India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

DRDO water purifier for surviving in post NBC survival

Another x clusive. Thanks to Cheenum for the sub.

chackojoseph wrote:DRDO water purifier for surviving in post NBC survival

Another x clusive. Thanks to Cheenum for the sub.
CJ, atlast I got my name fixed by Bradmin to Shrinivasan, I have been working on an article on Op Brasstacks, I should get this completed for this Friday dhamaka. In the meantime, do you have any info on Op Brasstacks which might help my article?

Chackoji, How does Chacko Watch or Chacko Speak sound for your articles? Or suggest another. If Ok we can have it from July1st.

Plan is to post only the article and no discussions.

Only you get to post there.

Eventually want to have a newsletter from you.

ramana wrote:Chackoji, How does Chacko Watch or Chacko Speak sound for your articles? Or suggest another. If Ok we can have it from July1st.

Great Idea Ramana... Can we post Links to FrontierIndia.net site from BR, this would increase his hitcount too!!!
I am going to contribute articles from my end to Chacko from this week. atleast a couple every month... the first article on Op Brasstacks

ramana wrote:Chackoji, How does Chacko Watch or Chacko Speak sound for your articles? Or suggest another. If Ok we can have it from July1st.

"Chacko Joseph's Corner" Will Do. I will come up with Newsletters end of every month. It will be monthly activities on Indian Defence with links and other thoughts. Thank you Ramana.

Srini,

Thank You, I will send what I have on the ops.

DRDO crosses milestone with composite propellant processing facility.

Nasik, Maharashtra: Indian defence minister AK Antony has inaugurated the Advanced Centre for Energetic Materials (ACEM), a state-of-the-art composite propellant processing facility, at Nasik in Maharashtra. The facility has been created by the country's defence research umbrella organisation, the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

The facility has been set up by HEMRL (High Energy Materials Research Laboratory), a Pune-based DRDO laboratory engaged in research and development of high energy materials including solid rocket propellants.

Speaking on the occasion, Antony pointed out that missiles have now become one of the most important, and effective, means of delivering warheads. ''Our strategic capability to boost our defence preparedness is judged by its weapon delivery.''

He stated that despite doing well in many fields, we continue to be on the wrong side of the information divide. ''Nations the world over are today judged by which side of the information divide they are on. I am sure that with the inauguration of this facility, we will take a small but significant step towards bridging this gap. ''

Expressing satisfaction that most of the plant and machinery under embargo had been constructed indigenously. He stressed that to be more meaningful, and to be sustained for a longer term, the indigenization process must be total and irreversible.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr VK Saraswat, scientific advisor to the defence minister, secretary (defence R&D) and DG DRDO, said that this was not the end but the beginning of a longer journey as new and more efficient propellants will keep emerging, for which the facilities will need to be created.

He also said that user expectation was high and assured that DRDO would match expectations.

ACEM has been set up as a dedicated facility, to meet the requirements of composite propellants for solid rocket motors during their development phase as well as the limited series production.

The facility is equipped with state-of-the-art equipment and machinery operated remotely through PLC (programmable logic controller) and SCADA (supervisory control and data acquisition), thus, avoiding human exposure to hazardous processes.

It incorporates a large number of critical technologies and machinery, designed, developed and realized indigenously with the support of over 40 private firms participating in the endeavour.

Many of these technologies and machinery such as special purpose mixers were inaccessible to India due to ''denial regimes''. The mixers were designed and developed jointly by DRDO and Central Manufacturing Technology Institute, Bangalore.

The new centre is equipped with highly advanced facilities for processing, NDT (non-destructive testing), quality control, as well as static testing of various rocket motors. The installations have been made compliant to the applicable explosive safety norms and are equipped with integrated fire fighting system to ensure adequate safety.

Others present on the occasion included Dr. Subhananda Rao, distinguished scientist & chief controller R&D (aeronautics) & director HEMRL and Avinash Chander, distinguished scientist & chief controller R&D (MSS).

DRDO develops integrated shelters for soldiers
Aimed at providing protection to soldiers against extreme weather conditions in the high-altitude areas, the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has developed integrated thermally-regulated shelters for the soldiers. The shelters were handed over to the GOC of Headquarters 14 Corps recently.

The indigenous shelters have been designed and developed by the DRDO following the intense damage caused by the flash floods at Leh last year, which had caused huge loss of life and property. The shelters are equipped with integrated temperature regulators, biodigestors and air-monitoring systems.
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2011/20110701/nation.htm#11

Fotu here

The President, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil visits the Bharat Dynamics Limited, in Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh on July 05, 2011. (From PIB, Govt of India)

Can anyone direct me to the location where I can access DRDO Tech focus? I have some missing docs... email me @ shrinivasanm At GMAIL dot Kaam

Shrinivasan wrote:Can anyone direct me to the location where I can access DRDO Tech focus? I have some missing docs... email me @ shrinivasanm At GMAIL dot Kaam
here -

http://drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/techfocus/welcome3.htm

pragnya wrote:
Shrinivasan wrote:Can anyone direct me to the location where I can access DRDO Tech focus? I have some missing docs... email me @ shrinivasanm At GMAIL dot Kaam
http://drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/techfocus/welcome3.htm
Pragya.April and June 2009 files are damaged / empty. do you have these?

Ministry of Defence strikes blow for private sector in defence
In a victory for India’s private sector defence manufacturers, the Ministry of Defence’s (MoD’s) apex decision making body, the Defence Acquisition Council (DAC), will today issue a ruling that recognises the right of our private companies to compete against the public sector in bidding for top-secret defence projects.

At the DAC meeting here today, a vital Electronic Warfare (EW) system for the army’s mechanised corps will be categorised as ‘Buy Indian’, instead of being handed over on a platter to government-owned Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL, also termed a defence public sector unit), as the MoD had earlier planned.

VinodTK wrote:Ministry of Defence strikes blow for private sector in defence
In a victory for India’s private sector defence manufacturers, the Ministry of Defence’s (MoD’s) apex decision making body, the Defence Acquisition Council (DAC), will today issue a ruling that recognises the right of our private companies to compete against the public sector in bidding for top-secret defence projects.

At the DAC meeting here today, a vital Electronic Warfare (EW) system for the army’s mechanised corps will be categorised as ‘Buy Indian’, instead of being handed over on a platter to government-owned Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL, also termed a defence public sector unit), as the MoD had earlier planned.

Great, in any case PSU & OFBs have been acting as front offices for foreign companies for long time

if Private cos. are entering in a big way, then we need a "confidentiality setup" so that there is careful screening of private sector employees who work on these projects. their backgrounds should be checked and there should be a solid counter-intel setup which makes sure that there are no leaks in top secret projects. this system exists in US where to get employment in LM, Boeing, or any defense contractor, you have to go through polygraph tests and psych assessment tests, and a background investigation.

does such a methodology exist for private sector cos in India???
nikhilarora

Post by nikhilarora »

devesh wrote:^^^
does such a methodology exist for private sector cos in India???
Hi,

I can vouch that such a capability does exist in India. And I am sure as the Private players are drawn into the fray, they would surely employ strict methodology.

that is good to hear.
but it's not enough for private cos to have such a process. the govt should be actively involved in monitoring private cos and their employees. dedicated units should be formed inside IB/RAW to make sure secrets are safe guarded. these units should also covertly/overtly have "assets" inside the private cos to monitor the situation. all this is present in US. they keep tabs to make sure that nefarious elements don't get employment in defense companies and also to keep an eye on these contractors' activities.

CJ, Can you follow up with the Sudarshan people if the kit can be used for all versions of the 450 kg weapon? FAE, etc. Also what are the prospects for using on smaller versions like the 250kg and the 125 kg ones? And in high mountain areas?

ramana wrote:CJ, Can you follow up with the Sudarshan people if the kit can be used for all versions of the 450 kg weapon? FAE, etc. Also what are the prospects for using on smaller versions like the 250kg and the 125 kg ones? And in high mountain areas?
Ramana, I think Sudarshan in the current avatar is meant ONLY for 1000KG and not for the smaller iron bombs. I could be wrong but I remember reacding this somewhere...Also our inventory of Sudarshan kits is so low, even below the inventory of imported kits from Khan or Yehudis.

Shrinivasan wrote:
ramana wrote:CJ, Can you follow up with the Sudarshan people if the kit can be used for all versions of the 450 kg weapon? FAE, etc. Also what are the prospects for using on smaller versions like the 250kg and the 125 kg ones? And in high mountain areas?
Ramana, I think Sudarshan in the current avatar is meant ONLY for 1000KG and not for the smaller iron bombs. I could be wrong but I remember reacding this somewhere...Also our inventory of Sudarshan kits is so low, even below the inventory of imported kits from Khan or Yehudis.
Ramana, having said that I hasten to add that IF we have fashioned sudarshan kit for usage with 450/250/125 LB iron bombs it would be huge enhancement of IAF firepower but it would come at a huge cost. SDRE bean counters will not allow that :evil:

It is not 1000kg but 1000lb. India standardized on the 1000lb iron bomb for Sudarshan LGBs which is approx 450kg. I checked, no plans for integrating Sudarshan with 250kg (~500lb) or 118kg(250lb), I think Sudarshan would need to be redesigned for lower mass iron bombs (or a new variant)

The aft/tail fin kit would need to be reduced OTH bolting existing kit would give more range!

BTW the 118kg model from OFB page looks like WWII type and so forget it.

I was thinking of Kargil mtn tops which had those Paki NLI intruders.

As for costs its the doctrine which drives the costs. Thinking that LGBs are for point targets only leads to small numbers and then high unit costs.

The early Paveway once were expensive but cost effective int terms of overall ordnance/mission vs. to down a target. And once their utility was seen the doctrine changed and thus the costs went down.

ramana wrote:The aft/tail fin kit would need to be reduced OTH bolting existing kit would give more range!
As for costs its the doctrine which drives the costs. Thinking that LGBs are for point targets only leads to small numbers and then high unit costs.
IAF used 1000lb bombs with paveway kits in Kargil, this is still the standard for desi LGBs. (the current version of Sudarshan). If we perform the necessary surgery to the LGB kit to accommodate 500lb versions it would be a great enhancement in our firepower. Imagine a SU30MKI carrying 32x500KG LGBs raining havoc on a paki armoured formation in a staging area...

IMO we already have LGB kits developed for smaller dia's.

chackojoseph wrote:IMO we already have LGB kits developed for smaller dia's.
Great news, any pictures of these smaller devils? We should load four of these babies in a bomb rack and mate it onto a LCA, we probably can load four racks on a LCA, with room for two wvram for self defense.

Eurocopter ties up with Mahindra.

Eurocopter, a unit of European aerospace giant EADS, on Tuesday announced a collaboration with an Indian business group to jointly build helicopter spares, the companies said.

Mahindra Group and Eurocopter India, the local arm of the helicopter unit of the European Aeronautic Defence & Space group (EADS), said in a joint statement they had signed a memorandum of understanding for a new partnership."The partnership will be focused on manufacturing of sub-assemblies, engineering and customisation of civil helicopters and the joint development of specific market segments," the joint statement said.The "details of the scope and structure of the partnership will be decided in the coming months," it added.

Eurocopter last year said it hoped to pick up 50 percent of India's market share with the sale of 25 helicopters each year until 2015, with projected sales of more than 100 million euros ($138 million).Eurocopter is also back in the race to sell 197 helicopters to the Indian military.

In 2007 India scrapped Eurocopter's successful bid for the contract worth $600 million following allegations it violated an Indian ban on using middlemen in defence deals.The allegations were denied and Eurocopter re-bid for the contract after India floated fresh global tenders in 2008.

how well geo-thermal use can be put best to use by IA, for leh and ladak regions? are they part of the geo thermal belt?

India plans to buy military aids worth $100 billion
India plans to purchase military equipment, including fighter planes, warships, helicopters and artillery guns, worth $100 billion in the next ten years, which would make the country one of the world’s most lucrative arms markets.

The whopping purchase order would benefit the Indian defence industry in a big way because of the inflow of $30 billion (Rs I.5 lakh crore) as offset in the industry, officials informed the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Defence that submitted its report on Wednesday.

Under Offsets policy—a provision in the military procurement policy—if the government wants to purchase any military equipment worth more than Rs 300 crore, the supplier will have to re-invest 30 per cent of the contract amount in Indian defence, homeland security and aviation industry for the growth of the domestic industries.

Incidentally, while the 2005 policy envisages 30 per cent offset, the government hiked the its limits to 50 per cent in India’s biggest defence deal —$10.4 billion race to buy 126 medium multi-role combat aircraft.

The offset policy is in existence since 2005 and has been refined over the years now.
The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) had benefited from the offset policy in the recent past.

Offset amount

As India plans to buy 10 heavy-lift C-17 Globemaster aircraft from the US aviation major Boeing for Indian Air Force at a cost of $ 4.1 billion, the offset amount comes down to about $1 billion, which roughly translates to Rs 4500 crore.

Almost half of the offset amount—about $500 million—is being used to purchase equipment to set up a new high-altitude engine testing facility under the DRDO, which now goes abroad for such tests.

In addition, equipment worth $ 300 million are being brought to establish a new wind tunnel facility for testing missiles and fighter aircraft of the future, a defence ministry official informed the House panel.

at the end of that article there is a news about BDL acquiring 438 acres of land near Hyderabad for the Very Short Range Air Defense System (VSHORAD). is this the Akash air defense system or is it some thing different???

found this from google:
http://www.indian-military.org/tag/very ... fense.html
The Indian Ministry of Defense has opened bids for the tri-service purchase of Very Short Range Air Defense (VSHORAD) systems. The initial purchase is for 5185 units.

Five vendors have submitted bids for their products. Russian Rosoboron Export is fielding a version of the IGLA to compete with Thales and South Korea’s LIG Nex1.

But the real contest is expected to be between SAAB’s RBS-70 NG (Next Generation) system against MBDA’s Mistral. These two systems are said to have better integration between sensors and sights. Follow-on orders for the VSHORAD system could go up to 15,000 units.

The bids of the vendors will now be subjected to a paper evaluation to validate their qualifications with respect to the tender requirements, before field trials commence. The three services will be inducting specially configured systems for their requirements.
AdityaEngineer

Post by AdityaEngineer »

I have recently read about these guys starting procedure of Investment Casting (Vaccum Based) for manufacturing Blades looks bad even France started that during 1990's but these guys have started atleast .

Looks like the design is there but the industrial support, to make it happen, does not exist.

The "Kaveri" and this AESA are a bear. It does not look good. GoI needs to invest in local industries to help them grow.

This constant look out for partners will never bear fruits.

NRao wrote: This constant look out for partners will never bear fruits.
Also, there is no such thing as a partner. A partner is a competitor you concede to.

Almost half of the offset amount—about $500 million—is being used to purchase equipment to set up a new high-altitude engine testing facility under the DRDO, which now goes abroad for such tests.

In addition, equipment worth $ 300 million are being brought to establish a new wind tunnel facility for testing missiles and fighter aircraft of the future, a defence ministry official informed the House panel.
Excellent strategy. Bravo MoD and DRDO!

Wonderful.

As usual, we excell in building houses without a foundation.