Terrorist attack on Delhi High Court
Re: Terrorist attack on Delhi High Court
^^^This is true,muslims in Pakistan are worse off than muslims in India, simply because the Pakistani govt. supports non-state actors within Pakistan too, and of course outside as well.How much ever they hide the fact, it remains a cold fact.All the terrorism is being effected by the use of dirty money,gained by corruption.The people of Pakistan must turn against their government, kick out corrupt leaders,establish a genuine democracy, if they really want to live in a better way tomorrow.
It could correspond to Mumbai as its co-oridinate is 18° 55' N 72° 54' E"...And if you are willing to know the next attack, it is 1,8,5,13,4,1,2,1,4 till you come to know what it stands for the next blast will be done. If you have any questions because we don't have time for anything," the sources said, quoting the e-mail.
The sources said the code numbers used by them can be interpreted as Ahmedabad.
The present government is inactive in terms of dealing with terror. It has exposed its weakness to the neighbours that even if we are deeply hurt we will make some noices and wait for the issue to cool down and forget it. Actually terror groups are testing our senses for a major attack so that they want to make sure that even if we are attacked in a major event our govt will make very similar statements and will try to make the public to forget it.
Blast In Delhi: ‘Some’ Weaknesses In The System – Analysis
http://www.eurasiareview.com/10092011-b ... -analysis/
Blast In Delhi: ‘Some’ Weaknesses In The System – Analysis
http://www.eurasiareview.com/10092011-b ... -analysis/
People credit MMS with too much. He is just an intelligent babu, that's it. Nothing more. He follows orders and does the job within defined parameters. He does not appease vote banks but parrots what he is told.habal wrote:That is where the IM comes in. It is supposed to be local and 'homegrown', this is MMS's own terror group. Now he can go about replicating the American model of curbing citizen rights and freedoms on pretext of protecting citizens from a mysterious terror group whose members can't even type ahmedabad.
And ofcourse he and minions are helpless and can't do anything about. After mumbai there is complete absence of any chatter or techint trails of terrorist activities. So convenient.
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/paki ... 50749.html
Possible Pakistan angle-Caught student from Kashmir admits to having sent mail after being instructed from Pakistan.
One can choose to ignore B Raman or even P Chidambaram but what do we do with the one leading with example ?
Minorities feel they are being targeted: PM
What good is a degree from Oxford if one does not have common sense ?
We cannot ignore P.Chidambaram for he is making policies and implementing them too on behalf of the people of India. His reference to Quetta bomb blast on the same day as the Delhi one was the most atrocious I have recently heard from anyone.negi wrote:One can choose to ignore B Raman or even P Chidambaram . . .
At Havana, we said Pakistan was equal-equal with India as a victim of terror; at SeS, we admitted though not in so many words that we were involved in Balochistan and now we are possibly hinting that India must join Pakistan in fighting terror.
he is a figurehead and not an active protagonist. For the world bank and for internationalist organizations he is a facilitator. If you do not want certain activities to arouse suspiscion, it is best to appoint such a figurehead as your front. But look at how the people around him and those who surround him continuously keep failing India and how they manage to leak and facilitate the leak of Indian money outside gives a better idea on what the MMS system represents. & now another pattern that is emerging is that this MMS system is justifying terrorism and pretending to be helpless in terrorism against India on behalf of his global interests.Jarita wrote:People credit MMS with too much. He is just an intelligent babu, that's it. Nothing more. He follows orders and does the job within defined parameters. He does not appease vote banks but parrots what he is told.
what interest then does an aam pandu or an IB officer have to investigate crimes on behalf of such a rotten system. They are unnecessarily putting their lives at risk. MMS system well knows that PETN cannot be locally fabricated yet he wants to turn any act of terrorism into exclusively an internal act in India. And he pleads lack of ability to investigate and prosecute such crimes. In effect he implies that he is sponsoring terrorism and terrorist groups in India. Following up on the same thought process, the govt seems to be far more involved in aiding and executing terrorist activity in India than previously believed, (presumed to be innocent bystander). Which is again a hint to law enforcement machinary in India to not dig too deep into terrorist activity in India.
it's quite plausible that they are so worried about the Muslim votebank that they are allowing some blasts on purpose..
There attempts to appease the deobandi school of thought are legendary ...
Wikileaks confirmed that Diggy sing attributed "soft hindutva" stand to their poor show at UP .And that the party should revert back to being wahabo-phile....
Those SIMI type and JNU types are important for congi votebank... There aim is % share of 27 % ... 15 % IM , 12% ON nrega beneficiaries and votes obtained by caste based politics.. Constituencies have been framed in such a manner that Congi's win..
To reduce the share of NDA their strategy was to open stooges like Raj Thackeray , Chiranjivee etc....
That explains his behaviour well...
During the NDA rule , terrorists were atleast caught. But these days case after case is unsolved...
UPA gives a whole new meaning to state sponsored terrorism ...
It would be foolish optimism to thing they ll act...
We can onlee balame naseeb...
There attempts to appease the deobandi school of thought are legendary ...
Wikileaks confirmed that Diggy sing attributed "soft hindutva" stand to their poor show at UP .And that the party should revert back to being wahabo-phile....
Those SIMI type and JNU types are important for congi votebank... There aim is % share of 27 % ... 15 % IM , 12% ON nrega beneficiaries and votes obtained by caste based politics.. Constituencies have been framed in such a manner that Congi's win..
To reduce the share of NDA their strategy was to open stooges like Raj Thackeray , Chiranjivee etc....
That explains his behaviour well...
During the NDA rule , terrorists were atleast caught. But these days case after case is unsolved...
UPA gives a whole new meaning to state sponsored terrorism ...
It would be foolish optimism to thing they ll act...
We can onlee balame naseeb...
Is it possible government doesn't want to investigate as their own cadre could be involved?
Whatever India does should be done so as not to provide a unifying point for the warring tanzeems and army.
Our son is not involved in HuJI eMail case: parents
Parents of all terrorists say this. Either it is blind love or they are unaware of their children's activities or they are plainly lying.
Indeed, good honest sharing of opinions. But as Arnab closes out, only good questions, but no answers, and neither do I

1) Does India have the political will? Not a chance. I don't want to raise any flames, but we all know where MMS's sympathies lie.
2) Does India have the capability? Also, no. But both 1 and 2 are linked, because if India had the capability, for sure, the more assertive among the Indian leadership would have been more successful in exercising that capability. So ts simplistic and self satisfying to say, jee, we can kick Paki arse but for MMS. Recall, even VajpayeeJi went to slumbad and made "piss" with terrorist Mush. And he got kudos from the white boys for not crossing the LOC in 1999. Wow, what an achievement.
My conclusion as I have been saying, and it requires a treatise to elaborate, it is the failure of India as a whole. Otherwsie, we would not be installing leaders like MMS in the first place, and actually celebrating his so called "intelligent and erudite achievemenets" on the economic front. Reminds me of Indians going ga ga over slum dog Oscar piss.
Where do we go from here and what is TSP's next game plan after this attack?
Last edited by CRamS on 10 Sep 2011 18:20, edited 2 times in total.
Intelligent??? Come on.People credit MMS with too much. He is just an intelligent babu, that's it. Nothing more.
I still remember the docter parents of the terrorists who attacked the pub contending on the same lines. TV people went to town with their statements and UK was at the receiving end for some time in Indian TV but once it came out that their son was involved no Tv jurno tried to confront them.SSridhar wrote:Our son is not involved in HuJI eMail case: parents
Last edited by Yagnasri on 10 Sep 2011 18:22, edited 1 time in total.
We go further down from here, where else ? Not only Pakistan, but the entire world knows we are the softest state. Forget about the latest attacks and avenging that. We are unable to even hang the terrorists whom we have caught and sentenced.CRamS wrote:Where do we go from here and what is TSP's next game plan after this attack?
may not be their own cadre, but just a single node of 4-5 people with a few more to provide cover. And just look at their sketches, most of them look like it's the same person for every incident. A small group is good, but you need more resources to effectively cover it's tracks. And that's where the MMS system needs to come in.
some more garbage from MMS
^^ I salute his audacity to make such statements shamelessly
salient features of PC press brief ing
[youtube]zcp9xkSrPS0&feature=relmfu[/youtube]
some youth radicalisedSingh chose the occasion to point out that lack of productive employment opportunities was one factor leading to radicalisation of youth
"In the last few years, we have tried hard to achieve this," he said, listing out measures such as the National Intelligence Grid, called the NATGRID, being implemented to access all intelligence sources and analysis to identify actionable points.
Noting that the National Investigation Agency (NIA) had begun investigating terrorist-related crimes in the right earnest, he said of the 29 cases handed over to the NIA, charge sheets were filed in 20 cases.
^^ I salute his audacity to make such statements shamelessly
salient features of PC press brief ing
[youtube]zcp9xkSrPS0&feature=relmfu[/youtube]
http://newsinsight.net/archivedebates/n ... recno=2192
Terrorists have chosen the moment of India's political enfeeblement to attack, says N.V.Subramanian.
9 September 2011: Indians won't succumb to terrorism. But the Wednesday terrorist attack at Delhi high court represents a calculated and sophisticated attempt to bring India to its knees.
And the terrorists couldn't have chosen a worse time for India to do so.
India is politically at its weakest today. You could grow at six to eight percent. You may have one of the largest standing armies in the world equipped with nuclear weapons. But if you are politically weak and your society is divided, you become a soft state that could potentially be terrorized.
India became politically weak the day a powerless prime minister called Manmohan Singh was appointed. He had no hand in the choosing of his cabinet ministers, one or two of whom resented his promotion ahead of them. And he had little say in policy-making commensurate with his formal position.
That a powerless PM was appointed to make way for Rahul Gandhi whenever he was ready is common knowledge. That Manmohan Singh accepted this arrangement tells how ambitious he was to be PM even though he knew he was going to be powerless.
But that's not the point. In the Indian system, the office of the prime minister is supposed to be the most powerful. To guard against dictatorship, we do not have a presidency. That did not prevent Indira Gandhi's Emergency. But the fact remains that the PM is the first among equals in the Union cabinet, and he or she is unequivocally expected to lead the country.
This in principle requirement of India's parliamentary Constitution was eviscerated by the appointment of a powerless PM. Once the PM institutionalized powerlessness, it took a term and a half for the innate resilience of the Indian state to finally give way.
The collapse of the Indian state has come on the tail of the delegitimization of the ruling regime. The UPA has been delegitimized because of its all-pervasive serial corruption. 2G. CWG. Antrix-Devas. Black money. Andhra offshore. Air India. Adarsh... Such big-ticket corruption is perfectly in order with Congress traditions. But it became unchecked and blatant because a powerless PM could not stop it. That the PM was and remains personally honest remains an inconsequential detail.
This trend of PC and MMS is very ominous. They are in effect condoning, since this is internal and indigenous in nature, it is becoming part of arsenal to settle political differences. Terrorism in effect is being accepted as part of quiver to settle internal political differences. Couldn't descend any more further. But there are always more surprises...
What are the chances another movement like Anna (although do not see any merit in such) can happen? already rumblings from the cabal about how anna's movement was making it difficult to monitor and ensure security....
PC and MMS are there to facilitate the trend of global terrorism into India, to help establish a pattern of random terrorist acts and therefore lead India towards a global solution imposed by their globalist masters, however diabolical that may be. Look at not what they talk, look at what they do.
PC and MMS have gone crazy, maybe they always were, I fear this country for my future generations.
Every one is Congress has now understood that Hindus will no longer be a majority in the country in some 30 - 40 years, and even now are divided by caste and region. This is one reason why Hindus don't have a strong enough vote bank.
I can't even say how angry I am by this government and their audacity to even consider passing such a bill which will prosecute Hindus no matter what in any communal uproar. I am sure their next bill would strip the rights of Hindus for "preventive measures" to protect the minorities while Islamic terrorists run rampant and Christian missionaries start on every street, nook or corner.
We need to do something and bring this government down, or soon enough there will be no Hindus in Hindustan.
Every one is Congress has now understood that Hindus will no longer be a majority in the country in some 30 - 40 years, and even now are divided by caste and region. This is one reason why Hindus don't have a strong enough vote bank.
I can't even say how angry I am by this government and their audacity to even consider passing such a bill which will prosecute Hindus no matter what in any communal uproar. I am sure their next bill would strip the rights of Hindus for "preventive measures" to protect the minorities while Islamic terrorists run rampant and Christian missionaries start on every street, nook or corner.
We need to do something and bring this government down, or soon enough there will be no Hindus in Hindustan.
Journos hold no brief for honesty and integrity, just like their political masters , corporates and babus.Narayana Rao wrote: I still remember the docter parents of the terrorists who attacked the pub contending on the same lines. TV people went to town with their statements and UK was at the receiving end for some time in Indian TV but once it came out that their son was involved no Tv jurno tried to confront them.
To run a fine and functioning establishment to ground, put a bunch of bean counters in charge, the establishment will be sold to the highestany bidder who can provide fix. Everything is for trade, including integrity (personal) which has been exchanged for other goods. Well, a nation of compromisers,who can trade anything is being built. Price of everything is negotiable. No holds barred.
Will supply personal integrity for exchange of position of power for instance. Will sell who knows what or whom for a quick fix.
The new mantra is trade. Nothing is outside the purview of trade. Era of traders has truly dawned. Expect going out of sale bonanza in near future.
Will supply personal integrity for exchange of position of power for instance. Will sell who knows what or whom for a quick fix.
The new mantra is trade. Nothing is outside the purview of trade. Era of traders has truly dawned. Expect going out of sale bonanza in near future.
This is a pertinent topic, I request mods to please allow us a thread separately on some thing like thisBhaskar wrote:PC and MMS have gone crazy, maybe they always were, I fear this country for my future generations.
Future prospect of Hindus in Hindustan.
This is particularly important in back ground of communal violence bill being tossed.
negi wrote:One can choose to ignore B Raman or even P Chidambaram but what do we do with the one leading with example ?
His puppet master is back and so he is parroting
Bhaskar wrote:PC and MMS have gone crazy, maybe they always were, I fear this country for my future generations.
Hmmmm... Maybe the issue is that there is a race against time and each of the two geo forces is trying to get a lions share of the dominant civilization in the next 50 odd years.
What I do believe is that different global factions are playing through our current set-up and they have varying goals all serving as a back-up to each other
- Splinter indic civilization
- Convert it to a different civilization so that it is not a threat
- Extract resources while the mothership is sinking
- Create a bulwark against China (they are pretty busy in China too with 100MM plus converts)
- Create an alternative resource pool when the west is abandoning church
I believe that the issue has to be viewed in the above perspective. MMS, PC and others don't view things in the long term (MMS is a parrot so I don't count him). PC and others are motivated by money and other things and take short term actions that will get them that benefit. I doubt if they are the long term planners. Picture this
- Dubious NGOs want to enter India. Pays some top guy (or gives his kid a scholarship, citizenships etc) and gets in. That is the modus ops of this gang
How to circumvent this is to address these systematic issues and leaks that allow the global forces to exert influence. There are other alternatives too globally but for indics a concentrated policy is better.
Had anyone of them (PC or MMS) been a real leader, we would see terror camps being wiped out in Pakistan next day under their orders. Leaders cannot be made in the learning fields of Harvard or Oxford.Leaders emerge from within the deep interiors of the country, and one such leader Anna has emerged, IMHO.However the Junta also must awaken to recognise this.Maybe we really need a Military Leader to take over?
An oxford education would go a long way to achieve ones goal, if playing shakuni's role is the intent. Maybe PM genuinely feels minorities are being targeted after seeing 1984 riots and feels the best vengeance is to play the role of shakuni to destroy the majority. Cannot attribute anything to his intentions, but must closely watch what he says and what he does.negi wrote: Minorities feel they are being targeted: PM
Not said in jest:
1) Minorities have first right to resources
2) Poll defence forces based on religion
3) minorities are feeling targetted
4) Courts are not impartial to miorities
5) Communalism bill
The list goes on and on. There is good convergence of interest at various levels to shaft the majority. So he the man friday to do precisely that.
^^^ The minority pandering is hardly pandering to the Sikh community which MMS belongs to. Infact there is conflict in the punjab between the Sikh community and Rajmata community which the media never brings out. Additionally, MMS son -in laws are majority community.
Infact, MMS is hardly hurting the perps of 1984. He is supping with them.
I think he is just a parrot babu with a very Nehruvian worldview. Nobody would define Nehru as Machiavellian but his mindset really hurt India. MMS is cut from same cloth - give away Indian territory and the same mindset around indicness (leftist school of Cambridge thought). If you analyze MMS behaviour it is identical to Nehru.
That does not make MMS anyless dangerous. Infact because of his ideological underpinnings he is even more dangerous.
Infact, MMS is hardly hurting the perps of 1984. He is supping with them.
I think he is just a parrot babu with a very Nehruvian worldview. Nobody would define Nehru as Machiavellian but his mindset really hurt India. MMS is cut from same cloth - give away Indian territory and the same mindset around indicness (leftist school of Cambridge thought). If you analyze MMS behaviour it is identical to Nehru.
That does not make MMS anyless dangerous. Infact because of his ideological underpinnings he is even more dangerous.
Module of 5-8 highly trained bombers , bomb assembled hardly 2 hours ago blast.Investigations into the Delhi High Court bomb blast have revealed that it was a module of seven to eight highly trained persons who carried out the blast. Forensic analysis suggest that the bomb was assembled about two hours before it was planted. The timer used in the improvised explosive device (IED) was also prepared on the same day.
Agencies have found the wire used in the timer, and its examination indicate that the maker of the bomb knew his job well. Investigators say those behind the conspiracy have not left Delhi’s adjoining areas. There is a very strong possibility that they are part of a Delhi-based “sleeper cell” and were activated on Wednesday itself, police claimed.
Chemicals used to assemble the IED too were freshly procured. Analyses of the skin of those died in the blast are also a case in point. The residue of chemicals found in the bodies has forced investigators to re-strategise their line of investigation. The IED was a cocktail of highly lethal chemicals laced with explosives. Shrapnel were added to inflict maximum injury. The skin analyses of those killed in the blasts have also confirmed that RDX was not used.
Sources said, at least five members of the module were present near the Gate no-5 of the Delhi High Court on Wednesday. While three stayed put in a getaway car, two went to plant the suitcase that contained the IED. They hurriedly planted the IED and left unchallenged by taking advantage of the commotion that ensued after the blast
http://www.dailypioneer.com/pioneer-new ... id-it.html
DNA -chain of events in favour of Rahul taking over as PM soon.
Sleuths tap America to crack Delhi blast case
With no conclusive leads more than 72 hours after the Delhi high court bombing, New Delhi has exchanged notes with Washington on whether US intelligence has picked up any signal or communication, particularly from the sub-continent, that could provide a breakthrough in the case.
Under the aegis of bilateral counter-terror cooperation, Indian security agencies are in touch with both US and western intelligence agencies to investigate whether the attack had origins outside the country or involved homegrown terror groups.
During US secretary of state Hillary Clinton’s visit to India in July, Indian intelligence chiefs had interacted in detail with visiting US national intelligence director James Clapper on homegrown terror.
Official sources said that under the institutionalised channel between Indian and American intelligence agencies, the two countries are trawling through data on signal intelligence, communication intercepts, known terrorists and their sympathisers to bring the perpetrators of the high court attack to book.
American agencies are helping India trace the IP address of the four emails claiming responsibility for the attack through Google and Yahoo internet companies. However, despite the large American footprint in the sub-continent, officials said that till now there is no technical input to suggest the bombing was either staged or carried out by foreign or local terrorists.
Sources said it was due to the robust bilateral cooperation on counter-terror that the two sides regularly peep into each other’s databanks to neutralise threats emanating particularly from Pakistan-Afghanistan. While the US is looking for cooperation to target terrorist groups like the Lashkar-e-Taiba and al Qaeda, India is interested in details given out by Lashkar terrorists recently arrested in the US.
[quote="negi"]One can choose to ignore B Raman or even P Chidambaram but what do we do with the one leading with example ?
I don't think its too complicated to understand reason behind this maddens.
Its about UP election. Even if for some miracle, bill doesn't get through, they are hoping to consolidate Muslim voters in the UP election.
I don't think its too complicated to understand reason behind this maddens.
Its about UP election. Even if for some miracle, bill doesn't get through, they are hoping to consolidate Muslim voters in the UP election.
sanjeevpunj wrote:Had anyone of them (PC or MMS) been a real leader, we would see terror camps being wiped out in Pakistan next day under their orders. Leaders cannot be made in the learning fields of Harvard or Oxford.Leaders emerge from within the deep interiors of the country, and one such leader Anna has emerged, IMHO.However the Junta also must awaken to recognise this.Maybe we really need a Military Leader to take over?
Naah buddy !!! No military leader is needed. Nor can Harvard be blamed. There is another Harvard educated man (Obama) who said in response to those who thought US action of killing Bin Laden was unjustified in eyes or law/ethics/morality -- that these people need to get their head examined.
There were usual culprits calling out folly in American action -- leftist liberals rag within Europe and US. That was his simple one line answer.
I have no idea why or how sarrey gadhey (all donkeys) from these elitist institution get to such immensely important posts only in India. Why is our kismat (fate) like this ?
Thinking more about this, I feel we have a tendency [or rather deficiency] to chicken out and take the weakest/meek path when face with challenging decision & sometime existential challenge. There is no effort to balance heart and mind, emotion and rationale. And in taking that route we convince ourselves that it is right path because it is non violent and non violence is somehow good no matter what is the case/situation/context.
Historically, there are some cases that support aforementioned thesis:
Arjuna on battlefield of Kurukshetra
Prithvi Raj Chauhan ignoring his ministers advice on awarding Ghori capital punishment
Nehru before 1962 woke him (or at least India) up
IK Gujral giving away Indian intelligence assets in 1997, thinking that is an act of big brother
and one can extend the list until now.
One thing is clear that Congress needs to take a decision and act soon. Because if current inactivity and indecisiveness is maintained on part of ruling govt, the terrorist attacks will only rise both in degree of sophistication and damage, if terrorists acts will be on rise people will grow impatient and Congress may have to face backlash.
Territories these people find shelter in are Muslim dominated areas within this country and in our neighborhood. To get these folks we need to go in. We may need many more Batla house to cleanse all jihadi sleeper cells.
Govt is only pushing itself into a corner and they are running out of space.
Super Excellent article by R. Jagannathan. I have heard this guys name for the first time. Does anyone knows who he is ?
Why Manmohan’s strategy on Pak terror will never work
India will never win the battle against terror because it is based on three flawed assumptions: one is that improved relations with Pakistan will reduce cross-border terrorism (this is Manmohan Singh’s solo song); two, the local legs of terror modules can be knocked off by wooing the Indian Muslim with jobs and education and appeasement (this is the Congress’ political line); and three, that it can be tackled without strong political will (this has been the UPA reality since 2004).
There is some truth to the first two assumptions, but that is not the same thing as saying that they will be enough.
Unfortunately, this is exactly what the Manmohan Singh government is banking on: a single-minded Pakistan peace policy that flies in the face of reality. Though the Delhi blast cannot yet be connected to Pakistan’s ISI, the chances are that it will ultimately be traced back there or to its client organisations like HuJI or Indian Mujahideen.
To tackle Pakistan-based terror, we need a hardball strategy to supplement our soft approach of diplomatic talks, enhancing people-to-people contacts, and more trade with unilateral concessions.
The soft approach is needed to build a long-term constituency for peace in Pakistan and convince the world that we are not the bully of the neighbourhood. But soft talk without hard power behind it is of no use because we are up against the Pakistani army’s intransigence – which views Kashmir as an unfinished business. Moreover, enmity with India is the only way it can retain its power vis-à-vis civil society.
The more we keep rolling with the punches and picking ourselves up to get back to normal, the more we are encouraging them to hit us harder the next time. This time it is the Delhi High Court; next time it may be the Supreme Court. Parliament has already had its attack as far back as 2001.
Quite simply, Pakistan is not going to give up terrorism against India even if it destroys itself in the process. Talks won’t achieve anything — but are useful for the optics involved.
As C Raja Mohan points out in The Indian Express: “If the US could not buy the Pakistan army’s support against terrorism after nearly $20 billion of aid since 9/11, or coerce it through relentless drone attacks in recent years, there is little hope that India can negotiate away the threat of terrorism from Pakistan.”
Pakistan is not going to give up terrorism against India even if it destroys itself in the process. Talks won’t achieve anything — but are useful for the optics involved.
The truth is quite simple: at least as far as the Pakistani army and hardline Islamist parties in that country are concerned, they are prepared for a 1,000-year-war of “bleeding India by a thousand cuts.” They have the motivation and the power to continue terrorism in India indefinitely – and will do so.
From this it is obvious that we have to prepare for an equally long fightback. And this does not mean stoically taking punch after punch on the chin and keep going. We have to build two other long-range capabilities: the ability to strike back at terror camps in Pakistan and other countries through covert action that can’t be traced back to us; and developing long-term intelligence assets on the ground in India and abroad.
A covert strike capability is needed even if it is never going to be used. As long as Pakistan can be 100 percent sure that there will be no cost to sending terror groups to cause havoc in India, it will have no reason to rethink its gameplan. But if it can expect reprisals in a covert way, it will think twice.
There is a related worry when building this covert strike capability. As evident from its Kargil foray, Pakistan will use any opportunity to escalate tensions to the nuclear level so that the world then starts pressuring us on Kashmir. It is building a tactical nuclear weapons capability – and we need to prepare ourselves for that, too.
Manmohan Singh’s peacenik orientation is dangerously compromising our preparedness by putting all our strategic eggs vis-à-vis Pakistan in the talks basket. It needs repeating: only those who prepare for war can ensure peace.
The second assumption – that terrorists of the Islamist kind will not find domestic traction if our own Muslim population is appeased – is again a gross misunderstanding of ground realities. While there is absolutely no doubt that we must expand employment and education opportunities for our minorities – and especially recruit more of them in our police and investigative wings – the political establishment is actually making things worse by pandering to the wrong Muslim fears.
Getting Digvijaya Singh to talk about Hindu terror or demoralising the police force for the Batla House encounter – where militants killed a decorated police officer – is not the right way to generate Muslim support for the anti-terrorist cause. It will, in fact, stoke precisely the kind of terrorism that we are trying to fight.
The pursuit of short-term vote banks among Muslims (or Hindus, in the case of the BJP) will destroy any possibility of developing a coherent counter-terrorism plan.
The third mistake is to assume that we can tackle terror by doing a few things here and there sporadically – an extra NSG hub, more ammunition for the police force, a special agency to investigate terror cases. These are mere actions without conviction. To really tackle terrorism, we need very strong political will to put all the elements of a strategy in place.
What are these elements?
One is obviously better intelligence. Developing intelligence assets in Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and other places where terror modules are holed up will take us nothing less than five to 10 years to set up. This cannot be achieved without a long-term political commitment to build these assets and giving them bipartisan backing.
The second thing is systemic reforms, where police forces are given the autonomy to do their jobs. Even after 26/11, the Maharashtra government – and most other state governments – are reluctant to form police service commissions and give their men in uniform the freedom to function without political constraints. When your top cop is more worried about his next transfer, he will be busy sucking up to his political bosses, not building intelligence networks or good investigative capabilities. Why would he risk his neck for the country when his boss is planning to slide a knife into his back?
Equally, it is important to build local level intelligence among communities both by direct contact and through informers and recruits from those communities. This again calls for a long-range plan. Contacts and trust cannot be built in a day or even a year.
Lastly, we must have a fast-track justice system. Once the detective work is done and the evidence accumulated, trials should be run continuously from trial court to Supreme Court in in six months. If punishment is not given within the recent memory of victims and victimisers, there can be no closure. Only cynicism remains. Soon people will be demanding undemocratic remedies — encounters deaths, extra-legal killings. This discovery of mass graves in Kashmir should awaken us to this hazard.
There are many more things that experts will advice – CCTVs in crowded localities, local community policing and citizen support modules, disaster management plans when bomb attacks do happen – and so on.
But nothing can be achieved without political will. This is what is missing in Delhi and state capitals. The Delhi blast is one more wake up call for Manmohan Singh.
He is DNA editor.
OK the bomb was put together right before the blast. I guess they did some chemical concentration analysis that showed this fact. Shrapnel shows it was an anti-personnel weapon to cause maximum damage.
So where did the terrorists get PETN from? Its a military grade explosive unless India is awash in it.
i opened a saparate thread for communal bill with hardly any response from gurus. The danger of such bill is not being fully appriciated even forums like here which has much much better understanding of the issues involved. I fear soon that bill may even be passed.
Although Congress' hand in this is plausible, but I am sure the Indian Armed Forces will never partake in any such attack.ramana wrote:OK the bomb was put together right before the blast. I guess they did some chemical concentration analysis that showed this fact. Shrapnel shows it was an anti-personnel weapon to cause maximum damage.
If PC does consider IM an internal problem or mess, he needs to answer where the "Indian" Mujahideen got PETN from.
Delhi blast: No big leads, homegrown terror is NIA probe focus
Four days after the blast outside the Delhi high court, it is becoming evident that investigators are in for the long haul before they can expect to lay their hands on the perpetrators of Wednesday’s terror strike. National Investigation Agency sleuths are focusing on homegrown terrorists — new operatives as well as remnants of the Indian Mujahideen — who might have cross-border support.
Investigators have found common threads running through the May 25 failed bombing attempt at the high court, the July 13 serial blasts in Mumbai and the September 7 blast at the same court in the Capital.
Interrogation of Muhammad Shoaib Sheikh — the alleged sender of the first email claiming the Harkat-ul-Jehad al-Islami had carried out Wednesday’s blast — continued in Kishtwar in J&K on Saturday.
Union home secretary RK Singh said the government has not dismissed the mails received. “It could be possible that after the blast a few persons tried to fish in troubled waters,” he said.
The NIA’s special DG Prakash Mishra and IG Sanjiv Singh met the Delhi Police brass for better coordination between the agencies.
The NIA has asked for CCTV footage of more than 700 hotels in Delhi to check if any known terror operative stayed here immediately before the blast.
The composition of the improvised explosive device (IED) used in the strike would be an important indicator of the group behind the blast as forensic experts will match it with the composition of previously used IEDs. So far, investigators are certain that pentaerythritol tetranitrate was used on Wednesday.
Blast probe: bomb ‘switch’ located
Sleuths tap America to crack Delhi blast caseEven as investigators try to piece together the clues to ascertain which terror group is responsible for Wednesday’s blast at the Delhi high court which claimed 13 lives, they suspect the hand of a new module of Indian Mujahideen (IM) to be behind the blast.
Investigators are also suspecting some of the 11 fugitive IM operatives, who were allegedly involved in the 2008 Delhi serial blasts, to have played a part in the attack.
Sources say, so far investigations have revealed the involvement of the same terror outfit that was responsible for the July 13 Mumbai blasts and the May 25 blast outside the Delhi high court.
Investigators have already confirmed that they found traces of PETN in the bomb that exploded outside gate number 5 of the Delhi high court.
Investigators said PETN is being used mostly by terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir and the IM had earlier used it to make bombs.
Investigators are also of the opinion that the perpetrators of Wednesday’s blast were aided by their local conduits in carrying out the attack.
Suspecting that the prime perpetrators could have stayed in any of the hotels in the Capital before planting the bomb, the Delhi Police has asked 700 hotels located in central Delhi’s Paharganj area for footage from the CCTVs installed in their establishments as well as details about their guests over the past month.
Meanwhile, Delhi Police commissioner BK Gupta on Saturday said that investigators have found a switch-like object used in the bomb. “We are now trying to find out if a timer device was used to trigger the bomb or the perpetrators had used a remote to activate it,” said Gupta. Sources said that investigators are of the opinion that the bomb was activated with the help of a timer device. Efforts are on to trace the timer.
Gupta said they are also writing to the CISF director general and chairman of Railway Board to ensure that CCTVs are installed outside Metro stations and Railway stations. On Friday, Gupta had said they are requesting the mall authorities to ensure that CCTVs are installed in the facilities and that entry of the visitors is regulated properly.
Meanwhile, Delhi Police are also conducting mock drills in the city to check its preparedness and the response time of their officers. According to a senior officer, the special branch on Thursday had kept suspicious boxes in 11 different markets out of which 10 were detected either by police personnel or by local public.
With no conclusive leads more than 72 hours after the Delhi high court bombing, New Delhi has exchanged notes with Washington on whether US intelligence has picked up any signal or communication, particularly from the sub-continent, that could provide a breakthrough in the case.
Under the aegis of bilateral counter-terror cooperation, Indian security agencies are in touch with both US and western intelligence agencies to investigate whether the attack had origins outside the country or involved homegrown terror groups.
During US secretary of state Hillary Clinton’s visit to India in July, Indian intelligence chiefs had interacted in detail with visiting US national intelligence director James Clapper on homegrown terror.
Official sources said that under the institutionalised channel between Indian and American intelligence agencies, the two countries are trawling through data on signal intelligence, communication intercepts, known terrorists and their sympathisers to bring the perpetrators of the high court attack to book.
American agencies are helping India trace the IP address of the four emails claiming responsibility for the attack through Google and Yahoo internet companies. However, despite the large American footprint in the sub-continent, officials said that till now there is no technical input to suggest the bombing was either staged or carried out by foreign or local terrorists.
Sources said it was due to the robust bilateral cooperation on counter-terror that the two sides regularly peep into each other’s databanks to neutralise threats emanating particularly from Pakistan-Afghanistan. While the US is looking for cooperation to target terrorist groups like the Lashkar-e-Taiba and al Qaeda, India is interested in details given out by Lashkar terrorists recently arrested in the US.