J&K News and Discussion-2011

Re: J&K News and Discussion-2011

ManishH wrote:vikasji: Even if they don't have a presence in J&K now, expectations are always high on every national issue from BJP - nation may trust national power to BJP in the future.

CramS: I'd give credit to our jawans and officers for reducing infilteration. Why should paki stop infilteration on whatever promises you allege our PM has made ? Why has India been objecting to cheeni activities in PoK if your alleged MMS sellout is in force ? This is pretty baseless scaremongering about our leadership.
ManishH, Problem is of expectation v/s real strength.
I am not sure about nation trusting BJP more than Congress as BRF would want to believe nor MMS is a sellout ready to throw J&K in Paki plate for a noble prize or pat from Unkill as CRamS would want to believe.
Everyone is doing what they think is right including Pakis and Yankees and in best interest of the nation.

VikasRaina wrote:
ManishH wrote:vikasji: Even if they don't have a presence in J&K now, expectations are always high on every national issue from BJP - nation may trust national power to BJP in the future.

CramS: I'd give credit to our jawans and officers for reducing infilteration. Why should paki stop infilteration on whatever promises you allege our PM has made ? Why has India been objecting to cheeni activities in PoK if your alleged MMS sellout is in force ? This is pretty baseless scaremongering about our leadership.
ManishH, Problem is of expectation v/s real strength.
I am not sure about nation trusting BJP more than Congress as BRF would want to believe nor MMS is a sellout ready to throw J&K in Paki plate for a noble prize or pat from Unkill as CRamS would want to believe.
Everyone is doing what they think is right including Pakis and Yankees and in best interest of the nation.
I am a bit sumped at the bolded part ! As it stands it means that Pakis and Ynakees are doing things in the best interest of "the" nation - which from the context is India!

How is it an integral part of India? It has a separate constitution, separate special civil law, separate dual flag which is of equal precedence and not below the Indian triclour, separate dual citizenship, and it can freely expel Indians of particular religious affiliation without attracting the judicial and civilian scrutiny and procedures that any other state would attract! Why tout outright piously repeated lies as proofs of real intent?

Yes it remains to be seen - who sells what and under what excuses. That does not prevent us from tracking the processes set in motion of appeasement of Islamic separatism in the name of addressing "legitimate youth aspirations"! Is that legitimacy based onlee on the subregion or particular religion? Are aspirations of youth from Jammu, or from the "minority", "legitimate" - or they are legitimate onlee if they are done under the green banner of Islam and the favourite method of "rioting" or mob violence - which seems to signal political legitimacy onlee in the Islamist!

For all else it is illegitimate fascism!

eklavya wrote:
BijuShet wrote:you are pushing an agenda while pretending to be impartial well wisher of India. Lately there have been a few like yourself who got called out. Some of those no longer post here.
BijuShet, I know you don't like my arguments, but since you are not capable of arguing against them, you are resorting to personal attacks, and attacking the messenger, hoping to undermine the message. You see I learned about this tactic of yours from studying Islamic fundamentalism and other forms of extremist ideologies. If you are hoping to shut me up, you will be waiting for a long time.
OT Alert disclaimer (and my last post on this issue with you)
Thank you sirjee for honoring the title "UPA ka chamcha" bestowed on you. The signature issue that Congress and UPA rallies around when facing peril is to raise an islamic boogeyman issue. I am glad that you did not disappoint and everyone can see how you debate.

Fence sitters may think you are here to debate with an independent mind while I want all to see how you are debating from one side of the aisle. I wanted to establish your locus standii in the debate. Now that you burqa has been taken off, we can carry on the conversation. Thanks for indulging me.

No faujdari case is ever "too old". Why cannot a Gujarat style SIT, and special enquiry committees filled with experts from outside the state [no problem there actually, plenty of Islamophile leftie bootlickers available to fill congrez requirements] - be constutited to investigate the role of public figures, state admin, and gov leaders behind the pogrom of Pundits? Or is it risky because the leftist Islamophiles would give such a whitewashed report that it may backfire on the congrez?

brihaspati wrote:How is it an integral part of India? It has a separate constitution, separate special civil law, separate dual flag which is of equal precedence and not below the Indian triclour, separate dual citizenship, and it can freely expel Indians of particular religious affiliation without attracting the judicial and civilian scrutiny and procedures that any other state would attract! Why tout outright piously repeated lies as proofs of real intent?

Yes it remains to be seen - who sells what and under what excuses. That does not prevent us from tracking the processes set in motion of appeasement of Islamic separatism in the name of addressing "legitimate youth aspirations"! Is that legitimacy based onlee on the subregion or particular religion? Are aspirations of youth from Jammu, or from the "minority", "legitimate" - or they are legitimate onlee if they are done under the green banner of Islam and the favourite method of "rioting" or mob violence - which seems to signal political legitimacy onlee in the Islamist!

For all else it is illegitimate fascism!
More details on How Kashmir is part of India, from very reputed sources in this report

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/karan ... a/701340/0
Important so pasting full
Facing flak for his remarks on accession of Jammu and Kashmir with India, Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Friday got support from an unexpected quarter — senior Congress leader and former sadar-e-riyast Dr Karan Singh.

Singh said the state had acceded to India and not merged with it and that it why it has its own separate constitution and special status.

The statement assumes significance as Singh is son of the last Dogra ruler of Jammu and Kashmir, Maharaja Hari Singh — who signed the Instrument of Accession on October 26, 1947 — and also because he was the state’s first and last sadar-e-riyast.

“The factual position is that the Instrument of Accession signed by my father Maharaja Hari Singh was the same as signed by other states. However, after that other states ended in merger with India, but Jammu Kashmir did not merge with it as it had its own separate constitution. That is why the state has special status and Article 370,” Singh said.

In his speech to the State Legislative Assembly on October 6, Omar had also said J&K had acceded to India and not merged with it as it did not sign the Instrument of Merger like other states.

Making it clear that he was not commenting on anybody’s statement on the issue but was only stating the factual position, Singh said: “In one way, other states are part of India. We are also part of India, but it is also a fact that Jammu Kashmir has been given special status with its own separate constitution and Article 370,” he said.

He, however, said this did not mean that J&K was not a part of India. “With the signing of Instrument of Accession, it became an integral part of India”.

Referring to the state’s position in India, Singh said the Union of India was a full-fledged state. “In a big federal structure, you have different types of structures like states, Union Territories... J&K for historical reasons has been given a special position,” Singh said. “Originally, my father acceded only for three conditions. After that some more were added... then Constitution came into being which I decided and which is still operative... it is a continuous process”.

Asked whether he felt bad about what Omar said, Singh retorted: “Why should I feel bad?”.
In other words, the whole world is just giving bullshit to India even after this.

BijuShet wrote:OT Alert disclaimer (and my last post on this issue with you)
Thank you sirjee for honoring the title "UPA ka chamcha" bestowed on you. The signature issue that Congress and UPA rallies around when facing peril is to raise an islamic boogeyman issue. I am glad that you did not disappoint and everyone can see how you debate.

Fence sitters may think you are here to debate with an independent mind while I want all to see how you are debating from one side of the aisle. I wanted to establish your locus standii in the debate. Now that you burqa has been taken off, we can carry on the conversation. Thanks for indulging me.
BijuShet, infantile name calling is not debate and no one is honouring anything written by you. Please go and indulge your burkha removing fantasies somewhere else.

eklavya & BijuShet, lay off each other. Consider this as a warning.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

brihaspati wrote:That does not prevent us from tracking the processes set in motion of appeasement of Islamic separatism in the name of addressing "legitimate youth aspirations"! Is that legitimacy based onlee on the subregion or particular religion?
The allegation of favouritism is not quite true. I want to call attention to efforts made by govt to get exiles back into the valley by generating employment and housing ...

J&K: 3,000 more jobs for Kashmiri Pandits soon
Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir will advertise 3,000 more jobs for displaced Kashmiri Pandits as part of a package announced by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in which 6,000 people were promised employment in the valley.

The state government has already filled 3,000 posts, employing displaced Kashmiri Pandits in the Kashmir Valley, the original home of the community from where they had fled in 1990s fear of persecution by militants.

Official sources said that the government is "serious" about the rehabilitation of Kashmiri Pandits, a little over 300,000 of whom have settled in Jammu and other towns and cities of the country.

The government will advertise and recruit 3,000 more Kashmiri Pandits for jobs in Kashmir, in addition to those already employed there in the past one year.

Singh had announced the package in April 2008.

Besides jobs, they are getting Rs.5,000 in relief per month, free accommodation and ration. They have also been promised Rs.7.50 lakh for construction of their houses, which they left 20 years ago.

But the community leaders, according to the official sources, are asking for Rs.20 lakh and enhancement of relief amount from Rs.5,000 to Rs.8,000 per family.
When political atmosphere is calm, there is a lot of scope for work to happen on the ground. Of course, KP orgs too have their complaints on the implementation of these schemes, but the wheels are well in motion. I'd say govt has given a nudge to the wheel. Now let us not wait for govt for everything. These efforts need to be supplemented by NGOs. I'll urge the self-styled hindu "cultural" organizations to give monetary and other help to KP orgs too. Ie. move beyond tokenism and electoral posturing.

Govt assures all infrastructural facilities to KMs (KM=Kashmiri Migrants, not Muslims)
Government has established a township of 4218 flats at a cost of Rs. 385 crore at Jagti near Nagrota with facilities of schools, community halls, road connectivity, hospitals, parks, fare shops, adequate drinking water and electricity facilities.

He informed that 3504 flats have been completed and remaining would be completed by next month.

The colony was inaugurated by Prime Minister on March 04, 2011, so far 3200 families have been shifted to the colony besides the process of allotment to other families is going on. He said Government has also decided to consider non-camp migrants who are living in rented accommodation for allotment adding that 5000 applications in this regard have been received. He said the verification process is going on and preference is being given to widows, divorcees and patients with chronic diseases.

For providing accommodation to KMs recruited youth, the Minister apprised that Government has constructed 902 quarters at Baramulla, Vessu, Mattan, Hawal and Sheikhpora.

Regarding enhancement of relief, Bhalla said the central Government has enhanced the relief of KMs from Rs. 4000 to Rs. 5000 per month per family w.e.f July 2009 adding that Government has again taken up the matter with Central Government for further enhancing the relief of KMs upto 8000/-per month per family. For HRA and CCA to migrant employees, he said Government has issued instructions for payment to the employees.

The Minister informed that after having interactions with ALAC groups, the Government has approached GOI with a proposal for making some amendments to the PMs package which was already sanctioned including increase of incentives from Rs. 7.5 lakh to Rs. 20 lakh for construction of houses in 1500 sq ft area, Rs. 4 lakh for renovation of partially and dilapidated condition houses and payment of scholarship to school going children beyond class 12th, enhancement of ceiling from Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 15 lakh for income generating units, for restoration of agriculture and orchard land, proposed to provide Rs. 15000 per kanal assistance per family etc.
Note that this move has angered PDP Omar not sincere about TRC: PDP. But then centrist governments end up annoying others anyway :-)
“While Kashmiri youths are being ignored in jobs, 3000 posts were created by Kashmiri Pandits recently by the government"

^ good start! kudos to OA and MMS for starting this. Hope it has KP takers.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

RamaYji, there are takers - it's a trickle right now.

Some pics of a housing society for Kashmiri exiles in Nagrota (outskirts of jammu city) ...

Things aren't so good in the valley colonies. At Baramulla ...
KPs aghast over lack of amenities in Baramulla migrant colony
The inhabitants said they were residing in the 40 flats, with each having two small rooms and a kitchen, adding the accommodation was not enough for them. “Around four people are staying in each flat. In the absence of a proper accommodation, every individual is finding it tough to stay with their family,”
Hardships faced by Pandits in their Govt alloted quarters in Vessu, Kulgam

Hope we are seeing a mayflower moment in the Indic civilization. Shows how reclamation efforts should be begun before Art 370 repeal. When critical mass is attained, repeal will be a matter of last push.

Salutes to these bravehearts who are going to face these hardships. Perhaps even raids by terrorists.
Last edited by ManishH on 22 Sep 2011 13:10, edited 1 time in total.

brihaspati wrote:
I am a bit sumped at the bolded part ! As it stands it means that Pakis and Ynakees are doing things in the best interest of "the" nation - which from the context is India!
BJi, What I meant was "Best interest of their own nation". Why would they work in the interest of any other nation. My apologies for lack of clarity on NATION part.

ManishH wrote:Hope we are seeing a mayflower moment in the Indic civilization. Shows how reclamation efforts should be begun before Art 370 repeal. When critical mass is attained, repeal will be a matter of last push.

Salutes to these bravehearts who are going to face these hardships. Perhaps even raids by terrorists.
I agree sir, but this is indeed peanuts compared to the number of people displaced.

More on this at this website, I think this is by the Govt. of India.
http://jkmigrantrelief.nic.in/

The Govt. is spending peanuts for Kashmiri Pandits according to me. It is a start though, 20 years too late so slow. Let us see where this goes.

interesting article on Jamiat e Ahli Hadees demands stern punishment for killers of Maulana Showkat, posting in full

SRINAGAR, Sept 21: Hundreds of members of Jamiat-e-Ahli Hadees (JeH) carried out a protest rally and demanded stern punishment to the persons involved in the killing of former Jamiat President, Maulana Showkat Ahmad Shah.

The protesters raised slogans against the killers of Maulana Showkat and also in favour of establishment of Trans-world Muslim University in Srinagar. Moulana was killed by militants in Srinagar outside a Masjid in April this year.

The rally started from the Ahli Hadees masjid and after passing through the highly volatile area of Maisuma it reached near the Budshah Chowk. The protesters led by Jamiat President Ghulam Rasool Malik wanted to proceed towards the Lal Chowk area but the huge contingent of police and security forces intercepted them.

The protesters sat on a dharna on the main road in the Budshah Chowk and Malik addressed them. He said that the killing of Maulana Showkat was a dastardly act, adding that the killers should be punished for this heinous crime.

"The All Parties Investigation Committee and the police have made public their findings and the matter is now before the court. The Jamiat would not sit at ease unless stern action is taken against the killers of Maulana Showkat. It should be ensured that the killers are brought to book so that in future the unfortunate incidents do not take place," said Malik.

Malik said that no one should shield the killers of Maulana and warned that party will take on any such person or party.

The protesters also raised their concern over the alleged delay in the establishment of Trans-world Muslim University. They alleged that some vested elements are creating obstacles in the establishment of the university.

"After approval by the State cabinet the land was allotted to the university. The proposed plan of Trans-world Muslim University stands examined by the State Law Department, Higher Education Department and Select Committee of the Assembly," said Malik.

Malik threatened that the Muslims in general and Jamiat members in particular would come on streets in case the Government does not respond to their demand of setting up of Trans-world Muslim University by October 5.
http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/

So what exactly is the above news item supposed to be about? Do they know who killed the Maulana? If so why dont they reveal it instead of pressing the givt for something else?

Malik threatened that the Muslims in general and Jamiat members in particular would come on streets in case the Government does not respond to their demand of setting up of Trans-world Muslim University by October 5.
WTF does a trans-world Muslim univ mean?

^ A university for the Muslims of the world who can come and study there while the political leadership screams about Art 370 and that too many people from rest of India coming to Kashmir to dilute its identity.

Jamiat-e-Ahli Hadees (JeH) takes out a rally when its leader is killed by terrorists and want police to investigate but would be the first one to throw stones at police when police moves in to arrest the culprits. Bloody hypocrites !

WTF does a trans-world Muslim univ mean?
http://www.kashmirlife.net/index.php?op ... Itemid=158

You couldn't make up this s*it:
At School of Economics the management is thinking to make students the brand of Islamic economics.” During last two years, the capitalist economic model observed recession and that affected the whole world’s economy. Most of the economists say had there been an alternative, economic model world could have switched over and hence could avoid recession.
Experts believe that Islamic economy model can have tendency to fill up the gap between economic order and recession. For the reason, education council of TWMU has decided to teach both Islamic economy as well as normal capitalist economy.
With around 16 departments the university will have 200 plus staff that will include regular professors, readers and other managing staff. Besides that university will receive a good number of visiting professors from Kashmir Diaspora working at abroad universities. “They have agreed that every year they will be coming for six months delivering lecturers and taking class”, says Dr Mushtaq.

The Trans World Muslim University Project with cost running in crores is entirely funded by Islamic Development Bank. “IDB has assured us to finance for whole project. Though IDB has number of member countries mostly Muslims. As India is non member country the chances of receiving the loan was less but we project ourselves as Muslim dominated state in a non Muslim country. Our plan is yet to go there. We have only negotiated with them and we received positive response from Governing council of IDB”, said Dr Mushtaq.

http://www.knskashmir.com/index.php/com ... niversity-
“After approval by the state cabinet to the establishment of the university and allotment of land for the said purpose, our proposed university stands examined and vetted by state law department, higher education department, select committee of the assembly and finally even passed by the Legislative Assembly. But on communal bias it has been put in cold store in Legislative Council making use of local political stooges in a blatant violation of the rules of business of the legislature,” Malik alleged.
Contrary to it, he said, when Mata Vaishnav Devi University had to be established the state cabinet had opposed it. “But the governor of the time, over-ruled them and directed establishment of the said university- two different yardsticks,” he alleged.

ManishH wrote:
brihaspati wrote:That does not prevent us from tracking the processes set in motion of appeasement of Islamic separatism in the name of addressing "legitimate youth aspirations"! Is that legitimacy based onlee on the subregion or particular religion?
The allegation of favouritism is not quite true. I want to call attention to efforts made by govt to get exiles back into the valley by generating employment and housing ...
[...]

When political atmosphere is calm, there is a lot of scope for work to happen on the ground. Of course, KP orgs too have their complaints on the implementation of these schemes, but the wheels are well in motion. I'd say govt has given a nudge to the wheel. Now let us not wait for govt for everything. These efforts need to be supplemented by NGOs. I'll urge the self-styled hindu "cultural" organizations to give monetary and other help to KP orgs too. Ie. move beyond tokenism and electoral posturing.
those NGO's must have to be "secular" - isn't it? The sovereign Islamist state of Kashmir will have to decide that such NGO activity will not deteriorate the law-and-order situation! Or you want them to hand over the money to the Islamist state of Kashmir to be disbursed at its will or by its own methods?

All this "rehabilitation" is of course very necessary now - even if it is too late and inadequate. The Islamism of Kashmir has to be given a veneer of "tolerance" to legitimize the politics of the valley.

The concentrated population of KP's would be ideal sitting ducks for future jihad. So that what was left unfinished in the mid 60's, early 70's, mid 80's, late 80's and of course the 90's can be finished off.

Did the J&K gov manage this support packet out of its own resource mobilization based within the state - or out of largesse provided by the "centre" which in its turn is generated by the rest of India? Good business strategy - chase the kaffir out and grab their resources, then pretend to relent and allow them back into much worse situations materially, but on the payment of a jazyiah - a part of which can be used to give meagre compensation. Profits all the way! So the original property and locations and businesses and professions have been cleaned off in favour of the Islamists, and especially the territorial cleaning up has been achieved - and the KP now moved into ghettos. This is not rehabilitation. This is a sinister political and tactical step which will only lead to further tragedy.

KP need their older lands back, spatial presence back. The state is heading for a future Gaza like scenario. As long as the KP do not have "state" power in their hands, fully backed up by "arms" - their "resettling" will never be secure.

Islamic finance and so-called islamic economics is big hype now in certain circles. Founding such an "academic" institution is just one more step towards the consolidation of Islamism. In the end, the objective is an independent Islamic state, nothing less, and perhaps much more.

brihaspati wrote:Islamic finance and so-called islamic economics is big hype now in certain circles. Founding such an "academic" institution is just one more step towards the consolidation of Islamism. In the end, the objective is an independent Islamic state, nothing less, and perhaps much more.
http://www.isdb.org/irj/portal/anonymou ... ac356b7af0
About IDB
The purpose of the Bank is to foster the economic development and social progress of member countries and Muslim communities individually as well as jointly in accordance with the principles of Shari'ah i.e., Islamic Law

Since there was a reference to it earlier:

The Constitution of Jammu & Kashmir

http://jkgad.nic.in/statutory/Rules-Cos ... of-J&K.pdf
Preamble:-WE, THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF JAMMU AND KASHMIR, having solemnly resolved, in pursuance of the accession of this State to India which took place on the twenty sixth day of October, 1947, to further define the existing relationship of the State with the Union of India as an integral part thereof,
PART II
THE STATE
3. Relationship of the State with the Union of India:-The State of Jammu and Kashmir is and shall be an integral part of the Union of India.
4. Territory of the State:-The territory of the State shall comprise all the territories which on the fifteenth day of August, 1947, were under the sovereignty or suzerainty of the Ruler of the State.
5. Extent of executive and legislative power of the State:-The executive and legislative power of the State extends to all matters except those with respect to which Parliament has power to make laws for the State under the provisions of the Constitution of India.

eklavya wrote:Since there was a reference to it earlier:

The Constitution of Jammu & Kashmir

http://jkgad.nic.in/statutory/Rules-Cos ... of-J&K.pdf
Preamble:-WE, THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF JAMMU AND KASHMIR, having solemnly resolved, in pursuance of the accession of this State to India which took place on the twenty sixth day of October, 1947, to further define the existing relationship of the State with the Union of India as an integral part thereof,
PART II
THE STATE
3. Relationship of the State with the Union of India:-The State of Jammu and Kashmir is and shall be an integral part of the Union of India.
4. Territory of the State:-The territory of the State shall comprise all the territories which on the fifteenth day of August, 1947, were under the sovereignty or suzerainty of the Ruler of the State.
5. Extent of executive and legislative power of the State:-The executive and legislative power of the State extends to all matters except those with respect to which Parliament has power to make laws for the State under the provisions of the Constitution of India.

Article 370 (1) (b) "The power of Parliament to make laws for the said State shall be limited to" (i) matters in the Union and Concurrent Lists corresponding to the broad heads specified in the Instrument of Accession" and (ii) such other matters in the said Lists as, with the concurrence of the Government of the State the President may by Order specify".

The concurrence was specifically conditional on placing before the state constituent assembly - and this loophole has ever since been used to argue that, dissolution of the state constituent assembly meant the "state gov" had lost its power to "concur", and therefore the President of Union could not legally do anything by "Order".

And we all know what those "union" lists were? Also the fact that this state was allowed its own constituent assembly and separate constitution?
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

brihaspati wrote: those NGO's must have to be "secular" - isn't it?
I am pointing at the self-styled "cultural" custodians (they are NGOs) and the need for them to go beyond tokenism. Why should being "secular", pseudo or otherwise be a requirement ? I'm beseeching these orgs to come to the help of KPs. Orgs like the Seva Bharati have enough expertise building houses in Karnataka and rescue work in Leh Ladakh.

If J&K state govt puts restrictions on their physical movement (they didn't in Leh), ways still need to be found to have a stream of material support reach KPs. No one prevents the "sevaks" from contributing at least monetarily and materially to the cause.
The concentrated population of KP's would be ideal sitting ducks for future jihad. So that what was left unfinished in the mid 60's, early 70's, mid 80's, late 80's and of course the 90's can be finished off.
This sort of dhoti-shiver in face of jihad needs to be avoided. Homesteads will have to be defended by citizens at some point of time. If the European settlers had baulked in front of tomahawks, demanding the US army defend each and every log cabin and wagon in the west, there would never have been a USA. There is an element of courage needed.

Courage is something these people have aplenty - they have gone there with their children and even elderly. They are braving a lot of hardships - like lack of potable water, congested dwellings etc.
Did the J&K gov manage this support packet out of its own resource mobilization based within the state - or out of largesse provided by the "centre" which in its turn is generated by the rest of India?
Both state and centre have outlined amounts. Curious why do you feel the need to distinguish where the money is coming from is even pertinent ?
KP need their older lands back, spatial presence back.
All in due time. This is only a beginning.

ManishH wrote:
brihaspati wrote:

This sort of dhoti-shiver in face of jihad needs to be avoided. Homesteads will have to be defended by citizens at some point of time. If the European settlers had baulked in front of tomahawks, demanding the US army defend each and every log cabin and wagon in the west, there would never have been a USA. There is an element of courage needed.

You mean, defended by someone like the "unconstitutional, communal, casteist, reactionary and illegal" Salwa Judum? :mrgreen:
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

Adjectives are yours, not mine.

But that's what I had in mind :-)

Ahh, but you see what the Supreme Court did to Salwa Judum.

Likewise, how the organization that held Jammu against hordes of better-armed "tribal" invaders has become the publicly demonized "khaki knicker-walla" RSS we know of today.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

AFAIK, VDCs are still in-effect in J&K. There's no reason SC directives on SJ should be meant to apply to KP village self-defence later on.

SJ and RSS is a bit OT. But AFAIK, SJ was founded by Mahendra Karma, a Congress MLA. But I'm not ruling out RSS or sister NGOs having contributed constructively there.

ManishH wrote:
brihaspati wrote: those NGO's must have to be "secular" - isn't it?
I am pointing at the self-styled "cultural" custodians (they are NGOs) and the need for them to go beyond tokenism. Why should being "secular", pseudo or otherwise be a requirement ? I'm beseeching these orgs to come to the help of KPs. Orgs like the Seva Bharati have enough expertise building houses in Karnataka and rescue work in Leh Ladakh.

If J&K state govt puts restrictions on their physical movement (they didn't in Leh), ways still need to be found to have a stream of material support reach KPs. No one prevents the "sevaks" from contributing at least monetarily and materially to the cause.
If you feel the immense urge to mock - those NGO's - you feel "self style" themselves as cultural custodians, implying the possibility that you don't style them so [there is nothing to prevent a NGO to be engaged in "cultural" custodianship], then surely you don't have much confidence in them anyway. Perhaps, going beyond "tokenism" is not possible in the face of direct or indirect obstacles put in place by the state and the union? Anything that entails strengthening of a longer term presence of any force not to the liking of the Islamists - draws severe opposition. Look at the issues where it manifests - like the territorial disputes around Amarnath yatra.
Anyone who has worn the dhoti normally, should have been aware that the dhoti shivers normally in the breeze, or slightest of winds. I have seen this tendency here on the forum to mock the dhoti, perhaps in a subconscious shame of this having once been the "hallmark" of the "Hindoo", and a desperate struggle to disassociate form that shame. Never do I hear of pajama-shivering or trouser-shivering - where shivering is actually relevant, for you cannot shiver them without some effort. This mocking is highly objectionable - as the "dhoti" also no doubt shivered in the wind, of countless brave men who fought against the Brits and their dhoti-mocking Indian bootlickers, and was an important "tokenism" taken up by freedom fighters. I am descended from people who formally and symbolically abandoned other clothes in favour of the dhoti, and yes, they also physically suffered for it, or in the associated political process.

It is hilarious that we have a reference to European settlers before tomahawks! Of course they did not always look for the US army to defend them. But the US army did go out in penalizing moves after such incidents and the retribution was almost always far greater than the damage caused by the tomahawks. But the settlers were free to keep arms and use them freely. But they would not be charged for killing tomahawk weilders. But they did not have to deal with a US state power that would prosecute them for abusing human rights of tomahawk weilders. But they did not have a media and judiciary and coercive state units that would hound them out for having defended themselves against tomahawk weilders. But they did not have to face the recognized need to protect the tomahawk weilders for their ideological and religious superiority - as confirmed and recognized by the rashtra - directly or indirectly.
Courage is something these people have aplenty - they have gone there with their children and even elderly. They are braving a lot of hardships - like lack of potable water, congested dwellings etc.
Of course. But courage without an Israeli state like backing to settlers, is tragic. Serves dhimmi political forces in legitimizing their political agenda in painting the Islamism of the valley as "tolerant". In proper time, just as congrez gov and rashtra allowed the slaughter of people it encouraged to be brave and stay put around 46-48, the dhimmi forces will repeat their performance. I have had to face the loss of brave people unnecessarily to satisfy insidious political calculations. I think the KP re-settlement is part of an insidious political calculation which is simply using them as pawns, but with no intention of either protecting them in the face of eventual Islamist onslaught - or of allowing them to defend themselves effectively. The rashtra will actively prevent them gaining means of defending themselves - citing various reasons, including that it will escalate "tensions", increase "militancy" yadda, yadda.
Did the J&K gov manage this support packet out of its own resource mobilization based within the state - or out of largesse provided by the "centre" which in its turn is generated by the rest of India?
Both state and centre have outlined amounts. Curious why do you feel the need to distinguish where the money is coming from is even pertinent ?
I understand why you need to ignore the rest of the linked sentences. The need to distinguish comes from a pointer that teh Islamists of the valley are actually following a classic pattern - by first expelling and ethnically cleansing the kaffir from more extensive land and resources, and then conditionally allowing them back into much less land/resources, and that too at a premium - a virtual jazyia to be paid back by those kaffir or their backers, for the privilege of being allowed into a ghetto.

Money poured in now into infrastructural development ostensibly for the KP, will be useful once again - they get circulated in the local economy, and once opportune moment arrives, the kaffir can be chased out again. Any asset they accumulate can then be appropriated by the islamists, and the cycle can go on again.
KP need their older lands back, spatial presence back.
All in due time. This is only a beginning.
No this is the beginning of the end. This is only being done to legitimize Omar's position and strengthen congrez bargaining hand in the future shenanigans about "joint sovereignty" and "devolution" and "autonomy". The KP becomes a classic "dhimmi" population but whose jazyia will have to be paid by the majority community of India.
hulaku

Post by hulaku »

ManishH wrote:AFAIK, VDCs are still in-effect in J&K. There's no reason SC directives on SJ should be meant to apply to KP village self-defence later on.
There is hardly any KP VDC's as most of them exist only in the Jammu hill region along the border and most of the members of these VDC's are the local Dogras and in some cases Gujjars and Kashmiri Muslims. There were no VDCs in the Kashmir Valley.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

brihaspati wrote:If you feel the immense urge to mock - those NGO's - you feel "self style" themselves as cultural custodians, implying the possibility that you don't style them so
Custodianship belongs to those who show action. KP resettlement cause is probably the single most important one right now for the survival of the very culture they posture to represent. Whether mockery will move the Pandavas is yet to be seen :-)
But the US army did go out in penalizing moves after such incidents and the retribution was almost always far greater
Won't directly name it (search engines), but you know there are acts to ensure no quarters are given.
But the settlers were free to keep arms and use them freely.
There maybe tactical reasons for not employing VDCs right away; local goodwill etc should be used while it lasts. But there are sufficient precedents, so it'll have to be employed sooner than later.
But they did not have to face the recognized need to protect the tomahawk weilders for their ideological and religious superiority
Frankly, this is over-skepticism.
Of course. But courage without an Israeli state like backing to settlers, is tragic. Serves dhimmi political forces in legitimizing their political agenda in painting the Islamism of the valley as "tolerant".
B-ji, there's contradiction between the two worst cases you talk of above. If Hurriyat has to appear "tolerant", they have to ensure there is no tragedy that befalls the settlers. If a tragedy were to befall them, they are no longer tolerant. Note that ageing separatist ring-leaders, esp from a cultural background that doesen't look beyond one birth, are most susceptible to such gajar and danda that has gone behind the scenes.
I think the KP re-settlement is part of an insidious political calculation which is simply using them as pawns
I disagree. But I'm open to gaming this scenario. Assume there's a repeat of chhattisingpora. Who reaps the benefit ? Will a massacre of 100 KPs achieve the political aims of the congress (which are to hold on to power and mint money) ? Will it achieve the aims of separatist which are to gain world support for secession ?

My assessment is that such a massacre will result in wipeout of "congrez" govt in 2014. For hurriyat, they'll be recognized in the world for another bunch of ethnic cleansers.

After all, MMS is often alleged to be "weak and risk averse", why does he want to risk a blot on his legacy. Why does even "madam sonia" want to risk maintaining her rule (even if partial) ?
a virtual jazyia to be paid back by those kaffir or their backers, for the privilege of being allowed into a ghetto.
Assuming the worst case again, that the govt has given all the money to Hurriyat as Jaziya for protection. Why should that prevent the aforesaid cultural NGOs from sending money or material help directly to the KP settlers ?
Any asset they accumulate can then be appropriated by the islamists, and the cycle can go on again.
This is one risk you have to take. Bhima has to enter Bakasura's den if he is to be slayed.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

hulaku wrote:There were no VDCs in the Kashmir Valley.
I agree, but now that there's a settlement, it'll have to be defended.
hulaku

Post by hulaku »

ManishH wrote:I agree, but now that there's a settlement, it'll have to be defended.
That should be the work of the security forces as the situation is pretty much changed now. The seperatists understand the civilized world no longer holds any sympathy to any struggle that has an Islamist angle. Some of them even regret (a minority) that the KPs left.

And I know this because I am a Kashmiri refugee but my parents have gone back and stay in Kashmir for 6 months in the summer and me and my siblings make atleast a trip each year to our hometown ie Srinagar.

ManishH wrote:
brihaspati wrote: But the US army did go out in penalizing moves after such incidents and the retribution was almost always far greater
Won't directly name it (search engines), but you know there are acts to ensure no quarters are given.
No quarters given only to the apparent "aggressor". US army did much more. They wiped out entire settlements or "resettled" them far away under escort.
But the settlers were free to keep arms and use them freely.
There maybe tactical reasons for not employing VDCs right away; local goodwill etc should be used while it lasts. But there are sufficient precedents, so it'll have to be employed sooner than later.
You were comparing European settlers and tomahawks. The former had guns and used them quite freely right from the beginning - of expansion. They used it regardless of local goodwill or not.
But they did not have to face the recognized need to protect the tomahawk weilders for their ideological and religious superiority

Frankly, this is over-skepticism.
There is simply no comparison between the US gov/ruling regime attitudes towards native Americans and their culture/religion vis-a-vis ruling "ideology/religion" - and congrez led regime and associated instruments of a modern rashtra [including its media/judiciary]'s attitudes towards the dominant theology of the valley.
Of course. But courage without an Israeli state like backing to settlers, is tragic. Serves dhimmi political forces in legitimizing their political agenda in painting the Islamism of the valley as "tolerant".
B-ji, there's contradiction between the two worst cases you talk of above. If Hurriyat has to appear "tolerant", they have to ensure there is no tragedy that befalls the settlers. If a tragedy were to befall them, they are no longer tolerant. Note that ageing separatist ring-leaders, esp from a cultural background that doesen't look beyond one birth, are most susceptible to such gajar and danda that has gone behind the scenes.
Yes, but they need to pretend only temporarily - until the concessions about "joint sovereignty", "sovereignty", "autonomy", etc are obtained. Moreover, the congrez has many ways out of such a situation.
(1) it can discover a saffron conspiracy to destabilize the peace "process"
(2) it can discover provocation to peaceful sentiments of the valley

The aging separatist ring leaders are on their way out. A new breed is taking over.
I think the KP re-settlement is part of an insidious political calculation which is simply using them as pawns
I disagree. But I'm open to gaming this scenario. Assume there's a repeat of chhattisingpora. Who reaps the benefit ? Will a massacre of 100 KPs achieve the political aims of the congress (which are to hold on to power and mint money) ? Will it achieve the aims of separatist which are to gain world support for secession ?

My assessment is that such a massacre will result in wipeout of "congrez" govt in 2014. For hurriyat, they'll be recognized in the world for another bunch of ethnic cleansers.

After all, MMS is often alleged to be "weak and risk averse", why does he want to risk a blot on his legacy. Why does even "madam sonia" want to risk maintaining her rule (even if partial) ?
You are modelling the congrez and the hurryiat as "ethical". The congrez will smoothly say that,
(1) it was the continued presence of the saffron in Indian politics/rise of NaMo/that eroded Valley Islamist confidence
(2) "there is something called a popular aspiration" "no parliamentary wishful thinking...can deny the people's ultimate right to choose their form of governance..." "we must heed the legitimate aspirations of the youth" [these are logic already given many times - from illustrious congrez voices ]. Remember that this is the argument that was often given by old congrezmen that they "tried" but ultimately the "Muslims" under jinnah were so adamant - that "to save more lives" they had to "agree". It will be cast in the form of "inevitability" and a necessary step to prevent further "loss of life".

What makes you think that this will make the two individuals you mention have "blots"? Instead the spin machinery will make them visionary leaders who had the "strength" to "give in"! I don't think congrez will be wiped out just because it gave Kashmir away - virtually or really! Elections for the vast majority of Indians - are not about larger national items - they are about immediate survival against the possible retribution of entrenched local biz and criminal interests, if desired electoral outcomes from the networks do not take place.

As for separatists, they would have established that India has not done enough to earn Islamic confidence, and that terror is after all a direct result of deprivation - only if of course such terror is Islamic or Marxist. If any terror happens it is because of India, having failed to do enough for them.
a virtual jazyia to be paid back by those kaffir or their backers, for the privilege of being allowed into a ghetto.
Assuming the worst case again, that the govt has given all the money to Hurriyat as Jaziya for protection. Why should that prevent the aforesaid cultural NGOs from sending money or material help directly to the KP settlers ?
Yes, even that gets to circulate in the local economy. Okay one may say that it earns an incentive to protect the duck that lays golden eggs. Not that historically it seems to deter Islamists very much. But even if we accept - hypothetically speaking - that such direct resource transfer helps the KP reclamation project, you can obviously see that sooner or later that resource will come into the control of the Islamists. To have any effect on the internal presence of KP in the state -The KP need to invest those resources if liquid within the state - and fixed assets are of course even more problematic.
Any asset they accumulate can then be appropriated by the islamists, and the cycle can go on again.
This is one risk you have to take. Bhima has to enter Bakasura's den if he is to be slayed.
I don't believe in taking risks that have shown historical behaviour of turning out to be truely negative. Risky situations have to be prepared for - and in this case, the valley cannot be and should not be trusted - not in the unarmed ghetto concentration of returning KP's.

hulaku ji has commented on some valley Muslims expressing regret for the KP having left. Some of my older KM friends express similar sentiments, but also acknowledge that the current teen/youth generation has no such illusions. Moreover, some, over drinks, have given out their real feelings. They say that they realize that it was a political mistake. It would be easier for them to achieve what they really want, an independent Islamic state, if the dhimmis were available for publicity.
ManuT

Post by ManuT »

(Late news posting for the record.)

Omar defends use of state chopper to fly PoK ex-PM
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2011/20110923/j&k.htm
Mehmood, who is also a leader of the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party, was the first prominent leader from PoK to have visited Kashmir in the past 64 years.
what's up with that?

Parties criticise Chief Minister’s decision
“And for the record, the (Rs) 11 crore figure for the flight to Pahalgam and back is complete rubbish. I doubt it would cost that even in an A 380,” he said.
That might be true, but that was not what the issue was. :evil: Even his grandfather would be turning in his grave.
ManuT

Post by ManuT »

As if on cue...

PDP supports clemency for Afzal Guru, says Mehbooba Mufti

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/pdp- ... 52470.html
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

B-ji

About comparison to US: as you say, there can't be direct comparisons. Esp brutality of US dispensation is foreign to Indian armed forces ethos. But nevertheless, no quarters will be given in defence and restoration of KP rights.

I understand your pessimism about the real intents of congress has basis in their skulduggery. My personal estimate is that they aren't bent on a sellout - at least there won't be any wriggling out of a tragedy electorally. Spin also has it's limits.
But even if we accept - hypothetically speaking - t that such direct resource transfer helps the KP reclamation project, you can obviously see that sooner or later that resource will come into the control of the Islamists
Not if the resource is used for acquisition or development of immovable property. Historically, settlers who are connected to the land show uncharacteristic tenacity to hold on to it, irrespective of numbers. Lessons should be drawn from the ethnic cleansing of 80s - a large % of population in white collar jobs or businesses can be evicted by jehadist threat mongering. This isn't so if the population has a balanced composition - with a larger proportion connected to the land. The desk jobs offered in state govt should not be the sole means of livelihood.

hulakuji: salute to your family. wishing you regain your homeland permanently.

From http://jkmigrantrelief.nic.in/miscellaneous.aspx

The J&K migrant immovable property (Preservation, Protection and Restraint on distress sales) Act
An Act to provide for the preservation, protection and restraint on distress sales of the immovable property of the migrants.
Any info whether this is good overall or not so?

From What have you done for Pandits: SC asks J&K
Additional Solicitor-General Indira Jaising on behalf of the Centre, however, assured the court that properties auctioned between 1990 to 1997 would be declared "illegal" and would be "restored" to owners. "All those auctions are illegal and they will be cancelled," she had said. According to the Centre, Rs 12.5 crore has already been allocated to the state government for providing transit housing to the migrants.
From The journey back home (page 2 of 2):
By the early 1900s, the Dogra rulers had become unpopular across the region. J&K at the time had a population of 3.20 million — 2.5 million Muslims and 0.70 million Hindus. Today the state's population is around 11 million with Muslims comprising 7.50 million (67%) and Hindus 3.40 million (31%) of the total — a demography that has remained relatively unchanged for over 100 years except for the near-elimination of Hindus from the Valley.

Despite being such a large minority (more than double the Muslim minority of 13.50% in India), 3.40 million Hindus in J&K have a muted political voice. The Congress does not espouse their cause for fear of losing its federal Muslim vote. The BJP is supportive but has limited political influence in the Valley. The National Conference plays to the gallery, the PDP to the separatists and the separatists to Pakistan.
Condemn atrocities on Kashmiri Pandits
But the plight of Kashmiri Pandits is no better. About 10,000 of them have been shot dead by the Muslim fundamentalists and 3.50 lakhs have been thrown out of the state. The only crime of the Pandits was that they were Hindus
hulaku

Post by hulaku »

vishvak wrote:From http://jkmigrantrelief.nic.in/miscellaneous.aspx

The J&K migrant immovable property (Preservation, Protection and Restraint on distress sales) Act
An Act to provide for the preservation, protection and restraint on distress sales of the immovable property of the migrants.
Any info whether this is good overall or not so?
It is actually a very good act. We lost some of our properties lost but managed to keep the majority of them (unburnt and unlooted). And we are not KPs but Khatris who came to Srinagar after 1947 from our village in Muzaffarabad district some 15km from the wrong side of the Line of Control.

There was actually this CRPF guy who came up to my uncle(Tau) and said "You must be in league with the Mujahids". My uncle replied "Why do you think so". He said "Because your houses haven't been looted or burnt". My uncle just laughed it off.

And I am now planning to lay claim to a number properties which were never ours but I will give it a shot and go crying to the courts and tell them how we were dislodged out of these properties and the papers to the property were burnt down (so carefully I choose properties that were earlier burnt down). I am sure this act would help.

I love Chanakya.