That sounds so wrong!gakakkad wrote:Neela wrote: OT but still....economy and growth rate is the solution to everything - this not just from one thread. The financial capital of India has taken 5 big hits.
yet it continues to be the financial capital. yet we keep on growing.
Serial Blasts in Mumbai
Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai
suryag wrote:Shiv ji but cant a Covert ops strategy hitting RAPES help in getting us quid pro quo type concessions from the other side ? that way it will prevent future attacks right ?
who care about "quid pro quo?" it must be revenge pure and simple. we do it for revenge. none of the preachy stuff about revenge being bad. revenge ain't bad. it is satisfying. if formal declaration of war isn't possible, then covert declaration and execution of war is a necessity just for revenge. no broader goals necessary.
>>OT but still....economy and growth rate is the solution to everything - this not just from one thread. The financial capital of India has taken 5 big hits.
And why is this one different from the previous four?
Based on the time-line of attacks over last two decades, and the contemptuously dismissive and robust immediate response of Mumbaikars, it is probably easier to make a case that terror attacks actually boost the economy and business activity.
What would most of us do when we see a group of eve teasers armed with knives and hockey sticks passing lewd comments at women or worse molesting them, well, the truth may be unpalatable but most of us would walk away because we have a future to look forward to. This is the same dilemma our government faces( granted this mainowaadi govt is one of the worst we have ever had), our govt is convinced that the pacquis will use nyookes because they have nothing to lose and we have everything to lose. All this talk of overt action is BS, it is too risky, Mukesh Bhai's RIL is too close to the border to be protected 24/7. The Pacquis will lose any war with us, conventional or nyooclear but they willl be back on their feet quicker than us, after all how much zakat from the GCC will it take to rebuild a few madrassas and public flogging centres?.
We must concentrate on other options to hit back, economic options, covert options using the 45000 consulates in Afghania, start moral, diplomatic and DRDOtic support to BLA. Rakshaks living abroad can vow to never buy anything made in Pacquistan, boycott desi shops selling Pacquistani stuff and those running businesses should never employ Pacquistanis. The Pacquistanis can be starved, it can be done, India's growing economic clout should be used to undercut Pacquistan in every area instead of peddling the bullshit aman ki ayesha stuff. This is where I guess the difference between CON-I and NDA becomes clear, The NDA was equally inept when it came to overt action against Pacquistan but it at least took action against local modules giving logistical and other support to Pacquistanis. The CON-I on the other hand denies the the existence of home grown jihadis and in many instances shares power with them. I am sorry but I don't see an equal equal, this government doesn't have its priorities right and is hell bent on introducing secularism when dealing with terrorism. The A-holes who presided over 26-11 are still king makers, I mean WTF?
On a side note some member here mentioned relief for the victims and how they will be victims of government apathy, if some Mumbai based Rakshak is willing to take the lead in identifying poor people( irrespective or religion) needing help, please open up a thread, I will be happy to contribute and I'm sure many others here will be too.
We must concentrate on other options to hit back, economic options, covert options using the 45000 consulates in Afghania, start moral, diplomatic and DRDOtic support to BLA. Rakshaks living abroad can vow to never buy anything made in Pacquistan, boycott desi shops selling Pacquistani stuff and those running businesses should never employ Pacquistanis. The Pacquistanis can be starved, it can be done, India's growing economic clout should be used to undercut Pacquistan in every area instead of peddling the bullshit aman ki ayesha stuff. This is where I guess the difference between CON-I and NDA becomes clear, The NDA was equally inept when it came to overt action against Pacquistan but it at least took action against local modules giving logistical and other support to Pacquistanis. The CON-I on the other hand denies the the existence of home grown jihadis and in many instances shares power with them. I am sorry but I don't see an equal equal, this government doesn't have its priorities right and is hell bent on introducing secularism when dealing with terrorism. The A-holes who presided over 26-11 are still king makers, I mean WTF?
On a side note some member here mentioned relief for the victims and how they will be victims of government apathy, if some Mumbai based Rakshak is willing to take the lead in identifying poor people( irrespective or religion) needing help, please open up a thread, I will be happy to contribute and I'm sure many others here will be too.
THe repeated inaction has reinforced our docility! As a state, we have failed to pursue justice for those who have lost their lives due to terrorBaikul wrote:I'm not too concerned with what MMS or Modi or any politico says now; chances anyway are that they all are going to indulge in babble or posturing or rabble rousing.
I only wish we could become a state where you just knew that discrete, measurable and heavy retaliation was coming down the pike.
Successive governments have led us to a state of total clueless-ness.
Kids are encouraged to hit back and behave irrationally with bullies at school!
Covert , shovert......P Chidambaram should follow up on the words he uttered in Madurai!
If it is so , then GoI should ask ISI for one terror attack everyday through out the year.JE Menon wrote:>>OT but still....economy and growth rate is the solution to everything - this not just from one thread. The financial capital of India has taken 5 big hits.

^Flirting with danger there bruv
Not making sense. That means they came with a partially made bomb, and stole some scooters for their batteries and completed the bomb or came on their own scooters and used the batteries which means they left the evidence behind. In the first case they hoped they will find some scooters to steal and in the second case they left incriminating evidence behind. Not very professional.saadhak wrote:Zee News reporting 2 scooters recovered with batteries that were removed and used as batteries for the IEDs.
Total 7 IEDs -- 3 used at Zaveri Bazar, 3 at Opera House and 1 at Dadar (in tiffin box)
Blasts triggered via cell phones
-- per reporting on Zee News.
Chinmayanand, JE Menon,Chinmayanand wrote:If it is so , then GoI should ask ISI for one terror attack everyday through out the year.JE Menon wrote:>>OT but still....economy and growth rate is the solution to everything - this not just from one thread. The financial capital of India has taken 5 big hits.
I really want to know this (honeslty) : What is this mumbaikars thing and resolve after a terror strike? What is that?
Me thinks that is something imaginary and pure b$ , a lack of any other kind of reaction/ nowhere to run and change things - is being portrayed as resolve! People in Mumbai are far too intertwined with the city and terror or no terror, their livelihood is there - and therefore no other option but to live there-
No offence intended to anyone. I genuinely would like to know if there is such a thing
Yep. They said the police are hoping for the latter i.e. the scooters will provide clues of the owners.saip wrote:Not making sense. That means they came with a partially made bomb, and stole some scooters for their batteries and completed the bomb or came on their own scooters and used the batteries which means they left the evidence behind. In the first case they hoped they will find some scooters to steal and in the second case they left incriminating evidence behind. Not very professional.saadhak wrote:Zee News reporting 2 scooters recovered with batteries that were removed and used as batteries for the IEDs.
Total 7 IEDs -- 3 used at Zaveri Bazar, 3 at Opera House and 1 at Dadar (in tiffin box)
Blasts triggered via cell phones
-- per reporting on Zee News.
^^What Neela ji says is absolutely true. Once upon a time I used to be proud of my city for "bouncing back" from terror attacks and showing resolve. It is not resolve. It is a combination of indifference and helplessness. The common man has to work every day to feed his family. So if he is back at work the day after a terror strike it is because of this and not because of any resolve. He knows he is taking a risk, but he has no choice. This is how the city goes on and over time has become inured to the violence and destruction which are characteristic of terror attacks.
Its nothing to be proud about. It just shows how Indian citizens have resigned themselves to the fact that their government cannot protect them and they will have to live out their lives whilst risking them each day. This, unfortunately is also what gives politicians the luxury of indifference about terror strikes and the arrogance to keep spouting garbage like "hindu terrorism" while Indians keep getting killed with amazing regularity. It is a vicious circle.
Last edited by nachiket on 14 Jul 2011 00:24, edited 1 time in total.
This initial title of the thread "Managing Pakistan's failure" was "Pakistan-sponsored Terrorism - India's Options"! One can still use the thread if one wants! or not!
The terrorist attacks on Indian soil are a result of pakistan staying together, not a consequence of it failing. If and when it fails, we will all be a lot safer. So unless the title of the thread is reverted back, I don't see what we are supposed to post there.RajeshA wrote:This initial title of the thread "Managing Pakistan's failure" was "Pakistan-sponsored Terrorism - India's Options"! One can still use the thread if one wants! or not!
Not read the first 9 pages, but this page is definitely pointing fingers on TSP and the sentiment is that the handiwork is of the ROP.
but if i had half the brain of Shri Digvijay Singh, the finger would point to saffron terror. Question is how soon before Burkha & company do the same
i am going to be hammered for this post
but if i had half the brain of Shri Digvijay Singh, the finger would point to saffron terror. Question is how soon before Burkha & company do the same

i am going to be hammered for this post
One question. Now scooters have batteries? When I was in India way back, only motor cycles had them.
from what i know, he did what no indian politician has the guts to orderRakesh wrote:http://www.rediff.com/news/2002/jan/20army.htmgakakkad wrote:WHAT EXACTLY HAPPENED? i remember their was an incident involving ammunition laden truck fire after which he took leave during parakram.

3. things
1. Can we stop party a vs party b, discussion. Whatever needs to happen, need to happen despite them and not because of them.
2. There is a time and place for covert. OBL raid was a covert action. Israeli action in UAE was a covert action.
(Even in negotiations) when you do not have an option that the adversary has, you do not have LEVERAGE. If air strikes will mobilize TSPA then one of the options is covert action by the State.
(If TSPA mobilizes all the more better as military aid to it will come to a halt and NOT increased or expedited at this time)
There would have been no need to advertise if India had already responded by now. But that means first you need to have the capability. Again thank I K Gujral. Do not pretend that India has the capability today. Show it, if it exists.
3. A response other than spoken or written alphabets is needed.
1. Can we stop party a vs party b, discussion. Whatever needs to happen, need to happen despite them and not because of them.
2. There is a time and place for covert. OBL raid was a covert action. Israeli action in UAE was a covert action.
(Even in negotiations) when you do not have an option that the adversary has, you do not have LEVERAGE. If air strikes will mobilize TSPA then one of the options is covert action by the State.
(If TSPA mobilizes all the more better as military aid to it will come to a halt and NOT increased or expedited at this time)
There would have been no need to advertise if India had already responded by now. But that means first you need to have the capability. Again thank I K Gujral. Do not pretend that India has the capability today. Show it, if it exists.
3. A response other than spoken or written alphabets is needed.
We don't know how much of it is DDM. Wait for an official statement.saip wrote:One question. Now scooters have batteries? When I was in India way back, only motor cycles had them.
This is the first post, the mission statement for that thread, and it still standsnachiket wrote:The terrorist attacks on Indian soil are a result of pakistan staying together, not a consequence of it failing. If and when it fails, we will all be a lot safer. So unless the title of the thread is reverted back, I don't see what we are supposed to post there.RajeshA wrote:This initial title of the thread "Managing Pakistan's failure" was "Pakistan-sponsored Terrorism - India's Options"! One can still use the thread if one wants! or not!
The mission statement was extended to include more permanent options against Pakistan-sponsored terrorism.RajeshA wrote:This thread should be used to discuss the various options India has, or should have to deal with Pakistan and Pakistan-sponsored Terrorism. Inevitably India's constraints and other relevant considerations would also be discussed here.
I would request the Moderators to shift all those posts they deem appropriate, for example, from TSP Thread, into this thread.
Thank you.
I just wanted to bring this to everybody's notice. If somebody does suggest some good options here, they will get buried deep in this thread, just like in all the other various Terror-Attack Threads.
Last edited by RajeshA on 14 Jul 2011 01:07, edited 1 time in total.
So this shows that bombay is like karachi only. we are same onlygakakkad wrote:nothing will damage the image of mumbai. control yourself. the terrorist want u to think in that fashion.Neela wrote:This attack will irrevocably damage the image of Mumbai! ANd it is true! Mumbai IS UNSAFE now. And the blame lies both with local and central governments.
Did TSP send the message to its GUBO-master to let the zakat flow, otherwise they can activate their sleeper cells? Or putting pressure on GoI to talk to Amirkhans to not stop the $ flow? This deduction is solely based on the timing of the blasts and the intensity. Also GoI & its lapdog media-houses were quick to name IM, contrary to their usual attitude towards that organization, because GoI intentionally do not want to hurt TSP's H&D this time, contemplating the reason why TSP did this.
It is indeed sad that terror strikes again. It will be good to the potential terror places in Mumbai and Delhi and circle them and possibly put an end to any possibilities of violence within these areas though many of those slums where some slum dwellers provide support for such activities may even be removed to another place for safety reasons.
Chinmayanand,
>>If it is so , then GoI should ask ISI for one terror attack everyday through out the year.
That wouldn't work though would it? It would have to be a genuine terror strike for the response to be as I mentioned.
On the other hand, if they did that without GOI request, then I suspect the attacks would simply be factored into the lives of Mumbaikars and people would go on with their lives around the attacks. There might even be bookies betting where the attack would be the next day, and the numbers of casualties. Dawood and gang may be involved in "match fixing" of sorts. (We can all be cynical about GoI, UPA, NDA, etc. no?).
But they won't win. India will continue to function. Mumbai will remain the commercial capital. And we will grow. Of course, one one day or another, for some unfathomable reason (maybe recommendation of favourite astrologer of PM du jour, combined with very poor re-election prospects if at least a temporary halt to attacks was not achieved) GOI might decide to chew off another limb off the Pakisatan.
Rinse and repeat.
Neela,
I said nothing about "resolve", etc. My words were "contemptuously dismissive and robust immediate response"; do show me an attack on Mumbai by the ISI or its handmaidens where the response was not as above. Hence my question to you: why two posts on this thread with a definitive assertion that this time is different (so that we don't diverge from the reason for this exchange). What makes you think so?
>>If it is so , then GoI should ask ISI for one terror attack everyday through out the year.

That wouldn't work though would it? It would have to be a genuine terror strike for the response to be as I mentioned.
On the other hand, if they did that without GOI request, then I suspect the attacks would simply be factored into the lives of Mumbaikars and people would go on with their lives around the attacks. There might even be bookies betting where the attack would be the next day, and the numbers of casualties. Dawood and gang may be involved in "match fixing" of sorts. (We can all be cynical about GoI, UPA, NDA, etc. no?).
But they won't win. India will continue to function. Mumbai will remain the commercial capital. And we will grow. Of course, one one day or another, for some unfathomable reason (maybe recommendation of favourite astrologer of PM du jour, combined with very poor re-election prospects if at least a temporary halt to attacks was not achieved) GOI might decide to chew off another limb off the Pakisatan.
Rinse and repeat.
Neela,
I said nothing about "resolve", etc. My words were "contemptuously dismissive and robust immediate response"; do show me an attack on Mumbai by the ISI or its handmaidens where the response was not as above. Hence my question to you: why two posts on this thread with a definitive assertion that this time is different (so that we don't diverge from the reason for this exchange). What makes you think so?
http://www.firstpost.com/politics/city- ... 41152.html
Quick on their feet soon after the blast at Dadar, locals rallied around to help the injured. Within minutes they were managing the crowd, monitoring movement of vehicles and moving people to hospitals. It was the same at Zaveri Bazaar and Opera House where people refused to remain spectators and pitched in with help. For a change, the police were into the thick of action quickly and they had the support of people to fall back on.
The Mumbaikar has certainly learnt from experience and has become mentally tougher over the years. AFP
There was no panic, no frenzied reaction as the locals went about their job with calmness. If the purpose of the forces of terror was to spread panic in the Maximum City and get its citizens rattled, it had not worked. The Mumbaikar has certainly learnt from experience and has become mentally tougher over the years.
Even the normally aggressive politicians were subdued in their reaction. “The government should find out those behind this evening’s serial blasts. I want that the government take immediate steps,” said Manohar Joshi, senior Shiv Sena leader. Others, too, were equally sober.
The social networking sites were full of messages offering help. Users on Twitter quickly coined the hashtag #here2help, which were full of offers of places to stay, rides to and from various parts of the city etc.
“Anyone needs a ride from Lower Parel to Mahim? Get in touch with @nakulsud on 9920722186 #here2help,” tweeted @beeayeanoowhy.
“10 of us are going to donate blood #here2help..,” tweeted Gaurav Kamboj @OyeHooye.
“Anybody needing help in Mumbai Central/Byculla area call @justlikecrap at 7738130705’’ said Arun Kumar @DreamsCentral.
“Anyone in Jogeshwari who’s stuck? Please call 7208180539/9773510256,” tweeted alimaxout
“My blood group is B- and I know it’s quite rare. If anyone needs it, please let me know,” wrote Anisha S @ghaatidancer.
For those familiar with the city such largeheartedness should not come as a surprise. The citizens have always been ready with the helping hand for even perfect strangers. The response today shows the spirit of togetherness has grown only stronger.
क्षमा, दया , ताप , त्याग , मनोबल सबका लिया सहारा
पर नर व्याघ सुयोधन तुमसे कहो कहाँ कब हारा?
क्षमाशील हो रिपु समक्ष तुम हुए विनीत जितना ही
दुष्ट कौरवों ने तुमको कायर समझा उतना ही
अत्याचार सहन करने का कुफल यही होता है
पौरुष का आतंक मनुज कोमल होकर खोता है
क्षमा शोभती उस भुजंग को जिसके पास गरल है
उसका क्या जो दंतहीन विषरहित विनीत सरल है
तीन दिवस तक पंथ मांगते रघुपति सिन्धु किनारे
बैठे पढते रहे छंद अनुनय के प्यारे प्यारे
उत्तर में जब एक नाद भी उठा नहीं सागर से
उठी अधीर धधक पौरुष की आग राम के शर से
सिन्धु देह धर त्राहि-त्राहि करता आ गिरा शरण में
चरण पूज दासता ग्र्र्हन की बंधा मूढ़ बंधन में
सच पूछो तो शर में ही बस्ती है दीप्ति विनय की
संधिवचन संपूज्य उसीका जिसमे शक्ति विजय की
सहनशीलता, क्षमा, दया को तभी पूजता जग है
बल का दर्प चमकता उसके पीछे जब जगमग है
-रामधरी सिंह दिनकर
Mercy, resolve, tact, tolerance you've tried everything and some
But o my king of men when did Suyodhan succumb?
The more forgiving you were In your humane compassion
The more these rouge Kauravas pegged you as cowardly ashen
This is the consequence Of tolerating atrocities
The awe of machismo is lost When one's gentle n kindly
Forgiveness is becoming of The serpent that's got venom
None cares for the toothless, Poisonless, kind, gentle one
For three days Lord Raam kept Asking the ocean for a passage
Sitting there he petitioned Using the sweetest words to engage
When in response there was Not a whisper from the sea
A raging fire of endeavor Rose from Raam's body
The ocean took human-form 'N supplicated to Raam
Touched his feet, was subservient A slave he had become
Truth be told, it's in the quiver That lies the gleam of modesty
Only his peace-talk is reputable Who is capable of victory
Tolerance, forgiveness and clemency Are respected by the world
Only when the glow of strength From behind it is unfurled
पर नर व्याघ सुयोधन तुमसे कहो कहाँ कब हारा?
अत्याचार सहन करने का कुफल यही होता है
पौरुष का आतंक मनुज कोमल होकर खोता है
क्षमा शोभती उस भुजंग को जिसके पास गरल है
उसका क्या जो दंतहीन विषरहित विनीत सरल है
तीन दिवस तक पंथ मांगते रघुपति सिन्धु किनारे
बैठे पढते रहे छंद अनुनय के प्यारे प्यारे
उत्तर में जब एक नाद भी उठा नहीं सागर से
उठी अधीर धधक पौरुष की आग राम के शर से
सिन्धु देह धर त्राहि-त्राहि करता आ गिरा शरण में
चरण पूज दासता ग्र्र्हन की बंधा मूढ़ बंधन में
सच पूछो तो शर में ही बस्ती है दीप्ति विनय की
संधिवचन संपूज्य उसीका जिसमे शक्ति विजय की
सहनशीलता, क्षमा, दया को तभी पूजता जग है
बल का दर्प चमकता उसके पीछे जब जगमग है
-रामधरी सिंह दिनकर
Mercy, resolve, tact, tolerance you've tried everything and some
But o my king of men when did Suyodhan succumb?
This is the consequence Of tolerating atrocities
The awe of machismo is lost When one's gentle n kindly
Forgiveness is becoming of The serpent that's got venom
None cares for the toothless, Poisonless, kind, gentle one
For three days Lord Raam kept Asking the ocean for a passage
Sitting there he petitioned Using the sweetest words to engage
When in response there was Not a whisper from the sea
A raging fire of endeavor Rose from Raam's body
The ocean took human-form 'N supplicated to Raam
Touched his feet, was subservient A slave he had become
Truth be told, it's in the quiver That lies the gleam of modesty
Only his peace-talk is reputable Who is capable of victory
Tolerance, forgiveness and clemency Are respected by the world
Only when the glow of strength From behind it is unfurled
^^ So true. Thanks Atri.
What is Indian public got to do with Indo-Pak talks. The government is talking for its own reasons and pressures. In fact its image goes down among the Indian public that cares foregin policy and strategic affairs. So Indian public is nowhere in the picture.Virupaksha wrote:Muppalla garu,Muppalla wrote:This is happening every time if India talks to Pakistan. Period. We need to not just stop talking but just cut off all diplomatic relations. It could be apprehensions in Pak that something needs to be done to stop the bhaichara in order to keep the Army unity. Or it could be a system inside Indian government which simply does not want the BS called Indo-Pak talks.
Those talks are required for fooling the Indian public after the bomb blast.
if the talks are not there, what will the congress show as doing to the Indian public??
They cannot comprehend to take the next step from the "no talking" to anything.
We all know that India does not have any use of an overt attack on Pak at least on paper due to reasons such as economy, nukes, America pressure and also uselessness of hitting a mad crowd of 180 million. If not doing some super duper things, the following could be persued:
(1) No nonsense of talking with Paks and then calling it as statemanship and "cannot change neighbors".
(2) Build an iron curtain as far as relations with Pak are concerned.
(3) No Aman-ki-asha type things
(4) Just get to defences and make the internal security robust with proper intel and monitoring
(5) Bust the sleeper cells with no BS like Muslim sensitivities etc.
After doing all the above, even then we will still have terror attacks. At that time we can sympathize with GOI for doing its job but not being able to help its citizens.
However, the government is not even doing the minimum that is in our hand. Instead the narrative consists of rejecting the following:
(1) Overt attack on Pak
(2) Cross-border persuit of terrorists
(3) Increasing the cost of Pak and terrorist
(4) war/nukes
Start with proper defenses before even rejecting the offensive options. Start that with complete stoppage of diplomatic relations and even people to people shit.
Yes, thanks Atri. Timely.
Key IM members spilling beans to NIA
already wiki updated.
No comments
heart felt condolences to the families of bereaved.
Currently, at least 20 crucial IM members are under investigation by the National Investigation Agency which has obtained vital information during the interrogation of these individuals.
There are at least 1,000 IM sympathisers who continue to be part of sleeper cells and modules across the country.
What these blasts have achieved for the time being is to create a diversion to the ongoing NIA investigation into home grown jihad and its revival.
This diversion could help the IM re-group while the investigating agencies are busy.
Operation Bangalore, Ahmedabad and Delhi (Operation BAD) announced the Indian Mujahideen's arrival.
After these blasts there came a lull in the organisation's terror campaign owing to the spate of arrests. Then came a couple of unsuccessful attempts in Old Delhi prior to the Commonwealth Games last year, which was followed by a low intensity attack in Varanasi, and then the unsuccessful attempt outside the Delhi court some weeks ago.
One official believes the slow pace of the investigation of these recent cases is largely to blame for Wednesday's attack.![]()
The last three incidents involving the IM were pointers to something big to come. The investigations into all these cases led to the arrest of some IM members. However, investigators point out some leading IM terrorists had escaped outside the country.
Had the investigations into the recent blasts been undertaken in the manner in which the security agencies reacted post Operation BAD, it may have deterred IM terrorists to a large extent.![]()
![]()
Indian mujahideenAccording to the Stratfor intelligence site, the Improvised Explosive Devices used in the Mumbai blasts were well coordinated and the choice of targets bears resemblance to the blasts in Varanasi, Bangalore and Ahmedabad.
attacks by IMBelieved to be a "shadow amalgam of the Students Islamic Movement of India", the Indian Mujahideen have been declared a terrorist organization. However, no decision had been made to ban the organisation as of 28 September 2008.
already wiki updated.
No comments
heart felt condolences to the families of bereaved.
Where exactly in Dadar? I have relatives living there, but I could not find out the exact location in Dadar.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/43739308/ns ... tral_asia/
Check the responses:
It didn't take the pakis long to formulate a response to the suspension of $800 million of US military aid.
Thumbs up: 26
Lets summarize all the reasons: we cannot go into "knee-jerk" reactions about retaliations
(1) Because it will destabilize the economy and the prosperity curve we are on which ultimately in an unknown future time will make us so prosperous that we can buy whatever outcome we want - peace, neutralization of hostile foreign nations that back up Pak [as if they will not prosper too!]
(2) Foreign investments flow will dry up
(3) It may have adverse reaction on IM [even if we cannot prove it either way]
(4) wars are easy to start, difficult to ensure victory. All this retaliation talk may onlee lead to hundreds of thousands of Indian lives.
(5) Mumbai will go on functioning - and keep the financial mill grinding - regardless of how many die.
Most importantly, everything has a monetary price, including "lives" or "limbs" lost. Financial experts can start calculating the maximum price that may rise in the market for those lives lost today, and show that, paying that price from some common fund [ again ultimately extracted from the people ] is actually going to be monetarily much less expensive than lossed that "will" happen if wars/retaliations are undertaken.
What is the price of a life, or a limb, or the tears, shame, and anguish of a common Indian? Dus Lakh? Bees Lakh? Panchaas Lakh? Baas! Think of the hazaar crores to be lost if we go the retaliation way?
It is the "monetary price" for everything that is now the driving logic everywhere that will sustain regular terror attacks on Mumbai or elsewhere. This doctrine forces everyone to think in pure money/profits terms. It makes lives exchangeable for money and profits - current or future growth. The common Mumbaikaar - who may simply be a captive slave to a means of earning, and therefore sooner or later is forced to accept this exchangeability of life for money a part of the contract for his expected survival. That inevitability of existence can be used by those among us pushing for the "future growth" line, to claim a line of no overt reaction.
This is the ultimate in mercantile mentality.
(1) Because it will destabilize the economy and the prosperity curve we are on which ultimately in an unknown future time will make us so prosperous that we can buy whatever outcome we want - peace, neutralization of hostile foreign nations that back up Pak [as if they will not prosper too!]
(2) Foreign investments flow will dry up
(3) It may have adverse reaction on IM [even if we cannot prove it either way]
(4) wars are easy to start, difficult to ensure victory. All this retaliation talk may onlee lead to hundreds of thousands of Indian lives.
(5) Mumbai will go on functioning - and keep the financial mill grinding - regardless of how many die.
Most importantly, everything has a monetary price, including "lives" or "limbs" lost. Financial experts can start calculating the maximum price that may rise in the market for those lives lost today, and show that, paying that price from some common fund [ again ultimately extracted from the people ] is actually going to be monetarily much less expensive than lossed that "will" happen if wars/retaliations are undertaken.
What is the price of a life, or a limb, or the tears, shame, and anguish of a common Indian? Dus Lakh? Bees Lakh? Panchaas Lakh? Baas! Think of the hazaar crores to be lost if we go the retaliation way?
It is the "monetary price" for everything that is now the driving logic everywhere that will sustain regular terror attacks on Mumbai or elsewhere. This doctrine forces everyone to think in pure money/profits terms. It makes lives exchangeable for money and profits - current or future growth. The common Mumbaikaar - who may simply be a captive slave to a means of earning, and therefore sooner or later is forced to accept this exchangeability of life for money a part of the contract for his expected survival. That inevitability of existence can be used by those among us pushing for the "future growth" line, to claim a line of no overt reaction.
I am really concerned about the way local folks coordinate with foreign strategies. Unless such local sympathisers at large are not given access to live within Mumbai city or any other city in India such things will continue to happen. At this state India should also find out the route of this attack. If it points out to ISI and Pakis links clearly then it is India's chance to intrude into Pakistan with or without permission of Pakistan govt in order to eliminate the terror elements once for all. But needs very clear evidence for this. It is not to create a war with Pakistan but such attacks can also be called an undeclared war of ISI elements on India. I think this time local sympathisers are more involved with amateur elements. I would strongly support removal of terror within Islamic communities in Mumbai. India should learn from UK for such containment of Muslim communities who sympathise with terror. Unfortunately this is not good for minorities particularly Muslims in Mumbai but such act of terror elimination cannot be avoided. Even the underworld sympathisers need to be removed from being a resident of Mumbai and thrown into prison or keep them away. This is also true with Delhi. All the entry vehicles and new residents should inform the police immediately. There should be a computer record to check people's background and their addresses and their histories. This is again going to be difficult Mumbai people but that is the way people's lives can be saved. All mumbai people should be asked to wear a photo id which will have information about them if possible with finger prints. unfortunately this can look like a police state but in the context of terror this is the right way forward to protect the public.
Speaking of "monetary price", Compensation for Terror Victimsbrihaspati wrote:It is the "monetary price" for everything that is now the driving logic everywhere that will sustain regular terror attacks on Mumbai or elsewhere. This doctrine forces everyone to think in pure money/profits terms. It makes lives exchangeable for money and profits - current or future growth.
We do not know yet whether this was by IM or not. We should wait for Congress, and especially Digvijay to have communications from the intelligence services about how saffron planned all this to malign Indian muslims.
Moreover Indian Mujahideen could not have been involved. No currently-in-India Indian Muslim has ever been found guilty by our investigative wings and the courts to be involved in atrocities [except from Kashmir Valley and a significantly small number in the 93 blasts]. We know that every attack was planned and carried out by non-Indians. We cannot say that 1000 foreign nationals, or more and sleeper cells, had been staying in our country without the knowledge of our security services - and planning for jihad. The question of how and where they could stay hidden blended in with which community or networks, will arise. Either then the intelligence services knowingly allowed such presence, which would imply that they had been penetrated - or - that "locals" protected such jihadis, will have to be accepted.
Neither conclusions can be allowed to be reached. All these considerations leave onlee two options. Blame it all on the ISI but not on Paki gov and the military - the first being democratic onlee, and the second being one that holds the real power - and both must be "engaged". Blaming it on the ISI clears everyone else in the picture - the Paki gov, the Paki military, Pak's backers, GOI, Indian Muslim jihadi networks. But there is one problem, if ISI can do all of this stuff without or over and above the Paki "democratic" gov and the "Paki" TFTA military - then does it not show that ISI is the one that should be "engaged" since it has more power than the other two? But what if engaging ISI still does not deliver results - would it not have then burnt all excuses not to act? What about the cross-border trans-national financial flows and goodwill-measures? What if going after Pakis so much brings "financial" retaliation of external "sources"? Let the nation go to h*** - indefinite future profits is the single mantra.
By preserving ISI indefinitely for the last, we will always have a last excuse to fall back on - hence ISI cannot be safely pinned on. That leaves onlee the "saffron". Blaming it all on saffron, leaves out everyone in the picture - the Pakis, the 3.5 friends, Indian Muslim jihadis, GOI, p-sec and financial-prosperity-onlee bandwagoners, security services - and score political GUBOing points too! show how secular and therefore deserving of external financial flows and political support from usual suspects.
Moreover Indian Mujahideen could not have been involved. No currently-in-India Indian Muslim has ever been found guilty by our investigative wings and the courts to be involved in atrocities [except from Kashmir Valley and a significantly small number in the 93 blasts]. We know that every attack was planned and carried out by non-Indians. We cannot say that 1000 foreign nationals, or more and sleeper cells, had been staying in our country without the knowledge of our security services - and planning for jihad. The question of how and where they could stay hidden blended in with which community or networks, will arise. Either then the intelligence services knowingly allowed such presence, which would imply that they had been penetrated - or - that "locals" protected such jihadis, will have to be accepted.
Neither conclusions can be allowed to be reached. All these considerations leave onlee two options. Blame it all on the ISI but not on Paki gov and the military - the first being democratic onlee, and the second being one that holds the real power - and both must be "engaged". Blaming it on the ISI clears everyone else in the picture - the Paki gov, the Paki military, Pak's backers, GOI, Indian Muslim jihadi networks. But there is one problem, if ISI can do all of this stuff without or over and above the Paki "democratic" gov and the "Paki" TFTA military - then does it not show that ISI is the one that should be "engaged" since it has more power than the other two? But what if engaging ISI still does not deliver results - would it not have then burnt all excuses not to act? What about the cross-border trans-national financial flows and goodwill-measures? What if going after Pakis so much brings "financial" retaliation of external "sources"? Let the nation go to h*** - indefinite future profits is the single mantra.
By preserving ISI indefinitely for the last, we will always have a last excuse to fall back on - hence ISI cannot be safely pinned on. That leaves onlee the "saffron". Blaming it all on saffron, leaves out everyone in the picture - the Pakis, the 3.5 friends, Indian Muslim jihadis, GOI, p-sec and financial-prosperity-onlee bandwagoners, security services - and score political GUBOing points too! show how secular and therefore deserving of external financial flows and political support from usual suspects.
This is in line with another great prolific poster. He wrote that nations and races are not going to be the future identities. A person will be identfied with corporates like Goldman Sacs, Microsoft, Intel, Pricewater, TATA etc.brihaspati wrote: Let the nation go to h*** - indefinite future profits is the single mantra.
Sorry, too much chatter on this thread to know what has already been posted. Apologies if this is a repeat.
Can we confirm the failed fourth explosion? It would mean the high probability of getting solid evidence about the perps.An additional fourth explosion is rumored to have failed in its detonation. With three explosions rocking the city and a fourth failing.....
Read more: http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2011/07/ ... z1S1UOU3hR
This right here.Atri wrote:......
Could it be a foriegn agency which has built a network and is using the sleeper cell for these events.brihaspati wrote:
It may not be Paki agency at all. This may be an indirect method to put pressure on GOI for foriegn policy.
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php ... 6492310465
It is a reasonable reaction from a common man - from IBN interview.