Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 29 March 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 29 March 2

Trouble in Trouble
PIA flight to London cancelled at 11th hour
KARACHI: While a Europe-bound Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) aircraft was found to be faulty in Lahore at the last minute on Tuesday, the flight was cancelled, the passengers were shifted to hotel and the airplane ferried to Karachi for repairs.According to sources, three dents were found on PIA’s Boeing B-777 (AP-BHV) aircraft’s engine shell while up to two dents were allowed.Because there was one dent more than the allowed number, it was decided that it be fixed, lest the aircraft be grounded in Europe.The national flag carrier is being observed closely in Europe and it could be only a few steps away from getting banned.The sources said the aircraft was scheduled to be ferried without passengers to Karachi where another similar aircraft (B-777) was under repairs and the engine shell of that aircraft would be taken out and fixed on the faulty aircraft after which it would be sent back to Lahore from where it was scheduled to fly to Europe.

surinder wrote:
shiv wrote:I have been trying to inform myself about the history of the Panchanada (Punjab) area. It strikes me that the Mussalmans of Punjab have never been rulers, they have always been ruled. At best they make loyal servants. They are more often traitors and collaborators. Please look up the history of Punjab - of which accounts exist from the days of the Mahabharata. "Punjabi Mussalman rule" has existed since 1947 onlee. The primary driver for that was the pre-existence of a lot of Pakjabis in the Paki army at independence with white masters. they vowed to continue their ass licking of white masters in exchange for perennial aid from the west. The alliance between "Pakistan" and the US is hardly an alliance between nation states. It is an alliance between the Paki army, dominated by the Punjabi Mussalman and the US. I think a lot of Indians mistake Sikh valor as Punjabi valor. Sikh valor needed leadership brains. Punjabi mussalmans have always been vassals, not leaders. You can call this stereotyoing if you like but I will myself begin to bring down those stereotypes if better information becomes available.

Very correct. Many years ago I had posted the same idea.

When I read history of this area and the increase in Muaslim population in Punjab, it struck me that they have never been rulers, never produced anything even close to being called a separate and proud history, or historical characters, or leaders, or anything notable. The Pakjabi M is basically an inheritor of no history of achievement in any field. I say this with compassion, because a lot of dirt poor people were converted by force by the neighboring Pathaans. They suffered through Turkic invasions just as Hindus/Sikhs did.

The situation is so bad that while they have invented a lot of mythis, their creativity in inventing and lying could not produce a *SINGLE* Punjabi Muassalmain to name thier missiles, ships, tanks, or anything.

This makes the British perfidy especially galling. They provided the missing link and converted this looser quaom to be rulers of 1/3 of India, a nuclear power, and a thorn on India's side. This is either a remarkable feat of British Genius, or due to the existence of an especially foolish nation called India.
Surinder my quest for more info and conclusions did not come out of a vacuum. I had, at the back of my mind, impressions posted by you and Sandeep Bajwa. The more I look at it - the more it seems to me that Punjab had great Buddhist history until that was quashed by Islam and perhaps a resurgent Hindu culture off to the east. Once Islam came Punjab had no culture worth talking about until Guru Nanak came. I would describe Sikhs as the resurgence of historic Punjab. Not only did Guru Nanak's vision give a positive identity to a Punjabi culture that had been dead for 6-7 centuries, he also reintroduced the Indic concept of Dharma (common to Hindus and Buddhists) and reconciled that with deity/God. The Pakjabi musalman essentially represents the raped ba$tard child of Punjab born out of a dying Buddhist realm and dominated by - of all things a rapine marauder from Afghanistan. Naturaly it took a Ranjit Singh to reset history, but it was certainly the Brits who have given undue prominence to the least noteworthy and most forgettable section ot Pakistan - the Mussalman Punjabi. No wonder Pakjabis are shit scared of Pasthuns. they may admire rapists as their fathers but somewhere in the back of their miniscule brains exists a memory of what it feels like if your mother is raped.

brihaspati wrote:The greatest obstacle to Pakis trying to join the Indian Union in any form - is actually the ruling interests of India, especially the non-Muslim component of the north-Indian power elite. The excessive outpouring of aman-ki-asha type of p-secism is all about hiding a deep seated hatred of the "Muslim", an even greater hatred of Paki's as a whole - and an agonized fear at any prospect of living next to a large Paki contingent without the IA or the border providing the psychological protection.
Interesting observation B-ji, and one you have made before. I think it is important to point out that this "hatred" of the secular Indian power elite for the Muslim does not come out of any interpretation of traditional cultural values... because this elite is deracinated and has nothing but contempt for "pre-secular Indian" traditional cultural values.

In fact it comes out from an attitude very typical of (and completely borrowed from) the aristocratic Western elite they so admire... a fear of the grimy mob, going back far beyond Marx to the days of Robespierre and les terroires. They comfortably despise the Hindu aam-janta as a docile underclass that knows its place and will never give vent to public outrage. The Muslim aam-janta is a different animal, because the Mullahs have already staked out its hair-triggers and could bring the mob rampaging all over the manicured front lawn at any moment. That is what the secular power elite have dreaded actively ever since Direct Action Day.

For exactly that reason the secular Indian power elite's hatred of Muslims does not extend to the RAPE (or their Indian Muslim equivalent) at all. Those are fine chaps to swill whisky and munch kababs at the club with.
Manu

Post by Manu »

shiv wrote: Surinder my quest for more info and conclusions did not come out of a vacuum. I had, at the back of my mind, impressions posted by you and Sandeep Bajwa. The more I look at it - the more it seems to me that Punjab had great Buddhist history until that was quashed by Islam and perhaps a resurgent Hindu culture off to the east. Once Islam came Punjab had no culture worth talking about until Guru Nanak came. I would describe Sikhs as the resurgence of historic Punjab. Not only did Guru Nanak's vision give a positive identity to a Punjabi culture that had been dead for 6-7 centuries, he also reintroduced the Indic concept of Dharma (common to Hindus and Buddhists) and reconciled that with deity/God. The Pakjabi musalman essentially represents the raped ba$tard child of Punjab born out of a dying Buddhist realm and dominated by - of all things a rapine marauder from Afghanistan. Naturaly it took a Ranjit Singh to reset history, but it was certainly the Brits who have given undue prominence to the least noteworthy and most forgettable section ot Pakistan - the Mussalman Punjabi. No wonder Pakjabis are shit scared of Pasthuns. they may admire rapists as their fathers but somewhere in the back of their miniscule brains exists a memory of what it feels like if your mother is raped.
Good Analysis, Hakim Sahib, but an unanswered question ...

You are not starting the history of Punjab from Harappa civilization or even the Times of Mahabharat which was fought in Punjab and Haryana (which was Punjab till 1966).

Buddhism came much later.

You are starting post the year 711, post Qasim. Therefore, Vedas, Upanishads (composed in Punjab) Taxila etc. are already hisory.

From 711 to 1469 (birth of Guru Nanak) on to 1748, when Dal Khalsa was formed in Amritsar, a period of around 1000 years after the defeat of Raja Dahir, I have been told by many people that the majority of Punjab's people were still not Muslim (today if you combine both existing Punjab's, more than 60% is Muslim).

What happened between the 1750s to 1940s that saw such large scale conversions? Especially when the majority of the horrific violence was already in the past?

Manu wrote:
shiv wrote:What happened between the 1750s to 1940s that saw such large scale conversions? Especially when the majority of the horrific violence was already in the past?
Wasn't that the period just after Nader Shah had plundered Delhi and Punjab and during the times when Abdali invaded those parts? Hasan Nisar quoted a Punjabi saying of those times, which may be roughly translated as "What you eat and you wear belongs to you, while the rest belongs to Ahmed Shah [Abdali]"

That could have been one of the catalysts.

Why would there be large scale conversion post 1801 when Ranjit Singh was crowned and later Brits ruling part of Punjab. The conversions should have subsided after that period. Am I missing something ?
Will X-post it to GDF thread.
vdutta

Post by vdutta »

Its coward Indian agents who attacked us when we were naked. by the time we wore our uniform and put on makeup and nailpolish those cowards were gone in two hours.
just like isrealis who raided arabs in the infamous 6 days war when mujahids were having breakfasts.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/369539/bann ... ay-police/
“What could we do, they were above a hundred in strength with the latest weapons and we only had five Kalashnikovs. Tell me honestly, could you face such a situation?” the police official said.

The police official then called his brother and told him what was happening. “My brother told me that he has contacted high-ranking police officials. They were changing their uniform and would soon arrive. In all, it took around one hour to break the first and the second gate but we could not respond. We were empty-handed.”

“I could clearly see my death. I thought my last moments had arrived and I was going to be slaughtered or shot to death,” he said, adding that two members of the jail police who were deployed at the death cell, climbed up a tree to save their lives.

Two other policemen wore prisoners’ uniform as a cover and ran with the prisoners, unarmed and fearing for their lives.

“I called them to inquire about them but I started laughing when I came to know they had also escaped with the prisoners,” the official said.

He also said one man, who seemed to be leading the militants, was standing at the main gate, telling all those who were escaping: “Go, go, you are free now, just pray for us. Don’t forget to spare your life for Allah.”

Manu wrote:I have been told by many people that the majority of Punjab's people were still not Muslim (today if you combine both existing Punjab's, more than 60% is Muslim).

What happened between the 1750s to 1940s that saw such large scale conversions? Especially when the majority of the horrific violence was already in the past?
I have heard no such thing. But i have read that 200 years before the Islamic invasions, Buddhism was thriving in the area. The whole area was pretty much Buddhist and the ruins you see there are Buddhist rather than Hindu. Even in AD 700 or so when Sindh was occupied, Punjab held out against Arabs. it was taken only after Ghazni came around AD 1000. After that Buddhism was steadily decimated. As far as my reading goes I know that Buddhism was prominent in the area at that time. No statistics exist as far as I know about how many Hindus were there versus Buddhists. I am of course talking about Pakjab, not so much about Indian Punjab and Haryana area.

But I have no information to suggest that the Islamic invaders were "tolerant" up until 1700 and then suddenly started conversions. They just went on and on and on eliminating Kafirs and their religion. So the information that the majority of the people were not Muslims may be misinformation. But i will look for data. There may be some British data. The Brits of course did not actually control the area till the mid 1840s AFAIK. But the reports aftr the 1857 war of independence suggests that the Brits had plenty of Mussalman soldiers to depend on and call "Martial' by then. They also had some Sikhs
Last edited by shiv on 25 Apr 2012 21:38, edited 1 time in total.

shiv wrote: But I have no information to suggest that the Islamic invaders were "tolerant" up until 1700 and then suddenly started conversions. They just went on and on and on eliminating Kafirs and their religion. So the information that the majority of the people were not Muslims may be misinformation. But i will look for data. There may be some British data. The Brits of course did not actually control the area till the mid 1840s AFAIK. But the reports aftr the 1857 war of independence suggests that the Brits had plenty of Mussalman soldiers to depend on and call "Martial' by then. They also had some Sikhs
Shiv: There is some data to this effect. One data point I have is, Sindh was Hindu majority till 1870. Let me look for more. The most logical explanation is a difference in birth rates. So by the time of partition, Sindh as an overall province was about 70% Muslim, with only a few districts as Hindu majority. The last hindu majority district of Tharparkar ceased to be so, sometime in the 90's. There are about 6 million Hindus still in TSP, 90%+ in sindh. The number of Hindu Sindhis, in India and Expats number less than the number of Hindu Sindhis in Pakistan! I am one of those.

The fact that the census number comes from 1870 correlates the first time the British did some census work in India.

Shaurya Sindh is different from Pakjab. Sindh actually tolerated Hindus for various reasons and plenty of evidence of Hindu shrines exist in sindh. I am less sure about Pakistani Punjab.

The following is a Wiki list of Hindu temples in Pakistan. For its population, Pakjab has the smallest number. Sindh has a disproportionately large number

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Hi ... n_Pakistan

http://www.inquisitr.com/224188/veena-m ... oy-spread/
Veena Malik Would Consider Playboy Spread
Veena Malik caused an uproar in Pakistan last year when a nude photo of her showed up on the cover of FHM. The model insisted that the photo was doctored and that she never posed nude for the magazine. But that doesn’t mean that Malik is against showing her body to the public. The model recently said that she would do a spread in Playboy if the price was right.When asked about posing nude in Playboy by The Mirror, Malik said:“I’d think about it. Why would I say no? It’s a great opportunity. I’d definitely go for that. That is my job. I am a model and I would consider every single opportunity that comes my way.”

From the 1871 census of india

http://www.chaf.lib.latrobe.edu.au/dcd/ ... &record=14
Religions
Hindoos 139,248,568
Sikhs 1,174,436
Mahomedans 40,882,537
Buddhists and Jains 2,832,851
Christians 896,658
Others 5,102,823
Religion not known 425,175

Hindoos:—
Bengal 38,975,418
Assam 2,679,507
North West Provinces 26,568,071
Ajmere 252,996
Oude 10,003,323
Punjab 6,125,460
Central Provinces 5,879,772
Berar 1,912,155
Mysore 4,807,425
Coorg 154,476
British Burma 36,658
Madras 28,863,978
Bombay 12,989,329
Total 139,248,568

Mahomedans:
Bengal 19,553,831
Assam 1,104,601
North-West Provinces 4,189,348
Ajmere 62,722
Oude 1,197,704
Punjab 9,337,685
Central Provinces 233,247
Berar 154,951
Mysore 208,991
Coorg 11,304
British Burma 99,846
Madras 1,857,857
Bombay 2,870,450

Punjab had 60% Muslims in 1871. But boy, check the NWFP!

See all census reports from 1871 to 1901 here

http://www.chaf.lib.latrobe.edu.au/dcd/default.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North-Western_Provinces
The North-Western Provinces was an administrative region in British India which succeeded the Ceded and Conquered Provinces and existed in one form or another from 1836 until 1902, when it became the Agra Province within the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh (or U.P.).[1]

The Pakjabi Muslim growth probably did not seriously take off until the late 1300's and early 1400's. Qasim has no independently verifiable successor rulers in Sindh. Some isolated governors are referred to - and not by name - in the Sindhi chronicles by Islamist hagiographers.

So Qasim's adventure was more like a raid that had no lasting effect. Even the Islamic chronicles indicate enforced or tactical conversion in name onlee, and switching over immediately afterwards. This is recorded even for Mahmud and his successors. Even Mahmud's territories might be much more bragged about than in reality. Moreover once he was dead - the Yamini dynasty was hounded by the Afghans [Mahmud was the son of a petty Turki robber - who managed to form an alliance with the then Caliphate which was struggling to expand into North India - facing stiff resistance] and became confined to a small principality around Multan.

The real expansion took onlee after Ghori. Even here - Pakjabi name analysis has shown that Islamization did not really take off until the late 1300's to early 1400's. Moreover, the Mongol invasions of Alauddin-capri's time targeted Muslims as everywhere in the ME [Hulaku for example].

Regarding Buddhist influence - Hiuen Tsang reports categorically that saddharma was already in decline when he visited Sindh [before Qasims' supposed adventure]. He also reports on the rich and lavish lifestyle of the Buddhist mercantile elite - which seems to be confirmed in Islamic chroniclers - whose narrative typically place the Buddhists as urban, mercantile, and having a splendid lifestyle with slaves and magnificient houses. After the fall of the pre-Chach Rai rulers of Sindh - who are supposed to have been pro-Buddhist, the Buddhist mercantile elite were in touch with the new regime at Kufa and the "Baghdadi" Caliphate and came to secret agreement to help a Caliphate raid against Sindh. This could have been both political revenge as well as hedging to preserve foreign trade connections to the Gulf.

Traveller's evidence suggests increasing Shaiva influence in the countryside at the time, and Buddhist rural congregations turning away from Buddhism - because the sanghas were not being repaired, while neelakantha temples were seen flourishing in the countryside.

So temples are not unlikely to be there. Moreover even the Sindhi neoconverts into Islam might not have been that sincere originally - hence temples were preserved for a longer time. By the time the Sultanate was in a position to wipe out the kaffir - the medieval dry period had started already showings its effects by the death of Alauddin-Capri. Hence the central Delhi based power weakened, with centrifugal provincial sultanates or local power centres developed. These would need to come to compromise with local Hindu mercantile interests against the central control - and this would slow down the conversion.

The post Brit reversal of ratio is interesting and has been speculated on a lot before. One suspicion is underreporting of Muslim population - by the Islamic need for purdah and suspicion of rulers in any case, as well as larger non-Muslim migration under opening up of the region for more secure economic and professional opportunities. The after effects of Ranjit Singh's push into the north west which affected some "resettlement" processes could also have had some effects.

The mullahcracy started the campaign for "we will breed them out" in the 1860-1870 period. Moreover the connection of census to political power and representational magic - might also have acted to lower the underreporting and perhaps even encouraged over-reporting. Brit officials never really had access to the Muslim andar. Much more efficient social and theological mobilization would have ensured that snitches did not reveal the real figures unlike the non-Muslim.

Further, the brits officials might themselves have had a hand in overreporting - when it became important to push up the "Islamic".

It may help clear lots of confusions or false starts if people remember the axiom -
anything and everything was possible by any British ruling regime in what they thought was their "national" interest. Nothing is too low, too inhuman, too gross, too crude, too sadistic, too immoral, and too unethical where the British ruling mindset is concerned. Here there is a mighty overlap with the theology that emerged out of the deserts of 7th century Vanayu pradesh.

So what did Pakis finally test? After announcing ahead of time which is unusual for them they fired off an old missile with a new appellation 'Shaheen IA' which is supposed to have 'increased' range. Did they use djinn power to boost its range from 750 to 3000 km? Most of the posters in D&D forum are not a happy bunch!

^^^Chini bhai probably gave the go ahead to test one of its own to preserve buddy's H&D. Just as Chini bhai now is speaking through NoKo nutcase's mouth.

Pakis and the world should ponder - what it means to have nodongs and mizzile tech onlee without showing any other slightest sign of any indigenous progress anywhere in science and technology. Depending on old and donated aging stuff from snake oil peddlers and passing them off as their own creations - may land them with things that unravel when the real need arises.

Another close miss for another airline. But they do write great English, must be Chinese influence.

PIA flight’s crash-landing on Multan airport

saip wrote:Another close miss for another airline. But they do write great English, must be Chinese influence.

Verily, Pakistan is the Oxford of the east in the English language proficiency of its people.

Shiv, I think its time for you, surinder, sbajwa to collaborate and write a book on The Pakjab Mind on lines of Patai's book the Arab Mind.

Offcourse it won't be as extensive

saip wrote:Another close miss for another airline. But they do write great English, must be Chinese influence.

Looks like someone machine-translated Urdu to english.

ramana wrote:Shiv, I think its time for you, surinder, sbajwa to collaborate and write a book on The Pakjab Mind on lines of Patai's book the Arab Mind.

Offcourse it won't be as extensive
Please include coffee spill alert!

Here is data from the 1901 Census. Like a carpenter dissecting a dead body and reaching conclusions about things he has no prior knowledge of, the Brits dissected and classified India through their own ignorant lenses. However the numbers are useful because

The start of the religion census is here
http://www.chaf.lib.latrobe.edu.au/dcd/ ... ecord=1510

Some excerpts
http://www.chaf.lib.latrobe.edu.au/dcd/ ... ecord=1522
Musalmans.
670. The total number of Muhammadans is 62½ million or 212 per mille of the population of the Indian Empire. To the total Bengal contributes 25½ million or 41 per cent., the Punjab and Frontier Province 14 million or 22½ per cent. and the United Provinces 7 million or 11 per cent.; Bombay contains only 4½ million, Madras (including Cochin and Travancore) 2¾ million, Kashmir 2, Assam 1¾ and Hyderabad 1 1/7 million. In spite of the zeal of Hyder Ali and Tippu Sultan, Mysore contains an exceptionally small number of Muhammadans. In proportion to the total population Islám is most strongly represented in Kashmir where it is the religion of 74 per cent. of the inhabitants; then follow the Punjab with 53 per cent., Bengal with 32, Assam with 26, Bombay with 18 and the United Provinces with 14 per cent.

Brihaspati - you might want to have a look at the following page
http://www.chaf.lib.latrobe.edu.au/dcd/ ... ecord=1523
Last edited by shiv on 26 Apr 2012 06:38, edited 1 time in total.
chilarai

Post by chilarai »

I like it how the pilot tried to (but failed ) to land it in the university ground but had to land at the airport !

A 1947 manifestation of the "we are from outside" of the Pakistanis:
http://thepartitionofindia.blogspot.com ... tside.html

http://www.chaf.lib.latrobe.edu.au/dcd/ ... record=709
Gives great clarity to some things happening in Shitistan today

Musalmans of Punjab
THE MUSALMÁNS OF THE PUNJÁB.

Early advance of Islám in the Punjáb.—It is difficult to fix with any approach to certainty the time at which Mahammedanism first made material progress among the population of the several portions of the Province. Much might be done by a careful examination of the old historians and of the records of the various Mahammedan invasions of the Punjab; for the writers seldom fail to state the religion of the enemy, or to return thanks to the Almighty for the despatch of so many thousands of infidels to the bottomless pit; but as yet nothing of this sort appears to have been attempted. The people of the eastern districts very generally refer their change of faith to the reign of Aurangzeb; and it is probable that the tradition very nearly expresses the truth. Under the Afghan dynasties, while the great provincial governors were always Mahammedan, the local administration would appear to have been in a great measure left in the hands of Hindoo chiefs who paid tribute and owed allegiance to the Sultan of Delhi. It is tolerably certain that little attempt was made at proselyting under the free-thinking Akbar. It would appear, however, that during his reign and those of his immediate successors, the character of the administration changed considerably, a more direct and centralised control being substituted for an almost purely feudal system.* The change gave the people Musalman governors in the place of Hindoos; and must have greatly facilitated the systematic persecution of the infidel which was instituted by Aurangzeb, by far the most fanatical and bigoted, and probably the first who was a bigot among the emperors of Delhi. The local traditions tell us that in many cases the ancestor of the present Musalman branch of a village community adopted Islam "in order to save the land of the village;" and it appears probable that some sort of legal disability was attached or attachable to a Hindoo. There is still a Hindoo family of Banyas in Gurgáon who are known by the title of Shekh, because in former days one of the brothers, whose line is now extinct, became a convert in order to save the family property from confiscation. In other cases the ancestor is said to have been taken as a prisoner or hostage to Delhi, and there circumcised and converted against his will.f Since the rise of the Mahratta power there has, of course, been no forcible proselytism; and conversion has been almost unknown within the last few generations, the first Musalmán generally dating, in the Karnál district at least, from between eight and ten generatious back.

On the frontier the spread of Islám was almost certainly of earlier date. Farishtah puts the conversion of the Afghán mountaineers of our frontier and of the Gakkhars of the Ráwalpindi Division at the beginning of the 13th century, and it is certain that the latter were still Hindoos when they assassinated Mahomed Ghori in 1206 A.D. On the lower frontier it is probable that the Mahámmedan faith was already dominant when, early in the fifteenth century, the people of Multán voluntarily elected a Qoreshi and director of a Mahammedan shrine as their chief, only to be superseded at once by the Langáh dynasty of Afgháns; and when a century later the Biloches spread into the Punjáb, they probably found the Indian population already converted to their faith. The people of the western plains very generally attribute their conversion to' Bahá-ul-Haqq of Multán and Bába Faríd of Pákpattan, who flourished about the end of the 13th and beginning of the 14th centuries; and whether the tradition be true or no, the renown which to this day attaches to these holy men is of itself a 'proof that they must have attracted to themselves very numerous followers. Indeed the same may be said of Sakhi Sarwar, who probably lived at least a century earlier.

Mahammedanism in the Eastern Districts.—In the eastern portion of the Punjáb the faith of Islám, in anything like its original purity, was till quite lately to be found only among the Saiyads, Patháns, Arabs, and other Musalmáns of foreign origin, who were for the most part settled in towns. The so-called Musalmáns of the villages were Musalmáns in little but name. They practised circumcision, repeated the qulmah or Mahammedan profession of faith, and worshiped the village deities. But after the mutiny a great revival took place. Mahammedan priests travelled far and wide through the country preaching the true faith, and calling upon believers to abandon their idolatrous practices. And now almost every village in which Musalmáns own any considerable portion has its mosque, often of a dome only, while all the grosser and more open idolatries have been discontinued. But the villager of the east is still a very bad Musalmán. A peasant saying his prayers in the field is a sight almost unknown, the fasts are almost universally disregarded, and there is still a very large admixture of Hindoo practice. As Mr. Charming puts it, the Musalman of the villages "observes the feasts of both religious and the fasts of neither." And indeed it is hardly possible that it should be otherwise. As I have already remarked, the conversion was seldom due to conviction, but was either forcible, or made under pressure of the fear of confiscation. Thus the change of faith was usually confined to one or two members of the brotherhood; and while it is common to find one branch of a joint village community Musaluums and the other Hindoos, it is perhaps seldom the case except among the Meos of Gurgaon that any considerable group of villages has embraced Islam as a whole. Living then side by side with their Hindoo brethren in the same or the next village, sharing property in the same land, and forming a part of the same family with them, it is impossible that the Musalmán converts should not have largely retained their old customs and ideasThe local saints and deities still have their shrines even in villages held wholly by Musalmáns, and are still regularly worshipped by the majority, though the practice is gradually declining. The women especially are offenders in this way; and a Musalmán mother who had not sacrificed to the small-pox goddess would feel that she had wantonly endangered the life of her child. The Hindoo family priests are still kept up and consulted as of old, and Bráhmans are still fed on the usual occasions, and in many cases still officiate at weddings and the like side by side with the Mahammedan priests. As for supersitions, as distinct from actual worship, they are wholly untouched by the change of faith, and are common to Hindoo and Musalmán. A brother officer tells me that he once entered the resthouse of a Mahammedan village in Hissar, and found the headmen refreshing an idol with a new coat of oil while a Bráhman read holy texts alongside. They seemed somewhat ashamed of being caught in the act; but on being pressed, explained that their Mulla had lately visited them, had been extremely angry on seeing the idol, and had made them bury it in the sand. But now that the Mulla had gone they were afraid of the possible consequences, and were endeavouring to console the god for his rough treatment. The story is at any rate typical of the state of the Mahammedan religion in the villages of the Dehli Territory. The Meos of Gurgáon and Alwar who are Musalmán to a man, and who probably hold the only considerable tract in the eastern Punjáb which is in the hands of Musalmáns only, call themselves by Hindoo names and often use Singh as an affix, worship Hindoo godlings, and very commonly belong to the Hindoo-Musalman sect of Lai Dasi, which I have described in the section under Hindooism, chiefly because I could not find a convenient place for it among Musalman sectsBut within the Punjáb the spread of education has had its effect on these people—"Recently religious teachers have become more numerous among them; and some Meos now keep the Ramzán fast, build village mosques, say their prayers, and their wives wear trowsers instead of the Hindoo petticoat—all signs of a religious revival." (Chan-King's Gurgáon Report.)

VikasRaina wrote:Why would there be large scale conversion post 1801 when Ranjit Singh was crowned and later Brits ruling part of Punjab. The conversions should have subsided after that period. Am I missing something ?
Will X-post it to GDF thread.

If you lok at the link I have posted above - the mass of conversions started with Akbar's replacement of Hindu governors with Muslims which made it easier for Aurangzeb's bigotry. The etxt clear says that ranjit Singh put and end to tis nonsense.

One or two family members were forcibly converted, and sometimes one senior member of a family would convert in order to preserve the family land which would otherwise have been confiscated as belonging to non Muslims.

So these "came from outside" West Pakistanis are, as has always been stated, the subjects of Islamic convert or die policy.

X Posted from the Pakistan Arms Sales, Ops, Doctrine etc. thread.
Austin wrote:link
The missile was marked into the Indian ocean and was targeted successfully at its location, said Inter services public relations (ISPR) sources.

Retired General Talat Masood, a defence analyst, told media it would be able to hit targets up to 2,500 to 3,000 kilometres (1,550 to 1,850 miles) away.

Haft 4 is an improvised form of Shaheen 1 missile series in Pakistan and capable of nuclear system.
Austin wrote:From what i have read it is Shaheen 2 that has a range of 2500 km , Shaheen-1 is around 800 Km and an M-9 clone , me thinks the 1A series is an upgrade with some modification but not with very long range but we will see.
Seems the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is trying to do a Type 21 Amazon Class type fudge. In Royal. Navy service owing to it having a displacement significantly under 5000 Tons the vessel was correctly classed as a Frigate but yet in Pakistani service as the Tariq class it was promoted to a classification of Destroyer.

Going by the ISPR photo handout of the Shaheen 1A visually there is nothing like the addition of a second stage to suggest that 650 km ranged missile per ISPR May 10, 2010 press release (Clicky) has been upped to a 2500 - 3000 km range which retired Pakistani General Talat Masood has indicated is the bottom end of an IRBM range classification. It may also be noted that that the 2 staged Shaheen II has a claimed range of 2000 km per the ISPR press release of April 19, 2008 (Clicky)

Looks like this is a PR exercise aimed at Mango Abdul’s of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to do an equal=equal with India and claim an IRBM capability where none exists.

Meanwhile the ISPR press release with a photo of what is claimed to be the Shaheen 1A:

ISPR
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

What happened between the 1750s to 1940s that saw such large scale conversions?
The rise of the Marathas in the Central-West-North India is also one of the reason....Aftre Rohillas were butchered and Jats started cleaning up the Jatland...there were bound to be large scale migrations to the Pakjab....

I am not sure this belongs here or in Benis thread.

Upgraded Hatf IV test-fired
the Shaheen I-A primarily contains sophisticated automated refuelling
Aha, that is how they increased the range. They sent a refueller and added fuel to the rocket.
the upgraded version of Shaheen I of Hatf IV series, having a reported range of 1,000 kilometres.
But it was fired from undisclosed location near Islamabad. When did Indian Ocean move that close?

And it has capability which no other missile in the world has.
The sophisticated missile is capable of carrying both the nuclear and conventional combatant warheads simultaneously.
Nation

shiv wrote:Please allow me some semantic rambling on the topic of "normalization" of ties between Indiapakistan. "Normalization" implies a state of current "abnormality" in comparison to some previously established "normality".

This, of course is rubbish. Since Pakistan was a part of India, it was created by a violent act of ripping India. So violence is "normal". Peace is abnormality. What seems to be desired by various governments is an abnormal, "never existed earlier" state of peace between India and Pakistan. This is not "normalization". It is abnormalization, or if you don't like that word, the establishment of a new set of rules of engagement

There is no "prior history" of international relations between India and Pakistan that can be used as a template for relations. It was never an "international relationship" that can be reset to some older period. It was always an interprovincial relationship.

Relations between India and Pakistan cannot be based on Islam. Islam was used as the basis for breaking off Pakistan, and has continuously been touted as victor or victim of partition and cannot be used for mending relations. Islam may be used as a "common denominator" for relations between Islamic states, but even then there must be some economic or cultural exchange for the relationship to rise beyond like saying " I wish well for all of mankind". "We the ummah mean well for each other". If you look at cultural parameters, India has plenty of claims on areas of Pakistan based on Indian history of Hindus, Buddhists and Sikhs. It was an Islamic excuse that actually chose to break off. That Islamic excuse will have to be set aside for any new relationship to develop. Even if there are claims to some Islamic cultural links for Pakistanis inside india those links can only be admitted by an acceptance of Hindu, Sikh and Buddhist irredentist claims in Pakistan.

If the irredentist claims are set aside with a view to building relations on other "secular" parameters, we find that there was no "Pakistan" for people in India to deal with. Indians were merely dealing with Indian provinces like Sindh and Punjab and Baluchistan. So historic links with individual provinces of Pakistan and the people who were settled in those provinces can serve as a basis of "historic" relations.

Historically Sindh was occupied and dominated by Islamic rulers over 1000 years ago and remained that way till the 1840s when the British finally toppled the Talpurs, the Baluchi origin rulers of Sindh who had been in power for 200 years or so. Until the 1840s Indian who dealt with Sindhis were dealing with merchants and laws of the Talpurs of Sindh. The Sindhi people were more or less independent of the Brits until 1847 and came under "Britsh rule" for a century. The British actually had spread though India by a combination of trade, diplomatic and military deals from the south and east - with Madras and Calcutta as their bases. The Talpurs of Sindh themselves had usurped rule from an earlier dynasty called the Kalhoras, who in turn gained Sindh in the early 1700s from a declining Mughal empire under Aurangzeb.

With the Talpurs having been Baluchi - there are a lot of Baluchis in Sindh so Baluchistan and Sindh are connected up. It is amazing that these provinces have come to be dominated by the Pakjabis. The reason seems to be that right from 1947 the army has been dominated by Pakjabis and Pashtuns and we have a case of "Jiski lathi uski bhains" (He who wields the stick owns the buffalo).

I have been trying to inform myself about the history of the Panchanada (Punjab) area. It strikes me that the Mussalmans of Punjab have never been rulers, they have always been ruled. At best they make loyal servants. They are more often traitors and collaborators. Please look up the history of Punjab - of which accounts exist from the days of the Mahabharata. "Punjabi Mussalman rule" has existed since 1947 onlee. The primary driver for that was the pre-existence of a lot of Pakjabis in the Paki army at independence with white masters. they vowed to continue their ass licking of white masters in exchange for perennial aid from the west. The alliance between "Pakistan" and the US is hardly an alliance between nation states. It is an alliance between the Paki army, dominated by the Punjabi Mussalman and the US. I think a lot of Indians mistake Sikh valor as Punjabi valor. Sikh valor needed leadership brains. Punjabi mussalmans have always been vassals, not leaders. You can call this stereotyoing if you like but I will myself begin to bring down those stereotypes if better information becomes available.

So if India is to have any sort of "new relationship" with the area called Pakistan, it has to be a province by province relationship. Each province will have to be treated in a way that takes into account its history and the relationship of that province to old India.

just some random thoughts that took me an entire day to put down.
Shiv, I plan to move this and follow-up posts to the New Way of Looking at TSP thread to get some traction.

I think you and a few others should write a monograph on The Pakjab mind similar to Patai's The Arab Mind.
BTW, ZeeTv has a serial Phir Subah Hoge about a bunch of tribals (Bednis?) who sell their women to the feudal Rajputs/Thakurs. The tribal men have no other source of livelihood except the women who dance and spend their nights with the ruling class.
Somehow I felt it was a description of Pakjabis and the Turco-Persian invaders ruling them even now as their elite.

http://pakteahouse.net/2012/04/26/i-am- ... ni-indian/
I am a Pakistani Indian……
Raza Habib Raja

There is something about India as an idea which transcends the modern day political configurations. It is the idea of India as a huge mass of land which stretches from Baluchistan to present day Bangladesh. This idea of India is independent of any political configuration. In fact during the past thousands of years, this mass of land has very seldom been a unified political entity. And yet there is something which loosely unites the inhabitants despite their substantial religious and at times even ethno linguistic differences (after all let us not forget that more than 200 languages are spoken in India). There is something, perhaps difficult to articulate, which enables this huge stretch of land to be called India irrespective of various political shapes it has assumed over thousands of years.
My country Pakistan was created only 60 years ago. In my eyes, the current political landscape consisting of India, Bangladesh and Pakistan is just one of the many political permutations, Indian subcontinent has witnessed over thousands of years. This current political formation does not mean that I have ceased to be an Indian. Yes at this point I will say that I am a proud Pakistani. I opened my eyes here and I love it intensely despite the fact that I have often been severely critical of the way things are being run here. But at the same time I would also like to say that I have an Indian identity as well.
Dear Raza, we saw this coming a long time back. How much you RAPES have evolved! Hindus and Muslims are different and can't live together -> Two nations -> Pakistan is TFTA and India poor SDRE -> Please give us Indian visa -> South Asian union -> Pakistani Indian! Next what? I am an Indian? I will not be surprised. How clever of you guys to want to have a separate land only for Muslims but want access to brand India which is secular? So you are a proud Pakistani which means you stand by separate homeland for subcontinent Muslims theory which means no Pakistan for dirty kafirs. But you want the dirty kafirs of India to accept you as Indian. No Raza, just because you claim you are a Pakistani Indian does not mean you will be treated better at airports. Your article shows how badly you elites have accepted the failure of two nation theory.

So India launches an ICBM and Pakistan responds with a piddly Saheen -1A. Now India launches a microwave radar imaging satellite, let's see what the Paki response will be!

India successfully launches first microwave radar imaging satellite RISAT - I

My guess is they are gonna fly some kite and call it a satellite!

partha wrote:http://pakteahouse.net/2012/04/26/i-am- ... ni-indian/
I am a Pakistani Indian……
Raza Habib Raja

There is something about India as an idea which transcends the modern day political configurations. It is the idea of India as a huge mass of land which stretches from Baluchistan to present day Bangladesh. This idea of India is independent of any political configuration. In fact during the past thousands of years, this mass of land has very seldom been a unified political entity. And yet there is something which loosely unites the inhabitants despite their substantial religious and at times even ethno linguistic differences (after all let us not forget that more than 200 languages are spoken in India). There is something, perhaps difficult to articulate, which enables this huge stretch of land to be called India irrespective of various political shapes it has assumed over thousands of years.
My country Pakistan was created only 60 years ago. In my eyes, the current political landscape consisting of India, Bangladesh and Pakistan is just one of the many political permutations, Indian subcontinent has witnessed over thousands of years. This current political formation does not mean that I have ceased to be an Indian. Yes at this point I will say that I am a proud Pakistani. I opened my eyes here and I love it intensely despite the fact that I have often been severely critical of the way things are being run here. But at the same time I would also like to say that I have an Indian identity as well.
Dear Raza, we saw this coming a long time back. How much you RAPES have evolved! Hindus and Muslims are different and can't live together -> Two nations -> Pakistan is TFTA and India poor SDRE -> Please give us Indian visa -> South Asian union -> Pakistani Indian! Next what? I am an Indian? I will not be surprised. How clever of you guys to want to have a separate land only for Muslims but want access to brand India which is secular? So you are a proud Pakistani which means you stand by separate homeland for subcontinent Muslims theory which means no Pakistan for dirty kafirs. But you want the dirty kafirs of India to accept you as Indian. No Raza, just because you claim you are a Pakistani Indian does not mean you will be treated better at airports. Your article shows how badly you elites have accepted the failure of two nation theory.
Saar,
this is just the begining. Eventually, they will talk of coming back to India...undoing the partition.

Just to clarify: When I say, undoing the partition, it does not mean seamlessly undoing the partition and becoming one big happy nation. Paki oligarchy will beg Indian oligarchy to accept them and their nation back into India. Western Oligarchy will have to bless the project for it to succeed. Just as the partition was a deal between these 3 parties, undoing the partition or continuing it will also be the decision of these 3 parties. The aam abduls and Rams need not consent to the project.

Someone said that Pakis want to have relation with India similar to Mexico's relation with US. I agree. But, I think Pakis would want better. They would want to have a relation with India similar to Maoists(and their commie 'eminent intellectual brethren').

So, when I say undoing the partition, what it means is: Paki oligarchy will get all the perks and privileges of Indian nationhood. They get to be part of the parliament and decision making. But some kind of autonomy(like say article 370) will be bargained for. Most jihadis will not like the idea of undoing the partition. They will play the role of maoists. The Paki oligarchy will then offer themselves as the go-between the jihadis and the Indian state...very much similar to how paki oligarchy have offered themselves as go-between US and jihadis. Then, the paki oligarchy will hunt with hounds and run with hares. The pakis can then again leech.

The obvious question would be: Why will India accept such losing proposition?
I am not saying that India will accept the proposition. I am saying that Indian oligarchy may find the proposition quite tempting. Why? To keep the jihadi network and paki oligarchy intact. Without such a lifeline, jihadi network and paki oligarchy may soon wither away.

BTW, the precedent to this is partition. Partition was also a losing proposition, but was accepted by the Indian oligarchy.

More importantly, in a decade or two, the Indian oligarchy maybe facing a threat from the rising middle-class Hindus. And they can be neutralised by the pakis.

It may not happen the way I am envisaging. It may happen in a different manner also. Say, the paki nation may secede into smaller parts. These smaller parts, then, offer to join the Indian union with certain preconditions. The end result may still be similar.

Of course, there is every chance that Hindus may use such an event to end all the pakiness once and for all.

Fresh off the BBC:
Pakistani PM Yousuf Raza Gilani guilty of contempt
Pakistan's Supreme Court has found Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani guilty in a contempt of court case.

However, the court gave Mr Gilani only a symbolic sentence and he will not have to serve any time in jail.

The Court with the collusion of the Army is trying to install a caretaker government which will re-open NATO routes after negotiating for more money for the Pak army, undermine PPP and PML-N in the elections and somehow get Imran elected to power (apart from doling out extensions for Kayani)

But the PPP is going to take this verdict and going to go to town claiming persecution and will win votes.

Anyone recall that flurry of fake news planted by the NPAs in several 'south asian' outlets a few moons ago of how TSP was surging ahead in fissile material production and had an inventory of 100-120 bums, significantly higher than India's 80-90 odd stock.

The aim clearly was to get GoI to react and reveal aspects of our N-program. As usual, GoI didn't bite and Paki condition is so bad, I doubt they can mass manufacture fissile material anywhere near as efficiently as the NPAs were making them out to be.

The Pakis can make only fizul material.

ramana wrote:The Pakis can make only fizul material.
:rotfl: At least that provides raw material for Fauji Fertilizers.

ramana wrote: I think you and a few others should write a monograph on The Pakjab mind similar to Patai's The Arab Mind.
BTW, ZeeTv has a serial Phir Subah Hoge about a bunch of tribals (Bednis?) who sell their women to the feudal Rajputs/Thakurs. The tribal men have no other source of livelihood except the women who dance and spend their nights with the ruling class.
Somehow I felt it was a description of Pakjabis and the Turco-Persian invaders ruling them even now as their elite.
Nice idea - I need to collect more data though - which I am doing.