Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

Yogi_G wrote:At 40-50% margin levels I beg to disagree. I operate my own projects at 60% margins with the total costs not to exceed 40%. Most IT companies have extremely high margin levels and given that fact that they operate at such levels means the employees in fact are under-paid.
Another question I have is for how long IT companies operate at such huge profit margins? Some where down the line this would have a fall out right? Either operating costs have to be reduced again, or else companies should bring down their profit margin. Reducing profit margin would be sacrilege for the IT-Vity Majors and Colonels as in many cases they have shown to be true-blue copies of the old Lala who is trying NOT to give away a single paisa.

Sachin wrote:
Yogi_G wrote:At 40-50% margin levels I beg to disagree. I operate my own projects at 60% margins with the total costs not to exceed 40%. Most IT companies have extremely high margin levels and given that fact that they operate at such levels means the employees in fact are under-paid.
Another question I have is for how long IT companies operate at such huge profit margins? Some where down the line this would have a fall out right? Either operating costs have to be reduced again, or else companies should bring down their profit margin. Reducing profit margin would be sacrilege for the IT-Vity Majors and Colonels as in many cases they have shown to be true-blue copies of the old Lala who is trying NOT to give away a single paisa.
Refer to the previous discussion in the thread as to how costs are kept in control by hiring non-Btech grads and bringing in freshers. Also tier-2 and tier-3 cities model etc etc. Billing rates wont increase but project margins are kept level in spite of increasing wages across the board. That's where the dark-temple-idol worshipping Yindoo baniya's Kafir mind is at its best :twisted:. Russia and India had pretty much the same start in IT with the former higher up in skills but look at the global delivery models that Indian companies have built and compare that to the Russian no-show. Contrary to perception the wage levels are only marginally disparate between India and Russia. 100-150$$ a month is what a store clerk makes in Russia and that is not much different from what the store clerks in India make. A good solid experienced IT project/technical lead in India makes about 15 lakhs which is roughly 30,000 $ and thats what his counterpart in Russia would too. A 3-4 year experienced IT chap in India would make around 10,000 $ and so is the case in Russia. Russia's higher GDP speaks for the country's skewed income distribution but all said and done Patel project manager is 400% better onlee than Ivan project manager in scaling up.

What's with the "low-tech" and sweatshop terms frequently used in context of Indian IT industry? Its the same as how no one uses it when describing Taiwanese or South Korean electronics shops but only uses them for China? Aren't we aping the western stereotypes here? Each IT company worth its salt has a niche technical group which builds cutting edge stuff. The routine stuff is well, routine but no work is "low tech". Let's keep the self-flagellation at bay, we have done well and we are moving up the value chain, just as Japan did from the 1950s to the present day.

vera_k wrote:Cloud over Microsoft, Infosys, Wipro campuses in Andhra Pradesh
salaries of existing employees would be halfed and for those who came in late, they would be asked to go back to selling Refined Palm Oil in Western India (Wipro had always stood for Western India Palm Refined Oil).
So more cloud computing projects for these then? #PJVitis. :P

Marten wrote:Those are Project Margins. Corporate operating would be lower. ~ 25% for the largest and 40% for the much smaller sweatshops.
Many of the IT-Vity companies have the management and other sys admin roles somehow billed to the customer. The Sys Admin company in my company pays for itself by 50% by doing the odd consultation tasks to the customer. The Yindoo project managers are finding new ways to move all non-billable resources to some form of billing bucket, the ways they find are very innovative and in some cases outright shameless :mrgreen: . But all is fair in love, war and IT onlee.

http://www.baselinemag.com/c/a/Careers/ ... 042012STR6
Millions of Jobs Could Be Sent Overseas

By Dennis McCafferty on 2012-04-02

While many hope the recovery of the U.S. economy will create domestic job opportunities, a recent report from the Hackett Group finds that the U.S. job market will continue to face challenges. Many jobs will be off-shored in the coming years to nations such as China and India. These “low-cost geography” nations appeal to organizations that strive to keep operating costs low. As a result, the wave of migrating opportunities should have a considerable impact over the next several years. However, the Hackett Group reports that this trend will begin to decline by 2014, and then the outflow of jobs will likely cease because companies will run out of positions that are suitable for moving to these nations. The research was compiled via available data on 4,700 companies with annual revenues over $1 billion headquartered in the United States and Europe.

http://www.thehackettgroup.com/research ... ng-update/

focuS: inDia
India remains the destination of choice for most companies that have established GBS organizations or plan to do so. Hackett’s 2011 Business Services
Globalization research identified India as the number-one location for GBS centers: 74% of companies consider India to be a top potential destination for new
capacity, followed by China at 55%. Nevertheless, India’s overall share in total
business services capacity in low-cost destinations is expected to decline slightly,
from 39% in 2011 to 38% in 2013.
Combining anticipated growth by region with projections of business services jobs
moving into low-cost geographies between 2012 and 2016 reveals that India will
create fewer than 300,000 jobs from these traditional source of demand (Fig. 7).
(Note that this does not include any demand from technology services providers;
demand for business services outside of the areas of finance, HR, IT and procurement; or domestic demand.)
StratEgic implicationS
Projections of continued elimination of business services work in developed
economies will have major ramifications for developed and emerging economies
alike. First, companies need to plan for a reduction in the size of their business services organizations in developed markets. In Europe, there may be legal hurdles to
downsizing, while in the US, offshoring can be a public relations nightmare. Also,
employee engagement tends to suffer when there are questions about job security.
Companies need to rigorously adopt best practices for handling downsizings,
including clear and open communication and reliance on natural attrition to the
maximum extent.
As the composition of the global labor force changes, strengthening talent management practices will be of paramount importance. Traditional talent management practices based on a top-down, command and control culture are ineffective
for managing a global service delivery organization. Talent management practices
must balance global process standards with local cultural differences.
Rest of world
Operations in emerging markets also must make preparations. There is an urgent
need to elevate the capabilities of staff to be able to function in a globally connected organization. This transition may involve transfer of senior executives into
these geographies, developing local leadership talent, and facilitating the adoption
of company cultures and values. India, which has the longest history of providing
business services in a global context, will be most affected by this transition

http://www.thehackettgroup.com/research ... recast.pdf

Looks like INFY's been resume cooking as well.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed ... 41425.aspx

Infosys US woes tarnish India's outsourcing industry
Infosys' legal troubles in the United States may complicate life for India's feted outsourcing industry. Outsourcers have been a relative bright spot in a market dogged by worries about India's growth prospects. But an investigation into allegations Infosys broke visa rules to get Indian
employees into the United States will put them on eggshells. Until the air clears, this is another reason to avoid Indian stocks.

Indian outsourcers have been a shelter of sorts for investors, offering a way to play the India theme without the worries about domestic growth and political paralysis. They had a recession-proof appeal: companies eager to cut costs in good times would be more desperate to do so in bad times. As a result, Infosys shares had fallen only 8% in 2012 up to April 13, while market heavyweight Reliance Industries had slid 26%.

w.r.t Network readiness survey ,India is ranked 1 in affordability. So its connection services are the cheapest in the world ..

yeah good chart.. squarely points to where we need to focus:
- skills
- infrastructure /content
- innovations
- personalize/individual usage - products and services/innovation related.

Pretty ok article

Check this out --> Four myths about Indian IT-BPO industry
gunjur

Post by gunjur »

Yahoo plans to shut down over 50 'non-core' products

One of my friends who works in yahoo india, was saying lot of downsizing is happenening there.

A lot of dead wood and projects being removed from there. Not surprising that yahoo numbers showed a slight upside after the new CEO took over.
gunjur

Post by gunjur »

60% companies plan to increase spend on IT
Technology, infrastructure and manufacturing sectors too have more than 50 per cent of budgets planned for innovation. Real estate and construction sectors, along with life sciences, still continue to plan larger spends of more than 60 per cent for maintenance and compliance," the report said.
About 43 per cent of respondents identified reduction in costs as an important initiative, while 42 per cent identified improving infotech function effectiveness as a priority for FY 2012-13.

http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/cio-in ... ag=nl.e019

How Indian outsourcing’s hunt for skills is boosting women and cutting bias
By Saritha Rai
April 30, 2012, 8:51 AM PDT
Takeaway: What started with the Indian services industry’s attempts to attract talent through women-friendly policies now extends to all parts of the equality agenda.

Competition for talent in India's IT industry has made it more diverse and inclusive than any other in the subcontinent. Photo: Namas Bhojani

A couple of decades ago, women graduating from one of the thousands of colleges in India had limited options. If they went with the more popular career choices of the time, they could teach in a school, work at a bank or for the government. These days, they have another professional avenue - the IT services industry.

According to official data, India’s IT and BPO services industry employs some three million workers. Today about a quarter or more of these are women, says India’s industry trade body Nasscom. That is up from a fifth of the workforce in 2007. A recent study, Diversity in Action by Nasscom and PricewaterhouseCoopers, suggests the number of women workers is steadily growing. That change represents a generational shift.

Why does the moronic DDM club data from IT and BPO sectors? why do BRFites (presumbly better knowing) post them here? Just because some semi-literate kids get to work as glorified technicians with a computer screen front of them they get tagged along with IT? So its the computer screen in front of them connects that them with the larger IT sector?

What the about the data separately for IT and BPO sectors?

IT alone data will be an eye opener for feminist libtards.
and the scene will get even more interesting if IT spectrum is scanned from managed services -> support -> testing -> system integration -> app development -> product development -> S/W R&D -> H/W design. similarly if one goes upwards from S/W engineer /developer -> sr. developer -> team leads -> designers -> architects -> product line managers etc. the data will show similar trend.
in fact in some slots there is a complete absence of women.
gunjur

Post by gunjur »

Indians spent least on legal software in 2011
According to the 2011 Global Software Piracy Study - done by independent firm Business Software Alliance (BSA), about 63 per cent of Indians used pirated software, as compared to 64 per cent last year.
“The commercial value of software piracy was $2.7 billion in 2010 that increased to $2.9 billion in 2011 as prices of such software also increased during the year,” Ms Lizum Mishra, Director, BSA India, told reporters.
The most vulnerable country was the US, which bought $9.8 billion worth of pirated software against sales of $42 billion legal software. China followed by spending $8.9 billion on pirated software and $12.6 billion on legal software, BSA said in its report.
The report said 20 per cent of respondents in India admitted to acquiring software illegally “all of the time,” “most of the time” or “occasionally,” while 23 per cent said they do it “rarely.”
The study also found that software pirates in India are predominantly male, aged between 25 and 34 years.
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

Unbelievable stupidity.

Vimeo, DailyMotion, Pastebin, Xmarks & Major Torrent Sites Blocked in India

I just tried dailymotion.com, and it gives me a "Site blocked due to court order" message.
paramu

Post by paramu »

I think there were some requirement to remove objectionable contents from some websites. Looks like these sites did not oblige.
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

No, it is not related to that. The producers of the film "3" apparently filed case in court against someone or other to prevent their film from being pirated. In response, the court ordered ISPs to block any sites that could be used to pirate the film. So bam -- a blanket ban on a number of video sites, without taking into account how much of an over-reach it is to block an entire site because somebody *might* upload a pirated video to it.

Youtube, the biggest video site of all, is not blocked -- probably because there would be too much of a hue and cry if it was.

This is just another example of how technologically illiterate people in positions of power in India are -- both in the judiciary and at the ISPs.

It is not technological illiteracy that is the heart of this problem. They have violated the basic principle of natural justice - that a person should be considered innocent until proven guilty. They sites were banned merely because they 'might' do piracy. There is no suspicion that they did it, just that they 'might'.

Abhijeet, I can access dailymotion.com site using vpn connection :)
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

Yes, you'd be able to do it with a proxy as well. The point is not my personal ability to access DailyMotion -- it's not a site I visit, and there are any number of ways around this clumsy ban -- it's the principle of people arbitrarily blocking access to anything they want at the drop of a hat. What next, a ban on the whole Internet because somebody might do something "offensive" online?

Abhijeet wrote:Unbelievable stupidity.

Vimeo, DailyMotion, Pastebin, Xmarks & Major Torrent Sites Blocked in India

I just tried dailymotion.com, and it gives me a "Site blocked due to court order" message.
+1 for the stupidity. If it is about pirated / objectionable content then why not go ahead and ban Google! Google probably caches almost every page it crawls. Or even better ban internet.

Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

The third day that DailyMotion and Vimeo -- at least, I haven't checked the other sites -- are still blocked. There is no outrage about this in the media, nothing in the newspapers as far as I can tell. Two of the biggest video sites in the world blocked completely, and not a whisper from anyone. Truly a country still in the dark ages. I can reach them easily using a proxy, of course.

This is why I laugh whenever people here get all righteous about how much we value freedom in India, how much better than China we are, etc. Freedom of expression in India is mostly by default -- it only means that someone hasn't gotten it into their head to get "offended" by any particular thing you have access to. It's quite easy to shut off anything that "offends" someone -- especially about something like the Internet that is still a hazy concept to 95%+ of the population.

There is no commitment -- in the general populace, in the judiciary, and certainly not in the government -- to freedom of expression as a general principle. Censorship of anything is accepted as normal, even desirable, lest something "offensive" happen when people express themselves freely.
Last edited by Abhijeet on 19 May 2012 15:46, edited 1 time in total.
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

The Indian proposal in Geneva is to move control of the Internet from ICANN to a UN body run by world governments. No thanks. I can't think of a worse outcome for the Internet. It's far better for the Internet to remain under a private organization like ICANN, with all its flaws, than to be controlled by a bunch of visionless, censorship-minded governments -- India rising rapidly up that list.

I hope this proposal is thrown out quickly.

Before I come to the point , I want to make it clear that I am very much pro-piracy , as long as the current cartel of publishing houses/record industry and copyright lawyers remain in business. I have a massive collection of ebooks ,which exceeds library of many American and most Indian med-schools .. I have uploaded them all to to varoius torrent sites , using often the network of my med-school/university/hospital library . :evil:.. I frequently share the institutional access passwords of various medical journals.

I have a rationale for my behaviour. Most textbooks are way over priced and publishing cartels are like mafia barons.. Barring celebrated authors , royalties received by chapter authors are often meagre...In case of journal articles it is often worse. One of my teachers wanted to access an paper written by me and the springerlink site would only allow its access after the teacher paid 30 USD ..None of the authors receive any of the money . Companies like Mcgraw hill ,elsevier , Mosby ,Wiley etc book massive profits for merely publishing and distributing scientific literature produced by someone else . So I have no compunction in working against them. I have even uploaded a book in which I have co-authored a chapter.. (no big deal , the book has 500 chapters , each with separate authors) .
This is why I laugh whenever people here get all righteous about how much we value freedom in India, how much better than China we are, etc. Freedom of expression in India is mostly by default -- it only means that someone hasn't gotten it into their head to get "offended" by any particular thing you have access to. It's quite easy to shut off anything that "offends" someone -- especially about something like the Internet that is still a hazy concept to 95%+ of the population.
I am no fan of the Indian govt and its actions. But I think you are being somewhat hypocritical. US regularly blocks sites when some big pocket publishing/record company wants them out..eg Megaupload

http://www.megaupload.com/?c=tools

>>especially about something like the Internet that is still a hazy concept to 95%+ of the population.

presently 10% (12 crore people) of the Indian population is said to have internet access..The number of subscribers are growing at 20-30% + rate..

About 5 crore Indian people are using facebook presently..

http://www.socialbakers.com/facebook-st ... -intervals

When it reaches a certain threshold , (like when > 50% people begin using the internet , > 20 crore facebook/Social networt users) , any action against internet user would become impossible...

So if the government tries any funny business , backlash will be catastrophic..

I am wary of the gobermint designs ..But I doubt they ll succeed ..
Last edited by gakakkad on 19 May 2012 17:19, edited 2 times in total.

Re:

ravigupta wrote:Sapient has cancelled all the offer letters it gave to freshers this year.:evil: Many companies are delaying the joining date by few months.
And CISCO has resorted to downright fraud.It offered 7.1 as CTC at campus PPT and in offer letter it is giving 6.1 and delayed joining. :evil: :evil:
Sign of things to come ? :(
Do fresh Engineers make 6.1 L CTC, thats more MBA ish

CSCO freshers always crib their classmates in juniper, ericsson, huawei, not to speak of google or microsoft make much more.
I would agree that CSCO fresher pay and even upto mid level is poorer than its peers in general.
but FWIW it compensates for it in other ways or so the HR claim is.

they also have another problem that might affect joining dates - there is zero free cubes for new hires. in response a mobile worker policy is in place in some new buildings where nobody gets a assigned cube and the hope is that with some people on avg being on PTO and WFH, around 70% cubes will suffice. engineers hate it as they cannot personalize their cubes and nobody wants to be packed 3-4 into small conf rooms which is the overflow buffer and thats precisely where new hires have to spend months in the wilderness until someone leaves and joins a competitor and space opens up. the policy has been bashed by engineers at several levels but so far thats the scene in india.

as soon as a building comes online, others who are exiled to nearby rented buildings move in. new hires are at bottom of food chain :mrgreen: half of them will leave inside of 2 yrs for MS / mtech / MBA , and another 25% to competition, only 25% might stick around long enough to make significant contribution.

Re: Re:

ravigupta wrote:Sapient has cancelled all the offer letters it gave to freshers this year.:evil: Many companies are delaying the joining date by few months.
And CISCO has resorted to downright fraud.It offered 7.1 as CTC at campus PPT and in offer letter it is giving 6.1 and delayed joining. :evil: :evil:
Sign of things to come ? :(
This has happened before. First wave was after Y2K crash, Second wave during 2008 crash. This is the third cycle.

In a way it is very good. It helps other sectors to get talented engineers. Right now these ITVity companies are taking the cream from every conceivable engineering branch.

gakakkad saab
You are the Prince Robinhood of the internet 8) proud of ya. I have a 8 MBPS line in my home in Hyderabad. I do contribute my part with sharing important and precious books.
However I am against sharing material which compromises any Indian owned publisher. I cant go against my country. I hope you do the same.

Abhijeet wrote:The Indian proposal in Geneva is to move control of the Internet from ICANN to a UN body run by world governments. No thanks. I can't think of a worse outcome for the Internet. It's far better for the Internet to remain under a private organization like ICANN, with all its flaws, than to be controlled by a bunch of visionless, censorship-minded governments -- India rising rapidly up that list.

I hope this proposal is thrown out quickly.
Imagine the situation if they put someone like Renuka Choudhury as our envoy in the UN to control internet. I would have to hire a hitman myself to take her out.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Abhijeet wrote:The third day that DailyMotion and Vimeo -- at least, I haven't checked the other sites -- are still blocked. There is no outrage about this in the media, nothing in the newspapers as far as I can tell. Two of the biggest video sites in the world blocked completely, and not a whisper from anyone. Truly a country still in the dark ages. I can reach them easily using a proxy, of course.
This is where BSNL's laziness is good.They have never blocked any of such sites as far as I know.

Altair wrote:
Imagine the situation if they put someone like Renuka Choudhury as our envoy in the UN to control internet. I would have to hire a hitman myself to take her out.
Let the total number of Internet users come to 30 or 40 crore (from the present figure of 12 crore) and than the fun will start... Presently 5 crore Indians are there in FB..Let it come to 20 crore (in a few years time)..

Cable news channels had to be taken seriously once the viewer base touched 20 crores (happened sometimes in 90s) .... Political parties managed to buy out new an-chors...But internet is unstoppable..cannot be bought off.

.CON party is aware of the fact that the internet user crowd will not form its vote bank..

I suspect that the recent TRAI regulations are a purposeful attempt to hamper the telecom industry and thereby the internet user ship...From various reports it is apparent that wireless data services will become the dominant mode of internet usership in the country.. Once they become even more affordable the no of internet users in the country will explode...Introducing a form of license raj in telecom industry will hamper this ... It will ensure that internet user ship does not grow at a pace it should...

Altair wrote:gakakkad saab
You are the Prince Robinhood of the internet 8) proud of ya. I have a 8 MBPS line in my home in Hyderabad. I do contribute my part with sharing important and precious books.
However I am against sharing material which compromises any Indian owned publisher. I cant go against my country. I hope you do the same.

thanks ..I never target Indian authors... Indian textbooks are very cheap in any case...Most Indian medical journals can be accessed free of cost on the publisher websites...

My main target is companies like elsevier ...60% of the medical books are published by the company...And a sizeable proportion of medical journals... It has bought off most major publishing houses...

It also has financial interests in the weapons industry.. And there have been allegations that it is involved with various drug cartels ...Its rather scandalous liaisons with the pharma industry is something that I have first hand knowledge off ..

from the British Medical journal

http://www.bmj.com/content/334/7593/547

"In a recent editorial in the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine, Richard Smith drew attention once again to the paradoxical and disturbing association between Reed Elsevier, a huge global publishing company, and the international arms trade.1 While promoting world health through its publications, including the Lancet, Reed Elsevier also organises international trade fairs for the arms industry. By facilitating the sale of armaments, Reed Elsevier is directly implicated in causing untold damage to health. This hypocrisy is well illustrated by Smith's “absurd” example of an imaginary tobacco company that publishes health journals to increase tobacco sales. Sadly, his example is neither absurd nor imaginary. In 2005, an article in the Lancet reported undisclosed relations between the tobacco industry and the health related journal Indoor and Built Environment.2

Reed Elsevier's purpose in publishing the Lancet and other health related journals is not to covertly support arms trade revenues. Reed Elsevier, like any other company, aims to make money through business activities …"

This is one company that deserves to suffer massive loses ...
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

Megaupload is very different from DailyMotion or Vimeo. Megaupload was a site expressly designed for sharing pirated material, and charging users for access to that material (they had a monthly subscription). DailyMotion/Vimeo are like Youtube -- they are legitimate video sharing sites which will respond to DMCA takedown requests from copyright holders. Blocking them falls into the category of banning knives because they can be used to commit murders.

In this specific case, (a) the plaintiffs did not have any evidence that there was any pirated material specifically on those sites; and (b) the judge's order did not name these sites specifically -- it only stated that ISPs must take steps to prevent piracy (which itself is ridiculous). Overzealous people at the ISPs took that to mean only these particular sites -- how cunning of them not to block Youtube, because they knew it would cause the situation to blow up. In other words, be seen as doing something, but not so much that the general public will notice.

gakakkad, I would not put too much faith into those Internet user figures -- they vary widely, by as much as 100%, based on who is doing the polling. Some figures count people who check email once a month as active Internet users. In areas where accurate knowledge of the market is actually important -- that is, Internet-related startups and venture capital firms -- those estimates are not taken seriously.

I'd guess that about 60 million people in India are reasonably active Internet users.

Megaupload is very different from DailyMotion or Vimeo. Megaupload was a site expressly designed for sharing pirated material, and charging users for access to that material (they had a monthly subscription). DailyMotion/Vimeo are like Youtube -- they are legitimate video sharing sites which will respond to DMCA takedown requests from copyright holders. Blocking them falls into the category of banning knives because they can be used to commit murders.
funny ,you pontificate American rule .. Especially oppressive ones like DMCA..You could download everything in mega-upload for free.. The monthly subscription , was for enhanced speeds and unlimited download. For free ,you could download up to 500 MB an hour. There is plenty of pirated material in vimeo and you tube as well. And both these sites arguably make money due to the pirated material too.. Lets say I watch an episode of Dr. No on youtube ,sitting in Ny . The video is uploaded by someone in eastern europe. There are ads on that page , and I click on one of them. Google makes some money. And I watch copyrighted material whose copyright belongs to BBC..

Now there have been some very funny cases. In one case a mother filmed her 13 month old kid dancing to some song and posted the video on youtube. She was charged with violation of DMCA.They wanted to set an example by the case. (google Lenz v/s universal)

Whole DMCA was enacted by the insistence of the music industry. I ll not be surprised if their lawyers wrote the DMCA.

Only thing different the Americans are doing here is that they are enacting oppressive laws and harassing people on that basis. In Indian no laws are enacted..People are harassed without it.

Dont get me wrong. I am very much against the blocking of Vimeo and daily motion.. but Indian gober-mints actions don't seem radically different from GOTUS in this case..
gakakkad, I would not put too much faith into those Internet user figures -- they vary widely, by as much as 100%, based on who is doing the polling. Some figures count people who check email once a month as active Internet users. In areas where accurate knowledge of the market is actually important -- that is, Internet-related startups and venture capital firms -- those estimates are not taken seriously.

I'd guess that about 60 million people in India are reasonably active Internet users.

Most sources quote a figure of 12 crore plus for Active Internet users. There was a time in which global active user-ship was exaggerated to beef up ad revenues . But that is no longer necessary..I can also give you some indirect evidence of the user ship..

There are 1 crore + fixed broadband connections in India.. Here I don't want to get into speed debates ..So I ll define broadband connections as total number of ADSL+ ETHERNET CABLE connections . The data has been derived from totaling the subscriptions of various ISPs .Now more than one person will use a single conncection ...So the figure of 1 crore broadband subscriptions co-relates well with the 3-4 crore broadband users.

http://www.itu.int/ITU-D/ict/statistics ... _00-10.xls

There are 4.5 crore unique facebook accounts from India which are accessed each month ...That number has been generated from various sites. I would not trust data from facebook here because they obviously want to show more usership to increase revenue..But the data from various sites is corroborated and comes to the figure of 4.5 crore..

The growth of 20-30% connections per year is a very well known fact...So the internet user-ship has indeed been growing very rapidly ...

CON parties increasing wariness of the internet to points out the fact that internet usership is rising more rapidly than they like it to..
manish

Post by manish »

Singha wrote:CSCO freshers always crib their classmates in juniper, ericsson, huawei, not to speak of google or microsoft make much more.
I would agree that CSCO fresher pay and even upto mid level is poorer than its peers in general.
but FWIW it compensates for it in other ways or so the HR claim is.
Oh, when did that happen?
6-7 years back, Huawei starting was below that of CSCO - by about 1L or so in CTC terms, not including performance pay which was over and above. Surprising to see it having turned upside down.

When the rest of the world went through intense pain the post-Lehman world, the guys over at Huawei were seemingly on a roll. Must be the effect of that.

Oh, when did that happen?
6-7 years back, Huawei starting was below that of CSCO - by about 1L or so in CTC terms, not including performance pay which was over and above. Surprising to see it having turned upside down.
I know of people in Chipzilla from last 5-6 years who are having salaries almost similar or marginally higher than what is being quoted as fresher salasry for the same co!!

Cant imagine how they must be feeling! :((