The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
he acknowledged that he plagiarized sections of another writer’s article about gun control.
Good riddance.
Oh, man, what a fall from grace for a rank Uncle Tom who had so much going for him personall. I wonder what made him a lift few passages that had no great insight or creativity anyway? All he had to acknowledge the source and that was that. Was he just lazy and negligent?
Last edited by CRamS on 11 Aug 2012 11:56, edited 1 time in total.
His GPS slot on TV will be filled by another IM/Canuk, Ali Velshi with Your Money. That will be quite odd because GPS was far more high powered. Maybe they'll just give GPS to Ali bhai, the new token M.
Never did like Zakaria very much. Lately, his posts and shows have become very superficial, indicating that he hasn't done much research, just skimming through and getting by with the minimal effort.
A classic case of hubris getting the better of a person.
Irrespective of Zakaria's political leanings, he has been a phenomenal achiever and a role model to Indian Americans in terms of professional success. His plagiarism 'transgressions' are quite insignificant.
Indians have this unbridled tendency to pull down their own - they fail to notice that it is the overall Indian American reputation that has been systematically brought down over the last year.
So Rajat Gupta deserved it, Zakaria deserves it, Infosys is a bodyshopper that deserves to be sued yada yada - how phenomenally short-sighted can Indians get ?
While I wouldn't disagree with the deep character flaw in us Indians, colonial minds onlee, to drag each other down, but in general speaking for myself, I always caution against too much of a celebratory euphoria at the "success" of a few Indians at the top. One has to look deep. On RG, I would say he's been made a scape goat for the real wall st thieves who are sitting pretty. But FZ's so called success was just bogus, lets get real. He is just a sauve Uncle Tom who was put on a pedestal as a token brown with a Muslim name who would sing I am more loyal than the king song like a robot. He once said how close he feels with the whites and how distant he is from us SDREs. Such a disgusting way to suck up. He was meant to fall sooner or later. There was never any substance to his so called success. I mean people like FZ, Dinesh D'Souza are just accidental beneficiaries of a politically correct multicultural America that needs to showcase a few token blacks and browns here and there, and all the better as is the case with FZ and DD if they act and talk like the mayflower descendents and would say things that whites want to hear, especially against fellow blacks and browns.
Agree. The guy was manufactured by unkil to fill a role and had zero substance on his own. Maybe he got too big for his boots and p!ssed someone off at a time when that role was no longer needed or important. He could have been quietly removed so this looks like a slapdown.
^^ Anyway he was less of an Indian American than a Muslim American. He himself preferred the later portrayal. Infact I always got the feeling that he was a closet islamist. Kind of stealth jihadi.
CRamS garu,
I think there's more to the FZ fall from grace than meets the eye.
True, FZ rose to his position of influence in the media by craftily telling goras what they wanted to hear from a brown man. But of late, as Pranav says, he might have become a victim of his own hubris. He might have begun to believe he was actually powerful enough on his own, without the assistance of his erstwhile patrons, to start espousing relatively independent opinions that went against the DC grain.
Why do I say this? Well, consider that this isn't the first time FZ has been caught plagiarizing (a very stupid thing to do, btw.) In 2009, FZ was found to have plagiarized without attribution large chunks of an article in The Atlantic by Jeff Goldberg. Yet, nothing untoward happened to him then. The incident was glossed over. Why? Was he quietly being fed enough rope to think he could get away with doing that again?
Well, when he did it again this time they came down on him like a ton of bricks. Fired from CNN, WaPo promising to review his work, all the State Dept-pasand pro-Democratic media insitutions which were the pedestals of his career being yanked away from under his feet. Why?
A clue may arise from FZ's appearance on the Daily Show with Jon Stewart, July 23rd, 2012. This show is on Comedy Central, but you would be surprised at how influential it is at molding public opinion on various news issues, especially among Obama's base demographic of 18-39 year old educated Americans.
FZ, interviewed by Jon Stewart, did something very brave (by his standards.) He made a detailed, persuasive and compelling argument why the US should NOT lead an international military effort against the Assad regime in Syria.
To take an open position against one of Hillary-ben's pet foreign policy projects, on a very visible forum, mere months before a crucial Presidential election, was shocking on the part of an Uncle Tom like him-- especially an Uncle Tom whose entire reputation had been built as a mouthpiece for Clintonista positions on pro-Democratic platforms like WaPo, Time, Newsweek and CNN. Deviating so sharply from the party propaganda line could very well have amounted to career suicide... and this latest incidence of plagiarism has, of course, provided the perfect opportunity for the axe to fall.
I wouldn't be surprised if his views on Syria-- indicative, perhaps, of more independence than massa could tolerate-- have earned this Uncle Tom his Syed Saleem Shehzad moment.
The scary thing is, what kind of putrid bs they will make him spout to crawl back into their good graces-- if they decide to give him another chance.
What I would like to know is whether FZ intentionally plagiarized those quotes, or was he just lazy and negligent in not acknowledging those quotes to their author? I mean I read those quotes, and granted I could care two whiskers for this useless gun debate crap, there shouldn't be one in the first place, but I didn't see anything so profound in those quotes for FZ to have become famous by stealing them.
FZ was always a dummy to me. In shows like real time, daily show etc - he would just say stuff that brings the laughs out of the crowd but no sharp insight or anything raw and real. I could never complete any of his articles either. It felt like I've already read it. Now I know why.
I don't know what Fareed said, but the token Muslim's job is to sound Muslim but still advocate the establishment's line.
Right now, there are the good Muslims - the Saudis, the Turks, the Jordanians, who are willing to overthrow Assad, and then there are the bad Muslims - the Iranians, Hezbollah, etc.
So the question is always - are you with us or are you with them?
Zakaria obviously came under the impression that he was more than the token Muslim and found out how anybody can be brought down regardless of system!
So if he doesn't get support from Democrats, is he going to run to Republicans? Do Republicans need a guy like him? Hardly!
I don't want to spread rumors on FZ's personal life, but I read somewhere, perhaps gossip on Huffington post I think, that he is also having marital problems with his rich Blonde diamond dealer wife who separated from him. If true, then boy this fall from grace is a double whammy.
RudraJi, please help me. But what is it that FZ said on Syria that would have turned the screws on him? I watched the episode that SinghaJi posted, and FZ's comments seem to be rather mundane and benign and in line with one of the prevailing POV. Nothing radical. Even if what he said goes against a DC heavyweight like Hilary Didi, not sure this would have caused his downfall. But I do find merit in the thesis that as a token M, his job was to stay the course and not rock the boat. But the question is what did he do to rock the boat. I am not persuaded that his position on Syria fits the bill.
Another factor to consider is this. Remember, however much the establishment needs a token black or a token Muslim or a token "South Asian", at the end of the day, ratings with the joe-six-pack and jenny-victoria-secret-thong are the order of the day. And so his usefulness as an establishment sidekick balanced against poor ratings may have been hard to sustain. Last, but not the least, remember, he was in a kind of elite of the elite position, hob knobbing and partying with the who is who in DC, NY, and London. And there would have been a lot of jealousy on this count with some white guy/gal wondering, why an SDRE like FZ and not me. That could be a factor as well.
CRamS wrote:But what is it that FZ said on Syria that would have turned the screws on him?
I think Syria is more important and touchy than might seem at first sight - it is a part of the Iran-Iraq-Syria-Hezbollah coalition, and issues like Israeli security and Iranian nukes are part of the mix.
Fareed had many opposition from other famour news analysts. I will get those names.
There was one episode on MSNBC Newsweek where they had a spat and they were angry and red faced.
He was the bue eyed biy of Kissinger and student of HK and Samuel Hunttington
He was groomed for a role and the role was a larger than life role as a laison for Muslim world and America foreign policy. The Oil lobby is silent supporter of his programs
He was also supposed to bring the American audience the information about Middle east and US perspective.
In this program he mentions that "Russia does not have global ambitions". This view is not the "public view of US foreign policy".
The whole saga began Friday morning after NewsBusters flagged a paragraph from Zakaria’s latest column, “The Case for Gun Control,” that bore a striking resemblance to Jill Lapore’s “Battleground America” for the New Yorker:
First, Zakaria’s “The Case for Gun Control” piece from Time magazine’s upcoming Aug. 20 issue:
Adam Winkler, a professor of constitutional law at UCLA, documents the actual history in Gunfight: The Battle over the Right to Bear Arms in America. Guns were regulated in the U.S. from the earliest years of the Republic. Laws that banned the carrying of concealed weapons were passed in Kentucky and Louisiana in 1813. Other states soon followed: Indiana in 1820, Tennessee and Virginia in 1838, Alabama in 1839 and Ohio in 1859. Similar laws were passed in Texas, Florida and Oklahoma. As the governor of Texas (Texas!) explained in 1893, the “mission of the concealed deadly weapon is murder. To check it is the duty of every self-respecting, law-abiding man.”
Compare that to Lepore’s “Battleground America” New Yorker article back in April:
As Adam Winkler, a constitutional-law scholar at U.C.L.A., demonstrates in a remarkably nuanced new book, “Gunfight: The Battle Over the Right to Bear Arms in America,” firearms have been regulated in the United States from the start. Laws banning the carrying of concealed weapons were passed in Kentucky and Louisiana in 1813, and other states soon followed: Indiana (1820), Tennessee and Virginia (1838), Alabama (1839), and Ohio (1859). Similar laws were passed in Texas, Florida, and Oklahoma. As the governor of Texas explained in 1893, the “mission of the concealed deadly weapon is murder. To check it is the duty of every self-respecting, law-abiding man.”
The plagiarism charge is a pretty major one for someone who bases his credentials on academics (Yale, then Ph.D Harvard). It is also an embarrassment for Yale, he is supposedly a trustee of Yale Corp. Will be difficult to live this one down. Watched the Daily Show video....it starts off with John Stewart asking FZ about his book: The Post-American World- "Did you write this yourself?". Sounds weird, surreal in retrospect. FZ, in response, mentions 'ghostwriters' and 'team of researchers'.
Last edited by SriKumar on 12 Aug 2012 01:31, edited 1 time in total.
It's possible that a ghostwriter may have been influenced by someone in the establishment to intentionally plagiarize and take him down. His thoughts on Russia probably didn't go down well with obama drones...so double hell pire.
What I would like to know is whether FZ intentionally plagiarized those quotes, or was he just lazy and negligent in not acknowledging those quotes to their author? I mean I read those quotes, and granted I could care two whiskers for this useless gun debate crap, there shouldn't be one in the first place, but I didn't see anything so profound in those quotes for FZ to have become famous by stealing them.
Probably most of his writing is delegated to underlings; it would be easy to get one of the researchers to do the plagiarism--of useless material about a useless topic--so that FZ can be nailed for it.
Uncle Sam always needs an "Uncle Tom".FZ was the yanquis' media "tom-tom" (pun intended) to massage Muslim minds.Not to worry though,even here we have our very own Uncle Singh to sing paens of praise of the yanquis eco system (aka crony-capitalism) which with its multiple scams and mismanagement of the economy has seen a spectacular devaluation of the rupee,plunging growth and climbing inflation,a clueless regime and PM who is "in office ,but not in power"!
NEW DELHI – With America’s presidential election looming, perhaps its most striking aspect from an Indian point of view is that no one in New Delhi is unduly concerned about the outcome. There is now a broad consensus in Indian policymaking circles that, whoever wins, India-United States relations are more or less on the right track.Throughout the Cold War, the world’s oldest democracy and its largest were essentially estranged. America’s initial indifference was best reflected in President Harry Truman’s reaction when Chester Bowles asked to be named ambassador to India: “I thought India was pretty jammed with poor people and cows round streets, witch doctors, and people sitting on hot coals and bathing in the Ganges…but I did not realize anybody thought it was important.”CommentsView/Create comment on this paragraphIf that was bad, India’s political orientation was worse. The American preference for making anti-communist allies, however unsavory, tied Washington to Pakistan’s increasingly Islamist dictatorship, while India’s non-aligned democracy drifted toward the secular Soviet embrace. The US government regarded non-alignment with distaste; Eisenhower’s secretary of state, John Foster Dulles, notoriously declared that “neutrality between good and evil is itself evil.” In a world divided between two uncompromising superpowers, India’s temporizing seemed like appeasement at best, and aid and comfort for the enemy at worst.The nuclear accord simultaneously accomplished two things. It admitted India into the global nuclear club, despite its refusal to sign the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. More important, it acknowledged that US exceptionalism had found a sibling. Thanks to the US, which strong-armed the 45 countries of the Nuclear Suppliers’ Group into swallowing their concerns that special treatment for India could constitute a precedent for rogue nuclear aspirants like Pakistan, North Korea, and Iran, there is now an “Indian exception.”
CommentsView/Create comment on this paragraphUnder Obama, nothing quite so dramatic was possible: no spectacular breakthroughs were conceived or executed, nor could many have been imagined. But Obama – who had displayed a photograph of Mahatma Gandhi in his Senate office, carried a locket of the Hindu god Hanuman, and spoke often of his desire to build a “close strategic partnership” with India –struck the right symbolic chords in New Delhi and won over the fractious parliament.The US is India’s largest trading partner (if both goods and services are included). American exports to India have grown faster in the last five years than those to any other country. The Confederation of Indian Industry estimates that, despite the recent global financial crisis and the US recession that sparked it, bilateral trade in services is likely to grow from $60 billion to more than $150 billion in the next six years
devesh wrote:^^^
intriguing. now we have twists and turns to this story...
My take is that indeed FZ quoted passages from elsewhere, but for sure those whities who are jealous of an SDRE like FZ having such a ball are using this milk the living daylights out of it and roasting FZ's backside. Whichever way, FZ's reputation has been damaged, and Il am not sure he will enjoy that kind of elite Uncle Tom status anymore.
CRamS, He like all Americans will apologize, accept his mistake and go back to doing what has been doing for past so many years.
I doubt if this is the end of FZ as we know him. He is too useful a tool to be dumped like this.
There is a class of publicity seekers to whom ANY publicity is worth while.If they aren't written about day after day,they get depressed to death.FZ belongs to such a class.In fact he belongs to the uber privilged class who analyse the news for the less astute readers! His kind tell you what is good news and what is bad:who the good guys are and the baddies who need prosecuting,often with extreme prejudice. That he had to purloin a few paras from his fellow colleagues,to meet his deadlines,was a trifling matter.The whole circus will now wait and watch for him to utter his OWN "truths" and takes on subjects of gravitas,so that we poor readers may be educated in the ways of the world according to the guru FZ and his puppet masters.May his tribe increase!
The Booth Energy Group and the River Trading Company announce a $7 billion deal that could send nine million tons of coal a year to India from West Virginia and Kentucky. Such exports are rising as American demand for coal falls, as electric utilities burn more cheap natural gas. [The Associated Press]
^^^ Good news for comrade Ka-rat..he can issue a statement that this 'clearly shows what Marx said is true..the capitalist economy is collapsing and MMS is subsidising and holding it up by purchasing coal instead of buying from Chinese brothers'
No, the message has not gotten through some posters who peddle the same nonsense in all threads. When will they have the commonsense to stay on topic? There is a trash thread, remember?