Indian Railways Thread

Re: Indian Railways Thread

I beleive Laloo had some pretty competent folks doing the right stuff, if he himself wasn't hands-on involved. But delegating responsibilities to the right person too is very much important, and Laloo did that. Unfortunately, mamata seemed to be making all the major decisions herself, and given her absence, things took a turn for the worse. I remember reading an article on rediff that said that a few railway board positions weren't filled, and some members were holding dual responsibilities.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

The PM also 'handled' the portfolio following Crazy Didi's resignation. Mukul Roy got shifted in the cabinet change yesterday, which I am sure the b@stard Congressis did to divert attention and present a picture of action.

A very Indian solution to a very Indian problem!
Interesting read!

How psychological tricks can keep people from being killed on the tracks
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

anishns wrote:A very Indian solution to a very Indian problem!
Interesting read!

How psychological tricks can keep people from being killed on the tracks
I arrived in Mumbai last year in July to start a new innings in my career, and my first introduction to the Mumbai locals was this. It was night and raining and I was on Dadar station, and I got off the train and saw two dead bodies (covered mostly) on the platform, including that of a child, who had died while crossing. It being wet everywhere, the blood was mixing with the puddles, and as many will be aware, the stations are not very well lit at night, thus only adding to my fear that does it happen often here?!

Definitely a memory that I will never forget.

Vasu wrote:Definitely a memory that I will never forget.
And imagine the mindset of the motor-men and engine drivers who see this happening time and again :(. In London Underground it seems a driver who witnesses a "one under" is immideatly relieved of his duty and sent of for a counselling. In IR, guess the driver/motor man can wait for the duty turn to get over and walk up to the nearest bar. The police also has the tasks of dead body bandobust and taking the body for post mortem.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

On the issue of derailments, an article (no link) stated that with the portfoilio of Rail Mantri going to Members of Parliament from undivided Bihar and West Bengal, a problem of maintaining the infra has arisen. The list of Rail Mantris:

1996-1998 Ram Vilas Paswan
1998-1999 Nitish Kumar
2000-2001 Mamata Banerjee
2001-2004 Nitish Kumar
2004-2009 Laloo Prasad Yadav
2009- Mamata Banerjee and co

There have been new routes on the sectors of the Rail Mantris' home states in the last 15 years, but maintenance and repairs are dwindling. As for Laloo Prasad,

The railways (under Laloo) primarily did two things: substantially increased the load carried by freight trains and put in place a slew of ticketing rules which extracted money from passengers even as Laloo Prasad claimed he had not raised fares.

The chunk of the profits, Rs 5000 crores, came by increasing the carrying capacity of container wagons by ten tones each. In private, however, experts have questioned on grounds of safety. The rail infrastructure- tracks, wagons, engines can only be stretched to a limit. While the loads carried increased there was no corresponding enhancement of maintenance standards/schedules. Earlier, train examination was done every time a train returned to its base station, irrespective of the distance traveled. This was changed to every 7,500 Km. As a result; various zonal divisions reported increased rail fractures, stress on old bridges and wagon coupler failures due to increased axel loads and less frequent maintenance. The axel loads were increased without any trials, checks, tests or technical analysis. It is ironic that Laloo Prasad could increase the axel loads because of infrastructure upgradation executed by his predecessor, Nitish Kumar.

I missed this.. sorry if this is already posted, but this is something very very nice to hear

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... n-railways
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

deleted

SaiK wrote:I missed this.. sorry if this is already posted, but this is something very very nice to hear
I have been hearing this (the modern toilets in IR coaches) for quite some time. But nothing at a larger scale has been happening I feel. Yes research is going on.. and yes it is still going on.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Mumbai to Delhi in 8 hours by 200-kmph Rajdhani

How about giving more importance to safety and better facility rather then competing on running high-speed trains. Good maintenance of tracks, signaling, training is more important for safer journey. Anyone would prefer safer journey at 150Km or so rather then going at 200Km or more and ramming into other train.

Though naxalites planting IED's is a totally different story altogather.

the production of even crash resistant non-telescoping coaches runs at a paltry 400 per annum, so thousands of trains are yet to be converted . the recent kalka mail crash was one such not converted. this tech reached production status in India sometime in mid 1990s and yet 15 yrs later people are still dying for lack of it.

all experimentation and benefits seem reserved for the scant few rajdhani or shatabdi exp trains like big windows, lighter coaches and non-hole toilets. as the vast majority of rail travelers are not served by these trains I dont think it matters a s*** to anyone about these chipanda like showpiece trains getting a few bells and whistles...the avg III tier sleep coach is abysmal by any yardstick we use in cleanliness, comfort, toilets, food catering (ever tried mutton curry onboard? a few shreds of skin and fat, in a red broth). the greasy windows with years of grime, the roaches hovering just out of reach in the cracks...

they need to become less of a "employment generator for WB/Bihar/UP" and more of a no-profit:no-loss concern which charges enough (or gets enough subsidy) to improve the rolling stock, bridges and signaling drastically.

among the top10 economies we no doubt have the worst avh quality of trains and roads.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

I fail to understand why passenger safety is not a top on agenda for any rail minister yet. The world have completely changed in last few years and so has desh. But unfortunately and sadly, IR remains largely in-efficient organisation with too many employees with no cleanliness, safety and accountability. Part of the problem I believe is its government sector where everything is controlled from Dilli only unlike roads where states can build, repair state highways.

Its high time that we Indians ask for safety and more comfort first rather then high speed (I am not even talking about bullet trains) trains.

it's high time we ask for both safety and speed, alas we ask for neither.

rather than wasting capex on a sick entity like AI when other options are available, let it be diverted to IR for which there is no option for 100s of millions of people.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Another sick activity taking place all across the country, which injures many and even takes lives.

Stone pelting at trains threatens passenger and loco pilot safety

This happens all over the place, mostly stupid kids who live around the railway tracks, but many times, its more than just stupid kids. I suppose the only way to stop it with better public awareness, and citizens who witness such acts take charge and punish or report the idiots, even if they are kids. A few convictions will also help register that its a dangerous activity that maims and kills innocents.

Vasu wrote:Another sick activity taking place all across the country, which injures many and even takes lives.

This happens all over the place, mostly stupid kids who live around the railway tracks, but many times, its more than just stupid kids. I suppose the only way to stop it with better public awareness, and citizens who witness such acts take charge and punish or report the idiots, even if they are kids. A few convictions will also help register that its a dangerous activity that maims and kills innocents.
The GRP and the local police must visit the areas where such stone pelting is reported and create a fear among the kids that next time around they would be jailed. The parents must also be warned.

IR all set to introduce m-tickets soon
The new facility will be shortly launched through the Indian Railways (IR) web portal www.indianrailways.gov.in.

Passengers can book and cancel tickets on their mobile phones having Internet facility by downloading the mobile ticketing application on their handsets.

On completion of booking and payment formalities, an SMS containing the ticket details would be sent to the user.

This detail, called as Mobile Reservation Message (MRM), will be the acknowledgement like the printed Electronic Reservation Slip (ERS) of e-ticketing.

The user would not be charged for the Indian Railways sending the MRM to him/her.

In case of any delivery failure, renewed attempt would be made to re-send the SMS.

Another facility the railways has proposed to introduce is Virtual Reservation Message (VRM).

With this facility, the passengers need to take out printouts of the ERS or the MRM for showing them to the travelling ticket examiners (TTE) during their journey.

Instead of producing the printouts, the passenger could display a screen-shot of the e-ticket displayed in the laptops and palmtops.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Stone pelting, hitting the commuters with sticks, ropes or rods to snatch any belongings is a serious problem. Here are some incidents which happend on the Mumbai suburban system in the last twelve months:

Stone-pelters, the villains in your commute - Oct 07, 2010

Struck by thieves, woman falls off train - Jan 25, 2011

Travel in the local trains at your own risk - Feb 08, 2011.

Railways hit by two stone pelting incidents - May 05, 2011.

Stone-pelting again: Railway commuter gets six stitches - May 17, 2011.

In most cases, the slums are "no go" areas and the GRP is ill-staffed or uninterested or wants the RPF to patrol the palces.

SSridhar wrote:The GRP and the local police must visit the areas where such stone pelting is reported and create a fear among the kids that next time around they would be jailed. The parents must also be warned.
But can we do that? These most probably would be slums built by encroaching railway property. How can we even think of getting these fellows afraid of some thing? If the police even try that, we would have many liberal hearts writing to news papers that .."oh.. poor kids, how many of us have done the same thing when we were kids...." etc. etc. The politicians would also take a stand that slum dwellers and their kids have every rights remain the same social mis-fits
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

The politicians need to be roped in and they should be the ones doing the talking to the slums.

This is not just limited to the slums of Mumbai. The news I reported is from down south, and the same happens in other parts of the country as well. If the slums of Mumbai can't be touched by the police, the rest of the country can definitely be reached out. I agree with SSridhar, the police should visit the places where such crimes are reported from. Any police action, even inquiries, will definitely alert and scare all parents. Greater media coverage will help raise awareness too, and people should be encouraged to report such crime.

I should have taken my camera while traveling in DURONTO exp.

here is a speed profile of Delhi-Mumbai rajdhani exp taken in jan-2011 by a chinese railfan who travelled through India
http://www.yaohua2000.org/2010/20101222/12952.png

his whole journey is here
http://www.yaohua2000.org/2010/20101222/en.html

just look at the graph of this most prestigious train in the land, drawn by the mighty WAP7 no doubt...the avg speed cannot be more than 70kmph...there are only around 2 periods of 45 mins each when its cruising @ 100kmph+

IR to procure Rs. 500 Crore hi-tech rescue equipment
To speed up rescue and relief operations in the aftermath of accidents, Railways has decided to procure hi-tech equipment worth Rs 500 crore, including high-speed self-propelled accident relief trains, plasma cutters and 175-tonne capacity cranes.

Hydraulic cold and hot cutters and tunnel rescue equipment will also be procured to make rescue operations faster and effective.

Estimated to cost about Rs 500 crore, the railways will soon float global tenders for procuring the high capacity equipment.

“We will go for procurement of latest machineries required for faster rescue and relief operations during train mishaps,” said a senior Railway Ministry official, adding that “the procurement will be carried out in phases’’.

Currently, the railways has 140-tonne capacity cranes. “There is a requirement for 175-ton capacity cranes to take care of higher axle loads,” he said.

Plasma cutters are required to cut coaches and wagons made of stainless steel. “Since Railways is replacing conventional coaches with stainless coaches and wagons are also now made of steel, we need plasma cutters.”

Asked about the difficulties faced during rescue operations in recent train accidents and lessons learnt from them, the official said: “It is a continuous process to upgrade skills and machineries involved in rescue and relief operations.”

Railways has 170 accident relief trains (ARTs) stationed across the country. “But these ARTs require locomotives to run. So we will go for self-propelled ARTs which do not require locos,” the official said.

According to railways’ disaster management plan, an ART has to start its emergency run within 30 minutes of receiving a message about an accident in the day time and 40 minutes during the night.

Railways has their own communication network and medical infrastructure. Besides uniformed force of RPF/RPSF, the national transporter has an army of gangmen spread across the country, which is pressed into service to restore the affected line.

However, there is absence of tunnel rescue equipment in the case of a mishap in rail tunnels.

“We are procuring tunnel rescue equipment along with the high-capacity cranes,” the official said.

Besides accidents, railways disaster management plan takes into account natural calamities like earthquakes or flash floods which also disrupt train services.

I wonder why slapping up a WDM loco to pull a ART is such a problem. must be we are facing shortage of on-demand spare locos too? these ARTs are surely kept at major stations.

Singhaji on this thread someone(Sachin ji ?) said that once a WDM loco is shut off it needs 30-45 mins startup time to build vacuum or something to become ready to haul bogies. so 30+30 = 1 hr,which could possibly be brought down to 30mins with self propelled trains? but i think it is easier to find a shunting loco atleast to haul this to the accident site or what a big deal stop a passing train delink its engine and send it to haul the repair wagon to accident site and then prepare a loco for the waiting train, it might possibly incur a one hour delay but that should be fine.

suryag wrote:Singhaji on this thread someone(Sachin ji ?) said that once a WDM loco is shut off it needs 30-45 mins startup time to build vacuum or something to become ready to haul bogies.
I dont know if I made the comment related to the startup time. But the info I got was that the fuel which a WDM loco takes to start up is huge, and so it is better to keep the engine idling (than say switching it on and off as a car). Off course this is one question which should get an answer at http://forum.irfca.org .
but i think it is easier to find a shunting loco atleast to haul this to the accident site
Shunting locos are not kept at every railway station. They generally are only available at major stations with a large yard, and trains have to be shunted to the yard or sidings. But Accident Relief trains also are generally stationed at major stations/div HQs only ;). Perhaps the speed could be the other factor.
or what a big deal stop a passing train delink its engine and send it to haul the repair wagon to accident site and then prepare a loco for the waiting train, it might possibly incur a one hour delay but that should be fine.
This has been done, quite frequently I feel. Remember reading some reports when such a trick was used. But it was in cases where a locomotive had failed.

Before we invest in bullet trains (and other high-tech stuff), we should take two steps:

1. Ensure that only 70-80 people get in each compartment. Enough railway police should be deployed to make this happen.

2. All compartments should have doors. And these doors should be closed when the train is moving.

Why not reduce train accidents first? Missing the train (due to paucity of space) is better than electrocution.

Vasu wrote:Another sick activity taking place all across the country, which injures many and even takes lives.

My father lost part of his finger as a kid while traveling in a train, due to such an incident. The idiots who throw the stones ofcourse have no knowledge of physics and even if they did, they would probably say "chalta hai" and continue. Just regular desi disdain for baap-ka-maal, thats all.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Before we invest in bullet trains (and other high-tech stuff),
Don't worry HSR in India is a good 20 years away. Janta is not rich enough to afford tickets.

I don't understand the need for #1. the number goes up because there aren't enough trains. forcing people to miss trains would be inhumane in a country where the majority depend on cheap rail travel to make ends meet. electrocution deaths are anyway quite rare. the solution would be to increase frequency of trains and create alternate transport systems, not force people to miss trains. high density of passengers in trains is very common all over the world. if the pax are ok with it, who are we to judge what is good for them ?
and c'mon, all compartments should have doors ? yet to see a train compartment without doors ! :D
but to close them you would need to have AC compartments or people would suffocate. that is probably even more unaffordable than HSR, given the numbers involved.
Don't worry HSR in India is a good 20 years away. Janta is not rich enough to afford tickets.
it might be affordable in select routes. mumbai-pune or mumbai-ahmedabad, say.

the need of the hour is however increasing avg speed of mango long range trains, improvement of tracks and signaling system alone should push the avg speed over 100km/h. that would also improve safety standards.

Rahul M wrote:I don't understand the need for #1. the number goes up because there aren't enough trains. forcing people to miss trains would be inhumane in a country where the majority depend on cheap rail travel to make ends meet. electrocution deaths are anyway quite rare. the solution would be to increase frequency of trains and create alternate transport systems, not force people to miss trains. high density of passengers in trains is very common all over the world. if the pax are ok with it, who are we to judge what is good for them ?
and c'mon, all compartments should have doors ? yet to see a train compartment without doors ! :D
but to close them you would need to have AC compartments or people would suffocate. that is probably even more unaffordable than HSR, given the numbers involved.
I was assuming that we can't increase the number of trains due to budgetary problems. It would be great if we could add more trains and accommodate all passengers.

I just read Suketu Mehta's "Maximum City", in which he claims that thousands of people die (per year in Mumbai) due to electrocution and other reasons (some just lose the grip on the door handles, fall on the rails, and are mowed by the train). I believe this number is high enough that we need some serious steps.

Closed compartments would not be suffocating, if they have 70-80 people. Fans would be sufficient.

I do not remember seeing any doors in the compartments of Howrah-Midnapore local. I could be wrong here. Haven't been there in 6 years.

Passengers are okay with the current system because they do not have any other option. The person who dies has no advance knowledge of his/her impending death.

Not allowing more than 70-80 people should not be seen as forcing people to miss trains. It is enforcement of standard security/safety provisions.

The upper middle class can afford high speed trains. The lower middle class could use low speed (and cheaper/subsidized) trains. Stringent safety provisions should be enforced in all trains.
Last edited by abhishek_sharma on 29 Jul 2011 15:16, edited 1 time in total.

a middle ground is a door thats like a grill door in apartments - lots of gaps for air to flow. there is no reason why people should be allowed to hang out of trains in any circumstances, and esp not in local trains proceeding at 75+ kmph on a mass of parallel tracks. even if a person falls and somehow recovers , the next train on adjoining tracks will mow him down.

that being said, I believe the current design of mumbai local trains cannot be improved further and is a 50s era POS. we need a std new design rake that is lighter, safer, with better quality of fittings, a fully closing door, AC etc. it will cost more in tickets , but exposing millions of people daily to a 4th world train experience is not the brightest of things to do imho.

we need to cutover from producing the ancient old wagon designs to new era metro and LHB style coaches on a war footing. retire the old crap and sell for scrap value. this just needs funds, not land or other state govt liaison that double tracking or bridge work does. so there aint no excuse for running the type of crapware wagons we do in this era. among top10 economy size countries, our wagons are perhaps the WORST. the AC 1st (non-LHB) coaches apparently havent been built for decades now, old , ratty, with vague smells and costing as much as airfare :evil:

From here

It is not that expensive to get all A/C locals for Mumbai.

For instance recently 129 x 15 coach rakes were brought in for about Rs 2000 Crores. The same set if bought from the Savili factory would be about Rs 5000 crores. When one considers that mumbai is spending Rs 3,500 crores for a monorail system, this may not be too much.

With Respect to HSR the key thing to remember is passenger thru put for profitability. The Shinkansen has a train leaving every 6 minutes and still struggles to be profitable. Even Mumbai Pune will cost in the Rs1,500 ($30) one way range. Every study has said it is wildly wildly non-cost effective right now.

sharmaji wrote:70-80 people. Fans would be sufficient
this is July, the worst heat has passed away, try it yourself, travel in a train this weekend on a non AC compartment, and then propose. fans only hasten the dehydration trains with closed doors and fans onlee is a hell hole
totally unsuitable Physiological, Psychological, and serious body harm can be caused by angry passengers to those who propose this.

It is bad. No doubt about it. But those funeral processions are worse. As Singha said, this problem can be solved by using doors which allow ventilation.

abhishek_sharma wrote:From here

Look at the edges of the exit/doorway you will see sliding doors. The same ones are in Howrah-Midnapore locals (same coaches as shown above). You might not have noticed as the doors are always held back and hanging crowds ensure that they are not visible.

a cop with a 6' long danda could go around thrashing anyone who holds these doors open.

abhishek_sharma wrote:
Rahul M wrote:I don't understand the need for #1. the number goes up because there aren't enough trains. forcing people to miss trains would be inhumane in a country where the majority depend on cheap rail travel to make ends meet. electrocution deaths are anyway quite rare. the solution would be to increase frequency of trains and create alternate transport systems, not force people to miss trains. high density of passengers in trains is very common all over the world. if the pax are ok with it, who are we to judge what is good for them ?
I just read Suketu Mehta's "Maximum City", in which he claims that thousands of people die (per year in Mumbai) due to electrocution and other reasons (some just lose the grip on the door handles, fall on the rails, and are mowed by the train). I believe this number is high enough that we need some serious steps.

I do not remember seeing any doors in the compartments of Howrah-Midnapore local. I could be wrong here. Haven't been there in 6 years.

The upper middle class can afford high speed trains. The lower middle class could use low speed (and cheaper/subsidized) trains. Stringent safety provisions should be enforced in all trains.
boss, I am not sure if I am reading you right but majority of rail related deaths happen when people cross the lines, NOT by electrocution, NOT by losing grip on door handles. I am having serious trouble wrapping my head around the idea that you want railways to run their trains half empty for god knows whatever reasons. basically you are saying that more than half of office-goers should not go to work, students should not go to schools and colleges, small traders should not bring their wares to the cities and neither should labourers come to towns and cities to earn a livelihood. thank god no one in IR is crazy enough to implement these ideas because it would bring the Indian economy to a standstill in no time. not to mention there would be large-scale riots if it happens.
I was assuming that we can't increase the number of trains due to budgetary problems. It would be great if we could add more trains and accommodate all passengers.
the bottleneck is not budgetary, it's a problem of archaic signaling systems that forces consecutive trains to have large time gaps (large as in 4-5 minutes I forgot the exact figure). if someone wants to do it funding would be the least of problems in today's India.
and please, what you propose is not a solution, it is another problem.
Not allowing more than 70-80 people should not be seen as forcing people to miss trains. It is enforcement of standard security/safety provisions.
just saying 'should not be seen as' does not change what it is, putting 70-80 pax in coaches that can carry 150-200 is just that, a completely arbitrary 'safety' measure that does nothing to improve safety standards but imposes artificial conditions that are guaranteed to harass the passengers to no end.
I am sorry but it appears you have no actual experience of the suburban railway system and that is being reflected in these naive 'solutions'.
do you think people travel in crowded trains for fun ? or is it because they have no alternative ? forcing trains to run at half capacity would mean that the morning rush that takes place from 7-10 would extend to 2 PM. imagine people turning up for work or school at mid-day, having lost half a day to a 'safety standard' that doesn't improve safety. and if you know anything about the mood of passengers in those hours, it won't happen, they won't let an empty train to pass when they have to be on time at work. and any RPF pandu that tries to enforce such measures would get severely beaten up or worse.
Closed compartments would not be suffocating, if they have 70-80 people. Fans would be sufficient.
your unfamiliarity with these things really shows. :lol:
fans are not sufficient now, when the large doors provide much needed ventilation. what would change if you close the doors with jam-packed passengers inside ?
you are wrong. all EMU coaches have doors, as SRoy explained.
Passengers are okay with the current system because they do not have any other option. The person who dies has no advance knowledge of his/her impending death.

well you have to propose a solution. 'remove passengers from trains' does not look like a solution to me.
no one is arguing people should be allowed to ride 'on' trains and the like. but the thing is, people already don't, because riding inside is more comfortable. you will be hard pressed to find people riding that desperately in the last decade.
and if IR runs one train every 24 hrs on certain routes, as used to be the case in 70's and 80's, it has no job to say how the passengers use it. either arrange for enough trains or leave the passengers to themselves.