Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Excellent T-55 pics from Army Day:

ID this radar?

Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

SagarAg wrote:^^ Link not working. :|
copy & paste link on your browser
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

Ganesh_S wrote:
SagarAg wrote:^^ Link not working. :|
copy & paste link on your browser
Thanks Ganesh :)

Post by Sanjay »

Not to sound stupid but on Firefox I am not seeing a link to copy.

Aditya G wrote:Excellent T-55 pics from Army Day:
Correcting Links

ID this radar?

Post by Sanjay »

Thanks a lot.

err am I missing something??

where is the effect of the 120 mm round?

BTW whats the source?
thanks
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

Does IA still use T-55 tanks :?:

Nikhil T wrote:
Aditya G wrote:Excellent T-55 pics from Army Day:
ID this radar?

In the center is a weapon locating radar. Looks like an American one, probably AN/TPQ-37.

Sorry gents for the poor links. Thanks Nikhil for correcting the same.

I lo-ove this image. First time I am seeing something as graphically informative as this in an Indian military exhibition

member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Sid wrote:
In the center is a weapon locating radar. Looks like an American one, probably AN/TPQ-37.[/quote]

interesting quote from wiki
Quoting a secret US diplomatic cable 232002 sent from the US Embassy in New Delhi (India) on 29 October 2009 regarding the AN/TPQ-37 Weapons Locating Radar : These AN/TPQ-37 Weapons Locating Radars were advertised to work at elevations up to 10,000 ft, but due to problems with the travelling wave tubes, they are only operational to around 9,000 ft. Resolution of this technical issue is under review by Raytheon.

SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

IS the bid by private players to convert INS Vikrant into IMS Vikrant approved or is it still going on like always. :mrgreen:

SagarAg wrote:IS the bid by private players to convert INS Vikrant into IMS Vikrant approved or is it still going on like always. :mrgreen:
Only Akruti remains in fray and it is a single bid situation. Last month officials told me that the Terms of financing was being discussed.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

chackojoseph wrote:
SagarAg wrote:IS the bid by private players to convert INS Vikrant into IMS Vikrant approved or is it still going on like always. :mrgreen:
Only Akruti remains in fray and it is a single bid situation. Last month officials told me that the Terms of financing was being discussed.
That is a good news. Lets hope the deal goes through and everything works out well. :D

SagarAg wrote:That is a good news. Lets hope the deal goes through and everything works out well. :D
You know, you will regret that deal. Current entry fees per adult is just Rs 25. If you take your own snacks, its ok. If you buy onboard, it will cost you approx Rs 50 - 100 per person. If this comes in the hands of the private guys, the costs will go soaring. I understand that for most of us folks these costs look tiny, but, this is a heritage to be shared with common masses.

Well people here love privatization :P

boss if the alternative is to lose it altogether what option do you have??
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

chackojoseph wrote:
SagarAg wrote:That is a good news. Lets hope the deal goes through and everything works out well. :D
You know, you will regret that deal. Current entry fees per adult is just Rs 25. If you take your own snacks, its ok. If you buy onboard, it will cost you approx Rs 50 - 100 per person. If this comes in the hands of the private guys, the costs will go soaring. I understand that for most of us folks these costs look tiny, but, this is a heritage to be shared with common masses.
I think the private player will have some sense of marketing. It will not just keep the price so high that nobody comes and not too less to incur losses. It will have to balance things out. And I am sure they will think about the point made by you.

How about some day of the week be a free entry to the museum or some time slot of the day in which one can enter free. That is just my opinion, they might think of some other schemes. I am sure at the start the ticket price might be high considering the enthusiasm among the people. But gradually it will come down. I am sure it will be for betterment.

It is not just the cost. It is the money that changes hands.....

To let it go vs Steep cost = same result. costs bloody few crores to maintain it in a month. Let us see what the state govt works out. Till that time IN can kiss two berths good bye.
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

http://www.intrepidmuseum.org/Plan-Your ... ation.aspx --USS Interprid costs 24 dollars per adult... in our country .. folks spends on booze... cigs ..expensive mobiles.. if they cant spent Rs. 250 on this that will be a shame.. however yes there are many tourists who visits from interior country side (like Taj Mahal--where overwhelming tourist population are from rural India)..it is a problem..for them

Oh! I forgot to add. It may turn into an amusement center minus the Naval part. The logos I posted for sqds might sport Akruti logos. The helios, the other stuff might go too. ..... Sahara wanted it to be in Lonawala where they could turn it into an airport etc etc. Lets see how it turns out to be.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

Prithwiraj wrote:http://www.intrepidmuseum.org/Plan-Your ... ation.aspx --USS Interprid costs 24 dollars per adult... in our country .. folks spends on booze... cigs ..expensive mobiles.. if they cant spent Rs. 250 on this that will be a shame.. however yes there are many tourists who visits from interior country side (like Taj Mahal--where overwhelming tourist population are from rural India)..it is a problem..for them
I have visited the Interpid museum. Its just superb. On the deck they have different aircraft displayed of different eras. Inside the hanger they have a 3-D movie show and historical aspects abt US forces. Above all there is a Concorde and an old submarine and both are open for visitors to visit from inside. I am trying to say is that it was worth $24.

If IN and private partner plans something like that then I am sure even Rs. 250 will look cheap for the visitors. Lets wait and hope they surprise us. :)

Though i support this discussion; its better to move it to other thread... Its Picture thread and any more discussion here will let Mods smile on us :wink:
Anurag

Post by Anurag »

A digital treat for all. Enjoy! 8)

SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

^^ Why is there chain on front tires. :?: Better grip on road . :-?

Digital image of FGFA by HAL:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

There is some kind of cover over the exhaust of the jet....just like there is on F-22. SO I think it will be modified further to cover the engines.
samsher

Post by samsher »

SagarAg wrote:^^ Why is there chain on front tires. :?: Better grip on road . :-?
Yep. Its common practice to use chains for better traction on icy roads.

SagarAg wrote:^^ Why is there chain on front tires. :?: Better grip on road . :-?

Digital image of FGFA by HAL:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

There is some kind of cover over the exhaust of the jet....just like there is on F-22. SO I think it will be modified further to cover the engines.
Looks like an amateur graphic of Su-30 with delta wings.

Anurag wrote:A digital treat for all. Enjoy! 8)

Could someone please explain why is the engine exposed (not sure if that is even the right term) in that manner? What is the reasoning behind that?
Gurneesh

Post by Gurneesh »

^^^ Just a guess, but maybe the paint cannot stand the heat. It is unpainted on MKI also.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

^^^ I think the engines are removed for maintenance and for regular checking. Therefore they do not paint over them. Unless you have a protective covering over them just as the digital image shown above by me.

I don't think heating is an issue. Just my thought. :)

^^^ Gurneesh: You might have a point...check out this Rambha shot;

http://portal.cdn.erodov.net/reviews/ot ... 0MKI-2.jpg

but then again, why was not that done with the MiG-29 design...check out this shot;

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-U8guKqmnlys/T ... 7%2529.jpg

SagarAg: Would it not be better to have a protective covering? I don't know...I am asking.

How much weight does it add to an aircraft's airframe to cover those engines?