Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Jayram

Post by Jayram »

Bala Vignesh wrote:Those are pitot tubes, IIRC, not refueling probes..
No I don't think so.. That probe is fairly large and you can clearly see pitot tubes at the bottom and side of the fuselage on expanding that picture. Google does not yield a def answer however I believe the IN might have received these aircraft (if we bought used not new) in this condition back in 1988.

^^^They are A2A refueling probes.

jamwal wrote:Pictures from Laddakh

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mohanbn/tags/ladakh/
Them are Siachen pics......excellent timing to link the photo stream :mrgreen:

Jayram wrote:
No I don't think so.. That probe is fairly large and you can clearly see pitot tubes at the bottom and side of the fuselage on expanding that picture. Google does not yield a def answer however I believe the IN might have received these aircraft (if we bought used not new) in this condition back in 1988.
The simple reason could be that the refueling probes are not removable like the ones on the new C-130s. In any case, with a 12000+km range that refueling probe is overkill for a Bear.

Nope, that is a refuelling probe, not a pitot tube. Look at this picture closely. Why would it need such a gigantic pitot tube?

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Images/Tu-142a.jpg
It would be required on Venus where I am told the atmosphere demands pitot tubes of that size.

Isn't the Pitot tube the thingmajig under the nose?

rajanb wrote:Isn't the Pitot tube the thingmajig under the nose?
Yes. It is the thin angular thing sticking out under the green part of the nose.

Interesting pic.

And a badass pic. 8)

oh noooo

they are carrying rifles on their shoulder pointing to the guy behind

Khan SWAT teams do not :((

not to mention mismatched uniforms
aniket

Post by aniket »

Gotta love the sunglasses :p
Although jokes apart, in a lot of pics even of exercises the infantry are not wearing bullet proof jackets.only place I've seen them wearing those are in the J&K. Any reason for that ?
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

All the magazines are empty,so we can take it as a posing opprtunity rather than the real one.One thing that captures the eye is the uniform at that altitude,this must be upgraded.

aniket wrote:Gotta love the sunglasses :p
Although jokes apart, in a lot of pics even of exercises the infantry are not wearing bullet proof jackets.only place I've seen them wearing those are in the J&K. Any reason for that ?
J&K is an active combat zone. They need the BPJs there. Not so during exercises.
anjan

Post by anjan »

aniket wrote:Gotta love the sunglasses :p
My guess is that in a high intensity conflict the mobility tradeoff is not worth it.

They wear it where they feel the need for it. Sometimes, you can see even policemen and CISF guys wearing BPJs in Delhi.
J&K is active combat zone, :D Never thought of it that way.

Indrajit wrote:All the magazines are empty,so we can take it as a posing opprtunity rather than the real one.One thing that captures the eye is the uniform at that altitude,this must be upgraded.
Upgraded to what?
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Indrajit wrote:All the magazines are empty,so we can take it as a posing opprtunity rather than the real one.One thing that captures the eye is the uniform at that altitude,this must be upgraded.
Upgraded to what?
Actually at high altitude it becomes surprisingly warm from 11am to 2pm .. you can profusely sweat during long trek...so without knowing when the picture was taken .. it is wrong to make such assumption
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

@Shivji..

I meant with better thermals & protective gears,even the uniform needs to be changed just like we see the jawans guarding the LoC in J&K.

Indrajit wrote:@Shivji..

I meant with better thermals & protective gears,even the uniform needs to be changed just like we see the jawans guarding the LoC in J&K.
What I haven't figured out is what it was in the image that made you think they do not have enough? These guys are on patrol in bright sunlight that appears in gaps in clouds - hence the uv protection sunglasses.

The other question is regarding uniform change at a post that is 15,000 feet up. Who exactly provides the running water to do the washing when supplies probably come by helicopter when the weather is good on some mornings only because the hotter, thinner air in the afternoon precludes afternoon supplies? So I suspect uniform change is once a week.

I am presenting photos of the Maharaja Ranjit Singh War Museum at Ludhiana which I visited last month.

The album has more than 220 photos divided into the following sections:

Introduction to the Museum. Also the beginning of the gallery

Bravest of the Brave. List of the Bravest of the Brave

Artillery, Armour & Small arms. Of particular interest maybe this 3.7" Howitzer. The plaque reads "HAV Umrao Singh received a Victoria Cross (VC) while firing this gun" (or this type of gun?) - needs confirmation.. Also, of interest may be this FORD (T-16) MK-1. Took part in 1971 IND-PAK (Operation Cactus Lily) war

Memorials

Airforce, Signals & Navy. These seem to be somebody's belongings and these. Can somebody please translate the Gurumuki?. Photo of India's 1st Ashok Chakra being awarded

Costumes. This section contains the History of the Sikhs

History. Nahatma Gandhi's quotation about the Sikh people

Kargil

War. The information board about the famous Roaring Fourties (40 Medium Regiment) that blunted TSP's 1 Armoured Division thrust. Indian flag flying in Barkee, Lahore district.. Instrument of surrender

Heroes. The list of Heroes in the gallery. Air Cmde H S Mangat's information Board. You can see photos of his battered SU-7 from my Airforce Museum gallery photo1, photo2, photo3, photo4, photo5, photo6, photo7, photo8 & photo9

Premises

Finally, I am providing the Museum location because I had a hard time finding it. No one seemed to know its whereabouts and it took me over an hour and a half to locate it, which I did accidentally after I had given up my pursuit.

Museum location from Ludhiana station &

Museum location detail, opposite Malhotra Regency Hotel, Jallandhar Highway

I hope you enjoy.

Gaur wrote:Interesting pic.

And a badass pic. 8)
The insignia on the cap is of 5th Gorkha Rifles.

Rahul

Thanks for those great pictures of the war museum. The museum seems to have a surprisingly large number of interesting armour and field exhibits. but the condition of them is a bit depressing. Anyway hope they are able to bring them up to shape.

-Jagan

Jagan wrote:Rahul

Thanks for those great pictures of the war museum. The museum seems to have a surprisingly large number of interesting armour and field exhibits. but the condition of them is a bit depressing. Anyway hope they are able to bring them up to shape.

-Jagan
Amazing photos indeed, very meticulously composed and collected. Feels like a virtual visit.

Excellent work rahul, a labor of love.

Rahulm
Good work there sir ji. Is that warmify effect on photos intentional ? It looks good only on a few photos.
BTW, were you wearing a white hat ?

X Posted from the Indian Naval Discussion thread.

Large 2048X1374 photographs.

May 27, 2012 photo of INS Teg at Malta by Albireo2006:

INS Teg at Malta - May 27

May 28, 2012 photo of INS Teg at Malta by Albireo2006:

INS Teg at Malta - May 28
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

First landing of the C 130J Super Hercules aircraft, at the New Car Nicobar airbase on on May 28, 2012.

Last edited by Gaur on 30 May 2012 19:41, edited 1 time in total.

gaur

source please
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

rahulm wrote:
Airforce, Signals & Navy. These seem to be somebody's belongings and these. Can somebody please translate the Gurumuki?. Photo of India's 1st Ashok Chakra being awarded

I hope you enjoy.
Saheed flying officer nirmaljeet Singh sekhon, Parmvir Chakra holder
Saheed nirmaljeet Singh sekhon's personal belongings
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

May 10, 2012 | Kiev Zhulyany

HIGH-RES

How many of these Safed An32s does VayuSena have?
I initially i thought this may be a dated photo as i've personally Never seen a non-Grey An32 myself in all my years of shooting/spotting :-?

Vishal Jolapara wrote: I initially i thought this may be a dated photo as i've personally Never seen a non-Grey An32 myself in all my years of shooting/spotting :-?
Yes this was the old colour scheme , even IL-76 and Avro used to sport this two tone colour scheme. Not sure about the numbers though.
Brando

Post by Brando »

Here's to hoping that many a "desi babu" crash and burn !!

@Brando, please do not post such ill-wills about our services people (armed forces and/or civilian).

Brando wrote: Here's to hoping that many a "desi babu" crash and burn !!
This is the exact definition of cutting one's nose to spite one's face.
koti

Post by koti »

Heli inside a Hanger.

Pic

Uploaded a few photos from Indian Air Force Museuem, New Delhi again after first album got corrupted due to some issue. New URL here:

Indian Air Force Museuem, New Delhi

What a beast ... i hope we apply the existing VIP scheme as on Mi-8/17s