Transport Aircraft for IAF

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Transport Aircraft for IAF

C-17 Globemaster III aircraft to be inducted at Hindan base
The four-engine aircraft is capable of taking off and landing even on makeshift runways, barely 3,500-feet long and 90-feet wide, India will be able to transport soldiers and combat systems to forward areas both on western and eastern fronts much faster.

NRao wrote:OK. We are making progress. We are down from 30+ to 25+ years.
35+ is not outside 25+

no no no ... shivji you have got me wrong on that front ... I am not at all criticizing the the MRTA or it's design ... I am only making a case for a turboprop like the C-27 which has a take of run of just 670 mtrs for the AN-32 replacement ... the MRTA may have been designed keeping high ALGs in mind ... after all choice of engine is not the only thing.

Now coming back to drop in thrust in a turboprop vis-a-vis a turbofan with altitude ... The efficiency of any engine based on a turbine at any altitude is the efficiency of the turbine at that altitude ... the effect on the propellers blades will be the same as on the blades of a turbofan !!! The fact that the turbofan blades are in a duct comes into play with speed and not with altitude ... turbofans are more efficient than the turboprops above 450 mph ... before that the turboprops rule ... after about 30,000 feet though the turbofans have a spread of about 50:50 of thrust coming from the fan and the compressor ... this will not be felt at 10,000 feet where the turboprop at low speeds will still trump the turbofan.

To quote concrete figures C-130J with same payload as the MRTA will have a takeoff run of 900-1000mtrs whereas our MRTA is going to have a run of 1200-1300 mtrs ... this scales up by the same factor as we go higher. So C-130J will still take off or land on shorter runways than the MRTA even at higher altitudes ... Infact given the AE-2100 (the engine that powers the C-130J and the C-27) has excellent performance in hot and high airfields ... the C-27 I heard could do 3G with loads ... this engine has set many altitude and efficiency records.

IAF proposes to get transport aircraft from private industry.

In a bid to promote indigenous aerospace sector in the country, the Indian Air Force has proposed to get transport aircraft produced by private industry for replacing its fleet of 56 Avro aircraft.

"We have proposed to the Defence Ministry that we buy certain amount (of aircraft) from the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) directly and the rest can be produced here in terms of license production," IAF Chief Air Chief Marshal N A K Browne told reporters here.

The IAF Chief was addressing a gathering on the launch of brochure for the forthcoming 6th seminar on 'Energising Aerospace in India'.

The IAF fleet of Avro aircraft was inducted from the 1960s and are used for transporting men and material. The aircraft can carry loads of upto 7-8 tonnes.

Pointing out that the Defence Ministry has a "very positive take" on the proposal, the IAF chief said, "Once the private industry has the technology and know-how of the whole system, then it (aircraft) will not be confined to the IAF only and it can be given to the private sector also."

Browne expressed hope that the proposal would be cleared by the Minsitry and said it "will help the aerospace industry evolve in the country in a big way."

He said the hands of Defence Public Sector Undertakings were full at the moment with several projects in their kitty.

"We have told the Defence Ministry how to go about it... Otherwise it will go to the Defence PSUs who already have their hands full, " he said.

Truboprop is a better choice for STOL operations not only because of the efficiency but because of the engine-airframe combined performance and it's impact on design of the aircraft. Turboprops can have really large props ( centrally/high mounted hub on wings for clearance vis a vis underslung turbofans) ( C-17 engines have a dia of ~6.5 feet vs Tu-95 with prop dia of 16.5 feet) which can bite a lot of air but accelerate it little relative to turbofans. Now this means that a turboprop powered aircraft is going to fly slower than a turbofan (which moves little air relatively but accelerates it more) because at higher speeds turboprops thrust will drop more rapidly than a turbofan which is quite good till lower transonic speeds. For the same reason, lower disc loading helicopters are good at hovering but not good at cruise.

If we observe carefully, almost all turboprops are straight wings with no sweep which are excellent at providing high lift/drag at slower speeds which IMO is logical since the airframe is optimised for the speed range over which the engine is most efficient. So this gives the turboprops the distinct advantage of lift/fuel economy at slower speeds and thus favoured in STOL regime. Whereas the turbofans are more efficient at transonic speeds and thus they have swept wings. Which are good at higher speeds but not so good at lower takeoff/landing speeds.

Cheers....

indranilroy wrote: after about 30,000 feet though the turbofans have a spread of about 50:50 of thrust coming from the fan and the compressor ... this will not be felt at 10,000 feet where the turboprop at low speeds will still trump the turbofan.
The problem as I see it is in taking 10,000 feet as one figure and 30,000 as the other figure and say that at 10,000 there is no difference and at 30,000 turbofans do well. It is the space between 10 and 30 that is crucial.

More specifically it is the spectrum of change that the engine has to experience and deal with from 20,000 to 10,000 feet that matters. Airfields at 10,000 feet (in India) are invariably surrounded by 20,000 plus foot mountains that need to be crossed - usually within tens of km. That means that an aircraft taking off landing has to have engines whose thrust can be rapidly increased at altitudes well above 10,000 feet and up to 20,000 feet in order to maneuver around or climb over peaks or mountain ranges on the approach to and climb out of airfields. This is the "intemediate zone" between 10,000 and 30,000 where prop power degrades as it goes higher and turbofan power actually gets more efficient. The actual choice of turbofan or prop AFAIK depends on this and there can be no dogmatic "this is better" or "that is better". It depends on the specific requirements of the Air Force.

From what I understand Shivji, the turboprops should do as well as the turbofans in that region too at slow speeds. Generally it also has to do with the airframes that they generally are strapped on to. But don't take my word, I will come back with supporting documents later ... as a standing example the An-32 goes where no other plane would.

IAF now wants a replacement for the 56 Avros ... the 70 seater turboprop RTA would have been an excellent replacement ... but alas we will again go for some import and license production again.

^^^What is the timeline for the replacement of AVRO and when is RTA coming online?

the AVROs should have been retired long ago. there is no way in hell the RTA will replace it. I would place RTA IOC @ 15 yrs away even with strong tieups from global vendors.

we will see a bombardier, atr or embraer product instead.

indranilroy wrote:no no no ... shivji you have got me wrong on that front ... I am not at all criticizing the the MRTA or it's design ... I am only making a case for a turboprop like the C-27 which has a take of run of just 670 mtrs for the AN-32 replacement ... the MRTA may have been designed keeping high ALGs in mind ... after all choice of engine is not the only thing.

Now coming back to drop in thrust in a turboprop vis-a-vis a turbofan with altitude ... The efficiency of any engine based on a turbine at any altitude is the efficiency of the turbine at that altitude ... the effect on the propellers blades will be the same as on the blades of a turbofan !!! The fact that the turbofan blades are in a duct comes into play with speed and not with altitude ... turbofans are more efficient than the turboprops above 450 mph ... before that the turboprops rule ... after about 30,000 feet though the turbofans have a spread of about 50:50 of thrust coming from the fan and the compressor ... this will not be felt at 10,000 feet where the turboprop at low speeds will still trump the turbofan.

To quote concrete figures C-130J with same payload as the MRTA will have a takeoff run of 900-1000mtrs whereas our MRTA is going to have a run of 1200-1300 mtrs ... this scales up by the same factor as we go higher. So C-130J will still take off or land on shorter runways than the MRTA even at higher altitudes ... Infact given the AE-2100 (the engine that powers the C-130J and the C-27) has excellent performance in hot and high airfields ... the C-27 I heard could do 3G with loads ... this engine has set many altitude and efficiency records.
I understand that Turboprops also have slower speed for landing and take off which makes it more tolerant of runway condition. Apart from the fact that turboprop engines are more resistant to ingestion and good for reversing etc

RTA was meant to have turboprop version which seems to have been killed. MRTA is neither here nor there, Russian requirement which has been thrust down Indian throats

Reading the report, it seems that they are thinking about an aircraft that will be similar to the proposed RTA that is to be designed by the NAL. Depending on the timeline in question, this may mean, if, a foreign solution is chosen then the IAF may not have the space for a domestic solution.

url=http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 824933.cms]IAF proposes to get transport aircraft from private industry.[/url]

Reading the report, it seems that they are thinking about an aircraft that will be similar to the proposed RTA that is to be designed by the NAL. Depending on the timeline in question, this may mean, if, a foreign solution is chosen then the IAF may not have the space for a domestic solution.
Actually India needs around 100-200 aircraft of An-32/Avro category. The license production of C-27 is a reasonable option. MRTA is a very big aircraft, even though its MTOW is stated to be 65tons but looking at its size (equivalent to 737/320s) its MTOW should be in the range of 75-85tons. MRTA's MTOW seems to have been understated to market it as a replacement of An-32. Now IAF has come out with the requirement for a Transport aircraft which will actually be replacement of An-32/Avro but for public consumption citing the replacement of Avro

vic wrote: MRTA is neither here nor there, Russian requirement which has been thrust down Indian throats
I don't know how you come to such conclusions! You would have to prove that the top military brass of the Indians, the Brazilians, the Japanese, the Chinese and the numerous operators of C-130J are fools!

Hopefully, the state-industry coupling will make the most of the situation, as India imports uniquely from different continents. An airplane with direct cargo flight from USA to India can avoid 'missing 3-ton LCA parts' kind of situations and aid in speedy all-round development.

http://news.outlookindia.com/item.aspx?733292
The Outlook India article above states that 25th SQ "Himalayan Eagles" has been moved from Chandigarh to Vadodara. This news is a very good news as it not only decongests Chandigarh but also beefs up the transport muscle of SWC. What is confusing is the aircraft mentioned in this article is AN-32 and according to Scramble the Squadron has IL-76MDs, can someone clarify which aircraft is this SQ, Global Security mentions both AN-32 and IL-76.

The news about converting Deesa Airport to an AFB is also a welcome development.

indranilroy wrote:
vic wrote: MRTA is neither here nor there, Russian requirement which has been thrust down Indian throats
I don't know how you come to such conclusions! You would have to prove that the top military brass of the Indians, the Brazilians, the Japanese, the Chinese and the numerous operators of C-130J are fools!
I cannot even prove that old lady is not weaving thread on the Moon, so >>? In any case, I have pointed out above that MRTA in not a replacement of An-32 as it is 4 times its size. C-130 & C-27 type/equivalent aircraft will be more suitable for India. The honesty of top brass is legendary.

vic wrote: I cannot even prove that old lady is not weaving thread on the Moon, so >>? In any case, I have pointed out above that MRTA in not a replacement of An-32 as it is 4 times its size. C-130 & C-27 type/equivalent aircraft will be more suitable for India. The honesty of top brass is legendary.
Not only that, you will not even be prove that the An 32 was the exact and perfect aircraft when it was offered to us or even that a replacement aircraft should exactly replace the An-32 because the An-32 was such an exact and perfect requirement for the IAF that met the IAF's requirements exactly.

It was such a stroke of luck that the Russians had an An-26 that they up engined for hot and high in India and that up engined An-26 was an exact an perfect requirement for IAF that now requires a similar exact replacement.

we have about 105 An-32's. India has put in an initial requirement of 45. this is in addition to 12 C-130J's which belong to the same category.

the only quibble I have with the MRTA's specs is the payload, at less than 20 tons it won't be able to carry most of the modern IFV's. even our own abhay weighed at 23 tons. the payload needs to go up to at least 25 tons.

Shiv ji +1.

Rahul da +1.

Rahul , IIRC the Abhay was just a test platform to validate various technology and the new ICV is being designed by private players awaiting final selection between competing parties.

If they really want the new ICV to be air transportable or air dropable by MRTA or C-130J then they need to make sure its weight stays below/around 20T

boss, if you look at other concepts with decent levels of protection they all weigh around the 25 t mark, some are even over 30 t. I expect similar outcome from our IFV competition if they have a decent protection standard.
the hercs are not meant for lifting these since they are SF aircraft but the MRTA, since it is still in design phase should cater for future needs.

<30t is essentially a nook nanga IFV looking at other products out there. I pray some sense prevails when there is time in hand to ensure the MTA is big enough to lift that, rather than moan about it later.
and IOC vehicles with 50 yr production lifespans tend to ALWAYS get heavier as more stuff gets added not, NEVER lighter.

the EMB KC-390 thats in design phase is stated as 23.6t payload
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Embraer_KC ... 8KC-390.29
Last edited by Singha on 03 Sep 2011 17:37, edited 1 time in total.

If I roughly compare the size and engines of C-390 vs MRTA vs C-130 then MRTA is much bigger and seems more powerful aircraft. I would put its MTOW from tactical length airstrip at 68 tons but its MTOW from normal full length airstrip may be as much as 88 tons. So the payload can be anything from 20 to 30 tons
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

indranilroy wrote:Due to the power advantage at low speeds, the the turboprops have much lower approach speeds. Even for our turboprop RTA, the approach speed is 110 kts (take of run of 900-1000 mtrs) whereas that of the turbofan NCA is 125 kts (takeoff run of 1400 mtrs).
Take-off and approach velocities are a function of weight and wing area. Available power (turbo-prop or turbo-fan) cannot change these numbers. They either have the power to achieve required velocity or not! That's all.

Shalav wrote:
indranilroy wrote:Due to the power advantage at low speeds, the the turboprops have much lower approach speeds. Even for our turboprop RTA, the approach speed is 110 kts (take of run of 900-1000 mtrs) whereas that of the turbofan NCA is 125 kts (takeoff run of 1400 mtrs).
Take-off and approach velocities are a function of weight and wing area. Available power (turbo-prop or turbo-fan) cannot change these numbers. They either have the power to achieve required velocity or not! That's all.
Taking a simplistic view (and with the correction that it is lift, rather than the wing area) you are right about the takeoff speed.

But how you get to the take off speed is what was being discussed. Turboprops can generate more power at standstill and lower velocities and hence accelerates the plane faster to the take off speed.

We are also speaking of planes which would definitely have more than one engine and hence the engines must be wing mounted in this case ... the effective ground speed for takeoff and landing is lowered because of additional lift generated by propwash flowing around the wing.
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

indranilroy wrote:Taking a simplistic view (and with the correction that it is lift, rather than the wing area) you are right about the takeoff speed.
So lets take the complicated view. Since you mention lift... here is the lift equation

L = Cl x((density * v^2)/2) x Wing area

Kindly highlight the variable for power. The Cl variable has other dependencies, but I don't see a variable for power affecting it. If you know differently please educate me - I mean that seriously. I have been trying to figure out a way to improve my spreadsheet to include take-off and landing distances.
But how you get to the take off speed is what was being discussed.Turboprops can generate more power at standstill and lower velocities and hence accelerates the plane faster to the take off speed.
The part highlighted in red is unrelated to your assertion that "higher power = lower approach speeds" which is a completely nonsensical statement.

Please make up your mind - are you talking about the take off / landing distance or are you talking about the take-off / landing velocities?
We are also speaking of planes which would definitely have more than one engine and hence the engines must be wing mounted in this case ... the effective ground speed for takeoff and landing is lowered because of additional lift generated by propwash flowing around the wing.
Again this has nothing to do with higher power = lower landing speed or even higher power = lower takeoff velocity.

For a given altitude, weight & wing area the a/c will have natural take-off/landing 'speed'. This will never change; even if you could somehow magically and instantly swap the engines mid-flight from a 'low-power' turbo-fan to a 'high-power' turbo-prop. Despite this, the landing 'speed' of the aircraft will not instantly change to a lower landing 'speed' on the magical replacement by engines with 'more power'. Thats fysics onlee saar!

For eg

An a/c weighing 20 tons may have a hypothetical landing speed of 100 kts at 1000 m altitude. Please show us how this approach 'speed' changes if the aircraft is powered by a (single or multiple) 200 kfg engine(s) versus (single or multiple) 100 kgf engine(s)?

As a second exercise related to what you may actually be trying to put across, please show us how the prop versus jet has more significant effect on take-off/landing distance than wing area and weight. I need to know this for my knowledge so if you could help with the equations, it would be very much appreciated.

You could for instance configure a hypothetical turbo-prop powered aircraft and compare take-off/landing distance with and without flaps; then configure the same aircraft with a turbo-fan and compare the take-off/landing distance with and without flaps.

It would be an interesting exercise and you could actually prove your point about take-off/landing distance with equations no one could dispute.

PS: as an input from me - consider the interaction of prop wash and laminar flow. There is no coanda effect from turbo-props, rather the prop-wash is the most significant factor effecting laminar flow behind the engine nacelles. Hence the effort to put props as far ahead of the wing leading edge as possible, and the interest in pusher type props.

Blown flaps which provide the STOL capability are more fuel efficient with turboprops than turbofans but there is no STOL turboprop in existence that can carry as much as the C-17 or give it the speed of an intercontinental jet. The unique capabilities of the C-17 can give us a clue about what the IAF wants to do with them.

* While carrying almost double the load of an IL-76, it can land within 3,000 feet, unload and then take off in as little as 600 ft.

* It can do the above on a rough landing surface.

* If needed, it can back up like a truck using reverse thrust.

* It is capable of a steep and slow approach which means it can land and takeoff from very tight places.

It is the only heavy strategic lifter in the world that can also act like a tactical STOL transport. Nothing else can bring the same volume of material so close to the front in so short a time.
Last edited by Victor on 03 Sep 2011 22:46, edited 1 time in total.

Shalav,

The points I made were these.
1. A turboprop accelerates to take-off speed faster than a turbofan ... do you agree/disagree?
2. Turboprops generate more power than turbofans at standstill and at lower velocities ... do you agree/disagree?
3. Below about 450mphs turboprops and turbofans are affected identically by density of air ... do you agree/disagree?

I never said ... could you show me any of my posts saying any of the below?
1. lift increases because of using more power
2. I never said that choice of engine alone affects takeoff/landing distance ... infact right at the beginning I wrote
the MRTA may have been designed keeping high ALGs in mind ... after all choice of engine is not the only thing.
However, I stand corrected for what I said below:
1. I messed up while writing ... I did not mean "approach speed" ... I meant "take-off speed" (as you can see I quoted take off run lengths) ... At take off power does have an effect as part of the total lift is component of aerodynamic lift along vertical axis + component of thrust along the vertical axis.
Due to the power advantage at low speeds, the the turboprops have much lower approach speeds. Even for our turboprop RTA, the approach speed is 110 kts (take of run of 900-1000 mtrs) whereas that of the turbofan NCA is 125 kts (takeoff run of 1400 mtrs).
2. Isaid ... prop-wash increases lift ... it doesn't ... you made me read more on this ... thank you!

Well 'Cl' is experimentally derived quantity and is influenced by the wing planform, aspect ratio and wing sweep. The turboprops have low/negligible wing sweeps (except for high altitude and high speed bombers like Tu-95). Turbofans have lower aspect ratio and higher sweep angles when compared to the turboprops . I do not have a formula handy to support my claims but if one would look at the variable geometry wing AC i.e. the flogger/tomcat one would observe that they always take off and land with their wings at lowest sweep setting, to me it means a low sweep angle assists the AC to attain the required 'L' earlier than at higher sweep angles and similarly be able to attain minimum safe approach speed while landing. All in all my understanding is lower sweep angle and a high aspect ratio wing are good for short take off and shorter landing performance.

http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/k-12/airplane/turbprp.html

If you see the thrust equation one would find why the props deliver high thrust at low speeds and if you will draw a garph between thrust and speed ( y and x axis respectively) one will see thrust will decline with increase in speed in the subsonic regime. In case of turbofans above 0.5 M or above the RAM compression will kick in and core will provide increased thrust but until that is reached a turboprop will trump the turbofan in every respect.

Rahul M wrote:boss, if you look at other concepts with decent levels of protection they all weigh around the 25 t mark, some are even over 30 t. I expect similar outcome from our IFV competition if they have a decent protection standard.
the hercs are not meant for lifting these since they are SF aircraft but the MRTA, since it is still in design phase should cater for future needs.
It depends on what they want to achieve with IFV , certainly a heavier IFV could/may offer better protection from certain angles at the cost of being heavier and having its impact on its amphibious capability while making it air mobile with certain transport types (IL-76 or C-17 )

Or to could settle for a 20 T IFV with the goal of giving it greater strategic and tactical mobility by making it air transportable by most types of transport used in IAF.

There are no right or wrong solutions just depends on what you want to achieve , if they increase the payload capability to say 25 T ( someone would may just complain a 30T IFV would still be better ) then that would impact the size ,fuel capacity and engine of the aircraft making it much bigger then what it is now.

I think the C-130J can most certainly be converted for transport task if required and is not just limited to special ops task.

indranilroy wrote: The points I made were these.
1. A turboprop accelerates to take-off speed faster than a turbofan ... do you agree/disagree?
2. Turboprops generate more power than turbofans at standstill and at lower velocities ... do you agree/disagree?
3. Below about 450mphs turboprops and turbofans are affected identically by density of air ... do you agree/disagree?

Interesting list. I actually searched for online amateur enthusiast reading material on these points but was unable to find significant material other than forum discussions with conflicting statements.

The (amateur, possible under-informed) impression I have gained is that a turbofan is a ducted turboprop in a sense but turbofans spin at higher speeds and the ability to spin at higher speeds gets to be more of an advantage as the altitude increases and air density decreases. I would guess that this would amount to an ability of a turbofan to "rev-up" and produce thrust more rapidly at higher altitudes compared with turboprops. Extrapolating with the guesswork, the need to rev up and produce rapid changes in thrust is not felt in a straight take off or landing, but when an aircraft must maneuver between mountains for a landing approach or on exit from a mountainous region after take off.

An approach to a mountain airport at 10,000 feet situated in the Himalayas with peaks that exceed 20,000 feet means that there is no clear, flat "line-of-sight" approach from 40 or 50 km away. The final approach is always downward while curving left and right around peaks until the final few km where the aircraft is seconds away from the runway while flying at perhaps 12 or 13000 feet with perhaps afternoon temperatures hitting 30 deg C (84 deg F) . Similar issues would affect take off.

Unless we know the exact details and dynamics of the situation faced by the iAF as well as the typical loads that are required to be carried and where they must be carried from - it would, in my view, be impossible to reach a dogmatic conclusion to say that "Turboprop would be a better choice so why the hell does the MTA have turbofans?" This is as far as my argument goes.

The other point that is that unless we have access to the exact details of what the IAF needs it would be a mistake to say that the An 32 was perfect and the replacement should be exactly in the same weight and power class as the An-32

Austin, 20 t is about the lower limit these days, there are no tracked IFV's i.e the ones that run with the tanks under that limit. MRTA's payload is about 20 tons and possibly a bit lower in real life.

even if it is possible to get 'adequate' protection at 20 tons, modern IFV's have to have provisions for fitting bolt-on armour, which would easily increase weight by 3-4 tons.

for the C-130J, true they would probably be used for transport but that would always be a secondary role and I think it unlikely they would be first choice for moving IFV's.

The point I am trying to make is that MRTA is a very very different category of aircraft compared to An-32 and we need an An-32 category aircraft also. NAL seems to have dropped trurboprop variant altogether.

Also for short distances, turboprops are considered more fuel efficient.
Gilles

Post by Gilles »

GeorgeWelch wrote:Interesting chart of operational cost per flight hour for different aircraft in the USAF fleet.

http://www.flightglobal.com/blogs/the-d ... ombat.html

Of particular note is that the C-17 actually costs less to operate than the C-130H and only a hair more than the C-130J, even with the difference in fuel burn. I'm not sure how it's possible, but there it is.
Because of the small number of cycles they put on the airframes. They are used for long haul to support the deployments in Iraq and Afghanistan. If all an aircraft does is 10 hour flights, by the time it has 30,000 hours, its only landed and taken off 3000 times (3000 cycles), which puts very little maintenance strain on the aircraft. If that same aircraft, for lack of a war, did only short training missions or even did touch and goes, it could end its career with 30,000 hours flight time, but with 60,000 cycles, which would have increased its maintenance cost 10 fold. Its like having a car which is only used on highways on cruise control, and another identical car which is always used in low gear, in city traffic, as its used to teach new drivers how to drive.

http://www.deccanherald.com/Openads/adc ... &timeout=0

Sunday, June 12, 2011
NAL completes study on RTA
Bangalore: Union Minister for Science and Technology Ashwani Kumar announced that Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL) has completed the feasibility study on the design and development of the Regional Transport Aircraft (RTA).Addressing the media at NAL campus here on Friday, he said that the estimated cost of the project was `7,555 crore. Explaining further, he said that this would entail the design and development phase of `4,355 crore and a series production phase of `3,200 crore. Stressing that there would be no financial constraints to projects of this nature, Kumar said; "the Government of India fully supports such programmes, irrespective of the financial demands".

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/172 ... us-90.html

'India hopes to fly indigenous 90-seater aircraft in five yrs'
New Delhi, Jul 1 (PTI)

India hopes to test fly its first indigenously-developed 90 seater regional transport aircraft in the next five years, a top official has said.

The 90-seater RTA will be developed as a team India initiative led by CSIR-National Aerospace Laboratory (NAL), which could also see some global participation, CSIR Director General Samir Brahmachari said here today.

A committee headed by former ISRO chairman G Madhavan Nair submitted a feasibility study to Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) recently in this regard.

The Committee, which had top bureaucrats and aerospace scientists as members, has suggested a two-pronged approach -- Design Development and Production Unit -- to realise the objective.

"The Committee has come to a conclusion that the RTA should be a narrow body turbo fan aircraft with a seating capacity for 70-90 persons and stretchable to 80-100 persons," Brahmachari said.

The total project cost is estimated at Rs 7,700 crore -- Rs 4,500 for the design and development stage and Rs 3,200 for the production unit, he said.

The Nair Committee has also suggested that the government pick up the entire tab for the design and development state and has favoured a joint venture route for setting up the production facility.

The panel has set a target of six-eight years for completion of the development and production stage of the project.

"We hope to have the prototype ready in the next five years assuming that the project takes off in 2012," Brahmachari said.

http://www.business-standard.com/india/ ... ct/437262/
The National Civil Aircraft Development Project is set to be launched by January next year, and the total investment for the project is estimated at Rs 8,300 crore.

According to the financial feasibility report for the project, the first phase, or the design phase, is expected to start by January 2012 and would entail an investment of Rs 4,400 crore, which would be spread over a period of three-five years. The second phase, or the production phase, is expected to start within three years of the launch of the design phase, and would require an investment of Rs 3,900 crore.

“Currently, the project is at a pre-design stage and awaits the government’s final approval. NAL has already invested Rs 50 crore and put in place a civil aircraft design bureau, which is expected to develop five prototypes,” said a source involved with the feasibility study. The project involves developing 70-90 sitter ‘short haul aircraft’ to facilitate air transport in Tier-II and Tier-III cities.

The production stage would initially start with a capacity of five aircraft a year, which would be scaled up to 36 aircrafts in five years.
These news reports and design of NCA from Aero Show indicate that trurboprop version of RTA has been dropped

For India I think one of the things that is being taken into consideration that may cause the final design to be less than perfect is that for an Indian design they have to take into account "national technical capability". There was a very nice YouTube video by Luptonga after Aero India that charted the design course of any technology to be developed by India and the thought process that goes in. The idea is that if the design can meet about 6 out of 10 requirements of the checklist then it would a risk worth taking.

If we look at the IAf and say "This is exactly what the IAF needs" (Which we don;t know anyway) we will stil find that "National Technical Capability" may not allow the IAF's requirements to be met exactly any more than the purchase of MiG 23 helped meet the F-16 threat from Pakhanaland.

recently I saw a photo feature on american outpost in hindu kush mountain at 6500ft. as usual they have plenty of eqpt up there including a Bobcat dozer of the type used in my very own apt complex! these guys would likely faint at the thought of living in Bana post.
anyway , is the Mi17V and Dhruv capable of lifting such small tracked vehicles for mobility and defensive fortification building in interesting areas? the khan must have used Chinook for it.

check for the 6th photo
http://photoblog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/20 ... fghanistan

from personal observation out of my window at further phases of my apt project, a single bobcat can do as much as 50 men and a single medium sized digger truck as much as 150-200 men quite easily, if the intent is to dig up earth and rocks and build defensive lines they OUTCLASS any form of human shovel labour and can work in bad weather too.

negi wrote:Well 'Cl' is experimentally derived quantity and is influenced by the wing planform, aspect ratio and wing sweep. The turboprops have low/negligible wing sweeps (except for high altitude and high speed bombers like Tu-95). Turbofans have lower aspect ratio and higher sweep angles when compared to the turboprops . I do not have a formula handy to support my claims but if one would look at the variable geometry wing AC i.e. the flogger/tomcat one would observe that they always take off and land with their wings at lowest sweep setting, to me it means a low sweep angle assists the AC to attain the required 'L' earlier than at higher sweep angles and similarly be able to attain minimum safe approach speed while landing. All in all my understanding is lower sweep angle and a high aspect ratio wing are good for short take off and shorter landing performance.

http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/k-12/airplane/turbprp.html

If you see the thrust equation one would find why the props deliver high thrust at low speeds and if you will draw a garph between thrust and speed ( y and x axis respectively) one will see thrust will decline with increase in speed in the subsonic regime. In case of turbofans above 0.5 M or above the RAM compression will kick in and core will provide increased thrust but until that is reached a turboprop will trump the turbofan in every respect.
I was actually going to type up the aerodynamic reasons ... but wiki does it better.
When a swept wing travels at high speed, the airflow has little time to react and simply flows over the wing almost straight from front to back. At lower speeds the air does have time to react, and is pushed spanwise by the angled leading edge, towards the wing tip. At the wing root, by the fuselage, this has little noticeable effect, but as one moves towards the wingtip the airflow is pushed spanwise not only by the leading edge, but the spanwise moving air beside it. At the tip the airflow is moving along the wing instead of over it, a problem known as spanwise flow.
The lift from a wing is generated by the airflow over it from front to rear. With increasing span-wise flow the boundary layers on the surface of the wing have longer to travel, and so are thicker and more susceptible to transition to turbulence or flow separation, also the effective aspect ratio of the wing is less and so air "leaks" around the wing tips reducing their effectiveness. The spanwise flow on swept wings produces airflow that moves the stagnation point on the leading edge of any individual wing segment further beneath the leading edge, increasing effective angle of attack of wing segments relative to its neighbouring forward segment. The result is that wing segments farther towards the rear operate at increasingly higher angles of attack promoting early stall of those segments. This promotes tip stall on back swept wings, as the tips are most rearward, while delaying tip stall for forward swept wings, where the tips are forward. With both forward and back swept wings, the rear of the wing will stall first. This creates a nose-up pressure on the aircraft. If this is not corrected by the pilot it causes the plane to pitch up, leading to more of the wing stalling, leading to more pitch up, and so on. This problem came to be known as the Sabre dance in reference to the number of North American F-100 Super Sabres that crashed on landing as a result.
<SNIP>
The swept wing also has several more problems. One is that for any given length of wing, the actual span from tip-to-tip is shorter than the same wing that is not swept. Low speed drag is strongly correlated with the aspect ratio, the span compared to chord, so a swept wing always has more drag at lower speeds. Another concern is the torque applied by the wing to the fuselage, as much of the wing's lift lies behind the point where the wing root connects to the plane. <SNIP>