Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
member_19969

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

Post by member_19969 »

did he throw it away or did they confiscate it?

they usually keep the spirits for themselves.

I had 500 ml of liquid on me. Was asked if I wanted to have my cases
returned so that I could add it to my suitcase rather than hand luggage. I
elected to dispose of it. With regards to spirits, it is virtually impossible to
get them out of the airport. All air side staff are searched at entry and exit,
just like passengers.

I would rather have the hassle of liquids search than a bomb successfully
carried to air side.

ShipraM , they have these big blue bins. To be honest this problem exists only in Heathrow and Gatwick. I don't recall having trouble when flying out of Birmingham or Bristol, east midlands etc.

Brum is full of Pajis of the G Hadi variety, fat chance of lax security at Brum. In any case, minor inconvenience is a million times better than allowing a Paji to get his 72 at your cost

RamaY wrote:There is nothing wrong in BR getting whatever education he wanted to and got access to. There is also nothing wrong in him becoming a convenient tool in Anglo-Saxon social engineering project against Indian interests, perhaps it is his prerogative. There is also nothing wrong in him writing a constitution that is in line with his worldview and suitable to his or his masters' agendas.

It is similar to what Shekar Guptas, Sachars, Kuldeep Nayars etc doing to Bharatiya interests today. Pls look at the post I made in Indian Intersts thread with BR's quote after his 2nd marriage to a Brahmin woman (very convinient for him to uplift poor Brahmin woman and not a Dalit)
RamaY ji, what's wrong with him marrying a "Brahmin woman"? What do you think was "convenient" in his choice?

And if you call his work as serving an Anglo-Saxon agenda then I think that's a little blinkered too. Its too bad that he didn't find satisfactory support within the national movement itself that was radical enough in uprooting the caste system.

Even Gandhi's "Harijan" movement was based on the Pauranik idea that those castes could only approach God through chanting of the holy names of Hari. Its a special mercy for women and shudras, you see.

Now I think Gandhi's gradualist approach also has its merits, but it fails to radically alter the ingrained conception of individual potentials.

I have seen Hindutva-vaadis spend an inordinate amount of time and energy arguing why the caste system is important even in its moronic rigidity, as an ingenious shell that "saved" India in the last 1000 years. I have seen even very intelligent caste-Brahmin males argue the importance of genetics in psycho-spiritual processes that use certain refined innate tendencies for exploration of the subconscious. These things may have some grain of truth in them, but they both have a very limited and unimaginative idea of spiritual process. One that is rigidly hierarchical; an imposed or managed hierarchy rather than an observed hierarchy. One that has become lost in categories, rather than one that uses categories merely as an approach to understanding life.

I have no idea why he "conveniently" chose to marry a woman from a caste-Brahmin background, but that itself may have been radical enough in his day to force people to think differently - both, "high castes", as well as in increasing the boldness of his dalit fellows. I have spoken with people who participated in the early Naxal movement. They narrate stories of how even when the local landlord and his nexus are being humiliated in the lok adalat, the village's oppressed castes still wouldn't dare to go drink from the prohibited well. That is the level to which things had fallen.

Now unless you think there is some great 'pratikula' vitiation of the cosmic order by Ambedkar's coupling with a caste-Brahmin lady (though through the centuries the reverse was always allowed, often without even marriage), I don't see why that is even brought up.

As for his becoming a tool in Anglo-Saxon hands, the fact is that the core of the Hindu nationalist movement has always reached out to lower castes only in response to active conversion attempts and the risk of being marginalized. They have never been pro-active, forceful and radical. They still work within the same rigid, broken and misunderstood ideas of varNa and ashrama and purushaartha.

Mahendra, paki threat is all over the country, even Glasgow etc. They have another way of dealing with that - special branch officers at airports

Carl wrote:<SNIP>As for his becoming a tool in Anglo-Saxon hands, the fact is that the core of the Hindu nationalist movement has always reached out to lower castes only in response to active conversion attempts and the risk of being marginalized. They have never been pro-active, forceful and radical. They still work within the same rigid, broken and misunderstood ideas of varNa and ashrama and purushaartha.
+1.

Carl wrote:<SNIP>As for his becoming a tool in Anglo-Saxon hands, the fact is that the core of the Hindu nationalist movement has always reached out to lower castes only in response to active conversion attempts and the risk of being marginalized. They have never been pro-active, forceful and radical. They still work within the same rigid, broken and misunderstood ideas of varNa and ashrama and purushaartha.
+1.
My response here: http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 4#p1308554
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Kashmirs Torture Trail

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/kash ... ture-trail

A rather biased and emotional doc from channel 4.
No chance for the Indian governemt to reply.

The UK should offer them all political asylum in the UK.

you can guarantee that a significant number of 'asians with a tendency to groom under age white girls with drugs' may have had a significant influence in the making of that programme

I , for one, think Pakis are unfairly targeted in the grooming cases. Come on, shouldn't the p**dobrits, who regularly keep surfacing in Thailand share the platform too.
In any case, kids in every town and village in England aren't that safe.

Pakis and Brits - perfect bedfellows :twisted:

Letter From London
Memory Loss: Ghajini Strikes More CEOs
Sudeshna Sen

I’ve always been rather embarrassed about the fact that I have a memory like a sieve. Remembering names, faces, critical events, key facts, even arcane figures on spreadsheets, I was brought up to believe, is an essential for workplace success. Corporate-coach types would always tell you to be sure to have the essential facts at your fingertips. Teachers would tell you to be prepared for presentations. Even in the media, both as a writer, but far more as an editor, I have heard innumerable complaints from companies and dignitaries. “Oh, your reporter didn’t know all the details. This is the CEO. How can you send someone like that for an interview?”

Till now, I’ve usually apologised, never mind if the incident in question featured a CEO or company completely obscure. After listening to Bob Diamond at the parliamentary committee last week, where he sounded like an eerie replay of James and Rupert Murdoch a few months ago, I am going to stop saying sorry for being badly prepared or forgetting key facts. My new management mantra is: amnesia is the secret ingredient for success. It seems to be the key to become the boss of a multizillion-dollar organisation, and take home $20-million salary.

No wonder most of us don’t make it to those hallowed levels, we were all taught the wrong values. Bob Diamond saw no evil, he heard no evil, he spoke no evil. In fact, it seems, he didn’t know anything that was going on inside his bank at all, never mind systemic fixing of a universal benchmark interest rate. Rebekah Brooks, former editor of News International, apparently knew nothing about where her reporters were getting their lethal stories from, and James Murdoch knew nothing about anything either. If I’d won even a tenner for the number of times we got the response “I don’t recall that,” I’d have a nice little nest egg.

It’s an interesting performance from these folks, because they weren’t talking to media, when we all know dignitaries get selective amnesia if we ask uncomfortable questions. They were deposing before an enquiry committee of Parliament, a quasi-legal situation. Sure things happen in large organisations, and bosses can’t be expected to know every little misdemeanour, like who nicked the staplers from the office pool. But things that could snowball into headline court cases?

The approach throws up serious questions about management responsibility and legal procedures, which ought to keep B-school academics busy for some time, if they bother to address the issue. I’m not sure but I am assuming — and so are most other commentators here — that the selective amnesia is a legally-defensible position. We’re assuming that since these people are advised by seriously heavyweight lawyers. But everyone on the street can then see the contradiction. If they didn’t know what was happening in their companies, what were they doing as bosses? Like an acquaintance asked me, “If Barclays is so badly run that its CEO knows nothing, is my money safe there?”

As I mentioned last week, this is the wrong time to go into a long-drawn-out navel-gazing exercise about the casino culture of global banks. Not when the global economy is so shaky. Frankly, if Barclays collapses under the weight of its heavyweights leaving, my taxpayer money will be on the line again, and we’ll end up bailing them out too.

It might be legally sensible to appear as innocent and unaware as some Disney princess. But what everyone here is talking about — from government to industry associations to bankers — is restoring trust in the financial services industry. Trust is not just about your clients knowing you won’t indulge in dodgy practices. Trust is also that your clients and shareholders can be assured you are at least competent, if not good, at your job.

It’s this balance that none of the CEOs — including the ones who sat before committees in the US and UK in the aftermath of Lehman — are able to maintain. The public ends up even more outraged, politicians follow, and the vicious cycle of CEO-bashing starts again.

Meanwhile, Diamond senior ended up being so completely forgettable in his amnesiac deposition that the star of the week is his 23-year-old daughter, Nell Diamond. She hit the headlines for tweeting in aggressive defence of her father, including one which told Osborne (as in George) and Cameron (as in David) to go do some hideously-obscene thing I can’t write about. Since then, she’s been splashed on all tabloids and society papers, giving more interviews about her precious nightclub memberships and fashion ideas than Paris Hilton or Peaches Geldof. She reportedly works in a Wall Street bank herself. I wonder what her bosses think of her sudden notoriety? Oh, well. That’s life. One Diamond hits the dust, another rises. She’ll probably end up with a book or movie contract by the end of this.

[email protected]
http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/ ... wMode=HTML

I can already smell the next tabloid headline unfairly maligning the TFTA packees...."South Asians: Groomed to groom?" which will include looong soib stories of sodomy afghan boys grow up with all around them and somehow link it to India's bloodied democracy (and lack of toilets+space program) that's causing all 'em grooming cases. Only.

I hope UK gets its just desserts for such behaviour

Jammu and Kashmir ‘nightmare’ in UK media
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

^^ Are most of the comments on the above article by BRFites?

If not I am impressed by the rightful bashing of UKs own human rights abuses and colonial and post colonial genocides (in Iraq for ex). If that was not BRF commenting there, I must say we SDREs have come a long way in reclaiming our identity from the colonial charlatans.

I agree with the poster who mentioned above and I think we should fund an organization that helps these people file for Asylum in the UK.

Qualification for asylum seeking should be that they can use the same evidence that was collected by Channel4 to deduce that they are being tortured and murdered. If you can furnish the same proof, the charity would sponsor your asylum application to UK.

I am also very happy to note that TOI has given it a negative description. They have not completely sold out their souls (yet).
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

That effort by TOI is commendable but they and Indian media in general have to go one step further. They have to shine the light on human rights abuses done by UK. They have a duty to inform mankind about crimes of UK not just during the Raaj but even things like Diego Garcia. I do not think average man knows about the dirty deeds of UK and this is bad for humanity.

Manmohan Singh: Saviour or Sonia's poodle?

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world ... 45358.html

no indian newspaper picking up stories of olympic unpreparedness and/or chaos in londonistan?

Carl wrote:As for his becoming a tool in Anglo-Saxon hands, the fact is that the core of the Hindu nationalist movement has always reached out to lower castes only in response to active conversion attempts and the risk of being marginalized. They have never been pro-active, forceful and radical. They still work within the same rigid, broken and misunderstood ideas of varNa and ashrama and purushaartha.
There have been plenty of reformers who have come from within Hindu society without the pressure of soul stealers being there.

Lalmohan wrote:no indian newspaper picking up stories of olympic unpreparedness and/or chaos in londonistan?
In a perfect game of one-upmanship, India is sending Kalmadi. Whereas, if you recall, queen Elizabeth along with several English sportsmen and women refused to attend the Commonwealth games (supposedly) because of lack of security. Take that UKstanis!

EU airports seem less stringent about the 100ml liquids rule.I haven't noticede wasted perfume or aftershaves! Here at UK airports today,even the smallest amount of liquid in hand luggage calls for it to be in a transparent pouch,or enjoy a thorough search for even a tiny eyedrop bottle one forgot about,which goes back to be "sniffed".Security this summer in the UK has been dramatically increased.But what would you prefer? A lax system that will allow another round of tube bombings or a safe place to live in and visit?

The problem in the UK is that the lunatics may very well be home born ones,indoctrinated in the local mosques at Bradfordistan or Birminghamistan and trained in Af-Pak,on visits "home".Tougher laws for the deportation of such ungodlies and tighter immigration,with a long waiting period before permanent residence is permitted-which can be withdrawn for anti-national activities,is the best way in which Britain can keep itself relatively troublefree from Islamist terrorism. Not participating in armed conficts in Arab lands (like Iraq) will also help!
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

There have been plenty of reformers who have come from within Hindu society without the pressure of soul stealers being there.
Exactly. People forget that some of our greatest saints were from Shudra jatis and also from what is now called Dalit.

The entire bhakti movement grew out from the lowest castes. It brought to the fore a personal god i.e Isht Dev that far outweighed any notional formless single god. It protected Sanatan Dharma during the darkest ages.

Hmm let's see:

Who composed the Ramayana ?- Valmiki. So our Adi Kavi was shudra and a reformed highwayman.

Whose is the Mahabharata ?- Vyas. and our Ved Vyas was the offspring of a Nishad woman and a Macchwara ( a ferryman's daughter and a fisherman)

Clearly the Brahmins did not stop memorizing these epics because they were composed by Shudras, now did they?

So please cut this bullshit of Sanatan Dharma not encompassing all. Our most revered treasures have been borne and revealed by those born into the lowest castes.

And that cannot happen in as rigid a societal framework as the marxists and EJs would have us believe.

And by the way reform in hinduism is a built in phenomena.

The greatest example is the story of Karna itself. It shows that if you don't give people their due as in upper castes not giving lower castes their due then you produce extremely embittered people. Something that is today regarded as a price for past folly in the churning that is called Bharat Varsh.

Police charge four men with abducting and sexually assaulting a teenage girl in Suffolk

Four men have been charged for abducting and sexually assaulting a 13-year-old girl. Mohamed Sheikh, a 31-year-old of Seaton Point, London, has been charged with a child abduction offence and possession of a controlled drug.

Surin Uddin, a 28-year-old of St Matthews Row, London, has been charged with two counts of rape against a girl under the age of 16 and one child abduction offence.

http://europenews.dk/en/node/56546

Britain has been hit by massive financial scandals that have devastated the reputation and integrity of its banking system.

First the LIBOR scandal involving Barclays bank,who scandalously fixed rates ,as a Pakistani financial analyst told me in London,"..and they accuse our cricketers of match fixing!",and now the HSBC scandal where the bank money-laundered cash from drug lords,Al Q terrorists et al! The exposes have exposed the lie about the honesty and integrity of western banks,as if the collapse of US banks that led to the global financial meltdown wsn't enough warning.

The Barclays ex-boss now says that he was under pressure from Labour Party politicos ,so to paraphrase a famous phrase from the Watergate Scandal........."What did Brown and Blair know about rate fixing and when did they know about it?".

HSBC:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2012 ... gns-senate

HSBC 'sorry' for aiding Mexican drugs lords, rogue states and terrorists
Executive quits in front of US Senate as bank faces massive fines for 'horrific' lapses that resulted in laundering money for drugs cartels and pariah states
Executives with Europe's biggest bank, HSBC, were subjected to a humiliating onslaught from US senators on Tuesday over revelations that staff at its global subsidiaries laundered billions of dollars for drug cartels, terrorists and pariah states.

Lawmakers hammered the British-based bank over the scandal, demanding to know how and why its affiliates had exposed it to the proceeds of drug trafficking and terrorist financing in a "pervasively polluted" culture that persisted for years.

A report compiled for the committee detailed how HSBC's subsidiaries transported billions of dollars of cash in armoured vehicles, cleared suspicious travellers' cheques worth billions, and allowed Mexican drug lords buy to planes with money laundered through Cayman Islands accounts.

Other subsidiaries moved money from Iran, Syria and other countries on US sanctions lists, and helped a Saudi bank linked to al-Qaida to shift money to the US.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/busin ... 53320.html
The head of compliance at British banking giant HSBC resigned in front of a US Senate subcommittee today after it emerged the bank had exposed the US to billions of dollars worth of money laundering, drug trafficking, and terrorist financing.
Barclays:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree ... dle-street

Libor scandal: gunfight on Threadneedle Street
This is not just some common or garden mishap or even misbehaviour at a big business. This is 'fraud'
Comment is free

Libor scandal: gunfight on Threadneedle Street

This is not just some common or garden mishap or even misbehaviour at a big business. This is 'fraud'

Editorial
guardian.co.uk, Tuesday 17 July 2012

Only two weeks into the market-rigging scandal and already the economic-policy establishment resembles the final scene of Reservoir Dogs: a bunch of men in suits all blindly shooting at each other.

Former Barclays boss Bob Diamond has landed the Bank of England's Paul Tucker in deep trouble, with a note implying that he encouraged the misreporting of money-market rates. Barclays' ex-chief operating officer Jerry del Missier told MPs this week that Mr Diamond ordered him to fiddle Libor rates. And Barclays was accused by the Financial Services Authority (FSA) on Monday of a "culture of gaming – and gaming us". The FSA has been dumped in it by Mervyn King, who argued on Tuesday that it was not the Bank's job to regulate Libor – the implication being that it was the FSA's fault. Both the FSA and the Bank agree that prime responsibility for monitoring Libor lay with the British Bankers' Association. And then there is George Osborne, whose main contribution to the chaos has been to suggest to a magazine interviewer that Gordon Brown and his lieutenants are somehow to blame.

This is the British economic-policy establishment under unprecedented pressure – and what an unseemly, blame-ducking, buck-passing panic it presents. Not just the humbling of some of our most senior and respected officials but also the erraticism with which they have been making policy. Take, for instance, the ousting of Bob Diamond. The FSA's Adair Turner told MPs this week that when he spoke to the Barclays chairman Marcus Agius after the Libor scandal, he had expected Mr Diamond to walk the plank. Something was obviously lost in translation, however, because Mr Agius stood down instead. It took the intercession of Mervyn King to force out the Barclays chief executive. And why exactly was Mr Diamond pushed out? Not for any direct involvement in the Libor scandal but, in the words of Mr King yesterday: "They [the bank] have been sailing too close to the wind across a wide number of areas." No actual infraction; just a general sense of having gone too far for too long. This raises the question of why no regulator seriously intervened in Barclays before the Libor scandal. Bob Diamond has been head of one of Britain's biggest banks since January 2011, yet no official has brought up a previous incident where they told the board to change their behaviour or their personnel. The impression left is of rather rough justice. As Andrew Tyrie, head of the Treasury select committee, drily observed in the same session, by that measure every chief executive in the land is "only a couple of bad dinners" away from being forced out of a post.

This is not just some common or garden mishap or even misbehaviour at a big business. As Mr King observed on Tuesday, this is "fraud". And it has not just been carried out by Barclays, but by a string of other financial institutions – who between them fiddled the benchmark interest rates that are used as reference for hundreds of billions of pounds' worth of transactions. Some of the commentary about this scandal has brought up the fact that this occurred during the credit crunch in 2008, when it would apparently have been in everyone's interests to pretend that all was normal in money markets. Maybe, except that this scamming took place over at least four years – and the kindest interpretation of the evidence to date is that officials asked barely any questions. In place of supervision there was what looks like worrying chumminess. "Well done, man. I am really, really proud of you," Mr Diamond emailed the number two at the Bank on his promotion in December 2008. Mr Tucker replied: "You've been an absolute brick."

This story has so far revolved around one bank rigging one set of interest rates, involving emails and letters and committee hearings. Imagine what a serious, wide-ranging inquiry could uncover. Britain certainly needs one, because this blossoming scandal threatens not just the reputation of an industry but the regulators and ministers who let it run riot.

Banking is the bread, butter and beer of current Britanic economy. InshaAllah, it will sink soon. 72k $ question is who is behind these disclosers. Europeans or Roosy Bhais ?

This is a uncle vs Uropeans shadow war going on

Acharya wrote:This is a uncle vs Uropeans shadow war going on
To destroy thier banking? But Garib Britain is Uncle's Munna and not European.

So maybe there is something to the rumor that the Obama - the first nonwhite ever to be US Prez - dislikes the briturds, a hangover of having heard of colonization's ill effects in Kenya among other places...

Hari Seldon wrote:...a hangover of having heard of colonization's ill effects in Kenya among other places...
Came to know recently that the "virginity tests" by them Brits which targeted nubile Indian women landing in UK also targeted Kenyans ca. 1980.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Oh no people's memory is so fickle
Can't recall BCCI scandals (though not board of cricket control India equally scandalous )
Bank of Credit and commerce international
how Dawood Baha'i TSP unkil robbed every Indian illiterate gulf laborers
Read here
http://www.democraticunderground.com/di ... 89x6811972

Uncle leads others follow in every aspect of life thanks to Globalization
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

^^I had researched this bank for an undergrad thesis on Asymmetric Information in markets - the BCCI was not just scamming money out of illiterate Gulf laborers, they were laundering Colombian cartel money, as well as funneling the CIA's monies to fund the Afghan War. Internally, the bank was structured like an Intelligence Agency.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Secrets are just very, very hard to keep these days.

Cartel like practices by powerful industries included.

The tabloid media's routine violation of the law has come under attack despite their ability to compromise every politician and policeman who ever thought of taking them on.

The same thing is happening to the banking industry now.

They aren't going to be the last either.

Its in effect its the wikileaks and twitter effect reaching the corporate sphere as well.

However damaging these may appear in the short term, the sunlight is going to produce healthier industries and a healthier civic life. These cleanups were long overdue, and certainly supported by the general public.

banking is a global industry - with perhpas 10-12 large global players - the majority of whom are american based. however, banking is run out of new york, london, and hong kong primarily and driven by the politics of the north atlantic 'co-prosperity sphere'. much of what is coming out in the press now has already happened, and action has already been taken in most cases. what has not really happened is an examination of the political directives and policies of successive american and european (read UK and German) governments. what is going on is way above national politics and identities, its about the entire model.
no one is above blame, but bankers make easy targets.

^^I had researched this bank for an undergrad thesis on Asymmetric Information in markets - the BCCI was not just scamming money out of illiterate Gulf laborers, they were laundering Colombian cartel money, as well as funneling the CIA's monies to fund the Afghan War. Internally, the bank was structured like an Intelligence Agency.
And yes, they even had a hand in financing the Mirage 2000 purchase in the mid 80s by India.

Acharya wrote:This is a uncle vs Uropeans shadow war going on

Geithner was quoted on NPR as saying that it was he who came across the info about LIBOR being fixed a few years ago and passed it to the Feds and they informed BOE. In the meantime LIBOR was still being fixed to the detriment of many home owners!

US Senate is upset and wants to have hearings.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Many moons ago BRF had a thread for the scandals of BCCI and how its operatives supported terrorism and money laundering.
The role of Mansore Ijaz and Regan administration officials involvement via crescent investments were discussed threadbare .
Crescent Investment Management LLC was founded and chaired by Mansoor Ijaz in 1991. Crescent Investment Management,
"a New York investment [is] partnership between Ijaz, Lt. Gen. James Alan Abrahamson (USAF Ret),
former director of President Ronald Reagan's Strategic Defense Initiative, and Turkey's Global Group.
Former CIA Director R. James Woolsey, Jr. serves as vice chairman of Crescent's Board of Governors.
"Crescent specializes in the use of quantitative modeling techniques to manage investment portfolios.
Crescent's MENARA family of funds, currently in formation, will focus on five strategic investment sectors:
high technology, telecommunications, oil and gas investments, real estate acquisitions and infrastructure development.
The firm is headquartered in New York with partner offices in London and Ankara." --Benador Associates' biography for Ijaz.
http://visar.csustan.edu/aaba/BCCISandstormRelease.html
Bank of Credit and Commerce International Scandal (BCCI). UK Government Forced to Publish the
Sandstorm Report (posted 9 September 2011)
Return to Main AABA WEBSITE
Background
After a five-year legal battle the UK government has finally released most of the Sandstorm Report on 7 September 2011. According
to the Bank of England this report was the basis for the closure of BCCI in July 1991.
The report was prepared by Price Waterhouse (BCCI auditors) for the Bank of England though it was never finalized.
BCCI was the biggest banking fraud of the twentieth century.
Some 1.4 million depositors lost $11bn. Unlike many other large corporate frauds and banking scandals
the UK government did not appoint inspectors to prepare a report. No parliamentary committee has ever been given
sight of the Sandstorm Report. UK legislators pass laws without knowledge of the facts or opportunity to interrogate wrongdoers.

The UK government was ordered to release the information to Prem Sikka by
the unanimous decision of three judges ( click here for court judgment) .
This is the first time that the UK government has been forced to release hitherto secret information
about a banking collapse. It is the first time that it has been forced to name wrongdoers and those implicated in the scandal.
the government could not hide behind the Data Protection Act and claim that it has to protect the identity of the culprits

Prem Sikka had first requested the information in March 2006 and after refusal by the UK Treasury
and the Information Commissioner he pursued the matter through the courts.
Throughout the case, he represented himself, incurred his own costs and did not have
the benefit of any legal advisers. The government used taxpayers' resources in a
futile attempt to conceal identity of many people, including convicted criminals.

Ever since 1991, most of the Sandstorm Report has been publicly available in the US
though it has been considered to be a state secret in the UK.
This censored version was obtained by AABA and made publicly available in UK in 1999 (click here).
With the digitization of the US Congress Library archives the same is now available worldwide (click here).
The missing information is shown either as a blank or a dark rectangle.

Prem Sikka's request was for the missing information. It primarily concealed the names of the wrongdoers and those implicated in the scandal. The background to the issues and the public interest arguments for publication of the missing information are
contained in an affidavit filed with the court by Prem Sikka and is available here.
The document shows that the UK government has erected a wall of secrecy around the BCCI frauds.
and Adnan links to Indian defense purchase and terror

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 999149.ece
kish

Post by kish »

A silver lining under the sea

Forty-eight tonnes of silver bullion that spent more than 70 years at the bottom of the North Atlantic have been hauled to the surface and returned to its rightful owner, the British government
The silver was recovered from the SS Gairsoppa, which was carrying the riches to England from India in 1941 when a Nazi torpedo struck
A ship carrying looted riches from India to England and it has been returned to its rightful owner, the British Government.

How fair the world is? :oops:
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

^^^ I am not worried about the loot. I am more worried about the lackadaisical and nonchalant way it was published in the Hindu.

There is nothing, ABSOLUTELY nothing in "The Hindu"'s conscience that says "Hey, that ship was carrying illegal loot from India.". Not only that it published an article verbatim which is written by an American who obviously sees nothing wrong with the UK looting wealth from India.

I used to be ashamed for being Indian before. I am still ashamed of being Indian, but for completely different reasons!!!! :|

lakshmikanth wrote:^^^ I am not worried about the loot. I am more worried about the lackadaisical and nonchalant way it was published in the Hindu.

There is nothing, ABSOLUTELY nothing in "The Hindu"'s conscience that says "Hey, that ship was carrying illegal loot from India.". Not only that it published an article verbatim which is written by an American who obviously sees nothing wrong with the UK looting wealth from India.

I used to be ashamed for being Indian before. I am still ashamed of being Indian, but for completely different reasons!!!! :|
In case you don't know, 'THE HINDU" is being edited by an American so it represents American Viewpoint
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

^^^Ahh Siddharth Varadarajan, the alleged CIA/PRC mole in the middle :)

He maybe allegedly loyal to CIA or PRC or maybe an alleged double crossing useful idiot, but he definitely is NOT loyal the culture of his birth. No conflict of interest there :)