Indian Missiles and Munitions Discussion

Re: Indian Missiles and Munitions Discussion

India Defence in a dated article talks about Prithvi variants... see below.
http://www.india-defence.com/reports-3643
Prithvi I is India's first indigenously developed tactical surface-to-surface short-range ballistic missile (SRBM)
The single stage liquid-fuelled Prithvi I with maximum warhead mounting capability of 1000 kg has a range of 150 km. It has an accuracy of 10- 50 metres, while the AAD is precise to 0.5 mts.
Prithvi II (Dhanush) is the Air Force version of 250 kms range and capacity to carry a payload of 500kg,
while Prithvi III is the naval version of 350 km range with a payload of 500 kgs.
I think they have flipped P-II and P-III wrt to users? what do you guys think?
P-II might be the Dhanush - Naval variant and P-III is the IAF variant.

Rahul M wrote:tarmak says 150Km in 195 seconds so it's only 3.5 Mach for a ballistic missile.
speed is not calculated that way. 150 km is distance between point A from where it is fired to point B where it hits the ground. distance covered by missile is along a parabolic arc which is much larger (1.5 times 150km, say) speed is calculated using the distance covered along the trajectory arc.
Also Speed is not constant throughout the flight trajectory. There could be a phase in which it is going at higher speeds too. Also after it burns say 30% of the fuel, the missile is a lot lighter and could travel faster (IF burn rate being same).
Also the grain structure could be in such a way that there is slower burning during the phase where the missile has attained its max altitude and might coast for some distance. Will we be able to increase distance if we add a coast phase to the missile

Shrinivasan wrote:
tsarkar wrote:Not sure why on earth people give Prasun Sengupta any credibility
Credibility my foot, I want to rub him big Ruddy nose down to the dirt where he belongs.. I have a personal grouse against him. Just because I used Chor Gupta, He personally named me in his post in ridicule. This was during the Prahaar discussion only (where he himself flip-flopped on what the missile was). I'll screw him with comments, but then he'll remove it. so I don't bother to write!!!
I have something for you in the thread about defense publications and website.... :D :twisted:

Shrinivasan wrote:Credibility my foot, I want to rub him big Ruddy nose down to the dirt where he belongs..
I have something for you in the thread about defense publications and website.... :D :twisted:
Completely OT here, but someone could start a blog with similar title as his, and shred his falsehoods apart. And BR members could have absolutely no connection to that blog the same way the ISI has absolutely no connection to messers Dawood Gilani & Ibrahim

Deleted my post
Last edited by Shrinivasan on 21 Jul 2011 13:50, edited 1 time in total.

guys, please delete the sengupta related posts and take those to the DDM thread, we don't want to saturate this thread with that stuff.
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Video of Prahaar Launch on Tarmak Site: http://tarmak007.blogspot.com/2011/07/v ... aunch.html

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/--ZgmJzsltlM/T ... 00/p-8.jpg
you all see the smile of the most important man in this pic? that is what I was looking for. [hint: user]

cool.

but way behind out of the cool chamber, i do see a solo tfta firang.

prabhug wrote:tarmak says 150Km in 195 seconds so it's only 3.5 Mach for a ballistic missile.
speed is not calculated that way. 150 km is distance between point A from where it is fired to point B where it hits the ground. distance covered by missile is along a parabolic arc which is much larger (1.5 times 150km, say) speed is calculated using the distance covered along the trajectory arc.
250 seconds as per DRDO and reaches 35 kms up.
bodhi

Post by bodhi »

wish they had videos for the impact site as well....i know there will not be any explosions etc but would be great to see how far it impacts from a target flagpole for instance

bodhi wrote:wish they had videos for the impact site as well....i know there will not be any explosions etc but would be great to see how far it impacts from a target flagpole for instance
If you have seen Brahmos video, you have seen 60% of it.

SaiK wrote:http://4.bp.blogspot.com/--ZgmJzsltlM/T ... 00/p-8.jpg
you all see the smile of the most important man in this pic? that is what I was looking for. [hint: user]

cool.

but way behind out of the cool chamber, i do see a solo tfta firang.
And he happens to be the DG Artillery of IA.... :twisted:

I am going to risk my neck and predict that the 6missile launcher(which we haven't seen yet) is a part of the larger BMD project and will also be fielded as part of our finished phase-I ABM system. the path taken seems to be similar to the s-300 approach.

DRDO Official Press Release

DRDO successfully flight tested its latest surface to surface missile Prahaar at 08.20 A.M on 21st July 2011 from Launch Complex III, off Chandipur Coast, ITR, Balasore, Orissa. The missile with a range of 150 km, comparable to ATACMS Missile of United States of America, fills the vital gap between Multi Barrel Rockets and Medium range Ballistic Missiles. The missile capable of carrying different types of warheads, operates as battle field support system to the Indian Army.
The missile with a length of 7.3 meters and diameter of 420 mm weighing 1280 kgs, and a single stage solid propulsion system goes to a height of 35 kms before reaching the targets of the range of 150 kms in about 250 seconds. The missile equipped with state-of-the-art high accuracy navigation, guidance and electro mechanical actuation systems with latest onboard computer achieved terminal accuracy of less than 10 meters.
The missile with a pay load of 200 kg has a fast reaction time, which is essential for the battle field tactical missile. The missile is launched from a Road Mobile System, which can carry six missiles at a time and can be fired in salvo mode in all directions covering the entire azimuth plane.
The missile system is developed to provide Indian Army a cost effective, quick reaction, all weather, all terrain, high accurate battle field support tactical system. The development of missile is carried out by the DRDO scientists in a short span of less than two years.
The flight path of the Missile was tracked and monitored by the various radar systems and electro optical systems located along the coast of Orissa. An Indian naval ship located near target point in Bay of Bengal witnessed the final event. The missile was developed by the DRDO Scientists with support from Indian Industry and Quality assurance agency MSQAA.
The launch operations were witnessed by Dr. V.K. Saraswat, Scientific Adviser to Raksha Mantri and Secretary Defence R & D, Lt Gen Vinod Nayanar, AVSM, Director General of Artillery, IHQ of MoD (Army). The operations were over seen by Avinash Chander, Chief Controller R&D, V.L.N. Rao, Programme Director AD, S.K. Ray, Director RCI, and S.P. Dash, Director ITR.
Defence Minister A.K. Antony congratulated the Scientists of DRDO for the successful maiden launch of the new missile.

=======================================================
Notes:
1) Reference to ATACMS missile is striking in official press release. ATACMS is credited to be very accurate sometimes noted in millimeters.

2) Prahaar can be expected of such high accuracy. I think that is very important if needs to be qualified for tactical support in Indian conditions. Like US Marines do, Indian jawans can call the help of Prahaar, instead of MiG-27/LCA when they are pinned down from enemy fire. Salvo fire can neutralize moving columns. Pakis can nevery have any dreams of another Kargil as will proves more than handy in such situation. It can slow down approaching Tank columns if it can breach canals on their way in Pakistan and take out those columns with appropriate warhead. It can also take out command centers and other strategic installation. All these needs very high accuracy. As it is already proved in situations such as hitting bullet with a bullet in ABM mode demonstrating very high accuracy, hope Prahaar exceeds the expectation.

3) Can it take a mobile target? Though nothing of that sort been hinted so far, to my understanding it can.

I posted in the intl. thread a link to a novel Russian multiple missile launcher which is actually a disguised container,where the roof of the container is fixed to the missile "box" frame that rotates to a vertical launch position.Looking at the dimensions of Prahaar,I am sure that the same can be done to it too,which would make it very stealthy and easy to hide.If a naval version is developed,for smaller patrol and corvette sized craft,they could carry quite a number of missiles in a "six-pack" arrangement.
vasu_ray

Post by vasu_ray »

Probably they are subsidizing the whole BMD program with this commonality of missile components, once PDV is launched we should see a similar looking surface to surface version with longer range following
Another criticism of BMD being expensive down the drain

if the liquid fueled Prithvi was inefficient as the Pakis state why were they seeking a 'CBM' to remove Prithvi for Hatf?

Singha wrote:150km is just the start...we can expect variants like 300km , 450km in due course - perhaps fatter ones carried 4 per TELAR or 3-per TELAR (brahmos style log bundle).
Brahmos can be used for targets at ~300 km and Shourya can be for targets 400 km onwards. Unless you can find so many targets of interest in the vicinity of battlefield at that range which needs immediate attention, don't known what is the use of separate missile which can't be taken by other missiles. Going @ the rate, in few years time, IAF will only be tasked with Air to air role.

Philip wrote:I posted in the intl. thread a link to a novel Russian multiple missile launcher which is actually a disguised container,where the roof of the container is fixed to the missile "box" frame that rotates to a vertical launch position.Looking at the dimensions of Prahaar,I am sure that the same can be done to it too,which would make it very stealthy and easy to hide.If a naval version is developed,for smaller patrol and corvette sized craft,they could carry quite a number of missiles in a "six-pack" arrangement.
Prahaar will be equivalent of Jumper missile system if it get accepted by tri service.

rohitvats wrote:The capability conferred by this missile is beyond words, actually. We now need a longer range variant for PLA - something with 250-300-400kms range....will allow missiles to be launched from the plains of Assam Valley. Or targets in depth opposite our Ladakh. Though, such a missile will ofcourse be more heavy.
You must be having some idea, Rohit, so I put this question. How much target of import you can find near battlefield at the distance of 300 - 400km which needs such long range missile.
bmallick

Post by bmallick »

Question: Has there been any plans to equip our LST's & Amphbious vessels, with Pinaka Launchers? Four such launchers per vessel, should provide good fire just before the boots hit the ground. These launchers should be removal types, so that even patrol vessels can take up a couple if required. This would be a far better fire power rather than a single Prithvi.

kanson ji, the S-300 batteries and C3I nodes.

Kanson wrote:
rohitvats wrote:The capability conferred by this missile is beyond words, actually. We now need a longer range variant for PLA - something with 250-300-400kms range....will allow missiles to be launched from the plains of Assam Valley. Or targets in depth opposite our Ladakh. Though, such a missile will ofcourse be more heavy.
You must be having some idea, Rohit, so I put this question. How much target of import you can find near battlefield at the distance of 300 - 400km which needs such long range missile.
Kanson, the reason I quoted the above range is because IMO, we need a missile to target high-value targets 100+kms from LAC/FEBA from Assam Valley...which basically means that the TEL will not need to go up the hills.

I don't know how easy or difficult it will be to position such a system in required numbers in the hills. As I understand, a six-round Prahaar TEL is not going be exactly very maneuverable to move around. If the infra can support these babies in the hills, then the job can be done by them onleee. But we do need a TBM with high precision and good throw-weight between this baby and the 700kms range Agni to target targets deeper in Tibet.

In case of Pakistan - all their centers of gravity will be in reach of this missile and positioning such systems close to border is a non-issue.

Kanson wrote:
Singha wrote:150km is just the start...we can expect variants like 300km , 450km in due course - perhaps fatter ones carried 4 per TELAR or 3-per TELAR (brahmos style log bundle).
Brahmos can be used for targets at ~300 km and Shourya can be for targets 400 km onwards. Unless you can find so many targets of interest in the vicinity of battlefield at that range which needs immediate attention, don't known what is the use of separate missile which can't be taken by other missiles. Going @ the rate, in few years time, IAF will only be tasked with Air to air role.
Sir, we need to disable enemy air defence, Missile launchers very quickly in war, so there is no question of having too many missiles and IAF not doing any A to G. In fact in Indo Pak scenario, we should have enough missiles in reserve to make Chinis are not upto Hanky panky.

Ideally we should disable PAF, PN and Paki Army MBRL's Artillery, Missile launchers within the first day. Then in a sustained 45-60 day carpet bombing campaign finish any type of miltary hardware of the Pakis and let thier soldiers desert the battlefeild and take shelter behind women and Children, Chaos ensues in Paki cities with shortage of essential items and then they should sue for peace where we split the country with treaties with Post world war Japan with each and make sure none of those entities will be Miltary Viable.

Then we can ensure there will peace in the sub-continent for our future generations.

So lets get ahead of the curve, as of today we are short of Fire power and lets not make statements like IAF will be tasked only air to air etc.
Uttam

Post by Uttam »

I very quick comparison of Prahaar with ATACMS

_______Prahaar ATACMS Missile
Length 7.3 m ___3.96 m
Dia ___420 mm 609 mm
Weight 1280 Kg ?
Range 150 Km __161km
Payload 200 kg____?

Thought Rakshaks will be interested in this.

^^^ cleaned it up for easy reading

Prahaar          ATACMS Missile
Length	  7.3 m             3.96 m
Dia	     420 mm            609 mm
Weight	  1280 Kg            ?
Range	   150 Km            161km
Payload	 200 kg             ?

why should we restrict deployment to a movable launcher for the mountains and hills?

secret hidden fixed launchers? perhaps number of them dispersed at strategic locations?

dinesha wrote:Video of Prahaar Launch on Tarmak Site: http://tarmak007.blogspot.com/2011/07/v ... aunch.html
ohhhh shitski! That is one of the worst videos I have seen recently. None of the camera persons were expecting the missile to accelerate up that fast and they all failed to track the missile. :((

Kanson wrote:Going @ the rate, in few years time, IAF will only be tasked with Air to air role.
Why not ? Why do risk our people to attack the scums ? Get rid of them forma safe distance.

We should have weapons which take care of all CAS tasks , they are perhaps the most dangerous missions

N Jhawar

Post by N Jhawar »

dinesha wrote:Video of Prahaar Launch on Tarmak Site: http://tarmak007.blogspot.com/2011/07/v ... aunch.html
ohhhh shitski! That is one of the worst videos I have seen recently. None of the camera persons were expecting the missile to accelerate up that fast and they all failed to track the missile. :((
I may be wrong but aren't missile launches tracked and filmed by automatic tracking cameras?

PratikDas wrote:
Truly a byproduct of AAD. The vanes are so compact too. This takes us into a different league.
Looks cute !!!!

>> I may be wrong but aren't missile launches tracked and filmed by automatic tracking cameras?

not here they are not! the wedding videographer from balasore town sends over few chaps and thats it.

@ Rahul Ji , I thought Brahmos LACM and Air launched one can take care of those?

@ Rohit, Thank You. @1.2 tonne, 6 missile should weigh less than 3 Brahmos. And hope it will be compact enough to travel windy roads. In official press release it is mentioned as all weather all terrain quick reaction missile.

@ Aditya_V, Sir, I not against developing new missile or against the concept of raining 1000 missiles at the enemy on the first day of war. My question is on rationalizing. Am I gain by producing more no. of missiles of fewer variety or more type of missiles. Let say there is no restriction on resources/funds. Instead of introducing new missile, do I again by producing more Shourya missile? Just to give you example of maximizing of resources taking place, with introduction of Brahmos LCAM, the range of Prithvi missiles are getting upgraded to 350 km. JMT.

Singha wrote:>> I may be wrong but aren't missile launches tracked and filmed by automatic tracking cameras?

not here they are not! the wedding videographer from balasore town sends over few chaps and thats it.
That has to be one of the funniest things I've read in the non-BENIS threads. :rotfl:

SaiK wrote:why should we restrict deployment to a movable launcher for the mountains and hills? secret hidden fixed launchers? perhaps number of them dispersed at strategic locations?
How will you keep it secret? The fixed launchers need maintenance and that means a logistical tail. No secrecy, then they become sitting ducks. A mobile launcher can go to a point A, launch, disperse, re-load, re-launch. Mix in some dummies to throw the dogs off the scent.

Other than the third video, almost all end up catching the "fumes" :lol: - looks like this guys expected a SLV/PSLV launch and what they got was Prahaar.

Shrinivasan wrote:
bmallick wrote:Also since Prahaar is 1.2 ton, 7.8 m long and also solid fueled, it is going to super slim, Kareena Kapoor, size zero. Maybe 25 - 30 cm at most.
Don't Drag Kareena into this... that name is reserved for Rafale... let this be Deepika ( Padukone)
Tch Tch....Kareena is the name for the Light Combat Helicopter (LCH) for being size zero. Katrina is the name for Rafale for having just the right potency.

But please no names for Indian missiles. They are all already Indianized (Prahaar, Prithvi, Agni, Brahmos, etc).

Rakesh wrote:Tch Tch....Kareena is the name for the Light Combat Helicopter (LCH) for being size zero. Katrina is the name for Rafale for having just the right potency.

But please no names for Indian missiles. They are all already Indianized (Prahaar, Prithvi, Agni, Brahmos, etc).
Why names for Desi maal. Let it be LCH/Tejas. Only imports should be named.

disha wrote:Why names for Desi maal. Let it be LCH/Tejas. Only imports should be named.
Tejas is the name for the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) and not the Light Combat Helicopter (LCH).

The latter has been assigned an Indian name in BRF, till it is given an official one.

But we digress from the main topic...back to the discussion at hand.
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

gentlemen gentlemen,

when they say like ATACM they may also mean trajectory shaping .... t2ku anyone?

Look at what we have now for the mountains ( mixed list in terms of weapons and services)

1. Prahaar

2. Brahmos Block III+

3. Shourya

4. CBU-105

5. New EW system

6. Shakti IACCS

7. Variety of mountain top light weight radars

8. cargo round for 130 mm.

I think the Chicom threat has begun to be taken seriously now.