Indian Naval Discussion
Re: Indian Naval Discussion
SSNs and corvettes hopefully.
Its pathetic. Govt ship yards are overloaded and struggling to meet timelines but the Govt just dosent seem to be interested in tapping private potential.SSridhar wrote:L&T Shipyard in TN near ready; waits for Defence ordersLarsen & Toubro's Rs 2,000-crore shipyard at Kattupalli in Tamil Nadu is almost ready but hardly has any order worth its capability.
The yard, which has been designed for building large Defence vessels, is yet to find favour with the Defence Ministry.
“Merchant ships are not what we are looking for. The yard is built for making large high-end warships,” said Mr Naik.
“Right now, we have no choice but to go for commercial ships and repairs,” he said in an interview to Business Line.
The Kattupalli yard has been set up jointly with Tamil Nadu Industrial Development Corporation and is expected to be fully commissioned early next year.
The orders will be given once the MOD is sure that they can be completed by the said yard. The same was the case with the Pipav yard.Will wrote: Its pathetic. Govt ship yards are overloaded and struggling to meet timelines but the Govt just dosent seem to be interested in tapping private potential.
The orders will be given in due time.
I remember a couple of statements regarding the battle plans.NRao wrote:Hahahah.. You could be right. IIRC, when I was quizing last Chief of IN he said a simple thing and all of us press guys shut up. I don't remember the context (probably deployment of a particular ship), he said "when war comes, all well laid plans go bust. So, we cannot be sure that the ship can be deployed for its role, hence it has to be omnirole."
1) During Gulf War I, the war went as per US/NATO plan for the first few hours
2) If you want your battle as per your plan please send it (the battle plan) in advance, to yr enemy
I cannot recollect where I read them
Moreover with L&T already working with IN & MOD on Nuclear Subs, its just a matter of time, before it starts getting more orders for its Shipyard. With New small ASW corvettes, New Patrol Vessels, LPD, 2nd line of Subs etc lined up its going to happen sooner than later.
There can never be too many ASW assets. More the merrier. The only REAL threat to IN would be PN's subs.John wrote:Why do we exactly need that many ASW assets? Pakistan operates just a handful of SSKs. If you want to cover the shipping lanes with light carriers you are going to need a lot of them, since helos operating radius is no more than 200 km from their mother ship.
I am sure that did happen.Kersi D wrote: I remember a couple of statements regarding the battle plans.
1) During Gulf War I, the war went as per US/NATO plan for the first few hours
2) If you want your battle as per your plan please send it (the battle plan) in advance, to yr enemy
I cannot recollect where I read them
However, plans can go bad because of the enemy (who is difficult to predict) or because your own plan is bad and needs to be adjusted. If it is because of the prior then it is OK. That, hopefully, is built in to the game plan.
Unfortunately the budget is not infinite, we have more pressing needs (SeaKing replacement, MCMV, Submarine shortfall).Kersi D wrote:There can never be too many ASW assets. More the merrier. The only REAL threat to IN would be PN's subs.John wrote:Why do we exactly need that many ASW assets? Pakistan operates just a handful of SSKs. If you want to cover the shipping lanes with light carriers you are going to need a lot of them, since helos operating radius is no more than 200 km from their mother ship.
Re: Indian Naval Discussions
looking back at WW2, the principal assets of that era - fleet carriers and fast battleships operated in independent task forces of their own, both with screening cruisers and destroyers. the "bull halsey" type fast battleships ran around looking for bad guys to beat up, while the carrier TFs sometimes operating in a grp of 15 (battle of the phillpine sea) really came into their own for long distance strike and using the vast open spaces to great effect.
the old battleships and salvaged battleships(from pearl harbour) were attached to the USMC amphib task forces for shore gunnery support and occasionally ambush in favourable conditions http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/e ... raight.jpg
also added on were small light carriers (called "jeep carriers") for some reason which focussed mainly on CAS, with some limited anti-air. protection from main elements of japanese land based air and carrier aviation was left to the carrier task forces with their big hellcat airwings.
now occasionally the unthinkable happened and a swarm of these jeep carriers in leyte gulf were pounced upon by of all things the giant battleship Musashi and her cohort of battlewagons and heavy cruisers. the americans escape by skin of teeth , as destroyer ships and fighters launched suicidal attacks while the jeep carriers huffed and puffed to safety...the IJN did not press home the attack.
I think the american division was the ideal division of work based on cost issues, availability and capability.
hope IN carrier strike force1 and force2 centered on AG and ADS1 do *not* get tied down into low key support to amphib issues / area protection but are left free for offensive duties.
ASW cover force1 and force2 centered on 2 x juan carlos type using JSF-vstol could do the protection of trade routes thing, dual tasked with support of amphib landings.
ASW offensive duties could be from cheaper hyuga type ship led task forces.....
the old battleships and salvaged battleships(from pearl harbour) were attached to the USMC amphib task forces for shore gunnery support and occasionally ambush in favourable conditions http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/e ... raight.jpg
also added on were small light carriers (called "jeep carriers") for some reason which focussed mainly on CAS, with some limited anti-air. protection from main elements of japanese land based air and carrier aviation was left to the carrier task forces with their big hellcat airwings.
now occasionally the unthinkable happened and a swarm of these jeep carriers in leyte gulf were pounced upon by of all things the giant battleship Musashi and her cohort of battlewagons and heavy cruisers. the americans escape by skin of teeth , as destroyer ships and fighters launched suicidal attacks while the jeep carriers huffed and puffed to safety...the IJN did not press home the attack.
I think the american division was the ideal division of work based on cost issues, availability and capability.
hope IN carrier strike force1 and force2 centered on AG and ADS1 do *not* get tied down into low key support to amphib issues / area protection but are left free for offensive duties.
ASW cover force1 and force2 centered on 2 x juan carlos type using JSF-vstol could do the protection of trade routes thing, dual tasked with support of amphib landings.
ASW offensive duties could be from cheaper hyuga type ship led task forces.....
Mallick, you are on a roll boss. this will be a massive increase in surveillance and air-list.bmallick wrote:What would be total numbers needed, 20-40 for ASW//MPA , 15-20 for ELINT, 15-20 for ASTOR, 60-80 for Army aviation, 40-60 as cargo, Basic trainer maybe 80-100 more, if as a flying controller another 10-15. Thus totalling 240 - 340 in numbers. Thats good numbers.
Rahul Ji, what is a P16? Destroyer or Frigates.Rahul M wrote:3 X P16 (2 ASW helo each)
3 X P16A (2 ASW helo each)
Indian naval ship visits Khanh Hoa
Naval ship INS Airavat of India berthed at Nha Trang Naval Academy military port in the south-central coastal province of Khanh Hoa on July 19, beginning a four-day visit to the locality.
On the occasion, Indian Ambassador to Vietnam Ranjit Rae visited the province.
Ranjit Rae and the ship’s commanders and officers were scheduled to pay courtesy visits to the leaders of the municipal People’s Committee and the Directors Board of the Naval Academy.
In the framework of the visit, the Indian officers and sailors will play volleyball and join in music performances with officers and students of the Naval Academy.
Some officers and students of the Academy will participate in training sessions and professional exchanges aboard the INS Airavat ship during its trip to the port city of Hai Phong, from July 25-28.
P16 -> Godavari class frigatesShrinivasan wrote:Rahul Ji, what is a P16? Destroyer or Frigates.Rahul M wrote:3 X P16 (2 ASW helo each)
3 X P16A (2 ASW helo each)
P16A -> Brahmaputra class frigates.
This Rant is uncalled for, Did someone from MOD say they are not giving an order to L&T? If an order is given, can L&T execute on it? the guy himself says, Yard is not ready and will be ready soon.Will wrote:Its pathetic. Govt ship yards are overloaded and struggling to meet timelines but the Govt just dosent seem to be interested in tapping private potential.
BTB, What order should IN/MOD give this yard? have they showcased a design. the current planned ships are all planned with MDL, GRSE and HSY in mind. Soon, we might start a new Frigate or a Corvette line, IMHO L&T might get even the LPD/LPH if it bids for it (there is an RFI out for it!!!)
Shrinivasan ji i dont think L&T or pipayav can come up with a new design and win a contract, they should start with follow-ons of p16/17 and on completion will be competent enough to pitch their own designs. They dont have a design team i guess as of now
Thanks, I have never heard of this designation... my bad...nachiket wrote:P16 -> Godavari class frigatesShrinivasan wrote: Rahul Ji, what is a P16? Destroyer or Frigates.
P16A -> Brahmaputra class frigates.
tube-light moment, that explains P17 for Shivalik... Thanks again
i didn't mean it that way... I meant "Not yet ready", will get an order "when they are ready"suryag wrote:Shrinivasan ji i dont think L&T or pipayav can come up with a new design and win a contract, they should start with follow-ons of p16/17 and on completion will be competent enough to pitch their own designs. They dont have a design team i guess as of now
Added later: I think a follow-on order for Frigates would be due.. if not some LPD (like the Magar class)
Navel design for the Indian navy is the responsibility of the IN-DRDO combo. They come up with the design and the yards build then up. The same will be the case with the PVT yards. Only in this case they may go for the tender process. Like it was done for the 4 OPV under construction at Pipav.
I think it makes sense to open another line of P28 construction. these are ships we need in volume and quicker the better.
hopefully the P17A and P15B class will be subdivided among govt and pvt yards, or the pvt yards can supply some modular sections for final assembly in the Govt yard....as they want to go the modular route now.
Singha, P28A is possible,but not P17A or P15B, they are capital ships and MDL has built significant traction in building them. also a bigger risk than P28/P28A Corvettes. I am not confident of Modular construction too, for one, L&T would like to build SHIPS and create a brand value rather than be a piece rate builder!!! my 2 cents.Singha wrote:I think it makes sense to open another line of P28 construction.
hopefully the P17A and P15B class will be subdivided among govt and pvt yards
P28/P28A Corvettes and LPD (not the larger LHD) would be my guess...
'Aircraft carrier Admiral Gorshkov shaping up for sea trials'
Hindustan Times
'Admiral Verma took an extensive tour of Vikramaditya on his visit to the Sevmash Shipyard, where he observed that significant progress had been made and the ship was shaping up well for the preliminary sea trials,' the release said.
During his visit to Kaliningrad, he reviewed the progress of the Talwar class follow-on frigates, under construction at the Yantar shipyard. He was reassured that the first ship INS Teg would commence trials shortly and be delivered in six to eight months, it said.
The admiral made a first hand assessment of all projects and held vital discussions with officials at the highest leadership levels of the Russian armed forces and defence industry.
'Reviewing ongoing projects, he observed that they were progressing satisfactorily and had reached critical stages of maturity. He also expressed satisfaction with the quality of construction and repairs,' the release added.
In his discussions with the Russian Navy commander-in-chief on operational exchanges between the two navies, they agreed that the Indra naval war exercises series formed an important aspect of their bilateral relationship, and would need to be continued and extended in scope and participation. They also discussed possible avenues of co-operation including anti-piracy operations, the release said.
Addition of this new set of Talwar Class Frigates would add significant punch to the IN's strength. By then we will have one (or possibly two) more P17A inducted... Yeah...shukla wrote:India to soon get new frigate fitted with BrahMos
Anyone has any idea on the induction/commissioning schedule for P15A? Aunty Wiki says May 2012, May 2013 & May 2014!!!
Excerpt from the RFI for the Anti Submarine Warfare Shallow Water Craft (ASW SWC) put out by the Navy:shukla wrote:Indian Navy planning to induct anti-submarine ships
Economic Times
"We are looking to induct indigenously-built craft for anti-submarine warfare operations in coastal waters and combating the threat posed by submarines," Indian Navy officials told media here. "The craft would also be used for undertaking low intensity maritime operations and laying of anti-ship and anti-submarine mines," they said.
The Navy wants the vessels to be able to operate within 200 nautical miles from its launch base and be able to travel at speeds of above 25 knots. "The ship should also be equipped with torpedos and rocket launchers as its fire power," they said.
Expressing its interest to procure such vessels in a Request for Information document, the Navy has sought responses from Indian shipyards for manufacturing these vessels indigenously at their facilities here.
The Navy intends to acquire these class of ships under 'Buy Indian' category, which means that the ships should be built indigenously. Not disclosing the number of vessels to be procured by it, officials said, "There is also a possibility of the contract being divided between two different shipyards."
On the design for the ships, the Navy wants that the vendors should have an MoU with a design partner for the construction of vessels at the time of submission of tender.
REQUEST FOR INFORMATION (RFI) FOR CONSTRUCTION OF ANTI SUBMARINE WARFARE SHALLOW WATER CRAFTS FOR INDIAN NAVY
1. The Ministry of Defence, Government of India, intends to acquire Anti Submarine Warfare Shallow Water Craft (ASW SWCs) class of ships under ‘Buy Indian’ category, as amplified in Defence Procurement Procedure (DPP) 2011. Information is sought from prospective shipbuilders for design and construction of the ships, to be built in India. Possibility exists of splitting the order between two Shipyards. The ships shall have Diesel propulsion with Water Jets. ............................
Appendix A
OUTLINE SPECIFICATIONS FOR ASW SWCs CLASS OF SHIPS
1. Role of the Ship
The role of ASW Shallow Water Crafts is as follows: -
(a) Anti-submarine warfare operations in coastal waters.
(b) Combating the threat posed by submarines.
(c) Undertaking low intensity maritime operations.
(d) Laying of mines.
2. Area of Operation :- To operate within 200 NM of the base port.
3. Other Features
(a) Dimensions:
(a) Draught – Not exceeding 2.7m in fully laden condition without Sonar Dome
(b) Displacement – Not Exceeding 650 Tons ( Shipyard may propose tonnage as per their design also)
(c) All other dimensions and displacement as per design.
(b) Speed & Endurance
(a) Speed: Top Speed Not Less than 25 Knots in full load condition at ambient temperature.
(b) Endurance : 1800 NM at 14 Knots
(c) Weapons
(a) ASW Combat Suite
(i) Hull Mounted Sonar (HMS)
(HMS will be procured in accordance with Section B of DPP-11, Chapter 3. List of vendors would be provided by IHQ MoD(Navy). The equipment should clear FET on NC-NC basis prior fitment onboard the ships.)
(ii) 2x Indigenous Torpedo Launcher
(Three light weight torpedo tubes per launcher in pyramid configuration)
(iii) 1x Indigenous Rocket Launcher
(iv) Mine Laying Rails for Light weight mines
(v) Low Freq Variable Depth Sonar(LFVDS)
(LFVDS will be procured in accordance with Section B of DPP-11, Chapter 3. List of vendors would be provided by IHQ MoD(Navy). The equipment should clear FET on NC-NC basis prior fitment onboard the ships)
(b) Two 12.7 mm Stabilised Remote Control Gun ....................
Click on View Document on the below page:
Clicky
Kersi D wrote:Unfortunately the budget is not infinite, we have more pressing needs (SeaKing replacement, MCMV, Submarine shortfall).John wrote:Why do we exactly need that many ASW assets? Pakistan operates just a handful of SSKs. If you want to cover the shipping lanes with light carriers you are going to need a lot of them, since helos operating radius is no more than 200 km from their mother ship
There can never be too many ASW assets. More the merrier. The only REAL threat to IN would be PN's subs.
So money is the name of the game. If there was infinite money for everybody, there would be no economics !!
Kersi
PS Seaking replacement itself is a major ASW boost
This looks like a new requirements, also no number has been proposed? also intriguing is the possibility of splitting the order between TWO shipyards. For such a small ship, 2 shipyards implies a larger order.arun wrote:Excerpt from the RFI for the Anti Submarine Warfare Shallow Water Craft (ASW SWC) put out by the Navy:
OUTLINE SPECIFICATIONS FOR ASW SWCs CLASS OF SHIPS
This is from the specs given,a real "Janata" class ASW corvette! Larger than the Pauk by 150t,yet vastly inferior to it,possessing no main gun or gatling (2X 12.7mm vs 1X76mm + 1X 30mm gatling),smaller TTs (2X3 lightweight torps vs 2X2 21" heavyweights),1 X MBU vs 2,no BPDMS,etc.,etc.A comparison of both classes is given blow.It makes me wonder why we didn't buy more Pauks.As Kersi said,p'raps we want the "cheapest and bestest",stripping down the specs to barest reqd. in typical Yindian fashion! A large number of these Janata class vessels would however complement the larger P-28s well,have enough Janatas to sanitise our island territories and coastal facilities and the money saved could go into more units of that class,true blue water vessels.If that is the intention,it sounds v.practical solution.
"Janata" class ASW corvette:
Pauk class ASW corvette:1. Role of the Ship
The role of ASW Shallow Water Crafts is as follows: -
(a) Anti-submarine warfare operations in coastal waters.
(b) Combating the threat posed by submarines.
(c) Undertaking low intensity maritime operations.
(d) Laying of mines.
2. Area of Operation :- To operate within 200 NM of the base port.
3. Other Features
(a) Dimensions:
(a) Draught – Not exceeding 2.7m in fully laden condition without Sonar Dome
(b) Displacement – Not Exceeding 650 Tons ( Shipyard may propose tonnage as per their design also)
(c) All other dimensions and displacement as per design.
(b) Speed & Endurance
(a) Speed: Top Speed Not Less than 25 Knots in full load condition at ambient temperature.
(b) Endurance : 1800 NM at 14 Knots
(c) Weapons
(a) ASW Combat Suite
(i) Hull Mounted Sonar (HMS)
(HMS will be procured in accordance with Section B of DPP-11, Chapter 3. List of vendors would be provided by IHQ MoD(Navy). The equipment should clear FET on NC-NC basis prior fitment onboard the ships.)
(ii) 2x Indigenous Torpedo Launcher
(Three light weight torpedo tubes per launcher in pyramid configuration)
(iii) 1x Indigenous Rocket Launcher
(iv) Mine Laying Rails for Light weight mines
(v) Low Freq Variable Depth Sonar(LFVDS)
(LFVDS will be procured in accordance with Section B of DPP-11, Chapter 3. List of vendors would be provided by IHQ MoD(Navy). The equipment should clear FET on NC-NC basis prior fitment onboard the ships)
(b) Two 12.7 mm Stabilised Remote Control Gun ....................
In fact,since there appears to be no major anti-surface role,the Pauk's main 76mm gun (and fire control radar) could easily be dispensed with and the 30mm std. gun mount developed from the BMP ICV gun that our smaller patrol craft feature could be installed instead of the meagre 12.7mm guns.This would bring down the tonnage even further and allow an extra MBU or even a newer ASW system like Medvedka to be fitted instead.The absence of any UUV capability is a severe omission,and these specs to me seem to be a regression in ASW capability of such a sized ship,when compared with what we already possess!Type: Anti-submarine corvette
Displacement: 500 long tons (508 t) standard, 580 long tons (589 t) full load
Length: 57 metres (187 ft)
Beam: 9.4 m (30 ft 10 in)
Draught: 2.4 m (7 ft 10 in)
Propulsion: 2 shaft M504 diesels, 20,000 shaft horsepower (14,914 kW)
Speed: 28–34 knots (51.9 km/h/32.2 mph – 63 km/h/39.1 mph)
Range: 1,650 nautical miles (3,056 km; 1,899 mi) at 14 kn (25.9 km/h; 16.1 mph)
Complement: 40
Sensors and
processing systems: Radar: Spin Trough, Bass Tilt, Air surface search
Sonar: Medium frequency hull mounted and Bronza dipping sonar
Armament: 1 SA-N-5 SAM (1x4)
1 x 76-millimetre (3.0 in) gun
1 x 30 mm (1.2 in) gun (AK-630)
2 x RBU 1200 anti submarine rocket launchers
4 x 406 mm (16 in) anti submarine torpedo tubes; some ships have 2 x 533 mm (21 in) torpedo tubes)
I am no expert on ships, etc, but, I am finding that various navies have different requirements even though they call a ship a "corvette".
May be we should have a new thread: Design your corvette.
Conducting a cursory check I find that the Pauk was buried by the IN long back, so I just do not see something of that type coming back. IF it means using just the hull, there too i am not certain it is a good idea - technologies have moved on and I would suspect so would the design.
I support the IN thinking of giving broad design criteria and leaving the variables to the designer. And, I hope the Indian designers really accept this challenge.
During my "check" (NOT exhaustive by any means) I can across two technologies that I would push to the top of my list: water jets as a means of propulsion (for combat ships) and catamaran hulls. Both these, I feel, would help a "coastal" boat. Specially the prior - seems to be indispensable in maneuvering - even at great speeds.
Talking of speeds, 25 KmPH seems to be too low. I wish the IN specified something like 40 KmPH.
Leaving some guns from the list indicates, to me at least, that these ships will be true coastal ships and are not expected to go too far out into the blue sea. The 200 Km op radius I think is along the coast.
Since they are to operate close to the shore may be they can think of materials other than metal for the hull. Should help with stealth.
The specs for this ship includes "The craft would also be used for undertaking low intensity maritime operations". Assist CG under some circumstance. Seems to me that they are designing layered protection of the land.
I like it so far.
May be we should have a new thread: Design your corvette.
Conducting a cursory check I find that the Pauk was buried by the IN long back, so I just do not see something of that type coming back. IF it means using just the hull, there too i am not certain it is a good idea - technologies have moved on and I would suspect so would the design.
I support the IN thinking of giving broad design criteria and leaving the variables to the designer. And, I hope the Indian designers really accept this challenge.
During my "check" (NOT exhaustive by any means) I can across two technologies that I would push to the top of my list: water jets as a means of propulsion (for combat ships) and catamaran hulls. Both these, I feel, would help a "coastal" boat. Specially the prior - seems to be indispensable in maneuvering - even at great speeds.
Talking of speeds, 25 KmPH seems to be too low. I wish the IN specified something like 40 KmPH.
Leaving some guns from the list indicates, to me at least, that these ships will be true coastal ships and are not expected to go too far out into the blue sea. The 200 Km op radius I think is along the coast.
Since they are to operate close to the shore may be they can think of materials other than metal for the hull. Should help with stealth.
The specs for this ship includes "The craft would also be used for undertaking low intensity maritime operations". Assist CG under some circumstance. Seems to me that they are designing layered protection of the land.
I like it so far.
^^^ +1 post by Philip.
Hmmm……….. The proposed ASW SWC does indeed come across as lacking the teeth of the Pauk Class ASW Corvette aka Abhay Class.
Anyway GRSE is reported as having commenced the process of re-engining the Pauk / Abhay Class with the MTU 1163:
Hmmm……….. The proposed ASW SWC does indeed come across as lacking the teeth of the Pauk Class ASW Corvette aka Abhay Class.
Anyway GRSE is reported as having commenced the process of re-engining the Pauk / Abhay Class with the MTU 1163:
The trials on board INS Abhay post re-engining work, have been successfully completed. Replacement of Russian make radial engines with high power to weight MTU 1163 Engines was finally accomplished in March 2010 after initial teething problems. Experience and expertise gained during execution of the project including modification of the hull structure / compartments will help the company in obtaining re-engining projects of balance two Abhay class ships.
Clicky
It's not a corvette but a shallow water craft custom made for specific requirements of IN. IN usually puts too much on its ship and makes ship that would easily classify in at least a class higher category in most navies so this may be a fast attack cost gaurd boat gone hyper for sub-hunting rather than stripped down corvett
With regards to this small ASW corvette, wouldn't the navy be better served by a slightly heavier hull of 800-900 tons. Even though this corvette is being intended to be operated with in 200nm from base, but from what all I have read that for good rough weather survivability 800 tons is the minimum. Considering we do have cyclone zone on both of our sea front as well as Andaman Sea we need good rough sea survivability. Very bad weather would not probably submarine movement & operations. More so for an AIP equipped on, which can stay down for the entire bad weather span.
Moreover having a bit extra range, such that they Corvettes can operate the entire Andaman Sea, would not be bad would it. Ofcourse the navy knows better. However how much lee way would the following statement provide to the designer to increase the tonnage to 800-900.
Please start a thread. I would be happy to let my hair down.NRao wrote: May be we should have a new thread: Design your corvette.
The speed is given 25 knots, minimum. This works out to 45 kmph.NRao wrote: Talking of speeds, 25 KmPH seems to be too low. I wish the IN specified something like 40 KmPH.
HAPPY ?!?!?!
Kersi
^^ Janata class specs have -
1. better endurance necessary for patient snooping for subs,
2. low freq sonar vis-a-vis medium freq sonar having much better detection ranges
3. RBU 6000 instead of RBU 1200 with range of 6 km instead of earlier 1.2 km
4. 96 ASW rockets instead of earlier 30+30
5. 6 homing torpedoes instead of earlier 4
Net net 50% ASW capability increase.
Deletion of main gun - subs and surface ships rarely operate together because of difference in speed and tactics. Subs dont carry guns. Hence no need. MPA/MiG-29 can target any surface threat to Janata class.
Deletion of CIWS - same reason, Janata class will persistently defend home waters. Very few missile platforms will come close.
Ofcourse, in the final scheme of things, you may find these bells and whistles. The specs are minimum specs
2. low freq sonar vis-a-vis medium freq sonar having much better detection ranges
Deletion of main gun - subs and surface ships rarely operate together because of difference in speed and tactics. Subs dont carry guns. Hence no need. MPA/MiG-29 can target any surface threat to Janata class.
Deletion of CIWS - same reason, Janata class will persistently defend home waters. Very few missile platforms will come close.
Ofcourse, in the final scheme of things, you may find these bells and whistles. The specs are minimum specs
Are these the specs (proposed by you) for the new RFI issues by the Navy [Anti Submarine Warfare Shallow Water Craft (ASW SWCs)]? I am glad this is in the Buy-Indian category. We should induct couple of dozens of these! Do you know the # of boats planned/targeted?tsarkar wrote:^^ Janata class specs have -
Kersi D wrote:The speed is given 25 knots, minimum. This works out to 45 kmph ....NRao wrote:Talking of speeds, 25 KmPH seems to be too low. I wish the IN specified something like 40 KmPH.

I have started a new thread titled "design your own 500-1000t ASW corvette"
the weight limits should not be taken literally, if someone wants a 6000t ship and can justify its features, role and cost - so be it.
NR has put the finger on the spot...reg. water jet propulsion,used in our fast patrol craft.This would enhance the speed of the corvette able to pursue a contact better.I however was also viewing it from a diff. perspective,in that the same hull/platform could be examined whether it would suit the small light ASW corvette.If you look at the specs.,the draft of the proposed vessel is almost that of the Pauk class,so that 500t-600t would be sufficient for a Janata class vessel.The only added feature I would like is that of a heli-deck which would make it very versatile and the availability of a helo to operate from the ship.plus a UAV,gives the Janata great reach.One of my favourite essays on naval warfare is that of an old '60s (shows how ancient I am!) era USNI Proceedings article titled "Little ships with big legs " ,of small frigates with ASW helo cpability.Imagine the IN possessing a large fleet of these Janata class corvettes strung out all along our coastline.Our ASW helos (possibly land based ASW Dhruvs,as they aren't ideal for our warships) and UAVs could use these vessels as "stepping stones" in the sea,hopping at will from patform to platform (including oil rigs!) greatly extending the reach and lethality of our combined ASW capability.Submarines today place the ASW helo as their greatest threat as it has far greater speed than a sub,able to hop from ship to ship in pursuance of a sub contact,possessing relative invulnerability to the submerged sub,which has only in recent times seen the development of anti-helo sub-launched SAMs.
650 tonnes displacement, water jet propulsion, optimised for shallow coastal water operations, hull mounted sonar, torpedo tubes besides having many other of the specs required of the ASW SWC though most certainly not Janata
……………………. the Visby Class corvette.

err, both LCS have top speeds of 44 knots and 47 knots respectively and weigh around 3000 t.disha wrote:Kersi D wrote:
The speed is given 25 knots, minimum. This works out to 45 kmph ....Also 40 knots is @75 kmph., imagine a 3000 ton ship making a turn at 75 kmph ...