Serial Blasts in Mumbai

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Sravan

Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai

Post by Sravan »

I don't care what needs to happen, but the people should protect the president and force this to happen. Take the war to Pakistan, and let them be the ones that can't predict the next dronacharya. All I need to know is they're fighting over there and any commuter in India won't be scared. This is what the Army and government is on the pay roll to do. They cannot and should not hide behind your tax dollars while citizens get killed.

(2) No such charge shall be preferred unless—
(a) the proposal to prefer such charge is contained
in a resolution which has been moved after at least
fourteen days' notice in writing signed by not less
than one-fourth of the total number of members of
the House has been given of their intention to move
the resolution, and
(b) such resolution has been passed by a majority
of not less than two-thirds of the total membership
of the House.
(3) When a charge has been so preferred by either
House of Parliament, the other House shall investigate
the charge or cause the charge to be investigated and the
President shall have the right to appear and to be
represented at such investigation.
(4) If as a result of the investigation a resolution is
passed by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the
total membership of the House by which the charge was
investigated or caused to be investigated, declaring that
the charge preferred against the President has been
sustained, such resolution shall have the effect of removing
the President from his office as from the date on which
the resolution is so passed.
62. (1) An election to fill a vacancy caused by the
expiration of the term of office of President shall be
completed before the expiration of the term.

[(1A) The total number of Ministers, including the
Prime Minister, in the Council of Ministers shall not
exceed fifteen per cent. of the total number of members
of the House of the People.

[81. (1)
[Subject to the provisions of article 331
***],
the House of the People shall consist of—
(a) not more than
[five hundred and thirty
members] chosen by direct election from territorial
constituencies in the States, and
(b) not more than
[twenty members] to represent
the Union territories, chosen in such manner as
Parliament may by law provide.
(2) For the purposes of sub-clause (a) of clause (1),—
(a) there shall be allotted to each State a number
of seats in the House of the People in such manner
t h a t t h e r a t i o b e twe e n t h a t n umb e r a n d t h e
population of the State is, so far as practicable, the
same for all States; and
(b) each State shall be divided into territorial
constituencies in such manner that the ratio between
the population of each constituency and the number
of seats allotted to it is, so far as practicable, the
same throughout the State:
[Provided that the provisions of sub-clause (a) of
this clause shall not be applicable for the purpose of
allotment of seats in the House of the People to any
State so long as the population of that State does not
exceed six millions.]

FIND and list the ministers who are directly elected from the city of Mumbai.

Put them on a black list and track their political decisions, and publish these decisions publicly. Let the ******** cite each other out of power.

(b) t h e P re s i d e n t ma y, f o r v i o l a t i o n o f t h e
Constitution, be removed from office by impeachment
in the manner provided in article 61;
ramana wrote:Only Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy would have the gumption to invoke the Emergency powers of the President.

This Bengali is right....

Taken from his blog

And finally, yet once again, when the nation bled, we found out we had no Prime Minister. No one expects the PM to come and give a Sunny Deolian “Kasam Ganga Maiyya ki ,ghar mein ghuskar maroonga” shout-out but is it too much to expect a bit of inspiration in a dark hour, something even George W could provide after 9/11? Some may say silence is MMS’s style (like it was for Charlie Chaplin even after the technology of sound came into being) and should not be taken for inaction (ahem ahem) but surely there must have been reasons why when their nations were attacked, two of the greatest leaders of the last century, Roosevelt and Churchill did not take such a “awaaz neeche” stance.

If there was any silver lining, it was to see how ordinary people came together on Twitter—-doctors volunteered services, houses were opened for strangers, and those stranded were picked up. It was inspiring and a reminder that on the darkest of nights, the light inside us burns the brightest.

But this realization, in itself, is small solace. Very small solace.

</snip>

The plan of Pakistan is like this
1. To ensure that any terror attack on India will not point a finger towards Pakistan.
First attempt made during 26/11. But flopped big time with the arrest of Kasab.
2. This time Pakistan tried again. Try to project a view that it's home grown in India (may be Indian Muslims recruited).
The Indian Media has fallen for this trap and is using the term "Indian Muajahudeen" instead of LET.
3. Next stage will be to repeat it, so that finally it's projected as Indian Muslims are doing it, leading to internal trouble within India.
This will help the LET to recruit more Indian muslims into its fold and finally making it Jihad within India.
4. Finally Pakistan can rest while India fights the home grown terror.

How to counter it.
Short term (Say upto a month or two before the case is solved)
Put the blame squarely on Pakistan itself for the terror attack. Diplomatic pressure as usual to ban LET from functioning from Pakistan. The media must replace IM with it's parent organization the LET.
Mid term (After the case is solved and the terrorists nabbed)
Start to work to harm Pakistan in all ways possible. Without declaring open war. We do things that cause immense harm to Pakistan. But no declaration of war or nothing of that sort. We can start with stopping all peace talks, and stopping all things that will do anything good to Pakistan even remotely. Harming their economy (though getting thier clients to import from India and asking those nations that export to Pakistan to stop doing so, in return for similar amount of trade with India) Then support to BLA. Undeclared Naval blockade, starting with sinking of Pakistani ships. Everything will be denied. Even if they bring proof on the table, it will be called as bogus or not enough proof and we must ask for more proof. And if Pakistan attacks, massive counter attacks completely destroying their military capabilities along with massive land grab, that will become part of the Indian nation. World nations will be asked to take sides and to cut off all links with Pakistan.(It's either us or them)
Long term
Destruction of Pakistan (This is a must). There is no other solution to it. MMS idea of prosperous and peaceful Pakistan in Indian interest is pure stupidity. I wish atleast the man must have learned something and something must have got into this head. If not god help India. Can MMS do this? will be the question one will be asking.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

MMS will not do anything to upset the current balance unless the population of India reaches a critical mass. People are pissed and frustrated but are uneducated on how to advocate their frustration. We need to educate people from a young age regarding the mechanics of our governance.
uddu wrote:The plan of Pakistan is like this
1. To ensure that any terror attack on India will not point a finger towards Pakistan.
First attempt made during 26/11. But flopped big time with the arrest of Kasab.
2. This time Pakistan tried again. Try to project a view that it's home grown in India (may be Indian Muslims recruited).
The Indian Media has fallen for this trap and is using the term "Indian Muajahudeen" instead of LET.
3. Next stage will be to repeat it, so that finally it's projected as Indian Muslims are doing it, leading to internal trouble within India.
This will help the LET to recruit more Indian muslims into its fold and finally making it Jihad within India.
4. Finally Pakistan can rest while India fights the home grown terror.

How to counter it.
Put the blame squarely on Pakistan itself for the terror attack. Diplomatic pressure as usual to ban LET from functioning from Pakistan. The media must replace IM with it's parent organization the LET.
Mid term (After the case is solved and the terrorists nabbed)
Start to work to harm Pakistan in all ways possible. Without declaring open war. We do things that cause immense harm to Pakistan. But no declaration of war or nothing of that sort. We can start with stopping all peace talks, and stopping all things that will do anything good to Pakistan even remotely. Harming their economy (though getting thier clients to import from India and asking those nations that export to Pakistan to stop doing so, in return for similar amount of trade with India) Then support to BLA. Undeclared Naval blockade, starting with sinking of Pakistani ships. Everything will be denied. Even if they bring proof on the table, it will be called as bogus or not enough proof and we must ask for more proof. And if Pakistan attacks, massive counter attacks completely destroying their military capabilities along with massive land grab, that will become part of the Indian nation. World nations will be asked to take sides and to cut off all links with Pakistan.(It's either us or them)
Long term
Destruction of Pakistan (This is a must). There is no other solution to it. MMS idea of prosperous and peaceful Pakistan in Indian interest is pure stupidity. I wish atleast the man must have learned something and something must have got into this head. If not god help India. Can MMS do this? will be the question one will be asking.

Sirji,

GoI is jumping through hoops and loosing no chance to certify that Pak has no hand in this. So, this entire course of action is Dead-on-Arrival till current GoI is in power.

sum wrote:^^ On a news channel yesterday, Shri. Ajit Doval
Linky needed badly Sum-ji
This is the attitude of our GoI. Go figure as to how succesful our "counter- terror" strategy will be.
This is the basic and the far more critical issue. Blaming tangential things like corruption etc are all basically removing focus from the key issue.

Have we started blaming the lack of toilets yet?

^^ On a news channel yesterday, Shri. Ajit Doval

Sorry...saw it on TV onlee...Was on Headlines Today channel newshour debate with Rahul Kanwal.

When I got disgusted with this and started surfing channels, had to pass through NDTV wherein Chandan Mitra was explaining about how we shouldn’t let Pak off he hook since all major incidents have a Paki hand to which madam Nidhi Razdan ( anchor for the show) virtually pounced on him with “Samjutha wasn’t Paki caused. How can we forget that!!! Is it fair to pak”. :| :-?

Got disgusted at this point and switched off.

negi wrote:The usual hindu muslim stereotyping has hijacked this dhaga; well in any case nothing is gonna happen so WTF.
Whats wrong with calling spade a spade ? People often talk about Israel and US having crushed terror. The reason implied is often technological. And the usual bla bla of "we dont buy this " ."we dont buy that". The most important reason why we failed is due to our shittiness . In US I don't have to be politically correct while discussing terror. But in India there is always a risk of finding a wkk somewhere. The reason why US succeeded is because they closely monitored all madarssas and mosques . They snoop on all ideological Muslims in an unabashed and unapologetic manner. It is not that they have been entirely successful (there were failed attempts on time square besides an airliner bomb that failed to explode). But they have foiled 998 out of thousand attempts.

In medical lab testing there are parameters called "sensitivity" and "specificity". In most instances these are inversely proportional to each other. A highly sensitive test will catch all possible cases of a disease (or terrorist in our context). But there will be lot of false positives also. (Cases without disease that are wrongly identified as having the disease, these can be ruled out with further testing, similarly innocent people suspected of terror but left alone after investigation). A specific test on the other hand catches a disease (or terrorist) only if it exists. ie if the test catches the disease the person will have it.But in this case there are false negatives. (people with diseases not caught ,or terrorist missed)
What we need is a sensitive technique rather than a specific one. (So what if couple of innocent indian muslims are snooped upon or temporarily harassed, they will be absolved in further investigation).

While in India we have the likes of showbark dog who request us to refrain from naming TSP and giving due consideration of "the problems faced by TSP" . Why do we produce the likes of doggy singh ? Because we want to be seen as politically correct all the time. Even if the natgrid is framed it will be toothless. Why is it so ? Because it is not in the interest of some people to let these attacks stop. And why do such people survive? Because of wkk. If I had a TSP colleague I would have treated him badly. Especially if he I get such students or juniors . I will never give a letter of recommendation to a Pakistani doctor nor help them in any manner. I don't care about sounding tolerant or politically correct. most of the are RAPE class anyway.Nor will they dare instigate a racial suit against me. They are too ashamed of themselves.

DISCLAIMER- I am not against Muslims . Maroof Raza has proven to be lot more of a son of the soil than DOGGY SING or Barking mutt. He has more nationalism in his little finger than all the wkks combined.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

WTF, shouldn't the Prime minister be meeting with security analysts and investigative teams planning his next decision? Why is he visiting the victims, this is a complete waste of everyone's time.....

This guy is a total nut case, that's why our country has doctors, there is nothing the Prime minister can do than ruin the person's rest to recovery.

I am not a fan of MMS, but I thought visiting the victims was a thoughtful and meaningful gesture. If he had not visited them, I suspect some people would have criticized him.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

It's not conducive of a Prime minister to leave everything he is doing in a time of crisis to get some positive press coverage. This is ridiculous, and we wonder why nothing ever happens. If we give more importance to gestures and bullshit PR campaigns, nothing will come out in our favor. Every day I am getting more and more pissed off. If I were the victim, I would sock him a new one for wasting my tax money and letting this situation become possible.
abhishek_sharma wrote:I am not a fan of MMS, but I thought visiting the victims was a thoughtful and meaningful gesture.
Last edited by Sravan on 15 Jul 2011 10:05, edited 1 time in total.

PM saab looks almost scared to death and totally helpless

As Archan guru said.....oh! my poor toothless country with a spineless leader....sigh :(

Sravan wrote:It's not conducive of a Prime minister to leave everything he is doing in a time of crisis to get some positive press coverage.
You are entitled to your views. To put it mildly, many people disagree with you.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

^^^ Its just another important day in the PM's schedule, I am surprised why Sravanan is going hyper over it.Imagine if Sravanan was a victim and the PM went next to his bed, and talked to him like any caring father would.What then? All this venom would disappear, Sravanan ji. So calm down,this is nothing to write volumes about - why PM visited injured persons.

gakakkad wrote:
negi wrote:The usual hindu muslim stereotyping has hijacked this dhaga; well in any case nothing is gonna happen so WTF.
Whats wrong with calling spade a spade ?
Because no one calls one instead time is spent on hair splitting semantics which is typical with us i.e. over-analysis and no action.

Case in point now gentle readers are discussing about MMS and his visiting injured bebul. :rotfl:
Last edited by negi on 15 Jul 2011 10:14, edited 1 time in total.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

Yes and that's the crux of the problem. This psyche is why we lose focus of the problem and get emotional.

If you want to tackle terrorism, you need to be strict, thorough and ruthless in your agenda. Push past the nay sayers and hold the person accountable. If they are not working towards that endeavor then criticize them for their lack of execution in protecting you. If a high level official coming to visit me in a hospital when my friends or family have been killed in a blast is not any solace. The person is simply doing so, because he will be seen as sympathetic towards the people. When in actuality after he leaves the scene, there is no further agenda in pursuing the matter, as he as sympathetically won your approval.

India needs to move past such emotional baggage and work based on facts. This applies to fast track courts, persecuting corruption and waging war to protect your citizens. Hold the incompetent fool accountable or impeach him! The government should fear the people not the other way around.
abhishek_sharma wrote:
Sravan wrote:It's not conducive of a Prime minister to leave everything he is doing in a time of crisis to get some positive press coverage.
You are entitled to your views. To put it mildly, many people disagree with you.
Last edited by Sravan on 15 Jul 2011 10:26, edited 1 time in total.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

Gandhigiri is crap fed into our psyche, so we can be kept pseudo colonized. WAKE UP, and stand up for your rights. Why are you so complacent and casual about this? Is anyone else not pissed off as me... DAMN IT.

THIS IS NOT A HINDU / MUSLIM PROBLEM.

It is a geo political nexus designed to keep India entangled in petty war. We've seen the signs over the last 30 years. Let's grow some balls and change the status quo in our favor.

1) declare war
2) naval blockade
3) block water supply
4) Strengthen borders

Discuss peace only after some real action... delivery of militant leaders who are killed by Pakistani or Indian forces.
sanjeevpunj wrote:^^^ Its just another important day in the PM's schedule, I am surprised why Sravanan is going hyper over it.Imagine if Sravanan was a victim and the PM went next to his bed, and talked to him like any caring father would.What then? All this venom would disappear, Sravanan ji. So calm down,this is nothing to write volumes about - why PM visited injured persons.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Sravan wrote:Gandhigiri is crap fed into our psyche, so we can be kept pseudo colonized. WAKE UP, and stand up for your rights. Why are you so complacent and casual about this? Is anyone else not pissed off as me... DAMN IT.
How do you imagine I am complacent,Sravanan.Amused at your observation.You see, you are now shifting your ire from PM, to others in the forum who may disagree with your view.SO I said relax,calm down. If you have any plan of action, state it, and it can be done without using expletives. There will be more force in your statements once you state them calmly,believe me.Right now you sound like you are frothing seething with anger, and thus you lose the focus on what is to be done.
In fact, to prove your view on PM is baseless, read what he stated -
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who flew to Mumbai to meet the victims, said the perpetrators must be “relentlessly pursued”. “They must be brought to justice quickly. I assure the people that the government will do everything in its power to prevent such attacks in the future.”
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 15 Jul 2011 10:34, edited 1 time in total.

Sorry...saw it on TV onlee...Was on Headlines Today channel newshour debate with Rahul Kanwal.

When I got disgusted with this and started surfing channels, had to pass through NDTV wherein Chandan Mitra was explaining about how we shouldn’t let Pak off he hook since all major incidents have a Paki hand to which madam Nidhi Razdan ( anchor for the show) virtually pounced on him with “Samjutha wasn’t Paki caused. How can we forget that!!! Is it fair to pak”. :| :-?

Another channel was pushing the sooside bum theory.

All the while playing continuously the clip of a muslim funeral cortege being taken in procession!!

We are a sickular country onlee. :twisted:

Day after serial blasts, cops clueless as Mumbai seethes
Investigators were struggling to find clues to the identity of the perpetrators of Wednesday's serial blasts in Mumbai, raising the scary possibility that the fresh outrage may join the list of unsolved terror cases.

Sources familiar with the probe acknowledged that the investigators have not yet found any lead worth mentioning. Although Indian Mujahideen, the ISI-sponsored proxy of Lashkar, is seen as a possible suspect, the evidence is so thin that agencies in Mumbai and New Delhi are wary of sticking their necks out.

Wednesday's blasts were similar to the pattern seen in the attacks that were deemed to have been engineered by Indian Mujahideen. The three blasts were set off using improvised explosive devices in crowded areas with a view to maximizing casualties: a signature style of IM terrorists.

But there were major departures from the IM modus operandi as well. The attacks have not been followed by electronic pamphlets taking credit for the blasts. Starting with the serial blasts in UP courts in 2007, several terror attacks involving the Mujahideen were followed by emails justifying the killings as acts of courage meant to avenge alleged atrocities on Muslims.

Apart from the brazen attempt at communal polarization and to portray the terrorists as saviours of Indian Muslims, the emails were designed to serve another purpose: to keep up the fiction that the anti-India terror was indigenous.

Investigators are baffled by the departure from the pattern first seen after the blast in Pune's German Bakery in February 2010, as they worry whether 13/ 7 will be another addition to the growing list of cases which remain to be worked out. The Maharashtra ATS's claim of having worked out the bakery blast case has not convinced many despite one arrest and chargesheet against six other accused.

Three other cases of urban terror in 2010 -- the shootout near Jama Masjid, Delhi, bombs found at Bangalore's Chinnaswamy Stadium, and the explosion at the Dashashwamedh Ghat in Varanasi -- have not been worked out so far. The explosion outside the Delhi High Court this year has also not been solved.

In all such instances, terrorists have used diverse methods. For instance, Indian Mujahideen sent emails owning up to the Jama Masjid shootout and Varanasi blast, claiming that they were retaliation for the Batla House encounter of Indian Mujahideen operatives and Babri Masjid demolition, respectively.

The explosive devices planted at Chinnaswamy Stadium hours before an IPL cricket match were not lethal, suggesting that the terrorists responsible were seeking to score a propaganda point and cause scare.

In contrast, the explosives used at the Dashaswamedh Ghat could have claimed a higher toll. The throng that had turned up for the evening aarti was lucky because of the ineptitude of the bomber who planted the device at a place which minimized rather than maximized the impact of the blast.

The bombers who attacked Mumbai on Wednesday chose devices of different intensity. The IEDs used at Zaveri Bazar and Dadar were more lethal than the one at Opera House. As a matter of fact, the toll could have been much higher but for the fact that the impact was buffered by the heavy crowd at the two busy places.

Investigators who were earlier able to work out some of the serious cases by listening in to the excited jehadi chatter in the aftermath of terror attacks are struck by the complete radio silence after Wednesday's attack on Mumbai. The absence of emails: IM's calling card till 2008, is also seen as a switch of tactic devised to dodge the investigators. Moreover, the terrorists have settled for plots which are modest in nature and can be implemented swiftly, reducing the time needed for preparations as well as minimizing risk.

"It seems they have gotten smarter", a senior counter-terror operative told TOI, as he did not rule out the possibility of investigators hitting the dead-end again. He also said that this is part of the catch-up that the law enforcers are forced to play as they fight a shadowy enemy who has the advantage of choosing the target, weapon and time of attack. But the challenge for the agencies also indicates the risk that cities potentially face till agencies wizen up to the terrorist's new tricks.

Said an intel veteran: "What we need is one breakthrough to unravel the whole thing." He pointed out that Indian Mujahideen remained elusive for long. "But we worked out the Ahmedabad case and that helped us solve cases of blasts in Jaipur and Delhi, leading to the elimination of the IM commander Atif Ameen at Batla House in the Capital," he said.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Suspicion falls on old culprit Indian Mujahideen.
Investigation agencies suspect that the Mumbai blasts were a coordinated attack by the Lashkar-e-Toiba and the Indian Mujahideen.
Their preliminary assessment is based on the recent inputs that senior IM leaders have regrouped and have been on recruitment drive for the past six months.Read more at
http://www.dnaindia.com/mumbai/report_s ... en_1565855
It appears by this disclosure that there is the usual proxy hand of Pakistan's ISI vis-a-vis the offices of banned outfit LET,which must be activating IM sleeper cells.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

*takes a long breath*

I am extremely frustrated at the lack of coordination in conveying the anger of the public to the government to take action. The solution is crystal clear to me. Ask GoI to act on behalf of the Indian citizenship, or impeach the government in a vote of no confidence. Let's not complicate it with emotional baggage or other useless media semantics.

The PM visiting the hospital is taking resources away from investigations is basically a nuisance. Why is he adding to the complexity of the problem?

1) Mumbai should be 100% focused on investigations, not facilitating the PM's PR campaign.
2) If the government of Mumbai still thinks there is danger present, it should focus on finding out how these attacks were carried out.
3) If the government fails to deliver results, there should be a vote of no confidence.
4) How many more attacks / deaths are we willing to tolerate.

NO I WILL NOT CALM DOWN. In fact I will instigate more Indians to get pissed off. Why should I be calm, my countrymen are dying like cattle for no obvious reason except the complacency of the government to tackle the problem.

If there are resources to protect the PM in Mumbai, they should be used towards solving terrorism.

What's the use of being calm, this is a serious matter that needs to be addressed and rectified ASAP with no excuses. No slack, no forgiveness.

It is my patriotic duty to be pissed off about this, I do not want my children to even know this type of weak complacent India existed. I am ashamed to call myself Indian, that's how pissed off I am.
sanjeevpunj wrote:
Sravan wrote:Gandhigiri is crap fed into our psyche, so we can be kept pseudo colonized. WAKE UP, and stand up for your rights. Why are you so complacent and casual about this? Is anyone else not pissed off as me... DAMN IT.
How do you imagine I am complacent,Sravanan.Amused at your observation.You see, you are now shifting your ire from PM, to others in the forum who may disagree with your view.SO I said relax,calm down. If you have any plan of action, state it, and it can be done without using expletives. There will be more force in your statements once you state them calmly,believe me.Right now you sound like you are frothing seething with anger, and thus you lose the focus on what is to be done.
Last edited by Sravan on 15 Jul 2011 10:35, edited 3 times in total.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

ramana wrote: The bum so far is Ammonium Nitrate based. That stuff is insensitive like hell. It needs a booster like RDX to set it off. And RDX is not available in Troop Bazaar along with paint. Its a military explosive and is difficult to handle
ramana: a high-explosive is needed to detonate Ammonium Nitrate (ANFO), but not necessarily RDX. There's a range of industrial high explosives which can detonate ANFO - eg. binary explosives like Kinestik; or Tovex(which replaced dynamite in industrial uses). Timothy McVeigh used a config like blasting cap->tovex->ANFO to prototype his design.

Take look at this paki outfit that sells all components of this recipe ...
http://www.biafo.com/
ELECTRIC DETONATORS
Electric detonator No 8 is identicall to Plain detonator except that a fuse head assembly along with two copper wire insulated with PVC are attached, Its diameter at crimped places is 502mm and is provided with 3 meter leg wire. It shall not be initiated by a direct current of 0.25 Amps for 30 seconds and shall be initiated by a direct current of 1.0 Amps for 0.01 seconds . All electric detonators have shunts on the free ends of the leg wires to help protect against unwanted current flowing through the bridge circuit...

Total Resistance: 1.0 - 1.2 ohms per detonator.

Packing: 50 Pcs in a cardboard box and 500 Pcs inCorrugated carton

Explosives Classification :
Class 6, Division 3 UN NO 0456 1.4S

Wonder what does it take to have electronic sniffers like these installed at sensitive locations ?

PS:I'm sceptical about RDX primarily because TSP has configured this attack explicity with deniability in mind - no emails from IM or RDX so far.

Bhaskar wrote:I was watching Mr. Chidambaran's media conference. One thing I noted that he said that "There was prior intelligence input" about the attack. This implies that our intelligence agencies : IB, R&AW failed to prevent the attack.
IMO as I have said earlier, some parties within Congress surrounding the junior Gandhi are in the know, and are supporting the terror mechanism (by passing on information at the minimum). Recall that these persons knew enough about how the LeT was planning on passing off the 26/11 attacks as domestically inspired, and so had press material at the ready to deflect blame on the RSS (and CIA!). A couple of former state chief ministers also went to the press in support of this attempt to protect the LeT.

The "Hindu terror" phenomenon was manufactured for precisely this type of situations. The NIA too is raised to facilitate 'targetted' "investigations".

The MEA minions have issued a statement that India / Pak "both countries have to go beyond this vicious cycle".

Lt. Col Purohit episode was the groundwork to enable this kind of sell off.
Last edited by SRoy on 15 Jul 2011 10:45, edited 2 times in total.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Sravan wrote:*takes a long breath*
NO I WILL NOT CALM DOWN. In fact I will instigate more Indians to get pissed off. Why should I be calm, my countrymen are dying like cattle for no obvious reason except the complacency of the government to tackle the problem.
If there are resources to protect the PM in Mumbai, they should be used towards solving terrorism.
What's the use of being calm, this is a serious matter that needs to be addressed and rectified ASAP with no excuses. No slack, no forgiveness.
It is my patriotic duty to be pissed off about this, I do not want my children to even know this type of weak complacent India existed. I am ashamed to call myself Indian, that's how pissed off I am.
Suit yourself, but believe me,it wont help remaining angry.Divert thought energy into constructive suggestions,so that some of our less intelligent politicians take a cue from whats being discussed here in BRF. A well composed mind with a resolute will to act, is better than a mind that is angry and reacting all the time, yet not considering plans to act. I am definitely not proposing inaction by requesting you to remain calm,I myself want to act and if I were in power I would.I too have children,but I do not feel pissed off yet.I will be happy if you state some plans of action,and not just tell the world how pissed off you are.We all are, believe me, we are.No use telling that all over the world is it? Just make a resolute decision and do something instead, thats what I believe in.Acting with conviction,undisturbed by whatever might be happening around me.I learnt this from the Gita, and I am practicing it every moment of my life.
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 15 Jul 2011 10:45, edited 1 time in total.

What is the compensation policy for the terror victims? One way to raise the salience and drive increased investment in internal security would be to increase the compensation payable upon death to something like 20x the PMs annual salary. Eventually, this should get expensive enough that prevention will be seen as the better way out.

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110714.htm
They were standing helplessly outside Mumbai's JJ Hospital's critical care unit, held back by rope barricades.

On the other side, guarding the entrance to the building, the constables and senior officers of Mumbai's police force stood firm.

No one was going to be allowed in, not until the prime minister had paid a consolatory visit to victims of Wednesday's serial blasts who had been admitted to JJ Hospital.
When told that the security was for the prime minister's visit, her eyes glimmered. "I want him to improve security. Why should blasts like this happen? I also want him to realise that because of his visit today, there will be so many patients like my father who will not get dinner tonight," she shot off a message for the prime minister.
What purpose is he really serving by being there.
Last edited by krishnan on 15 Jul 2011 10:49, edited 2 times in total.

abhishek_sharma wrote:
Abhishek-ji -- just for perspective

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110714.htm
Over 200 relatives, friends and well-wishers of patients waited outside JJ Hospital, their pleas falling on deaf ears. The Mumbai police had its orders: Keep the people out. Savera R Someshwar and Sonil Dedhia report.
Read it, fairly gut wrenching. I dont know which is worse for the victims, the act itself or the utter callousness with which they have been treated now.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Ways of reducing future bomb explosions-
1.Strict control on selling any explosive material or generic material from which explosive material can be derived.
2.Strict inventory control,movement tracking, of any explosive material owned by the government/agencies that use it for demolishing/mine blasting etc.
3.Installing CCTV networks in all the large markets that get crowded enough to attract bombers.
4.Increasing anti-terrorist forces in the country, recruiting plenty of young men and women for this.
5.Making regular checks on parked cars, by officially introducing a system of parking tickets, this can be done.
6.Keeping explosive-sniffer dogs squads on active duty on market days.
7.Installing GPS based tracking devices/speed controllers in all vehicles,incuding motorbikes and scooters.

Sanku wrote: Abhishek-ji -- just for perspective
Fair enough.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

PM and others VIPs visiting creates logistic problems.CAUTION:It can be used to execute further attacks on the gathered crowd.Even the PM can be targetted in such situations.Security Advisors and agencies must note that such visit should be discouraged as much as possible,simply because a worse disaster could happen.
arnab

Post by arnab »

abhishek_sharma wrote: Fair enough.
Depends on how one spins it I suppose. If the PM hadn't gone the media might have said that the PM couldn't even deign to visit the victims (like the Min of State for Railways not visiting the kalka mail victims a couple of weeks back). If he does go...well the media then asks... why go?
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

There should be no room for ambiguity,as a security policy, such visits should be discouraged because imagine if a pre-planned hidden bomb right at the hospital was activated as soon as the VIPs enter? This would push India into a war, almost instantly.Security advisors need to rethink this sort of visit planning.

a guy with bomb in his turban killed 4 people in the funeral of hamid karzai's brother yesterday.

there could be people willing to even eat bombs and 'carry' them inside stomachs to kill a few more kafir.
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Three parties are involved in this drama; Pakistan, US and India. Probable sequence of events:

1. Uncle Sam is pounding Pak and gradually increasing the pressure. US is on the offensive.
2. Pakistan is at the receiving end and has no friends. Pakistan is on the defensive. They are in no position to even think of using terror as an offensive tool in this situation.
3. India, happy that the US is doing the fighting watches from the sidelines. By our very nature we are ok being listless and defensive.
4. Paks knowing major bargaining is around the corner, needs extra chips for its weak hand.
5. Hastily planned major terror attack is ordered. They expect some threats from India, which they can use as an excuse to not send their army in to Waziristan. Pakistan knows they will have to comply to US demands, but play for extra time and goodies.
6. India, by its very nature rarely wants to move, and knows what Pakistan is trying to do - India stays still. Media is ordered to concentrate on IM and Mafia even before investigations have begun. (I was watching TV news all the time).
7. By doing this India hopes there will be no public pressure to act against Pakistan.
8. United States realises what Pakistan is trying to do; uses their media to accuse and keep focus on Pakistan. Yanks want India to show some reaction, but as usual India refuses to oblige.
9. India says peace talks will go on. Pakistan disappointed by Indian inaction, realises they have no more cards left to play.
10. Pakistan falls in line (for now).
Last edited by Rajiv Lather on 15 Jul 2011 11:27, edited 3 times in total.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Singha wrote:a guy with bomb in his turban killed 4 people in the funeral of hamid karzai's brother yesterday.

there could be people willing to even eat bombs and 'carry' them inside stomachs to kill a few more kafir.
Yes,I read that yesterday, thats one reason I am cautioning against such post-blast meetings in Hospitals, burial grounds,wheever people gather after such events.it simply attracts the bombers, for furthering their unholy agenda.Sounds foolish to request the PM not to go and visit, but precaution and prevention is always better than cure, isnt it.

Razdan is a Kashmiri surname isn't it? Stockholm syndrome in full display.

merlin wrote:
sum wrote: Sorry...saw it on TV onlee...Was on Headlines Today channel newshour debate with Rahul Kanwal.

Razdan is a Kashmiri surname isn't it? Stockholm syndrome in full display.
One of those pompous pricks who has zero analytical ability, has no manners while hosting and little to show apart from speaking fluently. Oh the haughty sell-importance that they attach to themselves...sheer waste of space and time.
Read this and have a peek at her mind:
Nidhi Razdan on Baba Ramdev .
http://twitter.com/#!/nidhi_razdan/stat ... 4761273344
Ramdev press conference part 3. Watching it with wine makes it so different :D
The contempt she has for Indians is quite evident.
Ignore the twat!