Should India scrap Kudankulam nuclear plant project?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Should India scrap Kudankulam nuclear plant project?

Satya_anveshi wrote:Amber Gji,

can you make your choices better pl? On the one side you mention...dangerous/evil/costly...but the other side you don't provide benefits.

angootha chhaaps like me would like to know those too before pressing angootha
Satyaji - Choices are only two and this was deliberate. When all is said and done, people may have to make a decision and those decisions are sometimes binary.
(I tried to give links to at least a few sites which advocates both sides of the arguments..it is up to people to read up as much as they can) Hope this helps.

I feel it is criminal to deny millions of fellow Indians the access to electricity. Electricity leads to prosperity. Hence I support all initiatives to produce more and more energy. How is it morally correct for us who are enjoying good supply of electricity in urban areas to oppose efforts to produce nuclear energy which can benefit millions who don't have access to the same?

You guys have lost it all, 'Gobar' is Indic Nuke is not. Go green go Gobar.

Btw Austin you must be knowing it already but fwiw read up on TOKAMAK. :)

only 7% of the voters here think it is a joke! mmm. stinking worser than gobra gas.

wake up.. you never know what is real. they might scrap it.

Last heard that sun god sustains life on earth, 8)
bhat :(( :(( it is by noo clear energy. no one shouts and protests that sun god is using noo clear energy to drive all form s of life. :rotfl: :rotfl:
That too sun god is the god only amongst sdres. More of a red flag to all the idiots and sundry who froth at the very idea of sdre and their religion. :(( :((

Yeah some wise a*rshole butts in and says sun is too far away, exploshuns occur there everyday and every minute.
so bhat, we are energy deficient, we require all forms of energy including noo clear one.
These a&rseholes ado not realise that they are starving their fellow brethrens of energy for improving their economic productivity.
They are worried about some loss at future time just as sun is soo far away so it is ok with its noo clear explushuns.

These ar*seholes do not undergo any loss of productivity as they have djin takniki.
ie-- when fellow brethrens have no energy they have surplus profits. it works that way.

Clear and present danger is having less energy.
future is something catastrophe happening.

I am still left wondering bhat is this spewing nonsense---

I am still konfused.
In this konfusin a ray of light from the god of noo clear energy clarified my doubts.

Once India becomes energy surplus country than think about alternative non noo clear sources.
Loud and clear now.
voted for continuation of noo clear energy as we require to become energy surplus.
common sense dictates that we should have energy to our population. It should be in surplus. No hare brainer.
voted that India should have all sources of energy including noo clear energy.
Till then no doubts.

he he .. you can avoid sun, but not our son-s of the soil!.
Dan Mazer

Post by Dan Mazer »

I voted NO because I've also lived next to a nuclear plant all my life and with all three hands on my heart I can say that I'm perfectly normal and healthy.

I feel it is criminal to deny millions of fellow Indians the access to electricity.
There is another major aspect to non supply of electricity. Village Congestion. Just go to google maps and see hundreds of thousands of villages around. Even if you get 1GW of electricity in front of the village, you just cannot get to supply it to the innards of the village. At the innards of the village people don't want and want electricity both. Want because it will help their children study on computers etc, don't because of electrocution. Villages have populations around 100k and the people live in an area a few hundred meters long and wide. Meanwhile they own land around 10-15 sq kms around the village center. Till we encourage massively a hamlet kind of system..it is impossible to provide electricity to a majority of the population in India..even if we have the electricity. Just a perspective.

Prasobh wrote:Aiyyo -ji! No no no. No no no no no.

http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/a ... 601471.ece

Go Kalam, Go Nuclear!
Thanks for posting it, very nice oped.

Neela wrote:I don't know where you guys are getting your facts from. I checked the back of an envelope and noticed that TN has power surplus.
And only TN can claim the 2000 MW power anyway - so I do not understand why some of you are glad this is coming online.

I dont care about the mallus , the goltis or the kannadigas - you guys can shove it....so what if you have power cuts- save power during the remaining 12 hours and use it sparingly.
If you want I will tell you what equipment and power rating you can use.

You guys better do as I say...or we will resort to violence.

The mullai periyar dam issue is silent.. they have to look at what else.. there are quite a bit of people who needs to create issues.

Rahul M wrote:ship everything in the plant to alang, sell it for scrap and buy gobar with the proceed. dip our anti-nuclear egg-spurts in said bovine product.
Actually, if one can buy enough, one can extract Uranium and sell it back to NPP (as long as you have not sold it as scrap) .. or at least there are some who think this may be commercially viable ...

No, I am not making it up ... (or just a very small part of it :) )

There is an Australian, or an Canadian company who is working on refined ion exchange process to extract U3O8 from phosphate based fertilizer..

Look at http://www.uel.com.au/discover.html
(From what I know, the first prototype device is going to be tried soon to see if it can be commercially viable)

(Please also see - remember U is just another heavy metal) http://www.academicjournals.org/jssem/P ... t%20al.pdf
Last edited by Amber G. on 14 Apr 2012 08:21, edited 1 time in total.

SaiK wrote:The mullai periyar dam issue is silent.. they have to look at what else.. there are quite a bit of people who needs to create issues.
Sabarimalai pilgrimage peak season is over so mullai periyar dam issue put to rest. Recent earthquake brought up another chance to earn bribe for the conversions and the converts. So this noise about recent earthquake.

Actually radiation from nuclear plants affects the brain in such a way that people think all is well. Do you guys know how hot its gets in a nuclear reactor? I hope you do, because I don't.

Voted yes, as NPP is evil, if you build NPP, we be having one eyed babies for a 1000 years. As it is written in in some Non prolifiration ayatollahas book.

I fear the NP ayatollahas.

So should the GOI.

Pratyush wrote:Voted yes, as NPP is evil, if you build NPP, we be having one eyed babies for a 1000 years. As it is written in in some Non prolifiration ayatollahas book.

So should the GOI.
one eyed babaies
May be NPA idiots did study these and discovered that radiation causes them.
:(( :rotfl:

Pratyush wrote:Voted yes, as NPP is evil, if you build NPP, we be having one eyed babies for a 1000 years. As it is written in in some Non prolifiration ayatollahas book.

So should the GOI.
Thank you for bringing this incontrovertible fact to my attention. I changed my vote to yes. My eye has been opened. I urge everyone to change his vote. Or lose an eye. An aye for an eye makes the world safer.

I love this thread. I love Hakim Sahib.

I especially loved Ramana's non-vote :-)

Kudankulam and all NPP should be scraped. It is glorious to be poor! The poverty industry will take off, the jholawalas will find new avenues to show the bhooka-nanga Indian on the world map with several oscars in place. So much chance for "Apna Utsav" in moscow and paris. Worse, the NPP is a hindu-jew conspiracy to put Buddha Stupas with a cross nailed to it. It is anti-secular. Also India is a big brother to provide electricity to the land of the pure and protect the even more shorter and darker cousins due south from becoming one-eyed babes. Who will marry one-eyed babes? All in all NPP is a conspiracy to remove josh from the Indian mard, the frocks need a new set of fisherman to protest for as well!

Absolutely! We should lead the world in green tech,true green tech using cowpats ,gobar gas,treadmills,and other virtuous indigenous technology and throw all evil electric devices into the sea!

Self delete.
Last edited by Amber G. on 15 Apr 2012 06:19, edited 1 time in total.

Some good references, for background etc...
From University of Pittsburgh (Older 1990 but still quite good for basic principles)
http://www.phyast.pitt.edu/~blc/book/
University of Texas
http://nuclear.engr.utexas.edu/

MIT
http://mitnse.com/

And from UC at Berkeley professor:
http://www.amazon.com/Physics-Technolog ... 917&sr=8-2

Why can't we invest more in coal energy. Let's burn more coal and produce clear energy insteady of noo-clear energy.
This would make lot of people happy and we will not risk the planet with Kudankulam nuclear plant going kaboom someday.
My Vote is still YES (haven't yet received my share of free TV and Lungi to change my vote)

Philip wrote:Absolutely! We should lead the world in green tech,true green tech using cowpats ,gobar gas,treadmills,and other virtuous indigenous technology and throw all evil electric devices into the sea!
Amen onleee!

Philip wrote:Absolutely! We should lead the world in green tech,true green tech using cowpats ,gobar gas,treadmills,and other virtuous indigenous technology and throw all evil electric devices into the sea!
we can borrow the djin taknolgi from our friendly neibor, no for this noble venture. they hold the patent for green paint. :mrgreen:

VikasRaina wrote:Why can't we invest more in coal energy. Let's burn more coal and produce clear energy insteady of noo-clear energy.
This would make lot of people happy and we will not risk the planet with Kudankulam nuclear plant going kaboom someday.
My Vote is still YES (haven't yet received my share of free TV and Lungi to change my vote)
Vikas ji , Why do you need free TV and Lungi ? Jesus will suffer for your sins(Pastor Udaykumar will see to it).Isn't that good enough for you , Godforsaken heathen :?:

Jesus will suffer for your sins(Pastor Udaykumar will see to it).
I want rajnikant to suffer instead , can Uday kumar arrage that for me ? if he can I ll change my vaat to yes..Onlee rajni my gaad ..mind it..

How come there is no 3rd choice for voting in an intelligent manner like our BRF 3-stage 3-stooges Skanku, Theo & Chaanakya?

"Oh, you're an intelligent imbecile!" - quote from Moe Howard.

darshhan wrote:
VikasRaina wrote:Why can't we invest more in coal energy. Let's burn more coal and produce clear energy insteady of noo-clear energy.
Vikas ji , Why do you need free TV and Lungi ? Jesus will suffer for your sins(Pastor Udaykumar will see to it).Isn't that good enough for you , Godforsaken heathen :?:
Darshan mere peer, You have opened all my three eyes.

Yay we have 11 votes now; I promise mithai equivalent of Kudankulam's weight for the lot that votes YES.

PS: Negi's pramise = twice as trustworthy as Admiral Koshy's pramise. :P

I was thinking Green energy comes from using the different kinds of Greens as fuel.
member_23061

Post by member_23061 »

negi wrote:Yay we have 11 votes now; I promise mithai equivalent of Kudankulam's weight for the lot that votes YES.

2*0=0

krisna wrote:

So should the GOI.
one eyed babaies
May be NPA idiots did study these and discovered that radiation causes them.
:(( :rotfl:
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1269600
While the concept of ‘strategic depth’ was initially said to mean that Pakistan’s Armed Forces would have additional territory available to them in the event of an Indian attack, the reality turned out to be different once the ISI, with the acquiescence of the Clinton Administration, installed its protégé, the one eyed ‘Ghilzai’ Pashtun leader Mullah Omar, in Kandahar, with a so-called Taliban ‘President’ Mullah Rabbani in Kabul. Mullah Omar, incidentally, does not belong to the traditional Pashtun leadership from the Durrani clan. Kandahar, in the eyes of Pashtuns, has historically been their spiritual capital since 1747.
One eyed monster due to radiation effect also. :rotfl: due to chernobyl likely as per NPA sources.

krisna wrote:
One eyed monster due to radiation effect also. :rotfl: due to chernobyl likely as per NPA sources.
In Russian the words "Chernobyl fallout" means "The knob of your penis will fall off" ("Yer knob'll fall out")

So the danger of nuclear plants is not just about eyes.

negi wrote:Yay we have 11 votes now; I promise mithai equivalent of Kudankulam's weight for the lot that votes YES.

I see your KKNP and raise you a Fukushima. :P

All voter will get the additional weight of Fuk-D reactors, no not as mithai, literally the same weight as scrap iron from Fuk-D.

(these are projections onlee, for 20XX, based on nothing in particular)

No.

Some recent news items
We are not opposed to Kudankulam nuclear power plant: Sri Lanka

Anti-Kudankulam protestors slapped with murder charges

Russia happy with N-project

99% work in first unit of Kudankulam over

Also interesting while Mr Uday Kumar etc are slapped with murder charges, People like Busby (See my first post, about this person who was greatly admired by Chaanakya and he was quoted here in Brf MULTILE times - see my fist post - are getting into trouble for trying to peddle fraudulent 'radiation medicine" and make money from poor ignorant people.. ..

Christopher Busby's wild claims hurt green movement and Green party
The Green party adviser's theories on the Fukushima nuclear disaster and a 'leukaemia cluster' in north Wales are baseless scaremongering – even the anti-nuclear lobby must oppose him

FTC Warns Consumers About Scam Artists’ Pitch for Potassium Iodide Treatment

(The great Busby - see my first post, the expert quoted by Chaanakaya multiple times are getting on the other side of the law in US and other places - There are quite a few cases against him -)

Post-Fukushima 'anti-radiation' pills condemned by scientists.
Green party distances itself from Dr Christopher Busby, a former spokesman promoting products following Japanese nuclear disaster
The Green party's former science and technology spokesman is promoting anti-radiation pills to people in Japan affected by the Fukushima nuclear disaster, that leading scientists have condemned as "useless".

Dr Christopher Busby, a visiting professor at the University of Ulster, is championing a series of expensive products and services which, he claims, will protect people in Japan from the effects of radiation. Among them are mineral supplements on sale for ¥5,800 (£48) a bottle, urine tests for radioactive contaminants for ¥98,000 (£808) and food tests for ¥108,000 (£891).

Though a controversial figure, Busby has been championed by the anti-nuclear movement and some environmentalists. { He, of course, has been championed by Chaakanya, Theo - see the first post of this thread}

Tsunami versus Kudankulam plant: PMANE fires fresh salvo

Kudankulam one of safest reactors, Lanka's fears unfounded: India's nuclear chief

Added later: It is not surprising that Busby is one of the great and vocal expert quoted by PMANE. He is, as I have pointed out in the first post, repeatedly quoted as expert by Chaankaya.
Here is another story:
Christopher Busby Sells “Useless” & Overpriced Anti-Radiation Pills
Last edited by Amber G. on 17 Apr 2012 09:56, edited 1 time in total.

krisna wrote:
In Russian the words "Chernobyl fallout" means "The knob of your penis will fall off" ("Yer knob'll fall out")

So the danger of nuclear plants is not just about eyes.
In the light of new revelations by our own hakim, I am seriously contemplating further discussions.
No one wants to play with phamily jewels. :(( :(( :rotfl:

Folks, I have reported one or two out-right off topic posts here, and as a starter of this thread, will request that please keep away from posting completely off topic posts.

On one hand, one complains about "kindergarten level" here
Sanku wrote:What a poorly formulated poll proposition.....

I am afraid I have to say that this is a kindergarten level variety thought process. If not even simpler.
Then keeps back and posts (and keep on posting posts like):
negi wrote:Sanku maharaj come on vote YES; I am the only one who has :(( . Next we will IB4TL the nuke dhaga too, yay. :lol:

As ordered negiullah !!
*** Can you please move those posts in nukkad or offtopic ***

Shivji - PLEASE! Every one is impressed with your sense of humor , but can you PLEASE spare this thread from off-color jokes. There is no reason to do that.

(Shiva had three eyes even before Kudankulam ... spare this thread from that third eye)

What I will encourage every one to post, links for the news, Opeds ( like Prasobh did), well thought out arguments, anecdote etc.

Occasional barbs, or IB4TL may be okay but PLEASE ..."अति सर्वत्र वर्जयेत " (For translation please see here

Thanks for your cooperation.
Last edited by Amber G. on 17 Apr 2012 19:44, edited 1 time in total.