Let the truth come out.
But lookie lookie here:

Posting here just in case the original link suddenly vanishes!
Original link:
http://www.folkkampanjen.se/milkas_konf ... 12.04.html
BTW "Folkkampanjen" = Peoples Campaign
Although several countries feel India as a NPT non-signatory should not be given membership, civil nuclear technology giants such as U.S., France and Russia have promised to back its bid as they feel its case is different from that of Pakistan and Israel.
Notice the language here:Taking a leaf out of Indira Gandhi's book, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has exhumed the 'foreign hand' bogey blaming it for putting the brakes on both the Kudankulam nuclear power project in Tamil Nadu and the commercialisation of GM food crops.
Going ballistic against people's groups in an interview which will appear in the journal Science on Friday, Singh alleged that NGOs opposed to the nuclear power project were funded by foreign countries.
In the 1970s, Indira Gandhi used to conveniently blame the 'foreign hand' for all ills plaguing her tenure as Prime Minister. She even justified the imposition of Emergency on this pretext.
Look at the virtol reserved for Indira Gandhi:Virtually declaring a war on civil society activists, Singh said: 'The atomic energy programme has run into difficulties because these NGOs, mostly I think based in the United States, don't appreciate the need for our country to increase energy supply.'
The PM was alluding to the stalled commissioning of the 1,000-MW, Russian-aided Kudankulam nuclear power plant.
Continuing his scathing attack on voluntary bodies for opposing the government's pet projects, the PM observed: 'There are NGOs, often funded from the United States and Scandinavian countries, which are not fully appreciative of the development challenges that our country faces.'
Singh backed his government's resolve to develop nuclear power as well as biotechnology in India, despite the opposition from various quarters.
He said he saw a major role for nuclear energy even after the Fukushima nuclear disaster in Japan in March 2011
Look at the experts lined up to counter the PM:Late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was known for using the 'foreign hand' bogey extensively.
She reportedly blamed all ills afflicting India on the 'foreign hand', which in those days usually meant U.S. spy agency the CIA.
Not surprisingly, India’s Iron Lady cited the foreign hand to declare the infamous
Emergency in 1975.
But then I guess there's really no cause for surprise. Even senior posters on this thread think Indian nuclear scientists are a bunch of incompetent fools. Incidentally Dr Mittra is a molecular biologist but of course she's more credible in nuclear matters than say Kakodkar.'The PM's statement is complete falsehood. We are not funded by any foreign source. The ministry of home affairs knows this because it has audited financial records of scores of NGOs and Church-affiliated organisations in Kanyakumari, Nagercoil and Tuticorin in the past few weeks and found no evidence,' Udayakumar pointed out.
'It is surprising why the PM is refusing to acknowledge that the people of this country have a mind of their own,' he added.
The remarks evoked a sharp response from other members of the civil society as well.
'There isn't an iota of evidence that foreign funding and nationals are instigating the anti-nuclear agitation. It is totally indigenous and has deep roots among the people. The only foreigners in the area are Russian personnel invited by the Nuclear Power Corporation,' Praful Bidwai of the Coalition for Nuclear Disarmament and Peace said.
Eminent scientist Dr Pushpa Mittra Bhargava also felt amazed at the statement: 'I am surprised the Prime Minister believes that the U.S. will fund NGOs that would oppose nuclear power projects and GM foods. He must surely know that the U.S. has been the biggest supporter of India's investment in nuclear power so that it can sell its reactors - for which there is no market in the U.S. - to India.'
Coming down severely on four Christian NGOs based in South Tamil Nadu, the Centre on Tuesday registered cases against them for alleged violation of the Foreign Contributions Regulation Act (FCRA) in the wake of the struggle committee against the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project (KNPP) intensifying their stir.
Right. So, names not being disclosed since it is a minority NGO. Secularism ki jai!!Officially, the names of these four NGOs are not being disclosed, as it is a sensitive matter pertaining to the minorities, obfuscating the otherwise good work they are doing to society at large. However, sources said that one of the NGOs is allegedly linked to the Catholic Church in Tuticorin and another NGO is suspected to have indirect links with S P Udayakumar, heading the anti-KNPP stir.
And the worthy who was given the gatepass. Guy is not a suited-booted guy and so, must be a innocent poor guy onleeSome weeks back, Home Ministry officials had swooped down on these NGOs premises as part of verifying the audited accounts of 12 NGOs, sources said. In that process some alleged discrepencies were noted in the above four NGOs, wherein large amount of cash received for charity work had been allegedly “misappropriated” and diverted. Investigators believe that those amounts could have been channelled to sustain the anti-Kudankulam nuclear plant campaign.
I hope the direct connection between Jaitapur and the current KKNPP is not forgotten when (not if but when) the turns comes for the Jaitapur agitation, just around the time when the French get down to building the plant. Selective amnesia at that time would be very unfortunate indeed. The same anti-national forces which are stirring up trouble in TN will be and IMO already are behind the Jaitapur agitation which has already claimed one unfortunate life.Philip wrote:According to PMANE quislings,"nature lover" Herr Hermann was only interested in dolphins and tree-planting and was not involved in "funding " the protests (how come they're so sure?).Yet chief rent-boy Udayakumar admits that Herr Hermann is an active anti-nuclear protester who participated in struggles across the globe and took part in protests at Jaitapur! They also have no explanation as to why Herr Hermann's laptop contained numerous pics of the KKM N-plant,protests at KKM and Jaitapur (why was he there,looking for more dolphins and trees?).Meanwhile the hotel staff of the rathole that Herr Hrermann used as his hideout,said that he left during the early morning and returned late at night and that they had no idea where he went or what he was upto.
^^^The moment of truth has arrived.
The NGOs that are at the centre of the latest action haven’t been named, but they are believed to be those associated with Bishop Yvon Ambroise, the Tuticorin church leader, who has been active in mobilising popular support for the protests at Kudankulam.
Two of the NGOs associated with Ambroise – the Tuticorin Diocese Association (TDA) and the Tuticorin Multipurpose Social Service Society (TMSSS) – have been working in the area of fishermen’s livelihood, and their support for the anti-nuclear agitation draws on the fears to the fisherfolks’ livelihood from the nuclear power plant.
But tell me Ramana, do you disagree that similar rants against the PM has been uttered on BRF on more than one occasion by multiple posters on multiple threads?ramana wrote:Yet amit you don't feel that ==Vandana Shiva's rants to BRF is putting aside likes and dislikes and rallying round the flag?
The pressure to sign up against Iran.I will stop pointing out such "similarities" on this thread any more. I sincerely believe this is very important and concerted last ditch attack on India's nuclear future and we do need to close ranks.
Oh Ramana, I've seen it that way for a long time. Let's just say it's the nature of what I do for a living that has allowed me to grow rather sensitive antlers for these things.ramana wrote:I was sure you would see it that way.
The pressure to sign up against Iran.I will stop pointing out such "similarities" on this thread any more. I sincerely believe this is very important and concerted last ditch attack on India's nuclear future and we do need to close ranks.
The drumbeat of heart Burns articles.
The Cardinal point on the Italian tanker job.
The use of NGOs to derail the energy security program.
The pressure to buy Arabian oil despite Indian refineries use of sour crude from Iran.
All are coming together on many fronts.
Here is my two cents worth, offered with due respect even if it is in a slightly discordant note amidst the present discussion:amit wrote: . . .
I hope the direct connection between Jaitapur and the current KKNPP is not forgotten when (not if but when) the turns comes for the Jaitapur agitation, just around the time when the French get down to building the plant. Selective amnesia at that time would be very unfortunate indeed. The same anti-national forces which are stirring up trouble in TN will be and IMO already are behind the Jaitapur agitation which has already claimed one unfortunate life.
. . .
Sanatanan ji,Sanatanan wrote:Here is my two cents worth, offered with due respect even if it is in a slightly discordant note amidst the present discussion:
I hold the view that technology-wise India's long term interests will be best served by constructing India designed and engineered PHWRs/FBRs at Jaitapur and everywhere else in India, and not French (or any other foreign) LWRs [which, in spite of being alien, have so far not even been subjected to competitive tender bids, a concession/trade-protection that ought to be given only for indigenous efforts, particularly as DAE/GOI is the sole agency entrusted with the task of nuclear technology development in India. I believe that even DAE/GOI would generally be required to place major orders for system and components used in the npps being constructed by them, on the basis of tender bids].
List of top five states who are recipients of foreign contribution (2009-10)
States Rupees in crore
Delhi 1815.91 (!!) (Isn't it obvious?)
Tamil Nadu 1663.31
Andhra Pradesh 1324.87
Karnataka 982.96
Maharashtra 920.98
List of top five donor countries (2009-10)
Countries Rupees in crore
USA 3105.73
Germany 1046.30
UK 1038.68
Italy 583.47
Netherlands 509.46
List of top five donor agencies (2009-10)
Name of agencies Rupees in crore
Gospel for Asia Inc (USA) 232.71
Fundacion Vicente Ferre( Spain) 228.60
World Vision Global Centre(USA) 197.62
Compassion International (USA) 131.57
HCL Holdings Private Limited (Mauritius) 94.28
Not to mention Afghanistan soon to be at the mercy of Talibans/Pakistan as well attmept to exercise some kind of military leverage via Eurofighter. The Brit reacted really bad while Germans were cool about it. Lets not even mention the sudden influence of Saudis in Congress.ramana wrote:I was sure you would see it that way.
The drumbeat of heart Burns articles.
The Cardinal point on the Italian tanker job.
The use of NGOs to derail the energy security program.
The pressure to buy Arabian oil despite Indian refineries use of sour crude from Iran.
All are coming together on many fronts.
From above DNA link. Source: Home MinistryList of top five recipient agencies in India (2009-10)
Name of agencies Rupees in crore
World Vision of India ( Tamil Nadu) 208.94
Rural Development Trust , Ananthapur( Andhra Pradesh) 151.31
Shri Sevasubramania Nadar Educational Charitable Trust , Chennai ( Tamil Nadu) 94.28
Believers Church India ,( Kerala ) 88.45
Caruna Bal Vikas ( Tamil Nadu) 82.60
Following Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's announcement that some NGOs are misusing foreign funds to fuel anti nuclear protests in India; the story gained momentum story with the government saying that it would furnish the proof of involvement of foreign funds in fomenting the anti-Koodankulum nuclear power plant protests in Tamil Nadu.
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_dn ... 05_1656442Published: Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012, 11:00 IST
The Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP) is mired in controversy now, but even work on the project began by violating Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) guidelines prohibiting mining activity within 5km of a nuclear power plant. India Cements was mining limestone 3km from the KKNPP site when excavation work for the plant began in 2001.
Though AERB stipulated that mining must end by 1994, the activity continued till November 2005 in an area comprising 219.975 hectares in Kudankulam village, according to documents with DNA.
Clearance for excavation work for the power plant was given in October 2001 "subject to compliance of stipulations like restriction on surface mining of limestone within exclusion and sterilised zone". However, the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) claims there was no violation of AERB guidelines as the board allowed surface scraping in March 2002 after construction work on the KKNPP began. "Since then, periodic inspection has been carried out to ensure the safety of the plant," the NPCIL said in its official response.
Though mining activities were going on in the region for over a decade before work on KKNPP began, they found no mention in the environment impact assessment carried out by the National Environmental Engineering and Research Institute for units 1 & 2 and in the expert committee's report later. The committee was formed last year to address safety issues related to KKNPP. "No mining activity is carried out by KKNPP," the panel’s report said.
"Since when did KKNPP become a mining company?" wondered activist Ravi Kumar, a resident of Kudankulam. "Despite AERB's inspections twice a year of the KKNPP site to verify compliance with regulatory requirements, none of the government reports mentions the mining activity."
It was only when the People's Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE) raised the issue that the government admitted that mining by India Cements continued even after work on KKNPP began.
The latest report by the expert committee said India Cements was allowed to carry out mining activities considering the advanced technology adopted by it. However, when KKNPP was cleared in 1989, the AERB stipulated that mining must end by 1994. "Arrangements must be made to terminate the lease of the limestone quarry in 1994," said a clearance letter, which is in DNA's possession.
India Cements said the latest technology of surface scraping using a surface miner would be deployed to ensure that the topography remained intact and the atmosphere remained free of pollution. "With the use of these machines, limestone quarrying could be carried out without drilling and blasting," the expert committee's report said. The permission was granted in violation of AERB stipulations while sanctioning KKNPP.
Independent experts said mining should not have been allowed in the region as the KKNPP site is a possible Karst region - a vulnerable landscape. Geographical events that took place after 1998 and other reports prove that the place can turn into a Karst region. Karst is a special landscape formed by the dissolution of soluble rocks and is most vulnerable to natural hazards.
"Had the NPCIL known that the crust over which KKNPP is located has thinned out, it would not have allowed mining activity in the region at all," said Dr R Ramesh, who has written a book on the geology of Kudankulam. However, the NPCIL was adamant. "Since it is just a surface-scraping activity instead of mining involving blasting or drilling, it is not a matter of concern," it said.
Land for the Kudankulam project was acquired by the Tamil Nadu government. A government order (GO) issued to this effect in 1991 laid down conditions to be followed within 5km of the proposed plant. The GO granted permission to India Cements to continue with its mining operations till the lease expired in 1994 or when work on the project began, whichever was earlier.
When infrastructure work related to KKNPP began in 1993-94, India Cements sought permission to continue quarrying limestone. The department of atomic energy (DAE) issued a "no-objection certificate" to the state government in 1996, stipulating that only surface mining should be carried out in the areas identified within the plant boundary.
The mining lease was extended for five years by the state government in 1999 with conditions that collection of limestone must be done by surface scraping only and that India Cements must vacate the area when required by the DAE.
After the five-year period ended, India Cements made another request to continue its mining operations. It got an extension for a year following NPCIL's request to the AERB. The mining operations ceased in November 2005.
I read it.Kailash wrote:DNA investigations: Kudankulam’s lurking dangers
Not everything is so black and white..
various studies carried out by government agencies as well as experts suggest that the site is unsafe for a nuclear project.
Another burqa-ed stripper.However, a 1982 study reported in a noted journal documents the presence of two slumps — the East Comorin and Colombo — in the vicinity of the site. A ‘slump’ is a massive agglomeration of loosely-bound sediment on the sea bed that may suffer large submarine landslides, causing mega-tsunamis
All in good time amit, that will also happen. Spin has limits.amit wrote:But till date nobody has been able to prove that whatever actions, missteps, gaffes - name it what you will - done by Manmohan Singh was due to him catering to foreign interests, lobbies.
A meaningful India first approach Sir, wont find traction for those who are looking as India as market for their shoddy tech goods under the guise of "free power" and "poverty alleviation" and all that stuff.Sanatanan wrote:Here is my two cents worth, offered with due respect even if it is in a slightly discordant note amidst the present discussion:
Couldn't agree with you more. We've seen this being played out all the way from the nuclear test debate, to the Nuclear deal to the more recent Fukushima debate where someone loudly proclaimed right after the accident that "its only a matter of time before thousands of Japanese die of radiation poisoning." Last I checked more people died of a dam burst on account of the earthquake in the Fukushima Prefecture than from the Fukushima Daiichi accident.Sanku wrote:Spin has limits.
Ah back to regular scheduled programming of putting words in others mouth I see, well natural considering that when one does not have anything to say oneself.amit wrote:Couldn't agree with you more. We've seen this being played out all the way from the nuclear test debate, to the Nuclear deal to the more recent Fukushima debate where someone loudly proclaimed right after the accident that "its only a matter of time before thousands of Japanese die of radiation poisoning." Last I checked more people died of a dam burst on account of the earthquake in the Fukushima Prefecture than from the Fukushima Daiichi accident.Sanku wrote:Spin has limits.
In some cases it's not even spin any more. More of a fantasy %$# dream.
The current one will pan out to be just the same.
Call that statement a spin if you will.
Thank you.
Well SSridhar, you have to stop the repeated personal attacks on members when they criticize the Congress or Man mohan or other political figures.SSridhar wrote:Sanku, please desist from unproductive personal exchanges.
amit-ji,amit wrote: Sanatanan ji,
On the basis of reading your many posts on this thread, I'm firmly convinced that you have far more deeper understanding of the subject matter than I do. Please note I'm saying this with utmost sincerity.
However, I feel there are two issues involved here. The first is developing indigenous capability, be it in PHWRs/FBRs or in the recent intriguing mention of local LWRs that we discussed some months ago.
. . .
SSridhar-ji; If I may, please check your email.SSridhar wrote:Sanku, I do not need any advise from you on how I should discharge my administrative functions.
When I ask you, as an admin, to desist from doing something, I am not expecting a counter argument from you. If you don't like, you can go to better fora where admins may be more indulgent.
You have been issued a warning now.
Power crisis wouldn't have occurred had it helped in commissioning project
Coming out strongly in support of the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP), DMK president M. Karunanidhi on Wednesday said there would have been no grave power crisis in Tamil Nadu had the State government helped scientists and engineers commission the project in Tirunelveli district in the last eight months.
While criticising the anti-Kudankulam agitators, Mr. Karunanidhi wanted to know the mystery and reason behind the State government remaining silent and extending support to the protesters who were up in arms against the KKNPP and other nuclear plants.
Pointing out that the nuclear plant at Kalpakkam, near Chennai, had been functioning without posing any danger all these years, the DMK chief said it was a mystery that there was indirect support for the protests against the Kudankulam project.
“Why has the State government been silent so far,” he asked, addressing a function organised in connection with the birthday of DMK treasurer M.K. Stalin.
‘Incongruous'
Mr. Karunanidhi found it incongruous that at a time when Tamil Nadu was reeling under a power crisis, the State government was silent over opposition to a project capable of generating 1000 MWe (first unit of Kudankulam).
He said the government had so far not answered the question whether it was instigating the people at and around Kudankulam against the project and extending them financial assistance. “The government is maintaining silence. But the world has realised it. Those who know the truth have to go through the anguish quietly. Though fully aware of the situation, some politicians are pretending as if they don't know anything. Some people are openly expressing their view, as they are left with no option.”
‘Uncertainty'
The DMK leader also wondered whether the protesters had the backing and blessings of the government or whether there was a deal between them since the person leading the protest had said he was ready to listen to the rulers of the State. Mr. Karunanidhi accused the government of creating uncertainty over the plant's future by allowing the protests to continue.
Noting that the protesters had rejected earlier reports on the plant's safety aspects, he said there now seemed to be a possibility of the project being allowed to function in the wake of a report submitted by the State government's expert committee. What could be the secret behind these developments, he wondered.
“Who are playing these games? Who are behind it? Though there is an argument that the Americans are behind it because it [the plant] was set up by the Russians, and other similar claims, it is clear that it is the Tamil people who are suffering because of this.”
The Western Ghats Ecology Expert Panel (WGEEP) has slammed the Maharashtra government for clearing the Andhra Lake Wind Power Project promoted by Enercon (India) Limited.
Situated near the Bhimashankar Wildlife Sanctuary here, the 113 MW wind energy project has caused “substantial forest destruction and triggered large scale soil erosion,” according to the panel.
“This project should not have been cleared at all without completing the constitution of a Ecologically Sensitive Zone [ESZ] in the region and the implementation of the Forest Rights Act [FRA],” the panel, headed by noted ecologist Madhav Gadgil, said.
The Hindu has a copy of the report, which has not yet been made public by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, which constituted the panel in 2010.
The newspaper first reported about green activists' concern about the ecological impact of the project on April 10, 2011. The Rs.772-crore project, spread over 14 villages of the Khed and Maval talukas, covers 194.66 hectares of reserve forest land. The report noted that the region is in “biodiversity rich evergreen forests and home to Maharashtra's State animal, the Malabar Giant Squirrel.”
According to the panel, an ESZ should have been constituted in a 10 km radius of the Bhimashankar sanctuary, according to a 2002 resolution of the Indian Board of Wildlife (IBWL). While noting that no action was taken about the resolution, the panel states that the principal chief conservator of forests (PPCF) had written to the State government in 2004 asking for a proposal, but without any results.
“The Forest Department,” the report says, “is colluding with wind mill project operators in also illegally denying citizens access to these hills… There are many traditional forest dwellers on these hills. Not only are their rights under the Forest Rights Act not being recognised, they are being illegally restrained in their movements on hills they have inhabited for centuries.”
“Apart from substantial forest destruction [including Forest Department estimates of about 28,000 trees being cut] via wide roads cutting huge swathes through Reserve Forest, the wind mill project has triggered large scale erosion and landslides through poor construction of roads with steep gradients, and all this rubble is ending up on fertile farmland and in reservoirs of tributaries of the Krishna.”
Sanatanan ji,Sanatanan wrote:wrote...
I’m very glad you’ve posted your views. IMO they constitute a very credible interpretation of how things could pan out. Ultimately we are desh bhakts who are trying understand how things shape up for India. We can only increase our knowledge and understanding if we discuss several different possibilities and hopefully come up with the correct interpretation which is a mix of different POVs.I do realise that many may not agree with my views expressed above. Fair enough, since in our country widely differing view points and philosophies have co-existed for centuries -- for example dvaita, advaita and visishta-advaita schools of thought. Only, my second apprehensionis that the validity of my views may get conclusively proven (if at all!) only at a much later date -- by which time it might be too late to effect the necessary midcourse corrections.
Thanks for the timely reminder, I'll try to keep unproductive exchanges down. From past experience I know things tend to go downhill when all unproductive posts are responded to.SSridhar wrote:amit & Sanku, please desist from unproductive personal exchanges.
http://www.deccanherald.com/content/231 ... rthed.htmlChennai, Feb 29, 2012, DHNS:
The Tamil Nadu police in Nagercoil have claimed that funds worth Rs 12 crore were allegedly channelled to fuel protests against the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project (KNPP) via four NGOs, now under Central scan, with help of German deportee Reiner Hermann.
The sensational disclosure came amid the Centre stepping up its offensive against anti-KNPP protesters. A laptop seized from Hermann reportedly contains vital information and photos of the deportee’s movements.
Hermann was sent back home from Chennai on Tuesday after cancelling his tourist visa. The state Q-Branch Police on Intelligence Bureau’s tip-off had tailed him for a month in Nagercoil, which uncovered his links with NGOs as part of a wide anti-nuclear campaign discretely on for some years now.
While the police cyber crime cell is deciphering data from Hermann’s laptop, the police are tight-lipped about the details, except that Hermann was under Central surveillance for quite some time now since the anti-KNPP protests swelled from September last, raising eyebrows over the activists’ source of funds.
As the anti-KNPP protest is identified with the People’s Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE) led by S P Udayakumar, the latest developments have put the anti-nuke activists on the defensive in the run-up to the meeting with Chief Minister J Jayalalitha at Secretariat here on Wednesday. Three other PMANE members were also present.
Udayakumar, after the meeting, reiterated that he had not received money from any foreign organisation or NGO and that the bank accounts of his family and himself were open to scrutiny. He brought papers along with his property details to show them to the chief minister. Udayakumar said he had “no idea” of the four NGOs whose bank accounts had been frozen after a police investigation into their activities.
The PMANE members’ meeting with Jayalalitha came just a day after a four-member State panel to study the safety and other aspects of the KNPP, headed by former chairman of Atomic Energy Commission M R Srinivasan, submitted its report to the government on Tuesday.
Udayakumar said the PMANE team had expressed its concerns again over the KNPP’s safety. The Srinivasan panel’s report was based on “one-sided information” as the experts talked neither to the group of scientists assisting PMANE nor with Kudankulam residents, he said.
Concerns shared
The PMANE members also shared with Jayalalitha their dismay over Atomic Energy Regulatory Board members’ recent visit to the nuclear plant complex to start operations when, post-Fukushima disaster, international norms “require that volcanic hazard study” be conducted before commencing operations of any nuclear plant worldwide.
Udaykumar said the chief minister did not discuss with them the contents of the Srinivasan panel report. Nonetheless, under the dramatically changing circumstances in the last few days, Udayakumar beat a strategic retreat by leaving it to Jayalalitha to decide the next course of action. “We have given her all the documents about the KNPP; she assured us she will go through all of them and decide,” he said.
Sanatanan-ji; you are indeed a Seer, of deep visions, and perfect finger on the naadi.Sanatanan wrote: 6) Before I end this post, I would like to present a scenario. Suppose the nuclear deal had not been entered into. Then there would not have been this artificial "civilian-military separation". Then, the Koodangulam plant site would have carried the tag of "strategic property". In that situation, options available to GOI to overcome the recalcitrant and agitational approach of a few NGOs, and get the plant up and running might have been totally different and more effective.
JMT.
Theo,Theo_Fidel wrote:Sanatanan,
Few more things to be kept in mind.
- Imported reactors cost double or triple that of indigenous reactors.
- Bigger reactors are harder to control for all the reasons observed at Fukushima. Active systems become necessary.
- Every one of the imported reactors need enriched Uranium which India does not produce.
- They have very specific fuel rod designs that will be imported for the lifetimes of the reactors. We will be locked in. Even at Kudankulam fuel has to come from Russia every year. Imported.
- The APHWR is designed to use Thorium in a limited way. Even this limited use is impossible with imported reactors.