US Policy on Jammu and Kashmir

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: US Policy on Jammu and Kashmir

RajeshA wrote: nothing doing! If the South Indians leave the North Indians to fend for themselves, then sooner or later, the Islamized North Indians would also pounce on the South! So it is not only for North Indians to save Kashmir. It is just as much a South Indian problem.

Gondor should not stand alone against Mordor! Rohan too would share the burden! :wink:
Rajesh there is an element of bait and switch going on here and since we have collectively trashed this thread let me tell you why there is no hope for India. You see, India has not been defended due to lack of nationalism. And once nationalism declines to the extent that India starts fragmenting by secession of various parts, those parts are going to be swallowed up by he Islamized hordes. The interesting part here is that the islamized people - first from the west and later converts in North India all have the very unity and nationalism whose absence is being lamented.

The simple conclusion is: convert or you are loser. Some people want to be losers. They are welcome to be whatever way they want.
shiv saar,

I think, Indians could not develop the level of nationalism required because of fragmentation - and the fragmentation is because of two factors:
- imposition of varna system over the jaati system and its hierarchization, with all the ensuing "not with him, cccheee" mess!
- lack of a link language (Indian origin), in which we are all proficient

Nationalism grows from this homogenization. Cross-Tribal Equality and Comprehensibility are prerequisites to the feeling of belonging together, the feeling of nationhood!

If we solve that everything else flows from that! The fragmentation of society and the ensuing lack of national consciousness is itself the most major factor which allows the politician to use the state as he wishes, because he knows that a fragmented populace would neither take nor demand responsibility for the Great National Commons.

Just my rant!

Lalmohan wrote:personally my view is that who had what part of kashmir is irrelevant
its ours, we're going to keep it and we're going to get the rest of it back
(all lands from sunrise to sunset arguement)
The problem may be that Aksai Chin is difficult to hold. I am not sure how it would be in this day and age though. I suspect that it would be possible to gain territory there and cut off Chinese logistics, but I am not sure what benefits would accrue - given that China might want to ease pressure by attacking in the east.

PoK is a different issue
a free tibet and xinkiang with soft borders with the indian state will keep aksai chin in its pristine ecologically sensitive world heritage site status and completely defensible. i suppose we have to live with that road though - perhaps it will enable free tibet to trade over the karakorum with free xinkiang?

btw - the first india came to know of the road was not when the chinese told us, but when a welsh mountaineer sent by gen. thimaiyya discovered it on a dangerous clandestine mission (we've discussed this before)
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

RajeshA wrote: shiv saar,

I think, Indians could not develop the level of nationalism required because of fragmentation - and the fragmentation is because of two factors:
- imposition of varna system over the jaati system and its hierarchization, with all the ensuing "not with him, cccheee" mess!
- lack of a link language (Indian origin), in which we are all proficient

Nationalism grows from this homogenization. Cross-Tribal Equality and Comprehensibility are prerequisites to the feeling of belonging together, the feeling of nationhood!

If we solve that everything else flows from that! The fragmentation of society and the ensuing lack of national consciousness is itself the most major factor which allows the politician to use the state as he wishes, because he knows that a fragmented populace would neither take nor demand responsibility for the Great National Commons.

Just my rant!

Well Said, RajeshA Sab.

I think, everything you say, can be contained in this one slogan, which was originated by Shiv Sab(in one of his many genius strokes) and I have added just a twist to it.

"Convert....Convert you......Convert to Hindu Nationalism or you are a loser".

Does it not say it all ?

Rajesh I am not convinced that India is in danger of splitting in the short to medium term. There is a great deal of hope in the country and unheard of dreams are coming true. English is spoken only be a minority of Indians. Yet in the cities there is a rich mixture of people from all over communicating with a little English, a little Hindi and a little whatever. But I notice that people from some parts of India have more hope than people from other parts. Perhaps I live in a part where there is more hope and more confidence. But India appears as a far brighter place than BRF.

The India of BRF is a dying country. If it is not already dead there are continuous warnings that it will die. I have heard sch warnings for decades and I am certain I will keep hearing them till I am dead. BRF has very little connection with the India I live in. I got in to BRF for the military exchange of info. On this forum most people don't have a clue about anything military and talk a lot of what is essentially crap. But ts just an internet forum of people with time on their hands.The magic of this mournful and deeply pessimistic forum that makes people come back is interesting but I think a make believe India exists on here and people seem to come for that and somehow feel that they are "protecting" that make believe India on here.

shiv wrote:Rajesh I am not convinced that India is in danger of splitting in the short to medium term. There is a great deal of hope in the country and unheard of dreams are coming true. English is spoken only be a minority of Indians. Yet in the cities there is a rich mixture of people from all over communicating with a little English, a little Hindi and a little whatever. But I notice that people from some parts of India have more hope than people from other parts. Perhaps I live in a part where there is more hope and more confidence. But India appears as a far brighter place than BRF.

The India of BRF is a dying country. If it is not already dead there are continuous warnings that it will die. I have heard sch warnings for decades and I am certain I will keep hearing them till I am dead. BRF has very little connection with the India I live in. I got in to BRF for the military exchange of info. On this forum most people don't have a clue about anything military and talk a lot of what is essentially crap. But ts just an internet forum of people with time on their hands.The magic of this mournful and deeply pessimistic forum that makes people come back is interesting but I think a make believe India exists on here and people seem to come for that and somehow feel that they are "protecting" that make believe India on here.

yes, woe be unto you for having to take up such a burden of gracing us all with your presence. please sir, don't take such troubles.

you completely misdiagnose BRF. there is a deep fear on BRF that India as it is today is not strong enough to take up challenges that will arise in the future. the fear mostly is confined to the "Political Framework" of the Indian Rashtra. people are questioning the ability of India to prosper and be powerful while continuing to toil under the burden of British Raj 2.0. where do you get this crackpot nonsense about people talking "crap". that is simply your opinion, exalted as it might be, please don't lecture us about the "crappiness" of BRF. if this is crappiness to you, it is genuine fear to me...

shiv wrote: On this forum most people don't have a clue about anything military and talk a lot of what is essentially crap. But ts just an internet forum of people with time on their hands.The magic of this mournful and deeply pessimistic forum that makes people come back is interesting but I think a make believe India exists on here and people seem to come for that and somehow feel that they are "protecting" that make believe India on here.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

shiv wrote:Rajesh I am not convinced that India is in danger of splitting in the short to medium term. There is a great deal of hope in the country and unheard of dreams are coming true. English is spoken only be a minority of Indians. Yet in the cities there is a rich mixture of people from all over communicating with a little English, a little Hindi and a little whatever. But I notice that people from some parts of India have more hope than people from other parts. Perhaps I live in a part where there is more hope and more confidence. But India appears as a far brighter place than BRF.

Sir,

1. You said you joined the forum for its Military orientation. Sir, I totally totally respect members of our armed forces, but I dont think it is any reflection on them, if I say that even the best and strongest military has severe limitations if it is not supported by strong Political Strategy. US experiences in Afgan/Pak and Vietnam being case and points. So, politics is always more important than anything else.

2. I think the seeming "pessimists" are the most optimistic people on the forum. They have the strength to see reality as it is, not as they would like for it to be, and yet think and participate in the hope that somehow things could be made better. To me an optimist is someone who realizes the impossible situation we are in and yet thinks that things can get better, not someone who lives in a fantasy land of his own, like a "Sheikh Chilli".

3. It is always a big astronomical event when some telescope catches a dying star in the process of dying. Well, it is not everyday that one can witness a culture and an entire people dying. If you want to have a glimpse of what a dying culture and a dying people look like, you dont have to go far. Look at present day India. Everything of value has died in it and what is left is only ashes, scrap and disease. I have mentioned factually, why this is the case and I would be happy to discuss why Indian is dead, in any forum on any thread of your choice. But that doesnt mean, we cant be reborn, with greater force, with greater vigor, with greater impact on the whole world.

4. The optimists among us still hope things can get better. How ? Not by salvaging from the scrap heap of history. But by engineering a rebirth. It is all about negotiating a rebirth of our religion, culture and nation now. Fortunately, the history and the knowledge of the past still exists in books, in people's minds and in thousands of us living Indians. That is enough to have a rebirth. We are very hopeful and optimistic that such rebirth is possible. We will work hard for it. But we cannot be expected to live in a make believe world and still engineer this rebirth. We have to have the strength to realize the dire situation we are in and still face it head on. Only then, we will win.

To quote you Sir, "Convert....Convert you....Convert to Hindu Nationalism or you are a loser".

shiv wrote:When was Jammu and Kashmir including PoK, Gilgit and Baltistan and Aksai Chin ever part of India? This question is not a joke. If someone knows the answer please post. If the question sounds stupid and makes you angry that is OK so long a you can post an answer, If you don't have an answer keep your anger to yourself.
1819 - Maharaja Ranjit Singh took control of Kashmir. That enough history for us to claim it to be part of India?
ref :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ranjit_Singh#cite_note-41

Sikh empire:

shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Prasad wrote:
1819 - Maharaja Ranjit Singh took control of Kashmir. That enough history for us to claim it to be part of India?
Hear Hear Prasad Sab.

Prasad wrote:
Good map. I have no doubt about J&K but I ask, why is Aksai Chin missing from Ranjit Singh's territory?

shiv wrote:On this forum most people don't have a clue about anything military and talk a lot of what is essentially crap.
This is one of the funniest comments I've seen in BRF. :rotfl:
Last edited by SRoy on 30 Sep 2011 22:49, edited 1 time in total.

Prasad wrote:
Good map. I have no doubt about J&K but I ask, why is Aksai Chin missing from Ranjit Singh's territory?
Not sure if you've visited Ladakh/leh outer regions but that is some desolate region. Tiny villages set in valleys separated by miles and miles of mountanous regions. Perhaps they just didnt bother trying to control such places? Otoh kashmir valley is much more populated and bigger. Perhaps thats the reason. Atleast thats my best guess.

shiv wrote:I tend to view India as a geographic entity with he Himayalas to the north and he Indus river to the north west. The peninsula from Kutch to the mouth of the Brahmaputra are India. To the east India is bounded by the mountains that separate us from Myanmar. Unfortunately this view of India has very fuzzy borders and is of no use for any nation state.
Several ancient chroniclers and some Historians were closer to your view/definition. And this region, produced a set of cultures unique enough to be seen differently by its near and far neighbors.
Last edited by SwamyG on 01 Oct 2011 04:09, edited 1 time in total.

Prasad wrote:
Not sure if you've visited Ladakh/leh outer regions but that is some desolate region. Tiny villages set in valleys separated by miles and miles of mountanous regions. Perhaps they just didnt bother trying to control such places? Otoh kashmir valley is much more populated and bigger. Perhaps thats the reason. Atleast thats my best guess.
Prasad. You are basically right. Too many people get angry with basic and unavoidable facts.

Aksai Chin is 5 km up in the mountains. It is bitterly cold. Every human unfortunately must eat. So the larger the number of men you put there the more food and weapons and other essentials you have to ship there. Add to that medical fa ilities for high altitude sickness.It is a flat featureless area. ideal for shooting up people who have no cover. It would be great to attack Aksai Chin because the defenders have no cover. But when you decide to hold it, the men who are holding it will have no cover. The Chinese have road and infrastructure in the area between Tibet and Xinjiang to supply Aksai Chin. India has to haul it up the mountains from Kashmir. C-17s will help but "occupation" is 24x7 forever, 365 days a year. Men must be equipped against counterattack. None of this is impossible, but the simple rule is, the more pysically demanding the terrain, the grater the stress on your men. So when you hold territory - you are better off holding it where it is easiest for you to defend. Ranjit Singh was no fool. That is why he did not bother trying to hold Aksai Chin.

Armies are composed of tough men. But if you misuse those men and ask them to do superhuman tasks - they wll do it for a while, But when push comes to shove, the men who are greatly under physical stress from the enviroment are most likely to fail, These are issues that affect the Chinese as well as Indians, But we gain little by merely taking Aksai chin. It is different if the game plan involves a permanent occupation. But for that we have to plan a far larger invasion and not be satisfied with Aksai Chin just because that was a line drawn by a brit called Johnson. Does anyone have any idea of the scope of territorial gains we need to make in this area to make our front line easily defensible? What would be the military goal? which areas? Can anyone suggest that on a map and make a simple military plan for occupation of Aksai Chin and more and keep the area defensible against Chinese counter attack?

It is not a crime not to know all this. But it is pure stupidity/crap to talk about its feasibility without knowing those details.

^^^ So territory is a resource to be bartered. What about ancient indic thinking around sacred territory?

Gentlemen, please.

We are veering so far off the intended track of discussion here. Neither Indians' "lack of nationalism", nor the legitimacy of historical claims to J&K are primarily relevant to the topic of this thread. As I said way back in a post on the previous page, India's sovereignty over J&K is not in question here, only the US' intention towards India regarding J&K.

I think it says a lot about us BRF-ites that any discussion on J&K immediately devolves into a lot of hyper-defensive self-examination about the legitimacy of OUR claim on J&K, rather than beginning from the axiomatic starting point that J&K IS and WILL REMAIN an integral part of India no matter what... and SEPARATELY, discussing the issue of what OTHER powers may intend or plan to do about changing that.

So let's reset here. The reasons why we must retain J&K at all costs, the justification for our sovereignty over J&K, these things we all know already. What is the US' goal in the matter of challenging this... THAT is the question to be answered.

The reason I started this thread is because the recent events in AfPak have shown us something (we would have to be blind not to see it.) These events have trashed an almost mythical perception of the US as an omnipotent being, all-powerful in its ability to realize any geopolitical goal. All this time we have thought that with daisy-cutters, ray-guns, satellites, unlimited sums of cash, predominance in the global economy,11000 nukes, stealth bombers and stealth subs and UAVs and Terminators... there is virtually nothing the US cannot or will not do in its national interest.

We applied this same fear in our minds...CONTINUOUSLY... in the context of J&K. We always thought of the US as an almighty judge who had to be "persuaded" by India that J&K was rightfully Indian, that it would be worse for the US and World Peace if China or Pakistan got it, that we were secular and they were Islamist/Communist, that we were democratic and they were dictatorial, etc. We always considered the US omnipotent in the matter of J&K and feared that the only reason they hadn't snatched it away from us and given it to Pakistan (or made it independent) was that they just hadn't got around to it yet. As we saw the US & NATO successfully fracture country after country in the post-cold-war era, including the USSR, Yugoslavia, Indonesia, Sudan and what have you... that fear in us compounded until we had only the most abject and helpless attitude towards J&K.

The consequences of our fear impacted the clarity of thinking on a number of national security issues. When George Pervertovich says the K-word in some Paki-lifafa article, we get our knickers in a knot. When a "human rights" type panel comes out with a "presentation" on Indian "atrocities" in J&K, at some Western univ or think-tank, we become alarmed and expend litres of bile ranting about traitors and A Roys and Angana Chatterjis. But (a) how many people who matter in the USA, are actually listening to Pervertovich and Arundotty? (b) Even if they are, what are they going to do about it?

The reason I started this thread, then, is to examine exactly how justified our fears might actually be. When a Pervertovich or an Arundotty says something in some outlet of the US media... does it really mean "something is coming"? When Mirwaiz Omar whatsisface meets some GOTUS functionary, does it mean that more funds or arms or propaganda are coming, that the full might of the US military is about to descend on us imminently for the excision of Kashmir? ARE WE JUSTIFIED in the perception that Kashmir hangs on to India by the tiniest and most filamentous thread, and that every single day growing hordes of Islamists are hacking away at this thread with all their strength, funded by omnipotent American sponsors who rub their greedy hands together in anticipation? IS THERE A BASIS for this fear that Kashmir can be wrenched away from us by the Americans, even if they wanted to? Do the Americans see the wrenching away of Kashmir as a realistic project, at all?

When I see the complete and utter humiliation with which the US is facing in AfPak, being literally pi$$ed on day after day by the two-bit jernails of an Army that is too scared to face the Indian armed forces in open conventional combat... I have to wonder what we've been afraid of. My answer is option 4... the US has given up on being able to change the status quo. They can't change it any more than they can change any geopolitical situation impacting the immediate interests of China or Russia or any EU country. The best the Americans can ever do is beg the GOI to talk to Pakistan about J&K, or look the other way when Pakistani terrorists kill Indian citizens to make India give up J&K. If India gives up J&K because of Pakistani terrorists or Chinese brinkmanship, it will be India's own fault... and as Shiv states, Mother India deserves a death sentence if she lets the Pakistanis or Chinese do that to her children.

Rudradev wrote:If India gives up J&K because of Pakistani terrorists or Chinese brinkmanship, it will be India's own fault... and as Shiv states, Mother India deserves to be sentenced to death if she lets the Pakistanis or Chinese do that to her children.
Rudra ji, it would always have been our "own fault" if we let go of J&K, whether or not the US played an active role in it or not. In Af-Pak the US is having a tough time because there are people there who attack the US like they have nothing to lose and everything to gain in the hereafter - and they have lost a lot, willingly. But we Indians are still very protective of our commercial interests and so the US can do a lot to hurt us in this world. The question is howmuch blood India is willing to shed - our own as well as the other b@stard's blood - in the fight for the whole of J&K, and howmuch commercial pain are we willing to endure. Brinkmanship with China is therefore a factor in this calculus, since the K-issue can be used to set us back a dcade or two, just like Af-Pak has done to Pureland. If we had been willing to shed more blood for Kashmir, then we could have done so in hunting down mujahids in cave-to-cave combat in Af-Pak itself. But we didn't want to co-operate or be seen to cooperate with the US there. The fact is that when the equations are written in blood, China will not be willing to spill that much so far from Beijing as India ought to be willing to do so a stone's throw from Delhi.
Last edited by Agnimitra on 01 Oct 2011 00:04, edited 2 times in total.

RD saar,
Sorry for one last OT post :)

shiv wrote:Prasad. You are basically right. Too many people get angry with basic and unavoidable facts.

Aksai Chin is 5 km up in the mountains. It is bitterly cold. ...... So when you hold territory - you are better off holding it where it is easiest for you to defend. Ranjit Singh was no fool. That is why he did not bother trying to hold Aksai Chin.
Another reason might be that he had far more pressing issues at hand in the Punjab and on his eastern borders that venturing out to conquer territory from which he had no known(at the time) aggressors to fight off. Like some other earlier king who sent groups into Tibet, he might have done if he had peace at his borders. Who knows.

Does anyone have any idea of the scope of territorial gains we need to make in this area to make our front line easily defensible? What would be the military goal? which areas? Can anyone suggest that on a map and make a simple military plan for occupation of Aksai Chin and more and keep the area defensible against Chinese counter attack?

It is not a crime not to know all this. But it is pure stupidity/crap to talk about its feasibility without knowing those details.
If i'm not wrong, vivek ahuja had done some of this work on his 'tibet' thread a long time back. Perhaps we should look at that thread again to answer some of these questions.

Carl wrote:
Rudradev wrote:If India gives up J&K because of Pakistani terrorists or Chinese brinkmanship, it will be India's own fault... and as Shiv states, Mother India deserves to be sentenced to death if she lets the Pakistanis or Chinese do that to her children.
Rudra ji, it would always have been our "own fault" if we let go of J&K, whether or not the US played an active role in it or not. In Af-Pak the US is having a tough time because there are people there who attack the US like they have nothing to lose and everything to gain in the hereafter - and they have lost a lot, willingly. But we Indians are still very protective of our commercial interests and so the US can do a lot to hurt us in this world. The question is howmuch blood India is willing to shed - our own as well as the other b@stard's blood - in the fight for the whole of J&K, and howmuch commercial pain are we willing to endure. Brinkmanship with China is therefore a factor in this calculus, since the K-issue can be used to set us back a dcade or two, just like Af-Pak has done to Pureland. If we had been willing to shed more blood for Kashmir, then we could have done so in hunting down mujahids in cave-to-cave combat in Af-Pak itself. But we didn't want to co-operate or be seen to cooperate with the US there. The fact is that when the equations are written in blood, China will not be willing to spill that much so far from Beijing as India ought to be willing to do so a stone's throw from Delhi.

Subbu Swamy refers to a backchannel person who wants to break J&K away from India, hook, line sinker. Any thoughts on who this is? I don't believe it is MMS much as he is the favourite whipping boy for some. MMS does have an ideologcal viewpoint which may be inimical to our view of India but that is all conjecture and we know too little.
So who is this back channel person?

Carl wrote:
Carl ji, I agree with you in broad terms. However, just a few minor points:
But we Indians are still very protective of our commercial interests and so the US can do a lot to hurt us in this world.
I'm wondering how true that is anymore. Yes it is certainly true to some extent. But it was even more true in 1998, when after Pokhran II, the US sanctioned us. At that time we had a less robust economy than we do now, and less trade with the US (so it cost US entities less to sanction India.) Also, India going nuclear was a much bigger national-interest provocation for the US than any Indian actions in the matter of J&K could ever be.

Yet... whatever commercial pain the 1998 sanctions caused India, we were willing to risk for our national interest; and, while the sanctions may have set India back economically to some extent, they didn't reverse the course of dramatic economic expansion that continued right through the 1998-2004 period. Today the power of the US to mess with us economically, while it still exists, is significantly less... and many aspects of the geopolitical picture, including AfPak, China and the US economy itself, are very different now. Would the US, today, use sanctions against India over an issue like J&K?
In Af-Pak the US is having a tough time because there are people there who attack the US like they have nothing to lose and everything to gain in the hereafter - and they have lost a lot, willingly.
I think that just as there are myths about US omnipotence, there is a myth (very commonly held among non-Muslim Indians, though the US isn't immune from it) about Muslims. i.e. that they are some sort of fanatic savage beasts whom you mustn't mess with, otherwise they will come at you in a wild rage and kill you, thinking nothing of the consequences for themselves. When we talk about Muslims "fighting like they have nothing to lose, and everything to gain in the afterlife"... in a sense we're just rationalizing that same myth, while assuming a more detached and scholarly stance rooted in economics and sociology.

The fact is, these same people who have been fighting the US "as if they had nothing to lose" from 2001-present in AfPak, were also coming into J&K and fighting India "as if they had nothing to lose" since the early 1990s. The fanaticism/mystical-motivation didn't enable them to change a thing about India's possession of J&K; or even to inhibit the economic rise of India in any secondary way. If the US claims to feel hopeless fighting such people in AfPak... that is either because the US subscribes to a certain myth that the non-Muslim world has long entertained about Muslims, or because they would like to use this popular perception as a cover for drawing down from a mission that doesn't seem worthwhile for other reasons. We hear all the time that "Afghanistan was never conquered by anybody"... in truth, Ranjit Singh conquered it, and his governor reportedly kept it peaceful by throwing 5 Afghans from the ramparts of Kandahar fort every morning, their yells audible across the valley as they fell all the way to the rocky ground. When there's a will there's a way :)
If we had been willing to shed more blood for Kashmir, then we could have done so in hunting down mujahids in cave-to-cave combat in Af-Pak itself. But we didn't want to co-operate or be seen to cooperate with the US there.
Would that have withstood a C/B ratio analysis? Leave aside motivations of appeasing vote banks or having a "not-too-pro-US image" for now.

The US and NATO killed many mujahids who might otherwise have turned up in J&K, and been ours to kill. But perhaps, by not being directly involved, we have given the surviving mujahids new priorities which are much higher than helping Pakistan wage jihad in J&K. On the one hand, how much could we have added to the mujahid body count by sending our own jawans into the AfPak fray? On the other hand, how might Indian involvement in killing mujahids in AfPak, have produced a regional situation that was *more* in India's interest (on J&K and other matters) than the way things are now? How many of the Pakhtun factions that are now deeply hateful of Pakistan, might instead have been turned into primary enemies of India (and co-opted as friends of Islamabad) had we actually gone into AfPak?

The poll results so far are interesting.

20/43 voters think the US either recognizes its helplessness to affect J&K (16 votes) or would like India to keep J&K (4 votes.) That's slightly less than half the total votes.

23/43 voters think the US has some mala-fide intentions towards India on J&K even now. Of this the largest group (12 votes) believes the Americans have not changed the policy of actively supporting secession and/or accession of J&K to Pakistan; the second-largest (7 votes) believe that the US has a long-term plan for an independent client state of Kashmir, though they wouldn't want J&K to accede to Pakistan. The rest, (4 votes) believe that the US is confident that GOI will sell out and give away Kashmir (unilaterally, but with the quiet encouragement of the US.)

I don't know how representative this is of the wider national sentiment. If it is somewhat representative, then about half of the general opinion is confident about J&K while the other half believes that there is a threat to J&K integrity with India, connected to the US in some way.

Among the half that is confident about J&K, that confidence doesn't necessarily arise from a view that the US is friendly to India but from a view that the US feels helpless to affect Indian sovereignty over J&K.

All told, this betrays a fairly widespread distrust of the US among the Indian people, on a matter of critical importance to Indian nationhood. By playing the Kashmir card, people like George Pervertovich are contributing to a general opinion among Indians that the US will keep threatening us over J&K so as to keep Pakistan happy. Yet, though the US has done this repeatedly to one extent or other over the last two decades, the results haven't been good for the US. Pakistanis hate and distrust the US more than ever, despite US noises that appear to question Indian sovereignty over J&K.

Today the US-Pakistan relationship is worse than ever. A lot of second-rung opinion makers in Washington are flirting with the idea that the US must punish Pakistani duplicity in the War on Terror by "siding with India." But why does the US think it is going to get a free pass and a warm welcome at India's "side", when this "Cashmere-Cashmere-Cashmere" piping by some of its most visible talking heads just seems to go on and on? Could India repeatedly and publicly question the US' "sovereignty" over Hawaii/Puerto Rico/Diego Garcia/Samoa and still expect to be trusted by the American people or policymakers?

The US thinks it has something to gain by holding the "Cashmere" carrot out to Pakistan, through such public statements, private conferences, etc. They have not received any advantages from offering this carrot to the Pakistanis, who continue to $crew them in AfPak. OTOH, they have never felt any pain from India on the other side of that coin... they have never had to suffer for continuing to question India's sovereignty in J&K. Our leaders have always been willing to say... "forget about that stuff, let's expand trade, let's have a nuclear deal" etc. rather than holding the US to a firm commitment of supporting India's sovereignty in J&K and recognizing the Instrument of Accession absolutely.

The calculation in New Delhi seems to have been... that can wait. Let the US become more dependent on us; then, as it recognized China's sovereignty in Tibet and Xinjiang, it will do what's good for it in recognizing India's sovereignty over J&K. (By the way, for any numb-e-skull preparing to write a peeved three-line post complaining about my "comparing J&K to Tibet"... the situations are morally and legally and "civilizationally" very different, but from the point of view of American carrot-and-stick policymaking they are very similar, so stuff it.)

My point is that now the time has come for the US to show its hand in no uncertain terms. China is establishing a presence in POK and NA. This has gone beyond anything that could even theoretically be resolved bilaterally under the Simla Agreement. The US has gained absolutely nothing by dangling Cashmere as a "carrot" before the Pakis. It must now put up or shut up. If it wants a relationship with India to secure its geopolitical goals in South Asia or the Indian Ocean or the Pacific it cannot afford to show ambivalence on the J&K question any longer... far less continue to use it as a "balancer" to stroke Pakistani egos because it thinks "the Indians won't mind." It cannot pull this $hit year after year... insisting that its relationship between India and Pakistan is "not zero-sum" while repeatedly bringing up the one issue that makes it zero-sum in the modern world. It must support us in a matter of vital national interest if it wants any support from us in matters of its vital national interest... and it must do so now.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Sir, in case you havent noticed, while all this has been going on, US has made no overtures towards India, to demonstrate that "it wants a relationship with India to secure its geopolitical goals in South Asia or the Indian......". The Indians have also been woefully inadequete in their diplomacy to take advantage of this situation, but aggressively engaging the US. In fact, the last day or so, US has backtracked BIG TIME, and has in fact almost capitulated to the PAkis, demonstrating by its actions that it prefers to capitualte to the Paki rather than engage with India. In this scenario, how to do you expect the US to "support us in a matter of vital national interest", as you put it ? It doesnt seem like, despite all the setbacks, when it comes to India and the US, India has any more leverage today, than it did two weeks ago. How do the Indians make the US support our vital interests without this leverage ? Do you even know if any Indian, Indian Foreign ministry official or even the Indian Ambassador is sitting down with any State Department official, as we speak, to demand a change in position on Kashmir ? You think the US should and will change its position without even India asking ?

It is a far cry asking the US to change its position on KAshmir, in view of the fact that US prefers to backtrack on PAki than engage India. On the other hand, if everyone thinks that the West led by the US has been considerably weakened, particularly in our neighborhood recently, and has been further exposed over the last couple of weeks, then India can take proactive steps. What proactive steps can India take unilaterally ? WELL, IT CAN TEST. A DOZEN NUCLEAR TESTS OF VARIOUS KINDS AND SIZES, in view of "increased threat to India from support of terrorists by PAki" will send a perfect message and test out your theory that "our economy is far more robust now and can withstand any embargo by the West".

Rudra ji,
Rudradev wrote:How many of the Pakhtun factions that are now deeply hateful of Pakistan, might instead have been turned into primary enemies of India (and co-opted as friends of Islamabad) had we actually gone into AfPak?
There is no way those Pashtuns who are anti-Pakistan could be simply redirected against us, because our stated position would be restoration of Afghanistan and lapse of the Durand Line, along with removal of malign Paki interference in Afghanistan. Today India may be seen by anti-Pak Pashtuns as well as struggling Baluchis as an unreliable partner who will not get its hands wet to help their cause. Meanwhile Pak continues to work hard shooting them down or radicalizing their poor kids. More direct involvement in Afghanistan could have developed much closer links with Pashtun factions. Right now India is seen as a friend of the NA, which many Pashtuns resent anyway. But by using interference in Afghanistan as leverage against Pakistan we could have done more.

Its not just body count, but rather that more pro-active involvement in Af-Pak could have changed our equation with the US vis a vis TSP and PRC. Lots of possibilities open up, which we will never know and cannot evaluate if we're afraid to even bark up the wrong tree once in a while. When we show the will power to go out and seize what is ours, then that makes an impact. But here we are with Pundits and India-friendly communities in Kashmir fleeing the valley; even Sufi communities there are ducking for cover.

By all accounts the US today is consciously ceding control of PoK and Afghanistan to increasing Chinese influence. We have not been able to create a situation where the US would be coaxed or coerced to engage us. We are not seen as a strong or even willing hand that would inspire others to ask for help, except in doing some building contractor work.
Rudradev wrote:The fact is, these same people who have been fighting the US "as if they had nothing to lose" from 2001-present in AfPak, were also coming into J&K and fighting India "as if they had nothing to lose" since the early 1990s. The fanaticism/mystical-motivation didn't enable them to change a thing about India's possession of J&K;
Even the demographics of J&K? Or the amount we spend? Or the radicalization and alienation of the valley?

Militant attacks from across the border, whether in Mumbai or Kashmir need to be responded to by a similar attack in TSP, not as "covert ops" but as explicitly seen to be coming from Indian groups, perhaps "non state actors". This is psychologically important, because otherwise the repressed sentiment turns inwards and affects domestic relations and undermines our constitutional values. Attacks on Pakjabi RAPE areas, national symbols, historical monuments, etc should be on the table at all times.

Rudradev wrote: I think it says a lot about us BRF-ites that any discussion on J&K immediately devolves into a lot of hyper-defensive self-examination about the legitimacy of OUR claim on J&K, rather than beginning from the axiomatic starting point that J&K IS and WILL REMAIN an integral part of India no matter what
I can neither disagree nor try and tell you why you started this thread.

But there is a reason for my talking about Aksai Chin. Aksai Chin has always been shown in Indian maps as Indian territory. But it was not shown in Indian maps prior to 1950. How it made its way in is mostly unknown and never discussed. But Aksai Chin has played a big role in our 1962 military defeat, the "hypersensitive Indian" and has been linked with our "love of our holy land".

It was the British who were the "main culprits" as it were to draw exact borders. They wanted to draw a border in the Aksai Chin area. To cut a long story short they had (at least) two maps drawn by two different sets of people at two different times. One was a militarily defensible one that was closer to the current day LAC. The other map was one that incude Aksai Chin. Legend has it that the inclusion of the Aksai Chin plain was done by a cartographer called Johnson who wanted to curry favor with his employer the Maharaja of Kashmir. That area was uninhabited and militarily undefended. But he just included it in his map of Kashmir.

When the border question came up in the early 1950s when the Chinese took Tibet, Nehru was ambiguous of where the border should be, but by 1954 had a map released showing Aksai Chin as part of India. It was still undefended and it was still militarily undefended. Nehru just believed that the Chinese would somehow accept that. The reason I write all this is that if Nehru had just gone by the "militarily defensible" MacCartney map Aksai Chin would never have been shown as Indian territory and that part of the conflict might never have taken place.

Aksai Chin is a funny place. It is important to china as a link between Tibet and Xinjiang. Militarily I guess it would be tempting for India to cut that link. Cut it we would in case of war - but it is such a flat plain you don;t even need a road in most places. If you look at Google earth images you see tyre tracks going off road all the time. But cutting a link for 2 days or 2 weeks is not sufficient. If we want Aksai Chin we have to devise a method of holding it. The other alterative would be to reach a border adjustment with China letting them keep Aksai Chin, while keeping powerful defensive positions and offensive capability to make life a pain for the PLA on Aksai Chin if push comes to shove. In fact that is what we seem to be doing right now anyway, but I may be wrong.

It is my belief that as territory goes PoK and Gilgit/Chitral are far more important to us. The less we have to worry about in Aksai Chin, the more forces we will have for this area. PLA or no PLA in PoK. What is the Indian plan for Aksai Chin? Are we going to lay claim on it or are we going to accommodate while trying to get PoK? What is feasible? What is sensible? What is realistic? If the US is also involved in this game - we need to be very clear headed about Aksai Chin.

Prasad wrote: Another reason might be that he had far more pressing issues at hand in the Punjab and on his eastern borders that venturing out to conquer territory from which he had no known(at the time) aggressors to fight off. Like some other earlier king who sent groups into Tibet, he might have done if he had peace at his borders. Who knows.
This is exactly what happened to Nehru in 1962. We were too busy on the western border with Pakistan.

If it happened to Ranjit Singh, and it happened to Nehru it can happen again.

Prasad wrote: Another reason might be that he had far more pressing issues at hand in the Punjab and on his eastern borders that venturing out to conquer territory from which he had no known(at the time) aggressors to fight off. Like some other earlier king who sent groups into Tibet, he might have done if he had peace at his borders. Who knows.
This is exactly what happened to Nehru in 1962. We were too busy on the western border with Pakistan.

If it happened to Ranjit Singh, and it happened to Nehru it can happen again.
Au contraire mon ami (sorry couldn't help it :) ). The Sikh empire was defeated by the British who came along the same borders that he was guarding. He wasn't blindsided at all. Nehru on the other hand knew the chinese would come and lay claim. But he famously said blade of grass and other nonsense and was left pleading to the armed forces to throw out the chinese. So they're both different. In fact, this teaches us to be ultra vigilant on known axes of trouble and be prepared.

Rudradev wrote:
My point is that now the time has come for the US to show its hand in no uncertain terms. China is establishing a presence in POK and NA. This has gone beyond anything that could even theoretically be resolved bilaterally under the Simla Agreement. The US has gained absolutely nothing by dangling Cashmere as a "carrot" before the Pakis. It must now put up or shut up. If it wants a relationship with India to secure its geopolitical goals in South Asia or the Indian Ocean or the Pacific it cannot afford to show ambivalence on the J&K question any longer... far less continue to use it as a "balancer" to stroke Pakistani egos because it thinks "the Indians won't mind." It cannot pull this $hit year after year... insisting that its relationship between India and Pakistan is "not zero-sum" while repeatedly bringing up the one issue that makes it zero-sum in the modern world. It must support us in a matter of vital national interest if it wants any support from us in matters of its vital national interest... and it must do so now.
The US seems to be displaying all the signs of lack of direction that one has learned to explain away in India as "chaotic democracy with myriad opinions"

US engagement with both India and Pakistan have been transactional after the Eisenhower era. The US has always demanded something in return for what it gives. This has been recognised well on this forum in he past when people have asked "What has India given to the US to made the US grateful/friendly to the US? India could do more"

US public opinion will hardly become pro India when they hear of freedom and democracy or a growing economy. The US needs to see from India actions that are in US interests. Unfortunately there is a zero sum game on many levels when it comes to Pakistan. There is an element of gratitude to Pakistan for servics rendered. So while ther is anger and indignation at the actins of the Pakistan army, the US solution does not extend so far as to make the Pakistan army weaker. Translated into the language of "US interests" - "It is not in the interests of the US to see the Pakistani army lose power". One of the foremost desires of the Pakistan army is to extract revenge for 1971 and get Kashmir. The US does not want to make this army weaker.

Now how can India contribute to US interests without compromising on Indian interests?

India cannot do that. Indian and US interest are fundamentally at loggerheads. The US may want to coerce India into a compromise by putting external pressures on India. This could mean cooperating with China on things like US security council seat, nuclear issues and PoK, and try and extract a quid pro quo from India that the US will support India f India accepts the Pakistan army's demands. I think that is exactly what is happening. In short nothing has changed, India is up against the US, China and Pakistan.

That is why it is important for us to separately reach some agreements with China as a hedge against the US. Also a reduction of tension with Pakistan wold make it awkward, (but not impossible) for the US to continue to arm the Pakistan army.
Last edited by shiv on 01 Oct 2011 07:27, edited 1 time in total.

Prasad wrote:

Au contraire mon ami (sorry couldn't help it :) ). The Sikh empire was defeated by the British who came along the same borders that he was guarding. He wasn't blindsided at all. Nehru on the other hand knew the chinese would come and lay claim. But he famously said blade of grass and other nonsense and was left pleading to the armed forces to throw out the chinese. So they're both different. In fact, this teaches us to be ultra vigilant on known axes of trouble and be prepared.
May I point out with respect that it was you who said that Ranjit Singh was busy in other borders and hence could not expand into Aksai Chin, and that he may have been able to do that if his other borders were free. You are referring to the military reality faced by Ranjit Singh. While Nehru was busy saying stupid things it remains an inalienable historic fact that India was too busy with other borders to police Aksai Chin. In our eagerness to blame a bumbling Nehru it is important not to look at a fundamental weakness. If you have two fronts or two borders to fight a war, your forces can concentrate only part of their attention on each border. That is as true for Ranjit Singh and Nehru's army, and remains true today. Ignoring military reality just to diss a dumbass Nehru is a mistake. Romance and political desires must go hand in hand with military reality. I think the latter "military reality" is lost on most people here.

Nehru had absolutely no business putting out a map that included Aksai Chin in India when he knew damn well that he could not hold it or protect it. He friggin did not even have possession of it and did not know what was going on there. Nehru's biggest disservice to the nation was laying claim to the very land that he said would not allow a blade of grass to grow. He was being greedy and unrealistic. He should have negotiated with the Chinese then.

Instead, he made a claim, kept his fingers crossed, got India's ass buggered and made generations of Indians feel that India had that territory and that it was lost and that we must spend lives and effort to regain our lost land. It was never ours to start with. That is the most debilitating lie that has been pushed on Indians by Nehru

The map needs to be changed.

Shiv, Hold it. Aksai Chin was in our maps from British period. Take i easy it wasn't like Nehruji ordered the map to be shown. I was part of the Eastern Kashmir. One of the titles of Maharaja of Kashmir is Tibetadipati.

Also more on that line of thought is not profitable.

ramana wrote:Shiv, Hold it. Aksai Chin was in our maps from British period. Take i easy it wasn't like Nehruji ordered the map to be shown. I was part of the Eastern Kashmir. One of the titles of Maharaja of Kashmir is Tibetadipati.

Also more on that line of thought is not profitable.

Ramana I personally do not believe that lines of thought should not be taken. I am not making policy. I am trying to find out facts. The fact hat I have managed to dig up so far is that the border in Aksai Chin was both undermarcated and unprotected.

Could you point me to some maps from the British period. I believe you may not have read my earlier posts about how the British created those maps and when they did. there are a couple of good Indian refs on the net about those very British maps. I have been talking about them. I will post the links below. One was from Rediff and posted here.

That means that the Tibetadhipati's people and others (Tibetans) could walk in and walk out of there without any problems if they wished to do that and enjoyed doing that at 5 km altitude. But they did not demarcate it or protect it. Fundamental mistake, Soon after China claimed it, it was lost. The title may have been undisputed as long as no one tried to challenge it. This is a fundamental Indian error, The act of not protecting borders and crying after they are violated.

The second point is if we claim all of Aksai Chin we cannot hold it unless we extend our borders to the Kunlun mountains. Even that is a bit of a stretch, but it may be doable. China will contest it militarily. Or else we hold what we have got. Being wishy washy about some area in between is a formula for continuous border fighting. When we have a huge Pakistan/PoK Gilgit problem in our hands it makes sense to understand what the hell we want from China on the Aksai Chin side of things. We never talk about that and as a result the information that comes out borders between myth and dishonesty.
Last edited by shiv on 01 Oct 2011 08:57, edited 1 time in total.

Here are two links about how and when the British made those Kashmir maps and the fact that more than one map existed. Both well worth reading for the historical information therein

http://www.rediff.com/news/2003/jun/20spec.htm
http://www.india-seminar.com/2006/562/562-vk-singh.htm

To be honest am very tempted to say there is a reason why this site is called bharat rakshak and not Angan vadi!

So please desist. Questioning Indian interests on here is not right.

From Rediff above

The British created two maps, but did not implement either of them

One map was the Maccartney MacDonald line that looks like the current day LAC between India and China
The other map was the "Johnson map" that included Aksai Chin up to the un Lun mountains

Nehru chose the Johnson map in 1954. Till then the border remained undemarcated (and unprotected)

http://www.rediff.com/news/2003/jun/20spec.htm
Though Jammu and Kashmir [ Images ] was an independent kingdom, the 1846 Treaty of Amritsar [ Images ] gave the British the responsibility of its security. This made the British responsible for Kashmir's northern and eastern borders with Sinkiang and Tibet. The British, however, never really got around to fixing the border along this line. In 1899, another line was suggested. This was the MacCartney-Macdonald line that excluded most of the Aksai Chin. The British tried to get the Chinese to sign an agreement to this effect. The Chinese did not respond to these moves and Lord Curzon concluded their silence could be taken as acquiescence and decided that, henceforth, this should be considered the border, and so it was. Interestingly this line, by and large, corresponds with the Chinese claim line, which in turn, by and large, coincides with the Line of Actual Control.

But in 1940-1941, things began to change again. British intelligence learnt that Russian experts were conducting a survey of the Aksai Chin for the pro-Soviet Sinkiang government of the warlord Sheng Shih-tsai. It was obviously time for the Great Game again. Once again, the British went back to the Johnson claim line. But nothing else was done to clearly demarcate the border. No posts were established in Aksai Chin and neither were any expeditions sent there to show the flag, as is normal in such situations. For all practical purposes the Raj ceased at the Karakoram range, but by the rules of the Great Game it went further beyond just in case…

ramana wrote:To be honest am very tempted to say there is a reason why this site is called bharat rakshak and not Angan vadi!

Ramana please don't start a semantic game imagining that I am questioning Indian interests. I want to know how it is in Indian interest to have armies fighting on two borders of one state with two different countries. What are India's options? Especially in the light of the widespread belief that a third country, the US is keen to change the border in a manner that is against Indian interests. Does that not mean we have three countries against us - the US, China and Pakistan? How did this happen to us? What can we do to win at least cost to ourselves against the two biggest powers in the world?

Its not in Indian interests to have any armies on any borders. However this situation was forced by recalcitrant neighbors. It definitely doesn't serve them by saying that we shouldn't be on those borders.
As for what are India's options there are many threads to explore them. They definitely don't include giving up India's rights before they are exercised.

Anyway carry on your questioning.

Yes US and UK were the hidden players with the TSP and later the PRC as proxies.
How did it happen?

Go read the history of EIC and how it morphed into the Great Britain and became the Anglo-Saxon West and how they need India to carry on the "empire'.It was built by taking over the trading system of India over the many centuries. Its not an empire like of olden times.

Read why Nial Fergusson keeps harping about the American empire.

When we had threads to understand US and the world they were trolled and shut down.

Glad you are finally asking the questions.

SSridhar's post on Nehru's comments

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 7#p1161917

ramana wrote:To be honest am very tempted to say there is a reason why this site is called bharat rakshak and not Angan vadi!

Ramana please don't start a semantic game imagining that I am questioning Indian interests. I want to know how it is in Indian interest to have armies fighting on two borders of one state with two different countries. What are India's options? Especially in the light of the widespread belief that a third country, the US is keen to change the border in a manner that is against Indian interests. Does that not mean we have three countries against us - the US, China and Pakistan? How did this happen to us? What can we do to win at least cost to ourselves against the two biggest powers in the world?
The way there are long term treaties with Russia, there could be long-term mutually beneficial treaties too against terrorism, especially considering the fact that pakis and chinese are going to give 'aid', while human rights groups will keep on blaming India for everything. Sorry, but the europeans & Amricans have no chance for this for the tonns of double-speaking every time.
Also, Russians should know that pakis can be threat to Russians too, for example Russians declaing dawood as a threat, & hence for Russia it will also be beneficial. Russians should be on the side of India in this struggle against terrorism sponsored by pakis and pakis indirectly sponsored by china, Unkil & party, the entire middle east, so on.

To me the Kashmir issue appears to be a 4 player game with the US being one of the players who knows very well that there are 4 players. Well everyone knows the 4 players - India, Pakistan, China and Amreeka

Pakistan opposes India on all counts
The US supports Pakistan, but may or may not oppose India on Kashmir
China supports Pakistan opposes India on all counts
China and the US may or may not oppose each other. Pakistan seeks to play them off against each other.

India gains nothing by accommodating China. We get no points for that while China scores in retaining its freedom of action against India. By opposing China, we are, to an extent "tied down" by China, which helps Pakistan, but we do not give China its leeway and China too is partly tied down. We gain by remaining opposed to China and not accommodating.

If India accommodates US interests, we have to go easy on the Pakistan army. By "accommodation" of the US if we mean "give away Kashmir" then we lose everything. We lose against everyone. That is the worst outcome for us. But by "accommodating" the Pakistan army we are awarding the Pakistan army some leeway to survive and that benefits the US who see the Paki army as their ally. But here we gain only if the US puts pressure on the Pakistan army to accommodate India. If the US does not do that we are better off opposing the Pakistan army. By opposing the Pakistan army we actually benefit China because our war with Pak ties us down. The US loses because its ally is being damaged. The US will then only benefit somewhat by helping the Pakistan army against India. The Pakistan army gets damaged and "loses" but India too loses by having the US and China opposed to us. Only China gains if the US fails to help India by pressurizing the Pakistan army.

Regarding Pakistan. India could "accommodate" Pakistan by handing Kashmir (or even India itself) on a platter. India would lose. Pakistan would gain. So would China. The US probably would not gain because the Islamist jihad which wanted India down would have won and would be free to pursue its next step. The US would then have to try and continue to bribe Pakistan and the jihadis while China would have zero cost and free access to Pakistan. Giving away Kashmir actually does not benefit all - there is loss for the US there, apart from India. But if India "accommodates" Pakistan by not destroying the Pakistan army in a war, it would need (as I said above) US pressure on that army. US pressure on the Pakistan army would benefit India because India is not tied down in a war with Pakistan and is free to oppose China, which stands to lose by this tactic of "Indian accommodation and US pressure". While the Pakistan army would survive, its ability to conduct jihad would gradually get curtailed because of US pressure not to fight India rather than US turning a blind eye to jihad against India.

India US cooperation on Pakistan benefits both India and the US more than any of the other options. No matter what China or Pakistan do their own scores cannot be raised much by India US cooperation. But I still need to check for faults in this last statement, especially the fallout of China accommodating India which I have not thought about.

It is easy to game all this out. But does the US understand? And have Indians figured this out? I think India has figured it out, but I am less sure about the US.
shivajisisodia

Post by shivajisisodia »

Can anyone explain what the implications, national, subcontinental and international, will be if India unilaterally did the following:

1. Derecognize Balochistan as Pakistani territory and assert Indian claim on it, based on a) The 1946-7 elections there rejecting Pakistan and b) A current agreement between the Baloch Freedom Fighter Groups and India (which could be brought about, by granting Baloch a Bhutan status vis-a-vis India; if there can be East and West Pak with India in between, there certainly can be East and West India with Pak in between)

2. Alternatively, derecognize Pakistan as an independent nation and lay claims on all of it, rendering it disputed territory. Then declare that "India is open to negotiations, but as an internal matter only, starting from scratch, to discuss the status of the so called "Pakistan" and whether it will come into and continue its existence as a seperate nation and if so, what the extent of its borders will be.