Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Aug 05, 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Aug 05, 20

Before road transportation begins to fray, railroad, air and shipping would decay. That is exactly what has happened in Pakistan. The previous page here had some information on the pathetic status of the railroad system. The airlines (PIA plus there is one private airline, AirBlue, I think) are in shambles. Sometime back, several PIA aircraft were denied airspace in EU and the US because of lack of onboard equipment. Pakistan always had poor maritime facilities and the situation is only worsening with no investment.

Pratyush wrote: Taj asks the question to the terrorists, was that worst you could do??
A simple Googal search shows what the Taj corporate entity did for the victims and relatives of victims. Of course, as BRF's effort to gift the Indian army with QwikClot showed - the Indian armed forces are not allowed to directly accept gifts from the public. Perhaps BRF could have paid the money to Sharad Pawar or Suresh Kalmadi and asked them to deposit in the national defence fund? But the point is that the Tata group can do nothing directly to thank the commandos other than token gestures.

To me it sounds totally fraudulent to get fooled by the Headleys of the world and then make a big issue out of some Paki whose stay in a public hotel is being paid for. It is possible to carry this thought process further. In fact no Pakis should ever stay in India. In fact the Pakistani embassy itself should be disallowed and all people who service the embassy - workers, caterers and the like should be boycotted. In fact Kasab should be poisoned and killed if the people in that jail had any sense of patriotism.

Ultimately it is our complete and utter impotence at Pakistani terrorism that makes us come up with absurd "revenge" plans like "Boycott Taj because they are allowing a Paki minister to stay".

I have often tried to point out one curious fact about Indian impotence. Indian inability to act against Pakistani terrorism is matched by the fact that Pakistan has certain strengths and Pakistanis play to those strengths. Pakistan, failing as it might be, is hardly in a situation where it will go down (if at all) quietly.

TATA/Taj are in the hospitality sector. If Robert Lytton, Killer of 10 million Indians, showed up one day they would roll out the red carpet and treat him with hospitality. I suspect they would do the same for Dyer as well.

It is distasteful to us but they have earned the right to do that. There was a report out earlier that the courage and selflessness of the employees is a function of how management works in the Taj group. One does not exist without the other. More than anything they do not let the Terrorists change their view of the world. Esp. turn it into a dark, forbidding and CT ridden space.

Theo_Fidel wrote: There was a report out earlier that the courage and selflessness of the employees is a function of how management works in the Taj group. One does not exist without the other. More than anything they do not let the Terrorists change their view of the world. Esp. turn it into a dark, forbidding and CT ridden space.
Just Google for what the group has done for the victims. No other corporate entity has gone that far to my knowledge.
I am just curious about one thing. This round of langoti wringing started with a Hindustan Times news item that says that the Taj is going to "Lay out the red carpet" for a Paki minister. The Hindustan Times says it. And we believe it. We are ahead of the curve. We say it. And we believe it.

^^ Hopefully, some small Chankian tricks are used on the paki guest to show that Taj hasnt forgotten like having lots of wallpapers of 26/11 victims in his room or have the room phone ringtone as the handlers voices guiding the pigs to their 72 etc....

Am sure will remain a wet dream onlee since we will forgive and forget.

Allowing the Pak minister to stay in the Taj is not an issue in itself. What is somewhat problematic is the 'red carpet welcome'.....

It is right on the part of protestors to raise some noise about it. The Taj group should now respond as to whether the 'red carpet' is standard policy for all government dignitaries or whether an 'Aman ki Tamasha' exception was granted.

What should be done in any case is for a band of protestors to carry some placards outside the Taj when the minister arrives, protesting against the incongruency of the Pak minister staying at at the same place where killers sponsored by his nation conducted their massacre.
Last edited by Arjun on 21 Sep 2011 09:33, edited 1 time in total.

sum wrote:^^ Hopefully, some small Chankian tricks are used on the paki guest to show that Taj hasnt forgotten like having lots of wallpapers of 26/11 victims in his room or have the room phone ringtone as the handlers voices guiding the pigs to their 72 etc....
If this is Chanakya's legacy, it shows in India's success as a world power. First get 160 people killed. And then look for consolation in meaningless mumbo-jumbo symbolism shown to some random Paki who turns up. I mean how many brave BRFites ae going out and fighting every Paki we meet or refusing to deal with Pakis in their business places or refusing to fly airlines who fly Pakis. But we advise the Tata group. :rotfl:

We have a prescription for the Taj group which is one of the few successful world names in Indian business houses. Are they stupid? Or is it us. Take a break people. Have a Charminar. Totally Indian cigarette. Patriotism and innovation to the last puff.

Arjun wrote:Allowing the Pak minister to stay in the Taj is not an issue in itself. What is somewhat problematic is the 'red carpet welcome'.....
Arjunji, if I make a post on BRF that you are a Paki, people have the choice of asking if I am right, or accepting my word as true. It is the Hindustan Times that has used that expression "red carpet". Does that mean that it is true? Perhaps we ought to check whether the news portal is telling the absolute truth or not. Just like people might want to know whether I am telling the truth or not for a statement that I might make.

shiv wrote:Arjunji, if I make a post on BRF that you are a Paki, people have the choice of asking if I am right, or accepting my word as true. It is the Hindustan Times that has used that expression "red carpet". Does that mean that it is true? Perhaps we ought to check whether the news portal is telling the absolute truth or not. Just like people might want to know whether I am telling the truth or not for a statement that I might make.
Fair enough...but the onus is on either another media outlet or the Taj Group directly to clarify what the truth is. For all you know, the news may be correct - and a 'red carpet welcome' may be standard policy for all visiting government dignitaries above a certain level.

Arjun wrote:
shiv wrote:Arjunji, if I make a post on BRF that you are a Paki, people have the choice of asking if I am right, or accepting my word as true. It is the Hindustan Times that has used that expression "red carpet". Does that mean that it is true? Perhaps we ought to check whether the news portal is telling the absolute truth or not. Just like people might want to know whether I am telling the truth or not for a statement that I might make.
Fair enough...but the onus is on either another media outlet or the Taj Group directly to clarify what the truth is. For all you know, the news may be correct - and a 'red carpet welcome' may be standard policy for all visiting government dignitaries above a certain level.
Actually I suspect the news item is written precisely to provoke the sort of outrage that we have seen on this thread and provoke a response from the Tata group. However the news outlet is hedging its bets and not saying whether it endorses that or not so it can be interpreted either way.

Found a small news item in ToI
21 killed as jihadis and Pak forces clash
At least 20 militants and a soldier were killed on Tuesday in clashes that erupted after heavily-armed Taliban fighters attacked a security checkpost in Orakzai

shiv wrote:Actually I suspect the news item is written precisely to provoke the sort of outrage that we have seen on this thread and provoke a response from the Tata group. However the news outlet is hedging its bets and not saying whether it endorses that or not so it can be interpreted either way.
HT is a blatantly INC outlet and would be a big supporter of Aman ki Tamasha. Somehow I can't see it trying to provoke outrage.

Any case - this is actually a good occasion for protestors to express outrage at both TSP government and Indian government for the inaction on 26/11 front. But Tata Hotels, since it is in the hospitality business - should not be the focus of the outrage, other than forcing it to come out with some kind of statement.

shiv wrote: Ultimately it is our complete and utter impotence at Pakistani terrorism that makes us come up with absurd "revenge" plans like "Boycott Taj because they are allowing a Paki minister to stay".
replace "our" by "our ruling elites' "

Incidentally (and OT), since someone brought up Robert Lytton, here is a picture of Bangalore during the engineered famine of 1877:

People waiting for famine relief in Bangalore From the Illustrated London News (October 20, 1877)

Pranav wrote:
shiv wrote: Ultimately it is our complete and utter impotence at Pakistani terrorism that makes us come up with absurd "revenge" plans like "Boycott Taj because they are allowing a Paki minister to stay".
replace "our" by "our ruling elites' "

Incidentally (and OT), since someone brought up Robert Lytton, here is a picture of Bangalore during the engineered famine of 1877:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... galore.jpg
People waiting for famine relief in Bangalore From the Illustrated London News (October 20, 1877)
Very Caucasian/Middle Eastern looking Bangaloreans there

SSridhar wrote:Really pathetic. We are a hopeless nation. Even if we decided to bend for GUBO by Pakistan, we need not have bent this far. Absolutely disgusting and shameful.
Also, what will make one throw up even more is that this kind of surrender will be spun by Indian elites, and of course the condescending western media as "Indian maturity" when the fact of the matter is that it illustrates India's abject imptence in dealing with TSP, and cowardice of the highest order. As India continues to surrender under the vain hope that TSP general will spare India, I won't be surprised at all, if India Today conclave or Hindustan Times summit rolls out the red carpet for Hafeez Saeed to hear out his view. We after all democracy onlly, and we value free speech and all points of view.

I mean how many brave BRFites ae going out and fighting every Paki we meet or refusing to deal with Pakis in their business places or refusing to fly airlines who fly Pakis. But we advise the Tata group. :rotfl:
I am not lying, and I have no way of proving it, but I refuse to buy anything Paki. I look at the label. In fact, the other day, I was so tired late in the evening, and my wife & I went out grocery shopping, and she stooped by an store called Apna Bazar. As we have pointed many, many times here, thinking it was an Indian store given the popular name used by many Gujju-owned grocery stores, we went in. Man, it made my f$%^&ing blood boil, when I noticed that store was owned and run by Paki Mofos. I ran out of the store like dog whose tail is on fire; in fact seeing me so tired & profusely angry, dissuadingly screeming at my wife who just wanted to pick something up and leave, my children were both scared and amused at what ticked me off so bad.

CRamS wrote:
I mean how many brave BRFites ae going out and fighting every Paki we meet or refusing to deal with Pakis in their business places or refusing to fly airlines who fly Pakis. But we advise the Tata group. :rotfl:
I am not lying, and I have no way of proving it, but I refuse to buy anything Paki. I look at the label. In fact, the other day, I was so tired late in the evening, and my wife & I went out grocery shopping, and she stooped by an store called Apna Bazar. As we have pointed many, many times here, thinking it was an Indian store given the popular name used by many Gujju-owned grocery stores, we went in. Man, it made my f$%^&ing blood boil, when I noticed that store was owned and run by Paki Mofos. I ran out of the store like dog whose tail is on fire; in fact seeing me so tired & profusely angry, dissuadingly screeming at my wife who just wanted to pick something up and leave, my children were both scared and amused at what ticked me off so bad.
CRams, do you live in Tokyo by any chance?

Kashi wrote:CRams, do you live in Tokyo by any chance?
Have these Desi-impersonators reached Tokyo too? I don't think Japanese like impersonators too much.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

US gives ultimatum to TSP on Haqqanis

The message seems to be - "Help us kill Haqqani leaders or else..."

ISI chief Pasha was in DC yesterday to meet with Petraeus secretly. Kayani met with his sweetheart Mullen last week.

I hope the Americans know to run if they see Kayani or Pasha come in wearing a turban... :mrgreen:

Fall from grace
About the 1971 war from a Retd. Pakistani officer
The Eastern Command was busy making empty but loud noises about teaching a lesson to the enemy, in the process, making a ludicrous laughing stock of itself. Their antics were not only comical but ridiculous to the nth degree. General Niazi flew in a helicopter to Jessore on November 29 in the thick of the battle, duly accompanied by his favourite French female journalist and wanted to address the public. Since the civilian population was unwilling to risk the anger of the Muktis, therefore some second line troops, razakars and Al-Badr/Al-Shams men were collected in civilian clothes for the address and more importantly for the photo shoot that later appeared in some newspapers I was told. That was his total contribution to the defence of Jessore.

Public Recrimination against Pakistan must stop - Hina Rabbani Khar
“There are some misperceptions about the 3-1/2 hours meeting I had with Secretary Clinton. There were no ultimatums from either side,” she said.
Now, the US must have been relieved to know that this time around, Pakistan chose not to issue any ultimatum.

Why Makhdoom Amin Fahim is coming to India:
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2011/20110921/main5.htm

Rangudu wrote:US gives ultimatum to TSP on Haqqanis

The message seems to be - "Help us kill Haqqani leaders or else..."

ISI chief Pasha was in DC yesterday to meet with Petraeus secretly. Kayani met with his sweetheart Mullen last week.

I hope the Americans know to run if they see Kayani or Pasha come in wearing a turban... :mrgreen:
ISI Chief Pasha is back in Duplicity ? Didn't he sneak away from there last time when there was a rumor of his impending arrest.

A_Gupta wrote:Why Makhdoom Amin Fahim is coming to India:
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2011/20110921/main5.htm
Almost mistook him for Mohammed Qasim Fahim from Afghanistan. :mrgreen:

SSridhar wrote:Fall from grace
The Eastern Command ... That was his total contribution to the defence of Jessore.
For someone who fought in the 1971 war, the retired Brigadier looks remarkably young. :roll:

CRamS ji,

at a similar outburst by me, my wise wife advised me to always keep my cool, for otherwise people would stop taking me seriously, even if I have good arguments! :)

JE Menon wrote:For someone who fought in the 1971 war, the retired Brigadier looks remarkably young.
1971 photo to go with the article ?

:D probably... the vanity of these guys!!!

SSridhar wrote:Fall from grace
The Eastern Command was busy making empty but loud noises about teaching a lesson to the enemy, in the process, making a ludicrous laughing stock of itself. Their antics were not only comical but ridiculous to the nth degree. General Niazi flew in a helicopter to Jessore on November 29 in the thick of the battle, duly accompanied by his favourite French female journalist and wanted to address the public. Since the civilian population was unwilling to risk the anger of the Muktis, therefore some second line troops, razakars and Al-Badr/Al-Shams men were collected in civilian clothes for the address and more importantly for the photo shoot that later appeared in some newspapers I was told. That was his total contribution to the defence of Jessore.
In the guise of recording history the man writes as if the atrocities in BDesh were the Mukti Bahini. He forgets to mention what the Pakis did for months before all that.

X-post from India-US thread

http://ricks.foreignpolicy.com/posts/20 ... f_pakistan

In full
The seven steps of American officials dealing with the puzzles of Pakistan
Posted By Thomas E. Ricks Tuesday, September 20, 2011 - 11:18 AM Share

By Tom Lynch
Best Defense department of dysfunctional diplomacy

Recent comments by Senator Kirk from Illinois exemplify a familiar pattern by senior U.S. political, military and diplomatic officials struggling to understand the devilish intricacies and deep challenges of South Asian politics through the constrained access portal of experience in or focus on Afghanistan. This struggle all too frequently takes the pattern of a seven-step process of "discovery learning" regarding the complexities of South Asia security by Americans first introduced to Afghanistan without background in the wider region. That process goes something like this ....

STEP 1 - MEET Afghans, find them engaging, look for the quick way to help them with a "hand up," ignore the vexing, decades-long regional security dilemmas underpinning their plight.

STEP 2 - DISCOVER Afghans suffer from multiple internal and external challenges -- take the (northern) Afghan viewpoint that theirs is all a problem of Pakistan's making.

STEP 3 - BLAME Pakistan for all Afghanistan's ills and despair of American engagement with Pakistan or Afghanistan, throw out the "I" word suggesting that more India in Afghanistan would "teach" Pakistan a lesson (and presumably save some cash).

STEP 4 - DISCOVER Pakistan already believes there is an Indian under every rock in Afghanistan - and that threatening a quicker Coalition departure and greater Indian involvement won't faze Pakistan.... Rawalpindi will move more quickly to bolster its Afghan Taliban allies for a proxy war.

STEP 5 - DETERMINE that India isn't really interested in bailing out the Coalition (or American politicians and diplomats) on western terms, has its own regional objectives and timetables, and isn't much responsive to boisterous American rhetoric accelerating the timelines on a Pakistan-India proxy war in Afghanistan. That proxy war may come, but India will work to prolong its onset as long as possible.

STEP 6 - RECOGNIZE that a rapidly-accelerating proxy war between two nuclear-armed nations encouraged by a precipitous withdrawal of US/Coalition forces before some political mechanism in place to limit the possibilities for that war is irresponsible, an approach that is all too similar to America's walk away from Afghanistan and Pakistan back the early 1990s that led to a proxy war in Afghanistan between India and Pakistan before both were fully tested nuclear-armed states.

STEP 7 - RESOLVE either to remain engaged with Afghanistan, Pakistan and India for a lengthy and challenging diplomatic-military process (including some level of non-trivial economic and military aid to both Afghanistan and Pakistan for some time); or, SUCCUMB to the personal frustrations of it all and quit the field, making room for the next nouveau American to start the process at STEP 1.

From Tribune news (posting in full). Practise makes perfect. Hopefully next time the outcome could result in the death of a tier 1 terrorist in uniform.
Army helicopter under fire, general wounded
By AFP - Published: September 21, 2011
The area where the attack took place is six to seven kilometers away from the Afghanistan border and has witnessed several incursions by militant from across the border. PHOTO: REUTERS/FILE

ISLAMABAD: General Officer Commanding (GOC) Swat Major General Javed Iqbal was lightly wounded Wednesday when his helicopter came under fire in the Swat Valley, where the military fought off a Taliban insurgency two years ago.

Major General Javed Iqbal, one of Pakistan’s top commanders in the northwest, was airborne when gunfire from the ground hit his helicopter in the mountainous village of Nusrat Dara in the north of the valley.

“The helicopter is safe. The commander was slightly injured. There was no loss of life,” a senior security official told AFP.

Another senior security official in Swat said two bullets hit the helicopter but that it landed safely.

There was no claim of responsibility for Wednesday’s incident.

In 2009, 30,000 Pakistani troops went into battle against Taliban fighters who for two years had terrorised people with a campaign of beheadings, violence and attacks on girls’ schools in Swat and neighbouring districts.

The army declared the region back under control in July of that year and said the rebels had all been killed, captured or had fled.
ranjbe

Post by ranjbe »

Today's Washington Post:
U.S. sharpens warning to Pakistan
The Obama administration has sharply warned Pakistan that it must cut ties with a leading Taliban group based in the tribal region along the Afghan border and help eliminate its leaders, according to officials from both countries.
In what amounts to an ultimatum, administration officials have indicated that the United States will act unilaterally if Pakistan does not comply.
Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton is among a minority of administration officials still willing to express public sympathy for Pakistan’s weak civilian leaders as they face a growing threat from domestic terrorism and the politically powerful military.
But during a 31 / 2-hour meeting in New York on Sunday with her Pakistani counterpart, she warned that Pakistan is fast losing friends in Washington, according to one official deeply familiar with the session.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/nat ... story.html
hulaku

Post by hulaku »

Another danda from Mike Mullen

US accuses Pakistan of waging ‘proxy war’
(Remember Proxy War)
The US military’s most senior officer has accused Pakistan of using the Haqqani network to wage a “proxy war,” in Afghanistan ramping up public pressure on the country’s intelligence services to sever ties with insurgents fighting Nato troops in the country.

The unusually blunt remarks from Admiral Mike Mullen, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, reflect Washington’s growing frustration with what it sees as Pakistan’s refusal to curb the activities of Afghan Taliban factions operating from its territory.
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/4cfe7e86-e439 ... z1Yb0IdUZz

I can see Unkil Khan oiling his danda.
subodh

Post by subodh »

RajeshA wrote:CRamS ji,

at a similar outburst by me, my wise wife advised me to always keep my cool, for otherwise people would stop taking me seriously, even if I have good arguments! :)

One cheeky thing to do - which i do anytime i can - is always pick a few paki products (typically pre-packed masalas and pickles) in your cart when shopping at Patel Brotehrs, etc.

Then, at check out time, as you pull that out - be profusely apologetic at holding people up - but demand to be given the chance to replace the stuff - as 'I never buy paki stuff, and am surprised an Indian store is stocking it..etc, so sorry at holding everyone up' - typically, the folk around you are of Indian origin and its always fun to see the reacions.

I have had a few guys behind me in the line pull stuff out of their own carts, etc - it doesnt make a difference in the larger picture, but does provide entertainment.

If this is Chanakya's legacy, it shows in India's success as a world power. First get 160 people killed. And then look for consolation in meaningless mumbo-jumbo symbolism shown to some random Paki who turns up. I mean how many brave BRFites ae going out and fighting every Paki we meet or refusing to deal with Pakis in their business places or refusing to fly airlines who fly Pakis. But we advise the Tata group. :rotfl:

We have a prescription for the Taj group which is one of the few successful world names in Indian business houses. Are they stupid? Or is it us. Take a break people. Have a Charminar. Totally Indian cigarette. Patriotism and innovation to the last puff.
Shiv , you are so right in what you say.

I don't think getting hyper or angry would not serve any useful purpose. Let me confess that I have met Pakistani people , in responsible positions and indeed discussed with them few things and offered to help them wherever possible if requests are routed through proper channel. I have seen Hotel owners , waiters etc who are from pakistan and eagerly serve us. didn't refuse to be served by them or take their food.

When concerns were required to be conveyed it was done so without raising decibel level.

I am sure when we meet them at Borders , response would be equally professional and calculated.

And we flew together chatting together. No , I did not refuse to fly with them. It would be foolish.

Of course it was conveyed to them that unless they pull up themselves, their land is going to dogs and they agreed. Their desperation is to be seen to believe. I think they are on the edge of precipice
On IWT also they confirmed perception being given in their news media and I could sense their helplessness in the matter. I , certainly , wouldn't dare to advise TATAs. They did right.

Pratyush, Why not throw in a few words about "Mumbai Spirit" while talking of reselience?

Yes I do boycott Paki goods in US stores.

Its a free country. If someone wants to go advise the Tatas or the Rockefellers for that matter, I don;t see why I have to tie that predeliction with 'BRF ahead of curve' or some such Self-congratulatory BS. Frankly, I don't even see why anyone, much less wise witty weighty what-have-you gurus on TSP, even bothers to bother only. Hey, but that's just me. Free speech and all that.

Didn't some eminent DocJi on BR say US is scared of TSP? See the warning issued to TSPA. I didn't see US media go berserk over Hina chickie's looks and hand bags as Indians were. Instead, HilaryJi issued a blunt warning and asked her to do what it takes including doing a Monica Lewinsky on Kiyani if necessary. (Who was that demented coward in Delhi who declared that not only would he give Kashmir, but his life also for the Hina duckling? )

The Pakis have caught on. Many products now come labeled as Made in Dubai or Packaged in Illinois or some such euphemism.

I realized this when I bought a curry masala packet 'Made in Dubai' only to open it and find the recipe list "Made in Pakistan'. You can't out Paki a Paki.

hulaku wrote:Another danda from Mike Mullen

US accuses Pakistan of waging ‘proxy war’
(Remember Proxy War)
The US military’s most senior officer has accused Pakistan of using the Haqqani network to wage a “proxy war,” in Afghanistan ramping up public pressure on the country’s intelligence services to sever ties with insurgents fighting Nato troops in the country.

The unusually blunt remarks from Admiral Mike Mullen, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, reflect Washington’s growing frustration with what it sees as Pakistan’s refusal to curb the activities of Afghan Taliban factions operating from its territory.
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/4cfe7e86-e439 ... z1Yb0IdUZz

I can see Unkil Khan oiling his danda.
Wasn't there something about overwhelming force, whenever USA goes in?

Kiyani also knows that if Americans do attack, he is going to get his chaddi in knots! He will have no face to show to his fellow-Jihadis. Even his photos with the Spanish Defense Minister and even his Gran Cruz al Mérito Militar from the Reconquistadores would come back to haunt him. Talk about being stuck between a L**d and another L**d.

Jhoolega bhai jhoolega, Kiyani ab to jhoolega!