This is a perfect example of how anything can become a narrative in the western media if it is useful. Need to prod Pakistan? Out comes the (reasonably factually based) appropriate article! Need to prod India? Write solely about Kashmir/humanrights/whatever!harbans wrote:Spate of honest articles on Porkistan has become now the norm in US media..
Huffington Post on Paki extra Judicial killings in BaluchistanAfter less than one year of independence from Britain, Balochistan was invaded and annexed by Pakistan in 1948, against the wishes of its people.
Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): June 30, 2011
Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): June 30, 2
Shiv:
And yes, you Pakis, we have a "dirty tricks department".
But, I don't know why we splutter and get het up when the Pakis say anything. I no longer have sympathy to spare. Besides, I find that most of their views humour me, rather than be taken seriously.
Which reminds me of an old adage:
I agree with you. We are horrid and very, very bad. And when we are bad, we are very very good.The right way forward is to take the attitude "We Indians are hardly good. We are dirty rapine rotters but we will take special pleasure in screwing you Pakis even if you are better than us. Your being better or worse is not the point. We are rotters so will will screw you. You should enjoy that. It proves your point that we are rotters doesn't it"
And yes, you Pakis, we have a "dirty tricks department".
But, I don't know why we splutter and get het up when the Pakis say anything. I no longer have sympathy to spare. Besides, I find that most of their views humour me, rather than be taken seriously.
Which reminds me of an old adage:
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level , and beat you with experience.![]()
Last edited by rajanb on 10 Jul 2011 12:17, edited 1 time in total.
^ What Indians need is to be confident enough to simply not care. Whatever flaws we have, we have strengths x 100, and that is enough. There is no reason to hyperventilate at others' narrow-mindedness. We are on solid foundation of dharma, Poakis and whoever else are not, that is all, deal with it.
harbans >>
my assumption based on the description as "ex-ICC chief", is that it is Ehsan Mani, who was the ICC chief till about 2006.Unless i missed it out, could'nt see who the interviewer is talking to.
GOTUS is pressing for posting of Security Liaison Officers in every TSPA's Corps HQ( earlier times there use to be military advisors now SLOs congrats TSPians for taking it one step further , i think its time TSPA Jernails are made to hear Shri. ABVjee's speech about pitfalls of US Forces in our neighbourhood again & again till there's a Military Advisor with every TSPA battallion
) . Cool breeze of Dilli says it started with Quetta Corps HQ & Peshawar Corp HQ but no ''official'' news if its still on or not .In pain from Unkil's D*** TSPA offering SLOs in Corps HQs facing A'stan beyond tht Kiyani threatening to resign
. News of suspending aid money to TSP to press GHQ Pindi to agree eventually we all know for a price wh*** will do extra
GHQ Pindi won't be same as b4 . Its matter of time b4 GOTUS has its way . This is biggest of all screws . Three big events :
1) Unkil's leverage will increase only thnxx to withdrawal of troops allowing levels sufficient for being pain in a** of A'stan neighbours tht's wht Great Game all about , doesn't matter who has biggest tool wht matters is who is in the best place( A'stan ) to use his/ her tool
2) 3 years down the road SLOs in place at every TSPA Corps HQ at minimum .Will be very surprise should that not happen .
3) PRC's presence in PoK , IA running against time for The Event , GoI only waking up now but agree to put capability in place for eventual showdown . Need to get back our land b4 Unkil & Panda declare PoK independent .IA confident GoI too sees the writing on wall but like dilli neeti delay as long as we can but yes preparations on at Delhi's Metro's speed in peak hours with usual technical breakdowns ( u can't blame dilli babus for not trying though
).
TSPA's independent operational capability post OBL raid gone with wind no such thing exist Unkil talking .

GHQ Pindi won't be same as b4 . Its matter of time b4 GOTUS has its way . This is biggest of all screws . Three big events :
1) Unkil's leverage will increase only thnxx to withdrawal of troops allowing levels sufficient for being pain in a** of A'stan neighbours tht's wht Great Game all about , doesn't matter who has biggest tool wht matters is who is in the best place( A'stan ) to use his/ her tool

2) 3 years down the road SLOs in place at every TSPA Corps HQ at minimum .Will be very surprise should that not happen .
3) PRC's presence in PoK , IA running against time for The Event , GoI only waking up now but agree to put capability in place for eventual showdown . Need to get back our land b4 Unkil & Panda declare PoK independent .IA confident GoI too sees the writing on wall but like dilli neeti delay as long as we can but yes preparations on at Delhi's Metro's speed in peak hours with usual technical breakdowns ( u can't blame dilli babus for not trying though

TSPA's independent operational capability post OBL raid gone with wind no such thing exist Unkil talking .
Goliyon ki baarish ke baad , mausami baarish kab shuru hogi ?
After the rain of bullets , when does the seasonal rain start ?

Prem wrote:The "strategic defeat" of Al-Qaeda is "within reach", US Defence Secretary Leon Panetta said Saturday "10 to 20" key Al-Qaeda targets had been identified between Pakistan, Yemen, Somalia and north Africa.He said:US Defence Secretary Leon Panetta has alleged Qaeda's new chief al-Zawahiri is in Pak tribal area.
Paki's lawless tribal areas seem to be virtually the whole country...most AQ/Telebunnies are getting caught/killed in Pindi/lahore/Karachi/Peshawar etc rather than FATA. Ilyas Kashmiri getting hit in South Wazaristan is more an exception than the rule. If Khan has his sights fixed on Al-Zawahiri, he is as good as dead, it will help Khan arm-twist MO and strike a good deal for Khan!!!
RAPE have been rushing head over heals to please uncle all these years to get some crumbs... they remind me of poor distant relatives trying to please you when you visit them (for a wedding or to visit titular deity) hoping to score some brownie points and some hard cash from you. Uncle has probably GUBOd long and hard and way too many times that it is starting to hurt the RAPEs. Telebunnies have also started squeezing their balls and all this is making them squirm... Pakees are losing their cool, interesting times ahead of us.Prem wrote:US wants to weaken Pakistan...
“This whole reporting through media, quoting unnamed officials, anonymous sources, is part of a design to undermine the authority and the power of the organisation in order to weaken the state,” Abbas said.
Pakistan capable of capturing multi-trillion nuclear energy market : Defence Anal-yst

Pakistan has a significant role in the new nuclear order and it should fully prepare itself to capture $ 3 trillion nuclear energy market in years ahead. “Only nine countries including Pakistan have the capability to contribute to nuclear energy needs of 122 countries which would solely depend on atomic energy in view of severe oil shortage in year 2018,” Renowned Defence Anal-yst and Director of South Asian Strategic Stability Institute, Dr. Maria Sultan said here on Saturday.
Wow! Seven years, huh? Time to build my bunker in the Adirondacks and top off the oil storage tanks. Thank you, paki lady, for the heads up.James B wrote:Pakistan capable of capturing multi-trillion nuclear energy market : Defence Anal-yst...energy needs of 122 countries which would solely depend on atomic energy in view of severe oil shortage in year 2018,” Dr. Maria Sultan said here on Saturday.
UBanerjee
>>What Indians need is to be confident enough to simply not care.
Absolutely right. Their opinions, good or bad, does not matter other than to the extent that it can be translated into action, and then we simply judge the actions by their merit or otherwise...
>>What Indians need is to be confident enough to simply not care.
Absolutely right. Their opinions, good or bad, does not matter other than to the extent that it can be translated into action, and then we simply judge the actions by their merit or otherwise...
Pakistan capable of capturing multi-billion Pakeezah market!: Fence Analyst
Pakistan asks US to share al-Zawahiri intel
Yeah, right! What was that which Bush, Jr. said so eloquently? "fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can't get fooled again". Something like that.Pakistan asked the United States on Sunday to share “actionable intelligence” about Al-Qaeda’s new chief Ayman al-Zawahiri and other high value targets.
If Pakistan is enriching Uranium - one possibility is that they store some of it as 5% or 20% enriched. That would enable them to sell it for nuclear power generation at high prices.James B wrote:Pakistan capable of capturing multi-trillion nuclear energy market : Defence Anal-yst![]()
![]()
Pakistan has a significant role in the new nuclear order and it should fully prepare itself to capture $ 3 trillion nuclear energy market in years ahead. “Only nine countries including Pakistan have the capability to contribute to nuclear energy needs of 122 countries which would solely depend on atomic energy in view of severe oil shortage in year 2018,” Renowned Defence Anal-yst and Director of South Asian Strategic Stability Institute, Dr. Maria Sultan said here on Saturday.
The no brain Defence Anal-ystJames B wrote:Pakistan capable of capturing multi-trillion nuclear energy market : Defence Anal-yst![]()
![]()

From the nutty nation
US plans Jewish state in Indian-held Kashmir
Replace peekay with pk
US plans Jewish state in Indian-held Kashmir

http://nation.com.peekay/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Regional/Lahore/10-Jul-2011/US-plans-Jewish-state-in-IHKThe CIA planned to create rift among the Army, other sensitive departments and the political forces in Pakistan to establish another Jewish state in the Indian-held Kashmir. According to the design, the international aid-backed non-government organisations are in action to implement the plan of strengthening Indian lobby in Balochistan and establishing another Israeli state in IHK., which would eye Pakistan and China.
Replace peekay with pk
James B wrote:Pakistan capable of capturing multi-trillion nuclear energy market : Defence Anal-yst![]()
![]()
How insane can some one possibly get. I can't believe that such a person even exists .
What's that insanely red glow on their faces?Rony wrote:
US suspends $800m of military aid to Pakistan
The US says it is withholding some $800m of military aid to Pakistan.
White House Chief of Staff Bill Daley told ABC's This Week programme that Pakistan had "taken some steps that have given us reason to pause on some of the aid".
How long do u guys think is this 'cutting off aid' going to last?
6 months at the max........
Pakis say that this is no big problem. They have a backup set of teats available to latch on to:
With U.S. military aid cut, Pakistan eyes China
http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-503543_162- ... 03543.html
ISLAMABAD - Pakistan's increasingly "close and effective defense ties" established with China during the past decade will allow Islamabad to "fill the gap" arising from the prospect of reduced military aid from the United States, a senior Pakistani official said on Sunday after reports emerged of cuts of up to $800 million in U.S. aid.
Amid tense relations with the United States, Pakistan officials have increasingly pointed towards Beijing as the country's natural ally, offering the possibility of becoming at least a half-substitute to ties with the U.S.
On Sunday, the senior Pakistani official who spoke to CBS News on condition of anonymity following the Times report said, "This tightening of U.S. military aid was expected. That's where our long-term relations with China will help to meet this gap."
Please read my posts in this and the earlier thread. I repeat "just sit back and enjoy the show".
Beware of the cornered rat; usually it should be given a escape route. But in this case we do not want that. So while we provide help in the cornering, let us not be a part of the inner ring. And oh, time to prepare for the bigger game. We are in for some very interesting times !!
neat
let the Chinese pour in their ill gotten wealth in Paki dung heap
http://www.rediff.com/news/report/huji- ... 110710.htmThe Al Qaeda-linked terror group Harkat-ul-Jihad al-Islami has threatened to attack Pakistan's foreign office, its high commission in India and top diplomats if Islamabad does not stop sharing information about it with New Delhi, according to a media report on Sunday.
Why so in India HuJI? Attack them in Pakistan itself. If India thinks this is possible, why not close the Paki embassy. Why not the Paki embassy in US or UK? Or is the ISI priming up for a false flag thing on the Indian embassy in Isloo? Reminds me of a letter released after the attack on the SL team (supposedly written before the attack happened). Complete ISI tactical brilliance written all over.
Rajiv Ji,
I am too juniar a member to understand the cryptic comments you make. But, would I be correct in assuming that a huge pain in the neck is about to get better, if not heal completely, correct?
jrjrao wrote:Pakis say that this is no big problem. They have a backup set of teats available to latch on to:
http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-503543_162- ... 03543.htmlISLAMABAD - Pakistan's increasingly "close and effective defense ties" established with China during the past decade will allow Islamabad to "fill the gap" arising from the prospect of reduced military aid from the United States, a senior Pakistani official said on Sunday after reports emerged of cuts of up to $800 million in U.S. aid.
Amid tense relations with the United States, Pakistan officials have increasingly pointed towards Beijing as the country's natural ally, offering the possibility of becoming at least a half-substitute to ties with the U.S.
On Sunday, the senior Pakistani official who spoke to CBS News on condition of anonymity following the Times report said, "This tightening of U.S. military aid was expected. That's where our long-term relations with China will help to meet this gap."
chinese could cough up. They have been wasting there money on infra projects that are unlikely to yield return . They might as well give to tsp

Suryaji,Surya wrote:neat
No one, but no one gives money like Sher Khan. Pukistan under Chinese money will be a drab country like North Korea. The Jernails and the Kernails will not like that at all. It will be like being high on free drugs for years, and then going suddenly cold turkey.
Even though I don't think this cut off aid thingy will last very long still one can hope.
Chinese are penny pinchers , it'll be fascinating to see Pakis begging china for $$$ and china handing them just enough rice and noodles to survive.
http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/07/ ... SM20110709
Paki general,army mouthpiece rants at the NYT article,saying that the ISI is Pak's "first line of defence and a strategic asset".The US media and journos will now be fair game for the ISI's diabolic terror operatives.
Xcpt:
Paki general,army mouthpiece rants at the NYT article,saying that the ISI is Pak's "first line of defence and a strategic asset".The US media and journos will now be fair game for the ISI's diabolic terror operatives.
Xcpt:
Sat, Jul 9 2011
Pakistan army says New York Times report is a "direct attack"
By Sheree Sardar
RAWALPINDI, Pakistan | Sat Jul 9, 2011
(Reuters) - Reports in the New York Times criticizing the Pakistan army and the powerful intelligence agency is a "direct attack" on Pakistan's security, the army spokesman said on Saturday.
Major General Athar Abbas, the Pakistan army's chief spokesman, repeatedly criticized the Times' reporting and said it was part of a calculated plan by "unnamed officials" to "weaken the state."
"This is a direct attack on our security organization and intelligence agencies," he told Reuters in a rare on-the-record in-person interview. "We consider ISI as a strategic intelligence organization, the first line of our defense."
The U.S.-Pakistan relationship has been on a downward spiral since last year, but the decline accelerated after the killing of two Pakistanis by a CIA contractor in Lahore in January and the U.S. raid to kill Osama bin Laden, which Pakistan complains it was not told about and says was a breach of its sovereignty.
Abbas was responding specifically to a July 8 editorial that said there was evidence of complicity by the ISI intelligence agency in sheltering bin Laden, of ties to the 2008 Mumbai attacks that killed 166 people and of involvement in the abduction and murder of Asia Times Online journalist Saleem Shahzad.
Speculation onlee. Unkil wants Pasha's head for something he did. Probably not SSS murder, but for his karname at Abbottabad. Demand for his removal was made quite explicitly in NYTimes editorial.
US won't let PRC enter too deep. Af-Pak is just too important. US will rachet up the pressure on Pak. Financially TSPA will be fine - which is probably why they are making some gung ho moves. US will tie the noose on the top guys, it has plenty of levers - Af-Pak, 26/11, Balochistan, AQ intel and much much more.
We won't say 'Yes Boss' to US blindly: Pakistan PM
http://www.rediff.com/news/report/we-wo ... 110710.htm
Pakistan Prime Minister Sarra Galla Gilani [ Images ] has declared that his government will not follow the past rulers' policy of saying 'Yes Boss' to the United States on every matter.
Talking to the Lahore [ Images ] Press Club's governing body members, Gilani said that his government has resolved to never let anybody hurt national interests.
"The government is guarding supreme national interests in having diplomatic relations with other countries, including the US. Like past rulers, nobody should expect us to say 'Yes Boss' to America, and bow to any foreign pressure, since we will not go against Pakistan's interests," the prime minister vowed.
The Chinese have been in selectively deep relationship with Pakistan already. But, the Generals, politicians and the Bureaucrats do not personally benefit from Chinese association as much as they would with American assistance. Besides, these groups of people want to send their children to the US and other Western countries and would prefer to settle down there as well given a chance, not in Shanghai or Beijing. The obsession with the unattainable goal of defeating India has made Pakistan a slave of two masters one of which has directly and indirectly helped bring terror, religious fundamentalism and ruin to visit their country and the other is waiting to suck them dry.
SS:
This aid cut off BS feel is a short-term gimmick. Its just to get the Paki generals to gubo as US demands them to. The US-TSP love fest is too important to both: India. Also, did you notice from the NYT report that there is no cut off of India specific F-solas. So TSP's H&D is not dented that much.
Absolutely. China is unlikely to replace the USA in an exact 1:1 way. The Pakistani elite are America lovers (who would not love America if you are in America and wealthy?). Pakistan. like India is a place where English is spoken easily by the elite and has been the language of higher education and diplomacy. Almost any educated Paki can slot into the US easily, but teh language hurdle is a big one in China.SSridhar wrote:The Chinese have been in selectively deep relationship with Pakistan already. But, the Generals, politicians and the Bureaucrats do not personally benefit from Chinese association as much as they would with American assistance. Besides, these groups of people want to send their children to the US and other Western countries and would prefer to settle down there as well given a chance, not in Shanghai or Beijing. The obsession with the unattainable goal of defeating India has made Pakistan a slave of two masters one of which has directly and indirectly helped bring terror, religious fundamentalism and ruin to visit their country and the other is waiting to suck them dry.
In addition the US has, for decades had a system of funding and arming "allies" that made people very rich very quickly. Having been involved with Pakistan since the 1950s - the US has developed deep connections with Pakis. What this means (as a hypothetical example) is that when the US gives $1 billion in aid - and say 200 million is poured into the purchase of AMRAAMs, some Paki generals will get $ 1 million or more, and others will get "easy visas" that enable them and their children to go to the US and study in universities there. China does not directly hand Pakistan that $1 billion. It does give material aid - aircraft, Uranium, nukes etc - but because of the culture/language barrier no Paki can be really happy about sending his son to Shanghai university where the wimmens do not allow themselves to be molested by Pakis as in America.
As I see it the US says "You be our whore and you can have a fun time apart from getting what you want". China says "You whoristanis will get paid, but don't expect such a fun time in addition to payment.l"
IMO, the more interesting Q is not the intent or the extent of such transparent manipulation but the first and second derivatives of its impact factor with each passing quarter only. I suspect there's diminishing returns coming into play. Such hectoring bullied many a babu, baba and neta 10 years ago but are they able to do the same with equal facility now? Jury's out on that one.UBanerjee wrote: Huffington Post on Paki extra Judicial killings in Baluchistan
This is a perfect example of how anything can become a narrative in the western media if it is useful. Need to prod Pakistan? Out comes the (reasonably factually based) appropriate article! Need to prod India? Write solely about Kashmir/humanrights/whatever!
/Of course, by storing their ill-gotten black monies abroad, Indian polity's given 'em phoreners a big lever to twist against India but that's another tale.
With regard to Pak, its clear that the NYT type exposes are having ever lower effects on the hearts, minds and balls of the Pak establishment. How many such exposes and political demarches has Pak seen in the past 1 year alone? Khan's cranking up inputs and effort bigtime on its part but has precious little output from Pak to show for it.
From a Pakistani brigadier
The Quranic Concept of War, by Brigadier General S. K. Malik of the Pakistani Army provides readers with unequalled insight. Originally published in Pakistan in 1979, most available copies are found in India, or in small non-descript Muslim bookstores.
The Nature of War
Strike Terror into their Hearts
Malik uses examples to demonstrate that Allah will strike “terror into the hearts of Unbelievers.” At this point he begins to develop his most controversial and conjectural Quranic theory related to warfare—the role of terror. Readers need to understand that the author is thinking and writing in strategic terms, not in the vernacular of battles or engagements. Malik continues, “when God wishes to impose His will on his enemies, He chooses to do so by casting terror into their hearts.”
He cites another verse, “against them make ready your strength to the utmost of your power, including
steeds of war, to strike terror into (the hearts) of the enemies of Allah . . . .” Malik’s strategic synthesis is specific: “the Quranic military strategy thus enjoins us to prepare ourselves for war to the utmost in order to strike terror into the hearts of the enemies, known or hidden, while guarding ourselves from being terror-stricken by the enemy.”Terror is an effect; the end-state. ...
“Respect” therefore is achieved psychologically by, as Brohi suggested earlier, “beautiful” and “handsome ways” or by the strategic application of terror. When examining the theme of the preparatory stage of war, Malik talks of
the “war of preparation being waged . . . in peace,” meaning that peacetime preparatory activities are in fact part of any war and “vastly more important than the active war.” This statement should not be taken lightly, it essentially means that Islam is in a perpetual state of war while peace can only be defined as the absence of active war.
Malik argues that peace-time training efforts should be oriented on the active war(s) to come, in order to develop the Quranic and divine “Will” in the mujahid. When armies and soldiers find limited physical resources they should continue and emphasize the development of the “spiritual resources” as these are complimentary factors
and create synergy for future military action.
Malik’s most controversial dictum is summarized in the following manner: in war, “the point where the means and the end meet” is in terror. He formulates terror as an objective principal of war; once terror is achieved the enemy reaches his culminating point. “Terror is not a means of imposing decision upon the enemy; it is the decision we wish to impose . . . .” Malik’s divine principal of Islamic warfare may be restated as “strike terror; never feel terror.” The ultimate objective of this form of warfare “revolves around the human heart, [the enemies] soul, spirit, and Faith.”
Terror “can be instilled only if the opponent’s Faith is destroyed . . . . It is essential in the ultimate analysis, to dislocate [the enemies] Faith.” Those who are firm in their religious conviction are immune to terror, “a weak Faith offers inroads to terror.” Therefore, as part of preparations for jihad, actions will be oriented on weakening the non-Islamic’s “Faith,” while strengthening the Islamic’s. What that weakening or “dislocation” entails in practice remains
ambiguous. Malik concludes, “Psychological dislocation is temporary; spiritual dislocation is permanent.” The soul of man can only be touched by terror. ...
No actually Mr. Zardari, we play by OUR rules...
http://www.synthstuff.com/mt/archives/i ... rules.html
President Barack Obama's chief of staff, William Daley, said in a broadcast interview Sunday that the estranged relationship between the United States and Pakistan must be made “to work over time,” but until it does, “we'll hold back some of the money that the American taxpayers are committed to give” to the country's powerful military forces.
A bit more — Mullen is Adm. Mike Mullen, chairman of the U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff:
George Perkovich, an expert on Pakistan with the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace in Washington, said Mullen's comments and the suspension of aid represent “the end of happy talk,” where the U.S. tries to paper over differences between the two nations.
“end of happy talk” indeed — we knew what we were dealing with there and we never should have opened with happy talk. That culture only respects strength and for us to “paper over differences” is in their eyes weakness and appeasement. They were taking everything they could and laughing at us behind our backs.
Looks like someone has finally found a pair.
Why has terror all but dried up in India? The peaks of 2008 have never been reached. We have had terror attacks and infiltration bids since 26/11 - the attacks have a separate thread on the forum, but the numbers are "subdued"
Is it chai biskoot/Aman ki tamasha that has reduced the number?
It it US pressure?
Is there a "change of mindset" in Pakistan?
Of course there are "14,000 LeT terrorists" waiting to cross into India. What are they waiting for?
Is it chai biskoot/Aman ki tamasha that has reduced the number?
It it US pressure?
Is there a "change of mindset" in Pakistan?
Of course there are "14,000 LeT terrorists" waiting to cross into India. What are they waiting for?