Serial Blasts in Mumbai

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai

Carl wrote:
shiv wrote:We (India) have our balls in a bind. We can only express anger. We cannot actually do anything simply because Pakistan (with its ally the US) has put us in a situation where starting a war benefits the Pakistani army and its non uniformed jihadi allies. We can only gnash our teeth in frustration. The Paki army will claim that "non state actors" cannot be controlled in the absence of funds from the US. So far the US has always paid them.
Why isn't the Non State Actor BS a game that two can play?

We can also have our Non State Actors do a bit of damage every now and then to RAPE infrastructure inside TSP, or terror tanzeem offices, or national landmarks. Then when TSP does an == blame game about Indian Pak-specific terror outfits, Chidambaram can open his dossiers to investigate our bad boys.
Carl, should we advertise it?
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

Bhaskar wrote:INVADE POK... Call me crazy, but its time!
Crazy.

Covert support for BLA now !!

-M

the state is not going to do anything, nor is it setup to do anything. only individuals like tukaram omble can actually catch the perpetrators. our genius has mostly been individual, and barely ever collective or systemic.

shiv, i'm not talking above others. i'm also in the same boat.
saadhak

Post by saadhak »

So 3 blasts in 8 minutes -- 6:55 (Zaveri Bazaar), 6:59 (Dadar W), 7:03 (Opera House). Different reports of the explosives hidden. I am hearing tiffin box, scooter, car (white wagonR), umbrella, behind a hoarding, electronic meter.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In a significant statement, foreign secretary Nirupama Rao has said that the “prism” through which Pakistan sees terrorism “has definitely been altered”.

When asked during a TV channel interview whether there has been a change in Pakistan’s attitude, Rao said: “I think the prism through which they see this issue (terrorism) has definitely been altered… I see that as an outcome that we must take note of, that we must take cognisance of"
Wonder what she must be thinking about this recent statement of hers.
Can we take cognisance that it was wrong to take cognisance of 'the prism through which they see terrorism'? :roll:
Can we take cognisance of the age-old saying about a dog's tail?'

I will post my analysis after reading the articles

IB talking:
All articles by Vicky Nanjappa.

An expert bomb maker and home grown Jihad
Posted on July 13, 2011 by Vicky Nanjappa

It is home grown Jihjad with the help of an external hand which helped assemble the bomb. Investigations show that the bombs assembled for the serial blasts were done by a professional. With the top bomb makers of the Indian Mujahideen under custody in various police stations across the country, the investigators are examining the possibility of a bomb maker from outside the country being involved in this attack.

The Indian Mujahideen-Lashkar-e-Tayiba link appears to be the strongest as of now since all leads at the moment point towards the two outfits. Indian investigators are examining the possibility of an external hand in these blasts since a couple of incidents in the past have been flop shows for the Indian Mujahideen.

The IM had at least ten experts in preparing the bombs. While a couple of them are away from the country the rest happen to be in custody. The IM on the past couple of ocassions had always got the making of the bombs wrong. A careful examination of the recent spate of attacks go on to show that the bomb maker had gone wrong while placing the detonators. In all the past instances at Old Delhi and also outside the Delhi High Court, investigations and forensics have shown that the detonator had malfunctioned. This has led the investigators to believe that a man from outside could have been roped in to assemble the bombs to carry out this attack.

All possible angles are being probed at the moment a source in the police department said. The material used for the blasts will be sent for forensic examination and this will help determine many more aspects to the bomb. At the moment while looking at the explosions it becomes clear that the attack was a coordinated one and the attack was carried out by a set of professionals.

Looking at the cadres of the IM at the moment, it is clear that they have sought the help of some persons from outside to carry out this attack, investigators also add while continuing investigations into the case.
Blasts despite the alert

Photo courtesy: TOI

As the investigations into the serial blasts progress, it becomes clear that the police were caught napping despite warnings and alerts from the Intelligence Bureau over the past couple of months.

Intelligence Bureau intercepts go on to suggest that the Indian Mujahideen has been making desperate attempts to strike back. First they made an attempt just before the Common Wealth Games and then an attempt was made at Varanasi. The most recent one was at the Delhi High Court. In all these cases the explosions were of low intensity. Barring the Varanasi blasts in all other incidents the detonators had malfunctioned, but today they seem to have got it right.

The Mahatashtra ATS has always been the target of the Indian Mujhahideen and there have been blasts everytime there have been arrests made. The most recent were two arrests of Indian Mujahideen cadres who were involved in the Gujarat blasts. Guaging by the mails that the IM had sent out in the past, the ATS has always been spoken about. The IB had warned that security should be at an unprecedented high following the arrest of any Indian Mujahideen cadre.

However this does not appear to be an immediate retaliatory measure and the planning was on for a couple of months since the attacks were not hurriedly executed. It just appears that they have timed it to retaliate against the recent spate of attacks, the IB adds.

The intelligence bureau does not rule out more such attacks and adds that this is the time that the outfit has been trying to re-group and hence would look to announce its return by carrying out such brazen attacks.

There have been indications that in the past couple of weeks about a possible terror strike and the police too had been warned about the same. Although routine checks and balances were in place, the police have been caught unawares by the entry and exit of certain fringe elements of the IM into the city.

The other targets that security agencies have been speaking about are Delhi and Bangalore. There is unprecedented security at the moment in these places and the entry and exit of all persons is being closely monitored.
LeT angle being probed

Intelligence Bureau officials are not ruling out a Lashkar-e-Tayiba hand behind the attack. Sources in the IB said that while this blast bears the signature of the Indian Mujahideen, they could have very well got the help of the Lashkar to execute this attack.

The city is filled with several of their sleeper cells and some fringe elements of the IM continue to be active here, the IB says. While the IM locals could have worked out the logistics, material and financial support could have been provided by the modules of the Lashkar. However it is not necessary that the local Lashkar modules or the IM modules in the city could have executed the attack. We are examining the southern, UP and also the Delhi modules who could have carried out this attack, IB sources also add.

Both these outfits have been looking to carry out attacks in the city. There are many reasons for this. The main retailiation is because they believe that the Maharashtra ATS had played a primary role in busting a large part of the IM. Moreover the Lashkar too has a similar complaint since post 26/11 there have been many raids within the city and surrounding areas which have led their modules to be busted, the IB also adds.

The blasts appear to be carried out to send across a strong signal. There is the Indo-Pak talks also which one has to bear in mind. The country has witnessed similar incidents in the back drop of such talks and this one is no different, investigating agencies point out. The day has also been chosen carefully and we believe that they have been trying to make a statement since it incidentally happens to be the birthday of Ajmal Kasab. Although there is no major significance in the same, they do like to make their attacks memorable which again is true of the Indian Mujahideen which has brash operatives who like to throw open a challenge.

Blasts on Kasab’s birthday

July 13 incidentally is the birth date of Ajmal Kasab, the man convicted for the horrific 26/11 attack. The blasts today ironically occurred on the same date as his birthday and investigating agencies are also studying whether this blast was carried out to co incide with his birthday.

We cannot say anything about that said an investigating officer. It could be connected and terrorists are into the habit of carrying out attacks on such dates with an intention of sending out a message, an IB source said.

Kasab who is facing a death penalty was born on July 13 1987.
Terror attack carefully planned

Investigators who are looking for leads into this case say that this was a planned attack and has been planned over a couple of months. The targets have been chosen carefully. Not only are these areas sensitive in nature, but they are crowded too thus making it a perfect spot for terrorists to strike.

Looking at the manner in which these blasts have been planned, it becomes clear that the intention of the terrorist group was not to create a scare, but to create major damage. It also becomes clear that the terrorist group had planned on carrying out an attack in a crowded place and have even chosen the evening time to carry out this attack.

Sources in the intelligence bureau say that the attack has been planned out and carefully executed. Groups such as the Indian Mujahideen have been waiting to carry out a strike and their fringe elements are still out on the run who could have executed this attack. We are picking up leads from the eye witnesses and it is still very early to come to any definitive conclusion regarding the same.
Serial blasts again

The serial blasts have been confirmed as terror attacks according to the Intelligence Bureau. The Home Ministry while confirming the same has declared a red alert across the nation.

A team of the Intelligence Bureau which is examining the case says that it is too early to determine as to who is behind this blast. However we are examining the Indian Mujahideen angle, IB sources also add.

Preliminary investigations have revealed that 7 IEDs were used and the explosive device was wrapped in cloth bags and tiffin carriers. This bears the signature of the Indian Mujahideen, a member of the NIA who is also investigating the case says.

The entire nation has been put on high alert following this attack. These groups may try and trigger off similar blasts in other parts of the country and hence all police stations have been put on high alert, IB sources also add.

rajanb wrote: Carl, should we advertise it?
We are not doing anything. Lets cut out the pipe dream. The conditions that are available to Pakistan in terms of carrying out covert strikes in India are not available to us.

We are not doing anything like this, and neither can we.

This whole idea is nothing but a pacifier.

rajanb wrote:
Carl wrote:Why isn't the Non State Actor BS a game that two can play?

We can also have our Non State Actors do a bit of damage every now and then to RAPE infrastructure inside TSP, or terror tanzeem offices, or national landmarks. Then when TSP does an == blame game about Indian Pak-specific terror outfits, Chidambaram can open his dossiers to investigate our bad boys.
Carl, should we advertise it?
No, but the Non State Actors certainly could advertize themselves. That proxy advertisement is important psy-ops.

One way people can act is to start opposing politicians with D-Company links. If the BRD/AH agitation has shown, people do care.
We all talk about striking fear in the heart of TSP. What Indians first need to do is to strike fear in the heart of D-Company conspirators. How law abiding citizens can do that is of course a different issue altogether.

Naw Bhaskar. We should choose our time and place. The last time was 1971. And the US intervened. Its again the naive US which is in our way.

The art of succesful war, is to chose our time, our place, and in conditions favourable to us.

Can't. Since the Chinese there won't let us.
shiv wrote:I have said several times in the past that we can never thank or appreciate the security apparatus enough for attacks that are prevented. If no attack occurs whom do you thank? But when an attack occurs we are constrained to find someone to blame.
I have always believed, every day we don't have a 26/11 or blasts like these, we owe a big thank you to all our intelligence/security agencies.

I had posted a article (2 years back?) about Narayan Rane having Chai-biskoot with a esteemed member of certain community who was supposedly AWOL for charges of rioting and sheltering "miscreants"

With photos and all.

Why do you guys act all surprised?

rajanb wrote: Carl, should we advertise it?
We are not doing anything. Lets cut out the pipe dream. The conditions that are available to Pakistan in terms of carrying out covert strikes in India are not available to us.

We are not doing anything like this, and neither can we.

This whole idea is nothing but a pacifier.
Sorry. I do not smoke pipes or hash, my friend.

Someone was so pissed off here that he said the Congis need not be blamed for whatever things happened and this is not the time to point fingers. But my dear friend, why not? If this is not the failure of Congress govt then whose fault is this. My fault or the people of India's fault that we kept voting for a party for almost 85 percent of the time in Independent India's history. Where has this party taken India and Indians. To a level where it's spokesperson admires terrorists like Osama. He's still in the party. Not kicked out from the party. What does that say of this party? A terrorist party ruling India? A party that has no responsiblity towards ordinary Indian citizen except in slogans? A party that let go hardcore criminals meant to be hanged to death because it feel more aligned with those criminals and terrorists rather than ordinary citizens of this country. Where human rights means the rights of terrorists and not of the man and women who get killed on the streets. The rights of the likes of Ajmal Kasab who can eat good food and live under a shelter with full protection, while a poor Indian may not have a one time meal a day. A party that destroys food meant for the poor by letting it rot and let thousands die of hunger. Such callous attitude towards serious matters. Such a mocking attitude towards the citizen of this country. And above all calls itself secular while its leaders staunchly support fundamentalist religion and fundamentalist ideologies. Such a party that has no ideology of itself except to loot the state through corruption. Allow the citizens to die like cockroaches and we are not supposed to even criticize it. Hell with criticism, you must be thankful to the citizens of this country that they have a lot of patience. The beating with chappal stage is already passed. Every patience will one day break and on that day... God knows what will happen.

Call me a desh-drohi (traitor) or whatever!
But, as Shivji mentioned earlier...that US is paying Pak not to attack India....now, that they are gone....maybe we Indians should pay pak
Cancel MMRCA and pay off those billions as protection money....

Dmurphy wrote:I have always believed, every day we don't have a 26/11 or blasts like these, we owe a big thank you to all our intelligence/security agencies.
Fundamental, we are setting sterling new standards of acceptability nay goodness on this thread.

Yeah, lets be thankful that not all of us are killed together, only slowly slowly.

rajanb wrote: Sorry. I do not smoke pipes or hash, my friend.
Then kindly do not make Sharm-e-Sheik type of statements.

derkonig wrote:Perhaps we need to the look at the 25 crores of pissful minorities living in India, there are enough Paki wannabes and traitors in our own house, not every terror attacke has to be orchestrated by Pak. Traitors have a critical mass right here in India now.
The need of the hour is the cleansing of this land of evil idealogies. Pak and rest of the world can wait.
+100

uddu: You can blame the Kangress all you want and I will agree with you, to a point though. The opposition has not been effective either when they were in power. Where was the will to attack when the Indian Airlines airliner was highjacked in 1999 or when Parliament was attacked in 2001? What did we do then? Capitulate and surrender. Pakistan has got us by the balls (oh I am sorry...we don't have any) and they know it.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

When will India start looking for a chance to hit back, there are so many lost opportunities. Seriously,inaction should not become the only policy in such times, as it leads to development of cold feet and so on,military loses its enthusiasm,people in general remain dis-satisfied, and nothing happens, and we wait for the next news headline.

Carl wrote:No, but the Non State Actors certainly could advertize themselves. That proxy advertisement is important psy-ops.
There aren't any non-state actors. Don't tell me you fell for that line by the Pakis? :eek:

Unkil or Ru or China never advertise. Raymond Davis got caught!

rajanb wrote: Sorry. I do not smoke pipes or hash, my friend.
Then kindly do not make Sharm-e-Sheik type of statements.
I haven't. But it is entirely my pleasure if you wish to believe what you believe. But you are doing an injustice to the thousands of unamed people who put their life on the line for us.

Rakesh wrote:uddu: You can blame the Kangress all you want and I will agree with you, to a point though. The opposition has not been effective either when they were in power. Where was the will to attack when the Indian Airlines airliner was highjacked in 1999 or when Parliament was attacked in 2001? What did we do then? Capitulate and surrender. Pakistan has got us by the balls and they know it.
Rakesh, not supporting the BJP. I know there are many idiots in that party as well. But they have not stooped to a level like Congress. That they have not supported terrorists openly. Dont' call fundamentalists as religious minorities. What the congress has done and is doing in the name of religion has done a lot of harm by dividing the people of this country. And a party that ruled us for such a long time has not taken us to any good position even after decades of rule. It's surely the failure of the congress. It failed miserably and let the Indian nation pay for their mistakes.

Rakesh wrote:Where was the will to attack when the Indian Airlines airliner was highjacked in 1999 or when Parliament was attacked in 2001? What did we do then? Capitulate and surrender.
And how about Parakram and pacification of Kashmir.

Lets not play == and give people a free run please.
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

-- del --
Last edited by Rajiv Lather on 13 Jul 2011 22:34, edited 1 time in total.

uddu wrote:
Rakesh wrote:uddu: You can blame the Kangress all you want and I will agree with you, to a point though. The opposition has not been effective either when they were in power. Where was the will to attack when the Indian Airlines airliner was highjacked in 1999 or when Parliament was attacked in 2001? What did we do then? Capitulate and surrender. Pakistan has got us by the balls and they know it.
Rakesh, not supporting the BJP. I know there are many idiots in that party as well. But they have not stooped to a level like Congress. That they have not supported terrorists openly. Dont' call fundamentalists as religious minorities. What the congress has done and is doing in the name of religion has done a lot of harm by dividing the people of this country. And a party that ruled us for such a long time has not taken us to any good position even after decades of rule. It's surely the failure of the congress. It failed miserably and let the Indian nation pay for their mistakes.
And who has elected these monkeys to rule over us? EVMs were not always there and you can only capture so many booths. Who is to blame?
Jayram

Post by Jayram »

Call me what you want but I doubt these kids of blasts can stopped by the Govt now or in the future. There are simply too many disgruntled elements of all pursuians in India with easy access to get what they want to get from accross the border or whereever. Unlike the US we can not monitor all mosques or friday sermons nor are we dealing with a small minority of people who can be tagged and followed and electronically evesdropped till kingdom come.. What the Govt can and must do is prosecute anyone to the fullest extent of the law publically and as soon as possible once incminating evidence is unearthed. Not doing so creates a public perception of an inept and corrupt govt and obvious public anger.. Control what can control at least... but will the present govt do it?

Sigh.. Grew up in dadar area. Have caught many a bus from the same bus stop that blew up. In fact was in that very spot 3 months ago... This is getting to be like Groundhog day now...

B@@@ had timed the blast at Dadar so that children would get caught since school buses from the nearby Antonio d'silva school would get blown up. Luckily they were not...

Goi won't help us only God will now.

sanjeevpunj wrote:When will India start looking for a chance to hit back, there are so many lost opportunities. Seriously,inaction should not become the only policy in such times, as it leads to development of cold feet and so on,military loses its enthusiasm,people in general remain dis-satisfied, and nothing happens, and we wait for the next news headline.
+1 Sanjeev. Agree and some sort of the public posturing should be indulged in. The other stuff needs to be in the realm of the shadowy lives of certain agencies.

anishns wrote:Call me a desh-drohi (traitor) or whatever!
But, as Shivji mentioned earlier...that US is paying Pak not to attack India....now, that they are gone....maybe we Indians should pay pak
Cancel MMRCA and pay off those billions as protection money....
Sorry..?

Jayram wrote:Call me what you want but I doubt these kids of blasts can stopped by the Govt now or in the future. There are simply too many disgruntled elements of all pursuians in India with easy access to get what they want to get from accross the border or whereever. Unlike the US we can not monitor all mosques or friday sermons nor are we dealing with a small minority of people who can be tagged and followed and electronically evesdropped till kingdom come.. What the Govt can and must do is prosecute anyone to the fullest extent of the law publically and as soon as possible once incminating evidence is unearthed. Not doing so creates a public perception of an inept and corrupt govt and obvious public anger.. Control what can control at least... but will the present govt do it?
Boss, we can do jackshit. You prosecute one, the rest 24,99,99,999 will shout 'Islam khatre me hay' and riot.

rajanb wrote:
Sanku wrote: Then kindly do not make Sharm-e-Sheik type of statements.
I haven't. But it is entirely my pleasure if you wish to believe what you believe. But you are doing an injustice to the thousands of unamed people who put their life on the line for us.
Unarmed people? Spying is not same a covert action.

What is being done in India is not by "unarmed" people.

You were making unsubstantiated claims about India's covert action capability -- something that would warm the cockles of Gilani's heart for sure and he can have 1000000 references to Baluchistan put in while they are bleeding us to death.
manum

Post by manum »

Opera house bomb blast was on my thesis site...many tea vendors and tapriwala's I'll never see again...

uddu wrote:Rakesh, not supporting the BJP. I know there are many idiots in that party as well. But they have not stooped to a level like Congress. That they have not supported terrorists openly. Dont' call fundamentalists as religious minorities. What the congress has done and is doing in the name of religion has done a lot of harm by dividing the people of this country. And a party that ruled us for such a long time has not taken us to any good position even after decades of rule. It's surely the failure of the congress. It failed miserably and let the Indian nation pay for their mistakes.
It is not an issue of supporting or not supporting the BJP. Actions speak louder than words. It is just that when push comes to shove, neither party does NOTHING! We will suspend talks for a while and then some peacenik will say there is no harming in talking and then talks will resume till another strike happens. This has been going on for ages, regardless of whoever is in power. Our politicians are only concerned about vote bank and staying in power.

And remember, it was us that kept the Kangress in power for the major portion of india's 60+ years. So don't blame the Kangress for their failures. We are to blame, for we voted them in.

We = Majority. I am not insinuating that it is you or me :)

sanjeevpunj wrote:When will India start looking for a chance to hit back, there are so many lost opportunities. Seriously,inaction should not become the only policy in such times, as it leads to development of cold feet and so on,military loses its enthusiasm,people in general remain dis-satisfied, and nothing happens, and we wait for the next news headline.
:roll: Are you drunk? Don't you understand that we are supposed to bridge the trust deficit and ensure that Pakistan is prosperous (hell with India and Indians, I don't care, if some bhooka nanaga dies in some part of India due to food shortage or terrorist act, corruption) My aim is to make Pakistan the most prosperous nation in the world.

Carl wrote: Why isn't the Non State Actor BS a game that two can play?
Carl pliss excuse me for throwing a piskology bomb at you. Suppose we have a robust covert action apparatus in Pakhanastan and they are creating mayhem left, right, and jumme raat also. Knowing that we are doing it might make us feel happy - but unless attacks stop in India the happiness cannot be complete. You see we are not going to be able to stop attacks on us covert attacks on them.

In other words our covert action ability is immaterial for prevention of terror in India and is useful only to make us feel satisfied that "we are also doing something". Unfortunately for people who are losing mothers and fathers or sons and daughters in India there can be no such satisfaction.

Rakesh wrote: So don't blame the Kangress for their failures. We are to blame.
That part is true. Since we dont care, this will happen to us.

Rakesh, BJP rule was for a very very short period of time. They were with coalition as well. I think we must give them a resounding victory in the coming election. Then judge them whether they are capable or incompetent. I do believe and know that they will be far far better than the congress. The BJP do also fall for the pseudo secular game. They also sometimes believes that fundamentalist appeasement is Secularism. Who is going to put the truth into their mind that true secularism means elimination of all fundamentalist ideas starting with the nation called Pakistan.
Last edited by uddu on 13 Jul 2011 22:23, edited 1 time in total.

shiv wrote: Unfortunately for people who are losing mothers and fathers or sons and daughters in India there can be no such satisfaction.
I believe Tukaram Omble's family was quite clear in stating that they are proud of their father's sacrifice but what really pisses them off is that the retaliation never happens.

To say that it is all about "I care for my skin and that of the my near dear ones" -- is really letting down a lot of Indians, who feel that sacrifices made in pursuit of a goal is worth while.

Shiv ji but cant a Covert ops strategy hitting RAPES help in getting us quid pro quo type concessions from the other side ? that way it will prevent future attacks right ?

uddu wrote:I do belive and know that they will be far far better than the congress.
Well they already are have been in every stint they have been given/are doing.