Future Strategic Scenario for the Indian Subcontinent -II

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Future Strategic Scenario for the Indian Subcontinent -I

shivajisisodia ji
Narratives exist in the grassroots, but they are not expressed in a coherent form meaningful for political action. The task is to listen to that narrative and forge the commonality. This is a task of the aware and the elite. It is a two-way process and a process of ideological struggle. Elite ideas must fight with the grassroots perceptions and the two must struggle to come to a common understanding.

I think I have written about two aspects of the "SD" objective as I have seen them : the recognition and establishment of an overarching common "SD" identity to which all other subidentities take lesser priority, and the reverse interpretation of the Purusha sukta. I think we have also had this discussion within the GDF version of this thread, and the previous version of this thread. But some of this may be more appropriate for the gdf version. Can you please have a look?

If you don't mind, your handle on the forum - if not actual name - represents Maratha-Rajput unity. What about the rest of India? Should not the commonality be something that includes all? or has place for all.... :P Apologies if I have hurt you!
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

brihaspati wrote:shivajisisodia ji
Narratives exist in the grassroots,.....

If you don't mind, your handle on the forum - if not actual name - represents Maratha-Rajput unity. What about the rest of India? Should not the commonality be something that includes all? or has place for all.... :P Apologies if I have hurt you!
1. Narratives exist in the grassroots, you say. Can you be more specific. Where and what kinds of narratives ? Frankly, as much as I would love for this to be reality, I have not found much constructive narrative in our grassroots, even among a small group. I have found our grassroots to be very narrow in its outlook and very confined. That is, I believe one of our problems. I certainly have not gleaned any pan Indian or an all inclusive narrative among anyone, including the grassroots. Regardless, the point is that if there is that narrative anywhere, I will be very pleased to take it and advance it.

2. I dont look at Shivaji or Rana Pratap Singh or Rana Sangram Singh as merely "Maratha" or "Rajputs". I look at them as Pan Indian figures, who fought as much for a Tamil Indic as for a Punjabi Indic. I think they transcended that narrow narrative and through their sacrifices and actions created a larger Hindu narrative across all sectarian or regional lines. I dont think anyone can perform the great personal sacrifices that Pratap Singh and his ilk did or take the risks that Shivaji and his ilk did, without thinking that they are doing all this for something much larger, much much larger than just their immediate narrow interests. This is not true for subsequent Marathas or all Rajputs. But I will be happy to adopt a name which is even more representative of the larger Indic identity, if you could suggest one.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Now I will say something else, which is in continuation to my previous post. Bpati Sab, please take particular note, because you have a particular aversion to what I am about to espouse.

Ideally, it would be best, if we Indians can come up with this alternative narrative of "positivity" and "nationalism" and are able to get a buy in from a large section of our population. This is the ideal, nothing could be more powerful than to have a positive narrative and a whole nation of a billion behind it. I hope this can be accomplished within a short period of time, as one of my main arguments is that we dont have the luxury of time to come up with this positive narrative, and in fact, it is quite likely that we may already be too late to turn things around.

If we cannot accomplish this, ie., to come up with an alternative positive and nationalistic narrative that we can get the whole nation or at least a good majority to buy in on within a relatively short period of time, then the next best thing to do is what I call the "IMPOSITION", which I explain in the next paragraph. The alternative is not to continue with the rotten system that exists today and we hope and pray without any realistic hope, I might add, for some miracle to happen.

By "Imposition", I mean that a small group creates a positive, nationalistic narrative and without waiting for a complete buy in from the majority, figures out ways of IMPOSING this narrative on the nation first, and then tries to sell it. No Means, and I repeat, no means should be spared to IMPOSE such a narrative. Democracy is in my view a very distant end. It cannot be the end, we can hope for, while we bypass several other steps which will lead to real democracy. These intermediate steps are 1) the sense of nationhood, 2) survival of nationhood, 3) Certain basic level of awareness or enlightenment attained by a large majority of individuals within the nation, 4) Clean thinking (meaning non-corruption or anti-corruption), 5) Clean values (again anti-corruption). If the current form of democracy we have is not promoting these intermediate steps, but actually coming in the way, coming in the way in a big way of achieving these intermediate steps, no real democracy is possible anyway. Therefore, we must not get hung up on this so called "democracy" we have and use other and all means, which are necessary to promote such a narrative.

Bpati Sab, you keep pointing out dangers of going outside the democratic setup. Well, that presupposes that we have anywhere close to real "democracy" in our country now. Just calling something democracy doesnt make it so. And correct me if I am wrong, but perhaps your experiences during Emergency has made you psychologically "wedded" to the word democracy, which prevents you from understanding that what exists right now in our country is a perversion of democracy not a democracy that we all desire as an end, something akin to what might exist in a functionaing Western country. And please dont accuse me of being a western stooge, if I desire a western style functioning democracy, because the concept of democracy itself is borrowed from the West, which you are so hung up on. All I am sayig is that if we are to have democracy, let us at least have something which is akin to a functioning western democracy. I hope you can agree with me, that, that is not what we have now in our country right now anyway.

The other reason, you and others are sometimes terrified of moving away from our so called "democracy", no matter how badly we feel about it in our hearts is because we are very insecure. We are insecure that if we moved away from it, in the eyes of the world, we will be no different from Paki and then the only "edge" we have over China in Western press and public opinion will be lost. I think by now it should be abundantly clear to all of us, that as democratic and functionally democratic the West is, and as much noise they make about "democracy", they will deal with us quite well, thank you, if we have money and power. The entire Western dealings with China since Kissinger should make that abundantly clear. So, if the reason we dont want to move away from our so called democracy, no matter how rotten it is, is that the West will excoriate us, well, now I contend that that is the insecure "dhimmi" in us speaking.

To summarize, 1) Come up with a clear narrative, set of goals and objectives, strategy, action plan, monitoring and adjustment plan 2) Try to sell it to the masses within a time limit, 3) If the masses buy it, we have attained Nirvana, 4) If the masses dont buy it within a time limit, IMPOSE it, 5) Execute the damn plan, 6) Give our children and grand children some hope and ourselves some hope that we have created a better future for them.

If our so called rotten democracy has to be sacrificed to achieve the above, so be it. Let us not even think twice to jettison it. Remember this. Pay particular attention to what I am saying next. ALL OUR POLITICAL LEADERS SINCE INDEPENDENCE WITH ONE OR TWO EXCEPTIONS AND LARGE SECTIONS OF OUR POPULATION ROUTINELY, EVERY DAY, SABOTAGES AND DOES AWAY WITH OUR DEMOCRACY - EVERY DAY- HELL MANY TIMES A DAY. THEY DONT THINK TWICE ABOUT SUBVERTING OUR DEMOCRACY FOR THEIR NARROW GAINS. WHY WOULD YOU AND I, AND PEOPLE LIKE US, WHO HAVE GAINED THE LEAST FROM THIS SO CALLED DEMOCRACY GET SO WEDDED TO IT THAT WE CANT EVEN STAND A DISCUSSION OF THE ALTERNATIVE. I SAY, "DOWN WITH THE INDIAN BRAND OF DEMOCRACY AS IT EXISTS IN 2011". To continue status quo is death.

SwamyG wrote:Prem: Can you believe this? It is wet dream coming almost true: http://english.pravda.ru/russia/politic ... a_india-0/
[added: Equally impressed by people like you and others :-)
All i can say Jai ho :D :D
BRF destiny is to become womb of great ideas.
Did you notice, even da Poaqasurs start talking about demographics after BRF broke the subject of Poakroaches runing out of Roti Kapra oor Makan.
On second thought, This is why it is so important to grow economically that we can actually apply these kind of ideas/trade at global level and infuse Aryan wisdom and genes among willing Prithviwasis.

Shivajisisodiaji,

One member M Muthuswamy also advocated the same position some years ago, and was served the heave-ho notice for that. While I also believe that the democratic-dictatorship as constituted today will never serve the interests of Hindu community (only suck their blood). It is still a moot point whether alternative would work.

I mean, do the Hindu organisations even use the facilities of the current system. For example, p-secs regularly make libelous statements against RSS, Narendra Modi, and the Hindu community in general. Has anyone of them sued those individuals and organizations for libel, slander, and defamation? I know that since nothing has been proved against Modi regarding his role in Godhra riots, he can chase to hell the morons who have been calling him a mass murderer, etc etc. CNN-IBN, Teesta Setalvad, Aamir Khan - watch out :mrgreen:

I really hope someone from his team is reading this and acts on it.
And if someone says that this is suppression of free speech - point them to what the parliament did against Kiran Bedi and Om Puri's speech.

------------------

We do not need to change the government structure before we exhaust the existing avenues of protest.

shivajisisodia wrote: If our so called rotten democracy has to be sacrificed to achieve the above, so be it. Let us not even think twice to jettison it. Remember this. Pay particular attention to what I am saying next. ALL OUR POLITICAL LEADERS SINCE INDEPENDENCE WITH ONE OR TWO EXCEPTIONS AND LARGE SECTIONS OF OUR POPULATION ROUTINELY, EVERY DAY, SABOTAGES AND DOES AWAY WITH OUR DEMOCRACY - EVERY DAY- HELL MANY TIMES A DAY. THEY DONT THINK TWICE ABOUT SUBVERTING OUR DEMOCRACY FOR THEIR NARROW GAINS. WHY WOULD YOU AND I, AND PEOPLE LIKE US, WHO HAVE GAINED THE LEAST FROM THIS SO CALLED DEMOCRACY GET SO WEDDED TO IT THAT WE CANT EVEN STAND A DISCUSSION OF THE ALTERNATIVE. I SAY, "DOWN WITH THE INDIAN BRAND OF DEMOCRACY AS IT EXISTS IN 2011". To continue status quo is death.
There is value even in imperfect democracy ... No Anna Hazares would be possible in the PRC. Here, the regime has to maintain an appearance of democracy, at least.

shivajisisodia ji,

I will try to reply to your pointers in details a little later. But I guess you have some very wrong ideas about my supposed position. :D By the way I was a very little kid during the emergency. What I remember is of course quite vivid, but the democracy bit is different from what you are hinting at. What that period imprinted on me was a deep distrust of regime "security apparatus", and how even "good causes" can finally be rejected by a society because of these "apparatus" antics. I have been in close proximity to Indian politics through ancestral experience, my immediate parental and my own subsequent immersion in student/youth wing politics of a "secular" nature. All of my background, association from childhood with kingpins of "centrist" politics - would by your model have inclined me towards authoritarianism. But I hold it as onlee conditional and contextual and temporary - because at some level, I have denied all that heritage, and done it so on the basis of independent widespread exploration of that very "grassroots" you talk of. If I have to choose sides, I will choose "grassroots" - if I have to do it over a hundred lifetimes and fail in ninety-nine of them. :P

I requested you to look at the previous version of this thread for my position on issues you have raised :

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... f=1&t=4604
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... f=1&t=5225
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... =12&t=4637

I have laid out ideas in great details through debates on various issues. Please let me know what you think of them.

brihaspati garu,

Pranam! If I may say so garu, I think your thoughts really need a book of their own. I am pretty certain it will be the next "Bible" :wink: of Indian Nationalism.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Bpati Sab,

I have gone over your posts on the links that you posted. I must say there is a great body of knowledge there and you have done well to provide a rich historical context to it. There are many posts by you and then lots by other people too, and I was not able to read every post in detail, but I read enough to get the general thrust of where you were going with these. I cant say I find much to disagree with you on those posts. Although, philosophically, I do want to make a few points in response to what you say on those links and your posts here.

1. My experience with the grass roots is a little different from yours. I have been travelling through the villages ever since childhood and my latest travels through a number of villages in North Central India took place a few months ago, while I was doing research for my first book, which I am in the process of writing. I also grew up in a house which was right across from one of the largest urban slums in the country, so I am acutely aware of the pschology and dynamics of the urban grass roots. My own background allowed me an inside view of the middle class and the lower middle class, both in an urban and rural setting. I, unlike you, found very little in the grass roots, by way of a) having great pride in their heritage and background, b) intelligent thought about who we are as a people, where we came from and where we are going or should be going, least of all, how to go wherever it is we are going or need to go, d) much sense of community, outside of strong caste or narrow regional affiliations, e) desire to form a larger whole by reaching across narrow sectarian lines.

Therefore, for me, grass roots in India do not provide any inspiration or even solace or even a refuge, where I can retire to, to get away from it all and feel secure and safe in some kind of stable and traditional setting. In fact, I found in my most recent travels that the grass roots have become more ambivalent towards religion, customs and traditions. In a way, this could be looked upon as a good thing, but I felt that the baby was being thrown out with the bath water, as the grass roots had become more permissive in a bad way, not good, less God fearing, less open, hospitable and less law abiding. They were all very aware of the various subsidy schemes floated by the governments and had developed a keen sense of how to take full advantage of them, even extra advantage of them. I also found this time, preying by the powerful of the week in the form of land grabbing and a disassociation of political and economic power from caste hierarchy. In a way this breakdown in the upper caste monopoly over power and economics is a good thing, but it has also created a vaccum in order and a sense of community which has not been filled yet.

Frankly, my personal experience with the grass roots convinced me that grass roots are more a problem than a solution. It certainly is not a place which will have a grand vision of a larger India based on our grand history and religious traditions. The grass roots in the Indian context, unfortunately, need to be led. Rana Pratap led them, Shivaji led them, Gandhi and Nehru led them, and Ana Sab led them, not the other way around. What I am saying may sound politically incorrect and it sounds counter intuitive to criticize the grass roots like that, but here, I just did it. I cant not speak the truth as I see it. I am not a Gandhi fan or a Nehru fan, but let me say this, with all the vitriol that this forum including myself hurl at the "dhimmis" and the "maccaulytes", if it werent for these "maccaulytes", we would not have had a freedom movement. The grass roots were not about to rise up on their own.

2. I also am not a believer in any particular theology of governance. I am not convinced that Democracy, at its best (which India is not, India is democracy at its worst), is the only religion, which is applicable for all peoples, at all times, under all circumstances, regardless of the level of development that each people have reached. I just dont think it is that sacred and more importantly that effective. It is not always an answer to everything. At the same time, I am not a virulent opponent of any other form of government either. The less a people will do the right things voluntarily, the firmer the government they require, with all the negative side effects and risks for that firmer government. This entire forum makes a very powerful case that our people refuse to do the right things voluntarily. In fact, this forum eminently makes the case that Indians are self destructive. So, if we look at it from a technocratic perspective, rather than an emotional ideological perspective, we can only come to one conclusion that we need a firmer hand at the helm of our government, whether we like it or not. I think we have replaced Hinduism with Democracy as our new religion. At least Hinduism allowed for self criticism and discussion, while the adherents of the religion of Democracy are ready to shoot everyone down, at the slightest questioning.
Someone mentioned that in a Chinese type system, you wouldnt have Ana Sab. Well, why do we assume that we will necessarily have a Chinese model as an alternative. Whenever we criticize democracy, why does someone always bring in the Chinese model only ? Why not Lord Rama ? or Why not the Guptas (who from all accounts ushered in a golden age) or why not even the Mauryas ? I am not in all seriousness touting those as alternatives. I am simply asking why we instinctively bring up China as a model, whenever we talk of alternative models. I believe that we can and must evolve our own alternative model to democracy, based on our problems, our situation, our history, our traditions and most importantly, based on our vision for the future. If we always look to outsiders for an alternative model, we will just be yoyo-ing from one bad model to the next.

shivajisisodia wrote
I, unlike you, found very little in the grass roots, by way of a) having great pride in their heritage and background, b) intelligent thought about who we are as a people, where we came from and where we are going or should be going, least of all, how to go wherever it is we are going or need to go, d) much sense of community, outside of strong caste or narrow regional affiliations, e) desire to form a larger whole by reaching across narrow sectarian lines.
That is rather strange. But I have a feeling that you remained an outsider to them - in their perception. In such a case, people do not open up. You have to leave yourself - like a cloth or a dress, and be just a basic human being all whose senses are ready to listen, and see. You have to absorb people's existence, their lives as they are. When you shed that awareness of your special you, without thinking of them as not having pride in their heritage, not having intelligent thought about what you think they should think as people, etc., you can start opening up their hearts. People can sense that you think they are different from you, or "lacking" compared to you, or that you know much better than them as to what they should think.

I might stand guilty of the same, here in the forum, where I might have fought certain positions rather bitterly. But it was a battle between positions, and I did not model the posters themselves. If I did, I was unaware of it, and I am deeply sad that I might have allowed personal bitterness to creep in. I thought here I was among equals too, without any personal distinctions.

I have never had much difficulty in moving into "people" - especially the "grassroots". I have sustained myself among villages, abject poverty, among remote indigenous peoples, and yes both urban and semi-urban slums. Doors open through the heart, and only when you are accepted as one not much different - and not judging them. I am not speaking from any emotional pretension. This is from my life.

Therefore, for me, grass roots in India do not provide any inspiration or even solace or even a refuge, where I can retire to, to get away from it all and feel secure and safe in some kind of stable and traditional setting. In fact, I found in my most recent travels that the grass roots have become more ambivalent towards religion, customs and traditions. In a way, this could be looked upon as a good thing, but I felt that the baby was being thrown out with the bath water, as the grass roots had become more permissive in a bad way, not good, less God fearing, less open, hospitable and less law abiding. They were all very aware of the various subsidy schemes floated by the governments and had developed a keen sense of how to take full advantage of them, even extra advantage of them. I also found this time, preying by the powerful of the week in the form of land grabbing and a disassociation of political and economic power from caste hierarchy. In a way this breakdown in the upper caste monopoly over power and economics is a good thing, but it has also created a vaccum in order and a sense of community which has not been filled yet.
Important observations. But it is more a reaction in cynicism and anger from social sections who see no better example and no other way out. In contrast from "elite", however grassroots hanker for a more communitarian, simpler, and closer to land lifestyle deep inside. The cynicism is incurable and delusionally deceptive in the elite.
Frankly, my personal experience with the grass roots convinced me that grass roots are more a problem than a solution. It certainly is not a place which will have a grand vision of a larger India based on our grand history and religious traditions. The grass roots in the Indian context, unfortunately, need to be led. Rana Pratap led them, Shivaji led them, Gandhi and Nehru led them, and Ana Sab led them, not the other way around. What I am saying may sound politically incorrect and it sounds counter intuitive to criticize the grass roots like that, but here, I just did it. I cant not speak the truth as I see it. I am not a Gandhi fan or a Nehru fan, but let me say this, with all the vitriol that this forum including myself hurl at the "dhimmis" and the "maccaulytes", if it werent for these "maccaulytes", we would not have had a freedom movement. The grass roots were not about to rise up on their own.
I am sorry. I would not bracket Shivaji's mobilization with that of MKG or JLN [whom did JLN mobilize in fact? sections of UP based networks, primarily, OT perhaps]. Even Shivaji had some grounds prepared from his fathers politicking - a figure who is now kept in the long shadows of his son. There was a middle section of what was to be Maratha society - looking for ways to reassert their authority over their land, and sections of elite and the grassroots willing to provide the necessary muscle.

If the grassroot do not agree to "rise" - no one can lead them. Success of apparently classic power-changes in India, often are results of mercantile and transnational business interests coinciding with genuine grassroots grievances - and an intra-elite factional fight over personal power. Too many times the grassroots have been betrayed - for their grievances have been used for the personal power grabbing and politicking of people like JLN, and yes, to a lesser extent even MKG. I am not at all surprised that the grassroots appear cynical and opportunist.
2. I also am not a believer in any particular theology of governance. I am not convinced that Democracy, at its best (which India is not, India is democracy at its worst), is the only religion, which is applicable for all peoples, at all times, under all circumstances, regardless of the level of development that each people have reached. I just dont think it is that sacred and more importantly that effective. It is not always an answer to everything. At the same time, I am not a virulent opponent of any other form of government either. The less a people will do the right things voluntarily, the firmer the government they require, with all the negative side effects and risks for that firmer government. This entire forum makes a very powerful case that our people refuse to do the right things voluntarily. In fact, this forum eminently makes the case that Indians are self destructive. So, if we look at it from a technocratic perspective, rather than an emotional ideological perspective, we can only come to one conclusion that we need a firmer hand at the helm of our government, whether we like it or not. I think we have replaced Hinduism with Democracy as our new religion. At least Hinduism allowed for self criticism and discussion, while the adherents of the religion of Democracy are ready to shoot everyone down, at the slightest questioning.
Someone mentioned that in a Chinese type system, you wouldnt have Ana Sab. Well, why do we assume that we will necessarily have a Chinese model as an alternative. Whenever we criticize democracy, why does someone always bring in the Chinese model only ? Why not Lord Rama ? or Why not the Guptas (who from all accounts ushered in a golden age) or why not even the Mauryas ? I am not in all seriousness touting those as alternatives. I am simply asking why we instinctively bring up China as a model, whenever we talk of alternative models. I believe that we can and must evolve our own alternative model to democracy, based on our problems, our situation, our history, our traditions and most importantly, based on our vision for the future. If we always look to outsiders for an alternative model, we will just be yoyo-ing from one bad model to the next.
People do move voluntarily. They are simply cautious. You seem not to be aware of the myriad small uprisings that Indian grassroots mounted against the Islamics, the Brits, and entire villages, populations -social subgroups were wiped off in retribution. In most of these struggles they found sections of their own elite - who egg them on and then bargain with the ruthless criminal other power seekers - invaders or not, to use their sacrifice for personal power.

No one is looking exclusively for models from outside. At the same time, tactical understanding gained from studying other external models should not be shunned. I may consider a Mauryan model or a Gupta model as a person, but I have to present those models in an applicable form for the current society.

The reason I wanted you to point to the archived threads was that several times I had approached the necessity of dictatorial or authoritarian regimes in society wide transitions. I hoped that you would look at the way I presented that idea for consideration. Just a pointer if you may - if you want to push for something like that. You have to present your idea in a way that is not immediately rejectable - isnt it? :P
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

^^^^^^ I will respond to you this way.

1. I dont necessarily disagree with a lot of what you say. However, there is a difference between "no movement is possible, if the grassroots refuse to be lead" which is what you say in your previous post and "looking to grass roots for solutions", which you say elsewhere in your posts for which you posted links. However, consider this. Most significant changes in India have been imposed, without the grass roots support. Alexander's invasions did not have much grass roots support. Invasions of the Central Asian peoples such as Mongols, Kushans and Huns didnt have much grass roots support. Islamic invasions did not have much grass roots support. British rule did not have grass roots support. I dont believe even the patriotic Rajputs (whose history I am intimately familiar with) had lots of grass roots support. In fact large sections of the Rajasthani population was opposed to constant wars with the Moguls. Shivaji had more grass roots support, but not entirely. Also, the British did not leave simply because of a grass roots uprising in India, they left mostly because they were destroyed as a power by WWII. Keep in mind, they let go of many African colonies too.
I am precisely arguing for the opposite of your argument. I am saying, in the current context, if the grass roots favor a nationalistic agenda, fine. But if they dont, which they dont today, as is evident both by their voting patterns and my personal experiences ( I know you have different experiences, but do you think that the grass roots is really nationalistic ?), then perhaps an Imposition might be necessary. It is just not my personal experiences, but it is a fact that even you cannot deny, that it is the grass roots, through their voting, that have been deciding our fate in India ever since I have been alive and I and I know thousands like me, that dont want to take it anymore. I am done pampering them, whatever their reasons are for voting against their interests. Frankly, I think corruption has gone to their heads and a cleansing is required.

2. It is quite possible that you are right and I make the mistake of not becoming a part of them. I really dont want to defend myself on that account. I think you missed the point. It is not about me. I was not complaining about how they treated me. In fact, they treated me very well, in general. But I could sense that most of them treated me well, because of their desire to "climb" and rightly or wrongly they perceived that they could "climb" by having an association with me. There were very few genuine people there, just like there are very few genuine people within the urban areas. The villages are no longer the special places that I remember they were when I visited as a very young kid. Regardless, it is not really about me. I was highly disappointed in how they treated each other. I was greatly saddened to see the state of our villages and small towns, the highly materialistic and power oriented social structures that have evolved there and how interpersonal relationships and family structures have reached a low point. I was also severely disappointed in the decline in religion among the grass roots, again which has nothing to do with me.

3. Also, I will scour through your posts again and try to analyze how and where you propose in a palletable way autocratic structures. Frankly, I missed that part during my first go around of your posts. I will attempt to present it in a more palletable way. But again, at the end of the day, it is not about the presentation, as much as it is about substance. If I am not very good at presenting ideas, I can try and learn but if I still come up short, I can contribute in substance and then once we agree on something someone like you who is much better at presenting can present what we come up with together. I have no problems working in a team.

4. But let us be honest. It is not how the idea of alternate models is presented. It is the idea itself that is anathema to many people including people on this forum, who for a variety of reasons insist on believing in the dogma of democracy, quite against their own interests.

If a elite does not have sufficient intellect on how to educate the masses, instill values into the masses, motivate the masses, awaken the masses, then that elite does not have the intellect to rule the masses in a dictatorship either.

It is simply a sign of arrogance, on the lines of "I know best"!

Democracy is the best thing modern India has. All nationalist elites should work within its parameters. It is in fact advisable that the nationalist elite tries to gain control of the establishment, or forms cohesive pressure groups to guide the evolution of the State, but they should not try to overthrow Democracy. If need be, it is also advisable that the nationalist elite themselves have a latent potent paramilitary capacity, to assist the State when the State is in nationalist hands, and to resist the State when anti-national elements have managed to gain power. When the nationalist elite resists the State, even then it should be in the name of True Democracy, for the nationalistic elite must always claim to be acting in the name of the people.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

^^^^^ I dont consider myself to be part of the elite. I also dont consider myself a part of the grass roots (if grass roots is defined as people who dont exercise their intellect for any number of reasons). The whole idea behind coming up with a replacement system is to take the power away from the entrenched elite, who keep rotating the power among themselves through elections which are nothing but a sham.

I also like your idea of labeling the new replacement system, the "True Democracy". I like it a lot. Instead of dictatorship, we should call it "True Democracy". Now we will have more moral authority than even "False Democracy" and we can even have our own militia. After all we will be doing it for the sake of "True" democracy, not authoritarianism.

I dont think you and I differ much, if I read your post between the lines.

shivajisisodia wrote:I dont think you and I differ much, if I read your post between the lines.
shivajisisodia ji,

If I read you correctly, I believe we do differ - and that may be on two issues:

a) Embracing the Grassroots - The Nationalist Elite should build strong connections with the grassroots. If the Grassroots show that they have lost their mooring in traditional values, then the Nationalist Elite should mobilize and try to rekindle them.

b) Methods Used - As I said, the paramilitary strength should remain latent, and should be used very very selectively, and in a big majority of the cases, it should be used as a second line of defense in support of India's security forces, and not against them. The latent paramilitary capacity should only be there to provide the corrupted Elite a note of caution, that their abuse of power and misuse of state security forces would have undesirable repercussions.

"False Democracy" can be overthrown primarily through mobilization of the grassroots, and only secondarily through violent resistance.

Basically I am a firm believer in Democracy, and I don't use the term "True Democracy" as a code word for some other system. So I don't know if we are on the same page!
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

a) Embracing the Grassroots - The Nationalist Elite should build strong connections with the grassroots. If the Grassroots show that they have lost their mooring in traditional values, then the Nationalist Elite should mobilize and try to rekindle them.

Basically I am a firm believer in Democracy, and I don't use the term "True Democracy" as a code word for some other system. So I don't know if we are on the same page!
Janaab,

1) First of all, I dont believe I or most other nationalists are part of any elite. That is precisely the problem. More nationalists should be among the elite, but most are not. Secondly, why should the Nationalists build strong connections with the grassroots ? As opposed to with the middle class or the minorities or any other demographic group? What is so special about the grassroots ? Their numbers ? So it is all a numbers game. Right and wrong is not dictated by logic anymore, it is dictated by numbers. If you use reason and logic to arrive at a definition of right and wrong, as opposed to asking the mob, you are "arrogant" ? Used to be that grassroots were considered special, because back in the day, the grassroots were nationalists. Now that they are not nationalists, but have been corrupted, they are not special anymore. Even today, the grassroots are thrown crumbs and suppressed through manipulation.

2) The fact that you are a firm believer in the word "democracy" to the point of religion, makes you dogmatic not me, arrogant. Your devotion to the word "democracy" perhaps puts blinders on your eyes to where you are not understanding the true meaning of my posts. I said I am against the "Indian brand of democracy as of 2011". The reason I am against it is because it is not a true democracy and is oppressive and corrupt. I am proposing a better system, which will be less oppressive and less corrupt and closer to true democracy, but I wouldnt call my system a True Democracy, because that will be hypocritical. But it will be on aggregate, closer to a true democracy than what exists today. That doesnt mean that my proposed system will retain exactly the same configuration of freedoms and rights that the current system has. It will have a different configuration, but on aggregate it will be better.

The other key point you are missing is that if we are to move to a better democracy from today's rotten democracy, the current elite will not let you. So, in order to improve the system, you will have to use force against the current elite, to break down their resistence. But because you are captive to the word "democracy", you will not be comfortable with the use of this force, even if it is used to enhance democracy, not kill it.

shivajisisodia ji,

Like I said, if you are not fighting for the people, you are fighting for yourself! If you are fighting for the people, you need to take them along. But your attitude seems to be "What people? They are just numbers! Numbers who can't think right, like I do! I know what is best for them!" That is arrogance.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

RajeshA wrote:shivajisisodia ji,

Like I said, if you are not fighting for the people, you are fighting for yourself! If you are fighting for the people, you need to take them along. But your attitude seems to be "What people? They are just numbers! Numbers who can't think right, like I do! I know what is best for them!" That is arrogance.
Of course, you are fighting for the people.

But even in a democracy, any democracy, even our democracy, the constitution puts checks on what the numbers can do. The numbers cannot violate the constitution, at least in theory, although in practice in India, it gets violated all the time. So, did the people who wrote the constitution, arrogant ? Was Bhimrao Ambedkar arrogant, who thought he knew best ? Why not ? Because as per your logic anything that checks the numbers is arrogant.

Numbers are important, but numbers cannot be the be all and end all. There have to be checks on numbers. For example, if the numbers choose to lynch anyone, will that be permitted ? No. Why not ? After all they have the numbers and it is the people's will. So there are certain values, principles and rights that transcend the will of the numbers. Laws of logic are one of those things. The numbers cannot be allowed to choose to commit suicide and take the minority who doesnt want to commit suicide down with it. The numbers cannot choose "not to defend our territorial integrity", no matter what. But that is what the numbers are doing. They are constantly choosing, via their voting patterns, to not only not defend India's territorial integrity, but they are in fact by voting the rascals in, compromising India's territorial integrity. This should not be permitted. In a new system, a new constitution should have safeguards built against such treasonous acts by the numbers. Treason is treason, whether it is commited by an individual, a small group of individuals or the large majority of the grassroots.

So a new system will have a new constitution, which will be nationalist in nature and guided by Hinduism. This constitution will not permit acts of treason against India and Hinduism. Then the new system will have much stricter enforcement of laws and the new constitution. There will be rule of law, not lawlessness as exists today. That is just the begining, there will be lots more. But I think you get the gist.

The problem is that no one will allow you to change the constitution thus, within the current system. So you have to go outside of the system to create a new system.

A nationalist who does not care about ALL of India, its people, its forests, its seas, its animal and plant life, its culture.

About everything.

Is a nationalist just like JLN was (he thought he was a nationalist too)
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Sanku wrote:A nationalist who does not care about ALL of India, its people, its forests, its seas, its animal and plant life, its culture.

About everything.

Is a nationalist just like JLN was (he thought he was a nationalist too)
1. You are being a little unfair and you know it. I am talking about having a better system of governance than we have now, which is will benefit all the people. You are characterizing any discussion of alternate systems of government and any challenge to the core of the current system itself as "not caring for all people". I am not here to pick a quarrel with anyone, just to exchange ideas. If there are is anything factually wrong with what I am saying or a flaw in the logic, by all means point it out.

Here are a few news stories from Times of India today, which illustrate very vividly what is happening in our so called "democracy", by a government that cares for "ALL" its people.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 820758.cms

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 822633.cms

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 822099.cms

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 789982.cms

2. JLN was not a nationalist, but not only did you allow him to rule you for the entire duration of his life but by not considering and promoting alternate systems of governance and mocking those who are at least making an attempt, you are enabliing such "nationalists" and their grand children and great grand children and their great grand children to keep ruling you. So much for ALL of India and so much for "democracy". Only in India can a ONE FAMILY dynatic rule for 60 years and that too by a rotten low class family, no less, can be called a "democracy", which serves ALL the people. In view of this, I expected disagreements, but I certainly didnt expect mocks from this forum at least, which presumably has very aware people. 60 years of almost uninterrupted Gandhi family rule should make us respond more humbly and softly when the Indian notion and practice of "democracy" and voting patterns of the Indian grass roots and ALL the people are challenged.

shivajisisodia wrote:
1. You are being a little unfair and you know it.

core of the current system itself as "not caring for all people".
No Sir, I am not being unfair, and this is not only about this post, I have been reading your posts carefully, with a view to understand where you are coming from, and the statement was made in context of the whole. I will not do the hard work of putting out specific statements that you made which led me to make this observation now, but I may point that out in due course of time.

Such as this below
2. JLN was not a nationalist, but not only did you allow him to rule you for the entire duration of his life
Whos you? What is this? "sivajisisodia with the chip on his shoulder vs the rest of India"?

Did I vote for him? :lol:

Did the people who voted for him were voting for him in a presidential system or for the congress of Patel and MKG's (of the Ram Rajya fame) ? Of the people who voted for JLN were they voting for the 3/4 Brit and 1/4 Turk that he claimed himself to be in private or for the Pandit that he wanted to be known as.

but by not considering and promoting alternate systems of governance and mocking those who are at least making an attempt, you are enabliing such "nationalists" and their grand children and great grand children and their great grand children to keep ruling you.
You have not suggested anything of note frankly at least as of yet, neither have you displayed any particular understanding. You have just ranted here and set yourself up as superior to all other Indians with rather shallow understanding of what other Indians are.

Welcome to BRF, you think people here do not know of the "facts" Some of us have been saying the stuff you think its big deal saying when the dynasty owned India and ran it like a private fief, unburdened by the strong political opposition that we have today.

So one bit of advice, knock of the chip on your shoulder, and go easy on the rant. We know stuff already.

And there have been numerous debates on structure of governance as well, BRFites know when well considered reasonable plans are presented.

This is not a lefty forum, if you have to fight people here, that gives you a good idea of what you are doing wrong.

A friendly advice, for the time being.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

^^^^^^ I appreciate what you are saying about the fact that the forum knows what I am saying already. And I believe it if you say so.

But avoid categorizing what I say as rant. I have tried my best to construct logical arguments, most of the time at the peril of making my posts abnormally long. In my posts I avoid criticizing anyone personally, whether they be people on this forum or even individual specific politicians. I have criticized heavily the entire class of politicians though.

I suggest, that next time you encounter something that I say which is "already known", please let me know and I will delete the post.

If you differ with me on my logic or facts, by all means point it out. If you agree with me and just get upset because I am saying things that you already know and agree with, try to be friends, as we agree on things. I try to make friends with people who I agree with, rather than antagonize them.

I still say this, though. The general opinion in the forum is that no change is possible without the grassroots. While I agree that it becomes easier to change, if the grassroots is with you, I believe that in case of India if you wait for the grassroots to rise up before we reform our system meaningfully, then I am afraid we will wait forever. In our entire history of thousands of years, change, good or bad, has almost never been brought about by grassroots. At best, the grassroots were "tricked" in some cases by raising emotional issues, which really didnt have much to do with the real issues. Examples are, that the mutineers in 1857 had to spread the rumor among the masses that the British were using animal fat to grease their guns or ammunition. During emergency, it was the forced birth control issue, rather than corruption or even subversion of democracy that became the lightening rod to rouse them up. I dont think most people on this forum are capable of using such underhanded tricks to get masses on our side, even against our worst enemies.

Much better to have the confidence in our own thought processes and good intentions and not get hung up on numbers, find a technocratic solution and carry it forward. That is what most middle class, intellectuals and honest people can do. To wait to get the grassroots on our side is to wait until the outsiders completely finish us off.

We are seeing classic argument between dharmik deva and dharmik asura style of governance..

As our scriptures say, it is wise to take side of sage-wife-screwing, drunkard Puranic Indra who keeps the power decentralized than righteous and good Asura king Bali who concentrates all the power in his hands for "greater good"..

shivajisisodia wrote:Examples are, that the mutineers in 1857 had to spread the rumor among the masses that the British were using animal fat to grease their guns or ammunition......
If you read "Operation Red Lotus of Tatya Tope" you won't use the word "mutiny". It was a war between two nations. It also provides info on how using "chappatis" and "Lotuses" support for war was mustered from grassroots.

In a way Swami Ramdev did it too moving around country informing grassroot people on corruption issue, before announcing the war in Ramlila ground.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Atri wrote:We are seeing classic argument between dharmik deva and dharmik asura style of governance..

As our scriptures say, it is wise to take side of sage-wife-screwing, drunkard Puranic Indra who keeps the power decentralized than righteous and good Asura king Bali who concentrates all the power in his hands for "greater good"..
Lord Indra was not a democrat sir. Please dont denigrate him by comparing him to the politicians of today.

I never talked about an alternative, where power will be concentrated in one person's hands. Please dont put words in my mouth.

On the other hand, if you know anything about King Bali, with all his faults, he would be a HUGE improvement over the current dispensation. I, for one, would love to have a King Bali ruling us today.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Manish_Sharma wrote:
If you read "Operation Red Lotus of Tatya Tope" you won't use the word "mutiny". It was a war between two nations. It also provides info on how using "chappatis" and "Lotuses" support for war was mustered from grassroots.

In a way Swami Ramdev did it too moving around country informing grassroot people on corruption issue, before announcing the war in Ramlila ground.
I stand corrected Sir. 1857, indeed was a war between two nations.

I have read Operation Red Lotus. Chapatis and Lotuses, if I recall correctly, were codes used to communicate between the Indian army and the villagers.

shivajisisodia wrote: But avoid categorizing what I say as rant.
You are missing the point friend, right now you are coming across as combative, it appears that you have a lot to say, but you are not quite listening to what others are saying.

It thus appears to folks like as "rant"; clearly you dont want your message to be lost due to the tone. So the note of caution.
I still say this, though. The general opinion in the forum is that no change is possible without the grassroots.
Yes, consider a pyramid model, for the pyramid to be sustainable the base has to be large. Therefore, involving the grassroots is critical. Its a question of sustainability and long term world view.

However;
While I agree that it becomes easier to change, if the grassroots is with you, I believe that in case of India if you wait for the grassroots to rise up before we reform our system meaningfully, then I am afraid we will wait forever.
Here is a example of where you have not really heard what people were saying, no one is saying that you have to wait for the grassroots to rise.

The statements is quite different: the statement is that the elite due to their compromising ways rapidly move away from grassroots and the "eye of sauron" does not look at small things.

It is in these "neglected" places the real seed is saved and kept alive. The grassroots however in turn have to be "watered" for the crop to grow.

Its certainly not as uni-dimensional as you are making it out to be.
Much better to have the confidence in our own thought processes and good intentions and not get hung up on numbers, find a technocratic solution and carry it forward.
That is another problem; you are characterizing a shared feeling of care for all our countrymen and a effort to widebase the world view merely as numbers. This, I have to say, appears quite simple minded and not really quite understanding what people are saying.

Would you also characterize kuruvante vishwe arya as trying to hide behind numbers?
That is what most middle class, intellectuals and honest people can do. To wait to get the grassroots on our side is to wait until the outsiders completely finish us off.
Well when you say that grassroots are different from you (your own classification) you are already finished. If on the other hand you understand how there are no boundaries and middle class, grass roots, intellectuals and honest people are all part of same continuum and you have grassroots honest intellectuals and middle class compromisers in the pool, only then will you be able to understand real India instead of these impractical models that you are making in your head.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

^^^^^ And I think you are not understanding what I am saying. And please dont speak for others. Let others speak for themselves. I speak for myself and you speak for you. This is not being combative, but you come off as really presumptuous, when you pretend to speak for the whole forum.

In your pyramid analogy, it is quite obvious that if the base is strong, the top will be strong. You are quite right there. But the only question is, whether it is even possible in the Indian context to get the base to originate change or even support it. In theory you are right and in other places around the world the base has historically originated change. In Indian context, my study of history convinces me, that unfortunately that is not true. Am I very happy to arrive at this conclusion? No. Would I rather that the base is the catalyst ? Yes. But wishing and reality are two different things. There is an alternative model. The American revolution was actually not supported by the majority of the population. It was a revolution from the top and some middle class and grassroots from the Boston area (New England) only. However, the actions of the founding fathers soon after the revolution won over most of the sceptical colonists from all the colonies. In fact, most states in the US considered themselves akin to different countries, and that is the reason the grassroots there did not support the revolution, fearing that the one big United States will subsume their independence. The continental congress and other actions by the founding fathers changed all that. Perhaps, that could be used in India. Where after the fact, through example and demonstration, the base could be brought around. I am not suggesting we follow the American revolution model in any other way, except for this "after the fact" bringing around of the base.

On the issue of the base being different than you. I believe that all human beings, all around the world are the same. No one is superior and no one is inferior. However, again wishing for things to be and for things to be a reality are two different things. In the present context in reality, you wouldnt say that a Pakjabi is the same as us, would you ? If you do, please speak for yourself. I wouldnt want to be equated with a Pakjabi muslim, simply because he has chosen to be exlusive and different and he seeks and covets what is rightfully mine. Similarly, in the abstract, of course, there are no castes, no creed, no racial differences. But large sections of the base or the grassroots in India have chosen or at least bought into a path of aggressive class warfare in India, citing past grievences. They indeed are justified in being agreived, but the path they have taken is destructive and has for decades not only sought and coveted what is righfully mine and yours (feel free to exclude yourself) and perhaps others like you and me which constitutes this forum. I am not saying that this agreived section be not compensated in some way, even by our generations, who really have had no part in their oppression of the past, but to say that they need legitimate compensation and to steal us blind while continuously voting in ways to weaken the fabric of our nation and our society motivated by greed and in the correct hopes that those voting patterns will ensure their robbing of you and me and the country as a whole, are two different things. Therefore, large parts of their base, through their actions, illegitimate and wrong, have separated themselves from me and people like me, and acquired more powers and privileges in my own country than me, thus making themselves first class citizens and me a second class citizen. Their vote counts for more than mine. Their performance in school counts for more than mine. They get preferences in jobs. They are the beneficiaries of massive transfer payments from me, and yet their lot doesnt improve economically in the proportion of these massive transfer payments. So through their actions they have achieved two glorious things. Hurt me and people like me economically, kill our morale by branding us second class citizens in terms of rights and NOT helped themselves. They continue to still be the base, barring a very few exceptions, not somewhere further up the pyramid. So, friend, it is not I who has differentiated myself from the base. It is the base that has excluded itself from me. I am only acknowledging reality, when I see this difference and try to do something about it. If you like to keep your eyes closed and go on some sort of abstract "base worship", please go on. I prefer to stay with reality and then start my struggle from there.

The reason the base will never buy into your ideology, other than historical precedent in India, is that it has a vested interest in preserving something that is fundamentally wrong and unsustainable and which is what the likes of me would like to change. The base wants to preserve this wrong, unequal system for posterity, while we dont. They realize the strength of their numbers and their voting power and use it for destructive causes including massive wealth transfers, while you and I keep scoring self goals by venerating the "base" or the "grassroots". Even Ana Sab's movement didnt have the support of the "grassroots", despite a bunch of economically disadvantaged joinging him at Ramlila ground. But the bulk of Dalits and OBCs, whether they were misguided by their narrow sectarian leadership or out of their own free will, did not join the movement, physically or in spirit. That is the reason the government could just toy with the movement and not dhoti shiver from it. This is a prime example of a person who speaks the language of the grassroots, lives like them, no one can accuse him of arrogance, and yet failed to rally the grass roots around a cause that would have ironically benefitted the grassroots the most, if he had succeeded.

I say again, a deed done by large numbers of people is not necessarily a right or a correct deed, just because it has numbers behind it. A deed done by a solitary individual is not wrong, because it only has a few backers. Following the numbers may be a pragmatic thing to do, although even there I disagree in the long run. It is not necessarily the right thing to do. And to follow the path of righteousness is not arrogance. It is our duty. How do I presume to know what is right, when large numbers say otherwise ? I consult the laws of logic and my scriptures and teachings of the likes of Vivekanand. Then I arrive at what is wrong and right. What is arrogant about that ?

^^^But Vivekananda, when writing about "uprisings" and revolutionary changes - talked of the future belonging to the "shudra", and the "shudra" rising to state power. He meant "shudra" typically as "labour" or sometimes in the sense of "underclass".

A work-force influenced nationalism instead of intellectual/military/trade nationalism. It is a natural progression for a society that values UNIVERSAL franchise, economic-progress and infrastructure access etc. The other three parts - intellectualism, military, and trade/commerce should work in the interests of work-force as they hold 90+% of votes.

Move in right direction.

the trading class needs to be made a servant of the 90%. also, the Military class should be drawn from the "shudra" class. and the "intellectual" class should also have deep links with the "shudra" class. all "classes" should have a feeling that "there is a Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra" in every man (as brihaspati ji's interpretation of the Purusha Sukta goes). once, we believe that the 4 classes are a part of every human being, division of labor among the citizens will come in the next step.

there could be various reasons for it, but one of the major deracinations of India in the past 1000 years is that the "intellectual" and "trade" classes became removed from the "shudra" class. here, I mean "shudra" in a more metaphorical sense. the languishing of agriculture is one of the symptoms of this disease.

also, it is necessary to have the "shudra" 90% be firmly devoted to the land and civilization. and in turn the "shudra" 90% should control the mood swings of the "intellectual" and "trade" classes. and all these "classes" should be represented in the Military, with the "shudra" attachment to land being a major influencing thought process on the "military" class.

Devesh garu,

Listen to the song "Jnanamokkadi sottu kadanna, adi sarva jatula sampadoraranna" (O' brother! Knowledge is no one's property, it is wealth of the all social classes) in "Poru Telangana" movie?
Jnanamokkadi sottu kadanna, Adi sarva jatula sampadoranna = O' brother! Knowledge is no one's property, it is combined wealth of the all social classes

Leni demudu bomma lopala vunnadannaru = They said, the non-existent god exists in a clay murthi
Kalu nundi mala vadu puttenannaru = That Shudra was born from the legs
Chaduvu radani Oori bayatane vundamannaru = Forced illiterates outside of the village
mala ayina, Jashuva kavi maha kavyamu rayaleda? ||Jnana|| = Eventhough a Mala (SC), didn't Gurram Jashuva write a great poem?

O' brother! Knowledge is no one's property, it is combined wealth of the all social classes

Rajulemo bhujam nundi puttenannaru = They said, Kshatriyas were born from the shoulder
Choodaradu raju vidyalu sudrulannaru = That the Kshatriya skills must be secret for Shudras
kotalopala kola vidyalu nerchukunnaru = They learned those secret skills in the forts
enni nerchinaa Arjunudni Ekalavyudu tannaleda? |Jnana|| |= Even then, didnt Ekalavya kick the much learned Arjuna?

O' brother! Knowledge is no one's property, it is combined wealth of the all social classes

Rajaneetini kulam heenulu rayaraadani, = In order to keep statecraft from lower classes
brahma burralo pantulemo puttenannaru = They said, Brahmins were born in Brahma's head
dhrma neetulu rayadaniki pettukunnaru = That those Brahmins were born to write Dharma sutras
cheppu teesi kottinattu tappudiddi = Correcting their mistakes as a slap on their face
dalita bidda Ambedkar rajyangam rayaledaa ||Jnana|| = Didn't a Dalit, B.R Ambedkar write the constitution?

Bhumi dunne raitannaku evadu planu geesinaadu? = Who prepared the plan for the farmer who is cultivating the land?
kunda chese kummarammaku evadu chaduvu nerpinaadu? = Who taught the skill of making pots to a clay smith?
bandi chese kamsaliki evadu mapu chesinaadu? = Who drew the map for the iron-smith so he can make a chariot?
batta nese saali vaaniki evadu vidya mappinaadu? = Who taught the science for the hand-loom maker?
sramalo puttina panulu anni chaduvu lopala petta ledaa? ||Jnana|| = Didnt all these labor based skills become part of the knowledge base?

Vedakalamlo chaduvu chadivite mukku chevvu kosinaaru = They cut nose and ears for reading in vedic times
Bhuswamula elubadilo badiki velite badita poojalu = In feudal rule they used to beat up if a low-class person goes to school
Vuttaralu rayaraadani Ebrasini chesinaaru = They made us illiterate by saying we shouldn't even write letters to our kith and kin
Aksharalaku sikshaleste chillarollaku chaduvuletlaa? ||Jnana|| = How would low-class people become educated if there is punishment for the literacy?
I would change the song a bit so it can become a call from Indics. Will post it soon.

shivajisisodia wrote:^^^^^^ I will respond to you this way.

1. I dont necessarily disagree with a lot of what you say. However, there is a difference between "no movement is possible, if the grassroots refuse to be lead" which is what you say in your previous post and "looking to grass roots for solutions", which you say elsewhere in your posts for which you posted links.
I said "no movement" - I did not say "no regime change".
However, consider this. Most significant changes in India have been imposed, without the grass roots support. Alexander's invasions did not have much grass roots support. Invasions of the Central Asian peoples such as Mongols, Kushans and Huns didnt have much grass roots support. Islamic invasions did not have much grass roots support. British rule did not have grass roots support.

I think you are equating "regime change" with "significant" change. It may appear so, because of how history is reconstructed for us. Changes of regime, do have an effect on grassroots, and overall nation. But were all the regime changes you mention really "significant" changes in history? If you look at the narrative of Alexander's invasion, as surviving from Greek side - he does appear to have had some support from all levels of society - from subregions. Puru resisted him, but then Ambhi supported him. Both perhaps represent elite factions and ruling coalitions. But if you read the narrative, there is distinct mention of Indian companions and followers of the camp - who wanted to throw their lot with him [read up the closing chapters of the preparation for sending off the exploratory fleet from Indus delta on the return journey]. It seems most support he won was from the upper reaches of the Indian portion of the then Persian satrapy - while he met with increasing resistance as he went down Sindhu.

In fact Mongol attacks have similar sub-narratives of possible support from sections. You know that a few Mongol's in fact even joined the battles from the Hindu side against the sultanate? Kushan spread of power, or Hun expansion - is a complicated story. The spread was not instantaneous and one can follow a distinct possible pattern of resistance and compromises and alliances through the decaying Indo-Graeco-Bactrian kingdoms. Central Asians even converted into "Hinduism" - for example Shaka Rudradaman.
I dont believe even the patriotic Rajputs (whose history I am intimately familiar with) had lots of grass roots support. In fact large sections of the Rajasthani population was opposed to constant wars with the Moguls.
This would be a very sensitive area of discussion. Shivajisisodia ji - were the Rajput elite always above board in their dealings with "lower orders"? I cannot say more without revealing my links to the region. But I will give just a hint - the stories of "abduction" of daughters/women of lesser orders. The practice was not then unknown, was it - to carry on as a story? I hope you understand what I mean.
Shivaji had more grass roots support, but not entirely. Also, the British did not leave simply because of a grass roots uprising in India, they left mostly because they were destroyed as a power by WWII. Keep in mind, they let go of many African colonies too.
Shivaji is a complicated episode. I have requested a true "Maratha" inheritor to write about this in some appropriate thread. We do need to understand the complicated balance of forces and the subtle shifts required to move them around to focus an overwhelming force of both regime change and grassroots mobilization. Shivaji was a culmination of a longer previous process of convergence of interests between grassroots, disgruntled elite faction, and a middle section not belonging to the top or bottom. Some of the convergence processes remained incomplete - probably leading to the ultimate rollback.

Yes, I have suggested elsewhere - that the British left as part of a process of a much longer previous calculation by emerging and shifting perceptions in rising global capitalism. But do you not see that one of the reasons the Republic took the direction it took was because the "grassroots" were kicked in their gluteals - after they were used by a bunch of self-propped up "nationalists" to attain rashtryia power without changing any bit of the rashtryia machinery - that is just a "regime change"?

Please follow up the role played by Punjab and Bengal "grassroots" in their independent - and sometimes pre-Gandhian pre-Nehruvian initiatives - against the Brits. Yes parts of these societies collaborated with the Brits as a survival strategy after the brutal genocidal repression of company and empire - but the following generations began to resist, with new techniques and adapting the changed conditions in the rashtra. What was the initial role of the regional and networks predecessors of those who would finally become sole deliverers of India - in those struggles?

In particular please do look at the detailed course of the 42 movement, with respect to Ballia/Bastar region, and Midnapur. Also follow them through post independence. You will see the bitterness and tremendous feeling of betrayal that twisted these regions for ever after. Go to these regions now, to the interior and remote villages - you will see that they have still not deviated from what true India is. The soul of India resides in the forever marginalized, forgotten, not-fit-for leadership, not having "awareness" folk, in the mud huts or not even mud huts. [Funny, how many different building material have I seen as shelter? how many varieties of daily meal or no meal at all?] One of my gurus/friends whom I accompanied as a teenager a lot for the last years of his life, spent two years absconding as an anarchist in the mud hut of a fisherman couple who often went without any meals, when he was still not a well known Gandhian. We became "friends" because we recognized a kindred spirit in each other - where it matters - in understanding and absorbing the soul of India - across an age gap of 7 decades. How much your words reminds me of him now. And some of the things he warned me of to expect persistently in facing this alienation of our thoughtful people from the soul of the land.
I am precisely arguing for the opposite of your argument. I am saying, in the current context, if the grass roots favor a nationalistic agenda, fine. But if they dont, which they dont today, as is evident both by their voting patterns and my personal experiences ( I know you have different experiences, but do you think that the grass roots is really nationalistic ?), then perhaps an Imposition might be necessary. It is just not my personal experiences, but it is a fact that even you cannot deny, that it is the grass roots, through their voting, that have been deciding our fate in India ever since I have been alive and I and I know thousands like me, that dont want to take it anymore. I am done pampering them, whatever their reasons are for voting against their interests. Frankly, I think corruption has gone to their heads and a cleansing is required.
Voting patterns are determined by a lot of complicated local factors. For most of India, there is immense possibility of retribution - passive and active - economic and purely social - if the then swing of entrenched mercantile/semi-feudal/elite subnetworks of the region is not supported by the aam voter. What powerful dream and integrity you can propose to them - that can dispel the generations of distrust of elite shenanigans that they have experienced - to come out of their disbelief and distrust?

Corruption gone to the heads! How? To indulge in corruption you need to have capital - human and material to give bribes, or take one. You are saying most of the common India I know in the GV and central India, have so much to give and take? have you participated in the vote-garnering machinery on behalf of regular parties? I know this from direct first-person experience. I wish I could take you to the huts and leaf/reed-shelters of so many people I know.
2. It is quite possible that you are right and I make the mistake of not becoming a part of them. I really dont want to defend myself on that account. I think you missed the point. It is not about me. I was not complaining about how they treated me. In fact, they treated me very well, in general. But I could sense that most of them treated me well, because of their desire to "climb" and rightly or wrongly they perceived that they could "climb" by having an association with me. There were very few genuine people there, just like there are very few genuine people within the urban areas. The villages are no longer the special places that I remember they were when I visited as a very young kid. Regardless, it is not really about me. I was highly disappointed in how they treated each other. I was greatly saddened to see the state of our villages and small towns, the highly materialistic and power oriented social structures that have evolved there and how interpersonal relationships and family structures have reached a low point. I was also severely disappointed in the decline in religion among the grass roots, again which has nothing to do with me.
I cannot make comments as I don't know which regions you are talking about. But if they could perceive that they could "climb" by associating with you - then you were projecting your power and distinction, while perhaps not even being aware of it. What you are saying about the overt disintegration of previous values and social structures - is a superficial layer which mostly starts affecting urban-connected and partially "wealthy" sections. I cannot accept that most of the "aam" I am talking about - and which would run into the overwhelming proportion of the whole society - have accumulated such "wealth".
3. Also, I will scour through your posts again and try to analyze how and where you propose in a palletable way autocratic structures. Frankly, I missed that part during my first go around of your posts. I will attempt to present it in a more palletable way. But again, at the end of the day, it is not about the presentation, as much as it is about substance. If I am not very good at presenting ideas, I can try and learn but if I still come up short, I can contribute in substance and then once we agree on something someone like you who is much better at presenting can present what we come up with together. I have no problems working in a team.

4. But let us be honest. It is not how the idea of alternate models is presented. It is the idea itself that is anathema to many people including people on this forum, who for a variety of reasons insist on believing in the dogma of democracy, quite against their own interests.
I will try to layout my problems with an elitist adventurism - which will result if we fail to understand the "soul", and if we do not talk to that soul and convince it that "we" are reliable enough for them to rely on.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Bpati Sab,

I think you make some excellent arguments, some I agree with, some I dont. But I think if we get stuck up in this argument, we will never get to something more useful. I think we have to start at a place that we agree and then move on. Can we agree on the following:

1. Our current dispensation is grossly inadequate and corrupt to advance the interests of our country and our people.

2. It requires drastic change.

3. It requires drastic change in pretty short order.

4. We need a change to a dispensation that is better suited to protect the interest of India and Indians.

5. We need to define what these core interests of India and Indians are.

6. Once we define what these core interests are, then we can arrive at the anatomy of what one or two configurations of governance can best protect THOSE core interests that we have just defined

7. Once we arrive at the top two possible configurations of governance, THEN and only then can we start having a discussion of how we get from where we are right now to where we need to be (whether it is the grassroots taking the lead, the intellectuals taking the lead, the armed forces taking the lead, with grassroots participation etc.......these are all open questions that can be debated after we arrive at what our core interests and goals are)

If we agree on this, then we can move on to the next step and start a discussion of what exactly are the core or vital interests of India and Indians. I think when we start to discuss that, we should try to keep this list of core interests small while still not missing out on any real core interest, so that any new dispensation we may arrive at has very simple goals and objectives to fulfill.

Can we agree on this ? If not, we will have to move further up a level until we reach the very basics that we DO agree on and then move from there. Unless we start any discussion from a point of agreement, we will keep spinning our wheels and get nowhere. If nothing else, we can even start with an agreement on the proposition that "a =a", but we must start from a point of agreement. That will ensure that we are at least speaking the same language and not get mired in misunderstanding due to us using different languages (I dont mean literally different languages). Because when I discuss with you, I find myself agreeing with a lot of what you say (not all), but am unable to convey it in the language that you perhaps understand, so sometimes you perceive even our agreements as disagreements.

Your thoughts?

shivajisisodia wrote:Bpati Sab,
I think we have to start at a place that we agree and then move on. Can we agree on the following:

1. Our current dispensation is grossly inadequate and corrupt to advance the interests of our country and our people.

2. It requires drastic change.

3. It requires drastic change in pretty short order.

4. We need a change to a dispensation that is better suited to protect the interest of India and Indians.

6. Once we define what these core interests are, then we can arrive at the anatomy of what one or two configurations of governance can best protect THOSE core interests that we have just defined

7. Once we arrive at the top two possible configurations of governance, THEN and only then can we start having a discussion of how we get from where we are right now to where we need to be (whether it is the grassroots taking the lead, the intellectuals taking the lead, the armed forces taking the lead, with grassroots participation etc.......these are all open questions that can be debated after we arrive at what our core interests and goals are)
[...]
Because when I discuss with you, I find myself agreeing with a lot of what you say (not all), but am unable to convey it in the language that you perhaps understand, so sometimes you perceive even our agreements as disagreements.

Your thoughts?
I guess, your points - for me would appear in sequence as follows:

2.[4.] We need a change to a dispensation that is better suited to protect the interest of India and Indians.

3.[2.] It requires drastic change. [the degree of change envisioned]

4.[3.] It requires drastic change in pretty short order. [the timeframe of change envisioned]

I will stop here and request you to think. If you have already stated [1]-[4], surely you must have already been sure of what those "core interests" are which are not being achieved to the extent that you feel the whole system needs drastic changes in short order?

I think you should spell out what you think are the core interests, and which are not being supported or damaged. Because a lot of the methods, modalities and mobilization towards achievement of the target will depend on exactly what those interests are perceived to be. These [5+6] should be at the 0-th position - before 1.
Why restrict yourself to a preference ordering of governance models? There are no pure governance models. The current rashtra has many overt features of a democracy which however has many totalitarian aspects and pseudo-colonial attitudes in its functionaries. Governance strategies and models are always mixed up hopelessly, partly out of necessity as well as due to real life constraints on ideals.

So why not let the governance model be "adaptive" - have a broad target outline of features, but do not write it down in stone. Structures will evolve and need to be evolved depending on how internal situation degenerates. My arguments pointing out the problems of the democratic method - and how it is often used to consolidate dictatorial powers within organizations, and eventual degeneration of organizations - have been given on the Anna Hazare thread, and also on the archived leadership thread. But entrenched authoritarianism is even more dangerous. Because fractious democracy still leaves a way out for a faction professing the same ideology as that of those in power, and thus the faults of ruling do not stick to the ideology itself.

This is the tactic used by the mullahs - who always split into two factions when sensing that over-application of Islam has brought the whole system down- while retaining their espousal of the Quran and the Shariah, with one side aligning with the regime, and the other feigning opposition or distance. So Islam itself never is painted with the outcomes of the ideology itself, and is never thrown out.

If you are calling for a long term authoritarian regime and which for me will have to base itself on an ideological foundation we both understand will be closer to the non-Abrahamic, then I do not want the risks of throwing the baby with the bathwater inevitably resorted to by the "people" [one elite faction does the "change" bit while the "commons" do not feel bonded enough to intervene one way or the other - as in the fall of USSR], by leaving no space for dichotomies and doubts or contradictions.

shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Bpati Sb,

I will list out my list of what our national priorities should be. However, we should use this only as a starting point, as I would open myself up to the charge of being "arrogant", if I leave any doubt that this is only a starting point and setting national priorities require input and buy in from more people.

However, while I agree with just about everything you said in your last post, allow me to seek clarification on one point you make. Are you saying that we should not prescribe a system of governance and simply let it evolve with the degeneration of the current system ? If so, then you are saying that an optimal system will automatically and reactively evolve without citizens (small group or large) taking any leadership in proactively shaping it. Is that what you are meaning ? Cause, if you are, then I profoundly disagree with you. I dont disagree with the fact that our system of governance, whatever it is, should be flexible and provide room for evolution from within based on changing dynamics within the nation but I dont think we need to be leaving room within our system to play dishonest games such as being played, in your example, by Islamists. I think any system of governance should have the the basic integrity and honesty and should be straight forward, mostly based on truth. Non-Western cultures have this drawback of putting a lot of premium on double speak and cleverness, and I would like our system of governance to adapt this one thing from the West, ie., the Western governance system's or culture's straight forwardness and premium on integrity, at least when it comes to internal governance within Western nations. I say this with full knowledge that any talk of borrowing anything from the West leaves one open to the charge of being a "dhimmi" or a slave mentality person from people who have no qualms about using cars, airplanes, cell phones, televisions, radios, computers, software, telecommunications, clothes, and many many more things that have become completely a part of Indian culture, all of which are borrowed from the West, most after independence and a lot of these after the 1992 awakening.

I try to stay true to my above assertion and attempt to make all my own points in this forum and outside in a very straight forward and direct manner avoiding any double speak and ambiguity, whether people agree with them or not and whether they are actually valid or not (and sometimes I readily concede the possibility that the points I make are not valid). I think this rubs certain people on this forum(not you) and outside the wrong way, because they are not accustomed to reading material that is written without any hedging, with directness and with complete integrity from non-Western sources. Although, in my case, I must say that I didnt borrow this idea of straightforwardness and integrity from the West, it was passed down to me in my own family, proving that this strain is not totally unknown with Indian culture as well, although not as commonly found as I would like.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=15169

Four ceasefire violations by Pak troops along LoC: Army

Pakistani troops have resorted to four ceasefire violations along the Line of Control (LoC) in Keran and Macchil sectors in Kashmir, army said today.

"Four ceasefire violations have been reported from Keran and adjoining Macchil sectors along the LoC since Thursday afternoon," defence spokesperson Lt Colonel JS Brar told PTI.

There were no casualties in the firing incidents, he said, adding that Indian troops exercised restraint and did not retaliate.

The spokesperson said Pakistani troops opened "unprovoked" firing on Indian army position along the LoC in these two sectors, which have emerged as favoured routes for infiltration of militants into Kashmir.

"The latest violation took place this morning while three incidents of firing from Pakistan-occupied Kashmir were resorted to since yesterday afternoon," Lt Col Brar said.

"However, our troops exercised restraint and did not retaliate," he added.

With the latest incidents of firing, the number of ceasefire violations by Pakistani troops in Keran and Macchil sectors has gone up to six in the past three days. In the first major violation of ceasefire this year, an Indian junior commissioned officer (JCO) and three Pakistani soldiers were killed when troops from the two sides traded heavy gunfire between August 30 and September one in Keran sector.

The violation took place barely a few days after the army foiled a big infiltration bid in Gurez sector of nearby Bandipora district.

Thirteen militants and an army officer were killed in the operation in Gurez sector that lasted five days, starting August 20.

what with the 2012 End of the World, and 250 years since last invasion through the Khyber, the Pakis in their twisted minds might think this is their chance to go all out against the Kafirs.

either way, the tempo of Pak violations on LoC has been increasing steadily now. the past 2 months have seen around 25 occasions where ceasefire was violated.....

India better be prepared for the worst (two front war)...
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

brihaspati wrote:^^^But Vivekananda, when writing about "uprisings" and revolutionary changes - talked of the future belonging to the "shudra", and the "shudra" rising to state power. He meant "shudra" typically as "labour" or sometimes in the sense of "underclass".

Bpati Sab,

This one is a real doozie and you know it. I think you may decide yourself to take this one back. And I say this with complete empathy, as we all have done what you did here, in our moment of weakness, ie., quoting something totally out of context to twist the original meaning to something that it was never intended to mean.

Swamiji did say that, no question. But he did not mean that the rest of us should hand over everything we own to the Shudra, give up educating ourselves in favor of reservations for the Shudra in our eduational institutions and make the Shudra the Lord of everything, while the rest of us become Babajis and head for the Himalayas. :)

Swamiji simply meant that Shudra will step up, get full due for his labor and fully participate in the society, all of which we all believe he should. He did not say that the Shudra or anyone else should be given what is not rightfully his (and I am not one those who argues against some just compensation for historic injustices).
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

Going through the discussion on this thread i remember one quote from Sarat Chandra Chatterjee's Pather Dabi where Sabyasachi quoted "The grassroots are as useful as the sacrifical lamb for the greater cause"....

shivajisisodia wrote:^^^^^ And I think you are not understanding what I am saying.
I actually think with all respect I can muster, that you dont understand what you yourself are saying. And I am speaking not for the forum, but myself and many other like minded people that I know of. For myself I think I will be presumptuous and say that I probably understand you well enough now.
In Indian context, my study of history convinces me, that unfortunately that is not true. Am I very happy to arrive at this conclusion?
I am not really sure of whether that is supposed to be a compelling argument, so far, as I can see, you knowledge is quite flawed.
No. Would I rather that the base is the catalyst ? Yes
Considering that no one else used the word catalyst, this is yet another example of you battling some imaginary dragons in your mind, and missing by a mile, what others are trying to communicate to you.
The American revolution was actually not supported by the majority of the population. It was a revolution from the top and some middle class and grassroots from the Boston area (New England) only.
We are not America, that is a worthless line of discussion not fit considering for India and such, wholly pointless, thus not responding to it beyond saying that has no relevance.

On the issue of the base being different than you. I believe that all human beings, all around the world are the same. No one is superior and no one is inferior. However, again wishing for things to be and for things to be a reality are two different things. In the present context in reality, you wouldnt say that a Pakjabi is the same as us, would you ?
Again more strawmen, I did not talk of all human beings around the world being same, I did not bring Pakjabi's into the picture. You did, for god knows what misguided reason.

Stick to topic.

And I dont give two hoots about your further dijointed rant about caste system, reservation, and base.

Clearly you have no first clue of what "base" of a demographic means, and have happily spoken like a WSJ reporter meets Al Guardian editor on herbs babbling about various issues in a unconnected incoherent and inchoate manner.

Take a deep breath, write smaller posts more to points and maybe it makes some sense to respond to you. Right now its a litany of woes and strawmen galore.