The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
If you see the LSP-7 test video starting, there is a bucket with a female DRDO ground staff on tow tractor. Now I get the point why they carried the bucket at test range.
IAF test pilot and DRDO workforce after flight love and engagement... Water work
Images @- Tarmak
Very interesting photo. Check how the soldier is scanning the neighborhood building. Another is also looking at the other side to see if there is an activity.
A lot of such lessons were learnt during IPKF deployments in SL. Depinder Singh mentions one such incident in his book.
chackojoseph wrote:
Can some one explain the pink paint on the wall here? Its a very bright pink. Could be some camo to go with the ice?
This area is occupied by the rare pink elephant and poachers will kill them unless they are given some place to blend into the background. The paint is an environment friendly gesture.
shiv wrote:The paint is an environment friendly gesture.
There are other colors too. Why pink?
For the brown elephants of the region?
Chacko - I am joking. I think those buildings have been rented out to the army and are not meant for combat use. They have probably been painted by the owners. That is why there is this big ceremony handing a cheque to the landlord showing how the army is aiding the economy of the region as a good tenant.
The paint on bottom of the extreme right (left of your screen) house in one of two photo is chipped.
Shivji,
Raised platform with that tin roof and thin window is an army construction. It is not a typical rental agreement as I understand. It was taken over first, then rent was negotiated after years of bickering.
Anyway, couldn't find anything to tie pink with camo on net. Must be some color blind painter.
May be you are looking in the wrong direction ... May be it not supposed to be camouflaged in. It is rather common to have a pink or orange distress colours as they are visible from very far amongst the snow.
IMO, Indranil and Prithwiraj replies come close. They have painted it light pink so that it is distinguishable in snow from the 'close,' and not made it too bright.
May be you are looking in the wrong direction ... May be it not supposed to be camouflaged in. It is rather common to have a pink or orange distress colours as they are visible from very far amongst the snow.
Or may be the procurement(commercial) officer's wife's favourite colour...(bad joke)
I tried to edit my post to add the link. The feature is disabled. I guess, you will have to give more time for posters to edit their post. So I am adding the new link in this new post. Please do the needful for me to edit my posts.
That chopper looks like it was obsolete in 1960. It is maddening to me how the IN is starved of funds despite being the most forward looking of the three services.
Tejas -that is IMS Vikrant the Museum, you donot expect operations aircrafts to be put on display in musuems, do you?.
To the Guru's' the nose wheel seems to be protruding outwards, I thought the chetak's had their nose wheel facing inwards, please clarify.
tejas wrote:That chopper looks like it was obsolete in 1960. It is maddening to me how the IN is starved of funds despite being the most forward looking of the three services.
I don't know what your point is. The Chetak & Cheetah are still flown by the IAF and usually for casevac and OP in lousy terrain.
My point is the Indian armed forces should probably be using helicopters designed/built after the 1962 war with China.
Well if it serves the purpose, why not keep using them? Age of the technology has nothing to do with its utility. Even TFTA Khans with a defence budget larger than the rest of the world's put together use Vietnam era and Korean War era aircraft.