Indian Education System

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Education System

Sachin wrote:
2. Rights of children to free and compulsory education guaranteed under Article 21A and RTE Act can be enforced against the schools defined under Section 2(n) of the Act, except unaided minority and non-minority schools not receiving any kind of aid or grants to meet their expenses from the appropriate governments or local authorities.
I am not a lawyer, but from what I can make out of it is that unaided schools (be it minority or majority community managed) are exempted from this. At least in my state there are lots of schools started by various managements (or trustees etc.) which have procured their own land and built up their own assets. They recruit teachers from the open market and pay them based on negotiated agreements. Many of these schools go for English as the medium and opt for ICSE or CBSE syllabus. So these sort of schools remain untouched from this act. The state government cannot do any thing to force upon them any idea, which they are not willing to buy.

PS: I know a few schools (or its management) who literally kept the state government (of Kerala) at an arm's length. This was during the time when student union politics was going in full swing in state schools, and the teacher community too equally politicises. These new schools felt that if they got any deal from the local state government, the quid pro quo would be politics entering their schools and finally the new school also becoming the old "government school". Many parents also started preferring such new schools, because they did not want their kids to play politics and waste their lives. These new schools did charge higher fees, because they did not get a paisa from the state governments.

This is an incorrect appreciation of the Law. The Constitution, 86th amendment Act 2002 added Art. 21A to the Constitution of India, making the Right To Education a fundamental right.

Ostensibly to give effect to this right, the Right to Education Act was passed, which made it the responsibility of Private Schools (Whether Aided or Unaided), in addition to govt schools, to admit 25% Below Poverty Line students. The Supreme Court of India, in a recent judgement has upheld this notion as intra vires the constitution.

Under Art 30, The constitution of India, minorities have the unfettered right to establish and administer their own institutes. As such, Private UNAIDED minority institutes will not be forced to implement this quota. However, private, unaided non-minority institutes MUST implement it, or suffer action under the law.

ASPuar wrote:However, private, unaided non-minority institutes MUST implement it, or suffer action under the law.
Thanks for the clarification. So for the majority groups it is a double-whammy :(. In Karnataka I have noticed that certain groups/communities are trying to get educational instituitions setup claiming themselves as "linguistic minority".

Its a Backward way to keep the Minority Instutions from educating the elite. in Chennai for eg. many convent schools have lost out on rankings to Private Majority run institutions.

No other country will allow discrimination against the Majority like this.

Sachin wrote:
ASPuar wrote:However, private, unaided non-minority institutes MUST implement it, or suffer action under the law.
Thanks for the clarification. So for the majority groups it is a double-whammy :(. In Karnataka I have noticed that certain groups/communities are trying to get educational instituitions setup claiming themselves as "linguistic minority".
Yes. Double whammy for Majority groups.

I will point out, that under art. 30 of the constitution, linguistic minorities are permitted to establish their own institutes on the same footing as religious minorities.

ASPuar saar , I think you are mistaken.. the supreme court judgement exempts both minority and non minority unaided schools from BPL reservations ...

here is the statement ..link to the whole judgement has been posted by my in the last page..

2. Rights of children to free and compulsory education guaranteed under Article 21A and RTE Act can be enforced against the schools defined under Section 2(n) of the Act, except unaided minority and non-minority schools not receiving any kind of aid or grants to meet their expenses from the appropriate governments or local authorities.

Thanks Gakakkad for the clarification, I was swayed by Media reports.

actually this RTE bill is a massive gimmick.. Media reports were paid adverts onlee , purposefully misleading people into believing that GOI is magnanimous ...RTE offers nothing new..Gov't schools were already free for the age group upto 14..And grant in aid schools already had very little fee.. This bill changes nothing ...because most students in Govt schools and grant in aid schools were already BPL ...

gakakkad wrote:ASPuar saar , I think you are mistaken.. the supreme court judgement exempts both minority and non minority unaided schools from BPL reservations ...

here is the statement ..link to the whole judgement has been posted by my in the last page..

Gakakkad, in law, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, which is why judgements have to be read in toto, and repeatedly for them to make any sort of sense. Its why people in the news are always "Studying" judgements.

The excerpt which you (and Sachin) have quoted is from Radhakrishnan, J's dissenting judgement. He is in the minority, and the majority opinion (delivered by Kapadia, CJ), clearly states that even unaided non-minority private schools are fully under the ambit and scope of the RTE Act, and must reserve 25pct seats for the category specified.

The only persons exempted, per the majority decision (binding, and the law of the land, per art. 141 of the Constitution of India), are private, unaided, minority institutes. This is why I was saying that the statement in Sachin's post above rests upon an incorrect appreciation of the law.

This judgement has been a terrible blow for private and unaided non minority schools, as has been repeated again and again in the news. It has licensed an unfunded mandate, and is sad. The state should do its duty to the needy, by building and funding more schools, training more teachers, and attracting more parents to send their children to school, and not penalising those who are already making efforts to spread education through enterprise, and on their own dime.

The HRD minister was kind enough to announce on TV, "Private schools often have reserves of cash. Why cant they use those to fund RTE"?
Last edited by ASPuar on 22 May 2012 10:32, edited 1 time in total.

Save the classroom from the political class

We created a textbook that would encourage young citizens to think seriously about politics. But our politicians are not ready for that yet

When an emotional issue erupts in the public domain, argument becomes difficult and secondary to decision-making. That is what happened over the controversy regarding the inclusion of a cartoon depicting Dr. B.R. Ambedkar in a class XI textbook. One self-proclaimed inheritor and interpreter of Dr. Ambedkar's legacy ensured the debate could not even enter the realm of reason by comparing him to the Prophet. Such persons have done immense harm to the Ambedkar legacy of critique — remember that he not only sought to critique and demolish Hinduism or Gandhi's ideas; he even sought to critique and recreate Buddhism when he chose to embrace the Buddha. But now the controversy has become wider in its scope. When the Parliament of the country, almost in one voice, reprimands the inclusion of cartoons in political science textbooks, is there any scope for reason? Thus, in either case, argument is the casualty.

One could, of course, say that a “duly constituted” committee has been now appointed to look into the matter and that, of course, there is no reason to think that eminent colleagues sitting on that committee will not hear the case out rationally. However, the core issue remains: MPs across party lines have expressed their displeasure over the inclusion of cartoons and indicated their pedagogic inclination by expressing concerns over “vitiating young minds”.

Issues to be argued

Initially, when the controversy broke, concerns were expressed that this has something to do with freedom of expression. But many political leaders have pointed out that they are not opposed to cartoons being published in the media. This has made the debate more focused now. Besides the purported denigration of Dr. Ambedkar, five other issues have now emerged and need to be argued, debated and resolved both in the academic realm and the public realm more generally.

The first issue is about “impressionable” minds. Magnanimously, some of the participants in this debate have assured us that cartoons are fine for researchers and postgraduates, just not for young minds, please. This reminds one of the recent move to legislate that sex is not to be allowed till a certain age. No sex and textbook cartoons please, we are under 18. And that takes us to one of the larger issues: an authoritarian parental mindset that typically characterises our relations with younger generations and to collective life generally. With the explosion of information and media, issues transcend boundaries of age and this needs to be taken into account when arguing for a protective approach towards dissemination of ideas and knowledge.

matrimc wrote:New Ranking of Countries' Higher Ed Systems
New Ranking of Countries' Higher Ed Systems

Universitas 21, a group of universities from around the world, has released a new international ranking of nations' higher education systems. Countries were evaluated on a series of measures related to resources (spending by governments and private sources); output (research and its impact and graduates who meet labor market needs); connectivity (international collaboration); and the higher education environment (government policies, diversity and other factors). Population was taken into account. The top five countries: United States, Sweden, Canada, Finland and Denmark.
India is last :eek:

Assuming that this ranking is reasonable, a few elite institutions (which are presumably at the level of the highest rated institutions in US) won't cut it if the averages are not brought up.
Why the surprise? We have created a few institutions of excellence, which does not do justice for a large country like ours. Precisely because these institutions have a near monopoly on attracting the best students in India, they also have a near monopoly on attracting the best jobs. These institutions have a vested interest in maintaining this artificial scarcity of talent. But the amount of talent that needs to be nurtured to help India become a developed country is nowhere close to be achieved, and won't achieved as long as the current situation prevails.

abhischekcc wrote:Why the surprise?
Abhischek ji

Surprised because I had no idea that we are so bad. Of course, your explanation is what I also zeroed in on but never thought that to be so detrimental again assuming the study was done without any preconceived notions (I have to say that I do not have any reasons to disbelieve the study). There is a large constituency (and a few on BRF as well) who wants "IIT name to not diluted" whatever it means.

Ciao

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/article/2/2 ... tests.html

The state education department has given district education officers the power to capture student admissions on video if they suspect any school of not following proper guidelines.

This has been done to ensure that these schools don't discriminate while allocating 25 per cent seats to students from financially weaker sections under the Right to Education (RTE) Act.

Sanjay Deshmukh, project director of the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan, who will be looking after the Act's implementation, said, "If our official comes to know of any school not going by the rules, he will shoot the entire process on camera. This will create more transparency and also act as proof of the process. If parents or NGOs take the matter to court, we can produce the footage as evidence."

The RTE Act makes education a fundamental right of every child aged 6-14 years, and specifies minimum norms in elementary schools. As per the rules, all schools, excluding unaided minority-run institutions, will have to reserve 25 per cent of their seats for students from financially weaker sections.

‘A welcome move by the government’

"Some schools may give admissions to students from weaker sections but without following the prescribed procedure. This move will hopefully bring a stop to this too. It's a welcome move by the government." said Arundhati Chavan, president of the Parent Teacher Association.

"Sometimes local politicians pressurise schools to admit their kids through this quota. The admission process of this section should be very transparent," she added.

Jayant Jain, president of the Forum for Fairness in Education said, "If the government really wants transparency admissions they should also consider online admissions. This way every body will know what is going on."

As I said, RTE applies to private unaided schools just as much as to any other.

Sibal for Muslim quota under RTE

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 501239.cms

NEW DELHI: Union human resource development (HRD) minister Kapil Sibal has urged the Delhi government to treat Muslim students as a "disadvantaged group'' for admission in schools under the 25% economically weaker section quota mandated by the Right To Education Act.

At present, apart from SCs and STs, only OBC students not belonging to creamy layer are considered disadvantaged and, therefore, entitled for admission under the 25% RTE quota. Under the Act, however, states have the authority to include any other group that it feels is disadvantaged within this quota.

Sources said Sibal raised the issue of expanding the "disadvantaged" category with Delhi education minister Arvinder Singh in a meeting on Thursday in view of reports that few Muslim students were able to get admission under RTE.

According to sources familiar with details of the deliberations, Sibal suggested that the Muslim community as a whole be notified as a disadvantaged group -which should clear the way for a large number of students of the community to be admitted in schools.

However, the advantage, as in case of OBCs, could be limited to economically weaker sections in the community.
Wajahat Habibullah, chairman of National Commission for Minorities, who was present in the meeting, confirmed the HRD ministry's move to widen ambit of "disadvantaged" for the benefit of Muslims.

"The ministry was of the opinion that if Muslim community is specifically mentioned, it would help schools in identifying students and correct the disadvantage they suffer accordingly,'' Habibullah said. He added that the Delhi education minister had already given his consent.

Singh could not be contacted. However, officials in the department confirmed his meeting with Sibal, adding that the state government was yet to take a call on the issue. The commission had earlier written to the Delhi government and the HRD minister highlighting the issue.

In case, the Delhi government agrees, it will be required to work out the exact percentage that Muslims would be entitled to within the 25% RTE quota for the disadvantaged.
Minority rights activists had alleged that schools were deliberately excluding Muslim children by giving lower weightage to Muslim-dominated colonies, thereby excluding them through the point system.

The other decisions that were taken in the meeting were Delhi government's offer to allow private minority organizations run government schools in the areas that had a large minority representation.

"There were concerns that government schools run in areas that have a large representation of minority community do not provide quality education. The Delhi government has suggested that if there is a minority foundation that is keen to run the school, the government school infrastructure could be made available to them,'' a senior official said.

http://www.thehindu.com/education/artic ... epage=true
imo, correct decision by SC on knowing marks. perfectly valid judgement.

matrimc wrote:
abhischekcc wrote:Why the surprise?
Abhischek ji

Surprised because I had no idea that we are so bad. Of course, your explanation is what I also zeroed in on but never thought that to be so detrimental again assuming the study was done without any preconceived notions (I have to say that I do not have any reasons to disbelieve the study). There is a large constituency (and a few on BRF as well) who wants "IIT name to not diluted" whatever it means.

Ciao

we are not really that bad...the survey is piss-ops onlee..they want more Indian students to study abroad by creating such psii-ops...indian students form a multi billion dollar market for overseas education ...this and other surveys are pis-ops in that direction...it is not unusual for dalals of unheard western universities to walk in some Indian school and produces this ludicrous rankings..

w.r.t dilution of IIT , that was arranged by Arjun Singh... nothing diluted them more than the massive SC/ST/OBC quota...the private colleges will soon overtake them...

SaiK wrote:http://www.thehindu.com/education/artic ... epage=true
imo, correct decision by SC on knowing marks. perfectly valid judgement.
It's one with the overall policy of dumbing down education to the lowest multiple to accomodate academically challenged students. Since it it ultimately marks that count in later grades, parents should opt out of the school board in favour of private tutoring for the highest transparency.

TV is reporting the IIT/NIT/IIIT councils have decided on a unified entrance exam.
also 50% weight to class12 marks and 50% for this new merged exam.

I suppose its going to be remain equally competitive given the huge numbers involved, but will streamline and reduce the administrative workload and is a first step towards a catch-all SAT once the state govt run and pvt engg colleges are also brought into the fold.

if they can push some useful things like giving choice of more elective courses at 400 and 600 level , will permit people to pursue some dedicated interests like the 'major' and 'minor' concept in american univs. a CSE student interested in ECE or Mech applications should be given the chance and vice versa. the branch names are narrow walls but real world is all merger and people who know across the walls will do better.

The "dilution" argument, falls flat here in massa where the public school system has kept the standards in most urban areas. In India with private schools taking the initiative, we are going to have the burden of a quality gap between haves and have nots for longer than desirable.

It is only in rural areas the public schools have failed maybe, but even there the gems have made it mainstream. Knew one outstanding young chap who was doing his UG while I was in post-doc stage, and now he is a full Prof. His family background was rural folks with no college education.

offering scholarships/fee waivers to poorer students cannot be termed as dilution...

@ Bade , most masas public schools are not completely free for eveyone....in fact the expenditure incurred for sending your kid to a american public school is a lot more than most Indian private schools ...even though theoretically american public schools cannot charge for core tuitions , they find ways to circumvent it... even if you send your kid to an american public school you spend on an average USD 5K-7K PER annum... that must have been the cost of my entire schooling in India...and I went to a leading private school...

many Indian public schools are fairly ok... KVs for instance ...

some low fee charitable schools are exceptionally great... Bhavans for instance...the present fee is less than INR 10K . quality is comparable to masan private school...and the fee of 10k will be affordable to >50% of the Indian households ... (considering the fact that the median household income is inr 2 lakh ) ...

the pathetic state of an average Indian public school has more to do with poor management...And they should stop being completely free...

I was referring to school system in massa and not college level.

Though there is a direct correlation between good public schools and median income of people residing within the school system boundaries, public schools are not exclusively for a certain segment of the population. One can assume a good 30% of students in any public school come from families of cleaners, fire fighters, policemen, construction workers etc. so the so called dilution effect could have happened, and it is found to be not the case. There are plenty of examples we have seen in everyday life that even statistics is not necessary to support the idea that dilution at 10-30% is not going to bring down overall standards.

if you send your kid to an american public school you spend on an average USD 5K-7K PER annum... that must have been the cost of my entire schooling in India...
That is a rather large number you quote, I do not even with dual income pay that much in state taxes, a part of which is used for school systems. The only expense we have for my kid is the yearly school supplies, which is even less than a hundred dollars total from our pockets.

The only reason for people like me not to R2I are the free schools and they are good and at par with Indian private schools. Yes, I should know since I went to many myself in India.

some low fee charitable schools are exceptionally great... Bhavans for instance...the present fee is less than INR 10K . quality is comparable to masan private school...and the fee of 10k will be affordable to >50% of the Indian households ... (considering the fact that the median household income is inr 2 lakh ) ...
I do not get this either, I have a family member who works for central govt (Railways) and lives in a metro, the take home is just about little more than twice that you quote for monthly school fees. Most metros one would not find a 1BHK for less than INR 5000 in rent in a reasonable neighbourhood, no fancy IT Vity level luxuries. What does that leave such a person with for food and other expenses. I doubt the 50% number of households who are making enough to feel comfortable with such fees for a single child. One needs an income of Rs50k or more per month to be in the safe zone.

I do not get this either, I have a family member who works for central govt (Railways) and lives in a metro
most Indians don't live in metros .cost of living is smaller towns is much lesser....and the median household income in metros is a lot higher than 2 lakh per annum (would be around 5-6 lakh range , surat has the highest household income of about 7-8 lakh ...mumbai must be close to 6 lakh)...

unless situation has changed drastically in the last 3-4 years most decent pvt schools in kolkata charge in the range of 2-3K with 5k being the upper limit for most cases. bhavans was <2k IIRC.

That is a rather large number you quote, I do not even with dual income pay that much in state taxes, a part of which is used for school systems. The only expense we have for my kid is the yearly school supplies, which is even less than a hundred dollars total from our pockets.

i don't have kids yet , but my cousins went to a public school in NJ and annual expenses were in 4k-5k range..i don't know the breakdown of expenses (what goes for tuition , what for supplies etc) , but still 4k-5k = the mdian Indian household income ,that was just the expenditure of a single kid...the public schools in american metros truly suck ...ny for instance has a dropout rate of >50%...

and the total money being spent on nyc public schools must exceed what was spent for whole of India a few years ago...

private schools in masaa cost 15k-30k USD ...that is higher than the average savings of an american household ...and quarter the value of average masan net worth..

^^^ yes, Kolkata is relatively cheaper than Bengaluru where it is about 10k per month from what I hear.

Do the KVs still attract good students ? Lot of iit faculty wards used to go to the local KVs on campus. It seems not to be the case anymore.

varies from kv to kv but in general yes. it is also a prized job among teachers so the quality is usually as good or even better than the avg pvt school.

10k per month must be for extremely tfta schools ...many IB schools charge 2 lakh per year....that must the 99th percentile for fees... I dont think most decent cbse schools charge 1 lakh per annum...

types of studs in kvs depends upon loaction...they are often located in campuses of psus like ongc , or in army cantonment etc...so demographics will depend on such factors..

gakakkad, your cousins may be counting for after school expenses only then it will make sense.

For instance the schools are 8am to 3pm, roughly and if you want care for elementary school students before and after hours ie, 7:00 am drop off and 6 pm pickup then it will cost you around $400 per month extra other than your supplies cost. That could explain the $4000 your cousins incurred.

The school after activities (SACC) is provided by the county in the school premises, and there is a long wait as seats are limited. We had to wait a year before our kid got in. It is subsidized by the county and pro-rated based on income. So we pay the full max rate, someone else could be paying half or even nothing, though I am not sure.

added: even the school bus is free, no uniform costs ;-) like in private schools in desh. But in private schools here just bus will cost you $1500 per month for each child. Fees are like $2000 per month on top of it.

just to clarify , the fees of a branch of Bhavans near ahmedabad are about 10-20k per annum (not per month) ...and that even includes afternoon meals...the annual fee in most Indian branches of bhavans is less than 25k ...only in bombay/delhi it exceeds that figure...

business-standard: HC quashes Centre's 4.5 per cent sub-quota for minorities
Holding that the Centre acted in a "casual manner", the Andhra Pradesh High Court today quashed the 4.5 per cent sub-quota to minorities carved out of 27 per cent OBC reservation--a verdict that may affect admissions already made in central educational institutions such as IITs.

In a setback to the Centre over the sub-quota issue, the Court said the Office Memorandum(OM) creating the sub-quota was based on religious grounds and not on any other consideration.

The December 22, 2011 OM for a subquota of 4.5 per cent for socially and educationally backward classes of citizens belonging to minority communities out of the 27 per cent reservation for OBCs in central educational institutions and jobs was announced by the Centre ahead of the Assembly elections in five states including Uttar Pradesh and Punjab.

The very use of the words "belonging to minorities" or "for minorities" indicates that the sub-quota has been carved out only on religious lines and not on any other intelligible basis, the bench observed while setting aside the sub-quota

"No evidence has been shown to us by the learned Assistant Solicitor General to justify the classification of these religious minorities as a homogeneous group or as more backward classes deserving some special treatment.

"We must, therefore, hold that Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) do not form a homogeneous group but a heterogeneous group," it observed.

The JLN/BRA sold the cool-aid of (sic) secular constitution saying that it will unite all Indic population while their successors separate Indics from Hindus.

SaiK wrote:http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... epage=true
so what do you all say on this?
It's a good idea. Doesn't make sense that each federally funded college has its own exam. It should also be an incentive for state governments and zilla parishads to set up colleges that meet their requirements.

sorry if this was discussed earlier,

there is a serious problem with the way the higher secondary education is structured (10th, 11th and 12th) and the entrance to colleges.

On one hand the top scoring people are feted (too much, IMO) in newspapers, TV interviews, faces on notices and boards outside the schools etc and on the other hand there are students who have committed suicide because of their low scores.

This 12th std marks as 'make or break' of one's life should be stopped.

What's the alternative in the face of too much demand and too few good college seats (which many argue has resulted in our 'process of elimination' method of admission to colleges)?

In some cases the process is literally of the person eliminating self - i.e. suicide - from running.

The 10th results are out now and the first rankers are in the first page and suicide cases are in the middle pages.

^ Gus sir actually things have improved or lets say gobmint has tried to address that problem, doing away with long 5 mark description type questions and the whole 100 mark evaluation are steps in that direction. Kids these days get grades (A, B ,C etc) until the high school. I think marking system remains for +2 because Sibbal saab wants 12th std marks to be given some weightage along with JEE mains for engineering entrace examination.

Suicide cases are of the extreme nature I for one do not strongly associate them with our education system per se, imho it's mostly to do with child's socio economic background and how supportive and aware his/her parents are during his/her teen years. When parents make their kid's examination their own H&D issue and a matter of life and death things start to get worse.

ManMohan's "Sancho Panza" Kapil Sibal (he actually has a cabinet stuffed with suchlike),has come out with his latest gem,that "Indian teachers have no class"! "...our teaching communities are not as educated as they should be." In fact the boot should be on the other foot as Sibal ,with his utterings and REA (Right to Education Act-the ,most hilarious piece of legislation of the decade,if it weren't so serious),has damaged the education system in India monstrously,more than any other individual since Independence.In just one howler of the REA,schools are supposed to admit any child of any age and admit him in the class of his age and make him pass the class exam instantly! No child can be expelled for any reason,even if he murders his teacher, as one student did recently in Madras.These are just some howlers in the Act.Read it for youeselves to find out just how ridiculous it is.

The record of Indian students who go abroad time and time again,has proved that Sibal is an ignoramus par excellence.This cretinous scab ,parasite upon the nation and hanger-on of Sonia G's saree,is so full of his bloated ego that his mental delusions are the basis for the educational policies of the govt.Just a day ago proud friends showed me the fabulous performance of their child,on an exchange programme in the US,who has stood first in several disciplines there,doing the country proud.This child was also adjudged the best NCC cadet of the country at a past Republic Day parade.

It is despite the pathetic focus given to education in the country that legions of dedicated teachers soldier on for a pittance imparting their knowledge in the best manner possible to their students.The Indian IT industry's success is the best denunciation of Sibal's delusions.This combination of an idiot, cretin and moron should be sent to a mental institution and given the neccessary shock therapy to set right the malodorous fecal matter inside his skull that passes for a brain.
nelson

Post by nelson »

Well, this is interesting. Is it a genuine dissent in the establishment or plain politicks, only time will tell?

IIT Kanpur to conduct its own entrance test from 2013