The Red Menace
Re: The Red Menace
The most frustrating part is why our politicians and other elite do not rbustly counter these headlines
some Veravara Rao or Kihnes niece blabbers something and no one immediately says what about the 100s of security personnel killed and beheaded etc
why are these allowed to hold a rally supporting an openly seditious rat??
same with omar and his ant AFSPA nonsense
every day he gets an headline. Retired armed forces personnel counteriing it has no value
It has to be other politcians and babus
some Veravara Rao or Kihnes niece blabbers something and no one immediately says what about the 100s of security personnel killed and beheaded etc
why are these allowed to hold a rally supporting an openly seditious rat??
same with omar and his ant AFSPA nonsense
every day he gets an headline. Retired armed forces personnel counteriing it has no value
It has to be other politcians and babus
Kishenji shot six times: Autopsy report
Midnapore: Slain top Maoist leader Kishenji was shot six times and had received two splinter wounds during the fatal encounter with security forces in West Midnapore district, according to autopsy reports.
The bullets hit him in the chin, head, chest and other parts of the body, doctors, who conducted the autopsy, said.
One of the shots appeared to have been fired from long-range of around 500 m, they added.
A team of forensic experts have also found some gunpowder leftover on his hand which indicates that he was using firearms to defend himself during the encounter at Burisole jungle on Thursday.
Kishenji's body was identified by his niece Deepa Rao at Midnapore Medical College and Hospital morgue after which it was sent by an ambulance to Kolkata prior to being flown to his home in Andhra Pradesh yesterday.
Telegu poet and Maoist sympathiser Varvara Rao has claimed that Kishenji was killed in a fake encounter.
The West Bengal government has entrusted the CID to investigate the killing, official sources said.
This type of introspection is quite rare. However, to be fair, other states have damaged the country in their own unique way.As a Telugu man it pains me to see so many Telugu Bas****ds doing anti national activities of this magnitude.
Didi uwaach http://nvonews.com/2011/11/27/kishenji- ... er-mamata/Banerjee also alleged that Kishenji and his men had gathered in the jungle to plot a conspiracy to assassinate her and other Trinamool leaders. “This I learnt from police. They were also planning a big terrorist strike on a metro railway station or a marketplace so that they can kill a couple of hundred people”.
Banerjee said she did not want anybody to die, but asked the people whether they would have pardoned her government had police been a silent spectator even after coming to now that such strikes were being planned.
“Can the government sit idle if it hears sabotage attempts are on?” she said, urging the crowd to decide the route which her regime should have taken. The crowd responded vocally supporting the security forces.
Taking on the human rights organisations, which have cried foul over Kishenji’s death, Banerjee said: “I am a greater believer in human rights than these people. They should not teach me human rights. But where were these groups when poor villagers, who can hardly make both ends meet, were killed by the Maoists? Did they hold any meeting?”
“And did they hold any protest meetings when 24 Easter Frontier Rifle men were gunned down (in Feb last year)?”
Banerjee again appealed to the Maoists to eschew violence and come back to the mainstream.
Mamta di on a roll, I see.
How long the fervor lasts remains to be seen. Sadly, the maovadis can always escape across state boundaries to escape WB police. And Chidu for all his bluster has been lukewarm about really breaking the maoist backbone.
a couple of days before kaliyug ka kishen was pesticised, , author and activist mahasweta devi (gyanpith, sahitya akademi, padma shri yada yada) held a press conference in support of APDR.
for the first time I saw the media grilling her to no end about her hypocrisy, leaving her all flustered.
later even didi tore into the so called intellectuals.
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showpost. ... count=3338
also,
slogan heard : 'khuni khishen nipat jak' (down with murderer kishen). soon tension mounted and unnerved by the large crowd shouting anti-maoist slogan, the APDR activists went to hide behind the police.
for the first time I saw the media grilling her to no end about her hypocrisy, leaving her all flustered.
also,
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_to ... sh_1617762APDR activists raised slogans 'Amar Rahe Kishenji' while hundreds of people who thronged the Midnapore Medical College and Hospital, where the post mortem of the body was done, counter-shouted that the Maoist leader should not be given a matryr's funeral.
slogan heard : 'khuni khishen nipat jak' (down with murderer kishen). soon tension mounted and unnerved by the large crowd shouting anti-maoist slogan, the APDR activists went to hide behind the police.

Thanks Rahul
there is hope
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 897702.cms
The man who led the final charge against Mallojula Koteshwar Rao...
Among the teeming security forces in Burishole jungle was a quiet, young commando with a bandaged hand. Assistant commandant Nagendra Singh was back at the very spot where he had locked Kishanji eye to eye, bullet for bullet the previous night.
Singh had led the CRPF's elite team into the forest and it is his bullets that riddled Kishanji's legs, rendering him immobile. The CoBRA commando shied away from cameras and talked only in monosyllables. He has a splinter injury to the right arm - from a bullet fired by Kishanji - but said "surgery can wait". "The mission isn't over," he said.
When TOI caught up with him, he refused to speak much about the encounter. He simply said: "During the gunfight, a bullet hit a tree above me and fragmented. One of the splinters hit me. Really, it's no big deal."
One of his fellow commandos said that their plan was to cut off all approach and exit points. "We were briefed that several top Maoist leaders were camping in the vicinity. As is the usual operating procedure, CoBRA led the charge," he said. Singh's unit, a 25-man team, scoured the Sarkota and Burishole villages adjoining Burishole. When they stepped into the jungle it was 3pm. They found nothing at first. Then, with daylight ebbing, they realised they'd come too far ahead. Singh signalled his colleagues to slow down and wait for reinforcements. Around 4pm, West Midnapore SP Praveen Tripathy joined them.
They'd barely inched forward, when a single gunshot broke the eerie calm. The jawans held their fire until they gauged the extent of Maoist presence. Then, all hell broke loose. "Hundreds of rounds were fired," said a commando. "We kept moving up. And it was during this that a bullet ridden body was found, which later turned out to be Kishanji," he said.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 897683.cms
Chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday broke her silence on Kishanji's death and said the Maoist were given three days to surrender but they fired 1,000 rounds instead. Lives of innocent villagers were in danger that forced CRPF jawans to retaliate.
"Initially I was informed that they (the rebels) had gathered to chalk out a plan to kill me, my leaders and carry out a major subversive act," Mamata said at an election rally in south Kolkata's Behala, adding, "Would people have forgiven me if we let the rebels get away in spite of knowing they were planning a major attack? What if they had attacked the Kolkata Metro?"
Mamata slammed rights activists who alleged Kishanji was killed in a fake encounter. "Ekta praner eto kanna (so many tears shed for one life)," she said.
Mamata asked why the rights activists were silent when innocent people and policemen were killed by the Maoists. "Do not teach me human rights. I have fought for the rights of people all my life, from Bhikari Paswan to Tapasi Mallick. Where were you when I was fighting for justice?" she said.
Mamata said murder comes easily to Maoists. "But the ones that pull the trigger are not the only murderers. The people who conspire are equally guilty," she said, adding, "If any subversive act occurred even after this, people wouldn't have forgiven me. If you do not vote for me because of this, don't. But I ask you, what should I do? Shall I keep silent and watch them unleash terror? Do poor people like Jitu Singh Sardar or Rajen Singh's elderly father and brother look like class enemies?"
She said her detractors could criticise her politically. "Call me a thief or robber. But do not kill people. Do not play with blood," Mamata said.
She said there was still a chance for peace. "Any death is painful. I am still hopeful of peace. I want all my brothers and sisters to return to the mainstream. The government will take care of them," she said.
She said the state government is transparent about the encounter. "The police told me that the rebels fired even after the forces announced on loudspeakers that they would get all help, including medical, if they surrendered. They responded by firing nearly 1,000 rounds. There were innocent villagers around. It would have killed nearly 500 villagers. How can I remain silent after this?" she said.
Jhargram: Maoist state committee member Bikash is likely to lead the PLGA in Bengal while state committee secretary Akash will handle the political affairs, said Maoist sources. Bikash is a protege of Kishanji, the slain Maoist politburo member.
Bikash alias Mansaram Hembram has the experience to lead the PLGA. Since he is a tribal, the Maoists can put him on the front row to stem their eroding support base among tribals.
Akash is equally adept in combat but he may have to confine himself to political activities. Arnab Dam alias Bikram, active in Purulia and Bengal-Jharkhand border, will be next in political planning after Akash. A tough guerrilla leader, Tarit alias Ranjit Pal, who has operated in border areas, is likely to be Bikash's lieutenant, said sources.
Reeling from Kishanji's death, Maoist leaders believe a fierce retaliation is the only way to hold fort in Jangalmahal. The security forces, too, are bracing for a counterattack.
On Sunday, Maoist spokesperson Abhay announced a 'countrywide protest week' from November 29 and a 'Bharat Bandh' on December 4-5. He hinted there is no possibility of any further talks, which indicates the Maoist leadership is looking for retaliation.
Early Sunday morning, Maoist posters were found in Jhargram and Goaltore, warning Trinamool-backed vigilante groups.
Maoists are banking on people arrested before the Lalgarh movement and are currently out on bail. "In jail, our senior leaders made them more politically conscious. Now, they are mature enough to handle important affairs," said a Maoist leader. A spectacular attack was important to boost their cadres' morale, he said.
Other insurgent groups announced their solidarity with the Maoists. Ulfa (anti-talks faction) chairman Abhijit Burman condemned Kishanji's killing and renewed Ulfa's bond with the Maoists.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 897663.cms
Why are such individuals still in these mainstream political parties??
Congress MP G Vivek along with TRS MLA E Rajender were among the many who turned up on Sunday to pay tributes to slain Maoist commander Koteswara Rao alias Kishenji at Peddapalli in Karimnagar district. Kishenji, killed in a firefight with security forces in West Bengal on November 24, was cremated at Peddapalli in presence of a large number of Maoist sympathizers.
I think security of this man (Nagendra Singh) has been compromised by such news, even if media comes to know about details of operation they should exercise precaution and avoid publishing names of jawans and officers.Pranay wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 897702.cms
Among the teeming security forces in Burishole jungle was a quiet, young commando with a bandaged hand. Assistant commandant Nagendra Singh was back at the very spot where he had locked Kishanji eye to eye, bullet for bullet the previous night.
Singh had led the CRPF's elite team into the forest and it is his bullets that riddled Kishanji's legs, rendering him immobile. The CoBRA commando shied away from cameras and talked only in monosyllables. He has a splinter injury to the right arm - from a bullet fired by Kishanji - but said "surgery can wait". "The mission isn't over," he said.
When TOI caught up with him, he refused to speak much about the encounter. He simply said: "During the gunfight, a bullet hit a tree above me and fragmented. One of the splinters hit me. Really, it's no big deal."
One of his fellow commandos said that their plan was to cut off all approach and exit points. "We were briefed that several top Maoist leaders were camping in the vicinity. As is the usual operating procedure, CoBRA led the charge," he said. Singh's unit, a 25-man team, scoured the Sarkota and Burishole villages adjoining Burishole. When they stepped into the jungle it was 3pm. They found nothing at first. Then, with daylight ebbing, they realised they'd come too far ahead. Singh signalled his colleagues to slow down and wait for reinforcements. Around 4pm, West Midnapore SP Praveen Tripathy joined them.
They'd barely inched forward, when a single gunshot broke the eerie calm. The jawans held their fire until they gauged the extent of Maoist presence. Then, all hell broke loose. "Hundreds of rounds were fired," said a commando. "We kept moving up. And it was during this that a bullet ridden body was found, which later turned out to be Kishanji," he said.
In AP political leaders hardly speak against Maoist terror. Some leaders like Madhu Kashki even support them. In many Telugu movies wherein Maoist are shown as Heros. There is hardly anything critical of Kishan has come in news pepers in AP.
No one seems to bother the attempted liking of ULFA and naxals. ULFA which is an anti nation terror group targetting " outsiders" day in and day out is a frind of Maoists now. Where is the ideology of poor people. If they can openly gang up with terrorists who are anti natioanls what is the response from their over ground supporters? NIL. None in the media pointed out Maoists stoped working in isolation long back and they have links to anti national terror outfits starting from LTTE to ULFA. Once they embork on such activity their claim of doing all this for " poor" and their activity is only class struggule is rubbish. Now there are no good naxals other than dead naxals.
Disgusting pro-mass murderer propaganda
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/article2666562.ece
These traitors have as much blood of innocent Indians in their hands as the original killers..
When Gaddar rendered songs hailing the supreme sacrifice of Kishenji, people started wailing and recollected the sacrifices made by him for the sake of society by living underground
When these Stalinist / Maoist rapist goons, womanisers, throat slitters eye-gougers and mass murderers kill innocent civilians, do these propaganda yellow journalist puppets go to their home towns, attend funerals and come out with such reports?hordes of people from various walks of life arrived there and paid respects to Kishenji by forming serpentine queues
These traitors have as much blood of innocent Indians in their hands as the original killers..
x-post from Telangana thread.
Muppalla wrote:The following article (actually news) is clear vindication of chapter-8 of SKC. Naxals has clear people support in T region and it is not gone. It is only controlled using superior police forces of AP.
http://www.eenadu.net/Pannelsinner.aspx?qry=htm/panel2
(it is all in Telugu. In summary, a large crowd assembled for the funeral of Kishenji in Karimnagar. Along with his brother, Varavara Rao had lit the pyre)
Ok from local telugu press:
That is why this Naxalism and Maoism thrives. Political support with some top leaders like Mamta blowing hot and cold to these vermin. I think India needs to change their funeral laws as far as criminals are concerned. Just burn these vermin to ashed and send the asked to home by DHL.Congress MP G Vivek along with TRS MLA E Rajender turned up at funeral of Maoist Kishen
While you see monster in him, he is hero among the downtrodden as he was fighting for them. Naxalism in Telangana was born out of right reasons with right ingredients (Imperialism and elite suppression of downtrodden). While their tactics may be anti-governmental, their reasons are not. If he is vermin, leaders from political parties that give them support (Congress in case of AP) are equally qualify to be called by the same description. As Naxal support is vote bank in that part of AP, leaders are naturally tending their vote-bank passions.Muppalla wrote:Ok from local telugu press:
That is why this Naxalism and Maoism thrives. Political support with some top leaders like Mamta blowing hot and cold to these vermin. I think India needs to change their funeral laws as far as criminals are concerned. Just burn these vermin to ashed and send the asked to home by DHL.Congress MP G Vivek along with TRS MLA E Rajender turned up at funeral of Maoist Kishen
Re: Disgusting pro-mass murderer propaganda
This seems to be Chindu spin since as per deccanherald:Suppiah wrote:http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/article2666562.ece
When Gaddar rendered songs hailing the supreme sacrifice of Kishenji, people started wailing and recollected the sacrifices made by him for the sake of society by living underground
hordes of people from various walks of life arrived there and paid respects to Kishenji by forming serpentine queues
Mother has last glimpse of slain son
Both activists and police were surprised at the lack of public adoration and crowds for darshan of the dead Maoist leader. “People don’t know him at all in this region as he worked more in the North, particularly West Bengal. There are not even black flags in the town,” said a police official who added that since morning not even 1,000 persons had come visiting to Peddapalli .He surmised that people did not come to see an ultra who worked for a banned organisation. “But thousands had come to see and police had a tough time when other top guns like Devanna and Nalla Adi Reddy of the district had died elsewhere and their body was brought home for funerals,” a local scribe recalled.
Not many political leaders turned out at the funeral. While Pedapalli MP G Vinod (Congress) briefly appeared on Sunday morning and vanished, none of the top Telugu Desam Party leaders came to console the Mallojula family.
Sum,
It is not true. Deccanherald report is wrong. Local TV, and print press covered widely. Tens of thousands attended the funeral inspite of police stopping the supporters at various check points.
Naxals do have support in Telangana region of AP and there is nothing hidden there. The congress party and naxals are hand in glove since 60s and both of them are fooling the downtrodden rural population.
Think from an extremely downtrodden person who has no knowledge of who is fooling him and who is not. National interestes ect are all superficial for such folks. Naxals does Robinhood on them and they have very good clout. There are two ways to win elections in these regions.
One is to wipeout the Naxals with iron hand and create infrastructure and job opportunities (this is difficult because these folks may not be capable or competent. Even in casual labor positions, some other hardworking one from other parts of the country may take the jobs created).
Another one is to use Naxals in getting their support base's vote by being a nexus with them. In the process, the congress party will allow their activities in a measured manner. They also allow bumping off some Naxals in a measured manner. So it is win-win for both.
Exactly same model is being planned by congress party in Chattisgarh and also WB. Naxals tried to kill Chandrababu Naidu in AP when he was CM. Large scale violence in Dantewade, and also during Left government in WB. I gaurantee you if Ajit Jogi become CM of Chattisgarh, there will be no violence.
This Mamta removing Kishenji from a WB perspective is an OK hit as the Naxals do have regionalism too.
This guy is non-Bengali Naxal and there are fissures there. His removal is a win-win for both Naxals there and Mamta. Naxal wanted what they want and she got a brownie point too.
It is not true. Deccanherald report is wrong. Local TV, and print press covered widely. Tens of thousands attended the funeral inspite of police stopping the supporters at various check points.
Naxals do have support in Telangana region of AP and there is nothing hidden there. The congress party and naxals are hand in glove since 60s and both of them are fooling the downtrodden rural population.
Think from an extremely downtrodden person who has no knowledge of who is fooling him and who is not. National interestes ect are all superficial for such folks. Naxals does Robinhood on them and they have very good clout. There are two ways to win elections in these regions.
One is to wipeout the Naxals with iron hand and create infrastructure and job opportunities (this is difficult because these folks may not be capable or competent. Even in casual labor positions, some other hardworking one from other parts of the country may take the jobs created).
Another one is to use Naxals in getting their support base's vote by being a nexus with them. In the process, the congress party will allow their activities in a measured manner. They also allow bumping off some Naxals in a measured manner. So it is win-win for both.
Exactly same model is being planned by congress party in Chattisgarh and also WB. Naxals tried to kill Chandrababu Naidu in AP when he was CM. Large scale violence in Dantewade, and also during Left government in WB. I gaurantee you if Ajit Jogi become CM of Chattisgarh, there will be no violence.
This Mamta removing Kishenji from a WB perspective is an OK hit as the Naxals do have regionalism too.

Overheard on Twitter. TIFWIW
Call it Naxal HRC! RT @PTI_News NHRC asks its investigation unit to collect facts & reports within 6 weeks on killing of Maoist Kishenji.
Muppalla,
where is this "support" for Naxals in Telangana? seriously, I've seen Coastal luminaries like Chiranjeevi wax eloquent about Naxals. about how they fight for "common good". from personal experience in Warangal, I can tell you that Naxals don't have any "support". people were happy when the Naxalbari movement waned away and people could go out in the night without fear of attacks from PWG. the thousands of people attending funeral is a gimmick. we all know how "attendance" is trumped up in India, don't we? Naxals having a "support base" in Telangana which votes on their behalf?!?! this is also laughable. never ever heard or seen or experienced such a thing. and I am talking about outside of Hyderabad, in the rural areas. you seem to be on a mission to prove all and sundry stereotypes of T people for whatever reason.
the other day, you were on a mission to "prove" T-elites hated TDP. once again, this is simply not supported by facts. T elites were significant participants in TDP's rise. but even today, TDP has good presence in T. I have seen all kinds of political talk from T-vadis, but not one has yet to lambast the TDP. T average man generally does not feel any "hatred" for TDP. as far as they are concerned, they generally think the Coastal elite are out to get them, but no particular "hatred" for TDP.
I'll tell you from personal experience that one of the things that T people most liked about TDP, including NTR, was the fact that they were tough on Naxals. I have seen this sentiment repeated time and again by auto-rickshaw wallahs to rich business guys. they are happy that TDP generally was tough and ruthless with Naxals. Alimineti Madhava Reddy, before he was killed by Naxals, had such a strong support in Telangana, partly b/c people believed him to be ruthless with the Naxals. they admired him for it. he was killed by Naxals in 1999. he was considered the right hand man of CBN. someone who had the political will and wits to gain and keep alliances and who was generally very well received by all sections. he was the epitome of a T-elite whose ideology was supportive of TDP and staunchly against INC.
where is this "support" for Naxals in Telangana? seriously, I've seen Coastal luminaries like Chiranjeevi wax eloquent about Naxals. about how they fight for "common good". from personal experience in Warangal, I can tell you that Naxals don't have any "support". people were happy when the Naxalbari movement waned away and people could go out in the night without fear of attacks from PWG. the thousands of people attending funeral is a gimmick. we all know how "attendance" is trumped up in India, don't we? Naxals having a "support base" in Telangana which votes on their behalf?!?! this is also laughable. never ever heard or seen or experienced such a thing. and I am talking about outside of Hyderabad, in the rural areas. you seem to be on a mission to prove all and sundry stereotypes of T people for whatever reason.
the other day, you were on a mission to "prove" T-elites hated TDP. once again, this is simply not supported by facts. T elites were significant participants in TDP's rise. but even today, TDP has good presence in T. I have seen all kinds of political talk from T-vadis, but not one has yet to lambast the TDP. T average man generally does not feel any "hatred" for TDP. as far as they are concerned, they generally think the Coastal elite are out to get them, but no particular "hatred" for TDP.
I'll tell you from personal experience that one of the things that T people most liked about TDP, including NTR, was the fact that they were tough on Naxals. I have seen this sentiment repeated time and again by auto-rickshaw wallahs to rich business guys. they are happy that TDP generally was tough and ruthless with Naxals. Alimineti Madhava Reddy, before he was killed by Naxals, had such a strong support in Telangana, partly b/c people believed him to be ruthless with the Naxals. they admired him for it. he was killed by Naxals in 1999. he was considered the right hand man of CBN. someone who had the political will and wits to gain and keep alliances and who was generally very well received by all sections. he was the epitome of a T-elite whose ideology was supportive of TDP and staunchly against INC.
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_ki ... ey_1618615
Informer is from CPI (Maoist) and will get Rs 19 lakh
You are unnecessarly jumping on me. I have given the link from eenadu about how many folks have attended the funeral etc. Even today if Gaddar conduct a meeting many people attend in T region. So T region does not have people support to Naxals is not true. There are documentary evidences that in some of the remote areas, Naxals run the show. It is very clear that no one (politicians) really goes ballastic again Naxals like they talk against LeT or JuM bacause of fear that Naxals will kill them. It is a recorded fact that some INC and TRS MP/MLA attended the funeral. Naxals have the means to influence the elections. You may disagree but YSR was able to win using such services.devesh wrote:Muppalla,
I replied you in T thread. Current CBN led TDP is hated by the elite. You do not get documentary evidence for such stuff.the other day, you were on a mission to "prove" T-elites hated TDP. once again, this is simply not supported by facts. T elites were significant participants in TDP's rise. but even today, TDP has good presence in T. I have seen all kinds of political talk from T-vadis, but not one has yet to lambast the TDP. T average man generally does not feel any "hatred" for TDP. as far as they are concerned, they generally think the Coastal elite are out to get them, but no particular "hatred" for TDP.
Can't access this video. Any alternative link please?Rahul M wrote:a couple of days before kaliyug ka kishen was pesticised, , author and activist mahasweta devi (gyanpith, sahitya akademi, padma shri yada yada) held a press conference in support of APDR.
it's a post in SSC explaining the situation, the vids (in bangla) are embedded in that post.
RM ji,
are you "Suncity" on SSC? I used to be on that forum long ago. I thought Suncity was too much of a Leftist sympathizer when I was active on it. seems like he's coming around.
RamaY wrote:Can't access this video. Any alternative link please?Rahul M wrote:a couple of days before kaliyug ka kishen was pesticised, , author and activist mahasweta devi (gyanpith, sahitya akademi, padma shri yada yada) held a press conference in support of APDR.
Mahasweta Devi's press conference. Looks like some journalists finally dared to corner her with some tough questions about her alleged pro Maoist sympathies for which she couldn't give a proper answer.
Mamata Di's equally tough response to Mao sympathizers. She diplomatically tells the viewers that Mahasweta was lying (or was being coaxed to lie). Mamata wins this round convincingly.
devesh, thankfully no. SSC is a good place to read and gather info.
p.s. I am pretty sure a person would need 36 hour days to mod 2 large forum.
Maoists slit throats of 2 tribals
On the Mahasweta Devi's press conference....any translation available?VISAKHAPATNAM: CPI Maoists of Galikonda area committee allegedly killed two tribals suspecting them to be police informers at GK Veedhi mandal in the district on Sunday.
would love to have a translation of Mahasweta and Mamata's response.
SkyScraper City forum. it's another online forum.
the mahashweta devi press conf.
The issue was police not giving permission to APDR to hold a rally
in central kolkata. APDR is an umbrella organization of state
maoist intellectuals.
they called a press conference where mahashweta devi read out a
written script where she attacked the govt.
MD : If govt takes away the right of speech of the people, I
strongly object to it. I have objected to the anti-people policies
of the last govt for the last 34 years, in fact I am known all over
India as a protesting poet and I will maintain that. This kind of
thing can't happen, the govt's actions will have to be rolled back,
the common man of WB will not tolerate this. Have we brought fascism
upon us ? (yada yada)
Reporter : you have demanded that the joint forces (state and
central) be withdrawn but the maoists are also commiting murder,
do you support that or not ?
MD : don't support it at all.
R : if so, then when people are getting killed by maoists, common
people, those whom you claim to represent why haven't you ever
called a press conference against that or protested through your
writings ? When the peace talks were going on between the govt and
maoists, the poor people were being murdered by the maoists, why
didn't you protest for even one day like you are today ?
MD: these days... mmmm.... I'm busy... I have worked mostly with
[inaudible, possibly kheria tribe] of purulia, who were called
criminal tribes. I have been with them for a long time, I am trying
to do something constructive with them. I am in touch with them.
Can I go to every place, only then..... I can't go to every place,
every organisation ! It's not possible.
R : you write a number of columns in newspapers (gives a list of
slain political workers from TMC and CPIM) how many times have you
wielded your pen in support of these people who were killed by the
maoists during the peace initiative ?
MD : I don't know when I have wielded a pen, for those who have been
killed by maoists for them [inaudible]... it's not possible for me
R : why haven't you ?
MD : I am 87 years old ! I do not owe an explanation to anybody !
[lots of noise]
MD : WHO ARE YOU PEOPLE ? you are asking these questions, who are
you ?
R : maoists have said they are not interested in talking with govt
but you said CM should talk with them.
MD : CM said she wanted to talk, if maoists do not want to talk
then they should tell what their movement is about. I am for people
of jungle mahal, they don't have drinking water, water for
irrigation.
R : CM has created a package for providing these very things to the
people but you oppose the joint forces that provide security. In
effect you are oppossing the packages.
MD : this is illogical, I don't understand.
[members of APDR whsiper to her from the sides]
MD : joint forces torture the poor people, have the joint forces
gone there to provide water to the villagers ? giving food to the
villagers ? constructing roads ? helping run schools ?
why should I support joint forces ?
R : so who are providing these ?
MD : no one, people there are accustomed to getting nothing.
(very aggressively) have you ever gone there ?
R : will development be possible if joint forces are withdrawn ?
some APDR members shouting (not visible) : of course it will be possible.
for 3 years joint forces have [inaudible]
R : why are you answering ? nobody asked you, we asked her (MD).
MD : go and tell mamata that you all support the joint forces.
do it, go and tell her !
Unrelated but another one of those Jnanpith award winners and PCPA member, Indira Raisom Goswami, died.
mamoni raisom, the go between for talks with ULFA ?
------
btw, there was a segment on TV where they interviewed the people who gathered for kali kishan's funeral. 4 of them and they all said they were there to get a look of the infamous dude, not to pay any respect.
ganapathi's son is in US and wife lives in h'bad.
------
btw, there was a segment on TV where they interviewed the people who gathered for kali kishan's funeral. 4 of them and they all said they were there to get a look of the infamous dude, not to pay any respect.
ganapathi's son is in US and wife lives in h'bad.
Yes, she is the one.Rahul M wrote:mamoni raisom, the go between for talks with ULFA ?
3 cheers to those reporters who asked some straight questions. If the reporters had this attitude(towards all without biases), then India would have been far better. Its still not late for them...
This and your previous post : agreed on the underlying support aspect.Muppalla wrote:You are unnecessarly jumping on me. I have given the link from eenadu about how many folks have attended the funeral etc. Even today if Gaddar conduct a meeting many people attend in T region. So T region does not have people support to Naxals is not true. There are documentary evidences that in some of the remote areas, Naxals run the show. It is very clear that no one (politicians) really goes ballastic again Naxals like they talk against LeT or JuM bacause of fear that Naxals will kill them. It is a recorded fact that some INC and TRS MP/MLA attended the funeral. Naxals have the means to influence the elections. You may disagree but YSR was able to win using such services.devesh wrote:Muppalla,
We may delight in Kishenji's death. But as you point out, my assessment has also been that the resurgence of the Maoists post 77, and especially in the 90's - and the survival of such an overtly anti-state movement, implies that it was penetrated by state agencies a long time ago. Since then it has simply been a tool of congress or the long term extension of the congress allied forces that have grown into the rashtryia machinery.
I would rather you do not go into the subregionalism within Maoism or so-called Bengali-nationalism or even Telegu-nationalism.

What you note about possible subregionalism of MB is perhaps accurate, and she does plan on projecting herself as the subregional champion. But she has no other way forward. Her only hope lies in raising the Bengali subnationalism to counter the Congress and Left attempt to subdue her. But she has not "moved" in this particular occasion. A lot of other factors coincided to require the "Bali" of Kishenji. The long slippery slope downwards for him perhaps ironically started off from kishenji's tactical "understanding" with TMC before MB's electoral triumph. He was veering off from the so far uncanny and consistent targeting of forces feared by the congress and their apparently favoured religious positions. The Maoists target any "saffron" activist but never any Christian or muslim ones. Maoists ususally do not target congress bigwigs, unless that bigwig is showing disturbing signs of regional strength that could be seen as a challenge to the "centre". Kishenji was therefore deviating from the pattern even if MB was apparently an ally of the "centre" at the time [remains oficially so] - since my pointer was that the centre wanted the Left to lose but not to be wiped off. They are not in love withe either of MB or the left - and they want the two to weaken each other so that Bengal once again at dynasty's feet.
The problem with such movements is that if they have possible bases of new support - rooted in specific socio-economic contexts, they will generate new leadership and sectors of support. The real problems have not been wiped off. Regardless of the Maoist violence and methods, the admin face and the face of the rashtra through its functionaries as seen at the local level where they operate - raise feelings of intense dislike and desire for retaliatory violence in even "normal" human beings.
Maoist methods are wrong and they ultimately serve foreign imperialist interests. But they get their support and will continue to get their support - since the rashtryia functionaries and what appears to the commons as the allies or favoured/protected entities of the rashtra, indulge in practices unmentionable here. I have seen many instances in my childhood and youth, and reports suggest that at the grassroots nothing has changed. Once sympathizers of the oppressed, the parliamentary Left produced local activists who one day became local rulers again replacing the old ones. Nothing really changed as to the nature of the exploitation and repression and sadism and perverted, twisted enjoyment of the suffering of the helpless.
Advent of TMC will not change things either, and after them any resurgent parliamentary left or the congress. The older exploiting groups will either be replaced by elements of the hitherto oppressed, who in time will copy their old oppressors and start oppressing themselves. Or the older rulers will have their next generation bloodlines placed in new roles and opposite camps to maintain their hold on power.
Bji, you analyze the status quo very well. In short saying that the status quo will remain, what we might see as changes are only temporary spikes.
This is very depressing, since we are discussing Red Menace - is there a way out of this chakravyuha? Apparently any Abhimanyu trying to enter will be circled and destroyed.
JMHT
Bharat Karnad made an interesting comment in NJ-jirga. During Bharatiya middle ages (Post Gupta period to Islamic Invasions) we hear about too much in-fighting between various Hindu kingdoms. He attributes it to the desire of various kings to become the next Samrat of Bharat. In the process they weakened each other and the entire Bharatiya (I would call it federal) structure.
Unfortunately the Congress-System (under the control of INC) is carrying these very political structures and prejudices into current Democratic setup. It worked as long as Congress was in power in majority of states. But when these states fell off from INC parishwanga, the central govt (often lead by INC) started treating these regional parties as competitors to its state and central power.
If one were to take Maoism as a marxist-ideology based armed rebellion against state oppression (here it started against Nizam, who wasn't democratically elected); then that ideology became irrelevant to current Indian political system by 1950. But Maoism/Naxalism continued to exist due to the cold-war politics until 1990s with external support (China, Nepal, Purulia etc). By 1990s the entire structure of Maoist opposition has been penetrated by state agencies. This coincided with INC decline and this lead to INC using Naxalism as a tool to harass non-INC govts wherever possible.
Thus most of the national ills (Maoism, Castism etc) are linked to INC power structures. There are only two solutions to this -
* There comes an INC leader who will clean the entire system, reconnect with Indic roots, and rebuild the party bottom up to lead the nation.
* INC system is destroyed piecemeal by another national party/system.
JMHT
Bharat Karnad made an interesting comment in NJ-jirga. During Bharatiya middle ages (Post Gupta period to Islamic Invasions) we hear about too much in-fighting between various Hindu kingdoms. He attributes it to the desire of various kings to become the next Samrat of Bharat. In the process they weakened each other and the entire Bharatiya (I would call it federal) structure.
Unfortunately the Congress-System (under the control of INC) is carrying these very political structures and prejudices into current Democratic setup. It worked as long as Congress was in power in majority of states. But when these states fell off from INC parishwanga, the central govt (often lead by INC) started treating these regional parties as competitors to its state and central power.
If one were to take Maoism as a marxist-ideology based armed rebellion against state oppression (here it started against Nizam, who wasn't democratically elected); then that ideology became irrelevant to current Indian political system by 1950. But Maoism/Naxalism continued to exist due to the cold-war politics until 1990s with external support (China, Nepal, Purulia etc). By 1990s the entire structure of Maoist opposition has been penetrated by state agencies. This coincided with INC decline and this lead to INC using Naxalism as a tool to harass non-INC govts wherever possible.
Thus most of the national ills (Maoism, Castism etc) are linked to INC power structures. There are only two solutions to this -
* There comes an INC leader who will clean the entire system, reconnect with Indic roots, and rebuild the party bottom up to lead the nation.
* INC system is destroyed piecemeal by another national party/system.
INC was installed by the British for this purpose. Congress/ Chahca Jan promised to protect the islamic interests within and Indian union was not suppose to last so long and get strong.RamaY wrote:^
JMHTThus most of the national ills (Maoism, Castism etc) are linked to INC power structures. There are only two solutions to this - * There comes an INC leader who will clean the entire system, reconnect with Indic roots, and rebuild the party bottom up to lead the nation.* INC system is destroyed piecemeal by another national party/system.