Indian Economy - News & Discussion 27 May 2012

Re: Indian Economy - News & Discussion 27 May 2012

Aditya_V wrote:Yje new proposed Hike in excise dury on Diesel cars from 1.75 lac to 2.5 lacs with resultant VAT< life tax increase should have been in the Autos thread.
Now that diesel fumes have been declared a carcinogen, diesel engines can be banned on health grounds. Better to do this than trying to distort the market further.

W.H.O. declares diesel fumes cause lung cancer

Boss seriously, Trucks, Buses, Autos(incl cargo and Share auto variety), Tractors, Farm Motors, LCV like Magics and Aces with Mahindra Equivalents, Railway Engines - all need to be re-engined with a practical solution? not within the next 5 years.

But the Jaipal Reddy is a typical INC fellow, he wants to kill our tourism and car Industry. I have seen 5 cars in his house in Jubilee Hills Hyderabad and this guys lecturs we Indians should give up on cars?? The Hyderabad house is not even where he stays most of the time- I am sure him and his extended family accross the world must owning a fleet of cars, yet he lecturs on how we should not be dependant on cars.

much of the tourist taxis and buses are 'hypothecated' to banks . the tenure will increase for breakeven point, but I dont see a crippling impact.

tbhp Munna's who want a diesel Swift VDI to soak up the subsidy will have to pay more upfront , just as we petrollwallahs pay heavily every couple of weeks.

Singha wrote:much of the tourist taxis and buses are 'hypothecated' to banks . the tenure will increase for breakeven point, but I dont see a crippling impact.

tbhp Munna's who want a diesel Swift VDI to soak up the subsidy will have to pay more upfront , just as we petrollwallahs pay heavily every couple of weeks.
Tourist cabs- Given the nature of business Banks/ NBFC and Unorganised sector loans will not increase the tenure more than 3 years as per the current norm, which means Higher EMI a.k.a higher fares by around 30%, which will see a cut back in usage by consumers and will result in downturn in Hospitality sector. Truth even today remove duties and VAT cost of Diesel is lesser than the current Retail Price, but the Govt. needs to make up for defecits for previous scams.

This will definately lead to lower demand in Automobile sector and people dependant on it. rather than Rs. 2 or even 4 Rs . increase in Diesel, this is a very stupid move. As it is Duties and Taxes make up 45 to 60% of the cars domestically produced in India.

I have a kweshchun.

I used to chat with my barber, who owns a few such shops around as well as a few autoricks. He told me that people like him always borrow money at Rs 2 interest (Rs 2 per month, ie 24%) on "trust" (read "threat" in reality) basis. He says it is convenient because no paperwork, no hassles and immediate disbursal. (That rate is for people with something to lose like him. People with less to lose pays upto 10% a DAY for daily rolling money)

My question is, how can a business offer value as they need to make profit after covering this kind of interest rate? Naturally the consumer pays for this in the form of increased mark-up on everything.

When we complain about the bloodsucking middlemen who cause steep mark-ups on things, we should remember that most of that mark-up goes to these shylocks.

Obviously he passes the costs to you and he is quite desperate convienient. Most of India does such trade for convience. Even personal loans taken from Banks costs 16% per annum.

Many people especially lower section of our soceity feel the nessecity to maintain status for social obligations and don't consider loans as a compromise of tomorrow's Income and like convience.

There millions of such unorganised lenders in our country.

For your Barber , his costs are rent, sunk cost in terms of furniture and cutting tools, consumables such as oils, shaving liquid and old newspapers/ Magazines. and Obviously his Income is Higher than normal on Sunday mornings. so he probaly needs a quick loan to tide over temporary cash flow issues.

problem is most banks will demand some form of security, id proof, pan, tax returns, bank account statements to consider a loan. for small traders and service providers operating on cash basis its not possible to take loans from formal financial sector at all.

I am not sure how such small business in massa operate, but here its on cash basis and I guess they pay little if any income tax.

my friend had gone to buy a villa from a delhi based businessman for a 2nd sale and was asked to pay some amt like 30L in cash, rest in white money DD. when my friend asked if he would like a lift to visit the bank and deposit the cash safely, he said "koi baat nahi beta, mere shop ki kaam me daily 1 cr ka cash flow hai, wohi use kar denge" :rotfl:

I know a couple of relatives who are familiar with the 'loan-sharking' business and they say that contrary to general belief the default rate is extremely high. Something like 1/3 of the loans don't get paid. Compare that to banks were 2% NPA's is a crisis. Often times the amount spirals out of control and folks involved either run away or have no means to pay. Often times such folks pay with barter goods or work certain days for the loan shark. Common last resort is ration card. Going rate in S.TN is Rs 3,000 per year for a ration card. In some towns the majority of subsidized food goes straight to black market.

The #1 cause of this financial destruction is Marriage, Esp. of daughters. Insane social pressure forces even limited income people to spend like there is no tomorrow. This too is lack of social reform. I would hope people on this board take a strong stand and have a simple registered marriage for themselves and their children, which is what my wife & I did over the vociferous objections of everyone else. What the upper middle class does sets a strong precedent for what the lower middle class does. Dowry is another curse amongst Christian marriages.

The #2 cause of financial destruction is Medical emergency, Esp. anything chronic like, AIDS or Cancer or Asthma or Diabetes. Government hospitals don't help a lot with chronic diseases unless you check in at end of life status.

Theo Saar, apparently no one in the business world thinks that Mamata-didi or even big ticket reforms or even legislative processes are the bottle neck, sure if they were there, things would be good.

But the govt is not doing the bare minimum economic management and governance actions that are needed. Jagdish Khattar (surely not a BJP man) says that the result is a mess of 7 years in making, just that Congress had good work of NDA and global uptick of 2007 to coast on.

He also makes the point that GoI does not have a Chairman for Nat High Comission for two years. Roads are not getting made. Surely cant blame Didi for that?

http://www.timesnow.tv/Debate-Economy-d ... 404133.cms

The Govt has driven the economy into grounds, systematically both by commission and omission, and hardly any of this was asked by left/Mamata didi.

Sanku Saab,

I don't think any nation can coast for 7 years. Baap re even 7 days is a challenge and through the 2008 implosion as well. Yes babudom is completely unreformed but NDA did not touch it too. Even simple reform of labor laws by raising reporting levels to 5,000 employee companies was too much for NDA to manage. UPA kept economy moving by doing simple legislative reforms. They ignored much of the really hard stuff that you point out but they were like that for previous 7 years as well. The problem is Mamata has shut down the last tiny bit of action the government was doing, what I call pot stirring. Once that last bit of activity from a paralyzed government quit, the entire engine went phutt! So now we have perfect grid lock.

To be perfectly honest asking for any governance from a Congress government is laughable. I don't they have anyone who knows how to. When guy on the ground, votes for Kai, he is not looking for governance.

Singha wrote:problem is most banks will demand some form of security, id proof, pan, tax returns, bank account statements to consider a loan. for small traders and service providers operating on cash basis its not possible to take loans from formal financial sector at all.

I am not sure how such small business in massa operate, but here its on cash basis and I guess they pay little if any income tax.

my friend had gone to buy a villa from a delhi based businessman for a 2nd sale and was asked to pay some amt like 30L in cash, rest in white money DD. when my friend asked if he would like a lift to visit the bank and deposit the cash safely, he said "koi baat nahi beta, mere shop ki kaam me daily 1 cr ka cash flow hai, wohi use kar denge" :rotfl:

it was not difficult to get credit for small time bizz-nesses in massa a couple of years ago...but that is no longer true.. i know a guy who bought a liquor store for 500k , and the guy had just moved to us on a family sponsored card... he managed to get a loan... he wants to sell of his liquor store now..but people who show willingness , can't buy it as they are not getting loans for the store..

Theo_Fidel wrote:Sanku Saab, .... .
Well Theo; if Congress is as bad as we agree it is. Mamata is just incidental. If not she, somebody else. There is always a straw which breaks the camels back. If she is the straw, am glad that its done with and all that.

Well, Mamata Didi and Mulayam ganging up together and proposing APJ Kalam and Manmohan Singh :lol: :lol: as presidential candidates is a direct slap in the face of Kangress and a direct dare. APJ Kalam would be the candidate with the broadest consensus (NDA too would support) and Manmohan Singh's name is just to needle Congress, saying, sorry, that guy sucks, kick him upstairs! Wonder what Congress would do now. They are probably smarting from that slap.

I think Congress will now eat humble crow and be forced to search for genuine consensus across the aisle and give up it's attempt to crowbar a Congress candidate with Didi and Mulayam's assist into the President's seat.

they are expected to play the muslim card next with hamid ansari who might be acceptable to mulayam and nitish.

they wont go down and accept APJ or anyone else without a serious fight.

every day is like a civil war within the political establishment in dilli now....old networks are weakening and new alliances and networks are forming.

Theo_Fidel wrote:I know a couple of relatives who are familiar with the 'loan-sharking' business..
My concern was on the bona-fide business loans, not the personal loans that people take for marrying off daughters.

It is a double edged sword, really. If someone offer cheap creadi for these guys, they will take it and squander away too. The fact that they are paying 24% makes them diligent on its deployment. BUT... it is killing the consumers.
shyam

Post by shyam »

Here is a critic on MMS with a history of dynasty politics. He suggests that MMS has to go...

Who Rules India - The Prime Minister or the Dynasty? Manmohan – Ever a Courtier, Never the King - BRIC / Politics / 360° Analysis

mms is a great choice. he has lots of experience being the figurehead do nothing guy.

Gus wrote:mms is a great choice. he has lots of experience being the figurehead do nothing guy.
And with his personal honesty thingy will not even loot money like that lady did. Great choice.

Theo_Fidel wrote:The #1 cause of this financial destruction is Marriage, Esp. of daughters. Insane social pressure forces even limited income people to spend like there is no tomorrow. This too is lack of social reform. I would hope people on this board take a strong stand and have a simple registered marriage for themselves and their children, which is what my wife & I did over the vociferous objections of everyone else. What the upper middle class does sets a strong precedent for what the lower middle class does.
Would the 'moy/moi' (however you say it) not cover some of the expense? That is also a sort of community lending..lol. You then have to return the money at their functions.

Everyone can use some austerity and I do not agree with the gold giving with the bride etc, but the marriage itself - the money is spent in the local economy, right? For my marriage, we had over 2000 visitors over three days. It was a full scale proper 'kudiyanavar' type marriage (not the brahmin with agni ceremony marriage). I did that because of the community relationships and culture. A simple registered marriage is at the far extreme that is not going to be seen commonly for many years.

Gus,

What can I say. It is a bad example for those who can't afford, IMHO.... ..registered marriages are quite common in S.TN. esp. second/third marriages.
--------------------------------

Inflation rises to 7.55%

well in eastern india the girls and boys family hold separate receptions and only a limited set of people from boys family come to girls place for dinner the night of marriage. I think similar is case in WB also. if the girls family is not so well off, they can hold a smallish affair.

I was taken aback to see in south india the girls family has to pay for the entire reception which includes as many people as the boys side cares to invite also, the marriage hall, the grub etc!!

nukavarapu wrote:Spending out of the financial limit is stupidity and people who follow such practices are comfortably less in numbers.
Not in my experience in S.TN. Number one cause of financial hard ship. #1 reason people ask me for large chunks of money. Before medical problems and alcohol. Though alcohol is catching up fast. It is a consumptive expenditure, contribution to economic growth and well being is limited.

Talking of FDI in the PRC thread, I recalled I had not checked the latest statistics. Here's the DIPP data for March 2012, showing cumulative FDI of $47 billion for 2011-12 fiscal year.

Theo_Fidel wrote:It is a consumptive expenditure, contribution to economic growth and well being is limited.
Pretty much any expenditure is consumptive. Buying a car or TV is also consumptive. Should we stop doing it? In fact buying a TV made in China by a Japanese company provides zero benefit to the local economy, unlike a wedding ceremony which at least provides employment to several people (caterer's, decorators, musicians, etc..)

This sounds too much like the "conspicuous consumption" claptrap that was peddled during the socialist times.
paramu

Post by paramu »

Theo_Fidel wrote:Gus,

What can I say. It is a bad example for those who can't afford, IMHO.... ..registered marriages are quite common in S.TN. esp. second/third marriages.
:rotfl: They should be registered marriage only. Otherwise they would go banckrupt after few marriages. It becomes more like switching jobs. When you join your first job, you tell everyone where you are going to work. But when you change job every year, nobody would care.

There is a theory that parents have to put effort and spend money (not to the extend that they go broke) for the marriage of their children to give the message that the marriage is not just a contract paper they sign on. There is a lot of sweat behind it and children should take effort to make it last. Recent economic rapid growth (where children started earning much more than their parents) turned many of those assumptions upside down.
Last edited by paramu on 14 Jun 2012 23:30, edited 1 time in total.

Theo_Fidel wrote: The #1 cause of this financial destruction is Marriage, Esp. of daughters. Insane social pressure forces even limited income people to spend like there is no tomorrow. This too is lack of social reform. I would hope people on this board take a strong stand and have a simple registered marriage for themselves and their children, which is what my wife & I did over the vociferous objections of everyone else. What the upper middle class does sets a strong precedent for what the lower middle class does. Dowry is another curse amongst Christian marriages.
Thats true in TN. Its societal expectation - how many powns can they give bla bla? 50 sovereigns?? Thats it? Status etc.. As wealth has increased, there is a greater expectation to give bigger dowry's because relative x gave y amount.

paramu wrote:They should be registered marriage only. Otherwise they would go banckrupt after few marriages.
I think you misread me. I'm not talking about the TFTA crowd. Marriage/Divorce is extremely common amongst the lower classes at least here in S.TN. Marriages are abandoned, women divorce drunk husbands and men abandon infertile/sick wives every few years it seems like. One of my maistriis has been through 6 marriages!! With 2 dead wives in there. Yet he is still paying off his debt on his first marriage made 20 years ago which my cousin financed at 0% interest, in retrospect the loan was a bad idea.

If folks don't take their marriage seriously I doubt spending 40 lakhs on a 3 day event is going to change things. IMO it has never kept a single failing marriage together. In fact there are several toxic marriages that should be ended that persist because of family pressure. There is nothing wrong in people trying again.

Expenditure on marriage is different than a car. A car produces efficiency and contributes to industrial growth and wealth. Marriage expenses are spent on ephemeral things, not dissimilar to say dog grooming. The most outrageous marriage tamasha IME have been in Andhra, Esp. the Kurnool belt.

Dileep wrote:I have a kweshchun.

I used to chat with my barber, who owns a few such shops around as well as a few autoricks. He told me that people like him always borrow money at Rs 2 interest (Rs 2 per month, ie 24%) on "trust" (read "threat" in reality) basis. He says it is convenient because no paperwork, no hassles and immediate disbursal. (That rate is for people with something to lose like him. People with less to lose pays upto 10% a DAY for daily rolling money)

My question is, how can a business offer value as they need to make profit after covering this kind of interest rate? Naturally the consumer pays for this in the form of increased mark-up on everything.

When we complain about the bloodsucking middlemen who cause steep mark-ups on things, we should remember that most of that mark-up goes to these shylocks.
This is called chitti system in my part of AP. it works two ways

1. A small street vendor (fruits, vegetables etc.,) takes a loan of 90Rs and buys say 20KG of tomatoes at wholesale price from the farmer and sells them say 8Rs/Kg on average and ends up with Rs 140 (assuming he is left with some spoilt or unsold stuff). He returns Rs 100 to the lender and he is left with Rs 40 profit. Many vendors like mirchibajjis, tiffin centers etc do this lending.

2. You take a loan of Rs 90 on day0 and pay 1Rs per day for 100 days. Small shops like cigarette shops etc use this model. This works out to be about 36% annual rate.

This is the micro financing model that was there before we got high-tech, bulk credit card systems and the so-called micro financing companies came which also work at similar margin rates if you fail to pay your credit card full payment every month. They pass one side of the risk to the merchant who ends up paying 2-3% of the sale as commission (depends on the merchant/CC deal)

Is it exploiting? Yes, but what solution Govt can offer on immediate basis, especially in the Indian corrupt govt environment that is there for 100s of years?

If you read Nizam's story, he too got loans from some businessmen and British at these interest rates.

A stunning Palace Coup
The implications of the shock press conference held jointly by Mamata Banerjee and Mulayam Singh Yadav go far beyond who gets to succeed Pratibha Patil at Rashtrapati Bhavan. They amount to a stunning palace coup within the UPA, and spell the beginning of its end. It's unlikely that we'll have to wait for 2014 now, for the next general elections.
The UPA's long-term sustainability has been affected by another dichotomy in its functioning. Government through symbolic substitution is a poor form of governance. The UPA government treated Singh as a stand-in for economic reform. Wasn't he the person who, as finance minister, initiated economic liberalisation in 1991? That allowed the Congress to have its cake and eat it too. It could keep up its reformist face to the outside world while also keeping up its internal, ideological resistance to reform - part of the party DNA of Nehruvian socialism.

Unfortunately, the failure to push through any worthwhile reform measure since 2004 has brought on today's moment of economic reckoning. Congress may have disliked the idea of shining India. But that's now been replaced by whining India, beset by low growth and high inflation. Congress is liable to feel its bite when the next general elections come around.

Contrary to the image of Singh as the architect of reform, considerable evidence has emerged that it was really Narasimha Rao who really piloted reforms in 1991. But if Rao was the real hero of libera-lisation, who rescued the country from the Hindu rate of growth and unleashed today's aspirational India, it's remarkable how unsung he remains in Congress quarters. That itself is an indication of Congress disdain for Rao's record of reform.

Following Rao, the next burst of reforms came during the second half of the NDA government's stint in power, when it coined the "shining India" slogan. It went into the 2004 elections with that slogan, and much to its surprise, lost. The ritual explanation for the NDA's loss was that it "lost touch with the masses" by subscribing to shining India. However, reforms kick in only after a phase lag, after which their effects become noticeable on the ground. The UPA, during its first term in power, enjoyed the benefits not only of the NDA's reforms but also of a phase of global easy money, which ended with the financial crash of 2008.

Those happy circumstances created an era of unprecedented growth, whose benefits were reaped by the UPA in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections. It also bred astonishing complacency within the government. In just three years, however, the situation has reversed itself almost completely. Not only has the external environment turned sour, India finds itself buffeted by the lack of internal reforms. The results of that, too, will be reaped by the UPA in the next general elections. Those may happen sooner rather than later - given the machinations of Mamata and her ilk.

Assuming that India's fragmented polity can throw up a cohesive government, the next one should draw the right lesson from past events. It's essential to launch growth-oriented reforms early in its term. That's not only easier to do while the government's honeymoon phase lasts, it can reap the benefits before the end of its term - making it more electable in the next term. NDA's mistake was not to have launched the shining India programme. It was to have launched shining India too late in its term.

Following Rao, the next burst of reforms came during the second half of the NDA government's stint in power, when it coined the "shining India" slogan. It went into the 2004 elections with that slogan, and much to its surprise, lost. The ritual explanation for the NDA's loss was that it "lost touch with the masses" by subscribing to shining India. However, reforms kick in only after a phase lag, after which their effects become noticeable on the ground. The UPA, during its first term in power, enjoyed the benefits not only of the NDA's reforms but also of a phase of global easy money, which ended with the financial crash of 2008.
Hmmm...exactly what BRF was saying all this while.

Does this mean that the effects of UPA-2 and its (mis)policies will only be borne by the next govt?

Hmmm...exactly what BRF was saying all this while.

Does this mean that the effects of UPA-2 and its (mis)policies will only be borne by the next govt?
Yes absolutely, it will take the economy atleast 3 years of good policies with implementation to bring us back on track- it takes any company a few years to turnaround, for a country we need atleast that time.
AbhiJ

Post by AbhiJ »

Much in Line with
Murthy was quoted recently as saying that he was saddened by the state of the Indian economy and the crisis of confidence gripping the country due to lack of "big ticket" reforms since 2004.
http://businesstoday.intoday.in/story/e ... 85488.html

Since Congress took over.
vivek_v

Post by vivek_v »

shyamd wrote: Thats true in TN. Its societal expectation - how many powns can they give bla bla? 50 sovereigns?? Thats it? Status etc.. As wealth has increased, there is a greater expectation to give bigger dowry's because relative x gave y amount.
Nowadays in TN , especially in the Forward community the concept of dowry and no of powns is coming down daily. Many would be happy just to get married to someone. In certain cases , the hunt for a bride seems to go for close to half a decade without any luck while here we discuss about MMRCA getting delayed.

Actually it is the girls family who are dictating terms , especially due to the flawed Sex ratio of males vs females in these community. Everyone wants at-least a engineering with some masters (some want only IIT and IIM). I myself got hitched purely due to a masters degree (with all other checklist being more or less equal to others). Whether masters is useful for work prospects or not, it is definitely useful in TN marriage market :rotfl:

Anyways OT , sorry for that.

vivek_v wrote:
shyamd wrote: Thats true in TN. Its societal expectation - how many powns can they give bla bla? 50 sovereigns?? Thats it? Status etc.. As wealth has increased, there is a greater expectation to give bigger dowry's because relative x gave y amount.
Nowadays in TN , especially in the Forward community the concept of dowry and no of powns is coming down daily. Many would be happy just to get married to someone. In certain cases , the hunt for a bride seems to go for close to half a decade without any luck while here we discuss about MMRCA getting delayed.

Actually it is the girls family who are dictating terms , especially due to the flawed Sex ratio of males vs females in these community. Everyone wants at-least a engineering with some masters (some want only IIT and IIM). I myself got hitched purely due to a masters degree (with all other checklist being more or less equal to others). Whether masters is useful for work prospects or not, it is definitely useful in TN marriage market :rotfl:

Anyways OT , sorry for that.
Can we use Goverment Term Other Community instead of Forward Community, we need to move from Upper /Lower ideology.

vivek_v wrote:Nowadays in TN , especially in the Forward community the concept of dowry and no of powns is coming down daily. Many would be happy just to get married to someone. In certain cases , the hunt for a bride seems to go for close to half a decade without any luck while here we discuss about MMRCA getting delayed. Actually it is the girls family who are dictating terms , especially due to the flawed Sex ratio of males vs females in these community.
Yes some of the older upper classes tend to not require as much 'show', but 'other' requirements are still onerous. This too is a sign of inadequate social reform. There are plenty of engineering girls around. The colleges near old Mahabalipuram are packed with them. Sex ratio's are much better in lower groups who lacked access to expensive sex selection. As a nation we need to get past our marriage 'market' system. It retards our development and limits our economic potential. People need to take a strong stand at every opportunity. This will end caste based voting and focus on more progressive economic leaders.

vivek_v wrote:Many would be happy just to get married to someone. In certain cases , the hunt for a bride seems to go for close to half a decade without any luck while here we discuss about MMRCA getting delayed.

Situation is bad in TN. There is definite paucity of educated middle class girls around 25. They got themselves to blame for all the sex-selective abortions done in 80s. One distant relative, 35, married a widow with a child, after searching for almost a decade. He has land etc and is relatively well off. For a rural area, this was a first. And he is happy with her and that's what counts.

hmmm that might explain why in my forest I dont see much TN girls vs KT, MH, north(mainly delhi but UP and western MP/Raj as well) and Kerala girls. the tamils that are there seem to be blr tamils.
and lots of guys with Mtech ...its become the new baseline.

Theo and other farmer types might want to closely analyze this article. Indians are making a big play in mass scale leased farming in africa...on the scale of kazakhstan and argentina potentially. as usual human rights and NGOs from west are trying to block it, so they can continue to safely rape the continent and keep it on a permanent dole.

http://www.businessworld.in/businesswor ... afari.html

the land leases being done are on a astonishing scale considering how densely populated such areas in india would normally be.

there is even issues of equipment not scaling up, BEML screwing up etc....leading to TFTA monster john deere tractors being imported to cut through the soil on a industrial khanish scale...fascinating stuff :mrgreen:

Actually this needs some inputs from our own wandering Lawrence of Thirunavaya (JEMenon-saar 8) ) who was last spotted in a jirga with the herdsmen...

We should tread very carefully there. We should not be perceived as neo-colonists.