily be science-fiction. This is how I (and maybe GD) interpreted gakakkad's recently locked thread. If this seems too far-fetched for the Mil Issues Forum, it may still be an interesting thought-exercise in the burqa forum.

Is it possible to ignore/filter certain threads?

For example, if you click Discussion Forums all active threads are listed. Now the problem is that the thread I'm (or anybody) is following doesn't appear on the first (even second) pages.

However, totally irrelevant stuff shows up (L&M thread for example currently appears as the 3rd thread...excluding the stickies).

^^^ Sroy,

You can bookmark the threads you follow and organise them in separate folder in your browser.

Just my 2 cents worth.
aditp

Post by aditp »

Admins, pls provide lungi dance emoticon.

ohh plssssssssssssssss Image
JVKrishnan

Post by JVKrishnan »

BRAdmins,

Could we have a thread "India & ASEAN Military Engagement" please? Considering that we are ramping up our engagement of ASEAN this might be a good time.

thank you.

please introduce a mobile-friendly version of the forum. Anybody visiting the forum from a mobile could automatically re-directed to the mobile version.

present arrangement makes visiting BRF from the cellphone quite painful

TIA

Hiten wrote:please introduce a mobile-friendly version of the forum. Anybody visiting the forum from a mobile could automatically re-directed to the mobile version.

TIA
I doubt this is in the hands of mods or even admins. If the company that makes such bulletin boards decides to make a mobile friendly version, then perhaps something can be done.

Can you please change my name to Virupaksha
Last edited by archan on 14 Jul 2011 01:17, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: done, let your friends know that I didn't ban your old self! or do you prefer to use stealth mode and catch them unawares...

Archan ji,
thankyou.

it was to escape hide my offline self, nothing to do with online.
kancha

Post by kancha »

The forum listing page describes the time as UTC + 5.30 hours. But I believe that the clock on the forum is actually 30 mins behind IST as of right now. Is it unintended, or am I understanding the term UTC, wrong?

It would be great if we have a thread for posting links to Indian Defense related memorials. This can a non-discussion thread where people can JUST post these pictures / links to be saved for posterity. It could be a road, it could be a building named after a hero or a memorial built in memory of a hero. sometimes Civil Administration does a very commendable job.
BRAdmins, please consider!!!

Using this post to conatct administrators

for all pdf issues ( we keep getting in BR, from various sources including gov docs), this is a deal for $10.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... =N204-1620

use coupon code: YUA37138 now

akshay, most people on BR need no introduction about the person you wrote about.
I suggest the media watch thread or nukkad in GDF for the rest. if needed we can think of some other thread at a later time,
regards.
vishnua

Post by vishnua »

I am used to getting too many SQL connections when I tried to access forum in the past. But this has been very persistent in the last few weeks.

But after few tries, it is accessable. I am not going to suggest the solutions but i am sure concern ppl can address this.

I also don't know whether other folks are facing the same issue.

vishnua

Post by vishnua »

It is not happening at that time slot but rather different times of the day.

Thanks Rahul,

Then I presume that most people also know about his project for the Shivaji museum and his recent email updates on the project. As you probably know he needs funds as well help with the content, exhibit, games, interactive material etc.

Will post the other stuff on the media thread and nukkad as you suggest.

And thanks again to you and all Rakshaks for the effort and commitment.

Bradmins, the noise to information ratio is too high now days, with new members posting 1-2 liner replies to continue the conversation rather than limiting themselves to what is relevant.
time to wield the broom & clean the boards?

BR Admins, Is posting an article by Arun_S Hallal in BRF? this was an old article which was originally published in BR missile page and then taken down. thanks... this is about CEP.

Shrinivasan wrote:BR Admins, Is posting an article by Arun_S Hallal in BRF? this was an old article which was originally published in BR missile page and then taken down. thanks... this is about CEP.
post it ONLY if Arun_S has given you permission to post it on BRF.. else no..

Jagan wrote:
Shrinivasan wrote:BR Admins, Is posting an article by Arun_S Hallal in BRF? this was an old article which was originally published in BR missile page and then taken down. thanks... this is about CEP.
post it ONLY if Arun_S has given you permission to post it on BRF.. else no..
Nope, let me not post it, I have a PDF copy of the article which was in Google cache... thanks Jagan.

I know, it may be a case of an ordinary brf olide against mighty brf adimin but this needs to be addressed and documented. I urge all brf admins and stakeholders to carefully read the below as it is, in my view, more than a symptom of the present decline of the credibility of BRF.

Sorry Archan, this is being posted here instead of private message but BRF admins do not respond, (at least to my) private correspondence. (They have my email as well as an ability to PM)
Board warning issued :
The following is a warning which has been issued to you by an administrator or moderator of this site.
This is a warning regarding the following post made by you: viewtopic.php?f=1&p=1115903#p1115903 .
ramana ji had requested that the thread not be derailed any further. All who chose to ignore it will be given a warning
I urge the admins to read, really read this message, and the following few pages in the thread to get the context and tone of the messages posted in that fast moving thread.

Let me just point it out:

- The message from me, was posted at 12:31 (on June 23)

- Ramanji warning came after dozens of posts, and more than 2 hours LATER at 14:53

- Arachanji warning mentioning Ramanji’s request, came a few minutes after Ramanji’s above message.

Meanwhile, in that fast moving thread, as any one can I showed extreme restrained (hours before the Ramana/Archan’s dikkat) by not posting/replying to any message although several were addressed to me directly and quite a few, could even be taken as hostile. AFAIK I have not posted in that thread again. Never mind, that even that message contains no brf policy violation and Archanji knows it.

At the minimum, I believe, BRF admins owes us a clear explanation and I urge Archan to follow it up with, if need be, with a private message and explanation.

I want to underscore that this is NOT an isolated event, but more a part of the pattern.
Same admin issued me a previous warning, almost in identical context

I must add, present situation of a few BRFadmins behavior, in some of the other threads have brought quite a bit of negative publicity for BRF. I will urge all, including BRF admins to act professionally.
Yajnavalkya

Post by Yajnavalkya »

Hello Bradmen,

Is my username acceptable[? If not, can you change it to Yajnavalkya?

Done, welcome to BR
Rahul
Last edited by Rahul M on 29 Jul 2011 01:17, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: username changed.

archan wrote:
Hiten wrote:please introduce a mobile-friendly version of the forum. Anybody visiting the forum from a mobile could automatically re-directed to the mobile version.

TIA
I doubt this is in the hands of mods or even admins. If the company that makes such bulletin boards decides to make a mobile friendly version, then perhaps something can be done.
http://phpbb-mobile.com/forums/viewtopi ... 9&start=50
http://phpbb-mobile.com/

I browse on my Android phone quite easily. True a bit difficult to post!

Amber G. wrote:I know, it may be a case of an ordinary brf olide against mighty brf adimin but this needs to be addressed and documented. I urge all brf admins and stakeholders to carefully read the below as it is, in my view, more than a symptom of the present decline of the credibility of BRF.
Jai ho.
Dear Madam/Sir,
Since you have posted in such professional manner (sorry for my inability to keep up the standards; me, of course, being a khaki chaddidhaari danda waving pandu can do no better).
So...
Point number 1:
Amber G. wrote:- The message from me, was posted at 12:31 (on June 23)

- Ramanji warning came after dozens of posts, and more than 2 hours LATER at 14:53

Wrong! you got one part right. You got warning for a message posted at 12:31. However, you conveniently chose to ignore this moderator request which was posted at 12:04pm, about half an hour before your post.

Point number 2: As you have noted yourself, you are an oldie, and old member, and let me add that I think you are very experienced, highly accomplished and well regarded in your profession, have good interests of Bharat in your heart and mind. However it surprises me that how is it that such an old forum member like you cannot maintain simple thread discipline? do you really believe that complaining about Indian Embassy's incompetence is a matter to be discussed in Indo-US Strategic News and Discussion thread? and you were pretty involved in the discussion to-and-fro with Stan. If old members like you do not help the moderators, then bhagwan hi malik hai. A forum is as good as its contributors. As much as you or your bloggie buddies (whose link you posted in GDF) would like to think, we mods have neither the time nor will to thought police or to divert discussions in any given direction.

Point number 3: that brings me to the link you posted. Did you really think I give half my early morning pakistan about what someone posts about me in a hate-filled blog?
Amber G. wrote:Never mind, that even that message contains no brf policy violation and Archanji knows it.
The way it works here is when a mod requests something nicely, you are expected to comply. Not complying does not always mean an action will be taken against you, but there is always a possibility!
Amber G. wrote:At the minimum, I believe, BRF admins owes us a clear explanation
Ahem, while I may give you an explanation out of my own free will, please note that I owe you, or anyone else here, _nothing_. We are not here to serve you, we try to serve BRF the best we can. We are like normal users who come here to read, learn, participate. Since we were invited to help moderate, we spend much of our time in reading X complaining about Y and Y counter-complaining about X and so on and so forth. Yes, the same time which we could have spent in reading an article on a topic of our interest. I'm not complaining- but trying to make a point that we do this voluntarily and we are not paid or elected by you. So the notion that we owe you anything, is false. I hope that is clear.
Amber G. wrote:I want to underscore that this is NOT an isolated event, but more a part of the pattern.
Please show evidence of the 'pattern'.
Amber G. wrote:Same admin issued me a previous warning, almost in identical context
Was this supposed to be your evidence? you repeat that mistake again and in all likelihood, if I see it, you will get a warning again. So yes, there will be a pattern then.
Amber G. wrote:I will urge all, including BRF admins to act professionally.
Thank you for the advice dear Madam/Sir. I already feel more professional after reading your post.

Archan - Thanks for the reply. As you are an Admin, I am giving you a reply, please read it carefully because I think it will be helpful.
archan wrote: Jai ho.
Dear Madam/Sir,
Since you have posted in such professional manner (sorry for my inability to keep up the standards; me, of course, being a khaki chaddidhaari danda waving pandu can do no better).
First, if you want to consider yourself "khaki chaddidhaari danda waving pandu" (your words not mine) instead of a respected brf admin, I am not going to stop you, but may be other admins should take a look at it (if nothing else , for the language being used by you) and if you want to take my suggestion, you should act in a professional manner.

Let me just set the record straight..

Point number 1:
Amber G. wrote:- The message from me, was posted at 12:31 (on June 23)

Wrong! you got one part right. You got warning for a message posted at 12:31. However, you conveniently chose to ignore this moderator request which was posted at 12:04pm, about half an hour before your post.
Nice try, but you know it yourself, that your point is bogus. You know very well, that in that fast moving thread, specially when thread gets locked due to sql errors, it is likely that posts some time cross each other. (In fact , I started writing the post before I saw Ramana's post .. server was quite busy - I did NOT even see the Ramana's post, because it was not there when the submit button was pressed - I am sure you noticed it that those messages indeed criscrossed.)..If you look at Ramana's post, there is NO warning, not even a request to delete if the post was already posted. Never mind, I did not put a single message after that. (Even Ramana posted a message with the same subject after that). Point is, the "warning" came about 2 hours later, your warning came AFTER that.

Ramana obviously did not think that the message was objectionalble, else he would have issued the warning. You still have NOT articulated what BRF policy was violated by that message? Please do.

That brings me to the link you posted. Did you really think I give half my early morning pakistan about what someone posts about me in a hate-filled blog?
You,sir, as you say, obviously don't give your "early morning pakistan", but others may be interested and care about India and BRF image. In any case there is no need for you to use impolite language.
The way it works here is when a mod requests something nicely, you are expected to comply. Not complying does not always mean an action will be taken against you, but there is always a possibility!
Agreed, that's why I have decided to not write a single message after I read the message from Ramana. My humble suggestion, it will be helpful for you too, to use polite language like other brf admins do .
Amber G. wrote:I want to underscore that this is NOT an isolated event, but more a part of the pattern.
Please show evidence of the 'pattern'.
If you (or any other admin is interested, I will be more than happy to share with them the evidence I have. Let me know (with pm or mail) if that will be helpful. I do believe that the 'pattern' is quite evident, if any one really is interested in it.
Same admin issued me a previous warning, almost in identical context
Was this supposed to be your evidence? you repeat that mistake again and in all likelihood, if I see it, you will get a warning again. So yes, there will be a pattern then.

Again, sir, if you are really interested, I will be more than happy to show you the evidence..(On one hand you decry that you have no time and interest so let me know if you are really interested else none of us have time to play this silly game)

Thank you for the advice dear Madam/Sir. I already feel more professional after reading your post.
Thank you. Glad that you are feeling more professional.

Nice story about server errors AmberG, but you are welcome to email me at arch.brf at gmail.
Will, I think you meant to post in the BR Main site feedback. I will move your post to that thread. Thanks for the feedback.