Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

abhinavjo wrote:Say whatever u want the bird looks U-G-L-Y now
Who cares what it looks like, as long as it performs to expectations (That's the engineer in me talking). The A-10 "Warthog" is one of the ugliest aircraft ever produced, but ask a soldier who's under fire from enemy artillery what he thinks of it and he'll say it is the most beautiful sight in the world (or ask the A-10 pilot who has been shot at and the plane still brings him/her home safely, and they'll say it is beautiful).

Besides, the Russians have never been shy about tacking on an extra bump or two into the aircraft profile. When the requirements said that the MiG-21 needed to have a cannon somewhere, the Russians stuck a cannon on one side of the MiG-21 without hesitation. Sure it added an extra bump on one side and possibly cost them a couple of knots of airspeed, but it worked very effectively.
abhinavjo

Post by abhinavjo »

Could have done something like what the amriki did with F-16. But i guess the ruskies do not have that aesthetic bit in them. And yes if it performs better then it fine no matter how it looks like.
manum

Post by manum »

abhinavjo wrote:Could have done something like what the amriki did with F-16. But i guess the ruskies do not have that aesthetic bit in them. And yes if it performs better then it fine no matter how it looks like.
Well you gotta look at sukhoi's with eyes open then...mig 29 is also a one spectacular bird...UPG demanded function, thats what it got. There is nothing wrong with Russian aesthetics, its very wrong perception you got.
abhinavjo

Post by abhinavjo »

^I was referring in particular to conformal fuel tanks.
But yes on the whole Russian aesthetic sense is commendable. My apologies for the earlier ambiguous statement.

abhinavjo wrote:Could have done something like what the amriki did with F-16. But i guess the ruskies do not have that aesthetic bit in them. And yes if it performs better then it fine no matter how it looks like.
Gosh the F-16 with conformal packs is seriously ugly so why not drop the aesthetics bit.
Yajnavalkya

Post by Yajnavalkya »

What does the word suppandi mean?

abhinavjo wrote:Quite some time ago there was a news that Indian defense establishment is considering raising a marine force. So is this going to be centered around the IA's 91 Infantry brigade being sea lifted by navy's amphibious fleet or are we raising a separate marine force? And why not raise a separate marine force? Would this hamper our peace loving stance because marines are an explicitly invasion based force?
I don't care for peace loving stance or otherwise but I do not support having a separate marine force just because the US and a few others have them. in our case marines should remain a part of army but they should be allowed to specialize in that job. perhaps raise a marine regimental centre as well.
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

i have a quetion

dosen't india need dedicated heavy/longrange bombers for deep strike capabilities
wiki shows h6 in plaaf inventory that provide it with long range benefits

1) su30mki can do the job but its not a dedicated bomber & have other roles
2) ballastic missile is always an option but should be used for nuclear purposes only ,its not cost effective also as far as i know
3) an32 transport/bomber i am not sure it could survive in case of actual war
4) a bomber could also act as test platform for future agm's ,a2a ,cruise missiles also

a fighter/bomber like su34 is why not a part of IAF when russian's ,usaf(b2,b52,b1),plaaf all use the concept in there air forces ???

tushar_m wrote: dosen't india need dedicated heavy/longrange bombers for deep strike capabilities
Deep strike bombers to strike what? How deep is deep?

The solution to H6 is not deep strike bombers. The solution is interceptors and air defence.

Yajnavalkya wrote:What does the word suppandi mean?
OT Alert: From Wiki : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suppandi
Suppandi is a comic character who appears in Tinkle comics. Suppandi, a village simpleton, is still considered the most famous among the characters appearing in Tinkle. Suppandi made his debut in Tinkle No.27 in January, 1983.

[edit] Origin

Suppandi made his debut in Tinkle No.27 in January 1983. Unlike other Tinkle characters, he was not originally conceptualized by the creators of the magazine. He was born out of 3 narrative stories sent by Sameer Salman from Trichy. The concept was rendered into comics format in Tinkle studios, with the illustrations by one of the famous yesteryear artists, Ram Waeerkar.

Ram Waeerkar carried on drawing for Suppandi till the early 2003, after which it is now being taken care by Ram Waeerkar’s talented daughter, Archana Amberkar.
Yajnavalkya

Post by Yajnavalkya »

BijuShet wrote:
Yajnavalkya wrote:What does the word suppandi mean?
OT Alert: From Wiki : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suppandi
Suppandi is a comic character who appears in Tinkle comics. Suppandi, a village simpleton, is still considered the most famous among the characters appearing in Tinkle. Suppandi made his debut in Tinkle No.27 in January, 1983.

[edit] Origin

Suppandi made his debut in Tinkle No.27 in January 1983. Unlike other Tinkle characters, he was not originally conceptualized by the creators of the magazine. He was born out of 3 narrative stories sent by Sameer Salman from Trichy. The concept was rendered into comics format in Tinkle studios, with the illustrations by one of the famous yesteryear artists, Ram Waeerkar.

Ram Waeerkar carried on drawing for Suppandi till the early 2003, after which it is now being taken care by Ram Waeerkar’s talented daughter, Archana Amberkar.
Ohh that Suppandi.

Thanks man.
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

tushar_m wrote: dosen't india need dedicated heavy/longrange bombers for deep strike capabilities
Deep strike bombers to strike what? How deep is deep?

The solution to H6 is not deep strike bombers. The solution is interceptors and air defence.
considering china not paf didn't we need deep strike bombers that can provide capabilities to strike deep inside china's main hub which is far away from indian borders .

even if in case of war(non-nuclear) we neutralise the front line the plaaf can get backup & again built up its defences from bases within mainland china.if we have an option other that ballastic missile that can target these main bases it would provide both capabilities & phycological benefits that india can hit on the main bases.

referring to an old post by Sum ji
Small tit-bit i came across while reading Bharat Karnad's book(many BRFites might know already):

Apparently, the Russians offered India their top scientists during the Soviet meltdown in the late 80s/early 90s as the SU was unable to pay the salaries. The condition given was : a pay of Rs 10000 p.m in India + $200 hard cash p.m.
I can understand if India looked twice since it involved $ which India itself was short of at that time but apparently, the reason why India rejected the offer was:

The babus mentioned that the salary of these Russians would be higher than the highest paid civil servant and hence, not feasible. :-? :-?

All the scientists were promptly snapped up by China.
which book would this be? is it India's Nuclear policy?

--------------------------
Updated:
Found it. It has been wrtten in his book Nuclear weapons & Indian security: the realist foundations of strategy
http://books.google.com/books?id=_msSAQAAMAAJ
aniket

Post by aniket »

I have a question.
In many places I have read stuff , I'm giving an example
Mig-27 or An-32 has retained it's 2 ton paint scheme
Why do they say it so ? Can someone please tell me .

that would be 2 tone, as in 2 different shades of colour.
aniket

Post by aniket »

Bala Vignesh wrote:The one mounted on top of the rudder is a radar warning receiver.. But the one below the rudder is part of the EW upgrade that the birds are getting

Updated: Found it. It has been wrtten in his book Nuclear weapons & Indian security: the realist foundations of strategy
Yup..that book onlee... Pretty interesting facts are placed in narrow, dark corners of the book.

He also mentions about mountainside missile Silos being in verge of creation with french/Russki help( areas already identified). Wonder how much it progressed since the time of writing?

Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

A Japanese artist has created a time-lapse map of all 2053 nuclear explosions that have taken place since 1945. by the mid-1950's it almost seems like a musical medley, if it wasn't so spooky...a must-watch!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... U8CZAKSsNA

Apologies if posted before. A video showing the havoc SAMs play in a pilots life. (This F-16 dodged 6 SA-2 missiles during Desert Storm)
[youtube]2uh4yMAx2UA&feature=related[/youtube]
abhinavjo

Post by abhinavjo »

I have a very N00b question here. I just saw the movie Border again for the nth time. So in it Wg. Cd. Andy Bawa(Jackie shroff) says while addressing a distress call from Major Chandpuri that we only have Hunters at this base and they do not have night flying equipments. What would encompass these 'night flying equipments' in 1971 terms.

abhinavjo wrote:I have a very N00b question here. I just saw the movie Border again for the nth time. So in it Wg. Cd. Andy Bawa(Jackie shroff) says while addressing a distress call from Major Chandpuri that we only have Hunters at this base and they do not have night flying equipments. What would encompass these 'night flying equipments' in 1971 terms.
Hmmm good question. It occurs to me that I don't know the exact answer. I have read that only Canberras had night flying capability in those days. Maybe a Google of what the Canberra's qualities were would give some pointers to the answer? Let me try.

just night visibility of cockpit instruments may be ? backlighting and all that ?
I remember reading an article about a paki raid with B57, the US version of canberra and don't remember much talk of specialized night flying instruments. they used a compass and the taj shining under the moon IIRC.

Any medical type jingos could help here:

Grandmom who is ~85 yrs old and stays with us seems to have been hit by dementia. Earlier, she used to mention about some boy/animal sitting around/walking etc once in a while which we used to ignore or just nod along to keep her happy.We ignored it thinking it was a syndrome like this : Charles Bonnet Syndrome

However, since 2 days back, something seems to have snapped and she seems to be seeing all sorts of figures 24X7 and has become bit aggressive towards those figures by shouting at them etc and asking us to send them away else she will. If we try to convince too much, she gets depressed and virtually starts crying since that we became angry on her.

Its really heartbreaking to see that and problem is she does stay alone at home for virtually whole day till we return at night( me and dad are the guys who soothe her while her DIL ( my mom) doesn't share "good relations" with her and doesn't speak much to her). Is that increasing the problem, loneliness? Also, doctor had given some mild sedative type medicine to soothe the nerves sometime back but that doesn't seem to have any effect.

Any idea how things can be brought on track?

PS: She has broken her leg and is not recoverable. So, walks and going out too much might not be possible

PPS: Please post replies in Health and nutrition dhaaga which is more appropriate as i wrongly posted here.
Last edited by sum on 12 Aug 2011 09:31, edited 1 time in total.

Sum I won't speculate as to what the issue is but taking her on a walk for about 10-15 minutes (say after dinner) and even during early mornings will help. I do not know about others but when at home all alone even I tend to become iritable and restless. Best thing for her would be company of other elderly women in your locality with whom she would be able to pass time on a day to day basis.

sum see a neurologist, Call me if you want some contacts in our area

^^ Thanks for the advice, Shiv-avare...things seem better now. Will definitely give a knock if required in future.

please take a look at this picture & tell me at which moment of the flight sequence this PSLV picture has been taken

http://lh5.ggpht.com/-PK5dRfn3WtM/Tkf24 ... 25255D.jpg

based on the extent of propagation of the flame front seen & the fact that the umbilical cords remain attached, i estimate the time to be between T-1 second to T+milliseconds

any answer, confirming or otherwise would be appreciated
TIA

Happy Independence Day

Hello,

Best wishes from a newbie.

Jaya Ho!

Hiten Sir, IIRC, the boosters and the main engines are ignited t-2/3 seconds before lift off, and umbilicus is cut only when the space ship actually lifts off..

Hiten wrote: based on the extent of propagation of the flame front seen & the fact that the umbilical cords remain attached, i estimate the time to be between T-1 second to T+milliseconds

any answer, confirming or otherwise would be appreciated
TIA
I agree with this assessment. Or maybe -1 to +1 sec Any more than that the smoke and flame spread out and make the base of the launch platform invisible, and the rocket itself literally blasts off like a bullet.

See this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8-9mJjO5B8

^^ that video has a much better view of the umbilical noticeably detaching, between T+1 *& T+2 seconds which could indicate that if a visual of the umbilical was available between T & T+1, it may have shown it being intact till about a shade below T+1, after which the detachment explosions may have been triggered

my guess was based on the Chandrayaan-1 launch video, that has an embedded timecode in it
http://isro.org/video.aspx

T approaches at around 07 mins 30 secs

While the timecode can no longer be viewed after T, at T+1, I believe a noticeable lift-off becomes visible.

While in the the picture posted above, the lift-off does not seem to be as apparent, coupled with no discernible explosion triggered to detach the umbilicals. Hence, i put the upper limit of the estimated countdown to a little below T+1

There is a nice descriptive video depicting the launch sequence of the Space Shuttle. Can't recollect. Probably already posted. Posting nevertheless
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFwqZ4qAUkE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsvVU24uDIc

the last 30 seconds of the countdown in an Apollo launch
http://vimeo.com/4366695

Thank you Doc for the reply & the video. It turned out to be handy in more ways than 1

@Bala Vignesh
Please don't Sir me. Bad enough i got called an uncle the other day by a class 2 kid in the neighborhood :)

Hiten wrote:@Bala Vignesh
Please don't Sir me. Bad enough i got called an uncle the other day by a class 2 kid in the neighborhood :)
Hiten ji,

All downhill onlee from here on.

Next the PYTs will be calling you uncle

and the males will call you uncle ji. :evil:

X-post:

Dear Gentleman/woman,

I seek your help in a field unrelated to Indian defence but related to India.

How many of you have get up in the morning and go through the utter gibberish on e-news websites to get morsels of worthwhile news?

I want to come up with a forum like BR where news could be submitted like in BR, but into sections say ... "National", "International", "Sports", "Defense" etc. Any member could post a link to a news which is worthwhile or report a link to the webmasters and moderators which he thinks is crap or propaganda or advertisement.

The forum will have a discussion forum akin to what we have on BR. Once can discuss news items, policies, problems etc.

As I have zero knowledge about web development ... I would like to know how to go about this ... Is there anybody here, who would like to help me or volunteer to be the webmaster or moderators.

I think this will be a service to our nation as well! Anyone can mail me at i-n-d-r-a-n-i-l-r at gmel dot kaum.

Thank you.
koti

Post by koti »

I hope its a non profit effort.
Anyway, sent a mail sir.

^^^ yes ofcourse! I would be shameless to put it here otherwise ... Infact I want to provide an environment where news is not served based on what sells!

P.S. Please do away with the sir :)

koti wrote:I hope its a non profit effort.
Anyway, sent a mail sir.
hi I did not get your mail ... could you please send it again ... [email protected]
Bhaskar_T

Post by Bhaskar_T »

OT, but what activity is going on in HAL Airport, Bangalore. Since 1:45 PM till 5:00 PM, I have heard so many planes (Chopper and fighter jets) flying over my home (MarathaHalli).
atreya

Post by atreya »

Yeah, even I heard a couple of em fly over Dairy Circle. Spotted a Jag, but heard atleast 4-5