Indian Education System

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Education System

RamaY, agree to the points you raise. Was suggesting a compromise formula to keep all quarters happy.
This whole IIT+IIM, IMHO, is nothing but an effort to enter into high paying jobs. MBA is never a requirement to start a successful kumphiny.
Is an IIT engg degree a requirement to start a non-engg company ? If not then JEE qualified with interests in business should have a place to go other than IIT with good brand value. :-) Since, IIMs do have similar brand recognition, why not put them up there.

How come IIMs have escaped the burden of a UG program in business ? It is high time perhaps.

^ probably because Bachelors degree in Business Admin is a useless idea to begin with.

I personally think undergrad education in Business will be useful only for SMEs. To make this education really useful, India has to devise its own economic model - please refer the alternative budget scenarios thread to get more insight in to my thought process. But I do not think the current political/social wisdom is even interested to work in this route.

Another (personal) opinion is MBA should be a 1 year program and attached to 4 year under-grad program. Make a 5 year graduate program in a specific field (including the general management courses) and be done with it. This will be the limit of modern Sudra-class ;)

If anyone wants pursue education beyond a 5 year under grad, they should commit to a 5 year PhD program. These will be our real Brahmins :mrgreen:

Arjun wrote: Also, the JEE is highly correlated with most other accepted measures of high IQ - including the Olympiads, GRE and Mensa
I think I understand your position a little better. I do think a broader question should be asked: what is the correlation of 'high IQ' with success in a career; high IQ as determined by a test in the 17th year of one's life. Are most high IQ kids uniformly successful? Do most successful people have a uniformly high IQ, as determined by GRE/Mensa/some other test? Certainly, the answer depends on what is considered as success. (A few years ago, I read a study done by a psychologist who tracked some high IQ kids in the US (as measured in middle school) for about 15 years or so. The results were mixed. I struggle to remember the researcher, but I'll look.) It was published as a book or perhaps an article in a book

Bade:
http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/a ... 516272.ece
Good article. The prof. considers the problem within a larger context of what is the end-game....why is something considered good, and who benefits. The student alone....student and society at large etc. The other article by Dr. Jalote (IIT-Knpr) also made an attempt to think within a larger context and anticipate impending problems.
Anyone teaching in IITs is aware that many of our undergraduate students are just not interested in engineering. A small proportion of them know they will never take up an engineering career even before they enter IIT.
This line caught my eye....really, for such people there ought to be a different avenue allowing them to pursue what they want. Give them the super-duper high IQ public stamp of genio-supremacity that they want (and probably deserve), and get them into something else. This is indeed a massive waste of time and resource.

Sometimes, it seems like the JEE is like a Mahabharat ka yudh between the science profs. at IITs and the physics/math/chemisty teachers at the coaching institutes who train the students- each trying to outwit the other.

As an aside, I do feel that people who start businesses of their own are not given respect in desh....they are actually heroes, as far as I am concerned. They make a profit (assuming the business is profitable) by answering an economic need in the society, provide employment to others and improve efficiency in the economic system. They are also the ones who have successfully shaken off the naukari mentality and stood on their own.
RamaY wrote:If anyone wants pursue education beyond a 5 year under grad, they should commit to a 5 year PhD program. These will be our real Brahmins :mrgreen:
I submit that we actually need more vaishyas in desh :)

I just stumbled onto page 1/2 of this thread.....seems like we are having the same discussion 4 years later :lol:. (singha...did not know you TA'ed 4th yr UGs at IIT-K).

Kalam’s letter bared truth about Nalanda University
Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam never shared with media why exactly he left the Nalanda University project. The project was his brainchild whose origin could be traced back to his address to the Bihar Legislative Assembly on March 28, 2006. The Nalanda University proudly displays his speech on its official website. The University would, however, loath to admit why Kalam left the project despite being nominated as its first Visitor under Clause 5 (e) of the Nalanda University Act, 2010.
It was obvious that he was upset the way project had been handled. But it is for the first time that Bihar Times has accessed the complete truth in Kalam’s own words- his letter to the External Affairs Minister on July 4, 2011. Kalam’s letter to Mr. S.M. Krishna reveals why he was not in a position to become the first Visitor of the Nalanda University.

Para 3 of the letter reads-

“Having involved in various academic and administrative proceedings of Nalanda University since August 2007, I believe that the candidates to be selected/appointed to the post of Chancellor and Vice Chancellor should be of extraordinary intellect with academic and management expertise. Both the Chancellor and Vice Chancellor have to personally involve themselves full-time in Bihar, so that a robust and strong international institution is built”.
This letter dated July 4, 2011 was in possession of Sanjay Singh, Secretary (East), MEA when he came to attend the Governing Board meeting at Patna on July 6 & 7, 2011. He read it to the Board in the first hour of the meeting, as the minutes of the proceedings indicate. But its mention was completely suppressed while interacting with the press. The matter was concealed for more than two months when an e-mail from Patna-based journalist K.K. Singh to Dr. Kalam brought the issue to light in mid-September.
Kalam felt frustrated with the people at helm of affairs. His resignation is evidentally a rebuff to Prof. Amartya Sen and his protégé Dr. Gopa Sabharwal, smuggled in as the Vice Chancellor-Designate without his knowledge. Being chairman, Governing Board, Prof. Sen’s position is equivalent to Chancellor (the University officially has none as yet). Neither Prof. Sen nor Dr. Sabharwal could inspire the confidence of Dr. Kalam.
Kalam and Prof. Sen represent the opposite ends of the spectrum. Dr. Kalam, though an expert in ‘rocket science’- a proverbially modern and complex discipline- is rooted in Indian tradition. He has worked for India’s self-reliance in defence sector. Prof. Amartya Sen on the other hand is one of those ‘run away’ success stories in academics. He ran away from India for dreamland in the West. Even the social welfare Trust that Prof. Sen founded in 1999 named Pratichi (West). In Chairman’s message on the website of Pratichi Trust Prof. Sen does not fail to remind us that he studied in Cambridge.
Kalam’s letter is also an indictment of Dr. Gopa Sabharwal. The Reader from Lady Sri Ram College of Delhi University was smuggled in as Rector/Vice Chancellor-Designate by Dr. Amartya Sen. Bihar Times broke the story how Amartya Sen acted in an unauthorized fashion to recommend the name of Dr. Gopa Sabharwal for Rector’s post. The governing board now complains about lack of toilet facilities in Rajgir. It is pity they never thought about it while conferring in Singapore, New York and Tokyo.

SriKumar wrote: I think I understand your position a little better. I do think a broader question should be asked: what is the correlation of 'high IQ' with success in a career; high IQ as determined by a test in the 17th year of one's life. Are most high IQ kids uniformly successful? Do most successful people have a uniformly high IQ, as determined by GRE/Mensa/some other test? Certainly, the answer depends on what is considered as success. (A few years ago, I read a study done by a psychologist who tracked some high IQ kids in the US (as measured in middle school) for about 15 years or so. The results were mixed. I struggle to remember the researcher, but I'll look.) It was published as a book or perhaps an article in a book
There have been hundreds of studies on IQ...it is certainly true that the relationship between IQ and success is not linear. But that is not the same as saying the two are uncorrelated.

Typically scientists do tend to have higher IQ than the rest of the population: Psychometry of Eminent Scientists

This article concludes that practical real world achievements require IQ between 120 & 150, while scientists / theoretical accomplishments require IQ between 150 -180 : Correlation Between IQ and Success

Singha wrote:taking into account greater infra, better faculty pay, better hostels, more staff and faculty the cost of a IIT student is likely 3X that of a NIT student and the cost of a NIT student again higher than a govt run state engg college.

I am sure the current budget of IITs can be found online somewhere...likely to much higher than nit because they much more project grants and infra grants as well.
Difference per student does not work to that much per my calculations.

NIT Warangal budget ~70 Cr
IIT Madras ~200 Cr

IIT Madras 2900 UGs + 2500 PGs from wiki.
NIT Warangal 2251 UGs +1104 PG (wiki)

On a per UG basis, IIT Madras is maybe 80% higher - but taking into account the difference in each city's cost of living, & given that weightage of PG/research should be higher than UG for cost allocation, frankly the difference is not much.

N.I.T., Warangal is a residential institute with nearly 3355 (UG : 2251 & PG : 1104) students apart from nearly 269 Ph.D., (150 Full Time and 119 Part time) Scholars. It has nearly 200 teaching staff and 360 administrative and supporting staff apart from outsource personnel
IIT Madras is a residential institute with nearly 460 faculty, 4500 students and 1250 administrative & supporting staff
In an educational institution the majority of the budget is allocated for three items
- Staff salaries >> Staff salaries do not vary much in Govt organizations by area
- Civil works (buildings etc.,) - IITm being a old organization it should already have majority of infra in place. On the other hand, NITw is a new organization (from NIT designation/level perspective). So NIT's budget should include a majority portion of this.
- Operational expenses (labs, equipment and other maintenance works)

Do you still think NITw's 70 crore budget == IITm 200 cr budget?

RamaY wrote:Do you still think NITw's 70 crore budget == IITm 200 cr budget?
There are two levels of normalization that are required in order to compare budgets at the UG level-

1. Since the whole issue is about JEE and perceived amount spent on UGs, we would need to first estimate the cost allocation towards UG education. A University is expected to have three functions: UG education, PG education & Research..The total IIT Madras running cost of 200 Cr needs to be allocated towards these three. Presumably the cost towards research at the IITs would be much higher than at NIT...Once you subtract that part, the remaining cost would need to be allocated between UG & PG.

2. After deriving the UG spend, to compare apples, you would need to compute the cost on a per UG basis.

One assumption I would make is that the cost allocation per PG should be higher than for UG, given the usage of advanced lab resources and associated support. Is that a valid assumption? Can we then assume say a 1.2:1 ratio for cost allocation between PG and UG?

If you work all this out, the difference narrows hugely. Also in order to eliminate city differences, might be better to compare two univs in the same city - say IIT Delhi & DCE.

Unnecessary devotion to hierarchy is one of the greatest problems of the Indian education system . It is especially true for medical education. I know professors who don't even bother talking to undergrads ..I know an instance in which a new guy innocently asked some query to a senior* professor and the guy started shouting and insulting the poor kid ..

* the guy was a "senior prof" only because he warmed the department chair for 3 decades ...

People feel insulted when juniors challenge there idea...A reason why government sector med schools in India are don't turn up any decent research ever..

one of the best features about massa education system is that everyone is very warm and friendly..I am on a first name bases with the giants of medicine and cardiology ..and they are more than twice my age ...While in India some professors feel offended even if a resident or med student sits next to them..in massa it is not uncommon for professors to invite residents for dinner or other social functions ..

academics and research don't thrive in such environment ..I asked one of the old guys about why he behaved so badly with his residents ..He was quite offended by the question..but since he was in my territory he had nowhere to go.. He said that his professor too behaved badly with him..if is a tradition of sorts ..la-whoree laagic only...bad traditions are hard to change in India because we are reluctant to change them...

ug education can't cost a lot..one of the greatest fallacies in the "brain drain" argument is that government spends 10 lakh per ug student in iit etc...
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

^^^ great point. True to quite an extent. I have seen arrogant profs. Culture has to do much on this. Servitude and obedience shouldn't play any role for the ones that are honestly seeking. Again, society too has a large role to play in this. Bloated egos...what to do!

But if you look at those profs., I am sure they would be too much into their subjects - only if one comes out of his/her little shell and sees the world around them, humility and reverence for the world would seep in. That's why our emphasis on formal sciences needs to be thinned enough to accomodate other sciences. Once can easily become arrogant by thinking all is math/physics.

to be honest , the most arrogant profs I know off are the ones who know their subject the least..they have an h&d the size of the pakee..

The true giants I met were the most wonderful people I have known.. I have had the opportunity to work with people like Ary Goldberger and Eugene Braunwald ..it would be an understatement to call them celebrities in cardiology ...they are demigods...braunwald is almost a founding father of speciality..the They had anything but bloated egos... they have no problem teaching or interacting even entry level med students...one of the reason why they there students have become giants themselves ...

The problem is that we view posts as iconic and worship them...so for some people just being a professor by the virtue of seniority is an achievement ..even if he has just warmed chair through the duration of his tenure...

Any project like the Nalanda one needs someone who really longs for ancient academy glory of India. Not ex-oxbridge types who wait bug-eyed for pats in the head and does not have any issues in getting a blood-stained (nobel) prize from a dried-up monarchy. Reminds one of china's geeky leadership and their shiny western suits.

For research, we need the best and brightest from all places of earth, but for building up from scratch and doing decisive administration we need a different category of people. We need people who experienced, but did not like discriminatory behavior of the west and are not hesitant to trash talk when needed.

I like the DRDO, ISRO leadership for talking brash. Kalam-sahib was the best choice to lead such an effort, as I believe he was the one who started the trend of talking confidently about getting things done, without a care for gora opinions :evil:

While IQ tests have some predictive power there are also critics including the famous paleontologist Stephen Gould. Here is some information from Wikipedia about what is called dynamic testing which can be taken advantage of through interview or viva-voce.

Intelligence quotient
Wikipedia wrote:Dynamic assessment
Notable and increasingly influential[110][111] alternative to the wide range of standard IQ tests originated in the writings of psychologist Lev Vygotsky (1896-1934) of his most mature and highly productive period of 1932-1934. The notion of the zone of proximal development that he introduced in 1933, roughly a year before his death, served as the banner for his proposal to diagnose development as the level of actual development that can be measured by the child's independent problem solving and, at the same time, the level of proximal, or potential development that is measured in the situation of moderately assisted problem solving by the child[112]. The maximum level of complexity and difficulty of the problem that the child is capable to solve under some guidance indicates the level of potential development. Then, the difference between the higher level of potential and the lower level of actual development indicates the zone of proximal development. Combination of the two indexes—the level of actual and the zone of the proximal development—according to Vygotsky, provides a significantly more informative indicator of psychological development than the assessment of the level of actual development alone[113][114].
Just IQ tests alone would not give any indication of the zone of proximal development. Measuring this factor is important because when the students are taught by good teachers, it is possible for them to achieve much higher levels development than what the plain IQ tests predict.

I had a classmate in engg. who came from rural background but did get through JEE. She is from the same place as Ramayya and did go through training with him. This was almost when Ramayya was just starting up. She did not opt for IIT because she was offered a branch she was not interested in (even though that branch at that IIT was the top branch in India at that time). She did very well, of course, in our class as well. With the current setup, a lot of people who have a high zone of proximal development would fall through the cracks.

On hind sight, I can say that I had several class mates in 10-12th grades who had very high index of proximal development. What stopped them from achieving their potential is the low supply of good institutions in all geographical locations evenly spread out through out India. The supply of good institutions needs to be increased as well the k-12 education system fortified.

Arjun wrote: .....it is certainly true that the relationship between IQ and success is not linear. But that is not the same as saying the two are uncorrelated.
In the spectrum bounded by 'not linear' and 'are not uncorrelated' is a vast space that encompasses the lives of millions of students in India (250,000 per year, times 10 or 20 years). It is one thing to apply the IQ premise to a single person (oneself) and quite another to apply it to a national policy situation. I am fine if someone wants to believe in this and perhaps raise his/her kids and focus on 'IQ', but national policies have to take into account the broader society at large. The larger context has to be considered when millions are affected.
This article concludes that practical real world achievements require IQ between 120 & 150, while scientists / theoretical accomplishments require IQ between 150 -180 : Correlation Between IQ and Success
From the link above: High IQ is not the whole and sole formula for success. There is much more to the success recipe.

Yes, there are 100s of studies....many of them are statistical type. The one I referred to followed these kids for a good decade to see how they developed (in that sense, this study is a bit different- if someone did not 'succeed' there would be documented reasons as to what went wrong). Your viewpoint is captured by this well-known author Charles Murray who took a lot of controversy with his book (co-authored by a Harvard prof.) 'The Bell Curve' http://en.wikipedia.or /wiki/Charles_Murray_%28author%29#The_Bell_Curve. I dont want to get embroiled in this side discussion about IQ etc. (vast topic and could fill up threads) but I'll say that when it comes to research in science and engg., even more things come into play than just plain IQ as determined by a single test administered at one point in time.
Last edited by SriKumar on 29 Jun 2012 08:52, edited 1 time in total.

gakakkad wrote:Unnecessary devotion to hierarchy is one of the greatest problems of the Indian education system .
which why I have developed a degree of allergy to the sloka 'guru brahma gurur vishnu... I think this is somehow internalized in the desi education system. There is no acknowledgement that the teacher might also learn something from a student.
one of the best features about massa education system is that everyone is very warm and friendly....giants of medicine.....
true...and you run into a lot of them. In a conference I had attended (presenting a really chota paper as a lowly grad.) I was introduced by a person who wrote a well-known text book in my area......since then, I have met and interacted with many more who have written books in their respective fields. They were all nice and uniformly friendly. It is almost like they have a level of respect for the (idea of a) student..... and truth be told, where would the professors be with their publications if they did not have grad students to do the grunt work. But the interaction is definitely less hierarchical and on more even terms...altogether more healthy.

SriKumar wrote: In the spectrum bounded by 'not linear' and 'are not uncorrelated' is a vast space that encompasses the lives of millions of students in India (250,000 per year, times 10 or 20 years). It is one thing to apply the IQ premise to a single person (oneself) and quite another to apply it to a national policy situation. I am fine if someone wants to believe in this and perhaps raise his/her kids and focus on 'IQ', but national policies have to take into account the broader society at large. The larger context has to be considered when millions are affected.
Srikumarji, I am a huge votary of the thinking that there are various kinds of talent - and that ALL of these kinds of talent need celebration and afforded a platform where such talent can succeed.

But anybody who thinks the only way to boost other talents is to diss one talent that he/she doesn't share - needs to have another think coming! You don't need to diss the IIT UG type of talent to make a case for there being various other talents that are perhaps unrecognized, and need platforms for flowering. I am all for there being a variety of institutes - with entry criteria based on different types of aptitude. Anybody who performs well in any of these types of aptitude needs to be celebrated. Further, the market (I use the term in a broader context - not commercial forces alone) will decide ultimately which type of talent and aptitude is more valued (and this can and will change with time as well).

To me, parts of this thread seem to be suggestive of the peculiar Indian trait of wanting to bring down the other guy in order to boost oneself. If you need to do that, you've already lost your case. (btw, I am not referring to you personally out here)

Secondly, the problem we are grappling with is poor research output by Indian universities and by the IITs. Anybody who, in trying to address this problem, focuses on UGs and JEE as being any kind of major factor at all in that discussion - seems to me to have missed the boat on rational thinking.

Arjun wrote:You don't need to diss the IIT UG type of talent
OK how would you define the bolded term? Its interesting that you brought this term up becoz I was just now thinking about exactly this.

I don't think one should diss any kind of talent but the question still remains, is the right kind of talent being admitted and nurtured in the IIT? After all IITs were set up with a specific mission in the mind - is that being fulfilled? I don't think one can just treat as some random institute.

Raja Bose wrote:OK how would you define the bolded term?
Talent for high-end analytical, problem solving in the PCM domain...inferring from JEE criteria. Inferring from other kind of tests that IITians typically tend to top in droves - this would be broadened to any mathematical / analytical IQ based problem-solving (GRE/CAT/Olympiad type problem solving). We can also infer types of talent from the generic IIT profile of career achievement post-IIT, but lets leave that aside for the moment.
I don't think one should diss any kind of talent but the question still remains, is the right kind of talent being admitted and nurtured in the IIT? After all IITs were set up with a specific mission in the mind - is that being fulfilled? I don't think one can just treat as some random institute.
Primary mission should be to make India a leader in scientific and applied research. That mission is obviously far from being met. But then, the owners for that mission would be the IIT Faculty, researchers, Post-Docs, and PG students. UGs don't play a role in any University's research mission - why would we even bring UGs into a discussion about IIT research standards?
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

Btw, does anybody here know if there are plans for IITs to start medical/biology streams? Somebody was telling me about this.

since the IITs are best equipped in terms of physical infra , faculty etc to conduct R&D, there have been proposals in the past to convert more of the seats into PG seats and reduce some of the teaching load on faculty as a side effect. this would be similar to IISc which until recently did not offer any UG degrees (I think they have some kind of 5 yr combined courses now). the idea was let the UGs be in limited number and the rest go to NITs and such.

this idea does not seem to have gained traction...I dont know due to the govt, the faculty, the UG alumni or some other reason.

in the khanate arent many UG courses in 1st and 2nd yr really taught and marked by TAs ? are TAs allowed to teach 3rd and 4th yr courses also? I have heard some profs have reached an extreme where they do not teach much if at all and focus mostly on their R&D with the PG students...univs were trying to roll that back some and make them take up teaching also...

Arjun wrote: Talent for high-end analytical, problem solving in the PCM domain...inferring from JEE criteria.
other kind of tests that IITians typically tend to top in droves
That is all they do... nothing else...

alaas if only a corporate merger OR a designing and executing A5/LCA/AMCA/Chandrayan project OR conceiving a building a river-linking project OR doing research in a given field OR teaching profession etc., are formatted like these "other kind of tests"....

It is a YYY conspiracy onleee :(( :(( :((

x-posting:

Kalam-sahib always speaks like the boss he is....

Mission moon and Mars our goals: Kalam

Three cheers to the first batch out of IIST and wishing them the very best!!!

Last edited by hnair on 29 Jun 2012 21:33, edited 1 time in total.

IIM after IIT is a sheer wastage of acquired skills from IIT. Why would you want to become a "Babu like manager" after acquiring high technical skills?

^ Kalam-saab made my day :D

I particularly like the convocation garb..... all it needs is a mysore turban. Future ISRO chairmen's desk will look nice with a b&w photo of his class wearing such a headgear 8)

Singha wrote:in the khanate arent many UG courses in 1st and 2nd yr really taught and marked by TAs ? are TAs allowed to teach 3rd and 4th yr courses also? I have heard some profs have reached an extreme where they do not teach much if at all and focus mostly on their R&D with the PG students...univs were trying to roll that back some and make them take up teaching also...
That is not uniformly true. In fact it is not even majorly true. There are a quite a few extremely well known professors (Turing award winner level types) in CS in various departments across the country who do and love to teach undergrad courses. TAs never handle the courses all by themselves. Also, 300-400 level courses contain a mixture of UGs and grad students. At least in the cases I know, the professor has to teach one UG course in one semester and the other semester she can choose to construct a syllabus for any course they want to teach. TAs do the grading, keep office hours, assist in setting homework and test problems and conduct readings and discussion sessions and may be teach an occasional class when the professor is attending a conference or NSF :).
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 30 Jun 2012 04:12, edited 1 time in total.

It seems there is significant takleef amongst the old UG alumni of IITs, as it is being made out here by comments like research is just the domain of PG and PhD/PostDoc/Faculty responsibility only. The old purpose (60 yrs ago) of IITs was to graduate out UGs when RECs and other engg colleges were not there in sufficient numbers. But is it the case now ?

From what I see even IITs themselves are going forward with Integrated MS/MTech programs so as to retain a few at least to feed into the PhD programs there.

If the idea is to just make IIT a pure UG institution, then it is better to privatize it completely which means basically sell it or make people who want to go there pay for it at par with western Univs. Let the market decide its worth other than with taxpayer subsidy.

In such a scenario, GoI can focus on the new IISERs instead by renaming them to include Engg research too. Expand the program to include all STEM areas with a focus on education with a final target on research activities. Expand this system further with needs that may arise in the future.

Singha wrote:since the IITs are best equipped in terms of physical infra , faculty etc to conduct R&D, there have been proposals in the past to convert more of the seats into PG seats and reduce some of the teaching load on faculty as a side effect. this would be similar to IISc which until recently did not offer any UG degrees (I think they have some kind of 5 yr combined courses now). the idea was let the UGs be in limited number and the rest go to NITs and such.
I'm not so sure about that. In khan land professors compete for research funds from private/public institutes. Winning funds means new equipment and new hires to go after research ideas. Not the other way around. Time is not really relevant. Some minimal equipment, esp. in pure science is provided by university for sure but money buys faculty. With out winning such grants it is hard for IIT's to keep at the cutting edge of world research. I even doubt they are at the cutting edge of Indian research! The Asahi glass plant is Chennai for instance is doing cutting edge research on lamination, burglary proofing and scratch protecting glass types. Definitely world class from what I saw. Nothing like it exists at IIT's. Staffed entirely by B.E & B.Tech from small local colleges. IMHO IIT professors did not seem to be the 'personality type' to beg on knees for grants from glass company, at least back then. This is what profs in massaland do day in day out. Keeps them 'grounded', humble and realistic. The ones who work on GOTUS projects such as Honeywell tend to be more robust and brusque because they can afford to be so. To be honest the world passed the testing based institutes by a long time ago. I have heard most companies now have a small research group staffed entirely by non-IIT types. Can't afford them for research.

Purpose of IIT's was to create institutes such as MIT, Princeton & Oxford here in India. If all they provide is UG's it is quite a sad sad come down.

Arjun wrote:
But anybody who thinks the only way to boost other talents is to diss one talent that he/she doesn't share - needs to have another think coming! .....You don't need to diss the IIT UG type of talent to make a case for there being various other talents that are perhaps unrecognized, and need platforms for flowering...
I think you are all over the place here....first you start of with IQ, then you segue over to 'talent' (which, I see as something different). Then you set up this commentary about 'celebration' and 'flowering of all talent' and 'platforms'. I did not say or imply any of this. And as for 'dissing' UG type talent I am not even sure what you mean or how I did that. I have stated clearly in the past atleast one reason JEE makes sense- that it is one single exam and standard for all in India. I have not said this before but I also dont like the idea of adding Board exam marks, for the same reason- different Boards have different grading standards. I cannot fathom how the XIIth class cut-off percentages for college admissions (posted in a previous page ) are so high, especially in physics and chemistry where marks presumably include performance in practical labs with viva voce. At some level, it must be inflation of marks, with the stricter Boards gradually watering down their marking standards over time.

From the past few pages, I have gathered a bit about your position and it seems that the perspective has a somewhat narrower focus than mine, in many ways..... (whether it is mystique- what is it and what is it good for, or, what happens after a degree is awarded, or, what is a benefit of an UG education and to whom, or what effect does a certain policy have at a larger scale etc.). I think these are all relevant questions. Whenever I have tried to expand to a larger context, the discussion went back to a smaller framework. I think it is clear now why you believe what you believe. I'll say that policies that have an effect at a national level ought to be atleast considered with a focus commensurate to its scale. This is my opinion. If you disagree, fine....let's agree to disagree.
Secondly, the problem we are grappling with is poor research output by Indian universities and by the IITs. Anybody who, in trying to address this problem, focuses on UGs and JEE as being any kind of major factor at all in that discussion - seems to me to have missed the boat on rational thinking.
I had noted your repeated comments that you wanted to delink IIT research programs from the discussion, and had therefore stayed away from the topic. In fact, in one of my posts in a previous page, I had explicitly stated that research is a completely different kettle of fish. If the focus is UG, then let the markets decide. This personal comment about 'rational thinking' is uncalled for. I could reply in kind but that would only perpetuate this further make it even more pointless. I think it represents a limit that has been reached in our discussion as no new points are being made.

SriKumar wrote:I submit that we actually need more vaishyas in desh
Vaisyas need something to trade. That comes from Sudra part of the society. The Brahmins invent and sudras manufacture. Kshatriya dharma is to protect these three Varnas in a dharmic manner.

Currently we have Vaisyas ruling us, Sudras making policies, Brahmanas working as labor, and Kshatriyas running mafia businesses...

This is what happens when Charvaka mindsets mixed with asuric desires occupy and socially reengineer a dharmic society

Current Indian Education system is a product of this. When we are ready this same education system will be tool to usher dharmic society.

SriKumar wrote:And as for 'dissing' IIT UG type talent I am not even sure what you mean or how I did that.
Srikumarji, my mistake- I should have been more explicit. Only the first paragraph of my previous response was a direct reply to you. The rest of it was a general commentary more aimed at a few others who have not been shy of doing exactly what I've bolded above. I've found your comments to be pretty rational, though it did seem to me that you were not entirely on board with a JEE-type analytical aptitude entrance test for UGs. But if you are - then there is nothing much for us to disagree upon.

Singha wrote: in the khanate arent many UG courses in 1st and 2nd yr really taught and marked by TAs ? are TAs allowed to teach 3rd and 4th yr courses also? I have heard some profs have reached an extreme where they do not teach much if at all and focus mostly on their R&D with the PG students...univs were trying to roll that back some and make them take up teaching also...
There are star profs who teach undergrad and are very good teachers - they are also usually the most learned ones becoz teaching keeps one on their toes. Richard Feynman is an example of such a prof who was much loved by students. John Thompson is another one. BTW grad students are allowed to teach 3rd or 4th year courses (at least in mathematics) - they are paid a TA's salary but called 'instructor' :mrgreen: And yes, a lot of star profs don't wanna teach at all and mostly try to focus on R&D, flesh pumping and politics - these are usually the more politically connected types who see academia as another version of Kangress.

Arjun wrote:
Raja Bose wrote:OK how would you define the bolded term?
Talent for high-end analytical, problem solving in the PCM domain...inferring from JEE criteria. Inferring from other kind of tests that IITians typically tend to top in droves - this would be broadened to any mathematical / analytical IQ based problem-solving (GRE/CAT/Olympiad type problem solving). We can also infer types of talent from the generic IIT profile of career achievement post-IIT, but lets leave that aside for the moment.
OK then we have a problem. Research & innovation in the real world is not about getting a known problem handed to you and being asked to solve it. Analytical problem solving by itself is only one part of the skill set required and is not even the most difficult part of the process. There is a whole different qualitative aspect to it which cannot be determined by analytical problem solving skills. Interestingly this is also what I have observed when I interviewed IIT grads from recent years - you hand them a neat problem, they can go after it and solve it. You ask them to come up with "what is a problem" - they mostly go blank and keep asking for a precise definition. This is not the case with the relatively older IIT grads which indicates to me that this recent "kota" style of JEE prep & current form of JEE might be leading to selection of people with a very narrow niche of skills which is not holistic & not useful without supervision - hardly befitting India's flagship engineering college.
Arjun wrote: Primary mission should be to make India a leader in scientific and applied research. That mission is obviously far from being met. But then, the owners for that mission would be the IIT Faculty, researchers, Post-Docs, and PG students. UGs don't play a role in any University's research mission - why would we even bring UGs into a discussion about IIT research standards?
Where is the supply of PGs going to come from?? If the top star students of a flagship institution consider that institution to be 2nd rate for doing further studies & research and the type of students taken in for UG have no inclination to do scientific or applied research, then I would say that institution has definitely failed to meet its goals. And consequently the IITs have failed to meet their primary mission for which the GoI build them. Hence, one cannot just keep status quo for IIT UGs just becoz there is a need to feel "a cut apart" from the rest of the population and to keep the mystique - we as a country don't have the luxury of such intangibles.

Now you know why I said many posts earlier that IITs cannot be compared to Ivy League yet - right now they are miles apart.

Raja Bose wrote: Analytical problem solving by itself is only one part of the skill set required and is not even the most difficult part of the process. There is a whole different qualitative aspect to it which cannot be determined by analytical problem solving skills.
Agree. Formulating the problem i.e. what is the issue, what are the parameters that affect it.... is a whole different skill set; qualitative, as you put it.
Interestingly this is also what I have observed when I interviewed IIT grads from recent years - you hand them a neat problem, they can go after it and solve it. You ask them to come up with "what is a problem" - they mostly go blank and keep asking for a precise definition. This is not the case with the relatively older IIT grads which indicates to me that this recent "kota" style of JEE prep & current form of JEE might be leading to selection of people with a very narrow niche of skills which is not holistic & not useful without supervision - hardly befitting India's flagship engineering college.
Can we really ascribe it to Kota-style training? The people you interview have a Bachelor's; then a Masters in massa and maybe a Ph.d after that. The non-JEE skills (formulating a problem for a an ambiguous (or real-world) system etc.) should have been learnt atleast during the Master's, if not Bachelor's. I am not sure Kota-style training is to blame unless this type of training actually _filters out_ such people (sounds a bit far-fetched, though). Ultimately, formulating a problem statement of an ambiguous, real-world situation is a learnable skill. It is just a question of when does it get taught/learnt. Perhaps the difference is in the length of work-experience, which would explain the difference between old grads and recent grads.

Raja Bose wrote:
Singha wrote: in the khanate arent many UG courses in 1st and 2nd yr really taught and marked by TAs ? are TAs allowed to teach 3rd and 4th yr courses also? I have heard some profs have reached an extreme where they do not teach much if at all and focus mostly on their R&D with the PG students...univs were trying to roll that back some and make them take up teaching also...
There are star profs who teach undergrad and are very good teachers - they are also usually the most learned ones becoz teaching keeps one on their toes. Richard Feynman is an example of such a prof who was much loved by students. John Thompson is another one. BTW grad students are allowed to teach 3rd or 4th year courses (at least in mathematics) - they are paid a TA's salary but called 'instructor' :mrgreen: And yes, a lot of star profs don't wanna teach at all and mostly try to focus on R&D, flesh pumping and politics - these are usually the more politically connected types who see academia as another version of Kangress.
Much depends on the univ. and depts. themselves. In large state univs. you will have TAs for 3rd & 4th year courses, but often these TAs will be on the Ph.D. track. Some courses they teach are required for graduation and so the curriculum is well known. Like RB says in math you may find a math TA teaching 3rd & 4th year engr. students probability/statistics and linear algebra. You won't find TAs for UG topics like quantum mechanics or elec./magn. The profs who do not teach receive their entire salary from grants, should their grants fall low any particular year, they may have to cut research staff, stipends, and in a worst case go back to teaching. I've rarely seen this in the sciences when these type of fellows become extremely good at greasing the research dollar tracks to keep the funds going. Many multiple sources of grants come in from DARPA, NSF, NIH and CDC.

Raja Bose wrote:OK then we have a problem. Research & innovation in the real world is not about getting a known problem handed to you and being asked to solve it. Analytical problem solving by itself is only one part of the skill set required and is not even the most difficult part of the process. There is a whole different qualitative aspect to it which cannot be determined by analytical problem solving skills. Interestingly this is also what I have observed when I interviewed IIT grads from recent years - you hand them a neat problem, they can go after it and solve it. You ask them to come up with "what is a problem" - they mostly go blank and keep asking for a precise definition. This is not the case with the relatively older IIT grads which indicates to me that this recent "kota" style of JEE prep & current form of JEE might be leading to selection of people with a very narrow niche of skills which is not holistic & not useful without supervision - hardly befitting India's flagship engineering college.
Interesting point. Probably requires us to get to the heart of which traits are fundamental to research, and which ones of these traits / skills are learnable vs which ones or not.

Analytical ability, in simple terms, is really the ability to ask the right questions. Many who've achieved extreme success in academia/ corporate world/ Wall Street would point to this one trait as being the core attribute retained from JEE/UG days, that's responsible for where they are currently. Analytical / JEE type questions typically present a mass of data, and require the person to figure out which parameters are relevant and which irrelevant in getting to a solution. This requires ability to ask the right questions - and as it turns out, that's not a very common skillset.

Holistic thinking is not directly tested in the JEE, but then verbal is not as well - & we still had more IITians topping GRE verbal than other Indian institutes. Why? Probably because folks who have one talent - in many cases have multiple others as well. If this attribute is getting diluted - maybe that is a matter of concern.

Another point to consider - 'What is the problem' kind of questions call for slightly different skills. In analytical reasoning, the various parameters are given or known - and the issue boils down to choosing which ones are really relevant. What your question is attempting on the other hand, is a test of whether the person is aware of all possible parameters for a particular domain. Immersion in a partciular domain for a few months or year should lead one to become aware of all possible parameters. But the ability to ask the right questions may turn out to be far more important for longer-term success.

SriKumar wrote:Can we really ascribe it to Kota-style training? The people you interview have a Bachelor's; then a Masters in massa and maybe a Ph.d after that. The non-JEE skills (formulating a problem for a an ambiguous (or real-world) system etc.) should have been learnt atleast during the Master's, if not Bachelor's.
I should have clarified - they are PhD or MS degree holders from massa universities (some from UKstan Oxbridge). Now to the point of figuring out what is a problem (mind you this is different from being given a situation and asked to formulate a problem statement), this is something which can be refined thru learning but one needs to have that inherent trait to begin with (BTW doing a PhD doesn't mean you have that trait or can learn it - there are enuff loopholes and types of advising where folks can get away without having that, though good PhDs will have it). And that trait I find missing in a lot of the new grads who came in thru the IIT system. That is why my original question to Arjun was "Is JEE filtering in the right kind of students?". Now the obvious question is "why target the IITs onlee??" - well, they are our flagship engineering colleges, hence they will be the benchmark that other colleges should be held to. In the end we want institutions like IIT to produce individuals who can undertake forward looking research and innovate. If we just churn out skilled problem solvers who can solve problems handed to them, what we get is, management babus and bureaucrats and for that we already have IIM and UPSC - that is not a role for IITs!

Re. the role experience plays in coming up with a problem - it plays a huge role but I am actually factoring that variable in my comparison and when I evaluate such candidates f2f. After all it is not fair to a RCG if I expect them to know stuff which only an experienced hire would know about or stuff which only someone who worked in my niche would know.

Arjun wrote: Analytical ability, in simple terms, is really the ability to ask the right questions. Many who've achieved extreme success in academia/ corporate world/ Wall Street would point to this one trait as being the core attribute retained from JEE/UG days, that's responsible for where they are currently. Analytical / JEE type questions typically present a mass of data, and require the person to figure out which parameters are relevant and which irrelevant in getting to a solution. This requires ability to ask the right questions - and as it turns out, that's not a very common skillset.
Absolutely it is not a common skillset but is the purpose of IIT to churn out people with that skillset onlee? I would argue that it is not. Actually your post reminded me of something I forgot to include in my earlier post. When we are looking at these criteria we need to look at the mango IIT talib rather than the super stars who achieve extreme success and make the headlines. Becoz they will be successful regardless of how you test them. But then a few stars don't make the universe shine :mrgreen: . Most innovation is done by the large mass of mango abduls, rather than a few super stars.
Arjun wrote: Holistic thinking is not directly tested in the JEE, but then verbal is not as well - & we still had more IITians topping GRE verbal than other Indian institutes. Why? Probably because folks who have one talent - in many cases have multiple others as well. If this attribute is getting diluted - maybe that is a matter of concern.
It should be. In fact the JEE committee folks need to take a strong look at how filtering, testing and evaluation in done in top centers of research around the world when selecting UGs - everything they do may not be suitable for IITs but then the current JEE is not doing its job either unless our main goal is to be the rest of the world's contractor/back-office forever.
Arjun wrote: Another point to consider - 'What is the problem' kind of questions call for slightly different skills.
I would argue these are the skills/traits which need to be tested for IIT intake. Becoz these are what is needed to innovate new things. Simply being a good problem solver is not equivalent to being a good researcher/scientist - a guy who solves Q.15 of every chapter in Irodov may not be a good researcher/someone who can create new stuff. In fact given the large number of IITians who are YumBeeAyes and IAS/IPS/IFS officers, I would say the JEE has done a great job in selecting future problem solvers (as you already stated) but it has not done a great job in selecting future researchers. That needs to be corrected at both the UG level and PG level.

Raja Bose wrote:Where is the supply of PGs going to come from?? If the top star students of a flagship institution consider that institution to be 2nd rate for doing further studies & research and the type of students taken in for UG have no inclination to do scientific or applied research, then I would say that institution has definitely failed to meet its goals. And consequently the IITs have failed to meet their primary mission for which the GoI build them. Hence, one cannot just keep status quo for IIT UGs just becoz there is a need to feel "a cut apart" from the rest of the population and to keep the mystique - we as a country don't have the luxury of such intangibles.
I have an issue with each of the bolded parts above.

1) You say the type of students taken in have no inclination for research.....I think we need to examine data statistically and on facts rather than on anecdotes.

While there are obviously very many who have taken the corporate / entrepreneurship / MBA path (including myself) - I think you will find that the percentage that goes on to research from the IIT UGs is probably higher than for any other technology univ in India.

2) The top star students do not consider IIT PG second rate. Its just that these folks are considered among the topmost tier of UGs by many of the world's best Univs & Corporates - and students therefore have much greater choice to deal with than those from other Institutes. Its the Network effect in play out here....an agglomeration of talent will attract more talent to that place. Its precisely the Network effect for many to aim for the IIT UG (because the JEE guarantees that you will have the best of analytical brains congregating) - they want to be among the best. When it comes to PG / PhD, the situation today is that the global hotspots for talent are elsewhere and therefore the UGs tend to gravitate there - reversing this is an uphill climb for the IITs but it can be done.

Further, the IITs themselves have taken absolutely no pains to market their own PG programs to the UGs. The problem as I see it is actually utter lack of Marketing skills and an appreciation for supply /demand of talent among Indian Univs including the IITs. This will change slowly - but the process is too glacial.

3) The most important question - where is the supply of PGs going to come from? Lets consider hypothetically that you are correct - and that folks more attuned to research are being left out of IIT UG. So they are obviously going to other Indian Univs. And that same pool will again be available for the IITs to choose from for their PG program (Isn't IIT PG the most sought after for those who aim for STEM PG in India?).....why all the hullaballoo about IIT UGs? PG has its own highly regarded entrance, and that should in theory again get in the best for the PG program from all across India.
Now you know why I said many posts earlier that IITs cannot be compared to Ivy League yet - right now they are miles apart.
Fair enough, IIT is a non-Ivy League institution comprising of Ivy-Leaguer students who contribute to further entrenchment of the current Ivy League Institutes.