All time best research on kabIra was done by Acharya Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Prof and Head, Allahabad University, in 1920s. His magnum opus "Kabir" is still the most complete and unsurpassed work on the life and work on the saint. The book is available in Hindi.
Acharya Dwivedi shows, with undeniable evidences, how kabIra represents that neo-mass-converted second generation which was craving for its roots again. (Kabir's parents had converted to Islam, along with the enrtire julAhA caste of that time and region). He also demonstrates how kabIra is a continuation, although with different expression and methodology, of nAtha yogI-s.
On Sufi's one must refer to History of Sufis by Syed Athar Ahmed Rizavi of AMU. Also Jadunath Sarkar's Nawabs of Bengals sehds some light.
Hindu-Moslem syncretism in kabIra is a myth. At the practice and philosophy level, kabIra is as much a Hindu as, say, dayAnanda. Just because dayAnanda criticised many prevailing aspects of Hindu soceity does not make him a non-Hindu.
Warm Regards
Sarvesh Tiwari
Now you have bypassed my main point, which is that heathen in general did not
care to intellectually tackle Islam, and not just the brAhmaNa-s, but almost all
heathens.
"all bhakti saints had their frame of reference oriented from standpoint of
Brahmin"
"Kabir's critique of untouchability [in his Bijaka] has invariably a brahmin
posited against the untouchable, and not any other caste."
This is simply wrong. I guess you are confused between a "Brahmin" and any
saintly guru. Particularly, in exact contrast to what you are saying, Kabir
draws his ideological datum from a totally non-brAhmaNa framework: that of the
nAtha-s, in large bulk. In above 85% of bIjaka he is fighting the strawmen of
"gorakha" and "avadhUta", and not a Brahmin; himself being an out and out
although heterodox nAthayogI even though he wouldn't acknowledge it. Where he
is positing an imaginary "paNDita" as his opponent in some discussions in
bIjaka, it is first of all very rare, and then too, it is generally in context
of typical nirguNa pre-occupation of criticising the karma-kANDa supremacy,
shAstra-mongering, tIrtha-importance etc., but to the disappointment of modern
counter-brahmin casteists not so much about untouchability. As for his
self-identity, he is pretty comfortable recognizing himself with his jAti: in so
many of his sabada-s he calls himself julAhA and koirI without anr remorse of
any kind. This is far more amplified in his peer and gurubhrAtA ravidAsa who is
content and at peace with being a "chamArA" which is his self-epithet in almost
all his pada-s; far from any social rebellion against the so-called "brahminical
tyranny", ravidAsa has no trouble with his "ocHI jAt" (his words), has no
problem giving gurumantra to high-caste mIrA, and has absolutely no quarrel with
Brahmins no doubt again disappointing our caste-sociologists.
"To see, most bhakti movements as a reaction to societal perception of
Brahmanical inadequacies against Islam [vis a vis social cohesion,
egalitarianism and dignity amongst believers, active communication with the
godhead in absence of priestly intermediaries is then understandable."
One debases bhakti by using marxist model of saying that these movements were
simply 'social' (thank god not economical) "reactions". If you asked bhakti
masters, they would just laugh like mad. These movements were genuine and
sterling human expressions of universal spiritual seeking, nothing more, thank
you. With these though, like any other human activity, there are special
attributes of other human aspects related to soceity and traditions and so on in
which they are situated. And by the way bhakti, especially of nirguNa ones, did
not remove an intermediary between seeker and godhead. It just replaced a
priest with a superhuman "guru".
Now, since you are already familiar with the work of Prof Rizavi, I recommend
please also read his good work 'Alakha Vani', preface and introduction, where he
says that actually it is Islam that got informed by the bhakti and nAtha
movements, and not the other way round. He built his theme further in his two
volume work on Sufi-s.
"I believe, the Bhakti movements most of which originated post Islam could not
develop critiques of Islam since, they, by their very origin, were limited, by
their pacifist nature."
The nirguNa component is anything but pacifist, indeed they are quite virulent
in their own way at times. Just see them when they criticise the things like
the tIrtha-s, the karmakANDa-s, the learning of shAstra-s, and of course the
veda-s (of which they have no inkling but that does not deter them from
criticising it with worst kind of words). And this does not spring from any
jAti dynamics -- no, a high caste nAnaka is as much, or more, virulent than low
caste kabIra in his criticisms of these.
They are not pacificts, they are seculars: they sentimentally put "Hindu" and
"Turaka" in the same bracket vis-a-vis their own viewpoint. This is most
amplified in another high caste nirguNa santa palaTUdAsa, great no doubt, but
secular nonetheless. Read palaTUvANI and you see any secular that comes. The
modern figures like TL Vasavani and others are likewise their continuation:
secular and not pacifists.
Secularism is the blinder that stops them from
critiquing Islam, not pacifism. Vasavani even wrote a whole book in praise of
Islam, its prophet and Idian Moslems; just in next decade he got kicked out of
Karachi along with other Sindhis, moved to Bombay and continued selling his same
ideology here without any change.
This is what I say also for the jainist and bauddha-s. Being as hardcore
disputers as any, it should come naturally to them to develop anti-Islamic
polemics. The contemporary Jaina writers were not at all pacifists; in my eyes
they were as bigoted as they come, in continuing their irrelevant criticism of
all things Astika like a broken record. Hardly pacifists they can be called:
their "pacifism" does not prevent them from abusing draupadI and kuntI as just
short of prostitutes. A jaina medieval work would not got completed without
somehow getting into the typical oneupmanship against the brAhmaNa-s. But the
same jainists become dhimmI-s when it comes to criticising Islam, why? Read
saMskR^ita text vijaya-prashasti written by the disciples of famed AchArya shrI
hIravijayasUrI, which gives the glimpses of jainist work at the Akbar's court.
Here they are so elated explaining how the jaina criticism of braAhmaNa concepts
impressed the pAtisAha: the fools are silent on more pertinent subject the
criticism of Islam.
The saguNa Astika component, on the other hand, possibly because of being closer
to more traditional thought, and also because of they being mostly from brAhmaNa
background, spared both the criticism of Hindu traditions, as well as this
Hindu-Moslem equating. sUradAsa, tulasIdAsa, haridAsa, vallabha and such, do
not care about turaka at all and just focus on their own. My point being, the
absence of Islam-critique does not come from the "pacifism" but something else,
which is for the nirguNa-s their secularism and for the saguNa-s their typical
habit of just ignoring the presence of the enemy.
"castes like the Kayastha despite sufficient intellectual acumen remained in
awe of Brahmin intellect and priestly power"
kAyastha impressed and awed by brAhmaNa, what the ****! Anyone knowing anything
basic about kAyastha knows that kAyastha-s never accepted brAhmaNa-s as any
superiors. They did not cultivate affiliations to what you folks generally call
brahminism. kAyastha is the sole exception in the forward jAti-s that happily
and voluntarily renounces privilages like yaj~nopavIta, with some outliers such
as prabhu-s of maharaTTA country. Steadfastly Hindu by religion no doubt, but
kAyastha never accepts himself inferior to brAhmaNa in any sense spiritual or
temporal, and he is a freethinker and scholar by spirit. They did produce
extremely learned saMskR^ita scholars (e.g. Rajendralal Mitra) and as brilliant
Historians and Archaeologists besides social thinkers and reformers; and still
kAyastha proved to be a hard core Hindu dhimmi that ever was!
"Similarly, the Vaishya despite his education, knew his place in the caste
heirarchy was not eventful. For him, keeping the rulers in good humor, whatever
their faith and ideological orientation was imperative. In less strenuous
circumstances, it is unlikely he would have explored the distinctions between
Islam and his native faiths."
Come on now! vaishya is happy with whatever is his "place in caste heirarchy",
anyone heard any complaints from him? Why would his place is caste heirarchy
stop him from studing Islam? He did study many other things. And by the way,
it is finally Sita Ram Goel, a vaishya, and his other vaishya-kAyastha
colleagues of UP-dillI who ignited the true study of enemy, and thus the Hindu
revival now doubtful.
"Absence of organization. The idea of mass religious organization transcending
barriers of geography and ethnicity is usually unknown to "heathens" Built upon
multicultural structures, monolith formation becomes difficult for him."
Whatever the explanation, you do now see that almost no heathens did do what you
expect brAhmaNa-s to have done. I do consider this as a failing on his part,
and a great failing, but not his alone. Let us move on.
I don't see any reason you have served by quoting English translation of some
three snippets from bIjaka. This is what I had said: "In above 85% of bIjaka he
is fighting the strawmen of "gorakha" and "avadhUta", and not a Brahmin; ... but
to the disappointment of modern counter-brahmin casteists not so much about
untouchability."
And I reiterate the above along with some statistics. Of over 250 compositions
in bIjaka, there are total of about TWELVE in which kabIra addresses a "paNDita"
or "pANDe". Of these twelve, only 2 mention untouchability. The main bulk of
bIjaka, especially the parts where kabIra is most critical and typically acidic,
it is NOT the "caste system" and such, but, like I earlier told you, vAhyAchAra
and karmakANDa. And a large bulk of the rest of bIjaka criticism is addressed
not to brAhmaNa-s but to the nAtha-s (addressed as "gorakha" or "avadhUta"). So
while I am not sure if you still got the point, but what I am saying is this:
The caste business is just far too low on his priorities, almost absent when you
put it in kabIra's thought as a whole, and the phenomenon of kabIra is not
driven by so-fantacised "caste reaction", but of a much higher purpose and
complex chemistry.
Now, since you quoted the translation, I must point out something else too. You
quoted:
"from, since you believe in it. Mix red juice, white juice and air- a body bakes
in a body. As soon as the eight lotuses are ready, it comes into the world. Then
what's untouchable. Eighty four hundred thousand vessels decay into dust, while
the potter keeps slapping clay on the wheel, and with a touch cuts each one off.
We eat by touching, we wash by touching, from a touch the world was born. So
who's untouchable, asks Kabir. Only he who has no taint of maya"
"The Bijak of Kabir, Linda Hess, Sukhdev Singh, MLBD, p.17 "
The above is a HORRIBLE, and to anyone having even basics idea of medieval
Northern IE, a
total mis-translation!!!
I have not seen the Hess book, nor desire to, but if above is a right sample
then I just wonder if this is on what our westerns Indologists base their
assessment of kabIra!!! No wonder their conclusions are so ridiculous.
Let me demostrate using this example alone. While you did not quote the original
reference, as far as I can make it by randomly scanning, the above is 41st
shabada of bIjaka (kabIra-chaurA kAshI edition), and the original texts goes
something like:
paNDita dekhahu mana mahi jAni
kahu dhauM cHUti kahAMte upajI tabahi cHUta tuma mAnI
bAde bande rudhira ke saMge ghaTahI mai ghaTa sapachai
asTa kavala hvai puhumI AyA cHUti kahAM te upajai
lakha chaurAsI nAnA bAsana so sabha bhari bho mATI
ekai pATa sakala baiThA.e cHuta leta dhauM kAkI
cHUtihi jevana cHUtihi aMchavana cHUtihi jagata upAyA
kahahi kabIra te cHUti bibarajita jAke saMga na mAyA
Proper translation should be: "Look here paNDita, and consider it over in your
mind. Say, from where does this pollution originate, from which moment do you
consider a being polluting to touch? Isn't every beaing ('including you' is the
sense) that is born, conceived in blood by mingling (of raja and vIrya),
nourished in the womb, and when ready, born by passing through the orifice of
the aShTa-kamala (meaning vagina). (Now, this being the same for every being
that is born) who is polluting to touch? Does'nt That Potter (God) create all
the vessels on the same potters-wheel using the same clay that each of the
Eighty-Four Lakh vessels (meaning all the creatures of different yoni-s) is
reduced to? Then which one would you avoid to touch? By touch alone can you
eat, by touch alone can you wash yourself, indeed the whole business of life
goes on by touch alone! Says kabIra, those who have transcended the mAyA itself
should find nothing untouchable."
Go figure out the difference between what Hess told you and the above. I will
not go and look up other quotations, but am happy that I dont need a Linda Hess
to tell me what kabIra is saying.
"But she (mIrA) is a woman who faces discrimination from male and brahmin
priests"
O My Goodness! So mIrA, if not a low caste, is accepted in the fold of ravidAsa
because she is a suppressed woman!!! Co-opt and bring in the feminist
"subaltern" where casteist one does not work!
If Caste and Gender Suppression is all that matters, what explains kabIra's
preferance for a high caste male, that is santa dharmadAsa, to be declared his
heir? What explains AmanadevI, sahajobAI and dayAbAI, who were highcaste
females being appointed by their high caste guru-s as their heirs? What
explains a large high caste male following of kabIra and ravidAsa in their own
time?
" Do you mean to say, no upper caste and brahmin expressed
disapproval of any lower caste sect and all such claims are historical
fabrications of marxist historians?"
Those who expressed disapproval of kabIra and others did so not on grounds of
his caste, but for the principles of his teaching. Same way when kabIra is
expressing his disapprovals, it is not because of the caste of his or his
opponents, but on their principles and beleifs. Seeking "Casteism" in the whole
high affair is, like Ramesh Ji said in a different post, in minds of the
casteists and not in those of kabIra and his opponents.
Let me give you an example. tulasIdAsa disagrees with kabIra that "rAma" is
just nirguNa, is not that prince whose father was dasharatha and who slayed
rAvaNa, so he does critique kabIra in his mAnasa using a dialogue between
mahAdeva and umA, and proposes his own explanantion how "rAma" is both a nirguNa
rAma of kabIra and a saguNa of his own, and also beyond both. But in this,
there is no criticism of his being of lower caste and being a teacher. Why, he
first prays to a low-caste vAlmIki in the preface of mAnasa, seeks first his
forgiveness for having to create another rAmAyaNa while the work of vAlmIki was
blameless and perfect.
"Did it not occur to you that why were precisely such bhakti movements totally
absent for over two milleniums."
And did it occur to you before you accepted this for a fact that these movements
were "totally absent for over two milleniums", that the reality could have been
different?
In eyes of Marxists, kabIra and ravidAsa simply happened as a social reaction
out of caste dynamics, and Islam showed them the way!! They just don't know
that the total lineage of this thought is extremely old. Some however do. Even
a Marxist scholar, though a more honest than the rest, rAhula sAMkR^ityAyana has
shown with his own discoveries of many apabhraMsha texts from nepAla, triviTapa
and siMhala, that were considered lost, that these alternative movements not
only pre-existed in India when Islam was not even born, but have left their
sound textual footprints since at least 6-7th century. And then too, it does
not mean their origin from then - because they had no respect for textual
collections, redactions and scholarship, that their earlier footprints are less
evident or absent. (Even kabIra did not compile any of his words. He was an
illiterate. It was his high caste disciple dharmadAsa who compiled what he
could find, in bIjaka. Same way as nAnaka and others of this line compiled
nothing).
I will give you one example, just using the above of your bIjaka quotation whose
translation I provided above.
Compare the argument of kabIra with this 7-8th
century apabhraMsha pada:
brahmaNehi bha jADanta hi me.u
evai paDhia.i e chau ve.U
maTTI pANI kusa la.i paDhanta
gharahi basai aggi huNanta
kajjai virahai hua.vaha home
akkhi DahAvi.a kaDue dhumme
"brAhmaNa-s are said to have issued from the mouth of bramhA; so it maybe in
those days but today aren't they born just like anyone else, then how come are
they gaing their sacred privilages (by birth)? Maybe it is because of the
saMsakAra-s they become sacred, if so, I say give the same saMsakAra-s to all,
and let all become sacred! Maybe then that it is because of the karma, of
holding kusha and water in hand and pouring dhR^ita in holy fire, if so, I say
allow everyone to do that and gain mukti; But Hey I know, by this type of ya~jna
no mukti is gained, maybe just some strain in the eyes from all that bitter
smoke."
Now, this, written by not any low-caste, but sarahapAda, a learned brAhmaNa
himself. He criticises his fellow brAhmaNa-s, not due to any "social science"
related compulsion but because of his spiritual-ideological position. (Of
course he was out-casted due to rejecting to follow his jAti dharma, and he is
fine with it)
So such "rebel" tradition is of course not only present, but those who have
studied it find it wide spread, and continued down to the times that marxists
think is a "sudden eruption of social reaction" into something called a bhakti
movement. I can provide you with several examples of pre-Islamic period where
the "rebel" of same vareities are to be found.
"Historical interpretation demands application of social and economic
conditions which fueled bhakti"
And I never said it does not. I am only saying that historical interpretation
does not mean negating the fact that primary driver of bhakti movement is
spiritual seeking, all else was secondary. But then that is not the marxisrt
template of things where all actions are reactions of some eternal class war of
good and evil.
and so on in which they are situated. And by the way bhakti, especially of
nirguNa ones, did not remove an intermediary between seeker and godhead. It just
replaced a priest with a superhuman "guru".
"Where do I find Palatuvani? Kindly suggest a source"
In two Hindi volumes under that title, published by kAshI nAgarI prachAriNI
sabhA.
"While Sant Kabir's social criticisms are very popular, there are only very
few takers of his spiritual/metaphysical view among the Hindus and almost none
among the muslims today."
But unlike the myth, there never were any Moslem takers of Kabir. Among them
though his son is a celebrated "Kamil Faqir" but not Kabir!
Kabir in his own life had disowned and denounced his son Kamal, who is today
revered by Moslems as a sufi. There are Kabir's own sayings recorded against
Kamal such as "bUDA bansa kabIra kA upajA pUta kamAla": 'Says Kabir consider my
bloodline finished, such is the son born to me'; and he publicly declared a
vaishya shiShya, dharmadAsa, to be his successor after him.
On the other hand, all the Sant Mat in North with its numerous varieties, is but the doing of
Kabir's thought alone.
Bhakta Mala says that the "bhakti" born in South was imported to North by
Ramanand, but it was Kabir who made it accessible throughout "the seven
continents and nine divisions".
(upajI bhakti drAviDI laye rAmAnnda,
kabirA tAhi prakAsiya sAta-dvIpa nava-khaNDa)
"Kabir Das, for example, called himself a child of Ram and Allah."
Neither Kabir's Ram was the Ram of Ramayana, nor his Allah the Allah of Qoran.
Whenever he uses any of these symbols he does so allegorically. For instance
when he says "Nabi" he does not mean the prophet but Aj~nA-chakra. ("kabirA
nainon bIcha nabI hai") In this he is only following the tradition of sahaja
yogis from at least 7th centuries of utilizing double meaning sAndhya bhAShA
which commoners will interpret in one way and initiated in another.
"This shows that he had never bothered to understand either
the Quran or the Ramayana."
He never read Qoran. But he did read Ramayana as he refers to many characters
(Ravan, Sita, Dasharatha) and its events throughout his sayings.
"A silence would have been understandable but declaring Allah to
be one's parent is a sign of Islamic conditioning."
Of course it is, but why forget that Kabir was born a Musalman, in a
semi-converted first generation Moslem family. In fact, he goes against his new
religion of birth back to the path of his grandparents, the nAtha yoga, is
something to marvel at, not at his Islamic conditioning which is natural anyways
as he was born a musalman.
"But Kabir Das would show his "courage" towards the defenseless Brahmins
by satirizing them even though the Brahmins were facing the brunt of the Islamic
sword"
Just 6/7 out of 300+ padas of bIjaka are addressed to the brahmin, and not more
than 4 are satiring the paNDita (not brahmin), and satiring not for anything
else but spiritual-ideological difference. Such as, in example of "paNDita lAde
baila..", he is criticising the preference of paNDita for scholarship over
spirituality. In about 3 padas of bIjaka he does criticise what can be called
Brahmin, for the untouchability.
Correction in what I had written:
"But he did read Ramayana as he refers to many characters
(Ravan, Sita, Dasharatha) and its events throughout his sayings."
Kabir was illiterate, so could have read nothing. What I meant was awareness
not reading.