Where is that number coming from.100 million refugees
Even the 'greatest migration in history' does not have those numbers.
Where is that number coming from.100 million refugees
Can you please, please, please explain to us why we have to deal with their "views" while they have never had to deal with our views on the Delhi Parliament attacks, Kargil, Mumbai, the two soldiers who died.... the list goes on.ShauryaT wrote:It has to be something that both sides want. On the LoC as of today, Siachen is the best bet. It is so because it is least risky (UZ is possible and so is the CZ, with sparse populations) among available options (will not use the word strategic as that word means anything to anyone these days). A CBM on the LoC, can be a future template for all of the LoC, if it works, in stages. Siachen is important from PA’s perspective. In their view, we aggressed and broke 1972 agreement through force. (yes, I know our counters and reasons for doing so but we have to deal with their views on it) Siachen, negates the PA’s view that the only way to deal with India is through force. For many such reasons, Siachen is important to address.ramana wrote:Think of a CBM like the CFA which does not involve potential occupation of Indian lands.
You think you're the only one tired, that of repeating that Siachen is a CBM? Are you that detached from reality as to not understand that we're also tired of your delusions of peace?ShauryaT wrote:I have said this before, too many times by now. Siachen is a CBM.
Initially, India exercised restraint but both sides exchanged heavy firing after Pakistani Army officers ignored hotline messages.
Truly a son of Gandhi. Pakistani gaalis are all that keep coming our way as well but we return for more with CBMs.ShauryaT wrote:Sorry, did not see that poster's post, on ignore list onlee. You really mean traitor don't you. Keep the gaalis coming, that is what gets me going here.sameer_shelavale wrote: (Hopefully) Eye opener for Mahatma Shaurya ji other "Gift them Siachin" folks
FYI they already have a piece of the action - a large piece. They share the spoils from the D-Company's business empirerajrang wrote:Here is my wild guess - the rulers of TSP (military et al) have come to the conclusion that by becoming a friend of India they have a lot to GAIN PERSONALLY. This is due to India's open economy and fast growth rate and most importantly India tolerates corruption on a mega scale (tens of thousands of crores of rupees). They want a piece of the action. Sort of like the mafia.
And the question, what are they fleeing from? The ordinary folks will taste power after 65 years and they would leave that for India? Elites will leave Pakistan, doesn't mean that they will come to India, they have other options like US / Europe / Australia. India need not expect anyoneManuT wrote:Where is that number coming from.100 million refugees
Even the 'greatest migration in history' does not have those numbers.
100 million will not flee on the first day, with respect to Bengal, it was political will and pressure which keeps the border from being closed.yantra wrote:Do you think you can stop a 100 million refugees with walls and guns? Really?!!! Read up on 1971 crisis. Are you stopping Bangla refugees even now with walls, guns and barricaded borders?Virupaksha wrote: Build a stronger wall and put bigger guns on border, problem solved - if you are so afraid of the "yahoos"
Strange, this 180° turn. Sameer ji!ShauryaT wrote:Sorry, did not see that poster's post, on ignore list onlee. You really mean traitor don't you. Keep the gaalis coming, that is what gets me going here.sameer_shelavale wrote: (Hopefully) Eye opener for Mahatma Shaurya ji other "Gift them Siachin" folks
don't you think PA is exactly doing that here too?? didn't they agree and sign both karachi and shimla agreements?? don't you think they have no Locus Standi on Siachen?? that they have to honour the agreements?? doesn't those agreements make SIACHEN part of India?? didn't they accept that fact??ShauryaT wrote:I am sorry, this is non-sequitor. If you use every Paki idiots imaginations to block a geo-political compromise then you will find one. They can ask for whatever, does not mean we have to be ready to compromise, at their terms. It is only, if it serves our interests a compromise should be done.After Siachen, the PA will demand that the IA cannot acquire modern weapons, missiles, FGFA etc because these capabilities threaten the PA. Then, how will we negate that view ? There is no end to this chain of appeasement.
wouldn't it be the best possible course as you rightly put it?? is it not the GOI and IA stand too - which you agree with??They can ask for whatever, does not mean we have to be ready to compromise, at their terms. It is only, if it serves our interests a compromise should be done.
Well I would rather welcome 100 Mn refugees with Roses. They are , ultimately , Indians. It would give us reason and moral ground to go to Ismlamabad and set things right.yantra wrote:
Do you think you can stop a 100 million refugees with walls and guns? Really?!!! Read up on 1971 crisis. Are you stopping Bangla refugees even now with walls, guns and barricaded borders?
You mean set it on fire like the Islamic hordes looted the temple cities.chaanakya wrote: Well I would rather welcome 100 Mn refugees with Roses. They are , ultimately , Indians. It would give us reason and moral ground to go to Ismlamabad and set things right.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 187079.cmsThose eligible under Obama's plan must have come to the United States under the age of 16 and lived in the country for at least five years. They must be in school or have graduated from high school or be honorably discharged from the US military. They also must not have been convicted of any felony or significant misdemeanor offenses.
The problem ShauryaT ji, you are NOT asking for demilitarization. You are asking for unilateral withdrawal by India for a position of strategic advantage.ShauryaT wrote: Sanku Ji: If you are equating demilitarization as giving away (even if I differ with that equalization) then yes, that is exactly what my stand is.
Actually that is not really correct.Not unsimilar to what the GoI envisions.
I am sorry you are restoring to emotional histrionics here to deflect attention from simple facts, which is, that in your scheme of talking, there is nothing that Paki's are supposed to do and all the heavy moving is to be done by India.If anything and everything that is being talked to with Pakistan is appeasement and any negotiated settlement of outstanding issues with Pakistan is appeasement in your eyes, then yes I am all for a negotiated settlement, and others can call that appeasement from their view point.
Suppose we get a new 5-year lease on the Ayni base. Should we withdraw from Siachen then?shyamd wrote:Having Ayni base is crucial for monitoring Siachen (we can see what they are doing and listen to what they are doing in that region) - now that things are up in the air because PRC, West are putting pressure on Tajik govt to kick us out - we are moving to a Russia, India and Tajik - three way sharing of the base as a compromise. We need the base to monitor Siachen and that region.
Doubt there will be a pull out without Ayni being in place.
ShauryaT, if they are so scared of Indian escalation, then why should they provoke India at all especially when India is not an aggressor and is a status-quoist pacific power just happy with retaining whatever it has and is unwilling to be revisionist ?ShauryaT wrote: The way I see it PA realized that defeating us conventionally to wrest Kashmir fell out of their imaginations after 1971 itself. Hence their rationale to acquire a nuclear deterrent. They are scared of an Indian escalation on the lines of 1965, 71 and hence could do nothing against Op. Meghdoot.
Shaurya ji, you continue to labour under an impression that somehow the PA fears a decapitating Indian attack, even conventionally and it is our responsibility to eradicate that fear from the minds of the PA and somehow evacuating Siachen and making it a 'mountain of peace' (per MMS) would be a good first step. You are not the only one to hold such a view. A few Indian WKKs and all Pakistanis, well almost all, have a similar view. IMHO, this is a facade that has been carefully cultivated by the PA for ensuring their interests. So, they will continue to raise other bogeys once one of them is eliminated. My question has been and remains, what next ? What other fears that India will have to exorcise from Pakistani minds ? You call such a question as non-sequitur. Do you believe that once Saltoro and Siachen are evacuated by the IA, the PA will develop complete trust with India and there would be no more paranoia among the PA ?I have said this before, too many times by now. Siachen is a CBM.
Oh yes, even OBL, or Anders Breivik or Adolf Hitler have been rational, from their worldview. What do you call an Army that has since 1947 used terror as an extension of their policy and tactics ? What do you call an Army that recklessly and loosely talks of nuking a neighbour ? What do you call an Army that openly hobnobs with a UN-sanctioned terrorist ? It may be par for them but India has to consider them irrational because every such behaviour of the PA has brought not only their country, but also the region and even the world beyond, that much closer to disaster and grief. Why is the PA 'fighting for survival', if at all it is fighting like that ? Certainly not because India over-ran them and decimated them ! They dug their own grave through their obsession with an unachievable aim.In the past you have stated that PA is not rational but I differ. From the way I look at it, they have been fairly rational from their perspective of where they stand to protect their interests as they see them. Rationality does not mean, they will act the way we think they should. Also, does not mean, we agree with their choices as to serve their best interests. But, that is the thing, how does one define their interest? For the PA it is survival of the self first and foremost and then then the state and then everything else, such as Kashmir and control over Afghanistan.
No, it is not a Paki idiot's feverish imagination uttered in delirium. The PA wants to look holistically at India's capabilities and match them. They have clearly said that they didn't care about India's intent but are worried about India's capabilities. But, you dismiss my conclusion as non-sequitur. What else can I say ?I am sorry, this is non-sequitor. If you use every Paki idiots imaginations to block a geo-political compromise then you will find one. They can ask for whatever, does not mean we have to be ready to compromise, at their terms. It is only, if it serves our interests a compromise should be done.
A mere political plattitude shown to an enemy country that has killed and maimed thousands of us mercilessly for sixty years and promises to do so in the future too ? If we are not fools, then we should have known that PA would have correctly read such SeS concessions as worthless.At max, you will find goof ups like SeS, which are not more than political platitudes, at least the PA reads them as such, IMO.
My point was that the continuation of all bases in foreign countries are dependent on the local and regional politics. All agreements and leases are just ink on paper. Even the mighty US has had to vacate foreign bases when the local Govt did not want them to continue.shyamd wrote:Depends on a multitude of factors. How effective the surveillance is and how quickly we can get troops to the top of the mountain and at how short a notice. Can we detect movement at night? Many things need to be taken into consideration... only the army can give you the answer. If they say no - then the answer is no.
One thing is for certain - it won't be a withdrawal - but just a scale down of troops and only if we are comfortable that we have the measures in place to keep good surveillance of it and ensure we can respond quickly to a build up. In fact, GoI has pretty much said the same. There is no question of giving it up or anything of that sort.
Pratik Das you have done a tremendous service to nation, by exposing him for past few weeks. Suddenly reading your post I'm reminded of a psychological experiment done by students in some western university, I read about it long time back, it was about how you can make somebody your slave by the 'stick & carrot trick'. This is how it went:PratikDas wrote: So why do I keep writing back when he's probably ignoring me? If I've learnt one thing in having lived in 5 different countries, it is that media in every country is hopeless. They're all after TRP and, occasionally, they're all mouthpieces for the government (like Fareed Zakaria). There are also enough gullible in every country to believe the nonsense spewed by the local media outlets without a second thought. At some point you have to draw the line and say enough is enough, and with this one I'm going to take a stand. Making a peace park of Siachen through "joint monitoring" is when I reached that point. So I'm going to tackle ShauryaT's unending flow of more-of-what-I-said-2-weeks-ago-because-I-have-nothing-better-to-do with an incinerator.
So here we have porkstanis, sending in waves and waves of terrorists to kill Bharatvasis, in fact Pork Army training them providing them with everything. And even if there is a slight slowdown, these WKKs start saying don't look at the past, that happened 4 years back, now my 'people in power or those close to people in power' are saying Pork Army has changed a lot, in fact they were doing all that genocide through terrorists because they were afraid, so it is our responsibility to allay their fears.This psychology professor was frozen to the left extreme corner of the classroom, he just couldn't move totally helpless.
What the students did was when the professor entered the classroom door which was on the extreme right side. They would talk, shout to each other totally ignoring him. But the more he would move towards the left side of the room, they would slow down there tantrums are start giving him attention.
Now as he was used to lecturing them pacing 'right to left', again the more he will move towards right they'll start upping there 'talking to each other and lowering giving attention to him', then as he moved towards the left they'll 'up there attention to him, and tone down there conversations'. As he would move to the extreme left, the point they wanted him, he'll have pin drop silence and their rapt attention.
Now withing a week the poor professor got a phobia on being on the right side. So he'll enter the class almost running, go to the extreme left and be stuck there for whole of the period.
In Sum siachen is not going to help them a bit.One of the senior-most Pakistani generals on Friday said regional stability would remain a distant dream as long as the Kashmir issue remained unresolved.
This articulation of the centrality of Kashmir to peace and stability in the region was made by the Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee, General Khalid Shameem Wynne, while maintaining that Pakistan posed no threat to any country.
Addressing the graduation ceremony of the National Security and War Course at the National Defence University, Gen. Wynne said: “We seek nothing beyond secure frontiers and pose no threat to any country and will accept no pressure for standing up for our principles.”
Dwelling on peace and stability in the region, he added: “I must also point out that as long as the regional disputes, specially Kashmir, remains unresolved, stability will remain a distant dream, we must therefore continue for a just solution of the Kashmir dispute as it is only fair to all the people who dwell in this region.”
I do not believe the posts of Saltoro provide a strategic advantage for anything, but they do provide tactical advantage to protect the Siachen glacier. (have said this before) If you believe otherwise, you can educate me on why that is so. From my learnings and exchanges I have formed a concrete view that IF demilitarization takes place, there is no strategic loss for demilitarization negates the tactical need to hold the ridges, to protect the glacier. In context of land, the word strategic enters the equation if the land in question can be used for geo-political purposes, IMO and I do not see Siachen, i.e: the glaciated areas, including the high points of the Saltoro , in that manner by themselves. There are enough posts on this thread on all sides of the debate and others outside have spoken enough on this matter, for someone to form their own views. You can form your own views on the strategic nature of the lands in question. Now, if you insist that no, the positions on the Saltoro are strategic, then your choice.Sanku wrote: The problem ShauryaT ji, you are NOT asking for demilitarization. You are asking for unilateral withdrawal by India for a position of strategic advantage.
In context of Siachen, I hope you can recognize that everyone refers to the glaciated areas as a composite to include the area north of NJ9842, just like this thread does and as does most news. It is a nomenclature to denote an area. The specific mutual demilitarization of the glaciated areas, from the AGPL, on Saltoro for India and for the PA west of Saltoro would form an uninhabited zone as one solution template envisages. So, hope it is clear, when the nomenclature Siachen is used, what is meant by it. For a possible template and details of what this looks like, you can read Gurmeet Kanwal’s reports, which you have refused to do in the past, citing a lack of trust in TSP and hence no need for such a CBM. Why do you bring this point up of PA is not on the Glacier. Too obvious a point, after pages and pages of this thread.You can not ask for TSPA to similarly withdraw from Siachen, because they are, not there in the first place.
I do not know, if India has a mechanic to measure trust for Pakistan. There is a huge laundry list that Pakistan has and probably a bigger one that we do, on what we want from each other. Some are non negotiable, some are not. As far as I understand Siachen is in that negotiable list for both. If India is coupling some other items in exchange for a deal on Siachen, I do not know. How long this other list is if one exists, again, I do not know. Publicly, I have not seen such a list or a “mechanic” that India can use to measure “trust”. The point of the CBM is to work on this trust deficit. If you are imlying that the Siachen deal should include other items that India wants as additional CBM’s or unilateral acts that PA should commit to then you can articulate such a point, example maybe is Hafiz Sayeed’s head? I am unclear on where you are going with the above statement.What exactly is Pakistan giving up with a mechanic that India can trust?
Words, like “view” “IMO” “Believe” is used all the time, what is wrong with perspective now? Siachen deal should be done largely independent of the huge laundry list we have or they do, as coupling too many things together has the tendency to fall on its own weight (have said this before on this thread).You have not offered any. So Sir, a withdrawl == demilitarization. And please sir, kindly do not bring in "in your perspective" or anything like that. Please put what do you want Pakistan to give. So far you have not put up anything. Something real and tangible please.
I do not know, which statement of mine you are referring to that you feel “flies” in the face. I have not taken the IA out of the GoI, but do consider the PM and the Cabinet along with Parliament to be the final word on the matter. The RM has a position stated in parliament, which I believe is a starting position of our negotiation line. How authentication, delineation and demarcation get negotiated is something I am open to. If there is no demarcation as part of the negotiated settlement on the issue then I am open to such a thing. In a previous set of posts to SSridar ji, I have stated that AGPL authentication is not the most important issue, we agree on that for different reasons though. As stated before, I do not attach much importance to this aspect and do hope some legalese will be found, but would like some formal recognition of the AGPL, with a trust and verify mechanism, for a demilitarization of the region in question.Actually that is not really correct.
1) IAs stated points, including that put out by Gen VK Singh, flies in the face your statement. So unless you have taken IA out of GoI that is one point wrong right there.
The RM is on record of what the GoI stand is. I view that stand as the going in position and not the final one. If you have a different view you can share. I will reserve my right to make my observations on what I think the GoI stand means. I can be wrong, but am entitled to make an observation. You will have to grant me that much right. These words of authenticate, delineate and demarcate are something that has entered the lexicon post 1997 on the matter of Siachen, it was not there in these sequences before, so my view is they are not the final line.2) Secondly, the GoI has not articulated its stand in the way you have. You are using the word "not unsimilar" which means, nothing because you could possibly slip in a elephant under the semantics of similar. So unless the GoI clearly makes a stand like yours, you are not entitled to claim that.
It will be nice, if you quote me on what stand of mine you are referring to. My stand is identical on the matter to Brig Gurmeet Kanwal. Please quote him, if you like on the matter, I have no issues defending his stand on this issue.Thankfully even the most WKK and Paki loving sections of GoI (like Manmohan perhaps) have not dared to publicly take a stand like yours.
Your interpretation, right? Let me be more clear on your interpretation. I want Pakistan to do many things and have said I have a huge laundry list. If you have these things of A, B and C as some type of pre-conditions for a deal on Siachen, go right ahead and list them. I do not have such a pre-condition list. Quite frankly, I just do not know, what the defense secretaries are attaching as these things that you refer to as Pakistan should do to satisfy, the trust deficit that India has so that the deal looks like some type of better quid pro quo. If we are in a better negotiating position to get some additional things done then I hope the secretaries do that. In my view, Siachen is a CBM. The CBM by itself is not there to resolve many other things is my view (I am simply repeating myself now). I do not know, how else to say it.I am sorry you are restoring to emotional histrionics here to deflect attention from simple facts, which is, that in your scheme of talking, there is nothing that Paki's are supposed to do and all the heavy moving is to be done by India.
If a military CBM to you is flim flam emotional stuff, which has never been done between the two countries in the past and if you do not believe a peaceful co-existence objective is possible or that the Siachen CBM does not help towards that objective and find discussions as being in emotional terms and this after you refusing to read some detailed reports on the matter, what can I say. I cannot predict for you, what may be some next steps, but the benefits of a CBM can lead to other things that both want from each other, if successful.I really wish instead of branding everyone who has pointed out factual errors in your position in emotional terms, you had spent a little more intellectual capital in explaining how does India stand to benefit and what are some hard believable guarantees that could be placed (beyond the flim flam of goodwill and emotional stuff) there could be a more sensible discussion.
See this is the thing. You want to put words in my mouth, where discussions go sour. All I learnt is what you think, I think. Which, unfortunately is mostly wrong or off the mark, by a long margin. I am sure, it can be only due to my inability to communicate clearly.Unfortunately since you want Paki's do nothing other than somehow hope they will have a change of heart, and India do everything. I would say you are asking for the worst form of appeasement.
that's a fair point but, it is just one tool of surveillance. And if we lose that tool and we don't feel comfortable then troops will be back in siachen. And there is no question of 'giving up' land , we will do it on our terms and what the army feels they are comfortable with. Rest of talk is just waste of time. We do want to see peace and also if you notice it is India that is making the offers of peace not the other way round and who keeps rejecting them? TSP. this whole indo pak peace thing is just to get points elsewhere - better trade deals etc. in international relations it's called issue relating.Kakkaji wrote:
My point was that the continuation of all bases in foreign countries are dependent on the local and regional politics. All agreements and leases are just ink on paper. Even the mighty US has had to vacate foreign bases when the local Govt did not want them to continue.
By all means, build up foreign bases and surveillence capabilities, but do not give up land for them. Their is no substitute for land.
and today:shyamd wrote: Was just told that GoI is linking Siachen to larger Kashmir settlement and there will be no giving up of Siachen due to Kargil.
I hope the conspiracy theorists will learn a few things. They are in for more surprises soon.
shyamd wrote:GoI has been proposing a lot of things - how many of them worked with TSP? That making borders irrelevant and increasing trade across LoC with Mushy was probably the best and most serious attempt at peace - did it change anything? We still look across the border and see jihadi's waiting to cross. This is another proposal that will eventually fall through and there is still a long way to go before we see any development on this.
GoI wants demilitarization - but it would be done in a phased manner - not overnight.
{What happened to the larger Kashmir settlement?}
In the meantime while the drama plays out on TV/media and people raise their voices, India is using it to get better trade deals and other benefits. Let this play out, because we are the only winners by media management. {Please explain what better trade deal and other benefits India has got from pakistan.}
Nations have 2 choices - cooperation or conflict. We are going into a cold war with TSP in Afghanistan today - we must do all that it takes to win. {Does it mean unilateral demilitarization in Siachen by India}. I am surprised not many in BR are talking about this. {Is this the latest spin? Linking up Siachen demilitarization with winning in Afghanisthan? }
ShauryaT you are not making sense. I asked a simple question, why are you asking for a unilateral move by India and what will Pakis give up in return.ShauryaT wrote:...............
I am sorry, I do not understand, your questions then. So cannot answer.Sanku wrote:ShauryaT you are not making sense. I asked a simple question, why are you asking for a unilateral move by India and what will Pakis give up in return.ShauryaT wrote:...............
Instead you go into a long and meandering points which deal primarily with discussion on intrepretation of this and that and more PoVs and beliefs etc.
Let us keep it simple -- what is credible mechanic and a suitable give away by Pakistan in order to justify an Indian give away.
Kindly be specific, and if your answer is "I dont know" (like you did mention a couple of times) -- why are we even having this discussion?